Bookmark

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

1000 years ago, Sleeping Beauty was kissed by a prince, which removed a terrible curse from the kingdom. The rampant briars were held at bay, but the poor princess was left in her slumber. Follow a modern day detective as he travels to Edinburgh, Scotland, and attempts to end the curse once and for all in Dark Parables: Curse of Briar Rose. Dive into this eerie Hidden Object Adventure game and save Sleeping Beauty today!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 160 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Violence
Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose 4 5 80 80
Love the game but... The fact that only the PC users can get the Collector's Edition bonus game (where we explore the vine-filled room) is kind of annoyingly biased. Especially since all the other Dark Parables games have Mac CE. Aside from that minor point, the game itself is beautiful, fun, and the fragmented HOG style is unique and works very well, allowing the items you collect to be more intricate in appearance. The ending minigame feels a little out of place and the game as a whole, for fans of the series and HOG games, isn't too challenging, but, again, it is fun. Storyline could use some work, compared to other Dark Parable titles there's a lack of pathos or a sense of urgency. Still, an all-around excellent game. May 1, 2014
Love the series! I love this game- but the only reason I am not giving it 5 stars- I can't get this game as a Collector's Edition like the rest of them on my MAC :( Other than that this game is fantastic! I love the story line and graphics! Thank you! February 2, 2014
LOVED IT It was nice to have to look for different pices of an object, full objects can become boring. Unlike many other people, I had to really look for some of the parts. Puzzles were not easy the 1st time round, but the second time - I easily found the objects. I am biased as I simply love the Dark Parables. When can we expect a new one? October 19, 2012
Briar Rose I'm not fond of the hidden object games where you have to put things together. Some things were hard to see in the shadows causing eye strain. Start looking for those haunted items as soon as you start. Have fun! I may will play again on hard level but right now am moving on to another Dark Parables. September 22, 2012
Love the series as a whole!!! I think this series of games is great. The Collector's Editions for Briar Rose and Rise of the Snow Queen were not recommended to me so I didn't realize they existed until after I had completed the SE. I will likely purchase the CE now that I know! Great suite of games and the graphics only get better as the games progress. Great stories with interesting and challenging mini-games, hidden objects, and puzzles. June 20, 2012
Beautiful graphics I enjoyed the graphics and the storyline was interesting. The fragmented hidden objects were too easy to find to my liking. I played Dark Parable: Curse of the Snow Queen first which was a more challenging game so I was disappointed to see a lower level of difficulty in this game but considering it was the first one in the series it is understandable. I was pleasantly surprised to see at the completion of the game that a more difficult level could be played the second time around. . March 13, 2012
Fun for beginners to early intermediate players This game is a little easier than some of the other HO object games such as 13 Skulls or Shadow Wolf Mysteries, but it is fun to play. I enjoyed the HO games because they were different from your typical ones. The games were relatively easy, but you get a lot of game play for your money. January 2, 2012
Adventuresome Hidden Object Game! A fun hidden object adventure game that starts from the Sleeping Beauty fairy tale. The graphics and sound are very nice, however, some of the hidden object puzzles were too dark to find many objects. Even so, it's an enjoyable game with fresh puzzles and a good storyline. December 22, 2011
Hints At The Quality Games To Come GAME COMPLETED SEVERAL TIMES There is much that is good about this game, but you must first become used to the poor graphics that are unavoidable for a game this old (released March 2010). As well, you must enjoy fragmented HOs, because that is all this game offers, with a few puzzles tossed in. Once your eyes have adjusted, you can appreciate: ? Interactive objectives feature which tells you which scenes require your attention ? Pleasant ?zen? music ? Morphing collectibles ? And the challenge offered when you complete the game and it is automatically changed to hard mode and the promise of a secret room to be discovered. I really like the story, the first in the Dark Parables series, where all their stories are treated this way. The Curse of Briar Rose is the ?true? story behind the fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, and you are a fable detective enlisted to release Briar Rose and the castle from the curse. This game is easy, apart from the visibility question, and therefore pretty short. But if your eyesight can handle it, I think this is a fine game for the collection, and worthy of the spectacular games that follow in this series. April 9, 2013
Good story, shame about game execution Technically speaking, there is a visual problem with this game in that the graphics are so dark you may find you need to change the settings on your computer just in order to be able to actually see anything, as I did. A gamma adjustment option within the game would have helped overcome this. As far as playing the game itself is concerned, this could have been a really good game as I enjoyed the storyline, but it was spoiled by very inferior gameplay. Firstly, although many things could be clicked, most of them produced nothing other than a description or commentary. Some locations had barely anything even to click on and there was nothing to do all. At one place there was a door blocked by rubble which could be clicked on but I never found anything to remove the obstacle and never had to pass through the door the complete the game anyway, which left me wondering what the point of it was. In one location I just finished searching and finding all the parts for one item and immediately had to go back to exactly the same spot to look for the next item which was also rather tedious. Some things, although being used in the correct place, had to be done in precisely the right order or in the right way, otherwise a rather condescending message would be given as if you had tried something stupid when, in fact, it was not very clear which item should be placed before any of the others. As you progress through the game there is no logic as to what to do next. In order to save yourself the bother of going from place to place looking for some clue as to what you should be doing or where you should be searching, it is best just to consult the hint button which tells you where to look, as there is no logic at all behind the locations of the objects. The hidden objects are not actual objects but fragments of things which assemble when you have found all the parts. They all look very similar - basically you are looking for what appear to be lumps of wood, bits of masonry or lumps of metal. Really. Not very inspiring and not at all visually appealing and gets really boring after a while, especially as the designers had little imagination as to where to place the parts. Pretty much all the items were in the same sorts of places. The objects parts you are looking for do not resemble their picture, either in size, colour or shape, so at the start, before you learn where they always put the object parts, you end up just randomly clicking everything in the hope that you will find something. Not very entertaining and more frustrating than challenging. Still, at least there is no click penalty, which is just as well as I would certainly have given up completely before I got very far if there had been. I did enjoy some of the mini-games (the ones where you had to get a coloured disk into its location by pressing arrows) but all in all I found the whole thing disappointing and the game failed to deliver what it seemed to promise. Oh if only Elephant Games had made this story! I am sticking to games made by them in the future - none of these other games at all meet their excellent standard. March 21, 2013
51-60 of 80 Reviews <<prev 45678next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

Help a detective explore a rampant briar growth in Scotland, and discover the true tale of the real Sleeping Beauty!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.