Bookmark

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

Full version game
(484.98 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Celtic legend of Dire Grove has been passed down from generation to generation for centuries. Considered a fairytale, its telling was meant to frighten small children into staying in their beds through the night. A recently unearthed artifact in the United Kingdom, however, proves the dark legend to be true! Use your wits and Hidden Object talents to follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students in Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1280 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 517 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Violence
Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove 4.6 5 301 301
Enjoyed it but wasn't the best I've played I liked the game and the atmosphere. Maybe it was because it was dark, cold and rainy here so the snow added to the overall environment. The storyline was OK with the premise being missing students who were investigating some Celtic legend related to Dire Grove. It just didn't really grab me and I think because of the storyline, they were limited to what type of thrills to put into scenes - which ended up being a ghostly figure in mirrors and outside of windows and constant snow across the screen. A different premise would have allowed for a better thrill factor. The HOGs were OK but I found myself wandering from location to location to determine if a new one had surfaced to give me the item I needed to further the story. Visuals were good, puzzles were generally logical and not too difficult. It took me about 6 hours to play with breaks to do laundry, etc. Was hoping for more suspenseful. All in all, I would recommend but just cannot put it at the top of my list as best I've played. Nor would I recommend with an exclamation point after the statement. August 26, 2012
So difficult it was not always fun I loved the imagery and storyline in this game, however it became so hard at times I was just wandering around aimlessly in the game trying to figure out what I was supposed to be doing next. The video portion of this game seemed unnecessary and tedious to watch. There only seemed to be one helpful clue that came from a video. The maneuverability of the town was confusing. I kept forgetting how to get from one place to another. Overall, I enjoyed playing this game, when I could figure out what to do. December 10, 2011
A Challenging Game This game was quite challenging. I didn'teally get in to the full swing of the game very much but I'll try. Good Parts: Crime computer Challenging Location of hidden objects Gripping storyline OK Parts: Had to find the places of hidden objects Bad Parts: Took a while to get in to No tutorial options Took ages to find hidden object locations I reccomend this game, but Huntsville is better May 6, 2012
Not as good as I expected I am a little disappointed with this one, particularly because it was so highly recommended. I don't know if it was just me, but personally I didn't find it all that exciting. It delivered in the graphics department and incorporated some nice details with the video visuals. As far as the environments, Dire Grove could have been way better. The scenes weren't all that detailed like some of the other MCF ones. Puzzles were not so much hard, as it was hard remembering what you need to solve it! It was a little annoying having to back track what you found previously just to solve a puzzle. I would still recommend trying this game because I love MCF so much. December 30, 2011
WHAT.....only hints in HO scenes?? I was wanting to like this game because of all the high reviews but I didn't. The main thing for me was the hint button ONLY works in HO scenes. It does not work in showing you where to go or giving ANY kind of hint as to what to do next, how to use an object you're stuck on or anything but the HOs. That did it for me.....bottom line. Nope....it's not for me. October 25, 2012
Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove Unable to get very far, therefore disappointing. Know what to do but game does not allow me to do it. July 18, 2012
Reality Check is in Order I hate to say anything negative about these great games, and if you will notice I get level of challenge 5 bars. However, when is too much challenge too much? It seems that all these MCF games are true adventure. There is no help button except in the HOS and I found myself totally lost most of the time. This game and all of these in the MCF series need at least a map of some sort to help you realize where in the world you were. I played for over 7 hours and eventually gave in and used the walkthrough to figure out where I was and what I needed to do. I even ended up with something left over in my inventory... I think. It just took the fun out of it for me. Even the mini games had no instructions or help. I know there are those who enjoy wandering aimlessly about a computerized world but I'm not one of them. Now that the complaining is out of the way, the graphics are fantastic. Real people are intertwined in the story which is very good. The sound is fantastic and did I mention it is extremely challenging. The music and sounds are great also. The designers did a fantastic job. The story is well written and true to the MCF series. You get an attachment to them and the ending, it was fantastic. If you enjoy a level of challenge above and beyond all others, beautiful graphics and music, and a really good story, this game is for you! I highly recommend it. However, if you are like me and prefer and a little help along the way, then maybe you might consider passing this one by. Having said all this, I do highly recommend this game. May 1, 2013
MCF Two words for you - BASIC RESEARCH I have previously held off commenting on the laughable way that MCF represend parts of the UK because it really didn't matter too much but here I must say something. I am presently situated in the precise location that Dire Grove is meant to be set and travel the York to Weatherby road every day. This is actually one of the UK's highest areas of social deprevation, drug use and Gang crime so for MCF to present it as "Quaint English Countriside" (actually filmed in Argentina!) is both irrisponsible and dangerous to people who might be encouraged to visit. What they are representing as "Historical Artifacts (scanned)" are actually relics of Henry VIII and at least Two Thousand Years (and about Seventy miles) removed from the Neolithic ledgends they are attempting to recreate here. Lazy, Sloppy and Cheap. The game itself - Again this has apparently been two projects that have been slopily spliced together - one an intense and scary Blair Witch type scenaro that has been innapropriatly incorperated into a light and comedic gameplay. The feel of this is awkward and embarresing. The graphics are georgeous and so it the sound but in no way represent the area they are meant to be taking place in or any historical relevence. The actual game play is among the slowest and most boring I have ever encountered. It just goes nowhere, and nowhere again, parts of the plot are inconsistent with the video clips and scenarios that are set up are dropped somewhere at the half way point and never picked up. Final opinion - Lovely Graphics and some rather good acting that has been given to a programming team that has just thrown the bits together in a random way withthout actually looking at it. February 13, 2013
Feels a bit amaturish I think the live actors in this game killed it mostly for me. They were bad. It was an ok game, but I didn't enjoy it enough to play any other games by the same makers. Felt a bit anti-climactic for me as well. Like the end was too easy and there wasn't enough build up to it. At least the length was pretty good though. The vast majority of these games aren't long enough to warrant their prices. November 21, 2011
NOT AS FUN AS 13 SKULLS This game was just "okay". I thought the MCF 13 Skulls was much more interesting and fun. The graphics, music and sound effects were good and the HOS were easy #no eye strain!# You really need to watch for clues on what to do next. I was able to play the entire game, but still had snow shoes leftover in my inventory? I'm not sure what that was all about. I had to go back and forth between the game and the free on-line cheater sheet because I'd miss a clue and didn't get enough information from the game to know where to back track to. I wouldn't recommend this game if your easily frustrated! December 4, 2011
271-280 of 301 Reviews <<prev 262728293031next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

A recently unearthed artifact proves a dark legend to be true! Follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.