Bookmark

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

Full version game
(484.98 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Celtic legend of Dire Grove has been passed down from generation to generation for centuries. Considered a fairytale, its telling was meant to frighten small children into staying in their beds through the night. A recently unearthed artifact in the United Kingdom, however, proves the dark legend to be true! Use your wits and Hidden Object talents to follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students in Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1280 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 517 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove 4.6 5 296 296
Very good game My first MCF game was 13 Skulls, which is still the best to me. This is a good game. The pluses: Beautiful art and environment Nice music - never annoying or overly repetitive Puzzles weren't too hard, just enough to make you sit and think a bit. The story is interesting and more realistic than than most. You can choose your wrong-click comment 'attitude'. If you click on something erroneously, you can choose 'snarky', 'regular' or 'motivational'. I chose that and it made me smile. I'd try to use the wrong tool on something and get the comment, 'you're special'. Fun to see what'd pop up. Drawbacks: No map Hint button is only for the puzzles, not for traveling through the different rooms. I had to use the online walkthrough because some areas were really vague or didn't make much sense. While the videos you pick up are well-acted, they are a little repetitive and don't offer any real clues to help you get through the game. They're really just to explain why everything is how you see it. I would recommend this game as long as you know these things going in. May 9, 2012
Fun and Creepy This is the first game I played on BigFish and it got me hooked on HOG. I didn't know games this graphically advanced existed. I was really impressed with the story, quality of live acting, and the challenge. I felt like I was actually in a horror movie. Figuring out what to do was challenging but I think it would have been easier and more enjoyable had this not been my first game. I don't think I could have figured out the final solution without the walkthrough; and its less satisfying to need to follow the instructions rather than figure out it yourself. I give the game 4 stars because I prefer whimsical games and because I find the flow of MCF games to be monotonous and not intutive. The HOGs could also be more original/creative. April 22, 2012
One of the better ones One of the better games I've played recently. Lots of interesting puzzles, hidden object games, and a spooky storyline. The only problems: 1) The HOGs could have been brighter/sharper and 2) it was occasionally it was *too* challenging, so I had to use the walkthrough and skim the forums. But unlike other similar games, it took several hours total to get through and had a somewhat interesting and original storyline. December 3, 2011
Addictive, Short, Good Visuals This game is pretty addictive. I worked through it in about five hours. Once you get started it's hard to pull yourself away. It's mostly picture search which, surprisingly, is more fun than it sounds. The puzzles are decent but not very challenging. The atmosphere, however, is fantastic. You really start to feel the cold, oppressive winter conditions. I must add that the main actress in the video scenes is absolutely gorgeous. If you like this, try a great old game (from the '90s) called The 7th Guest. It's all puzzles but it also has a great creepy atmosphere and investigative plot. Anyway, the greatest Dire Grove mystery at all is "What were the snowshoes for?" January 29, 2012
Snowy British Countryside I loved the graphics and scenery in this game. It's one of the qualities that draw me into the game, along with the story. The story was good. I had to consult the walkthrough a couple of times. Got stumped quite a bit, but if you're patient it isn't hard to figure out the puzzles. December 10, 2011
If you really love hidden object, otherwise.. LIked it, but the story line was either one hidden object game after another, or no clues whatsoever. Story too obvious - you play tapes to watch some cool movie strips, but they don't tell you anything. It just seemed a little inconsistent. Not quite at the Ravenhurst level. July 7, 2012
ENJOYABLE not as good as the 13th Skull but the play quality is there ... enjoyed the music November 22, 2011
Scary Game yet exciting It was fun playing this game. It was so challenging. November 20, 2012
GOOD TASK AND PUZZLE GAME I bought this game as had just finished Poirot Death on the Nile which was 95% hidden object. It got boring and was very short. When I realised Dire Grove had task also, I decided to purchase it after the trial period. I was impressed. It bought me back to the good old days of Resident Evil on Playstation. I just love trying to solve puzzles and finding items to use. The graphics and sound were very good and you had the option to control sound levels. I thought the puzzles were very logical to work out. However, because I have completed all the Resident Evils I did find the game a bit short but very enjoyable and would recommend it as a start off to people not used to more than hidden object games but want something extra. I am currently on the trial session of Ravenhearst 2 and considering buying it. November 6, 2012
Dire Grove Cannot really add to what has already been said about this fantastic game, except that it really is that engrossing and enjoyable from start to end. However the only unfortunate thing that seriously let it down was having the option to skip a puzzle. WHY? What is the point at adding and trying to solve puzzles when you are then given the easy option to skip. Would have been better if the makers had introdroduced only a few skips, like 3 lives in total etc. May 19, 2012
241-250 of 296 Reviews <<prev 2324252627...30next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

A recently unearthed artifact proves a dark legend to be true! Follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.