Bookmark

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

1000 years ago, Sleeping Beauty was kissed by a prince, which removed a terrible curse from the kingdom. The rampant briars were held at bay, but the poor princess was left in her slumber. Follow a modern day detective as he travels to Edinburgh, Scotland, and attempts to end the curse once and for all in Dark Parables: Curse of Briar Rose. Dive into this eerie Hidden Object Adventure game and save Sleeping Beauty today!

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 160 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Mild Violence
Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose 3.9 5 81 81
Disappointed I was looking forward to playing this game after reading all the positive reviews, but I had a different experience. Although the graphics were well done, the story was just like a hundred other stories but without the interactions with the characters to keep it interesting. There were way, way, way too many HO games which require you to find bits and pieces of an inventory object. I didn't have to look at the pics. of what I needed, I just went around the scene clicking on likely looking objects. I only needed the Hint when the pieces were too small to see. All of this HO hunting really took me out of the story. I felt no connection at all. Added to this was the fact that there was no map. I spent some frustrating time backtracking. Surprisingly, none of the objects, hiding places, etc., were magnified when you worked on one so you didn't really feel part of what was happening. I usually only comment when I've loved a game and want others to enjoy it, too. With this game, I want other gamers to save their money. I was so glad to be finished with it and sorry that I wasted two credits on it. November 1, 2012
More a puzzle than a HOG The art was nice, but the HOG part was horrible. Unrecognizable, shattered pieces of objects scattered across the same scenes over and over? August 17, 2012
No story, no gameplay This game consists of three things: >Hidden object scenes >Using hidden object items >Going from screen to screen looking for the next HOS Hint only works for HOS, BUT you can find cursed objects - outside of the HOS - that recharges your hint. This game is absolutely awful but loook: OTHER GAMES IN THIS SERIES ARE OK! (well, not all.) April 21, 2014
Not worth the money...even on sale I have liked other Dark Parables games like Final Cinderella and Red Riding Hood Sisters.....but this one was terrible. It was boring, not much to interact with, zero story line and the ending was even uneventful. It was just a lot of back and forth and really dull HO scenes right after the other. I would not recommend buying this. Definitely do the trial before hand, but I wouldnt even see that as worth the time. July 19, 2014
Boring game I only tried the trail and nearly fall asleep. In the game all I know is keep clicking. HOS and HOS, place to place, puzzles are too easy. I even don't know why I need to keep clicking. Where is those middle cut scenes to keep my mind in the story line? And in one hour I have already finished half of the game. If you are hard to go to sleep, I suggest to play this game to replace your sleeping pill. I only give it half star for their graphic. October 13, 2013
I hate this game I am several hours into this game. I will likely quit. Graphics are great. Story is not interesting. It is very non linear. You have to go all over the place to find things. The HO are the worst ever. A beautiful picture, but instead of a list to find there are three boxes with shards or scraps you must find. No objects just junky pieces. I lose interest and do care if I find them or not. Use a hint and you can't believe what it claims is a piece. There are tons of these HO scenes and I don't want to see any more. On the other hand the puzzles are very clever and unique. Not many so far. Buy at your own risk. October 13, 2012
Not even comparable to their other games. I thought It was terrible after having played the Red Riding Hood Sisters. Not worth paying for. November 12, 2012
So boring I quit! This game was my lesson never to buy without going through the trial first. I bought it site unseen because Big Fish kept telling me I'd love it based on my other purchases, and so many people on the forums praised it. Ugh! What a dull and repetitive game! The storyline and interaction with any characters was nearly non-existent. So basically you just wander around yourself. The games are almost all HO where you search for broken pieces of an item, then go use it somewhere. Move to the next room, put together another slew of broken pieces then use the item. Do this over and over ad-nauseum and seemingly never get anywhere. And if that wasn't bad enough, the HOS aren't the least bit interesting or challenging. It's pretty much like looking for a bunch of rocks, and most are so obvious you don't even have to check the item list. Lessons learned. I now look for other game recommendations from the people who reviewed this game and hated it. And still, I won't waste money without downloading the trial first! November 10, 2012
Don't Judge The Series By This Awful Beginning WOW! That's not a good wow, either. I am so glad I played the others before playing this one because if this had been the first, I never would have given the others a second thought. I LOVE the others, so just know that it isn't the series I have a problem with. It's just this one. I don't know what happened between this one and the development of the rest of the Dark Parables series, but I can't even believe this one is part of it. I usually write positive reviews. I think I've only written one bad one, and it was based solely upon my opinion and personal interest. This, however, is based upon comparison with the others in the series and judging mostly on its purpose rather than personal interest. There was no dialogue. None. There was the opening scene when you're given the assignment, then there is the final closing scene where Briar Rose tells you that you have to go on another mission (another game). Honestly, that's it. You don't meet any other players, you don't even interact with the wicked godmother. You just play a matching game to defeat her. There is no investigation ... and you're a detective! There was no mystery, no adventure, no excitement what-so-ever. The other reviews saying there is have me flabbergasted. Play the free hour. See for yourself. Every single part of this game was a hidden object scene. That's it. You collected what you needed to move on, but that meant playing a HOS to get an item, then playing another HOS after placing the item. Hidden Object Scenes ... I know this is a HOG. I get that. The problem is that this is ALL this is. All of the other games in this series had adventures, puzzles to solve, tasks to figure out and complete, cut scenes that send you onto another adventure and get you to meet important characters in the story. This one had none of that. There were a few random puzzles but not many. When I say the entire game was a HOS, I mean every step you take, every location you enter (new or old) is a HOS. If you turn around and have to go back, you're in another HOS. Even in the same room, you complete a HOS, collect a tool, and BAM! another HOS in the place you JUST had a HOS! It got so bad that hidden objects were being hidden in the same places over and over. Some rooms had a HOS half a dozen times, so they ran out of places to hide things. Then, to make it worse, the objects were incredibly small and were hidden among same shapes and same colors. I think the worst was having a scrap of firewood hidden near a pile of ... firewood. Seriously?! I have never been so thrilled that I didn't spend money on a Collectors Edition. I feel so strongly about how horrible this game is that I can honestly say I hated every minute of it. That isn't over-exaggerating. I did finish it. I don't know why. I guess because I started it and I hate quitting and I had already bought all the others in the series. I was so anxious to finish it, though, that I broke my own rule and used hints as often as possible. I NEVER use hints but this time, I couldn't stop using them just to get the stupid hidden object scenes done and over with. I continuously wished there were skips for the HOS. The art was beautiful .. as long as it didn't have to move. The artwork came a long way from this first installation. The first scene in the chapter when Briar Rose speaks, I felt like I was watching an animation student's first day of class. Not exaggerating. You can see that by the free trial if you want to see for yourself. I could go on and on and on. I could list specific details and things that really put me off. I would be here all day, though, and honestly, I can't stand to spend another minute even thinking of this horrible game! January 24, 2015
Do not buy. Theres no afford put in the game. Visual-poor. April 9, 2013
71-80 of 81 Reviews <<prev 56789next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: Curse of the Briar Rose

Help a detective explore a rampant briar growth in Scotland, and discover the true tale of the real Sleeping Beauty!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.