Bookmark

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

Full version game
(373.12 MB)

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Go on an adventure with Inspector Dupin! Monsieur Mark Davies has reported his wife, Sara, missing and now it's up to you to track her down and solve the mystery! Follow a mysterious black cat, who seems to be purposely helping you, and discover helpful clues in Dark Tales: Edgar Allen Poe's The Black Cat. Use your Hidden Object talents to tackle the case, and discover the evil culprit behind Sara's disappearance.

Click images to enlarge
Game System Requirements:
  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/7/8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 410 MB
Game Manager System Requirements:
  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

NEW299

Also available on:

The Big Fish Guarantee:
  • Quality tested and virus free.
  • No ads, no adware, no spyware.
Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

Reviews at a Glance

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:

Customer Reviews

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat 4.1 5 53 53
Completed game review I got the other Dark Tales and this proved to be just as good as them and hope there are more to come. Lots of HO scenes and different puzzles than the normal ones. I played on relaxed as I was not feeling well but wanted to do something rather than just sit in bed. LOL It took me two days but it really is not a long game just a good story game. October 30, 2012
Pretty good game. Pretty good game. Good graphics, storyline and puzzles. April 21, 2012
FUN BUT TOO SHORT I finished this game within a couple of hours. I am pleased to say it was fun and the graphics were great. March 13, 2012
Repetitive Scenes! This was another HOG that I purchased as a dual pack by BFG and glad that it came this way instead of regular price. The visual is really nice quality, however, some of the HOG was difficult to see. The audio was annoying, so I muted it. You have to read the entire storyline, so I skipped them. I'd rather the characters speak to me instead. They keep you going back and forth in this one, way too much to be enjoyable and it seemed rather aggravating to me in many of the scenes. Like others stated, you have to sometimes create something or perform actions that didn't make a great deal of sense to do in the first place. This has a nice relaxing mode and has different challenge levels. It's an okay game, but I've played better. December 27, 2011
Good Game....No Ending. The Black Cat delivered on the gameplay. The HO screens were not as challenging as desired but the gameplay was well thought out and engaging. Length of game was good and the story intriguing. The only place where ERS continues to fail is at the ending where it abruptly cuts off and leaves the player with more questions than answers. Why did the villain do what he did? how? etc...It is really frustrating to spend time playing and getting to know the characters and back story then be let down with no ending at all. We will be on the lookout for ERS games and avoiding them in the future. December 4, 2011
Sort of Good Sort of OK I will admit right up front I am not a HOG fan but most of the games contain them nowadays. I enjoyed the game but towards the end, it seemed that they threw more HOGs in to get you to find a needed item. I always find HOGs disruptive. I have an idea of what's next in the adventure, then suddenly there are sparkles and my annoyance factor pegs. If you like HOGs you will like this. If you like adventure/puzzle and HOGs you will like this. It wasn't bad....it just wasn't exceptional. P.S. Big Fish - separate HOG/PA from straight adventure in your listing. July 21, 2013
Ah, Boring! Other than being a long game, I did not find this game very intriguing. I have played some of the other Dark Tales games. This was not my favorite so far. The puzzles seemed okay, I did not find them entirely difficult. The HOGs were very boring to me. Some stuff was really hard to find. I did have to use the hint button a few times. It is not a bad game, but it is not a good game either. July 7, 2013
Just My "Humble" Opinion I did not find this game 'enjoyable'. I felt more like an overworked, tired detective having to put in overtime to solve a case. There is a LOT of back and forth, so keep a notebook handy. It'll make it easier. The HOS are typical ERS, dark, small objects, well hidden, with strange names. But on the plus side, after a couple ...you can pick it up pretty quickly. BUT and I hope they're listening...I do wish they would find some new music to accompany these scenes. Some of the puzzles required little or no thought while others left me scratching my head - and then using the SKIP button. One thing to keep in mind is that an inventory item does not disappear if there is still a use for it! If you find yourself stuck somewhere - just try using what you have. 9 times out of 10 you'll come out right. You DON'T have to start the game over from the beginning. This game is definitely challenging - and if that's your idea of 'fun' then this is definitley for you. Get your pen and notebook out and follow the 'Black Cat'. There is a satisfaction when you finish! November 2, 2012
Check Please! Wish I had my money back on this one. It looked like fun but turned out to be too hard to follow and needed a map & guide. Most of the puzzles were impossible to figure out too. May 12, 2013
Could have been great...wasn't. I read the story after buying the game and do like the games version better since it fleshes it out more. The scenes are absolutely beautiful and the music is lovely... except that it runs on a really short loop and plays the same thing over and over again. I muted it within minutes, something I rarely do. Why do I hate it? Because there is absolutely no rhyme or reason to anything you do. There is no using your brain and working through the problem, just stumbling from room to room hoping for some tiny little crumb to go on. Example: I would say "spoiler" but seriously, who's going to remember this??? You need a gear for a telescope...found it but it's bent...here's a vise to use to straighten it out...but the handle is missing...gotta get through this door but the lock/handle are broke...use the saw the cut through the lock...but the saw is too thick, take the blade out of the handle...but the blade is too sharp, find something to wrap it with...take wrapped saw blade and cut your way into the room...puzzle on the wall missing a piece...oh here's a wax statue...melt the statue on the boiler, there's the missing puzzle piece...replace the puzzle piece and work the puzzle, get a piece of chalk...go to the table and grind the chalk in the mortar & pestle...mix the chalk with the vinegar in the distiller to make "steam" to cause the key that found its way to the bottom of the distiller, to rise to the top...take the key and open a cupboard...take the vise handle, place it in the vise and fix the gear...place the gear in the telescope and discover you're missing a lens. WHAT??? I like a game that makes me think. This one made me pull my hair out. Ignore all the great reviews, I wish I had, and try it before you buy it. Seriously. October 22, 2012
41-50 of 53 Reviews <<prev 23456next>>

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Tales: Edgar Allan Poe's The Black Cat

Go on an adventure with Inspector Dupin! Monsieur Mark Davies has reported his wife missing and now its up to you to help!

Here's what your review will look like once it's posted.

Click Submit if you're happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You've already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.

Join Game Club to submit your review of this game

Tomorrow's Game Today!™ is a special early release that is available to Game Club members only.

If you aren't a member of Game Club, you can join now to get access to this special game so you can submit your review.