Dark Parables: Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Parables: Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(525.55 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Eipix Entertainment proudly presents the next twisted tale in the Dark Parables series!

The people of Anaben are falling ill from a strange illness – one that makes them become shadows of their former selves! Your investigation takes a mystical turn as you uncover evidence proving a darker magic at work. Can you restore the people before it’s too late, or will you succumb to shadows as well? Find out in this chilling hidden-object puzzle adventure!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“As usual, this game was a sheer work of art. Wonderful visuals, I'm very impressed.”  - Tim, beta tester

“Graphics and voice acting were excellent. Animation was very smooth. HOs were very well done.”  - Melissa, beta tester


  • Can you restore the Duke and Duchess’s health in the bonus chapter?
  • Learn more about Anaben's history by collecting bonus parables!
  • Replay HOPs and mini-games to improve your skills.
  • Never get lost with the strategy guide!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1091 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(525.55 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Parables: Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow Collector's Edition is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 69.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from How distructive can a Shadow really be?! So, first of all let me say that I hold the "Dark Parables" title in high esteem and I regard it to be, maybe the most beautifully crafted HOG. Having that said, the previous episode was, to me, a total failure. Boring and dis-oriented. But this one, got it all back on the right track and very easily so. Can a shadow turn one's life upside down? Even more so, when it is your own shadow! So what if in the totality of 10 chapters you get some major pauses, like intermissions, in the form of black screen? Dark Parables series has its own magnificent aesthetics, which no other game in this genre has been able to bit or even copy... So, yeah, maybe it doesn't deserve 6 stars -if that was possible- but a 5-star rating is for sure fair, to my opinion. Let us not forget, that the whole concept with the artifacts' pieces scattered around in the mini HOGs is just marvelous and of unique thinking. Its a signature puzzle for "Dark Parables", if you will. Plus, for me, playing "Dark Parables" means extra concentration and -something I rarely do- read the dialogues and messages, which always help you move forward. Every single scene is like a Renaissance painting and this title is undoubtedly maybe the most artwork-y and beautiful game of the bunch. Yeap, you understood correctly: this episode got me all excited and fired up. It was really an enjoyable -and then some- some hours of game-play. So, to get to the game: The "signs" you can collect, are single unlit candles and parabel (slightly morphing) pieces. Quick remark: I would be nice, when choosing to show only the extra features of the walkthrough, to also indicate these features... I collected 9 of those parabels (where are they hidden?) and 30 out of 39 for the candles... In total you have 10 chapters: 8 in main game, plus 2 in bonus round. Another quick remark: Up until now, the map on the menu bar indicated where the points of interest are, without actually having to open it. In this episode, you could only see your moves while happening and no indication of the "active location" etc. Also, I didn't quite get the repetitive puzzle with the tokens. Otherwise, the game consists of some pretty clever and fun puzzles, like the numbered tiles for the pathway,
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beaautiful and Interesting I don't understand the negative reviews of this game, so I thought I would chime in with those who loved it. Normally, I like challenging games, but when it comes to Blue Tea games I become entranced with their beauty. Please try this game yourself, and see if it charms you as much as it did me.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Original, challenging puzzles. Fragments actually hidden. YES! While I’ve generally disliked Eipix in my Blue Tea, I loved The Swan Princess and the Dire Tree and gave it five stars, so I hoped for another sterling game with Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow. If I can judge by the demo alone, I think we have a winner. The storyline did have some formulaic elements—townspeople stricken by a mysterious illness, secret society, eldritch hooded figure—but its development kept me engaged and wanting to know more with the introduction of characters with depth and motivation. Gameplay introduced some original and challenging puzzles that made me punch the air with a loud, “YES!” Among my favorites: • On a chessboard, four pawns advance one square per move, but can also move one space diagonally to attack. You have a bishop, who moves traditionally, and must take all four pawns before they reach the other side. • There’s an array of colored pegs on which you must place matching tokens. To the right is a display showing the next three tokens to be placed. Click any token, then one of the adjacent pegs where you wish to move it, and the next token in line will be placed on the peg you vacated. (The instructions for this one weren’t clear, so it took a bit of trial and error to understand the method. Example: If, on the array, there’s an orange token on a purple peg, and the next token in line is purple, move the orange token to an orange peg so that the purple token will take its place on the purple peg. And so on. It gets harder as you get toward the end.) HO scenes are, of course, the trademark fragmented objects of the Dark Parables series. But these are not throwaway scenes you can complete in under a minute. The fragments are cleverly blended into the background scene, making them much more difficult to find. Kudos to Eipix for raising the challenge level! Yes, there was a certain amount of the highly detested “shaped key” nonsense, but it was kept to a minimum, in my opinion. In fact, most of the typical devices we see used and reused to slow the player down were missing. I failed to encounter a zipper missing its pull tab. I wasn’t required to use a glass shard as a knife (or find cloth to pick up broken glass). The boat I found didn’t have a hole in it. All of that was gloriously absent. Production values are, as always, through the roof, with stunningly detailed graphics in lovely colors and textures, smooth animation, and an orchestral and choral soundtrack worthy of a movie. (Note: Overall, the screenshots above showing the toxic green sky are NOT characteristic of the graphics. Frankly, a better variety of screenshots should have been chosen.) Extras include the bonus chapter, collectible parables (which are extremely difficult to spot), collectible “signs” (which are actually torches), a souvenir room, performance achievements, the SG, replayable FROGs and puzzles, and the dev’s portfolio of wallpapers, movies, concept art, and soundtracks (which are downloadable). You can mouse over my name and see that I rarely give out five-star ratings…only 13.7% of the games I’ve reviewed have gotten five stars. This game just brought that percentage up. I’m enchanted, and am getting to like my Blue Tea with a healthy dose of Eipix added in. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to rescue the shadows before they’re forgotten. Cheers!
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blue Tea and Eipix have done it again As usual Blue Tea Games and Eipix have done a fantastic job on creating a new game for the Dark Parables series. I have played this game and I just love the story line, the puzzles and the hop scenes and the art detail and the sound quality is amazing.
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing in the shadows here...this game is fantastic !! 2017 has not been a banner year so far inasmuch as lots of new games have been fair to downright poor. Thankfully the good folks at Blue Tea continue to provide us with exceptional quality in its outstanding Dark Parable series. Requiem for the Forgotten is a gem of unqualified brilliance both in its appearance and the level of challenge it offers. The town of Anaben has been plagued by a strange sickness wherein townsfolk are sucked into a sinister candle and nothing but their shadows remain visible. Why the evildoer is acting in this manner is unknown, at least during the demo. What makes this game so terrific is the way we must construct items during HO segments. No word lists here, all Dark Parables have FROG scenes. Frogs are fractured items which must be reconfigured. When complete the items are stunning. Most of these scenes require effort on the part of the game player to complete each item. The puzzle sections are always challenging in DP games. The first one in Requiem involves relocation of triangles into their correct box parts ( there are 4 such segments ) and when completed the player must then move parts of another scene to comply with part of a story. All this is done to obtain one thing to further the game. No collectibles in these games, hard to find parts of parables are available to be found. All Dark Parable games are magnificent. Lots of us know this as fact. Newer players need look no further than these to provide hours of solid game play. Thanks again Blue Tea
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm About To Have A Shadow Boxing Smackdown! Another dark force is at bay, stealing the shadow's from the good people of Anaben! Once void of their own shadow, all that's left behind is a senseless, babbling, incoherent shell of a man, or woman, after all, this illness strikes anyone and everyone, including the Duchess! There is no hope, no cure, but look at the bright side, at least there's no creepy shadows lurking in the night, right? Dark Parables has returned with another twisted tale, proving that everyone is vulnerable to evil, and the things we take for granted could be the most important things of all. I'm still disappointed with the absence of non-linear Morphing Objects that made Dark Parables so unique. In the earlier versions, DP games, objects didn't morph until it was triggered by an action in an entirely different scene, you never knew what that action was, or whether it was in the previous scene or a scene still ahead, and that was so cool and so challenging. I realize that the collectible Parables morph, but the parables are far and few between, and they morph the first time you see them, it's not the same. There are 4 different parable stories, Rise of the Shadow God, The Maiden and the Shadow, The First Handmaiden, and Fall of the Shadow God, each parable requires you to find all three parables before the parable activates. Each scene has a hidden Candle that will light up when you find it, which I thought was pretty cool. The Hidden Objects are not the usual HOP's, because one feature that hasn't changed, is with the Dark Parable's famous FROG's. You are tasked with finding several very creatively blended fragments within the scene. There are three sections (DP has a thing for the number 3) of fragments to find that will combine to make a useful inventory item once all frags have been found. If this feature ever changes, I think I'll just hang up my hat and call it a day. The Mini Games are always entertaining in this series, even some of the normal tasks require you to solve a puzzle, and it's not even considered to be a mini game, you'll see what I mean once you play. Below are brief descriptions of the Mini Games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Rearrange the triangular tiles to complete 4 different images. Then interact with the opening scene using the keywords as clues. This is repeated three more times as the story unfolds. 2) Press the button continually to attack and counterattack your opponent. 3) Use the bishop to remove the pawns before they reach the other end of the board. 4) Rearrange the map square tiles to complete the map. 5) Place all of the tokens with their matching colors, the undo button can only be used twice. This Collector's Edition has 8 Wallpapers, 6 Concept Art pictures, 10 Music Soundtracks, 22 replayable Mini Games, 16 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 12 replayable Movies, a Souvenir Room, 39 Hidden Candles to light, Collectible story Parables, 13 Achievements to earn, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LURKING IN THE SHADOWS IS ANOTHER GREAT SEQUEL TO THE SERIES OVERVIEW: Do you feel you are just a shadow of yourself? If you do, then you may like this 5-star game. You are off to Switzerland, to the town of Anaben, where a mysterious illness is infesting the town. This plague is leaving the residents shadows of their former selves. You have been hired by the duke of the town to investigate the cause of this strange illness. Within the dark shadows of the town lurks a secret evil group which you will need to defeat. You will need to shine a little light on this town to figure out what is good and what is evil. The Shadow is lurking everywhere. Be warned! FROG game lovers – this is a game devoted to you! It is a game which can be enjoyed by gamers of all levels of experience. However, due to the difficultly of some of the puzzles, it does seem to be a game more suited to intermediate and expert gamers. It is a dark-themed game. The graphics are incredibly beautiful and demonstrate the true artistic mastery from Blue Tea working in cooperation with EIPIX Studios. The only complaint I have about this game is the pace. The pace does slow down as you proceed in the game. This may be due to the lack of variety in the HOP scenes. There are only two collectibles – morphing pieces for four (4) parables and the usual EIPIX signs. HOP SCENES: Do you like FROG scenes in which you look for pieces of an inventory item? Then you will love this game. All the HOP scenes are FROGS! I found this lack of variety boring. However, there are those purists who do like strictly FROG games. My suggestion would be for the developer to incorporate some other types of HOP scenes to appeal to more gamers. PUZZLES: To me, the puzzles are the best part of this game. The puzzles are varied in difficulty and genre. The easier puzzles include a switch puzzle and assembly puzzle to reconstruct pictures. There is a sequence puzzle changing the color of crystals in sequential order. Back is a manual dexterity puzzle in which you defend yourself by punching yourself out of a sticky situation. However, it only consists of the constant clicking of a button on a side bar until it is completely green. This “puzzle” hardly classifies as a puzzle. There is a challenging puzzle, a connection puzzle, in which you use three colored tokens to fill in a board so that each token matches the color beneath it. FAVORITE PUZZLE: My favorite puzzle is a chess puzzle in which you use a bishop to eliminate pawns. This is a standard puzzle contained in many puzzle books which has been modified for this game. LEVELS: Casual, Hard, Insane, Custom Hint: 10 to 120 seconds Skips: 10 to 400 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game 13 Achievements Collect morphing pieces to restore 4 parables Collect 39 signs Replay 22 Puzzles and 16 HOP scenes (which can be timed) 8 Wallpapers, 6 Concept Art, Music, Souvenir Room HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: They are all FROGS – Ribbit! PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Extremely easy 2) Easy (3) A little difficult or time consuming (4) Moderately difficult (5) Difficult A. Multiple-step. (1) Switch puzzle. Switch tiles to reconstruct four pictures. (2) Storybook sequence. Interact with items in the scene until they are in the proper location. Same sequence 4X. Rating: 2 B. Manual dexterity game. Defend yourself by punching your way out of a sticky situation. Click on a button until the side bar is completely green. 3X. This is a puzzle? Rating: 1 C. Chess puzzle. Move a bishop to eliminate pawns. Rating: 3 D. Moving tiles puzzle. Move tiles to create a map. Rating: 2 E. Connection puzzle. Using three colored tokens, fill in a board so that the colored token matches with the color on each square. You can cancel a move 3 times. Rating: 3-4 F. Assembly puzzle. Swap bricks to complete a picture on a wall. Rating: 2 G. Slat puzzle. Move arrow up and down to release three bars to open a door. Rating: 3
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Faavorite game I just download the new game, but I must tell that these games are one of my favorites. I have all the games (but not install in Game Manager) The storylines are beautiful etc.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Series This series has a feel that is relaxing and familiar. I've looked forward to every one. I 've liked some better than others. Some things were harder in this game, like finding things in the pouring rain. The collectibles are too small and the parable items are almost invisible which I don't like. I've never been crazy about fragmented HOPs but I know it's in all of them. I've never heard of this parable. I'd like to see some parables from around the world.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome puzzle!! Let's face it...I really don't care if the storyline is fabulous or not. I want some good puzzles...something to keep me challenged. This game has just that. This particular puzzle shows up several times and gets progressively harder as the chapters go on. It's definitely worth the price of the game. Now the story isn't bad either, in case that's your thing. Oddly though, the end had a summary screen that started typing the words off at a pretty good clip. I was on the last line when the screen went blank. So read fast!!
Date published: 2017-04-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Parables: Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow Collector's Edition I loved the game, hated the faint HO graphics, and had to skip all of the puzzles with the colors. First time I ever had to do this. I see one players comments, and I a going to go back to the extras and try to follow the logic. I sort of picked up on the color changes, but could never get it completely, and I consider myself a real geek. I have never skipped a puzzle, but this one did me in.
Date published: 2017-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wish I could give a 5 star Finally, another wonderful Dark Parables as the last couple were terrible. i really loved the story, the characters, the graphics, and especially the length of the game and the fact it had chapters so I could leave and come back without getting lost. Reason I couldn't give 5 Stars is the HOs were ridiculously difficult, hiding then in twig statues, and other messy things; the other fact was this horrible puzzle that kept showing up where you had to put tiles on their colored pegs and it never worked like the way I understood the directions, so I got where I waited my time limit and just skipped. i purchased and enjoyed it, but cringed every time an HO came up and I love the HO portion of games, especially the fragment ones, but these were too frustrating.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good sequel to the Dark Parable series. Wow. A bit of a nail biter in some of the scenes. The Fairy Tale Detective is on the case after receiving a summons from the Duke of Anaben. Peoples shadows are coming up missing leaving them in a shell of their former self. You get there to witness first hand the taking of a shadow and feel your shadow wanting to follow. Thank goodness you are able to stop it from following the other one into a mystical lamp. As the story progresses you are wondering if you will be able to get to the bottom of who is taking the shadows, why they are taking them and what they are going to do with them. The demo had me hooked but after making my purchase I had a bit of a time getting back to it as it had left you at a scary moment when the Shadow God was reborn. There are so many twist and turns to this fast pace game it is hard at times to keep up. The visuals were good and bright, not like some where you have to turn up the brightness on your computer to see them. Sound was great and a bit spooky at times. You had help from a number of people and fairy tale folk along the way to finally being able to defeat the Shadow God, free the 3 Godesses and restore the town to normal. As to the challenge, that was another story. There were some puzzles that were extremely difficult at least for me and those were the ones that you had to put the correct cover to the gem and you only had one changer square that would only change the ones around it. I am sure other would have no problem with these but I found them daunting. As to the rest of the puzzles, hops and such, they were fairly ok except when it came to looking for the mini-mini piece in the hop ones. You have to have a microscope to find them. Thank goodness for the hint button. The storyline was a bit confusing as I have never heard of a fairy tale by the name of The Forgotten Shadow. Will have to do research on that one. But it still made for a good game. It was fun and scary all in one. I just have a bit of a complaint about it and that it did not flow as smoothly as the other Dark Parable games. Seemed to get stuck going from one scene to another. Too much lag time. Still I enjoyed the game and look forward to the next one, although this game did not end with the usual to be continued. I really hope that this is not the last game as there are still other fairy tales to help and explore. Please keep them coming.
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What's not to like, I'll tell you First off if you like the series then this is a no brainer. If you are not at all familiar with the series I would recommend you go back and play the Swan Princess in the Dark Parables series first. I thought this game got some unfair reviews. This is one installment in a true series. So you will get a lot of what feels like cut and paste from earlier games in the series. It's not as original from game to game as the Maze series but thats what a lot of people specifically like about it. I thought the puzzles were challenging and the game play was smooth. I wouldn't let the bad reviews steer you away because compared to a lot of other HOG's this one is really really good. Listen try the demo, what do you have to lose? Then judge for yourself. TO me its worth the buy...enjoy.
Date published: 2017-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Candle On Every Side Maybe my shadow will not be stolen from me with candles on every side. Wonderful game though I believe I got to play way past the Demo. I saw where the demo should end and it just went on till I got tired. Things that are my grip. Tiny things that old eyes and little kids would never find. I love the way Dark Parables does their HO'S but it always irks me if a item is to small. Maybe give us a magnifying glass to find the little things. This game was so wonderful.. Lots of this and that to collect and change, build or find. Nice inventory and great game play. Good Characters and nice cut scenes and also the conversation. Wax melts real slow just as the wax maker talks just as slow. Did not like the voice they used for him either. Too old for the young man that was there speaking. Some critter action, Hard to find parables, unlit candle on a torch stick I think. The candles were easier to find. Nice game flow, Plenty to do, I love the story line too
Date published: 2017-02-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Based on completed gameplay First, here’s some background context on the fairytale in question. This game is based on the fairytale by Hans Christian Anderson, ‘The Shadow’ or Skyggen in Danish. This isn’t your typically fairytale, but it’s a fairytale nevertheless. Eipix does an excellent job of depicting this story in the first mini-game you come across in the game. In summary: 'The Shadow' is about a scholar (writer) who loses his shadow. One day the shadow comes back a man, and swap places with the scholar—the scholar now becomes the shadow. The shadow lives his life as a man, whereas the scholar lives his life as a shadow. The scholar ends up locked away because he wanted to expose the shadow. Anyone can interpret the fairytale as how they please to. I don’t want to give my interpretation because I think it may take away from the game for people. However, Eipix uses their interpretation of the fairytale and creates a world that crosses realities and show that everything has a dark side to it. Eipix seems to have this trend where the demo falls flat of the whole game—underwhelming. The game starts off slow and typically doesn't pick up until after you get past the demo. I beta tested this game back in December and thought it was very good then. Eipix did make some changes from when I beta-tested this game. The main change that was obvious was that they added an extra scene in before you—the fairy detective—goes to the secret meeting in the underground chapel. I hope Eipix gets better at the demos because it can give people the wrong impression of the game—good or bad. The way the story is unraveled makes sense—to me—and seems logical. (Okay, maybe the beginning scene with the horse was illogical I mean, the horse cartridges were going like, what, 40 mph when they collided. Our fairy detective should have been a shadowy figure herself, but I can look past this.) When I beta-tested this, I hadn't read Andersen’s fairytale but I read it recently. I feel as though you can gauge what the storyline is about, regardless if you read the fairytale or not. Overall, I found the storyline intriguing. I liked Eipix's interpretation of the storyline. It had a lot of promise—which the game delivered on for the most the part—and was developed and cohesive. Yes, it could have been executed better but, overall, the story was delivered adequately. There were some aspects I didn’t like. While the graphics were very well done the animations felt off in some of the cutscenes. On my computer, those scenes looked pixelated. Another aspect I didn’t particular care for, but this is a personal preference, is that in this game it zooms in and out and has the fairytale detective look around when you walk into a new scene a lot —it drove me nuts, kind of. I noticed that they have done this in their recent games. Also, I believe, this gimmick (zoom in/out of new scenes) was an added feature because I don’t remember this from the beta (I may have not payed attention though). Another thing; the zoom boxes were weird. I think there was something up with their animation because it didn’t flow. For example, when you would exit out of a zoom box, the zoom box wouldn’t go all together, it was done in parts. (I apologize if that doesn’t make sense; this is the best way to describe it.) In the beta, this definitely didn’t happen, so they may have added a bugged program to their game. It was annoying, to say the least. *Note: This may not happen to everyone who plays the game; I’m just giving a heads up, in case you happen to run across it.* Puzzles/HOS: There are replayable puzzles (22) and HOS (16), however, there are quite a few non-replayable puzzles and HOS throughout the game (more puzzles than HOS). In the demo, the puzzles were on the easy side, save for this one puzzle that was a little bit more difficult but not horrendously difficult. In this puzzle, you have to place all the pieces on the board where it's the same color as the piece but you can only add new pieces on the board by clicking a piece that’s already placed on the board. This puzzle repeats throughout the game and increases in difficulty. Overall, the puzzles were a range from easy-peasy to ‘oh, I should actually use my neurons now’, in case anyone was wondering. The HOS weren’t too bad also. Some were easy; some you needed to look for the object which were difficult to spot. Again, the ones in the demo are on the easy side but I did have trouble with the HOS near the Duke’s Palace, by the gates. Adventure portion: Yes, this game is riddled with keys—a lot. I’m sorry to all my peoples who don’t like keys. You may have you hands full, or just not bother with the game; however, there are also non-ornate keys and regular everyday items in the game, though, it just may not be as much. When and where to use the objects was pretty straightforward (linear), however, I was stumped a couple of times. There were actions scenes but they were very few and fleeting. However, I don’t feel like those action scenes were needed. To be honest, I wish ALL developers would take out action scenes but it’s probably not going to happen. Anyway, it was funny to play the action scene but I don’t think it helped with the game. These action scenes are unnecessary. I really want to go back to the time when we just played the game and there weren’t all these gimmicks. Am I asking for much? Oh, there wasn’t an overabundance of cutscenes, in my opinion. I know for some people if there’s even one, they go bonkers. Features: 12 achievements: 5 achievements with Gold/Silver/Bronze; 1 new one called ‘Bookworm’ 39 Candle Collectables—some were easy to find; some were not so easy. Chapters: 8 in Main Game; 2 in Bonus Game—Total: 10 Parables: Requiem of the Forgotten Shadow (main game); Out of the Shadows (bonus game)—morphing Overall, this isn’t a bad game; it’s actually quite good. However, the technical problems take away from the game for me. Also, there was something off about this game. It didn’t feel like Dark Parables but it didn’t feel like a straight-up detective game. It was somewhere in-between. I don’t know how to explain it. Ever since Eipix took over DP from Blue Tea Games, DP has been different. But that’s to be expected because different developers are creating the games now. However, in this installment… I can’t put my finger on it, something is just different--misplaced. It could have been because I was greatly looking forward to this game but the game didn’t meet my expectations. Whelp. Anywho, I’m giving this game a 4 because it wasn’t bad, and I had fun while playing it, for the most part, but there were draw backs. It took me approximately 2-3.5 hours to play this game. Other DP games where I think Eipix did an excellent job include: • Dark Parables 10: Goldilocks and the Fallen Star • Dark Parables 11: The Swan Princess and the Dire Tire • Dark Parables 12: The Thief and the Tinderbox Try the demo for yourself and see if you like it :) Have fun!
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kind of slow between scenes, but a fun game! I really liked this game even with all of black spaces between scenes. Nothing new and exciting here, but the HOP's were varied and the map was excellent. Good solid game. Happy with my two for one deal last weekend! As always try it yourself and decide! Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like it! (based on Demo) After reading the previous reviews I agree with all of them. I do like this game series and have purchased most all of them. I agree the HOS are easy and would like more challenge. Also agree the story line could be better and the mini games could be more challenging. However having said this I have noticed most all of the new games have become ho hum. I would like to see a really challenging game with more interesting story line. Again, I am purchasing this game. I do like the HOS and the mini games.
Date published: 2017-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WORST OF THE SERIES I played several of the previous Dark Parable installments . Some were good others not so great. This one was very disappointing . It started with promise and then the game just fell apart . I liked the fact that the game did not start with a carriage crash or your character being knocked unconscious. There were too many hidden object scenes . It would have been preferably to give a player the option of hidden object or match 3 or majong. I hated the fact that the collectibles and the parable fragments were so small . Most couldn't be found . Because I could not access the parables did not know what was going on . Only after completing Bonus content can you go back and find missing fragments.The game felt fragmented and alot was not explained . Even the bonus content did not clarify anything . This game was not of the same quality as some of the previous games. I don't recommend this game .
Date published: 2017-06-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay.... game series going downhill I want to first say that I have loved the Dark Parables series. I love darkness in games and fairy tales and this series has brought both to life. I have all of the games, most in the collectors edition. When Eipix was not involved, everything was wonderful. The storylines were creative mix ups of fairytales we love. The parables, which without the game makes little sense, were easy to find and added everything to the story which was the reason I fell in love with these games. The highly entertaining story with twists and turns and additions to the story throughout the game. This game however highly disappointed me. Now Eipix did add better graphics when they came onto the scene, but I loved the previous graphics as well. This game, is the reason why I am becoming disappointed in the series. The game made no sense. There was very little story happening at all. I simply went through the motions of finding things and plugging in for reasons I couldn't figure out. The parable pieces are almost impossible to find unless you have the guide. And this game did something I can't stand. They split the scenes up in 3 different areas so you couldn't go back to the scene if you missed a parable piece. Now I know I can play this game again and find them, but it seems like so much work for a game I barely enjoyed.
Date published: 2017-05-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dark Parables "magic" is absent in this game I'm one of many who loved the Dark Parables games, bought every one of them even after the tone and quality changed when Eipix took over. I kept hoping they'd get it right with each new game, but it hasn't happened yet. If I had to compare it with something, I'd say the games when Blue Tea Games still made them were like cake with delicious icing, but now the icing is gone. 1. I didn't know the fairytale, but it even without knowing it, it should have sort of felt like a dark parable yet it didn't. There was no mystery or intrigue, just a straightforward mission and that was that. Both the story and the characters felt underdeveloped and odd at times. The game was too short. 2.The scenery was nice, but I noticed pixelation on the characters. They also took on identical poses in different scenes as if they were just copy pasted in there. The FROG lacked crispness to the point where some fragments were all but indistinguishable from the background. This was better in the bonus game. 3. The interactive items and puzzles were good, except the coloured tokens one which just kept coming back. I never once felt excited to play this game. A shame really. That sinister beauty that made the games so great is gone, I don't have much hope for Eipix turning things around since they haven't done so yet. I wish Blue Tea Games hadn't stopped developing them.
Date published: 2017-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Give reigns back to Blue Tea As usual my excitement for this game was over the moon when this was released, the DP series is probably my favorite series Big Fish has to offer.... That being said this game joins the others since Eipix took over the development reigns in being a disappointment. Visually the game is beautiful however the story is lacking and the game play is far too short, I miss the way Blue Tea put more into their story because it made the game very interesting and replayable. (Sadly lack of detail to a storyline is a trait that Eipix applies to all of their games not just the DP). Also the Parables are still very hard to find and I feel like they have to be found in order to understand what is going on. I will always love the DP series and continue to purchase and play however Eipix needs to either work on making a better more detailed story or give the reigns back to Blue Tea
Date published: 2017-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great premise, loses steam I've been a huge fan of the Dark Parables series from the beginning, but I loved them primarily for the stories and over the past few games the storylines have become convoluted and disjointed. This particular game didn't provide much of a storyline at all (I think most of the backstory was explained in the parable pieces you can find along the way, which was really off-putting: in previous games, these added up to tangentially related tales which simply provided dimension to the main story, but in this one the parables are basically your only means of understanding the characters' motivations in the game.) All that leads to a game where you feel like you're just wandering aimlessly playing a bunch of mini games and HO scenes, with no sense of resolved mysteries ("Fairytale Detective" feels like a misnomer in this one) or connection to the world in which all of these games are supposedly set. Here's hoping the next one turns out better.
Date published: 2017-03-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed player I have all of the Dark Parable games and this one is a disappointment. It lacked the graphics of the others, the story was disjointed, and was just not up to par of the previous games.
Date published: 2017-03-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Requiem for a dimishing series I have love this series since the beginning, but lately they've been phoning it in. Glad I got a good sale. Convoluted story line, the same stupidly impossible game over and over, some really annoying characters, and unresolved issues at the end, even with the bonus game. Still love the graphics and FROGs, even though they are nothing new. I did like the opportunity in the extras to complete all the collectibles and parables and the souvenirs were okay.
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not very creative I've played every game out of this series and I liked all of them. But this one, well, it's ok, but in the earlier games there were much more types of mini games/riddles to solve. This one is getting boring, as it's quite often the same type, just more challenging. First time I'm skipping nearly all mini games...
Date published: 2017-03-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a bad addition to the Dark Parables Series Based on the full game. May contain spoilers. I love the Dark Parables series and have all the Collectors Editions so I was keen to see the latest one in the series. I wasn't too impressed with the last few. They seem to lack some of the earlier crispness and quality of the visuals, and the storylines were weaker than the first few instalments, especially now that they have exhausted most of the fairytale stories. The good bits: I found the storyline quite engaging, and liked that there were a number of different characters. The visuals were good, with plenty of areas to explore and the HOPS were sharp and not too easy. I also liked finding the collector's items, they weren't always easy to spot. The not so good bits: the cut scenes went on too long and I felt the characters could have been developed a bit more (the candle maker just sort of appeared with no back history). While the HOPS were not too easy, they weren't that challenging either. While I enjoyed the game overall, I don't think it will appeal to people looking for a challenge, spectacular story lines or sharp, crisp visuals. Good for when you need to pass the time but don't want to commit to too much. I think that given most of the fairytales have been covered, it will be interesting to see how this series will evolve.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too much rain I have always loved Dark Parables and own them all. The games are generally stunningly coloured, wonderful graphics and most of all a good storyline which hooks you from the start. I automatically bought this game, even after the odd beginning with the arrogant and very rude duke (and the bad English). Does anyone believe he was madly in love with his wife? I thought the game might get better.......it did not and neither did the English, right down to the final very strange ending to the bonus games. The rain seemed to symbolise the death of Dark Parables as a series unless it receives a total makeover! Yes the puzzles were ok but I hated the one with the coloured tokens which kept coming up. The HO scenes were blurry and colourless. Worst of all, the characters were dreadful. Towards the end, I went on hoping for some sort of redemption for the game. But no.....I just got a headache.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not up to par I usually LOVE Blue tea Games. This one, not so much. I actually thought it was boring! The graphics are also sub par compared to the original games. This is a shame, because the earlier Blue Tea Games were so mesmerizing. The only thing good, I thought, were the assemble puzzles were harder than usual. The other games could be slightly confusing, as there were no instructions on how to perform them.
Date published: 2017-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DP is just NOT the same anymore I normally will keep my comments to myself about games, but while this one was eh ok, and I might consider purchasing the full version, honestly DP series has not been the same since Eipix took it over. This one WAS better than the thief and the tinderbox which I felt honestly really got away from the lore of the series especially when we saw snow white.....um NO. I agreed with a comment by another that said something is off with this one. It was better than the "Thief and the Tinderbox" which I will admit was the first DP series that I did NOT purchase. I have purchased every other one and looked forward to new installments. Now? yeah no not so much. This one feels off to me, it doesn't have the gorgeous and albeit over the top gorgeous objects that other installments had. When you put together frogs in the other series, they were very rich and ornate with jewels and such very pretty. In this installment I was like meh it looks.....ok. It has SOME ornamentation but just not like it used to. I looked and looked for even parable fragments and oh guess what? Couldn't find them at all. for fricks sake eipix go back to what worked and what people liked and do that as a base and go better, the only saving grace is that there are "books" to find around. The challenge is good as well. I am not even sure I would say this was a part of the DP series because it felt so off, but meh maybe I might purchase it.
Date published: 2017-02-25
  • y_2017, m_7, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_69
  • loc_en_US, sid_26231, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: Requiem for the Forgotten Shadow Collector's Edition

A dark illness has befallen the townspeople of Anaben!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.