Bookmark

Dark Parables: Ballad of Rapunzel Collector's Edition

Exclusive
Full version game
(1.08 GB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Blue Tea Games, creators of the acclaimed Dark Parables series, comes a brand-new parable for you to enjoy!

You’ve been called to the kingdom of Floralia to track down the source of a mysterious pollen spreading throughout the world. Rumor has it that Princess Rapunzel is somehow involved – the haunting melody she sings appears to summon the pollen… But how did the once-loved princess come to control such a deadly force? And who is the mysterious, shadowy figure always by her side? The secrets you uncover may be darker than you imagined in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • An exciting bonus game!
  • Find collectible items and unlock parables
  • Concept art, wallpapers, movies, and more!
  • An available Strategy Guide
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1263 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Dark Parables: Ballad of Rapunzel Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: Ballad of Rapunzel Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Parables: Ballad of Rapunzel Collector's Edition 4.3 5 101 101
This Ballad is NOT Top Ten Oh My this is one of the most BORING games I have ever played! Story dragged along until my eyes started to glaze over. Art work is dreadful, over colored & muddled. There is just too much going on. HO's are interactive & VERY messy. I had a difficult time trying to sort things out. Nothing special about the mini-games. After 30 minutes I just couldn't stand it any longer & had to exit. Sorry devs it's just NOT my Cup Of Tea! June 26, 2014
Not a long enough game! I have quite a few of the dark parable games, which I really liked but this one was really short! I beat the whole game in about an hour! I am so disappointed with this game and wish I never wasted my money on it! July 3, 2014
Rapunzel, meet Rip Van Winkle Plot: Rapunzel sings, "ahhhhhhhhh, ahhhhhhhh, ahhhhhh." Monster plants sprout up. A bratty sounding Gerda keeps getting caught and you have to rescue her. Drawing style: colors, colors,lots of saturated colors including the *always popular*? pink and purple. Voices: average to below average. Game play: very very, easy, little or no challenge here. Puzzles are so easy that they are merely "completed" rather than solved. Fragmented objects stand out for the most part, can't miss 'em. Lots of reading about childish legends, fairy tales, etc. Repetitive actions, i.e. find this medallion, put it here. Find another, put it there. Definitely a step down in the Dark Parables series. There is a lame attempt now and then to pay homage to the earlier titles. A game only a very beginning player or a child would possibly like. For anyone else, as well as this reviewer, it could qualify as a cure for insomnia. zzzzzzzzzzzzz June 26, 2014
Ballad gone bad Each scene is filled with so much stuff it's hard to keep track of what is what. I'm not a fan of fantasy world stuff and that's what this game is about. The HO's are not challenging, no morphing, no hard puzzles. I was bored and I didn't even finish the free trial, I got tired of the game really quick. June 28, 2014
Ballad of Rapunzel is Dark Parable's swan song Dark Parables: Ballad of Rapunzel CE Review based on Completed Demo PREFACE? Dark Parables has long been one of my favorite series. I felt it slipped a bit with The Final Cinderella, went off track with Jack & the Sky Kingdom, and has derailed with Ballad of Rapunzel. ONCE UPON A TIME... You're back in your role as the Fairy Tale Detective, off to Floralia to discover the origin of a toxic pollen spreading across the world. Your sources tell you that the captive Princess Rapunzel is the cause, as the melody she sings seems to summon the pollen. As usual, there are darker forces at work; a shadowy figure appears to be controlling Rapunzel. What's going on in Floralia? PLAY THE GAME... If you've played any of the previous games in this series, you know the drill. It's all about finding ornate medallions, chalices, figurines, etc. and putting them in their rightful places. Some you'll find discarded here and there, others you'll put together in FROG scenes, still others will be awarded to you for solving puzzles. Unfortunately, while this method of gameplay was innovative when The Exiled Prince came out, it seems formulaic in 2014. We're accustomed to varying types of HO scenes at this point, and we're pretty sick of the medallion locks. SIGHTSEEING? This dev's usual baroque graphics have become rococo. "Ornate" is an understatement. Every item and background is bejeweled to the gills, a riot of saturated color, and it's rather overwhelming. The problem with this is that you can't appreciate the detail of the ornate items when there's no contrast, because everything is bejeweled! SOUND WAVES? I honestly didn't notice the music, probably because I was shielding my eyes from sensory overload. I found the voiceovers irritating. Prince Ross was arrogant and entitled, and Gerda was an annoying brat. I've no idea why he "needed" her help, as she was impulsive and useless. TOOLBOX? No jump map in 2014? Seriously? There's a journal, but it's unnecessary. Inventory panel locks open. There are no special tools. EXTRA, EXTRA? Extras include a bonus game, collectibles which unlock parables, the SG, and the developer's portfolio. Hardly sufficient to qualify for CE status, in my opinion. THE LAST WORD? I fear that Dark Parables has jumped the shark, at least for me. I don't recommend Ballad of Rapunzel, but I do recommend The Exiled Prince, Curse of the Briar Rose, and Rise of the Snow Queen, all from this series. July 6, 2014
What is this game doing in 2014? BASED ON THE DEMO I played Jack and the Sky Kingdom and was underwhelmed. This one has exactly the same gameplay, which means that there is only one kind of HO scenes, which is definitely not enough. Plus, the graphics aren't all that sharp, so it's easy to miss small objects. The gameplay consists almost only of "find a symbol/token/part of something" and stick it where it belongs, which is boring beyond words. What really bothered me is the fact that every single object you see is ornate to the point where you start feeling a bit sick. Every item has flowers and gems on it until everything seems to look the same. I didn't manage to follow the story much, as it seemed convoluted and included characters from previous games I haven't played. All in all, I suppose fans of the series will like it, and it would have been ok some years ago, but now we've grown to expect more creativity from our HOPA games. Or at least I thought so, before I saw how highly this game was rated... June 30, 2014
too recycled while playing they kept reiterating on their past fairy tail game plot lines which kind of got redundant and lost my interest because it seemed like they were just using past material to fill in some time space June 29, 2014
DP - Not Good Anymore I think they need to give up on this series. It wasn't fun at all, and I couldn't wait to finish it. I'm a big fan of puzzles, and if you are too, then this game is not for you!! Only a few puzzle designs that they repeat over and are very easy, or just a luck of the draw to click on the right thing until it sparkles. Wish I wouldn't have bought the CE, as once I came to the end, I didn't want to continue with the bonus game. Also, the coloring of the game wasn't to my liking. More reading and pop up scenes then stuff to do. I really felt this was a waste of money. October 13, 2014
Disapointing ...Bummer I have been enjoying the other Parables quite a bit but this one....WOW it is VERY HARD to follow ! There is so much going on and too much bright color. The items you find are hard to keep track of as far as where they might be placed. The game does not make much sense even after playing for 90 min. I really liked the Cinderella one. I wish this one was as fun. :( October 11, 2014
NOT FUN (COMPLETED GAME) Once again, and I should have known before buying, that the game would not get any better after the demo. I really do not understand all the rave reviews! The storyline made no sense, the scenes were (as per Dark Parables' history) overdrawn, too busy and flowery, and that added to the impression that every scene looked alike. The worst part of this developer's tactic is to turn the cursor into a magnifying glass many times per scene, tricking the gamer into anticipating some cool interaction, when all you get is some mundane, useless commentary on nothing important. In one scene, I counted 8 magnifying glass cursor changes, but only 2 bona fide interactions. Terrible. By now, there should be no excuse for not having a choice for custom difficulty. The "normal" level still had an occasional sparkle, the harder level did away with the hint button altogether as I recall. I HATE sparkles! The map wasn't transportable either. The HOGS were the repetitive, boring fragmented type....no innovation here. And the objects created and placed into your inventory were almost always unidentifiable globs of flowery statues and medallions with totally nonsensical names. I actually could not wait till the game was over. July 1, 2014
91-100 of 101 Reviews <<prev 7891011next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: Ballad of Rapunzel Collector's Edition

A strange and deadly pollen is spreading around the world, and you’ve been hired to track down its source. But the secrets you discover in the fabled kingdom of Floralia are much darker than you imagined...

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.