Bookmark

Northern Tale

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Play as the mighty Viking, King Ragnar, and embark on a journey spanning beautiful forests filled with mythical creatures to save your family and cleanse the kingdom of evil in Northern Tale! Join forces with brave companions as you face countless dangers. Bring color back to your realm and use your wisdom, magic and might to restore balance and defeat an evil witch and her cruel servants.

  • Three season-themed episodes
  • Detailed graphics and awesome visuals
  • Bring color back into the world
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.9/10.8/10.7
  • CPU: 1.2 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • Hard Drive: 218 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Northern Tale

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Northern Tale

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Northern Tale 4.8 5 101 101
love the difficulty levels I played through on the untimed and really enjoyed it. I am now playing on the multiple clicks (medium level. It is even better. I wish My Kingdom for a Princess III had these choices. I would buy them all. Kudos to the developer for listening to we older or challenged players. Thank you, Big Fish! October 22, 2012
Love this game! This game is simple, but it does take some thought. I find it is just challenging enough to hold my attention. I bought it yesterday, and have not stopped playing since! Nor have I reached the end yet. I am on level 30 and that is with over 8 hours of constant play. This game is great for kids of all ages. March 21, 2013
Lighthearted Fun This is a time management game, but I played in the mode with no time limits. You have to build up farms, mines and other buildings while collecting supplies to beat the baddies the evil witch sends your way. I normally play hidden object/adventure games, but this game caught my eye because it looked lighthearted and fun. This was perfect. All the little Vikings do a dance when you finish each stage. My only complaint was that it got to be the same thing over and over in each step. Still, I was disappointed when I won the game and couldn't keep playing. I hope they do a sequel. Maybe I will replay it in timed mode. October 28, 2012
cute,fun, better so far than some other TM games TM game with a twist. very colorful. gives the option to turn off the voices and still hear sound and music. The characters voices, I find, as irritating in other TM games. we shall see how challenging it gets as I play more. October 15, 2012
The fun never stops! No, really. I'm not a fan of time-management games, but I LOVE this one -- thanks, developers, for non-timed mode! First, the graphics are exceptionally good. It's very rewarding to see how nicely each screen cleans up as Viking King Ragnar & Co. proceed to set right the destruction caused by the evil witch Gesta. Every finished level has its own visual appeal, with perspectives changing as the action moves from fjord-level to higher up in the mountains. As well, we get to see this very pretty land in three different seasons. Talk about variety! The artists have put in many, many details that really delight the eye. They're much appreciated. I play in non-timed mode since I hate having to rush while playing a game. The developers were kind enough (and wise enough, IMO) to allow non-timers to earn all achievements -- and there are many of those, some silly enough to give you a few grins as you play. And in non-timed mode, you can just sit there and move your cursor over a moose, watching his head move up and down, up and down, and noting his exasperated and somewhat threatening expression. (Since it's just a game, I find this funny. As is bothering the hamsters while a Viking chops wood, or whatever.) -- There's a lot to discover here... The first few times I played, the sense of adventure was quite strong. I know the game quite well now, but the fun is still there. A wide variety of strategies for accomplishing the various tasks becomes available as you move higher in the levels. This, to me, is one of the big factors in replay appeal: you find that a small change in strategy can make a *big* change in how the game progresses. On some easy levels, you would have to work hard to hit a snag; but other levels are pretty complex even when you're not being timed, and one or two wrong moves can result in getting stuck. (That might not ever happen to those with a talent for strategy/tactics; but if I have any such ability, it has yet to show itself.... Initial failure can be an apt teacher.) ;) Northern Tale has some pretty interesting characters to meet along the way. I wish there were a few more of them! How about it, devs? There's a lot of potential to unlock in just about any region's folklore. And additional cultural facts would be great, rather than repeating just a few. But that's a minor quibble. This has become my go-to game when I want to play something that both pleases my eyes and doesn't stress me too much, while still offering obstacles that make "the little gray cells" stay on their toes a bit. [One gripe: I realize that a lot of guys have to have their eye candy, but Ragnar's daughters are a bit much. Spandex pants?? Antlers?!? Pleeeeeez...... Couldn't they at least do something intelligent or brave??] -- Very good length of game, so you get a lot for a fair price. Thanks to the developers and to BFG both for presenting this winner. :) February 28, 2013
Addictive gameplay This is a "road building" TM game like My Kingdom for the Princess or Roads of Rome. (This seems to be from the same developer as RoR, which I've always liked more than MKftP) At first glance, the graphics appear to have taken a step back from others in the genre, but it grew on me very quickly. When you have so many different objects (obstacles, structures, resources, etc.) on the screen at the same time, it's nice to have really clean, clear visuals to plot your strategy for the level. I also liked the Viking theme. I'm pretty neurotic about getting an expert score on every level and in the first chapter, I found myself repeating levels as early on as 5 or 6, which led me to think the game was going to be difficult. I had an easier go of it in the second chapter though, so I think I was just overly aggressive in upgrading my buildings and that's why I had problems. At the core, you only have two types of decisions to make in this game: the order of upgrading/exploration, and the type of bonus to use. Because of the number of choices you can make, though, you end up with a lot of strategies. A lot of satisfaction in the game comes from adjusting your strategy to improve your time. (It is so nice to finish JUST as the timer starts blinking to indicate that you're about to go over the expert time) I usually don't pay much attention to the story for this genre, but I liked this one! You have to rescue your daughters from an evil sorceress called Gesta who has kidnapped and transformed them into other forms. She has also blighted the land and they do a nice job in short dialogue of making her feel like an active antagonist. She seems especially involved in the final level where she summons monsters to oppose you and even battles you at the end! No exciting new minigames or game mechanics, but a very solid, well-balanced and well-designed TM game overall. January 5, 2013
The Best in Its Class I typically grab any of the games that follow the Roads of Rome and My Kingdom for a Princess style, and had run out of new games to play. Along comes Northern Tales - and it rose head and shoulders above the rest quickly. The graphics are lovely, the game play requires a touch of brains to beat the time on certain levels, and certain other levels often brought certain twists that added extra challenge. I never got bored and was almost sad when I reached the end. Well done, you guys! November 24, 2012
To try it is to adopt it! As soon as the first 2 levels of the demo of the game, I was totally seduced and so bought it at the same time without any hesitation and do not regret it! Those who, like me, love the style series : My Kingdom for the Princess, Roads of Rome, Royal Envoy, Island Tribes and the same style, certainly love this good little game also. The graphics are well done and the small medieval music is not disturbing. In addition these vikings small, are not without remember joyous woodcutter of the series Royal Envoy, are also very friendly and diverting story. The gradual fix promises exciting hours of games. Also I appreciate highly the 2 modes of games on offer (relax or timed). In summary a good time management game as I like! November 9, 2012
A fun strategic game It has all that you could ask for in a Time Management game and more. I love all the little details and the humour- skeletons; hamsters; character comments and sounds; interesting viking facts; etc. If I have felt the game to have been particularly good, I always read to the end of the credits out of respect to the makers. Sometimes there are added bonuses to doing this, such as with this game. Most of what I wanted to say has been said- all in all a great game and a nice change from the really dark games that seem to be monopolising. Well done to all involved. November 4, 2012
Great Fun I don't usually go for TM game as I usually run out of time before the tasks are finished. However I thought I would try this one. Great, it had an untimed game. It really is fun as well as challenging for an "oldie". The little guys running around really make me laugh. Having read some of the other reviews, I haven't found the hamsters, so better have another look! November 3, 2012
11-20 of 101 Reviews <<prev 2345...11next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Northern Tale

Travel across beautiful forests filled with mythical creatures! Find Ragnar's daughters and defeat the evil witch and her cruel servants!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.