Bookmark

Grim Tales: The Vengeance

Exclusive
Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You've been summoned to court to provide testimony in a trial against your nephew James, who stands accused of murdering his sister. By using your power to learn an object's history simply by touching it, you must examine evidence from the crime scene to determine what really happened to Elizabeth. Can you prove James innocent and find the real killer? As you explore the family mansion, a dark force is trying to cover up the truth! Watch your step, or you could be next! Follow the trail and crack the case in this thrilling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.9/10.8/10.7/10.6
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz (INTEL ONLY)
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • Hard Drive: 855 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Grim Tales: The Vengeance

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Grim Tales: The Vengeance

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Grim Tales: The Vengeance 4.2 5 20 20
Auntie to the rescue! Again! And again! As many of the other reviews have said, this game has absolutely stunning graphics and cutscenes. The individual locations are also visually gorgeous, although the voiceovers are a bit weak at times. My biggest deciding factor on any game is the length. I played on Expert mode with no hints, and the main game took me about 5 1/2 hours. Since I also played the CE version, the bonus chapter took me a surprising 45 minutes, which made the overall length quite satisfying to me both as a CE and a SE. The puzzles themselves were nothing mind-bending. Fishing objects out of an aquarium, making a potion, melting metal on a fire, etc have been done to death and were all present in this game. However, the HOs were very clear and well-spaced, the beautiful graphics saved the day, and the story progressed at a fast enough pace that my interest in the game stayed steady. Of course, this series is about an aunt rescuing every single one of her relatives by going into the past and changing the future outcome. It gets a little tiring to have such dense nephews and nieces and sisters that are constantly destroying the family tree and humanity in the process. If you are looking for a new idea in this series, it is not here. It is another Auntie rescue mission. But the fresh twists and plot still hold their own and I definitely enjoyed this latest game in the series. Here's hoping for more! Happy gaming, Big Fishies! June 26, 2014
Series returns to its roots I'm copying this review over from the CE game, so you'll know what you're missing if you go with the SE: This review is based on a complete playthrough of the game and bonus content. After swerving a hard right for Bloody Mary (a most enjoyable excursion, I must add), Grim Tales is back to the basic premise of the first installments of the game. First, as always, the bonus content (or Why should I pay double for this game?): The bonus game took me a good hour. It wasn't what I was expecting, in a good way. It did leave a bit of a feeling of 'series finale' at the end, which I hope isn't the case. The window is certainly still open. Plenty of morphs and achievements as well as the usual swag. The main game does end conclusively, so you won't feel cheated out of an ending if you go the SE route. Now for the game: THE GOOD: Back to the original formula with the family being the center of attention. Remember the castle? It's back. Naturally it's up to you to solve all the problems your family gets itself into, but what are aunts for? Very nice variety of puzzles. Some old favorites, some with new twists. None hair-pulling hard, but they weren't all simplistic either. I'm going to call it a 'grown-up' game. Not that there's anything disturbing for kids (there isn't), but they aren't going to 'get' most of the plot. Then again, if they grew up on procedural crime dramas like my daughter did, maybe they will :) Graphics and voicing were all top-notch. Ambient sounds were ok, but got repetitive quickly. Map and Hint are both teleporting - hint recharged quickly at middle difficulty and didn't get 'used' up by a teleport (or even just showing a specific area - that could be good/bad, fielder's choice). THE BAD: Maybe I went in with too high expectations after their last title, but the story didn't grip me the way others have. It wasn't lackluster, just not edge of my seat stuff for the most part. I had no trouble walking away from it for a while without wondering what was going to happen. THE UGLY: A few mini-games I had to use the map to back out of. That's the only real bug I found. There's also an issue with things you find - papers you can read aren't copied into your diary, so you've got one shot to read them when they're on screen that I could see. Read quickly before they're gone (the substance of them is put in your diary). BOTTOM LINE: Hearty recommendation, as long as you know what to expect. If you enjoyed the first couple titles in this series you'll love this. If you just started with Bloody Mary or even The Stone Queen, this one may seem a bit more laid back to you (none of the 'creep factor' of Bloody Mary). Either way, it's still a good game, well worth your time. July 9, 2014
give it a try nice game. 3 main chapters. not many HOS but plenty of puzzles. 2014 July 11, 2014
Quite Good Fun! Well, I did enjoy playing this game, but I can't say it was a gripper..an average type game..the graphics were well done July 14, 2014
Definetly NOT Worth 4/5 Stars! Based on CE Demo: Another relative in peril & you are called upon to save the day storyline. Graphics: Again cartoonish & VERY blue. Music: Ok..nothing special. Characters: Have lip sync movement but bodies are wooden & stiff. HOGS are not so very cluttered this time & there are the usual assortment of mini games. Collectibles are available & not too difficult to find. Game is not very challenging but fun to find out where next scene will take you. Give demo & try & see if this rehashed, nothing new storyline game peaks your interest enough to buy June 13, 2014
Maybe it's just me, but......... I'm not sure why I'm not wild about this. Partly I don't like puffs of angry black smoke coming at me, and partly because it was pretty simple, with most of the challenge just remembering where one had to backtrack to use every item. Another thing, the directions for the puzzles were incomprehensible to me. "Do what, where?" The HO scenes were fine. The story itself was interesting, and the game did seem long enough, so perhaps it is just me - I believe I would have been much more satisfied had I bought the CE, since I would have some idea about the puzzles, plus, of course, the extras. My bad. July 26, 2014
Just not for me I normally like a game that has a lot of puzzles without all the HOG, this game has a lot of that but I am not quiet sure what it is that I do not like this game. It just isn't for me I guess, it is worth a DL to try it and see June 16, 2014
Good Value, if on sale There's a lot to this Standard game. On the plus side, it's relatively long, and the storyline is engaging. And a new, to me, style using a court proceeding with flashbacks to search for clues. The negatives were the movie clues that looked amateur compared to the graphics of the main game, and the ending which seemed ridiculous, but then again it is a story in a game. I'm recommending it solely on the fact that it gives a lot of entertainment for a Standard game. But it wasn't one of the best I've played this year. July 23, 2014
Try it. Just not the look that I like in a game. But, try the demo. This game may be your cup of tea. As always, only one person's opinion. June 14, 2014
Not up to Elephant's usual standards Elephant is my absolute favorite designer. I look forward to their games with great anticipation. Their games are inventive, creative and they were the first to explore games that make you think. The puzzles are new and very interactive: ie: Fates Carnival. This game was way, way below that standard. There were little pictures because you can't possible know that the Irish gnome holding up his hat tipping hand needs a hat. etc.etc. I would warn spoiler alert, but you have the picture right there. These little clues were all over the game. Then there were a couple of times that you had to do something that did not follow normal game protocol. Usually when you have to do something to something that is at the far end of a scene, the game will allow you a close-up of the area that is active when you click on it, so you know it is an active area. A couple of times there were active areas in this game that gave no clue unless (I assume) you played with sparkles (yuck). One would have to grab an item from the inventory and touch it everywhere in every scene to make this work. That is ridiculous. I am trying to explain my frustration without giving away anything. The games graphics are also not up to Elephant's standards. The characters and the scenes were stiff and dark. The storyline is European/American based, but so much of the graphics are Indian or Asian. Normally such things would not bother me, but I had just finished playing a game that was way too easy to be fun, whose designers were obviously from India. I play with my husband and he enjoys the easy games. As I said I was eagerly anticipating a new Elephant game, only to discover it almost looked and felt as if it had been designed by the same people as the one I had just finished. A European battle ax does not look like a duel pointed spear with wavey blades. Especially the Bonus Chapter. It was frankly terrible, and totally felt as if it had just been tacked on to say it was a collectible. Elephant games really let me down this time. August 5, 2014
11-20 of 20 Reviews <<prev 2next
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Tales: The Vengeance

When his sister is murdered, you must prove your nephew's innocence!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.