Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat Collector's Edition

Full version game
(514.69 MB)

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Go on an adventure with Inspector Dupin! Monsieur Mark Davies has reported his wife, Sara, missing and now it’s up to you to track her down and solve the mystery! Follow a mysterious black cat, who seems to be purposely helping you, and discover helpful clues in Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe’s The Black Cat. Use your Hidden Object talents to tackle the case, and discover the evil culprit behind Sara’s disappearance.

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Stunning soundtrack
  • Wonderful wallpapers
Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 602 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
  • Alcohol Reference
  • Tobacco Reference
  • Mild Blood
  • Mild Violence
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat Collector's Edition

Buy this game Get 3 punches

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat Collector's Edition 4.7 5 21 21
Tinkering This game did not have hard concepts but really had to work getting puzzles resolve. A lot of folks will love this. I do not have patience for some of the puzzles, but know that they are quite good. The graphics, characters, and story line are great. Love the miss-colored eyes of the black cat. Music was a bit monotonous, but the game all around was very good and is on my list to buy. One complaint though: No help that I could find when stuck except to go to the strategy guide and see what to do next. Do not like hints that say what to do, but like locations pointed out that need worked on when items are in my tools or things need to be found to be put into my tool list. April 16, 2013
Love this series The Dark Tales series is my favourite hidden object series so far. I live the story, the graphics and the challenge level was great. July 24, 2013
Creepy! This is the second of the Dark Tales from ERS, and brilliantly handled. Once again you're partnered with the dashing Detective Dupin to solve a mystery inspired by Poe's stories. This time, the adventure takes you to a contraption-filled mansion that was once home to an illusionist, and currently belongs to a man named Mark Davies. Monsieur Davies' wife Sarah is missing, and he hires the pair of you to solve the disappearance. But all is not as it seems, because a mysterious black cat keeps appearing... and so does Sarah. Lots of genuinely scary moments in here, but all in good fun. I loved the mansion where the game takes place. The music enhances the atmosphere without being overwhelming, and the bonus chapter makes everything that much more deliciously creepy as you learn what caused everything to go horribly wrong. Great job, ERS! June 18, 2013
Hidden Object Game I love this game and play it every few months. I never tire of it. The scenes are beautifully done. The story moves along nicely and I never get bored playing it. There are HO scenes and things to find and do. This game, in my opinion, is a real keeper. Anyone who may think this is a story about a cat is mistaken. The cat is a small part of the story. The bonus match 3 games at at the end can keep me amused for an hour or more at a time. July 22, 2013
love this game this is my favorite hidden object game still to date, I love it, don't pass it up. its a great story and once you start playing, you wont want to quit November 17, 2013
Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe's The Black Cat CE Poe wrote some creepy stories that's for sure, and this game would have made him proud. Mark Davies has reported his wife Sarah, missing for nearly two weeks and Detective Dupin has asked for your assistance once again. People around town are beginning to believe that this is either a hoax or a haunting because people have actually seen Sarah walking the streets with her beloved black cat (more like creepy with that single red eye!) but when approached, Sarah simply vanishes into thin air! You would normally brush that off to superstition if you hadn't seen Sarah holding her cat by the window with your very own eyes, this case is going to require all of your detective skills. I do have a few gripes with the mechanics of this game, mainly in the fact that there is no hint button other than in a hidden object scene, and the strategy guide (and Collectors Edition extras) is only available if you purchase the game. Personally, I want to see what goodies are inside before I buy. There are no voiceovers, you will have to read a lot of dialog boxes, and they sometimes get frustrating when you click on an item and the dialog box pops up directly on top of the item you are trying to figure out what to do with, and you have to click the continue button or click out of the zoomed in area and return to the area. Other than that this is a fantastic story, I loved the graphics and the characters are very well drawn. The soundtracks are creepy and pleasant all rolled into one! The Hidden Object Scenes are slightly interactive list finds requiring you to click to open drawers or doors to expose more items. The mini games are fun, not frustrating and each scene has several areas of interest with many items combining before being able to use them such as using a string to tie a razor onto a stick so that you can cut the guard dog's leash from a safe distance. I won't say this is an easy game, there were a few things that even I got stumped on, but most of the game is logical meaning the solutions are usually solvable with uncomplicated solutions. The Collectors Edition has wallpapers and soundtracks available as well as a Strategy guide (not available on demo) and of course a bonus chapter. I think the strategy guide in the collectors edition is a wise choice due to the lack of a hint or directional button, but I plan on checking out the Standard Edition next, enjoy! July 11, 2014
I love these! One of my favourite series, these are true to Poe in their creepiness and subtleness. The artwork fits and the gloomy atmosphere is well-suited for the plot. I cant complain. Its simple but beautiful in its simplicity. The Poe series never disappoints. December 3, 2014
Great game I liked everything about the game except for the strategy guide not saving your place. Having to click through all of the previous pages in order to get to the page you want every time is really annoying! Otherwise, I loved the HOG scenes which were a bit challenging at times, and the graphics were very good. I would have preferred voice-overs, however. As far as length, I thought it was plenty long enough for the price. I was really pleased that I came across no occult themes-at least none that I saw. Would I recommend the game? YES! November 17, 2011
Good but fairly straightforward The game is a nice length, so one of the better value games. Good graphics too. It's fun with a bit of a detective novelish story. It's a bit linear though. There's not really all that much to figure out as most of the objects you pick up are used close to where you found them. Side games are pretty easy too, so I'd say this is a good game for people who are newer to Hidden Object Game genre or like to play the casual ones. December 4, 2011
OK.......kinda..... I love Poe. Dark Tales games are awesome. My only problem is, why are no hints? This is wonky. I think they could have made it a lot better. Anyway, pretty cool game. July 30, 2013
11-20 of 21 Reviews <<prev 23next>>
The Apple logo is a trademark of Apple Computer, Inc.

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat Collector's Edition

Go on an adventure with Inspector Dupin! Monsieur Mark Davies has reported his wife missing and now it’s up to you to help!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.