Shades of Death: Royal Blood

Shades of Death: Royal Blood

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(119.38 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

After your father dies, your sister Violet requests your help at the Family Castle. After arriving, things seem to be in disarray. Explore the castle and help Violet get to the bottom of a dark mystery in Shades of Death: Royal Blood. Use your Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure skills to explore the grounds and solve tricky puzzles. Discover what had frightened your father and find the truth behind his death.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.0 GHz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 131 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Shades of Death: Royal Blood

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(119.38 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Shades of Death: Royal Blood is rated 3.6 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creepy Fun Really great creep factor and story line. The graphics are beautifully rendered and the mystery is challenging. I've played it three times and enjoyed it each time, and I'm not one to replay games. Most of the HOS are fairly dark and grainy, making it a bit difficult to find all the objects, but that's what hints are for, right? I appreciate that there is no click penalty, and the hints refill quickly. I skipped all the puzzles, so I can't comment on them, but the skip button is available quickly enough even for me.
Date published: 2013-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from not bad maybe 3.5 not 4 Not a bad game but not great either. Older game. No voice over, graphics are ok could have been full screen. Music is fair. You have to like HOS to like this game. The HOS are good but the items are small and the screen is dark so you really need to look. Has somewhat of an adventure where you need to find thing to advance. Not hard game at all. The puzzles are good some harder than others.
Date published: 2013-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, Solid Game. Older-type game with plenty of HOs ( sometimes ambiguous objects),simple puzzles and a predictable story line. The collectible has only three parts and the vampires don't have much motivation, but, the artwork is good and the game's flow is pleasant. I got this game on sale and am well pleased. If the player is looking for the ultimate in HO games, this is not it. Enjoyable, fun and worth the time and money.
Date published: 2013-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game While I agree with most of the reviews on this game, I liked it for the visual quality and the storyline. It is a good game that kept my interest for the time it took to play, and I'm not at all sorry that I purchased it. Was it the most stunning and challenging game I've ever played? No, but that doesn't mean it's not worth playing. I found it enjoyable, and that's why I keep coming back to BFG!
Date published: 2013-01-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LIVING VS. UNDEAD Nice balance of HOS and puzzles. Two modes of play. Three locations: castle, cursed island and evacuated village. Travel between the world of the dead and the undead. You enter the different realms through mirrors. Hint system is fairly decent – tells you when there’s nothing left to do at the location or showing you where you can do something. Linear play, so it’s hard to get lost. Nicely developed gameplay. Graphics are rather gloomy in the land of the living; a little brighter in the land of the undead. HOS may be a little dark for some screen resolutions. You have to find missing pieces before puzzles can be completed. Little spirits are frequently floating about. You’ll find quite a bit of material strewn throughout the locations (newspapers, notes, journal entries) that you'll want to read. Interesting cutscenes.
Date published: 2012-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Royal Blood Great game but VERY SHORT. By the time you really get into it, its over and you dont even see it coming.....I was playing along them boom ending credits. For that reason, it wasnt worth the money:-(
Date published: 2012-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid game I enjoyed playing this game, as it flowed from scene to scene and didn't require too much backtracking, but my only disappointment is that it was short. I played the demo, and only played an extra hour after buying it before I finished the game. I guess if you're advanced, you'll go through it really fast. The hidden object scenes were good, as I didn't need to squint or stare at the screen to find objects, and the puzzles were fairly challenging. I also enjoyed the music - it wasn't overwhelmingly dramatic, and matched the gameplay perfectly. All-in-all, a solid game - experienced players may find it too short though.
Date published: 2012-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game, Great Graphics I enjoyed this game. I took my time and enjoyed the scenery along the way. The puzzles aren't too hard and the objects to find were large enough to see. I recommend this game.
Date published: 2012-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ok!! Not a bad game but very short! only took me an hour and a half to play, the HOS are dark in places but still very easy and the puzzles are nothing new I'm afraid. It's a good game and a nice storyline to spend an afternoon on.
Date published: 2012-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall a good HOG. Shades of Death is a solid HOG worth buying. It is good but not great, but it is an entertaining play. Most of the HO scenes are good, although some of the hidden objects are concealed to the point that one must click on the area highlighted by the hint and then watch what goes away to see what it could have been while others are perfectly visible but well blended. Oddly, the HOS in the netherworld are brighter and those in the real world are darker. The plot is interesting enough to follow. The continuity of play is pretty good, but I did have to look at the walkthrough a couple of times for hints. I am a puzzle hater and several of these puzzles immediately fell into the skip category. There are no hints for puzzles. You have to guess what it is that you are supposed to do. Skipping is easier with no goal given. Overall, I think you will like this game.
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved it! It was kinda sad at first,but don't give up on this great game! As I played it, it just got better and better, and was wondering, after seeing all the ratings, if I was on the right game! HAHAHA! I loved it and ,the hint button is all you need to play a long and relaxing HOG game with a great story line. I got it at a super price ( sure love Big Fish !) but would have paid the full price for sure!
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a fun game We purchased this game some time ago before games could be reviewed, so we started it over to see what it was like. There are volume controls for sound effects and music. The music was not annoying. There were no voice overs and minimal text to read. You can choose full or wide screen and custom cursor. The game modes are casual or advanced. There is a journal that keeps track of info found in letters and papers in your travels. There is also a task list. The graphics were good. Some of the hidden object scenes were a bit challenging <not because of clutter or poor graphics...the items were well hidden> and we did use the hints. The hints filled quickly in casual play mode. There was quite a bit of back & forth to play puzzles after finding inventory items you needed. The puzzles were fairly simple and fun. Rarely do we finish a game in one sitting so we have not made it to the end to know how many chapters there are. We have played for a bit over an hour and are in chapter 2. The story line is about finding parts of an amulet to keep "evil" from being released after it has been locked up for hundreds of years. There are some ghosts flying about, although we haven't encountered any scenes that are overly creepy or demonic. All in all this is a fun game with a bit of a challenge. We are glad we purchased it, even though it wasn't at a Daily Deal price.
Date published: 2012-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Un-bloody vampire game is okay I bought this as a Daily Double, and it was well worth the money. I enjoy HOGs and this one didn't fail me. Sure, the puzzles were fairly easy, but I haven't much patience anyway. It took me two hours to complete, so it's a fun way to spend a little time. By the way, the scenes are much lighter when you are in the spirit world, and that was even explained by the ghost. I usually turn off the sound, because I don't like the monotonous music. Try the game.
Date published: 2012-03-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good game i love the game..... its good..... but not so horrible.... as i love playing horror games.
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Play Beat-the-Vampires Game PLUS SIDE = Sometimes you just want something easy-to-play, and this game fills the bill. I bought it a few months ago, and just replayed today because I wanted something non-intense to play. This game has an interesting storyline (help save the town from the return of the evil-spirit king) with a nice mix of Hidden Object scenes and fairly easy-to-do puzzles. The action for each chapter takes place within a limited area, so there is not a huge amount of back-and-forth trekking. The visuals (except for some of the Hidden Object scenes) were very well done, and the story has a satisfying ending. MINUS SIDE = The colors are a very monochromic brown and blue in some of the Hidden Object scenes, which makes it hard to find the objects. The game is fairly short, I finished it the first time I played in under three hours. There are no voiceovers, just script dialog (which can be skipped). For those concerned about occult themes, the story does deal with the supernatural (vampires and spirits).
Date published: 2011-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit short The story is interesting. The HOS are a bit grainy but the objects are not tiny so it's ok. The mini-games are not too hard. The game is rather short, I'd say about 2-3 hours, but otherwise it's a good game.
Date published: 2011-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden Object Game I enjoyed this game, the last chapter seemed a little rushed, making the game a little short, but still fun to play. The game is fairly linear, so there isn't a lot of brain work involved in figuring out what to do next. The game is a straightforward interactive hidden object game, well drawn, with nice music, a pleasant way to while away a few hours.
Date published: 2011-11-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Game played full game with sound off and in casual mode on a pc. straight forward game with minimal chasing. lots of hidden object games and the puzzles are easy to figure out. the negatives are poor visuals on the hidden object games and for some puzzles, while easy to solve, it is tedious getting to the solution. for example, it was so difficult to move the joints in one puzzle, i finally gave up and skipped it. even with the negatives, this is a fun game and i recommend it.
Date published: 2016-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for it's time. I remember playing this for the free hour a long time ago. At the time I really wanted to finish it, but I didn't have the money. This time I played through the hour, it was interesting enough at first that I decided to get it with my free game coupon. Unfortunately the plot did not thicken and the story did not improve. It goes from being in a castle, to a boring abandoned town, to an even more boring island. There is little suspense and the ending is kind of lame. The HOPs are decent, but old. So if you don't like old school HOPs then you should probably skip this title. I'm giving it three stars, because it wasn't bad for an older title. It does not really compare to the newer games though.
Date published: 2014-12-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from YOU HAVE TO LOVE HOGS I read this in someone's review and thought, I like HOS so I picked it up on DD. I really enjoyed the first chapter and thought it was spooky and fun. By the second half of the game it was a HOS at every turn. The HOS were the old kind that do it's best to hide most of the items and you have to use the hint just to see a couple of them. They were pretty dark and some of the items weren't even identifiable (IMO). I love a good adventure with my games, but by the last half of the game I was so tired of having to play a HOS at every turn, that I didn't get to enjoy the adventure. If you "LOVE" HOS, then you will definitely enjoy this game. I haven't played many of the old vampire games, and did enjoy the theme of this one.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok For Beginers I was fortunate enough to have this game as part of a multi-pack because I certainly wouldn't have bought it alone. Overall it is fun but WAAAAY to short so it is a good introduction for people new to HO Adventure games. The mood is inappropriately mild considering it is about a series of brutal murders and after a promising start the game quickly becomes "cartoonish" and camp so it is impossible to take it seriously. The graphics are generally high quality but inconsistent at times and there are also inconsistencies between stages as to the actual time period the game is set in. As stated elsewhere advance players would easily complete this in the time allotted for a free trial so its worth a whirl if you want a game for nothing.
Date published: 2012-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Goes steadily downhill I was impressed with the first chapter; the second was almost as good but then the third seemed to be from a different game - it was far too short, too easy, the storyline almost vanished and even the graphics were inferior - particularly in the HOG's. If it had, say, five chapters, with a decent third chapter and a story that stood up throughout it would have been great. What I liked about it, which I haven't seen before, was the temporary transformation of a scene to the same place before it suffered from neglect and deterioration. That was a good idea - so many games feature derelict, decrepit locations and it was good to see how it once was (in this case, haunted by the ghosts of those who once lived there) However, even this was confined to the first two chapters. It's as if they just got fed up of doing it and cut it short.
Date published: 2012-08-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Short Game The game was very short. I think I finished in 3 hours. I finished the 1st chapter within my hour demo. There are only 3 chapters and chapter 3 is very short. The puzzles are easy and it is not to hard to figure out what to do next. The locations are not large, so if you are confused there is not much to get lost in. This might be a good game for beginners. I recommend purchasing on sale or with a free credit. Not really worth the full price since it is such a quick game.
Date published: 2012-03-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty Ordinary, Which Does NOT Mean Bad This game is good on most levels, it just isn't extraordinary on any. The graphics are good, bit grainy on my 21", but not enough to gripe about. The music is good, and the ambient sounds are very good. The storyline is okay, fairly familiar though. I was disappointed that we didn't get to see more of the bad guys, and the ending was somewhat anticlimactic. Some critics say it's too easy, but to me, it was nice to play a game where the puzzles were as easy as the HO. I do agree with the others that the game was too short. But it came neatly packaged in 3 chapters and didn't include any time wasters, such as repeating HO scenes. One thing I really did like about this game is the way they did the HO scenes so that they fit into an enclosed bordered area that was separate from the task/list/hint bar. Was nice to have clearly delineated search areas. Good game for a low key change from the real puzzlers, but nothing unique.
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for beginners While I'm no fan of puzzles spread over three levels, this game is far too obvious. The solutions to most puzzles are fairly clear and limited to the level they're on, which is good, but there aren't enough of them, they aren't complex enough and/or they don't interlock. This is a good beginner game but anyone with any experience will race through it.
Date published: 2011-11-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Short and bland Completely in agreement with Ptollemy. Not much worse than finding out you paid to play the last 10 minutes of a game. It's quite short, and rather bland as Hidden Object games go. There are far better.
Date published: 2011-11-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth the money. Whilst the story line is interesting I found the level of challenge way too easy. I was also really disappointed to find that after the 60 minute trial ran out and I paid for the full game, that there was only 10 minutes of game play left, so I feel a bit ripped off. There are a lot of excellent, more challenging games on this site. Sadly this is not one of them.
Date published: 2011-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Vampire HOG? First of all this is just a hidden object game Secondly it is Very Very Short The Ghosts in the game are kind of creepy Many look at you as they float by The game is much better played with sound on Creepy Whispering noise Oddly the game is actually about vampires But you never really see one
Date published: 2017-05-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from DEFINITELY NOT REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME There are Casual and Advanced modes of play and a diary. There are no voiceovers. The graphics are very dark and grainy and I had difficulty finding items that I needed. The music is orchestral. In the hidden object games I couldn't even make out what items were, so I had to resort using the hint, which I hate doing. The mini-games are standard and fairly easy to do. I didn't see anything new or remotely interesting. I spent about 3 hours playing the game, which I regret. Definitely trial before you buy. This game is not for everyone.
Date published: 2016-08-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I don't recommend wasting money on this game Game was too easy, finished it in 2 hours. Can't believe I wasted money on this game. This game is for first time gamers. Not advanced players.
Date published: 2012-06-09
  • y_2017, m_5, d_22, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_9764, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Shades of Death: Royal Blood

After your father dies, your sister Violet requests your help at the Family Castle. Get to the bottom of a dark mystery!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.