Bookmark

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

Full version game
(484.98 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Celtic legend of Dire Grove has been passed down from generation to generation for centuries. Considered a fairytale, its telling was meant to frighten small children into staying in their beds through the night. A recently unearthed artifact in the United Kingdom, however, proves the dark legend to be true! Use your wits and Hidden Object talents to follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students in Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1280 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 517 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove 4.6 5 297 297
Dire Grove Cannot really add to what has already been said about this fantastic game, except that it really is that engrossing and enjoyable from start to end. However the only unfortunate thing that seriously let it down was having the option to skip a puzzle. WHY? What is the point at adding and trying to solve puzzles when you are then given the easy option to skip. Would have been better if the makers had introdroduced only a few skips, like 3 lives in total etc. May 19, 2012
MCF DIRE GROVE COLLECTABLE THINK OUTSIDE THE BOX. HAVE PATIENCE. USE THE BRAIN YOU HAVE. VERY CHALLENGING. EMJOY THE RIDE. THANK GOD FOR THE WALKTHROUGH. May 19, 2012
Nice story, Good game play, what more do you need Good game. Even the story was good. The game play was easy & nice. Great legnth for an evening of gaming. I also like the fact that you can figure out where to go without having to go back & use the forum or stragy guide. The story was interesting & unexpected. I'm glad I played this game. This is one of my favorite MCF games. January 30, 2012
Fun, entertaining game The storyline was a bit far fetched, I mean the main girl was right the whole time but she acted like a psychopath in the beginning. "She is so real guys!" Yea.... Anyway, other than that the storyline was pretty good and original. The gameplay was good but I did get stuck at around page 7 in the journal. If you did too do not fret, you do not have to buy the walkthrough guide. Just go to this site: http://www.bigfishgames.com/blog/walkthrough/mystery-case-files-dire-grove-game-walkthrough/ And you will get a free walkthrough the game. It was very helpful to me at certain parts of the game. I just wished the game (the storyline anyway) was a little longer. Outside of that I really enjoyed it and the music gave it a def scare factor. Love these types of games and will keep playing them. July 21, 2013
Atmospheric game I wasn't expecting the horror elements, I was pleasantly surprised it had a creepy vibe than outright horror. The puzzles are fairly challenging, the scenery really sets the mood and sometimes I had the feeling was being watched. The camera angles added to the sense of oppression. I couldn't stopped playing. What I disliked were the videotapes found around as clues, they added very little and it's an outdated way of adding to the plot (Blair Witch much). I didn't like the switch from gameplay to real life footage either. The sound effects were at times very overpowering, music and sound were quite loud, very noticeable in the hidden objects puzzles. It was as if the game couldn't decide what to focus on, it wanted to be everything at once. Rather annoying and it required a lot of changing of the settings. We don't get an in-depth view of the detective, I would preferred to know who I was playing as. June 16, 2013
MCF fan its a good game 4 everyone, not too good and not too bad :) April 19, 2013
MCF, always good. I froze thru the whole game; wanted to get out of all that ice and snow!! The game was great; not a fan of HOs, though and some of them were not easy to find! A very interesting game; good plot. Great puzzles, had me going for a while. Big game, no map. Lots of back and forth. Game makes you work hard but I always love a challenge! Give it a shot. March 21, 2013
Chilling o.O The graphics are amazing. The story is good. It has a nice amount of quality puzzles. Also, the morphing objects are back. (And, as a bonus, you will have the wonderful surprise of a certain tiny figure in your car...) It has an emptiness I've never felt before in Mystery Case Files. The snow and the cold - you almost feel it. Things left behind in a rush also help to deepen the sense of mystery. You continue because you want to know what the heck happened. But the suitable and adorable (as always) soundtrack was... gone. You hear the wind, most of the time. And it's a matter of personal taste, of course, but I really disliked having real people on this. The acting, one time or another, just lacked the emotion. And since my laptop is an old snail, it was easy to see that it pulled more from the graphic card than previous titles. Nevertheless, March 16, 2013
First of the MCF games I've played and I loved it! This was a really fun game to play if you like HOA games. There were some things that were worked into this game that I thought were really interesting and made it seem like these events actually took place, or some sort of movie you were watching, like video tapes you had to find throughout the game. I loved how you had to piece the clips together to eventually be able to watch the video diary in it's entirety. The actors weren't half bad either, it wasn't a cheesy video diary where the mouths didn't go along with the words or the actors movements were on a loop or something. It was almost like scenes from the Blair Witch Project. I always play on Expert mode or which ever the hardest mode is and I found this game to have just the right amount of challenge. I could do without so many HO scenes, but most of these games are littered with them, so I can't complain. I also love how they don't just hand you whatever items you need in that scene, you have to just find things along the way and piece the puzzle together bit by bit. I love acquiring an item and not knowing what use it will have until later on in the game. I really despise games that award you several items for your inventory for completing just one HO scene, or when they place several important objects in one location for use in that specific location! I play these HOA/Adventure Puzzle games for a reason- I want to be challenged! I want to fit together the pieces of a larger puzzle piece by piece. Don't just hand me every puzzle piece I need right off the bat... that takes the mystery and "adventure" out of the game! Besides the challenge, I loved the creepy atmosphere, the detail in the different locations and the overall chilling feeling throughout the whole game. This game actually made me download all the other Mystery Case Files games! Unfortunately, not all of the MCF games are as great and interesting as this one. I hate Ravenhearst Manor.... that was a let down. However, Escape from Ravenhearst and Return to Ravenhearst are now two of my favorite games. I purchased them both and could not put my laptop down once I started! All in all, this was fun to play and I was sad when I finally solved the mystery... March 12, 2013
Was Good But Difficult At Times Dire Grove was a great game but it could be very difficult at times. The plot was awesome and the snowy setting was great -- the outdoors were so beautifully made. I liked the scattered videos because it gave us a better idea of the plot. However I got stuck a lot and had to use an online walkthrough. Challenging games are really fun but not so challenging that you have no clue what to do half the time (which I found happened quite often in this installment). Overall -- great game, very challenging. February 5, 2013
251-260 of 297 Reviews <<prev 2425262728...30next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

A recently unearthed artifact proves a dark legend to be true! Follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.