Bookmark

Mystery Case Files: Return to Ravenhearst ™

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

WINNER! Best Game of 2008!
Emma`s soul is free. But her ghost has delivered a dire warning: evil still lurks in Ravenhearst Manor. Big Fish Games Studios takes you deep inside the cursed estate in Mystery Case Files: Return to Ravenhearst ™, the thrilling sequel. Experience Ravenhearst`s spectral halls as never before with new immersive adventure-style gameplay and an epic original soundtrack. Feel the floorboards creak as you move from room to room solving puzzles and seeking out clues in over 150 detailed scenes.

www.MysteryCaseFiles.com

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.4, 10.5 (recommended)
  • CPU: 1.83GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files: Return to Ravenhearst ™

NEW299

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Return to Ravenhearst ™

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Return to Ravenhearst ? 4.3 5 174 174
You will spend your time waiting for HINTS to reload... I played the demo and it was not the best. Graphics are mediocre, everything is on a greenish-grayish background, so it makes the HO scenes difficult to play - find everything you can and leave the HINT for the most difficult - because it takes 2 MINUTES for the hint to reload (poor design on a 60 minute demo). Mini-games have no help or instructional text so you spend your time trying to figure out what to do. The drab background wears after a while since everything is so drab, rundown and colored to look that way. Perhaps if the graphics were better, it would not wear as much, but you get tired of the grayish background, looking for greenish/grayish colored objects (even the carrots were not that brightly colored!). Overall, I was not impressed at all, spend most of my 60 minutes trying to figure out what to do and waiting for the hints to reload. Definitely NOT purchasing and would recommend passing on this one. July 14, 2012
Mystery Case fies: Return to Ravenhearst I'S A GOOD GAME, BUT ME AND MY SISTER TRY AND AT THE END THERE IS NOT CLUE, EVEN THAT I PUT THE BOOKS LIKE IN THE STRATEGY SAID. NO CLUE AND I CANT CONTINUE WITH THE GAME. WHAT'S GOING ON July 31, 2012
MCF?s 1st HOPA BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS The change from this game and the previous Mystery Case Files games is enormous. In fact, they are no longer really in the same genre. This is a HOPA, with hidden object puzzles, assorted other mini-games, and a little wandering around style adventuring. The intro made it clear that despite being a continuation of the previous Ravenhearst story, it would not be a simple carbon copy. SIGHTS & SOUNDS Once again, this game?s graphics improve on its predecessors? markedly, but in this case it is the difference between bearable and unacceptable levels of quality. Although the HOP scenes are better than the locations, both are still a little grainy and blurred. However, not enough to detract from the game. There are also a lot of very dark scenes, and they can be annoying. The ghosts are incorporated into the game very well. The creepy music! The ghostly voices! The eerie surrounding sounds. The soundtrack is good indeed. The music sounds almost orchestral, and is richly varied. WHAT?S HAPPENING? Ravenhearst continues to work its (dark) magic on you, and you have come back. Emma says there are other souls to be freed from this evil place. Again you search the manor for clues. This time, though, you are truly part of the story. You must decide where to go next, and what to look at or for. And you, eventually, must face Dalimar. GAMEPLAY This is no longer just a HOG, so it is a much more complex game to play. Most of the game still consists of HOPs, with those puzzle boards again. But there are less of them than in the past, because now you must find your own way around. The HOPs are now zoom-in windows, there is occasionally a little animation (bugs crawling around ? ick), and are only visited twice . Hint shows you where an inventory item can be used. I hate this type of hint. Usually, it doesn?t help at all, because the area is not yet opened up. And hint takes 5 (!!) full minutes to refill. The puzzles other than the boards are not that easy, and there?s no instructions with them, but you have a skip for them. Skip is quick. 30 minutes is added to your time, but there are no time restrictions for it to make a real difference. I found the adventure game play very hard. There never seemed to be anything I could do. The journal is quite good, but there?s no map. Somehow, however, I battled on without the walkthrough. COMBINED IMPACT This is the first Mystery Case Files game that is a HOPA, and I imagine it caused quite a stir at the time. While I still am uncomfortable with the graphics, this game is doable. But it is also a tough game for those of us spoiled by all the help we get today. It really isn?t my cup of tea, but as a DD or punchcard game, it?s not bad. Particularly if you like dark games, or are a collector. January 21, 2014
A boring and unentertaining game. All you do is play hidden objects scenes. "Mystery Case Files: Return to Ravenhearst" was a game that I had been eager to play for a very, very long time. However, I was sorely disappointed. The game, although it looked and was interesting at first, started to drag and be a bore, mainly because there were way too many hidden objects scenes and the objects were extremely hard to spot. Not to mention that the hint took literally forever to recharge... And, although you had a lot of locations to visit (sometimes even too many), you pratically didn't have nothing to do in them, except, that is, to look for objects in new HO scenes... felt that that was the only thing I was doing in the game. Shopping. I got tired of looking for all those objects and, so, I got tired of the game too. The artwork and the overall presentation was quite beautiful, though. This game definitely hasn't aged well, and it isn't clearly up to the standards of the games that come out nowadays mainly in the aspect of entertainment, that is, needless to say, the base of a game: being able to entertain! I won't play this game again, for sure. I don't recommend it, unless you are a total fan of HOG. September 26, 2013
The same game with a change I fill like I just played the same game. It dose have an interesting change. I still say the story is lacking but that is just me. I like to have all the answers. I can say that I'm glad I played it. It was not hard in fact I played it in one night. I wish it would of been longer. I don't get why they think this game is scary. It wasn't. I would only recommend this game if you play the first one. January 30, 2012
Not as good as other MCF games I love the MCF series of games, but the 3 (I think there are 3) Ravenhurst games don't hold my attention like other MCF games. The plot is good, though predictable, but it gets beaten to death by the third game, in my opinion. I would much rather play Dire Grove, 13th Skull, or Madame Fate. Still, it is a good, Gothic game with mostly challenging HO scenes. Try the free version before buying. If you get sucked into the plot, know that you will have to buy all the games before your obsession is finished. That is a lot of money for a series that you may not find interesting enough to play a 2nd or 3rd time. Worth the free trial, though. January 12, 2012
A haunting and boring story This game was creepy because the music and sound was that of a horror movie. There were many levels that I had to go through and the whole time the same errie music, with a ghost voice. It was just one HOG level after another and it just got boring midway through. Overall, i've seen better. November 3, 2014
MCF starts to move to HOPA This review is based on a complete playthrough: This is the game that 'bridges' the pure HOG's like Madame Fate with the HOPA's like Dire Grove and the ones that followed. It continues the story from Ravenheart (and Madame Fate if you count that cameo). You go back to the haunted house, this time with Charles supposedly on your tail. You now can move around different areas, and there are many puzzles to solve - a few I haven't seen elsewhere. Still lots of Hidden Object scenes, especially at the end, where you have to go back and redo about eight of them to get to the 'last puzzle'. The graphics are much clearer, and the objects are easier to find than they were in Ravenhearst (and Madame Fate). The game would really, really have benefited from a map. There's lots of places to go, and keeping track of them all isn't always easy. You do a LOT of backtracking in this game, so put your running shoes on. While not as large as the newer games, it feels big because you are running around so much. The puzzles are very challenging. I almost never skip puzzles, and I skipped a few of these in frustration. Fortunately, the puzzles are clear this time - as compared to the 'What am I supposed to do with this stuff?' puzzles of the first game. But they are not simple to solve. There's even a fun 'whack-a-mole' mini-game in there that you can replay as often as you want. I love that they copied down most of the important clues in the journal. That doesn't absolve you from taking some notes of your own though - but even there, the journal at least gives you hints, if you read carefully. The story was much better this time around. You learn a lot more about Charles, and what befell the maid from the first game. I won't give any spoilers, but it wasn't the cookie cutter predictable story the first game was. So why only 3 stars? Because I've got to compare this to games that are coming out now in 2013. This game was probably 'state of the art' when it came out, but there are a lot of games that do the same things, only better. If you love the Hidden Object side of the game, this will probably appeal a bit more to you, as there are still a lot of those to work through. If you need that 6th punch or this is a deal of the day/week, I'd say it's a great buy. If you want to follow the storyline, it's not a 'weak' game by any means, but it's not quite at the level of Dire Grove or some of the newer HOPA's that have come out since. March 23, 2013
I'M STUCK THE HO IS A GOOD GAME, BUT I GOT HALF WAY AND I'M STUCK. THE PUZZLES ARE GETTING HARDER AND HARDER. YOU GET NO CLUE ON HOW TO PLAY THEM, OR TO SKIP IT. I LOVE TO FINISH IT BUT IT'S TO HARD. February 15, 2013
It had potentials It would have been a great game if there were better guiding systems. 2 minute cool down for hint and and hint started to reload (cool down) at the beginning of the HOS even if you had not used it yet. I was sitting there done with all the items to find but one, waiting and waiting for hint to pop up. (FYI starfish is green in the cemetery. HUH????) Good graphics, sound. Bit annoying that the ghosts kept bugging you to free them. Like I'm not trying the best! My main problem is with the hint or lack of. Recommending it only to those who want to buy it and does not concern about have to leave it to skip over to check the walk-through. November 26, 2012
141-150 of 174 Reviews <<prev 131415161718next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.
The Windows logo is a trademark of Microsoft, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Return to Ravenhearst ™

Emma`s soul is free. But a dark secret still lurks in Ravenhearst Manor. Return to Ravenhearst to continue this tale of twisted love.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.