Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart Collector's Edition

Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(201.39 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Deep in the English countryside, Edwina Margrave has returned to the cottage where her parents died, eager to speak with the one person who might shed light on the tragedy – the volatile landlady, Miss Thorn. But her shocking revelations are not what Edwina expected! Enlist the aid of the spirit world and evade the wrath of a disfigured beast as you explore Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart, a heart-breaking Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • In-game Strategy Guide
  • Breathtaking artwork
  • Incredible puzzles

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 800 Mhz
  • RAM: 512 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 214 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(201.39 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart Collector's Edition is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 45.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the Best! Awesome! This game has EVERYTHING! Excellent graphics, music, voiceovers, cut scenes, story, hidden objects, puzzles, hint system, and bonus chapter! This game is the BEST! Brilliant, Engaging, and lots of Fun! I wish all the games I've purchased were as good as this one. Thank you developers and BFG!
Date published: 2012-09-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding! This game blew me away. The haunting song at the start got me immediately into the story -- wish the CE had included the sound track. I've never cared about music or screensavers but this was exceptionally good. There were so many surprises! Puzzles were very different, and I really enjoyed them. Animations and special effects were delightful. And despite the gory-sounding title, this was not at all gruesome. While I am not usually a fan of voice-overs or movie scenes, I liked them in this game. The HO scenes were a bit difficult for me, but once I caught on to how the objects were hidden, I did pretty well. It probably took me longer than necessary to finish the game, but that was because I often just sat and savored the scenes. Well done, game designers!
Date published: 2012-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best margrave game so far! This game has just the right amount of puzzles and HO's. Love the fact that the solution isn't always obvious - it keeps you thinking. IMO the overall game time is too short though, even when you play the expert mode that shoul keep you challenged for longer, the game time is no more than 2-3 hours all in all.
Date published: 2012-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from INCREDIBLE MUST BUY GAME .NO REGRET PURCHASE CE STYLE I AM TOTALLY SATISFIED WITH THIS INCREDIBLE GAME. TAKES YOU INTO THE GAME IN A DIFFERENT WAY, TO PLAY A LITTLE DIFFERENT STYLE OF GAME. VOICES ARE CHARMING AND INTRIGING, OLD ENGLISH DESIGN/GRAPHICS, ALL MATTER OF PLAY TOOLS WORK WITH GOOD RESPONSE. THE CURSOR IS RIGHT ON, NOT FLOATING AND IRRITATINGLY HARD TO MANUVER. I CANNOT POSSIBLY IMAGINE NOT HAVING PLAYED/OWNED THIS GAME. I LIKE THE CHANGE OF STYLE. I refrain from saying to much about the game play hints and tips, because this game is most interesting to enter into the play not knowing. I can say, there is not a long orientation or blasting sound sending goose bumps all over you. It is a logical, intriging, hmmmmm i wonder, beginning. This is, to me, a, " I wasn't sorry I purchased " game. More games like this would be good. I am not at the end yet so hoping it doesn't come to a screeching halt, Bamm!!, the end. I hate that! Leaves you hanging and rather insulting after such commitment to the playing. Everything to buy this game is a go!!!!
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very much its own thing I may have played casual games here for a year now, but I can't rightly judge what is easy or hard for other gamers, so here are my bare-bones for why I loved this game (playing on the easiest setting). The beautiful song on the title screen with the VW transporter (full song at that - if you watch the credits you get a link to the singer's website) really sets the tone for the beautifully weird feeling of the whole game, from the graphics to the music to the gameplay (creating those symbols with cards and shooting targets to turn various gears into the correct position I have not seen used before). The voice overs are lovely. It all sounded British enough for me, but I'm not a native Brit. The cutscenes have this weird - part photographic part drawn appearance that works really well - especially in the flashback scene to the youth of the heroine). And the places and things you interact with ... they remind me of ... I don't know... graphic artist Möbius' sense of the weird? The HOD part is fairly average, but the scenes that the HOD are set in can be fun. The game alone - the SE ending - is fully sufficient and happy end enough for this slightly melancholic story, but the bonus game gives you more of a sense of completion because the heroine deals with the original curse and its caster in a fitting way (wait for the amazing drawgate guardians). Kudos to the graphic artists and designers here, and the sound engineers who mixed up into an amazing brew. I'd buy another game in this vein right away.
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very enjoyable game took me few good hours to finish this game in hard mode. the story is lovely, so sad in the same time. you play as a girl who's going to find out how her parents died. you have a deck of cards with symbols that help you all the way through the game. i wont give any spoilers i'll let you enjoy it. the graphics are absolutely beautiful, the music is mellow so watch out cause it almost put me to sleep couple times. there's voice over all the time even for item decriptions but if it bothers you or you prefer to read you can turn it off from the options panel. i enjoyed the voice cause the girl had a sweet british accent when it comes about the difficulty of hog and puzzles this game can be pretty challenging. the hidden objects are very well blended, but not stupid hidden like in other games. the symbols were sometimes hard to match. i had to use the hint couple times on the hog since the developer took good care to hide them right in front of your eyes lol
Date published: 2012-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from hidden object game that keeps you guessing I lover this game, but wish that the game was less expensive
Date published: 2011-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! Very unique game with unique puzzles. Give this game a try and you won't be disappointed! Lovely graphics, interesting story and quite the gem.
Date published: 2011-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Now one of my favorites! This game really impressed me. Many of the current titles have great graphics and this one does too. But what sets it apart is a better story than most (which often pretty silly!), really creative and fun puzzles (some on the tough side) and absolutely awesome music. Kudos to the developers and looking forward to their next title.
Date published: 2011-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Entertaining A great game, good storylinefine bright grafic most off the time
Date published: 2011-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of My Current Top Ten Games If you have stumbled across this game, please give it a try. The graphics are glorious, the story is cool, and the puzzles are fun. In fact, this game has puzzles that I haven't seen in any other game: very creative and challenging. This is a sweetheart of a game.
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Margrave: The curse of the severed heart collectors edition Excellent game, music was appropriate and the puzzles challenging. Cannot wait for the sequel. Qbee
Date published: 2011-11-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hurray, more Margrave! While this story seems to antedate the events in Margrave: The Blacksmith's Daughter, the bonus material that came with the Collector's Edition definitely follows and concludes the storyline of The Blacksmith's Daughter -- a lovely, bittersweet ending. Like The Blacksmith's Daughter, the setting is wonderfully, creatively magical, filled with moments of marvel and revelation, heart-breaking sorrow, and a few of bizarre creepiness. The acting is, by and large, a great deal more realistic than is found in most games, with believable character reactions, which lends the storyline unexpected potency. The level of challenge is good, with creative and interesting (rather than annoying) mini-puzzles and a really good number of difficult hidden object puzzles. I also absolutely love the creative system of divination used in the game -- what a marvelous invention! (I'm half-tempted to make a set of dream cards for myself!) While I didn't care for the setting of this game nearly as much as I did that of Blacksmith's Daughter (it didn't possess the same lost, magical, halcyon beauty, and it was set at night, requiring me to turn up my screen brightness as far as it would go -- with some hidden object items STILL too dark to see), the scenes were quite interesting, with some items tying directly to the storyline of Blacksmith's Daughter (I enjoyed the sense of continuity). The music wasn't quite as hypnotic as in Blacksmith's Daughter (I'm trying to find a way to get the music from that game), but it definitely contributed positively to the ambience; the sound effects were also pleasing. I'm looking forward to more Margrave stories -- I can't wait to find out what happens to Edwina and Tom next! A technical note: while this game is stated to be compatible with OS 10.4 (Tiger, released 2005), which is why I didn't buy the game immediately after finishing Blacksmith's Daughter, I was delighted to find that this Collector's Edition works perfectly with OS 10.8 (Mountain Lion). Not usually the case -- pleasant surprise!
Date published: 2013-05-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting Interesting storyline...I had not played any of the other Margraves prior to this one, so certain things were unexpected. The graphics were good, stunning in parts. One drawback...the voices. Ugh! Edwina was fine, but some of the others were seriously lacking...actually took away from the enjoyability of the game. Once you get past those, fun game.
Date published: 2013-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Nice One This game is just as good as its sequel, a nice one to play away your Sunday. Good Parts: The use of the Dream Cards is excellent in this game, with you seeking animal's names in order to free them and let them return to the spirit world. I loved the storyline, especially the use of Shadowlocks, and the mystery of what actually happened to Ed's parents. I liked the Hidden Object Scenes, although they were a little harder than the sequel's. Great graphics as usual. Very clear and in some natures were realistic. Great voice-overs. Actors were very clever in the making of this game. The hint and skip recharged very fast. The strategy guide was very useful to me. OK Parts: They could have done a little more work on the cutscenes, cutting to a story rather than pictures and voices. This would have made the game a little more interesting. The intro could have been a little better. You actually HAVE to play the tutorial. Unlike most games, where you have the option, this game makes you play the tutorial. Bad Parts: I actually didn't like the puzzles. I skipped almost every one. The song at the beginning was a little annoying. Overall a fairly decent game which I wouldn't mind tackling if I had a weekend to spare. Try out the sequel; Margrave: The Blacksmith's Daughter.
Date published: 2012-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from entertaining, just misses being great this is a good HOG, minigames are on the easy side, the whole game is a decent length. As one who dislikes human actors in a game, I appreciate that the developers just used them as stills and I didn't have to suffer through "acting" scenes. Unfortunately the music is awful at times, like the beginning song and the caterwauling of the spirit animals. So nice that I could turn it off. Story continues the Margrave plot nicely, a little sappy. There are some neat elements like the shadowlocks that are a unique original touch. The bonus game is quite short and is a rough tie in to the next chapter. All in all it is worth the CE price.
Date published: 2012-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A little weird... This game was a little weird regarding the storyline. There was a scene with singing animals among other things. I did like playing the dream card puzzles and that ended up being the most difficult type of puzzle. The game did manage to keep my interest, but I finished it rather quickly. I played the casual mode because I like to enjoy the game. The hint charged really fast (about 10 seconds) and if clicked, it would give you and idea of what to do, which tended to come in handy at times. I can’t say if I would recommend it or not, but I do suggest you give it a try before buying.
Date published: 2012-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gorgeous artwork, lots of game play, a great buy :D GREAT game. I loved the artwork. I enjoyed the story. The puzzles were great. The extra game included with the CE was good too. There were a couple of the puzzles that could've used better explaining in figuring out how to get them figured out. A few tripped me up good, and had me going in circles [in a good way], trying to figure them out or where to go/what to do next. My biggest nitpick, the grammar/English of the story. I am guessing that English was not the first language of the game developer[s]. There were some language mistakes a few times, that had me scratching my head before I realized what they really meant. If the developer could afford the great art/graphics, why not someone to help with the language/grammer? I know, most people will not care or overlook it, I just find it a little off-putting and it messes with the flow of the story as it goes. There are a few parts in the story/scenery that are odd or creepy, but that is cool. There is also LOTS of parts in the scenery that are just gorgeous and had me wishing it was real, so I could visit. Either version will be a great buy, but if you can spare it, go ahead with the CE, the bonus gameplay chapter ties up the last bit of the story.
Date published: 2012-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Eerie but not too much! An eerie and entertaining experience overall. Good voiceovers, not extensive masses to read and a very nice story. Not too difficult. A bonus is the keepsake/inventory function that you toggle between. Keepsake is for your sketches and pieces of paper. Extremely easy to find the right sheet when you don't have to look through a whole book like in many HOGs!
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but may be old I tried the free trial, and enjoyed the storyline, had great interactions, lovely story that seemed to piece everything together. Nice on the level of challenge, however if you want to check the Guide when you're stuck it's not as visually aiding as most games of today and it's small on the screen (meaning you need an older smaller monitor/pc system) But I still enjoyed the game and story however I might wait for it to be cheaper. I will say that I recommend the game only for a cheaper value with today's quality
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sweet and atmospheric The first thing I noticed about this game was the mispronunciation of the word, "inventory." The actress has a British accent but I know these games are made in countries where English may not be spoken very well. I thought it was a bit confusing and humorous. About the game. It had a nice magical cottage and magical woods atmosphere to it. It was charming and had echos of 100 years ago. The spirits were malevolent. Colors and graphics are nice. I only played the trial so far but I would buy it.
Date published: 2012-05-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very entertaining and pleasant game. To help the protagonist to find out what happened to their parents, you enter into a great environment, with beautiful locations, good music and great graphics. Good story, several HOS, with good level of difficulty and brand new and entertaining mini games - challenging too. The only thing against is the excessive quantity of voice over! The game is long at least 3 or 4 hours of enjoyment. Worth the price !
Date published: 2012-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everything becomes more clear -- maybe. It doesn't really matter… Good game, pleasant to play. Nothing excruciating at all about the adventure or puzzles. Somewhat linear, but not a complete walk in the park. Other than the SG, which you will not need, the only extra is the bonus chapter. The artwork is quite stunning and detailed, the music fits the story, it is wide screen and voice acted, the bonus chapter was not an after thought, It is an epilogue coming 2 years after the first story -- it does clean up loose ends a bit. Now, as for the story, pretty much total fantasy. That's fine, I don't mind that. In this case perhaps the writers were smoking what was popular when people were driving the VW Bus that goes across the opening screen. Far out, man.
Date published: 2012-01-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from For the younger crowd Tried the game but didn't get far, as it was much too young for me. I believe if you are in your pre-teens it would be a fun game for you.
Date published: 2015-02-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart CE Edwina Margrave has returned to the cottage that claimed her fathers life when she was six years old, to find answers about his untimely death. She hopes that the landlady, Miss Thorn will be able to shed some light upon his death, instead she insists that Edwina disable the five Shadow Locks that are surrounding the village. The Shadow Locks were constructed with black magic and prevent souls from moving on, including animals. The game itself isn't all that bad, but I absolutely hated the intro music that sounded like Hippie music of the 60's and 70's, and Edwina's constant narration annoyed me, not to mention the awful voices of the ghostly animals. The graphics aren't bad, in fact at times they are really good, but there is very little to do in each scene with the exception of collecting a random tool or an occasional mini game. You will toggle between the inventory list and the keepsake list which is similar to a journal, holding clues, observations and sketches that Edwina draws when she thinks something has meaning. The Hidden Object Scenes are list finds with no interactions, but I must admit that some of the items were so well hidden that I had to use the hint button on more than one occasion. Most of the mini games are in the form of Dream Cards to determine the names of the dearly departed. You must choose which dream cards to use in order to recreate the symbols shown at the top, each card has half of a symbol, therefore when two cards are placed side by side, they will complete a symbol, but not necessarily the correct symbol. The Dream Cards became increasingly more difficult until they were sheer frustration and certainly not fun. I understand this is an older game, but the Collectors Edition only has a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter: The Blacksmith's Revenge. In my opinion the Standard Edition is the better value, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from good game the other one is better This one is ok. To much talking. At least it did have voice over but a little to much. The HOS were very hard because of the dull screen and small objects to find. The puzzles were ok. Lots going on and have to go from one area to another just to not find things needed. Have 2 sets of item board which was a little confusing to me. The other newer game is a lit better.
Date published: 2013-02-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Simply OK I thought this game was simply OK. The graphics weren't as crisp as other games I've played recently, and the storyline was lacking. The bonus game play was very short, almost like it was an after thought. The HOS were numerous and a bit challenging (I like mini games more than HOS so take it for what it's worth). The mini games were not complicated except for several that were the same premise, but changed; for example same game each time, but different shapes had to be formed...kind of hard to explain. Not sure I would recommend this game or not. I only completed it so I could say I completed it.
Date published: 2012-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I expected The game started w/ great potential but went downhill quick imo. Storyline was bland and wasn't fun to explore. The upside was the HO areas, which were done great...not tiny objects but well blended into place making it a challenge. Overall all, game was short (about 3 hrs for me), puzzles were boring and I wasn't thrilled w/ the card game. I wouldn't recommend at full price but perhaps a DD.
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Margrave search of the severd heart You need to provide maps with your games - took to long trying to remember how to get to locations. Your hidden objects were way too small to see and am sure if you didn't see one only the 'hint' popped it up. I have played dozen of hidden object games and I enjoyed your sorry line only.
Date published: 2012-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from random This is the fourth game I bought from Big FIsh and the first one to disappoint me somewhat. It's a pretty sappy story with very little attempt at logic or realism. Nothing against fantasy or fairy tales, other games I have enjoyed are the Awakening series and Love Chronicles: The Sword and the Rose. However this one was pretty random, too many hidden object scenes that you had to return to many times with no real hint as to why which just got a bit laborious. The voice acting is OTT and not really that great to be honest. For me not really a winner :(
Date published: 2012-07-30
  • y_2017, m_5, d_25, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_45
  • loc_en_US, sid_9574, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Margrave: The Curse of the Severed Heart Collector's Edition

Investigating her parents’ deaths, Edwina rekindles a centuries old tale of love and revenge. End the curse of the severed heart!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.