Bookmark

Off the Record: The Italian Affair Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Enjoy a new episode in the Off the Record series! Are you willing to ditch your vacation plans to track down the most famous thief in Venice? He’s a slippery suspect who has outwitted the best police minds in Italy. You’ll soon discover that he won’t be easy to find even with your crack detective skills – because they don’t call him ‘The Fox’ for nothing…

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Watch the behind the scenes video
  • Collect morphing animals and letters throughout the game
  • Earn special Achievements
  • Get soundtracks, wallpapers, screensavers, and concept art
  • Try the available Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.9/10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • Hard Drive: 1355 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Off the Record: The Italian Affair Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Off the Record: The Italian Affair Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Off the Record: The Italian Affair Collector's Edition 4.2 5 52 52
Too Many Bugs! This game has the absolute potential to be a five star game- IF they can get the tech issues sorted. There are lots of work arounds to get it to play for folks, but the bottom line is that if you put out a collector's edition and offer your customers the option of playing the game on a custom level, it should work on that level. People's faces should not be floating in and out, I shouldn't have to shut down and reload to activate the hint system. Please, get these issues resolved before release! April 18, 2014
Been there done that This is an okay game with non-challenging puzzles and meaningless things to do like lining images up with a camera, and playing hidden object games which are easy enough for a 5 year old. Not a buy for me, but I have a feeling I will pretty much be alone on my review. This isn't really anything new. I'll recommend it, because graphically it's good and I think people will enjoy it, but it won't be a buy for me. This is just my opinion. April 17, 2014
Ho, Hum And this is evidence of the great divide. There are those of us that expect great artwork, good sound, reasonably challenging puzzles and HOS, and a good storyline. Then there are those of us just as willing to accept mediocre everything because it's new. And pretty much there you have this game! It started with a HOP that challenged a bit outside the box - Hurray! And went downhill from there. Boo! The characters are not locals, from the American tourist to the American souvenir clerk, although the guy on the phone sounded local for his short speech. The talking heads for the voice-overs were occasionally MIA, the puzzles weren't - puzzling that is. They were mostly procedurals - you know what has to be done and your hand is held till you do it. Sigh! The artwork is lovely, the music is nerve wracking, the characters bland, and there is an occasionally helpful guide. On the good side, there were lots of collectibles, morphing objects, various different HOS, and those simple puzzles, as well as four difficulty levels, including the popular custom settings level. As I am all about the storyline, I have to say that I don't care about this one. I spent the trial hoping for some hook that would make me want to buy this game. I never found it. So once again: Please try before you buy! Maybe you'll see something I didn't. April 18, 2014
Easy puzzles/HOS + beautiful graphics = average game I wanted to love this game because it's obvious that a lot of work and care went into creating it. The graphics are beautiful, it's filled with collectibles, and it's fairly long. One problem is that the story is fairly run of the mill and didn't engross me at all. I also felt that a lot of the time my character was running around collecting things for the inventory when I had no idea why I needed these things other than that they flew into my inventory when I clicked on them. I much prefer a game where I click something that the story has clued me into knowing I need rather than one where I just click everything in sight hoping something is going to be what I need. The second, and worse, problem is that the HOS and puzzles were very easy and there was a low ratio of puzzles/HOS to "adventure" component. That is, I felt I spent most of my time clicking randomly around and not enough time doing what I buy a game to do...play puzzles and HOS. When I finally got to a HOS I would just go clickety click, find everything in seconds, and then it was back to the sorta dreary clicking around for inventory items again. It's really too bad to have to say of a game that I enjoyed watching the credits more than I enjoyed playing the game but in this case it's true. The credits are charming and fun in a way that the game itself just wasn't. Overall this is a visually beautiful game with a great setting but the fun factor is hampered by an unengaging story that doesn't drive game play and a complete lack of challenge to the puzzles and HOS. It's a real disappointment when something looks this good and turns out to be oh so average. June 23, 2014
Off the record: the italian affair CE Ho hum. Perhaps this game suffered as the one I played just before it was the tautly gripping True Fear: Forsaken Souls - grim graphics but a storyline that kept me in suspense to the end and whose sequels I await. In contrast, I thought Off The Record was what parents might buy for their children. SOOOO bored. Had to force myself to play until the end. It's by Eipix, which can be excellent - but not consistently so. April 27, 2014
Too short not sweet I usually love Eipix but something is lacking. I'm not one for really difficult puzzles but even I thought some were to easy. Also thought graphics are pretty good though I frequently had a talking head without the head. I also really mean that it was too short and less intriguing like many of there other games. I can't say to buy or not to buy but if it's really discounted it could be worth it I guess. I do love their credits though(always) this time all the pics of the creators as kids and then adults were great; and the little comments too. I love how you can play the puzzles again and would love to be able to qualify for all the trophies somehow after the game is ended. The extra game was about 5 seconds though. I think they could do a really fine job on a Gabriel Knight type story about vampires and a "Schattenjager" story or 3 or 4. mainly cause I still miss Gabriel. Hope the next on is better. May 7, 2014
funmartine this game is very funny to see and to play April 17, 2014
Let's Keep This One Off The Record, Shall We? BASED ON DEMO Eipix is fast becoming the leading game developer. This game here is their fifth in four months, the most from any developer this year so far. Of course, when you're making games at that speed, there's always the risk of developing a really poor game amongst the good ones, and this game here is an example of that. Let's start with the story. It was very boring, uneventful and was not surprising at all. Every supposedly ?shocking? event that occurred, I already knew was going to happen. Developers, here's a hint: Don't make things so blatantly obvious. It ruins the story. I anticipated every turning point. The only thing that surprised me remotely was the ending, but I'd already anticipated that the villain was definitely involved and not all he claimed to be. All that stuff in between was a bit boring too. Nothing interesting happened at all really. I can say I liked the characters though. The characters were good for the story and entertaining. It's a shame I have to say this, but the characters were one of the best parts of the game. Probably the only highlight as far as story content goes are the tapes. There are 8 of them to collect and I found 2 in the demo. These were a great addition to the story and really enjoyable. It's a real shame that I have to pick this out as one of the highlights. The content of the story is really flat and dull and so obvious to me. Really poor performance from Eipix. When the story's not so strong, the gameplay has to be absolutely fantastic and this wasn't. While there were some positive aspects of the gameplay, it wasn't enough to make me hit the buy button. The HOS were pretty good. I really enjoyed them. Eipix has mixed up the HOS a little, giving us a variety. There were silhouette objects, junkpile, the mini-HOS and a special kind of HOS in the hotel room. All varieties were great fun. A little easy, but fun. The HOS were done well in my opinion. There aren't many HOS, but there's enough to make it a HOPA. It's a good amount for me. For the first time, I'm going to say that there weren't enough puzzles. There were about two in the demo, nowhere near enough. The puzzles were good to attempt, but there just were not enough. I would have liked to see a couple more puzzles in the demo. Even with the puzzles there were, they were just ones that we'd seen before. That being said, I still liked them. I just believe that Eipix should have put a few more puzzles in there. This game also feature plus objects. These were items you had to interact with to complete. This is becoming a standard feature now, but even so, it was a great feature, one that I really enjoyed. Another new feature was the camera. I absolutely HATED it! It was awful. Just awful. You had to take a picture of something and then it turned in to a puzzle; picking the right symbol, adjusting the sliders. This was really annoying and significantly decreased the fun factor. This is one of the worst features I've seen in a game. Really poor. Other than that, this is your standard HOPA. I don't know if I'd recommend this to beginners, due to the camera feature/plus objects. The graphics are good as usual. The character designs are good and every scene is clear and drawn wonderfully with a lot of detail. Good job to the developers on this. One thing I should note is that sometimes, during dialogue scenes, the heads would disappear off the characters! This was a bit weird, probably a tech issue, but was still really funny. It didn't affect my game at all, just thought I'd point this out! The voice-overs are standard. I have one very small issue. This is set in Italy, yet only one character has a slightly Italian voice. Everyone else, even The Fox, is American. If you set a game in a different country, you should have their accents, don't you think? FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Hard and Custom. I tried Custom at first, but it didn't work for me, so I played Casual. Differences are the usual. Hint/Skip- both recharge at a reasonable rate for the difficulty I selected. Diary- keeps track of events. Good for remembering important details of the story. Map- the map is interactive and helpful + objects- these are objects you have to interact with to complete. A great feature. Camera- awful. Hated it. See description for more info. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter Strategy Guide- good for puzzles. Achievements- there are quite a lot. Collectible Foxes (32)- one in every scene Wallpapers Concept Art Replay HOS & Puzzles Music ?Fox's Den?- unsure what this is Souvenir Room ?Pictures?- unsure what this is Replay movies Behind the Scenes This game has a lot of bonus content, but I really didn't care for it. The first Off the Record was enjoyable, but this one did not cut it. The story was really boring and predictable. I suggest Eipix slow down a little and really take the time to refine their games. I can't recommend this one. Two stars for me. April 18, 2014
Too incongruous and unaccurate I was very disappointed by this game. Eipix games are always remarkable from the graphic point of view and the art concept. But this is the only really positive side I found in this game. I know that a game is just a game and there is not any real need to follow logic strictly, but I find this principle more acceptable when the game is set in a totally imaginary environment. When the developers chose to show real places, they should be more accurate. This game start in Venice, where a lady reporter investigate on a theft, There are impressive cut scenes based on real images of Venice, which in my opinion are unpleasantly in conflict with the superficiality the developer chose to adopt when they describe certain things. For example placing a big truck in St. Marco square is a ridiculous incongruence. How should it arrive there? It's well known that in Venice there is not any vehicle of any kind. They could not circulate. The only means of transport are boats. It's equally annoying and ridiculous that the developer make the reporter move around on a kind of moped, maybe they thought it could satisfy one of the many clichs on Italy?It's absolutely impossible to go around Venice on a motorbike. They could chose to make her walk or to use a boat or a small motorboat, it would not have influenced the game but it would have been less absurd. Then suddenly from Venice, without any apparent reason, the characters move to Vernazza ( if I remember well), which is a charming small fisherman village of Liguria, a coast region of Northern Italy by Mediterranean sea. At a moment it's indicated as a lake. Then, totally incongruously, the scene is set on a kind of tropical beach with even parrots on palm trees. Someone should explain to me what it has to do with the rocky Italian coast?Of course they are only details, but. The game shows all the usual elements which we find now, all the same, in nearly all games. Nothing new at all. The usual keys to find, the labyrinths, the traps, the crypts?I don't reveal anything more to not spoil the surprise to those who are going to play the game. The characters speak English with a bizarre accent, which has nothing to do with Italian, it seems vaguely German or Scandinavian to me. The characters are played by real actors, well suspect they are the developers themselves. A couple of them are definitely too young for the role, as the hospital director, for example. The mini-games and the quizzes are very simple and the game is rather short. It can be enjoyable only for the clarity and the good quality of the art work, as I have already written above. With such talented graphic artists one might expect a much more interesting and enjoyable game. The bonus chapter is very short too. April 20, 2014
AT LEAST GAVE IT A TRY! I found this game very confusing and did not "flow" well through each scene. It was a little boring but I thought the finding the achievements (letters, scroll & cat) was the best part of the game :( At least give it a try I'm sure alot of people will like this, it just wasn't for me. April 18, 2014
41-50 of 52 Reviews <<prev 23456next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Off the Record: The Italian Affair Collector's Edition

Track down the wily Fox’ before he slips away into the beauty of Venice!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.