Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(320.16 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

After leaving something in your car, a hitchhiker vanishes! Track her down and return her things in Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker! Explore a spooky landscape as you figure out where the mysterious woman has gone in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game. Dive into a deeper mystery as you progress through incredible locations and scenes!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won’t find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector’s Edition includes:

  • Bonus gameplay
  • Built-in Strategy Guide
  • Wonderful Wallpaper
  • Concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 339 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(320.16 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game and not that hard Good game. Not too much running around to find clues.I was a little concerned that not enough light for the HO but finally noticed I could use the flash lite. Worth buying. Not a hard game at all. Just a fun game.
Date published: 2012-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect spooky mystery HO This game is currently standing as my all time favorite from Bigfish, and has been for awhile! It's spooky, intriguing, not too challenging and not too easy, and unlike some other games I've played, it doesn't lose focus of the story line just for the sake of extra puzzles and game length. I played this the first time in the dark, after the kids went to bed, and a few scenes actually made me jump! Love this game! Highly recommended!
Date published: 2012-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Atmospheric, creepy, and totally worth it! Being a big fan of creepy graphic adventure games (and survival horror in general), Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker was everything I could have hoped for in an IHOG and more. From the graphics and sound to creepy story, everything about VH screams quality. The game oozes atmosphere, one of the most important things I look for in adventure titles. Toss in plenty of inspiration from horror classics such as Silent Hill and Fatal Frame, and I pretty much couldn't have asked for more. My playthrough took about 10 hours (both main game and bonus chapter). I played on Advanced with minimal hint usage having consulted the strategy guild only twice. I generally take my time and try to stay away from the Hint button unless I'm completely stuck; this not only helps immerse me in the game world, but stretches out the playtime giving me more bang for my buck. Pros - Realistic graphics that are a bit grainy and dirty help enhance the atmosphere and adds to the overall creepiness of the game - Sound design is awesome with effects/music clearly inspired by the Silent Hill series - HOS's are not overly difficult with items that make sense to the locations - Quite long with plenty of areas to explore - Interesting storyline that keeps you engaged Cons - Some sparkles on Advanced mode - Only a handful of puzzles, all of which are fairly easy - Intro movie and cut scenes play as you load up the game, which can be annoying - No soundtrack with CE (c'mon guys, we NEED a soundtrack for your awesome music) CE/SE comparison One of my biggest gripes is when devs cut off the last chapter in the SE requiring you to pickup the CE to get a satisfying conclusion to the story. That is not the case here. Despite the main game ending with a cliffhanger, it wraps up the main plot sufficiently and I feel stands up well on its own. While the bonus chapter picks up from the cliffhanger and expands upon the backstory of the characters, I don't think it's required to fully enjoy the main game. Those on a budget should feel safe picking up the SE (unless you absolutely cannot handle not knowing what happens to the main character afterwards). Having said that, the bonus chapter is very good and I feel worth the price of the CE alone. Although adding only another couple hours of gameplay (probably 45 min-1hr on casual using hints), it's the same high quality of the main game although a bit more difficult overall (a positive in my book). The rest of the bonus materials are just gravy to me, though again, I'm pretty disappointed they didn't include the soundtrack. Bottom Line - Awesomely atmospheric game that's a bit easier than I prefer, but totally worth the trip.
Date published: 2012-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great game this was an excellent gaming experience. when i got the game i didn't think it would be so creepy. the story got me from the start. unlike other games i played this actually made me jump few times, which is pretty hard to achieve even for a horror movie. the thing with the camera is taken from other game so not original. it has voice over, very nice cut scenes and the music didnt bother me at all. the only thing i found a little bit frustrating was that the hog and puzzles were way too easy. it's an overall relaxing game until some creepy ghost jumps in the screen suddenly and makes you spill your coffee
Date published: 2012-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally creepy... Ok, before I don't know that vanishing hitchhiker is an urban legend, but after playing this game, I did more research and it is a legend. This game is fantastic, to sum up. The atmosphere is creepy, you can feel ghosts lurking on the corner of the house, the church, the hospital, basically all the places in this game. I bought this CE after buying the SE, loved it and decided to see what's going on after the SE is finished. I am happy that I did, and hope you'll like this game as much as I do.
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love everything Shiver! I actually played Poltergeist before the Vanishing Hitchhiker and I all I can say is that I love this developer. The suspenseful storyline kept me hooked from start to finish and the graphics and overall production was beautifully rendered. I can not wait to see what they come up with next but whatever it is all I can say is... I'm there!
Date published: 2012-05-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another game that rocks! Once again there was nothing about the game that i didnt like. Like the other Shiver game: Poltergeist, the story was consistent all the way through, the HOS were not too cluttered and the hint system is good when not sure what to do next. Although not scary there are a couple of instances that could make you jump. All in all it is well worth the purchase.
Date published: 2012-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great This is a great game! Actually I read other reviews at first then hesitated for a while because a lot reviews said that this game was short - to me, it is not (and I played the casual mode)! Not too many hidden object scenes, just enough to keep you interested. Also, the game displayed quite a lot new factors to me. Story was fun, and I liked how the scenes were designed. I got lost at some points, the hints were useful though. It was also a bit weird (in a good way) and I was shocked once in the bonus gameplay. All in all, a great and enjoyable game!
Date published: 2012-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Shiver" you WILL !!! What an excellent HOGGER !!Grab your magnifying glass for this one !! You MUST be on your hoggers' best to tackle this awesome game !!! Ok,so,where's the SEQUEL ?????C'mon BFG !!!
Date published: 2012-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My type of game I did enjoy it, especially visually. I like its creepy, desolate locations of a ruined town, covered in fog and rust. Actually I'd say the locations were the closest thing to Silent Hill games I managed to encounter so far in Point and Click Games. (Visually it is like a Silent Hill wanna-be ;)). I mean it in a good sense, I love Silent Hill series and this game has similar mood. Also I like the quality of backgrounds because they look more like a movie, then cartoon, if you get my meaning. The plot isn't bad, the could have been better, could have been worse. I disliked the voice of our character, and the intro and the vanishing hitchhiker theme, which to me seemed too much of a cliché of American urban legend. But I still give 5 stars. Because all the cut-scenes can be skipped and are not essential to play, for me they just spoiled the mood. I like the sounds and the music, as they reinforce the mood nicely. Puzzles are not really challenging and there are not many of them anyway. Challenging is the adventure side of it, to find interactive objects and what to do with them. Some of them are not well indicated. I liked the idea of having a camera and taking photos, some interactive objects are revealed only when you take a photo of them. It is definitely one of my new favorites!
Date published: 2012-02-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game I enjoyed it, didn't find it overly spooky and I played in the dark with the lights off~! Was glad for the walk through as I was stumped at times and couldn't figure out what to do next. I recommend this highly because the guide was through enough to me to make sense.
Date published: 2012-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it Very interesting and exciting.
Date published: 2012-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First-Rate Game ! The story of the beginning already invites you to play. Superb quality images in addition to being highly interesting, and romantic too !! After all, who does not want to find someone special "lost" in the past ...? - Very nice sound - Excellent characters (real people) - Amazing Atmosphere - Lots of HOS - Many locations with plenty of activities to do - Lots of games - Pretty good level of challenging
Date published: 2012-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Creepy, scary and brilliant! If you have sworn off buying CE’s because they are not worth it or the bonus chapter does not contribute to the main story or the bonus chapter is just a bunch of hidden object scenes hobbled together ---this game is not one of them. In this game the bonus chapter continues on where the main story left off and is integral for a satisfactory ending. This game has it all, in spades. It is scary, creepy, and mysterious, it is fun and it grabs you and drags you along and leaves you breathless with dread and shivering with anticipation. There is nothing like a good tale about first love, death and otherworldly forces to get your imagination spinning, and Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker is chocked full of them, The Graphics are beautiful with a style befitting the storyline of this game, a kind of burnt-out washed-out urban decay, not for some I know. However it is also beautiful, with a clean visual design and the right amount of richness in the colour palette. It makes you think you are in a place where all the joy has been sucked clean out of it and you want to run away immediately but the creepy vibe has wrapped its gnarly fingers around your soul and will not let you go. This game has the best sounding, visual appealing and scariest rainfall/thunder and lightning scenes I have ever encountered…truly spectacular. The Music (please don’t turn off or down) is very atmospheric and keeps you immersed in the environment. The Dev’s did not skint on the selections and it’s obvious that thought and care went into almost every note and it enhances the scenes at every turn. At one point we are serenaded with Mozart's Requiem Mass in D minor- Lacrimosa …devine. Game play has a lot more adventure than many iHOG games and it is logical and easy to follow. You never lose the plot of the storyline. The Dev’s obviously thought a lot about navigation and planning when designing this game and it shows. There is no heavy backtracking or wandering around aimlessly as inventory items are used fairly quickly. You would think this would make the game less interesting but it just kept getting better and better as it picked up speed. Driving the boat down the river is the most fun I’ve ever had in a game. This game never stops with the surprises and shocks. The HO scenes were well done with appropriate items in the scenes. Graphics made them enjoyable to play. I remember when I first demoed the game. I was put off by the blurriness of the first hidden object scene that I came across. It was only later when the other hidden object scenes seems to be wonderfully vivid that I figured out what the Dev’s had done. The first scene was in the burnt out house, there was remnants of smoke and smoldering fire everywhere and the hidden object scene reflected that..sublime. In one of the hidden object scenarios, smoke hovered over the scene, and then there was a sliver of light coming from a tiny hole in the wall, you could see the dust motes in the air mingling with the smoke as it hovered over the scene and it took my breath away. Be forewarned if bright flashes of light triggers headaches or dizziness this game has it in abundance so you might not want to play at all. Overall This game is exceptionally well made in virtually every aspect and wonderfully scary with the right amount of suspense to keep you interested to the end. It is highly recommended and I’ll rate it 5 stars out of 5.
Date published: 2012-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You must get this game! This game was fantastic! As a fairly experienced and long-time fan of HOGs, this is a must-play. I have to admit, after playing the demo, I wasn't sure I would enjoy this over-the-top creepy game. However, I'm so glad I played it and finished it. Everything about this game was fantastic. The story, although sort of cliche, compliments the horror genre well. It's kind of a love-letter to some of the best horror stories, I think. However, it's weaved it's own originality throughout, and I was hooked. The title is perfect - cold and creepy! I wish someone would make a movie this good. From the atmosphere and graphics, soundtrack and effects, to the challenging game play, I was transfixed the entire time. I was glued to my screen! Also, and I can't emphasize this enough - the collector's edition is TOTALLY worth it! The bonus, to me, was a very generous additional chapter of game play, having been disappointed several times with other collector's editions. The developers of Shiver have done everything right I think. They've produced a massive game with enough challenge to keep things interesting and created an atmosphere you won't soon forget. It's not a game for the faint of heart though, but for those of us who like the haunted genre, I promise you, you'll enjoy this game.
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shiver:Vanishing Hitchiker Coll Ed. I loved this game. The theme tune is actually belonging to Tomb Raider Underworld, so for all you Lara fans...The characters look real, the story interesting and scenes were clear and hidd obj scenes were organized. This is a game I'd play across the platforms. A game similar to this is Voodoo Whisperer curse of a legend.
Date published: 2011-11-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The hitchhiker vanished but didn't This game caught my attention from the beginning. He (finally, a male lead) picks up a girl hitchhiker and takes her to her town where he drops her off. However, she forgot her Teddy Bear and he goes back only to find out she has vanished and thus his quest begins. Everything in this game, although tedious and time consuming at times, brings everything else together. The graphics are dark and on the average side but there is good detail. HO's are fun but, as another reviewer noted, there need to be some puzzles and mini games thrown in for change and drama. And, as was also noted, the hint button needs faster recharge speed. Overall, I enjoyed the demo and would like to play the complete game. Going to play the SE version too just for comparison purposes. This is a recommendation game and will go on my future buy list. Play the demo and see for yourself. Have fun!
Date published: 2017-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game I fairly enjoyed the game. Creepy in most scenes. Graphics were excellent. HOS were pretty easy. Puzzles were also pretty easy to me. One downfall was there was no map. Going back and forth majority of the time became tedious after a while. Hint button refills pretty quickly. The skip button takes maybe 1-2 minutes to fill, but luckily the puzzles were easy enough to where I didnt need the skip button. I didnt really use the journal. It seemed more useless. The bonus play was good too. Good length.
Date published: 2013-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great story! My favorite game genre ever is Survival Horror. Of course this game does not qualify as that, but the atmosphere is very similar! Love that! I found the level of difficulty medium, but you can choose your level if you want which is nice. There is not too much backtracking but there is some. I did find most puzzles had some logic to them. The HOS were not all that clear on my laptop and I had to expand the screen to non-widescreen to find all the objects sometimes. I liked the storyline very much! I definitely recommend the CE because of the extra chapter. Nice game length too. A few moments really gave me the creeps (in a good way)! Enjoy!
Date published: 2012-10-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent! Great storyline,graphics are crisp and clear,puzzles and mini games are straight forward.The game isn't tedious because there's not much of backtracking.This is something that you can enjoy at your own pace. Love it!
Date published: 2012-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The hitchhiker urban legend You pick up a lovely young hitchhiker only to find she leaves something behind in your car. So you turn around to return it. And so the story begins... This game has beautiful graphics, dark and gloomy, yet the scenes are all very crisp. The cutscenes and voice overs are really good. And the music is wonderful, not overpowering or "I have to turn it off before I go mad". The HOs are junkpiles with some interaction, but they are crisp and clear. Very easy on the eyes. There are very few puzzles relatively speaking, and they are fairly simple. I would have enjoyed a few more with a bit more challenge. There are also 2 modes of play, but either could probably be played by any level of player. This game actually feels more like an adventure than an HO to me. The atmosphere of the game is what really makes it great. The rain, thunder and lighting really add to it. There are great flashes of white light, and even a few spots that will give you shivers. The overall length was about average for me. The game is not overly challenging but does make for a satisfying game play. The bonus chapter definitely gives the game a satisfactory ending.
Date published: 2012-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Play alone, at night, in the dark at your own risk I thought this game was good, story and game play held my interest. Expect some jump out of your skin moments There was not a lot of needless back tracking and the main game had good length of play time. My one major negative comment -- too much H0G / too few puzzles. It was also a bit too easy for my tastes, but you do still have to pay attention. The bonus chapter added to the story, gave it a more conclusive ending. and added at least an extra hour of game play. As for that, I really felt a bit more challenged by the task(s). No, never used the Strategy Guide (called walk through in this game), but I was tempted. What stumped me momentarily, IMHO, was pretty clever.
Date published: 2012-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creepy, but not that much A very interesting somber adventure into a ghostly world that is well designed and crafted with talent. Very good intro, very good music, a very good voice-over with an equally good narrative and an excellent artwork. The storyline is interesting enough to make you want to complete the investigation. There is no special difficulty, each HOS being neat in spite of the overall surrounding darkness, and every action pretty straightforward. Looking for items with a flashlight is good fun. Minigames don't come up often and all are simple, but there is a lot of things to do. Due to its simplicity my estimation of the gamelength turns around 6 to 7 hours for the CE, which is a bit short in respect to the extra expense. Obviously the SE will be shorter since it comprises only 5 chapters instead of 6.
Date published: 2011-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What I've looked for. First off, if you want to buy this game than get the CE, the bonus adds onto the game. Parts of the games creeped me out a bit and I liked the style of the gameplay. I just found it quite enjoyable on many levels. I didn't find it too challenging though. It was decent length to those who like longer games.
Date published: 2011-12-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from "boring hidden object game!" I liked the music in the game but the overall play of the gamer was poor at best it just wasn't challenging enough. and there wasn't much to the story plot and there were no puzzles to solve.
Date published: 2011-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Creepy! I enjoyed this game. I bought the CE version, but found a few inconsistencies with both the blog walkthrough and the strategy guide. In some places in both the walkthrough and the guide the instructions were wrong, i.e. they said "go down two and turn left" and it ended up being "go down two and turn right", or "go down two" when it was actually "go down three". There were also some clues that could have been clearer. One clue was "cone", and it was actually a PINE CONE you were looking for. Also, many of the HOG scenes were very gloomy and dark and it was hard to find the items, not to mention that some of the items didn't look like the clue was describing. I ended up using a lot of hints because of this. All in all, it's a great game. I'll just have to play it a dozen more times to figure out what I'm supposed to be doing. LOL
Date published: 2014-07-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A 3 1/2 Star. BUY THE STANDARD EDITION! This was an OK game--in fact, it had a lot of potential. Some parts were quite scary, making this game one of scariest I have played (after True Fear and Dire Grove). The first half was the most fun and interesting, then it started to get kind of slow. Plot points aren't quite explained in the end (And I bought the collector's edition, which was a COMPLETE waste of money as the "bonus" chapter provided no extra closure AND made me scoff derisively at how silly and useless the extra chapter is to the game and the story#. There are a lot of HOS and very few puzzles. The puzzles are very easy. The graphics are good and the music choices are excellent, but there is a lot of reading as #apparently# the only way people in this "unceremoniously small town" can communicate with each is through short, handwritten notes #I mean, come on, are small towns meant to BE ceremonious?) I think if I had stuck to the regular game and not wasted money on the CE, I would have given this game that last half a star as I did enjoy it for the most part--but seriously, the extra chapter is a joke. DO NOT waste the extra money because it will ruin the rest of the experience for you. I know you will probably go ahead and do it anyway...So remember that I WARNED YOU!
Date published: 2014-07-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A mediocre game I found little in this game that was original or inventive. It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t good. Like many HO/Strategy games, it over-relies on hidden object scenes. The time spent on the island seemed especially bad about this, but it was throughout the game. Also, often times you are picking up items without any idea of why you want them or how you'll use them. This is common but it makes it feel like I’m just going through the paces instead of actually figuring out a mystery. There was very little thinking or problem solving in this game. It does offer an ‘advanced' skill level of play, which I appreciated, but it still used sparkles to indicate locations where there was something to do. That annoys me; I don’t want that help and wish I could stop it. I did not look at the strategy guide so I have no comment on that. On the good side, it was a lot of game play. On the down side, it wasn’t very interesting and I found the overall tone creepy and depressing. I gave it three stars because everything functioned correctly, there weren’t any gross errors and some of the graphics were quite well done. It might be a good game for newer players.
Date published: 2013-09-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good except....... Can't get past motor on island. I have the bolts and wrench, but doesn't work. Noticed someone else has same problem. Also, would be helpful if items in inventory were labeled, at least when tapped. And finally, as someone else mentioned, annoying when using Guide to have to flip through to last place. I'll contact Support for help with motor glitch.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from vanishing its a good game so far, but i am having problems getting any further than the boat. i've tried everything to get the radio working on the boat, but it not working. please advise
Date published: 2013-03-14
  • y_2017, m_7, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_9844, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker Collector's Edition

After leaving something in your car, a hitchhiker vanishes! Track her down and return her things in Shiver: Vanishing Hitchhiker!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.