Bookmark

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Celtic legend of Dire Grove has been passed down from generation to generation for centuries. Considered a fairytale, its telling was meant to frighten small children into staying in their beds through the night. A recently unearthed artifact in the United Kingdom, however, proves the dark legend to be true! Use your wits and Hidden Object talents to follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students in Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: 10.4
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • Hard Drive: 537 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Safari 4.0 or later
Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove 4.6 5 296 296
Great fun Loved it. what more can I say. January 26, 2012
All Time Favorite Game The very first game I ever played was a Mystery Case File game and they have continued to be my favorites and by which I measure every other game. Dire Grove is my all time favorite game and I have come back to replay it several times. If you're new to Big Fish or just haven't played this one yet don't wait any longer as this game is fantastic. Gorgeous graphics, great story line and lots of challenging puzzles. April 1, 2012
Mystry Case Files: Dire Grove I thoroughly enjoyed playing Dire Grove. The setting of the snow storm was awesome. The characters were life-like, and the puzzles were challenging. Thanks, and keep the games coming. Laxshar February 17, 2012
Well, Dire, Of Course! *groan* Sorry! BASED ON COMPLETED GAME FIRST IMPRESSIONS You know, I?ve rather enjoyed my role as MCF heretic, believing myself to be not as all that impressed with the series as most fishies are. But replaying them all in conjunction with the latest in the series, I have come a long way towards changing my tune. For the first hour or more, I found my usual objections to MCF. It was too in-your-face creepy, too ?loud?, and altogether too over done. As well as being unforgivingly and unforgivably hard. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The videos drove me nuts! Right from the very start. They were totally nerve wracking. They were also splendid of course. To be able to present video of this quality in 2009! With actors, not cartoons! The use made of tapes as an slowly unfolding suspense/horror movie was inspired. Admittedly, by today?s standard the graphics are a little grainy ? again, not bad for a game produced in the age of the dinosaur! The sound track is one feature I am not at all conflicted about. It is brilliant. There are everything from haunting melodies to crashing thunderous chords that scared the living daylights out of me. WHAT?S HAPPENING Having survived yet another clash at Ravenhearst, you find yourself snowed in by an unseasonable blizzard near a township called Dire Grove, well known for its Celtic heritage. A stalled car, a shocking video, played on your Crime Computer, and you are knee deep in the snow drifts, trying to locate 4 missing post grad students, who have come to see some Celtic relics recently found in the area. It is a terrifying mystery and tests all your skills as a Master Detective. MAKING PROGRESS This is an adventure game with a heavy tendency towards HOPs, which are all interactive lists and visited twice. There are also a lot of tricky puzzles, covering a wide selection of the sorts of puzzles and mini-games we have seen since then and now. There are some nastier aspects to this typically MCF utterly impossible game. No hint outside HOPs and no map!! In a game that covers about 30 locations, across a never ending supply of snow drifts inside and out. The journal is your only hope for much of the game, and it rarely spells things out. It simply lets you work out the meaning of what you?ve seen for yourself. FINAL VERDICT This is, of course, the reason MCF games have such a following. They are always cutting-edge in the game mechanics, daring to do something genuinely different with every new release. They have great stories told extremely well, usually in unusual ways. And they are demanding games, expecting more from you than any other series (that I can think of, anyway). Love them or hate them, MCF games are in a class of their own. And the more often I play them, the more I find them irresistible. January 4, 2014
Great story! If you enjoy lots of hidden object scenes and supernatural stories, this game will satisfy. Loved the storyline and how it unfolded. A real feel-good game, when solved! June 1, 2012
Favorite MCF game I have always loved the MCF games but this one is definitely the best! November 17, 2011
Very good A really exciting game with good graphics.I enjoyed it from beginning to end November 15, 2011
best hidden object game in the world it was the best in the world THE BEST November 13, 2011
frist game my frist game and now I love these game and help my gremen too, in reading and spelling December 19, 2013
Stands the Test of Time This was the game I spent my very first Club Credit on. This is the first time I've replayed it since then, December 2009. I think I loved it now more than I did then! It has a plot. It has great live acting. It has a great soundtrack and sound effects. It has no map and no hint outside of the HO scenes. You really need to think, and remember. The puzzles are good, not too hard, not too easy. I wish there were more of them. There are a lot of HOs, I wish there were less but they are all in context and found in appropriate places, you don't have to wander all the way to the other end of the game looking for a random one. I'm glad I got the SE version instead of the CE. I think the morphs would have distracted from the story and the immersive atmosphere, and not having a strategy guide at your fingertips really makes you work. Excellent game, I really loved it. December 3, 2013
51-60 of 296 Reviews <<prev 45678...30next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery Case Files: Dire Grove

A recently unearthed artifact proves a dark legend to be true! Follow the trail of a group of missing graduate students.

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.