Phantasmat: Mournful Loch Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Phantasmat: Mournful Loch Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(557.53 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Eipix Entertainment proudly presents the next chilling installment of Phantasmat!

Welcome to Scotland, home of Logan's Castle! Your archaeological project takes a dangerous turn when your boat capsizes in the loch! But this is no mere accident. Mysterious phantoms roam the grounds trying to protect the Logan family's secret. Can you uncover a powerful artifact and escape the grounds in time? Find out in this spine-tingling hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Learn the ultimate fate of Logan's Castle in the bonus game!
  • Find morphing items and collect hidden objects for the souvenir room.
  • Need a hint? Consult the comprehensive strategy guide.
  • See if you have what it takes to earn every achievement.
  • Enjoy wallpapers, concept art, replayable HOPs, mini-games, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 999 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Phantasmat: Mournful Loch Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(557.53 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Phantasmat: Mournful Loch Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 36.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE DEFINITION OF PHANTASMAT: HALLUCINATION OR ILLUSION=ARE THE APPARITIONS OF LOGAN'S CASTLE REAL? Logan's Castle is the Crown Jewel of Scotland, infamous for the Logan Family Massacre, and the evil entities left behind. He who dares to enter, will surely perish, after all, several have tried and failed to return! The entire Logan family was brutally murdered and their family artifact was stolen, an artifact so valuable, they were willing to sacrifice their lives. No one knows what became of the artifact, but if your suspicions are correct, it may be in the loch that surrounds the castle grounds. You're in too deep now however, and someone or something, doesn't want you to find the artifact, in fact, it seems they don't want you to live at all, or are you already dead? Phantasmat is my favorite series, and no other game has EVER been able to write a storyline as Phantastic as the original Phantasmat, period. One of the reasons I love this series is because the storylines are always really good, and original, and I never know if I'm alive, or dead! Mournful Loch isn't as good as as the last couple of games in the series, but I'm confident this will be a solid game from beginning to end. Another feature I love about this series is that I can always count on the Collector's Edition version to have Morphing Objects (and not just within the HOP's which most games have switched to) The Hidden Object Scenes are multi-layered with different types such as Interactive List Phinds, Silhouetted Shape Phinds, Sketch Phinds, Multiple Phinds, and even Morphing Object Phinds, one of my personal Phavorites. The Mini Games range from simple to complex, many of which are new or different versions. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Press arrows to move the tiles and arrange them so they match the clue shown. 2) Use the knobs to move the sliders to select pairs that comprise each symbol. 3) Select tusks to repeat the sequence shown. 4) Drag the sliders to move and focus the telescope to find the required symbols. 5) Move the teeth to the correct color coded sides using skeletal hands to move and select two teeth at a time. 6) Set the symbols on the pillar so they match the clue shown. This Collector's Edition has 15 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 16 replayable Mini Games, 8 Concept Art pictures, 8 Wallpapers, 5 Music Soundtracks, a Souvenir Room, 11 replayable Videos, 12 Achievements to earn, 21 Morphing Objects, Collectibles, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREED IS A POWERFUL VICE Phantasmat Mournful Loch is the eight game in the Phantasmat series which, IMHO, is probably 6 games too many. I loved the original Phantasmat games but as we continue to deal with sequel after sequel in a once popular series the games take a downhill turn and lose their original appeal. In this game we see a bloody massacre in the opening scene and if that wasn’t enough to put me off, the mournful and somber graphics rather tipped me over the edge. In all honesty, Phantasmat has never been my favorite series and the latest games in the series have seemed rather dreadful. Please understand that this is just my opinion. The game is going to hold a great deal of appeal for many gamers and is a top quality 5-star game in many respects but just not for me. I have become rather tired of dreary dark games with decaying buildings and dark, gloomy scenery. In Mournful Loch you play an archaeology student who has been researching a lost artifact of the Logan family. As you embark on your journey your boatman is telling you that “greed is a powerful vice” and that it has lured many a treasure seeker to the loch, none of whom have returned. Not long after that your boat capsizes and you awaken on the shore of the loch. For a researcher you are probably super focused on your project, but perhaps you should have noticed that something is a bit off with your boatman. Graphics – Excellent but dark and gloomy, Gameplay Settings - Easy, Medium, Hard, and Custom. Hints: 10 to 120 seconds, Skips: 10 to 400 seconds. Your tools include an interactive map. There is not really anything new with the HOP scenes although there are some very creative touches. For the most part the scenes are well designed and several are very interactive. It is only my opinion, but I think the game shows that EIPIX is stepping up their game and at least making an honest effort to keep gamers happy. Puzzles seem to be the forte for this developer and the ones in this game are excellent. There is one tricky puzzle that I have never seen before and it is truly genius. The puzzle involves moving tiles to find certain symbols that are hidden under several tiles. I found it a ton of fun and quite tricky. If you prefer the CE version of a game, this one includes: Morphing objects to find, achievements to earn, Wallpapers, Concept Art, Music, Videos, Play Extra HOPS, Play Puzzles, Strategy Guide, Bonus Game, and Souvenir Room. Although the game has some excellent moments, I am not sure it is for me but I know that many will find this latest Phantasmat to be a cut above the others. If I was really fond of the underlying Phantasmat theme I might be inclined to purchase the game but the overall graphics are what put me off the most. Honestly, while I was playing the demo there were jump scare moments that I didn’t see coming. My little dog usually is on my lap when I play and one time when I jumped she took off like a flash. Even though I am still not sure this game is for me, I can highly recommend it for those of you who love scary, ghostly tales. As always, I recommend you try the demo to see is Phantasmat Mournful Loch is a game you will enjoy.
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from First time playing on of the Phantasmat games.... This was my first time playing one of Phantasmat's games and it will not be the last. It was challenging, entertaining and fun.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can You Escape Tormented Spritis This storyline was a little convoluted, but overall good. It's not as gruesome a game as some other titles in the series. The artwork is very good as well as the sound and the music. I admit I've been spoiled by other games with more characters to interact with. Here we return to what essentially is a haunted, but unpopulated world. All in all I liked the game and if you're looking for something not gory or excessively disturbing this title is a good one for you.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from PHANTASMAT 8 IS JUST MEDIOCRE... Your search for the Logan artifact has led you to Scotland, home of the Logan’s Castle of Scotland, infamous for the Logan Family Massacre. Your objective is to uncover the artifact and escape the premises before the evil entities of the Logan’s Castle gets to you. I played the game in its entirety and reached the conclusion that "other developers" in the Horror Genre do a much better job with THEIR games than Eipix has with this series. Despite several attempts, none of the Phantasmat sequels are able to truly capture the uniqueness of the original Phantasmat game. This latest sequel, Mournful Loch, definitely has a great setting, which gives off a sense of abandonment just as in the original game. However, the original also excelled in storytelling, something that Mournful Loch fails at. There is very little story development going on in the game. Yes, I know that we are supposed to find an artifact hidden in a creepy castle, but why? The plot develops at such a slow pace that it is easy to lose interest before an important plot-point is revealed. The weird stranger (dubbed Boat Man by some) that accompanies you and all the random hallucinations also don’t make the story much more interesting. The visuals in Phantasmat: Mournful Loch are gloomy and haunting, which are appropriate for the horror theme of the game but I have seen better horror based HOPA'S from other developers! The game could benefit from some more variety regarding its color palette, because all of the scenes sort of blend together after a while. Audio wise, there is nothing to complain about – the voice-acting is excellent and the soundtracks are fittingly creepy. At the end of the day, Phantasmat: Mournful Loch is still an Eipix game, which means a predictable gameplay is to be expected. The game adopts the typical HOPA template, with a slightly heavier emphasis on backtracking. The hidden object scenes are well-designed and can be switched with Match 3 games. Further, the puzzles are a nice mix of simpler ones and more complex ones, all are nicely tied to the theme of the game. The main game of Phantasmat: Mournful Loch is approximately four hours long, while the bonus chapter in comes in short at 35 minutes. The Collector’s Edition meets the industry standard, this includes a strategy guide, wallpapers, concept art, soundtracks, videos, re-playable hidden object scenes, re-playable puzzles, morphing objects, achievements, collectibles, and a souvenir room. Eipix won me with their best attempt at HORROR HOPA'S when they took on RAVENHEARTS UNLOCKED and KEY TO RAVENHEARST. DEMO THIS EDITION BEFORE PURCHASE. YOU MAY WANT TO WAIT FOR THE SE VERSION AND USE A FREE GAME COUPON. Here are the other titles in order if you are a fan and want to play each of them. •Phantasmat •Phantasmat: Crucible Peak •Phantasmat: The Endless Night •Phantasmat: The Dread of Oakville •Phantasmat: Behind the Mask •Phantasmat: Town of Lost Hope •Phantasmat: Reign of Shadows •Phantasmat: Mournful Loch
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from i'm part scottish yo braveheart good game liked every thing about it
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Very 1st Positive Eipix Review I normally don't give Eipix high star reviews because of the fuzziness of their graphics on 20+ in monitors. They are a prolific developer and could definitely do better in that regards. However, I'm about 1/2 way through this game and I have to say that it is an excellent and engrossing story. Graphix still could be better but the story doesn't lose momentum within 30 mins like so many of their games do. I will recommend this one.
Date published: 2017-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not My Favorite in this Series...But Still Worth a Buy Based on demo, only: Solid 4-star game. The original Phantasmat is one of my all time favorite games...this installment is pretty good, considering it is #8 in the series. As others have commented, it is rather dark & dreary, but that is in keeping with the setting/theme....bright and colorful would not be appropriate for this game. I think the puzzles are its best feature. The morphing objects were very easy for me to spot, and not an asset, IMHO. The HOS were also good, but nothing special. As always, try the demo out for yourself.
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting game..... but THAT accent!?! I did enjoy this game, though am on a budget now so will wait for the standard edition to come out. Great graphics, good storyline, but there was one thing that really, really did put me off it....the accent of the character started off with a Scottish brogue, but veered towards a Northern Ireland accent. It ended up a mixture between the two which I found really irritating. Such a shame...however will be a good game if you turn the sound down
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't sneak up on me! Hi all! As usual, I review mostly on the game play and not the story line, as others do a much better job of that than I. Well, it looks like we have #8 in this series. Naturally I have all of them, but not all are CE versions. Graphics are very well done, right down to the wrinkles. Some close up cut scenes are a bit fuzzy, but not too bad. Colors are bright, but not over-powering and very nice. There seems to be a bit of a long lag between some scenes for some reason, but not overly long. Game play was excellent, with no problems during the demo. Voices are well done, with some fear, urgency, etc. I just had a feeling about our boat guy. He is kind of creepy. You can click through dialog if you read faster than they speak, without losing any part of the story, or any helpful information. The sound FX are very well done and realistic. Music is not bad and changes, depending on what is happening at the time. Animation is really nice and fairly realistic. Be aware, things do jump out at you, even got me once, I hate that! HOPs are extremely well done, and the same as in the last game in this series. You have a variation of interactive lists, highlighted words, morphing items and interactive silhouettes. Scenes are clean and clear and items are not difficult to find. You can switch to a match 3 if you prefer. Puzzles are challenging and somewhat time consuming, but not bad at all. Mostly, it pays to think a head a bit before making a move. They do take some time and thought to complete. The hint system is quite helpful and it does transport to longer locations. The map also saves you time, but again, I found it to be rather bland and boring. This one has no area identified by anything other than the name, so you best be remembering what each location is called. Definitely needed to show a picture of the area. Collectibles were disappointing, but nicely done. We need to find 21 morphing items. They morph pretty quickly and are not as easy to spot as you may think, so be on the look out. Didn't find anything else, but definitely needed more in this department. The story is nicely done and I found it interesting, much better than the last one. I was surprised at how short the demo was, or maybe I was just too engrossed in the game. As usual, I don't give 5 stars easily, a game must be exceptional in every way to get that many. This game was lacking in a few things, but still well done. There is also some whispering when you find objects. I know what I hear, but you may hear something else. If this stuff creeps you out, think twice about this game. That said, I like this series and I think most all levels of players will find it challenging and interesting enough to purchase. Yes, I am going to add this one to my every growing collection of CE games. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A PHANTASMAT GAME WHICH IS A SPECTRE OF ITS FORMER SELF OVERVIEW: Beware the ghosts of Logan Castle! As an archaeologist, affiliated with a renowned university, you care off to the castle to investigate the Logan family, their ancestral castle, the loch surrounding the castle, and an ancient family relic in this 4-star game. Upon arriving in Scotland, you are welcomed by a highland fling into the loch surrounding the ancestral estate. When your boat capsizes, you wash up at the shore of the estate. Was your accident truly an accident or were there other forces involved? Like Macbeth, beware those rascally Scottish ghosts! They can be harbingers of doom! This spook fest should appeal to most gamers, paranormal investigators, ghostbusters, or Scots. The graphics and story are the usual EIPIX fare. There is nothing exceptional about this game; however, it does have a good pace and interesting story. The collectibles are morphing objects. The symbol at the bottom of the screen on the inventory bar swirls around when there is one in the scene. You can play a Match-3 game in lieu of the HOP scenes and you can also replay HOP scenes and puzzles. Based on the demo, I find this game a mediocre entry into the “Phantasmat” series. I feel it is not as good as others in the series; however, it is still better than many of the current EIPIX games. It could be that since we have been “treated” to so many EIPIX games lately, that the games appear to be cookie cutter variations of each other. There are some creative elements in this game; however, I am tired of playing EIPIX games. Nothing excites me about the game – neither the story (same old repackaged ghost story) nor the repackaged HOP scenes, puzzles, and the Match-3 game to play in lieu of the HOP scenes. The only new element in the game are the collectibles – morphing objects. However, as usual, judge for yourself! HOP SCENES: The scenes are the usual ones seen in most EIPIX games. They include a couple of multiple-step ones which include a list of items followed by a silhouette sequence. In one scene, you look for morphing objects. And, of course, there is a storybook scene in which you locate items listed in BOLD letters. PUZZLES. There are more puzzles than HOP scenes. They are modified versions of puzzles we have seen in other games by this developer. There are some easy puzzles including an assembly puzzle to combine symbols to create a larger symbol. There is a Simon Says sequence, a matching puzzle and a jigsaw puzzle as well. There are some puzzles of middle difficulty. I did not see any challenging puzzles in this game. There is a matching puzzle to create a picture according to a given image. There is a slider puzzle in which you uncover three pictures using four sliders. Returning from a previous game is a puzzle in which you use a telescope to locate items. In this case, you uncover a series of dots and trace the picture associated with the dots. The last puzzle in the demo is a multiple-step one using a skeleton and its teeth. LEVELS: Easy, Medium, Hard, Custom Hint: 10 to 120 seconds Skips: 10 to 400 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game 12 Achievements – Some have 3 parts Collect 21 Morphing objects – A swirl gyrates when there is one in a scene Replay 15 HOP scenes and 16 Puzzles 8 Wallpapers, 4 Concept Art, Videos, Music, Souvenir Room HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE HOP SCENES: You have the option to play a Match-3 game instead A. Multiple-step. (A) List of items (B) Silhouette B. Locate 12 morphing objects. C. Multiple-step. (A). Locate 8 faces of different types. (B). Silhouette. D. Storybook with items listed in BOLD letters. PUZZLES: (1) Easy (2) Moderate difficulty (3) Difficult A. Matching puzzle. Using arrows, move tokens to create a picture according to a given diagram. Rating: 2 B. Assembly puzzle. Combine symbols to create 3 larger symbols. Rating: 1 C. Slider puzzle. Slide four sliders until you uncover three pictures listed at the side of a grid. Rating: 2 D. Simon Says. Repeat a sequence of lights on a gargoyle. Rating: 1 E. Location puzzle. Using the controls on a telescope, locate 3 series of dots to uncover an image to transfer to a sheet of paper. Rating: 2 F. Multiple-step puzzle: (1). Sequence puzzle. Turn three wheels to match up with the symbols on a code you got from the last puzzle. Rating: 1 (2). Logic puzzle. Move teeth on a skeleton using a conveyor which can remove up to two teeth at a time. Teeth should be placed under the correct color of silver or gold. Rating: 2 G. Matching puzzle. Turn stones to match up with the symbols in a diary. Rating: 1 H. Sliding tiles puzzle. Slide a set of tiles into position to recreate a picture. Move the rows and columns up and down and right and left as a group. Rating: 2 I. Jigsaw puzzle. Place pieces into correct position to create several creatures. Rating: 1
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did I Drown Well I love phantasmat and I own them all and wanted to give it four stars but.....not one of their best games. This game had collectables that I am not really sure what it was it was a bit blurred and so I too found collectables disappointing. Puzzles were good, HO's were good, nice inventory, good characters, good inventory, decent game flow, and a good jump map.
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Played 6 Chapters + Bonus I was having fun in the trial so I bought it, having almost all the others in this series. But haven't played them all yet. I wasn't having fun anymore as it went along. It was OK and I was getting bored. The bonus was short but I was getting tired of playing. I had to keep using the map which got slower has I went on. Hardly no sparkles. I kept missing places and didn't know they were there until I hit hint. It's not a bad game, it's just good and not great.
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor MIA storyline hurts great production values = COMPLETED GAME = Lovely settings yet per usual from Eipix almost zero storyline to hold interest or create anticipation. Still, atmosphere is gorgeous, moody, like original Phantasmat but better; Eipix artists are super! Music good too, not the loud racket Eipix often uses. I really liked the hos, good variety & great looking. Nice puzzles, too! Best IMHO are the extra touches/mini-activities that help player feel involved. My favourite was using wrench to fix boards on a bridge: easy but neat. Eipix needs to move its university partnerships beyond software/coding instead to humanities/arts to secure interns professionally trained in story-telling, narrative, & multi-modal communication IMHO. Eipix stories are weak to start & devs don't use characters properly to add to the risk-reward mechanics. Nearly all story details come via note or diary, which is plainly stupid vis a vis most plots. What bad guy/gal really leaves notes all over to him-/herself? Drab, that. BONUS GAME is follow on to main story, excellent start, then *poof* it's over, 15 minutes, definitely not worth paying the extra. A big disappointment. Other Extras are the usual & I credit Eipix for including Video, which many devs are too cheap to do.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Playing Trial I am currently taking a break from BFG, going through all my old games (over 400) and trying out new games to find one that sparks my interest enough to come back. First, I want to say that this game seems beautifully done, great looking artwork and sound, all the bells and whistles. I am in the first 8 minutes of play, and I'm having the same complaint with Eipix that I've had for years: the cinematics. I hate the camera work moving in and out and all around during the cut scenes. I know it's done for dramatic effect, but I really wish they'd stop! This is listed under HO, and so far, I haven't seen one. I'm going to finish the trial before I decide if this is THE game that will change my mind, as there have been so many positive reviews, so far, from other gamers.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Haunted Castle on Deserted Island - Check On your way to Logan's Island your boat disintegrates. You make it to shore and open your eyes in time to see your boatman disappearing into a dilapidated shack. You follow him in and agree to find a way to leave the island. Eventually he will tell you that the only way to survive is to separately look for the amulet that will presumably save you both from the ghosts. Oh, yeah. That always works in the movies! Good stuff: All the expected game elements are here along with CE bling and a story with some potential. Bad stuff: The boatman's "blind" eye comes and goes - a tip off that he is not all he seems. All the artwork is dark and striving for over-the-top creepy. the music and background noise stops abruptly between scenes and then resumes with a different tune. This is another Eipix attempt to continue a great series that falls flat. It is not as bad as some of their recent efforts, but it is not great or even particularly well-done. I sincerely wish they would go for Quality over Quantity as I have had to pan so many of their games lately for lack of originality and poor craftmanship. Please try the demo and decide for yourself. With today's sale, I will consider getting this as the free game.
Date published: 2017-04-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Review Based Entire Game Played Including Bonus Chapter and Extras An honest, fair, and consistent review of this game puts it at 3 1/2 stars (more towards 3 than 4 so I rated it 3). It has to be over the top exceptional to even come close to being a 5 star game, which this was not. Some folks have rated this 5 stars and then follow-up with everything that is wrong with it - I don't get it. It was a decent game though. My rating is based on the totality of the game, so read on ... Main Chapter took exactly 4 hours to play. This game time is a bit deceiving though in that many of the HO scenes took way too long, which also hindered the flow of the game a bit. I do not rush through games, so this is a little generous on the time. With that said, the time flew by - I kept busy and interested the whole play and was not interrupted by tons of cut scenes. This was a big plus in my book. Bonus Chapter took an additional 30 minutes (was not needed as main ended conclusively). The bonus game tried to add to the story but missed the mark and I found it to be just a time filler to help justify the CE extras, which were a bit slim. You revisit 5 scenes and have 3 new ones. This story was, again, one of tormented, lost souls you had to free. It was told okay. You play a female but you are only reminded of that twice in two quick shots of her hands and once of her voice. Other than that, you do not "see" yourself. No gimmicks, no helpers, just you against the world. In the beginning there is one other character but he goes away for a while. He is significant to the story though. The rest of the characters are visions of ghosts. It was nice and creepy but not scary. The music was fitting and non-intrusive. There were no "didn't see that coming" moments. The story was a bit bland actually. That is all I will say about the story because I feel half the fun of playing is the unknown. The graphics, though detailed, were muted blue, greens, and grays throughout. That was it. It was fitting for the theme of the story but I kind of got bored looking at the scenery after a while. Technical/Mechanical: Everything worked fine other than there was a small delay in most scene changes (not too hateful though). I played on laptop w/ Windows 10. Fit wide screen automatically. Settings/play mode: Easy, Medium, Hard, and Custom. I played Custom using no hints, no black bar tips, no tutorial, no sparkles. I did not skip any games (they were mostly very easy). You can turn off those annoying pop-ups! YAY! I do not consider myself "expert" because I still need to use cursor changes - I feel the only way to be considered expert, you are able to play these games without cursor changes. You can turn this off in settings as well for that real challenge. You can adjust Music, FX, Voice, and cut scene music all separately. You do get a jump map and I needed it several times as the play area gets to be multiple locations. The map showed active area (if you want) but did not show where collectibles were. You didn't really need that though as there was an indicator on the inventory bar. There were 21 collectibles (not in every scene) and were all the same morphing object - easy to find. That was it on collectibles. If you do miss any, you can go back and collect them after bonus chapter played. Inventory bar was locking, had map, tasks, hint, guide, menu, achievements, and plus item indicator. There is no journal and I wish there was as I had to use strategy guide twice to remember something. Other than that, strategy guide really was not needed. The was not a very challenging game. There were 15 HO scenes in the game, a couple revisited. (11 in main game, 4 in bonus chapter) - All re-playable in extras. I personally dislike HOs in adventure games and this game reminded me why. But HO lovers will definitely enjoy them. There were 16 puzzles - all re-playable in extras - almost all were incredibly easy. In fact, on many, you barely had to do anything, the game did it for you. That is a shame because I am a puzzle lover in these adventure games and enjoy a good challenge. 12 Achievements, 5 are 3 parts and all but 2 were actual game play. Additional extras included Souvenir room (20 to find - most were two-step), video, music (9 tracks), art (concept and wallpaper). I can comfortably go ahead and recommend this game, though depending on your love of extras, you may want to wait for the SE, which is what I think I would have opted for had I not bought this one (with credits) - and had I known what the full game was all about. That is why I hope this review helps at least one person.
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Its just ok I loved the modern feel to this game. I initially thought the game was going to be a good one but the more I played it the shine wore off. Lots of mini games, not too many HO's and the ending was quite disappointing, I didn't realise I was at the final scene to be honest. Mixed feelings about this one, as I say it was ok, but not fantastically amazing or anything but just ok.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed The game was very short and storyline confusing. Ive never used a hint button or played alternative HOPs game or skipped puzzles so much in all the years ive been playing! Would recommend playing full demo before considering purchase
Date published: 2017-04-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Check LunaNik's Review LunaNik's cookie cutter review hit the nail on the head. My experience going through the CE demo was absolutely identical to what they described. I'm only choosing to not recommend this game to experienced players. For beginners, it would be ok.
Date published: 2017-04-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Story that falls apart I think the problem with the most recent slew of Eipix games is the story line; they just don't make any sense. Starting with the most recent MCF (if you can call it that anymore) and then to another sequel where we were supposed to be in Florence but were travelling around in gondolas and then a rather quizzical worst-ever Hidden Expidition story whereby Marco Polo was somehow behind an anti-flood invention to save Venice (umm, I think they meant da Vinci as Polo was more of swindler and an **** and certainly not an inventor) but started with a story line about a pearl. Huh?! And with this story I was confused as well - am I supposed to save these souls? Why did it start out with super-scary clown guy and just fall apart into so-so characters who were like, oh, so you're taking my medallion huh? Well, okey doke I guess; knock yourself out under the lake as I won't stand in your way. Makes no sense. SMH. Since we're at the point where I can't imagine there are any more mini-games or HOS variants (if there are, that'd be cool though) then we are driven by story. And here is where this game totally falls apart. Except it falls apart AFTER THE DEMO. It's like a whole different team comes in after the first chapter and just drops in game play logs and then all is same ol' same ol'. I've finally had it - been suckered in enough times. :(
Date published: 2017-04-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This game bored me mindless This has to be one of the most boring games ever put out. Starts out dark and stays dark. Characters are not believable and story line just doesn't get it. This has everything I hate in a game-dark scenery, back and forth running with no progress, HO's and puzzles/mini games that add nothing and just overall boring. I like good, well written HO games but this one just doesn't do it for me. I don't recommend this at all.
Date published: 2017-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It was a bit meh My intial excitement during the demo for the game was quickly replaced AFTER buying the full version. Phantasmat is usually one of my favourite series and I honestly had high hopes playing the demo. The story begins as you are travelling to an abandoned castle to search for an artifact. Cue a boat wreck and a creepy boatman and getting to a haunted castle where all sorts of scary characters await. Well maybe for a few minutes anyway. These "scary" ghosts only make sporadic appearances. You are back and forth like a yoyo in some locations and to be honest I found myself getting really really bored. For me this game was a disappointment and I wish I had waited for the standard game to come out instead of spending on the collectors edition.
Date published: 2017-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No not for me.!!! I did not like it at all. Love the more traditional like Dire Cove etc. Even Elephant Games doesn't hit the mark sometime the visual quality was not very good. Lets say try again Epic games.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Eipix is running its cookie cutters on overtime this month. No one has been able to capture the sheer, shuddering horror of Codeminion’s original Phantasmat, released in 2010. Its lonely, abandoned landscapes and clingy, creepy inhabitants struck a chord that no developer has been able to replicate in its sequels. Nor have better graphics cards, more powerful computers, and high tech rendering and animation helped. Something about the original Phantasmat’s stark, static, and nearly monotone scenes painted a more terrifying picture than today’s brilliant colors and lifelike animation, much in the same way that Hitchcock movies are more frightening than modern horror movies with their blood, gore, and CG monsters. That having been said, Eipix has put together a suitably eldritch setting—a haunted castle on the shore of a Scottish loch—with an interesting storyline and decently-developed backstory. The ghosts’ appearances were chosen well. I mean, what is a jester but a clown? And who doesn’t have coulrophobia? The jump scares aren’t overdone either; there are just enough to keep you on the edge of your seat. Gameplay is where Mournful Loch falls apart, both in terms of logic and challenge. Exploration involves the typical back-and-forth fixing things that are broken, unlocking things that are locked, and giving inanimate objects items they supposedly treasure. In return, you get items for your inventory so you can fix more broken things, unlock more locked things, and make more inanimate objects happy. The four HO scenes in the demo were all presented differently, but all took less than a minute to complete. I won a performance achievement for finishing one in less than 30 seconds, so it’s obvious all the objects were in plain sight. I guess the hidden object genre is officially dead, because I’ve been complaining about this for at least a year now and NONE of the major devs will hide the objects in their HO scenes. The 12 puzzles in the demo came in five types: • This isn’t even a puzzle. All I have to do is copy a code or click to move the story along. (3 of this type) • This is so ridiculously easy, my 4-year-old niece could do it. (3 of this type) • Making me randomly guess at the solution isn’t a puzzle either! (2 of this type) • I already know the solution, because you’ve used this puzzle in 85 other games. (2 of this type) • This isn’t challenging; it just takes tedious time. (2 of this type) You might find the gameplay enjoyable if you’re a rank beginner, but there’s nothing challenging or fun here for an expert. I found the gameplay predictable and boring. The production is up to Eipix’s usual high standards, but I hope you like turquoise, cyan, aqua, ultramarine, cerulean, teal, and sapphire…a LOT. Because that’s the palette in its entirety. While I’m curious about the storyline, I’m not paying to slog through Eipix’s stupidly easy, repetitive, cookie cutter gameplay to find out what happens. Every game they release plays the same way. They NEVER innovate anymore. Perhaps this is the problem: Mournful Loch is the third game Eipix has released in the past 12 days. They should concentrate on quality instead of quantity.
Date published: 2017-04-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from mournfully boring this series is long over..the first one was great no hand holding, this one was tedious, and all over the place. i did not like anything about this game. just boring. so much back and forth.........lots. i think the dev. had a good idea, just did not follow thru.
Date published: 2017-04-15
  • y_2017, m_8, d_12, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_26520, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Phantasmat: Mournful Loch Collector's Edition

Can you uncover the Logan Family's terrible secret in time?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.