Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A dreadful murder and kidnapping has occurred in the Rue Morgue and only you can solve the dark crime! Follow the clues to find the killer and the missing family. Become the apprentice of the famed C. Auguste Dupin and solve the devious puzzles to find the hidden clues that will lead you to the monstrous murderer. Based on Edgar Allan Poes most acclaimed murder mystery, Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poes Murder in the Rue Morgue is a fantastic Hidden Object game full of suspense and excitement.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 232 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue 3.6 5 34 34
Rue Morgue I had played the black cat prior to this game and found it more of a challenge more enjoyable for me. This ending was a total let down for me, sort of wimpy. I did not pick up on the ending of this game being revealed in the black Cat, otherwise I wld not hv purchased this game.To short also, finished it quickly. Probably will not purchase another of this series. June 14, 2012
Not Earth Shattering! This was another HOG that I purchased as a dual pack by BFG, along with the Black Cat, which I haven't played yet. You might want to play the trial version before purchasing this. I can't say that there was much to this one. The visual is really nice quality, however, all of the audio was extremely annoying to me, so I completely opted out of it. Especially, since you have to read the entire storyline, anyways. Which I also skipped! I just couldn't get into the plot of this game, at all. They have this map that keeps you skipping around to different scenes, which is fine to see different variety. However, I kept thinking there was something else that I needed to do, before quickly going to another location. It seemed rather short-lived for the mystery problem solving in this game. The mini-game puzzles are also rather easy, even for me, which says a lot. LOL! The game itself ended rather quickly considering they show you this super large map to visit many locations. If you're looking for a relaxing game, mainly for hidden objects only, this would be fine, for that purpose. It does ask if you want normal mode or expert mode. So, for more of a challenge you probably should go with expert. I don't think anyone would have a problem getting through this game rather quickly, even on that mode! The only reason I'd recommend this game, is because some people may actual like this sort of thing, but I wasn't very impressed. Maybe I was just expecting more out of it. December 22, 2011
not bad i enjoy the first the dark cat but this one story is quiet good as the first April 18, 2012
Good and bad If you are a Hidden objects game lover, then this game is for you, because that's pretty much all it is. I prefer balance of puzzles, HOs, and adventure, so I would NOT recommend this game. The sound track was pretty cool, made me feel like I was in France. Premature Burial was the best one in the series. April 1, 2012
Relaxing game I thought this game was fun and relaxing. The puzzles were pretty easy tho but thats what made it so relaxing I suppose. The music was not annoying either. :) November 29, 2011
Too short This is my first game in the Dark Tales series. This review is based on the SE. I was disappointed in the length of this game. I finished this in a day. The visuals/graphics were excellent. The storyline was just ok and the puzzles themselves were easy. A bit too easy. I look forward in playing the next games and hope they are better. April 26, 2012
Loosely based on the Poe short story If you know the story, this will be a disappointment. It's merely the framework for an unending series of HOS -- two, three or more per room. A handful of extremely simple games and far too much direction in the "Normal" mode, but not nearly enough in the "Hard." Lots of reading. A few glitches with the games -- a "striped tie" turns out to be a solid blue tie, a few puzzle pieces refused to take -- but nothing serious. The changes to the story do not improve it. Mademoiselle L'Espanaye is Madame L'Espanaye's sister, rather than her daughter. So how do they have the same last name? L'Espanaye is Madame's married name. And Madame L'Espanaye is given a 5-year old sobbing son; very cliched. I won't spoil it for those who do want to play, but will simply say that the case bears no resemblance whatsoever to that in the story. No interviewing of witnesses, no clues found at the scene. June 18, 2013
Finished Review Having played the other Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's hidden object games I beleive this must have been the first attempt. I was easy to play and not a long game. I was a little disappointed because had I tried this one first I would never have played the other two which are excellent HO games. If you get stumped at the table with the microscope put the snail shell at the middle of the pitcher not up at the top like you are dropping it in or you will be there forever. LOL GL Have fun. October 27, 2012
Ho Hum! This was one of the most boring games I've purchased. Sorry BFG - but there was no puzzle here. Every location - you were lead to..could not leave - finished all scenes which were not even barely Hidden Object. Disappointing but on the good side if you are a first time Hidden Object player - you won't get stuck! The Black Cat, Premature Buriel and other EdgarA Poe games were much better! February 6, 2012
To many HOG scenes These Allan Poe games are HOG games and I concede that but not because I like HOG games that you have to give me an HOG scene every two seconds and sometimes three or four at the same time. I bought three Allan Poe games at the same time after playing the demos - big mistake. They must make the games more interesting and space out these HOGs and my goodness find ways to insert them into the game that draws life into the game and not 'kill it' Also use some imagination and find different type of scenes (although Murder in the Rue Morgue explored that area better than the first two). Still within a few minutes I have searched dozens of the same items. Boring. The mini games are not bad and the stories are good. However, Allan Poe games could get me to hate HOG's. That is until I came across an HOG where a character threw a bomb into a garbage bin to destroy evidence. Quickly I acting the part of the cameraman rushed to get water to douse the flames and low and behold the most wonderful HOG scene you ever saw, with the coals still burning the search is on to find evidence in the cinder remnants. Now that is an HOG with interest. Not you open a door and four HOG scenes are waiting for you. Heh! I am rolling my eyes to the ceiling so much at the sight of these HOG scenes that I feel my eyes will get stuck somewhere in the back of my head. I like the stories and would like to see improvement. If you are reading this review and like HOG scene much like a solitaire game, from one to the other, then go ahead and enjoy. May 2, 2012
21-30 of 34 Reviews <<prev 234next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's Murders in the Rue Morgue

A dreadful murder and kidnapping has occurred in the Rue Morgue and only you can solve the dark crime! Follow the clues to find the killer and the missing family. Become the apprentice of the famed C. Auguste Dupin and solve the devious puzzles to find the hidden clues that will lead you to the monstrous murderer. Based on Edgar Allan Poes most acclaimed murder mystery, Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poes Murder in the Rue Morgue is a fantastic Hidden Object game full of suspense and excitement.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.