Bookmark

PuppetShow: Mystery of Joyville

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The puppet show in Joyville was once a wondrous attraction until the great fire. Now, rusted gears and dark mysteries lay within strange machinations and disheveled puppets. A young boy, Simon, is the most recent in a long line of missing people. In PuppetShow: Mystery of Joyville, you are tasked with solving nefarious puzzles, finding hidden clues, and uncovering the dark secrets of a town that is anything but joyful.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 199 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
PuppetShow: Mystery of Joyville

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

PuppetShow: Mystery of Joyville

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

PuppetShow: Mystery of Joyville 4 5 54 54
Could be more challenging I played also the other "Puppet Show"-games, and I find this one too easy. The game has many hidden-object scenes, but they sparkle. The "hints" work only for theses, but otherwise, you get a lot of clues. So if you are used to HOG, you should be able to finish this game in about 2 hours. Nevertheless, the graphics are very nice and the story is interesting. If you would like more challenge, I would recommend the other two "Puppet Show"-games. December 6, 2011
Not for me Based on the reputation of the PuppetShow series, I was enthused to play this game. I thought the graphics were nice and the story line was a great idea with the potential for a great game, but it never took off for me. To be fair, there were a couple of interesting moments and I did play it to the end, but mostly I just wanted it to be over. The main issue for me is that almost the entire game play consists of moving from one HO scene to the next. I don't think it's fibbing to say that perhaps 90% of the locations you visit have a junk pile HO scene; and at least one location had two of them. Some of the HO scenes were challenging in the way the items were hidden, but the puzzles were very easy and required almost no thought. There are no diaries, maps or journals in the game. There is basically no back tracking, and game play is forward moving and linear. Inventory is small with mostly obvious uses, and the game is full of sparkles everywhere. Gamers who love puzzles or adventure and figuring things will likely be very bored and disappointed. Once I got over my disappointment about halfway through the game and realized it was just going to be HO scenes, I relaxed with a cup of coffee and played casually and just tried to enjoy it for what it is. From that perspective, I think this is perhaps an excellent game for casual gamers who want to play a HOG with very easy puzzles and without much adventure. I've read the sequels are different and more challenging, but at this point I am quite hesitant to continue with the PuppetShow series. April 29, 2012
Too many HOS To be honest, this one in the series had too many HOS. I dont mind some HOS here and there in an adventure type game, but this had more junkpile HOS than adventure. There is no map so I found myself backtracking most of the time. There is no hint button in the main part of game, only in HOS. So if you didnt know where to go next, you have to waste time trying to find out where you need to go by backtracking to the different areas. No hints to direct you where to go. On the plus side, puzzles were pretty good. Most were easy, some were more average than easy. Graphics were really good too. Story was interesting. I recommend this game to those who like having a lot of HOS. April 22, 2013
Very easy I decided to try this out since I was very much enjoying the 3rd in the series. I really like the storyline, but there is almost no challenge in this one and I would imagine it would complete quite quickly. I would rate it higher if it cost less, and I would probably purchase it. I'd like to see the games priced proportionately with gameplay time, with the easier, faster ones being less money. As it stands, I guess I will miss out on the first of the storyline. Not worth the $4.99 for just the storyline. April 21, 2013
Very good game - but feeling dated I played this game again recently and felt that it was seemed dated compared to the two sequels that followed it. That is only to be expected as graphics have improved so much in the last 3 years. It is worth playing, though, if you want a fast, quick and easy introduction to adventure HOG games and if you want to learn the first part of the Joyville / Felicia story. And that is what redeems this older game. The story of the puppets of Joyville is creepy but actually a bit more inventive than so many other HOG adventure games out there and the story continues well with the other 2 games in the series. November 17, 2012
Too Easy = Less Joyful - A Guy's Review *review based on completing the full game* I read the hype about the 4th game in the series (Return to Joyville) and figured I'd start at the beginning with this game. I am sure this game has aged quite a bit, but I will have to compare it to games of today's standards. At the time of its release it is likely this game was among the better hidden object adventures, especially when looking at the graphics that seems good for an older game. Not as good as newer ones today, but still respectable on all accounts. It might be a bit cartoonish and slightly grainy, but never irritatingly so. The objects in the HO scenes are seldom small and they are more cleverly hidden than just transparent in the scene. There is some foundation for a storyline in this game, but it is only that. A foundation. You get very little story as you progress through the game, and I really miss getting to know the characters better, the places and the reasons why all this happens. The foundation is good, but it is poorly executed so to speak. Another thing that is a minus for me personally is that it all ends in a "To Be Continued" moment at the end and no real conclusion. There is very little adventuring in this game. It is basically more of a HO scene to HO scene that gets a few breaks with a few puzzles. Almost all item collecting are done through the HO scenes. It certainly does not help that it is just the HO scenes that offers any form of challenge. The puzzles are way too easy. I do not think I spent a full minute to solve any of them. This leads me to believe this game is aimed for beginners at the genre, as it offers nothing for more advanced players. It also made the game feel very short. It also has only one level of difficulty, and only offers you the chance to do or not to do a tutorial in the beginning. All HO's are marked by sparkles and basically everything you can interact with glimmers. There is no map or journal. Not that you would need any of them. There is basically no backtracking or ways to get lost. And it is not that many scenes to go to. A big positive is that you only do each HO scene once. Way too many games have you returning to the same HO scenes over and over. A slightly negative is that none of them offers much interactivity or originality. They are all cluttered scenes. All in all it is a good game for beginners and for the ones who wants the full story and play through the whole series in succession. A warning to those who have played the sequels before this: You might get disappointed. I would not know for sure as I have yet to play the sequels. I recommend to get this game on a Daily Deal or to use a Punch Card credit, mostly because of the short time it takes to get through this game. For the guys: Nothing much to say. It suits both genders IMO. TJ November 1, 2012
Not as good as PuppetShow: Lost Town I bought Mystery of Joyville after playing (and loving) another PuppetShow game, Lost Town. This one just wasn't as good, though. For one, I finished it in less than 3 hours--pretty paltry compared to Lost Town, which took me much longer than that--and the puzzles and hidden object sequences were just too simple to really enjoy. (I wasn't looking for anything overly complicated, but there should be at least some challenge.) The visuals were great and it was fun while it lasted, but I was pretty disappointed by this one and am sort of sorry I didn't spend my money on a different game. March 12, 2012
I didn't believe it - but I do now ! Call me a doubting Thomas if you wish but I found it hard to believe (after reading several reviews) that there could possibly be that many HOG's. Trust me there were and I only played the demo. I battled my way through them until the last 14 minutes by which time I'd had enough. I was HOG'd out... For you HOG fans, this is the game for you. Beware if you've poor eyesight though, at times my nose was almost on the monitor. No map, no hint other than for the HOG's but I found the graphics ok and the music too. January 26, 2014
Not up to Puppet Show standards I really enjoyed Lost Town, but this one was easier and much more HO-based, with not quite enough adventure/puzzles and challenge to suit me. The ending was also a bit un-climactic and oddly organized, particularly for such an otherwise well-done story. It wasn't a bad game at all, just not up to the standard I expected after "Lost Town." September 22, 2012
Not up to Series Expectations Rather disappointing compared to other Puppet show games. ?No Map ?No Voice Over ?Graphics are drawn, but other Puppet Shows have better, more clear drawings..not impressed. ?Music, didn?t notice it ?LOTS of HO ?HO junk pile, small blurry items, click penality only kicks in if you go very fast...stay slow and you will not have any problems ?Puzzles, very good unfortunately some did not come with directions so you are left to figure out for yourself what to do, they do come with a skip button ?Not so much to & from, you?re prevented from leaving an area if there are tasks to do. ?Very short took me 2 hours & 15 minutes, and that included stopping to watch some music videos on TV with the hubby. Not much more to say, not much of a game?Puppet show is a great series, this one was a disappointment. If you love straight HO this would be great, if you want more chances to investigate and have an adventure you will not find it here. July 30, 2012
41-50 of 54 Reviews <<prev 23456next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

PuppetShow: Mystery of Joyville

Uncover dark secrets, find hidden clues, and solve nefarious puzzles, in PuppetShow: Mystery of Joyville.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.