The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen

The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen

PC

Also available on

Puzzle

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(304.92 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

The Heart of the Kingdom has been destroyed and now it’s up to Munchausen to save the day in The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen! With the light and prosperity of his kingdom gone, the king has no choice but to marry his daughter to an unknown stranger in exchange for a huge sum of money. Sensing the stranger’s evil, she writes to Munchausen who must now stop the wedding in The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Vista/Win7/8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 373 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(304.92 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 231.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnificent!! I LOVED this game. Great puzzles and totally different from any other HOG I have played. MORE like this please BFG. It was one of the few games I would play again and again.
Date published: 2012-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Short but sweet This is a very tongue in cheek game. There is a hidden object aspect but the main aspect is the problem solving. How to use the objects that you've collected to make things happen in the game world. It makes it easy by making sure that you get hints when you click on objects so you're never stuck. I really wish that this game was longer however. The real unique game play was the association scenes. You are given a list of items and must associate them with items in the scene eg. Dog/Collar. Very fun.
Date published: 2012-05-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BRILLIANT INTERESTING AND QUIRKY GAME First of all, when there were hidden objects to find, the objects were in pieces, which I LOVE. It's so much more difficult to find brilliantly hidden bits of things instead of...yawn...teddy bears and compasses. There are several action sequences in Munchausen which are very appealing and not exactly easy, either!! Something different - well done to game developers. Let's have another Munchausen...but LONGER this time.
Date published: 2012-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Short but fun Hidden object scenes are just about right - objects are hidden without being completely invisible. Mini games are terrific - there are some here I've never seen elsewhere. Overall, the only problem with the game is that it's pretty short - couple of hours of gameplay at the most. That said, I think I'd enjoy playing it again although, because of how the mini games work, once you know how some of them are done, there's not much to solve. You put THIS, there and THAT here and then you're done. The hint button is somewhat helpful outside of the HO scene but it really does give a hint ("You need to create a distraction.") That may not be enough (it wasn't for me in that spot - I already knew I needed to create a distraction, I was having trouble with the how part.
Date published: 2012-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from At last a fun game ! Yeah ! a game without ghosts,zombies or mad royalty. Puzzles that are intriguing, enjoyable , fun and with unexpected results. Illustrations are colourful comic book style and there is a creative story line somewhere in the middle of the chaos.. The downside is that it is too short but you cannot have everything. I loved it.
Date published: 2012-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fun I know I'll play this one again. It was great fun, the games were unusual and I had a blast. Sometimes I'd get stuck and the hint didn't help so I had to put my thinking cap on.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this game! What a fun game! I was hooked from the moment I started playing. It has a very cute and lighthearted storyline. There are several creative minigames which I absolutely loved. I agree with the statement that we need more of this kind of game. I hope the creators come out with a sequel or at least something similar.
Date published: 2012-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun & Funny Fairytale Game Based on the demo, but I'm buying as soon as I get paid. This game is a lot of fun, and has different kinds of puzzles. The graphics and audio are both very good. Munchausen's comments are snarky and funny. There are scenes where you can do something, then hit the "Play" button to see if it would work out the way you want it to. If you don't like the results shown by the play button, you can try something else. There is no map, and the hint button mostly helps for HOS scenes. But it's not a difficult game.
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The surprising adventures of Munchausen A wonderful game, full of fun and adventure. A bit challenging in certain places, but you can get through if you think a little. I found this game to be very light and a great change of pace from other ones. have fun and enjoy.
Date published: 2012-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very unusual - but fun! This is my first review but I felt compelled to give one because I thought a lot of people would pass this up because of the way it looks. It's cartoonish, but it's not childish. It has some fun puzzles and challenging hidden objects. Not like most HOG's. You must find items from scene to scene. I'm having trouble with them which I like. It's definitely unique and worth giving it a try if you're looking for something a bit different from the usual hidden object games.
Date published: 2012-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable Lighthearted, fun and quite innovative. Loved the voice-over. Enjoyable mini-games. I did not want this game to end but it did, quite abruptly. If there is a sequel I would hope for it to be much longer.
Date published: 2012-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Surprising Adventure! This is a delightful little game, just right for an evening of entertainment. The graphics are fresh and bright and look like they were taken from a child's story book. Make sure you click on speaking characters several times to hear all their funny lines. The voice of Munchausen is especially upbeat and completely in character. I loved the object association puzzles. Putting together all the elements to complete a scene takes a bit of thinking but the results are so cute and clever. This adventure may be short, but it is very, very sweet!
Date published: 2012-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ***ONE IN A MILLION*** This has got to be a Game of the Year nominee for this year. This game is so different, challenging and fun. I just love it. It has a cute storyline, great graphics and a completely different type of hidden object feel. Thank you game developers for creating something different for us and something I can play with my grandkids and not have to explain about 'dark' things to them. If you're tired of the same old hidden object games then this is for you. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.
Date published: 2012-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Disappointing length of game I really like this type of animation. A very pleasant change from the darker games. Loved the graphics and was really into the game. Yes, the tavern part was a challenge. I would purchase more like it. Imagine my extreme surprise and disappointment when that was the end of the game. I practically had it completed within the l hr trial time. Felt this was a disservice to your members as it was not worth the $6.99 charge. Those who purchased it should get a refund or at least a free credit.
Date published: 2012-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different type of fun game This game was tons of fun, but the demo finished in 1/2 hour. There are volume controls for music, voice & sound effects. There is the choice of full screen, wide screen support, custom cursor and tutorials. Games modes of casual or expert. There is a journal with a help section. The graphics are excellent and the voice overs are not annoying. However, there is a bit too much "talking" in our opinion. Very different ways to find objects needed to advance in the adventure. There are objects associations. One side of the screen has pictures of objects. You select one of those and on the other side of the screen you select the object that would be associated with it. There were some mini games and a find the difference scene. Getting the character out of the tree was a hoot and lots of fun! We have this on our list, but feel the game may be quite short based on the demo being done in half an hour.
Date published: 2012-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A different kind of game Although I didn't think much of the storyline, I did get a lot of fun out of this game, and enjoyed every single minute of play. Especially, I liked the end-of-chapter games where you have to solve a problem for Munchhausen, and get to think outside the box to your heart's content. I loved it, maybe not for serious gamers, but for someone just looking for some fun, I would recommend it.
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved it! It's a bit too short but I loved everything about it!
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a FUN game and held interest great puzzles I did purchase this game and worked on it till done. It was fun to play and a fun story to follow. Did take some thinking which to me is a great thing. Items were hidden well and in some cases right in front of you while you are looking all over for them. They did a great job with this one and it is worth the time and money. Played the trial and then purchased it. Good story and nice way to spend a few hours.
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from play trial first, fun but short! I say no on recommending this game only because it should've been way longer! It was very enjoyable to play but I won't purchase it just to finish the last chapter. It could've been extended much much further. This was different from most HO games which was refreshing. Voiceovers were fun & the colors & graphics were cartoony but still fun to play. I would've bought the game if I hadn't nearly finished the whole thing in the trial, which ended when I started the final chapter. Nice change of pace but just wish it would've been longer.
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was fun!!! At first, I wasn't sure if this would be what I'd hoped, but it ended up being more. The storyline is pretty standard...save the princess from evil. But, the characters are likeable. And with the voiceovers, they really gain personality. The graphics are cartoonish, but fun & bright & easy on the eyes. The gameplay was nice, if not a little easy, and it was very easy to navigate between scenes. There is a list of items to find on the right side of the screen, and once they are found, they are put in the inventory on the bottom of the screen. There were quite a few 'hot spots' to find, which I tend to like. And even though you had to go to different areas of the game to find your items, it wasn't frustrating or overly time consuming. The Mini-Games are fun & different from the usual, which is nice for a change. Not impossible to solve, but not crazy easy. The HO areas are clean, easy to navigate, and not like other HO area. Here, you have to match items to their counterparts, which I quite enjoy. The Music is soothing and easy to listen to. My only concern is that the Trial was over in 25 mins, and that's with leaving to go to the kitchen for a snack. Which makes me wonder..is the game that short? All in all, it was quite enjoyable, and I'd highly recommend for gamers to take it for a trial run. I just wonder.....will Munchausen be able to save the Princess in time??????? ;)
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful!!!!!! This game was quite a surprise. I really enjoyed the story and all the characters. The puzzles at the end of each chapter was such a nice change. Anybody would enjoy this game.
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jorja002 This game is full of entertainment. Has new approach to the hidden object game.
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic!!! What more can I say that hasn't already been said??? This is what game's should be like. Fun, challenging, very cute storyline, fantastic visuals, funny and most enjoyable! I for one have become so sick of the horror "games" which became boring and the same old same. This game is of a light nature and made me want to play for hours and hours. Unfortunately the game is too short but hear ye developers, Please make more games like this and make them longer. Thank you for entertaining me :-)
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a Fun Game I had no idea what was in store for me when I downloaded this game, only knew I didn't play the type that this game looked like ha. I am so glad I gave it a shot, the whole time of the demo,(which is short) I kept saying," this is so cute". I loved the 3- D kind of flow the developers gave to this game, and I laughed when the little guy came charging across the screen on his trusty steed heading for the castle to save the Princess. I loved the interaction, the graphics, sound quality, and choice of options, But I wasn't crazy about the music, I just turned it down, not a problem for me. However, the name given to our little hero kind of bothered me a bit. He didn't happen to have the name Baron in front of it did he ? This game is so different, and so CUTE I'm going to use a game credit to buy it. I gotta see what happens when he meets the king.
Date published: 2012-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome Found this to be fun and different from the other adventure games, although I enjoy those too..Good Work
Date published: 2012-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much needed originality & fun in game- but shame on developers for game length I gave 5 stars for the game play alone, because I would like to encourage other developers from making light, fun, whimsical games like this one. I think that the gameplay is in line with the fantastic & amazing Munchausen adventsures in the 1988 movie. I liked Munchausen's voiceover when using items (and wrongly using items), the morphing of buildings & scenery from one scene to the next, and the original puzzles. This is not a traditional HO. There are "association" puzzles where you match an item to something that is somehow associated with that object. There are also "motion" puzzles where you have to determine which items in your inventory to place where in order for a mouse-trap/domino type effect to create your end goal. It's original and fun! However, everyone's right... this game isn't just a little short, it's shamefully short! Come on, Joy Bits.... spend a little more money for more game time, and you'll find that more people will purchase your game and not just play the demo. If Joy Bits doesn't listen, I sure hope other developers do. Please please please... invest in more games like this one and not the same ol' dark-supernatural-ghost-save your sister/child-stuff that's been done to death.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic game with a sense of humor I love it! What I really like is when the character says something different several times and the hints really work. Oh please hurry and give us another game like this ASAP Game developer. The graphics are lush,colorful, and large size. The voices are perfectly done. No puzzles are the same and the puzzles are a hoot to boot there was only one I got stuck on in the bar and I knew what to do but forgot the simpliest thing. I laughed so hard at that puzzle. This game I would give 10 stars if I could. If you like games to make you laugh this is it.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love anything to do with Baron Munchausen During the game when making mistakes the Baron can become a bit demanding and this is a little annoying but anyone familiar with Baron Munchausen, It is not far off of his portrayed personality. It shows much of what the Baron would talk about in his long winded tales. In this game you need to think outside the box a bit. This game is very different and a lot of fun. Highly Recommended!
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent fun I loved this game for the graphics, quirky main character and the different things to do from the usual games. This game was fun and made you think in order to work things out. The very different mini games kept attention and the only thing wrong - it is way too short. I bought the game and played it through 4 times and enjoyed that but the games were the same - perhaps should have had random and different objects in some areas. A nice, fun game with challenges.
Date published: 2012-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sold after 5 minutes of play this is a refreshing game with beautiful graphics, sound, and rolling scenes. the story is cute and sweet. no skip on the puzzles but if you give it a chance, it is really rewarding. must have this year. enjoy!
Date published: 2012-02-22
  • y_2017, m_8, d_12, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_231
  • loc_en_US, sid_13710, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Surprising Adventures of Munchausen

The Heart of the Kingdom has been destroyed and now it’s up to Munchausen to save the day in this fun Hidden Object game!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.