Matches and Matrimony: A Pride and Prejudice Tale

Matches and Matrimony: A Pride and Prejudice Tale

PC

Also available on

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(61.42 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Help a Bennet sister find a husband as you take a starring role in Jane Austen’s most popular novels in Matches & Matrimony! Will you pursue Mr. Bingley, whose good nature has already endeared him to your sister, or perhaps Mr. Darcy, the famous protagonist from Pride and Prejudice? The narrative of Matches & Matrimony comes from the combining of 3 different novels, allowing you to create new storylines from Miss Austen’s most famous works!

  • Unique gameplay
  • Incredible storylines
  • Find a husband!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 128 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 76 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Matches and Matrimony: A Pride and Prejudice Tale

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(61.42 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Matches and Matrimony: A Pride and Prejudice Tale is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 20.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jane Austen and Choose Your Own Adventure! I will state before I get too far into this that I am both a Jane Austen fan and loved Choose Your Own Adventure books when I was little. So this game is perfect for me, and I knew I had to buy it only part way through my trial period. It's a chance to determine your own fate in Jane Austen's world, and your choices will change what ending you get! The graphics are pleasant drawing-style graphics and not exceptionally fancy, but you don't purchase this game for the graphics anyway. They are well-done enough for what is essentially a choose your path book in digital format. The sound is also pleasant. The replayability is excellent, however. There are multiple endings you can try and achieve, and so you can attempt to try and figure them all out. Obviously, you can even play again after you've gotten all the endings if you so choose. I got a good amount of game time out of this trying to find all the endings. Your character changes as the story goes along as well, and certain choices are available only if your character has (or doesn't have) certain levels in her traits. You raise and lower your traits both through your daily activities, as well as through the big interactions in the game. It's a really fun game that isn't hard to play - even a novice gamer should be able to play this one easily. The challenge comes in trying to figure out the different paths. I really hope they put out more games like this with other stories!
Date published: 2011-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta Love Jane Austen If you love Jane Austen's books, then you will love this game. You get to develop a character and decide how she interacts with other characters in the story which makes for hard decisions and precise movements like a chess game to get your desired outcome. With suitors like Mr. Darcy, the game remains fun and twisty.
Date published: 2011-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You gotta love getting to decide your (or your character's) fate through the choices you make! This game seems to get better even after the first play. Ever read a book and wished that you could change something? This is sorta how the game goes. You realize that your choices have consequences, and you have to make your choices wisely to get what you want. Every choice has an effect on what happens later on, and this is what is so frustratingly thrilling about it. Are you the girl who prefers the extremely friendly gentleman (like Ashley) or the dark mysterious handsome guy (Rhett)? Do you have a very annoying guy chasing you (Urkle or Screech)? Or is there someone in the background that no one seems to notice as much. Are you willing to be cruel or overly nice? Do you want to be very smart or very social? What skills do you want to be seen through your personality and who will you end up with in the end? Will your family be happy, will you be happy, will the ending be happy? The fate is all in your own hands ... be careful, it might be a frustrating life!
Date published: 2011-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jane Austin-palooza This was a rather fun game. Let's see, you start out in the Bennett family, but you can end in a couple different roles... You could marry Bingley... You could be *forced* to marry Elton... It's a fab game that I've played over and over... Very much like those choose-an-ending books we all read as children. Even got my best friend hooked!
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Totally Love this Game! i bought this game when it 1st came out and i am still playing it! i wish they would make more book games as lovely as this! the only thing i wish they had done is change their outfits for ball scenes! and the characters r a bit cartoonish aka comic book like. they could have done a bit better on the drawings as well. but if u want a challenging non stressful game this is iit! a nice change of pace ^^. i gave it 4 starts instead of 5 because of the above mentioned :)
Date published: 2012-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from write your own Jane Austen novel this choose-your-ending strategy game is actually an amalgam of several novels by celebrated writer and social satirist, Jane Austen. in this graphic novel, you are the second-oldest Bennett sister, Elizabeth, from Jane Austen's famous novel, Pride and Prejudice. in this game, you make choices that affect whether or whom you marry, whether it is the gentle Mr. Bingley (whom your older sister is smitten with), or the aloof Mr. Darcy, or any one of a number of other suitors. graphics: static comic-book style drawings. but this is not a graphics-driven game anyway. music and sound effects: i liked the music, it was sweet and light and in fact, part of the musical score sounded like it came from the Harry Potter 7a movie ... storyline: this is a story- and character-driven game, as you might expect. there are nine possible endings, with six potential husbands, all of which are protagonists in Jane Austen's novels. i enjoy that the option to remain single is also an outcome. the mechanics of which outcome your character ends up with are rather like a chess game where a seemingly small move now can have large consequences much later. of course, this game has plenty of replay value as you work your way through it again and again, trying to discover which choices or combination of choices give rise to each of the possible endings. gameplay: there is a lot of reading in this game, and most of the dialogue comes directly from one or another of Austen's novels, so it can be quite witty. the story is designed so your weekly activities and social interactions cause the story to develop in particular directions, based on your gameplay choices. this could be a five-star game, except for its disappointing graphics, thus, my four star rating. since this game makes good use of Jane Austen's novels and does quote dialogue from several of her novels, i wonder if the developer created this game as his master's thesis in English Lit? for this reason, this game will certainly be enjoyed by those who love Jane Austen's oeuvre. i also think this game is good fun for the family and can be quite thought-provoking for showing the potential far-reaching consequences that may result from daily choices.
Date published: 2012-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interactive novel...definitely not your standard game If you enjoy reading and loved to read Jane Austen's novels particularly Pride and Prejudice, then you will definitely enjoy this interactive novel. At first, it seemed like a bit too much reading to me and actually was helpful in getting me sleep (which some games do have their purpose now and then), but I did find enjoyment in trying to come up with the 9 different alternative endings depending on which characteristics I developed and which decisions I made in conversation. Overall an intriguing game, but I think with this one, people will either love or hate this game. I don't think there will be many people in-between.
Date published: 2012-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from more like an interactive book than a game If you like Jane Austen or reading in general, then this is the game for you. If you actually like playing games, don't bother with this. I thought it would be like a Ciao Bella game (which i love) but I was very disappointed. The amount of dialogue is ridiculous and the "gameplay" is so minimal. After reading dialogue for 10 min, you basically get to click one choice of what your character should say or do next and then read for 10 more (and repeat for entire game). The art and design are nice, but that's about it. I was so bored. I was able to finish the game during the trial. The game is meant to be replayed multiple times in order to get all 9 different endings, but I wouldn't want to sit through that again.
Date published: 2012-08-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing - Nice concept, but didn't deliver. After some playing some beautiful involved HO storyline games I thought I'd use my punch card credit for this 'off-piste' purchase, as I am quite partial to a bit of Austen. I should have played the demo. Graphics and sound - Very dull and unimaginative, and pushes a gamer away from feeling part of the world they are trying to buy into. Two cut outs of characters bouncing from side to side on the screen, is not what I would call dancing, or particularly romantic. A few potential poignant moments spoiled. I spent most of the time speed reading the text and feeling a bit cheated. I would have enjoyed the game more if it was just text in a DOS screen, and used my own imagination. Most of the humorous moments were from Austen's cleverly written dialog, not from the game construct. Positives - You can 'save game' during play, in order to speed up figuring out what all the multiple options endings are (I did a few, then got bored). - The game gives a good indication if your response or skill set will push the game in a specific direction - so helps identify branching points. - Skip forwards options, and being able to move forwards and backwards through taken options in case you make a 'booboo', is a nice touch. Efficient. - The concept of possibly ending up with a different partner, other than that originally intended tickled my humour indeed. I am a little confused by the high number of positive reviews and high scoring, which prompted me to go for this game. Maybe these are from people who have not read the book and only watched the films? (A bit harsh I know, but I am really truly confused) But most likely it is just a gaming style and play-ablility preference. We can't all like the same things. If you want to feel part of the Jane Austen experience, I suggest you skip this game and read the books.
Date published: 2012-06-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Animated book Yep, this felt more like a book than a game. I downloaded the trial and spent like 95-99% of the time reading story lines and conversations between characters. We are not even indulged with seeing our planned weekly activities take place like other games of similar nature. After selecting what you want to do for the week, you just get a quick summary of points you gained or lost then it's back to more reading of story lines. I couldn't wait for it to be over while secretly hoping something cool will come out of the remainder of my hour but no such luck. I will not be purchasing. I would rather cozy up under a warm blanket to a Jane Austen novel than "play" this book called Matches and Matrimony, sorry.
Date published: 2012-12-26
  • y_2017, m_4, d_24, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_9586, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Matches and Matrimony: A Pride and Prejudice Tale

Help a Bennet sister find a husband as you take a starring role in Jane Austen’s most popular novels in Matches & Matrimony!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.