Obscure Legends: Curse of the Ring
Exclusive

Obscure Legends: Curse of the Ring

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(245.61 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

You lost everything in that storm: your ship, your crew, even your freedom. Now you've washed up on a tropical island that's cursed by a magic ring which forces its bearer to lash out in anger and control others. Can you release the kind captain from its spell to free everyone on the island, or will this be your new eternal home? The captain's crew is more than happy to help, but it won't be easy to destroy this ring, especially not with the artifacts on the island amplifying its power. Use your wits and scour the island to uncover the ring's secrets and destroy it once and for all in Obscure Legends: Curse of the Ring, a daring Hidden-Object Puzzle Adventure game.

  • Make friends with a scarlet macaw
  • Befriend Langley's loyal crew
  • Solve puzzles and explore strange temples

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 272 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Obscure Legends: Curse of the Ring

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(245.61 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Obscure Legends: Curse of the Ring is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Obscure Legends - vry nicebgame Only played for 30 min, but a buy for me. Interactive map gets you around.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Little Hidden Object Adventure Game Based on the Demo The soundtrack and voice overs are well done. The graphics and visuals also well done. They may seem a little primitive in light of some of the new games that have bells and whistles and lots of things happening at one time but the player is after all stranded on an island. I liked the graphics. The storyline unfolds slowly, told by one of the survivors of another shipwreck. It is an interesting story. Hidden object games are relatively easy. They are interactive. I enjoyed them. Mini games range from moderately easy to difficult, especially the mini game with the golden tooth. It drove me crazy but it was a lot of fun. There is a diary, a map, and my favorite, a little animal helper, this time a parrot that you rescue from a cage in the cave. He can retrieve things for you that you cannot reach. You collect dubloons in order to make repairs to your ship. This game is a lot of fun. I really enjoyed it.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant I started this game this morning, and now it's finished, partly due to an interactive map, so it made it much easier to get around, and it took you straight to where you were next needed. At first, because there's no walkthrough, I thought, have I done right, well yes I did, I'm sorry it's finished. great game, loved it
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from an definate buy for me I don't do this too often but with the discount today I bought this game immediately. just played the demo and this was a buy. great hint and map and you get gibbons the bird to help you. I don't use sound so can't rate that but over all a fun enjoyable game.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cursed Ring Well, this games not going to win an Oscar, but I really enjoyed playing. I'm not going to sugar coat it, the graphics are pretty basic and simplistic, not horrible just not top notch. What this game does have is an interesting pirate tale and a ton of mini games, with a dash of hidden object scenes. You are the Captain of the ship that crashes into an island by an unknown green force. As the sole survivor, (or so you think) you need to scour the island for survival and find out what this mysterious green force is capable of. Because the graphics are so basic, the hidden object scenes tend to be on the easy side, but they are interactive and you have the option of playing a matching mahjong game instead. There were a ton of mini games, nothing really new but they were really fun. My favorite game was trying to guide a button down a grid with rotating flags, for every move you make, the flags rotate 1/4 turn and if they touch your button you start all over. Although this is just a Standard Edition, it does have a custom option for difficulty and an interactive map for quickly moving around the island. You will find a macaw named Mr. Gibbons to help you on your journey and you find gold doubloons throughout the island in order to repair your ship. I for one really enjoyed this pirate themed adventure and I think you will too.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One awesome game! I totally recommend this game and give it 5 stars. The graphics to me are superb. The reason they look a little different is because of the 3D effects put into the game. Just an example, the water looks so realistic. Awesome VO's on this game as well. I am totally intrigued with the story and like Suede I have to see it to the end. This has everything of a CE (in fact it was better than the last CE I played, Order of the Light) except the strat guide. You also get Capt Langley's McCaw Mr. Gibbons. Very helpful bird and saves the use of ladders :) Story: Your ship is in a storm and you crash into a huge rock darn near demolishing your ship and you're washed up on some island. Your crew is wiped out and on top of that you run into Capt. Langley who is cursed by the ring he is wearing. It gives him strong powers. His ship too crashed like our captain's and he lost his crew along with his bride to be Claire. Between the curse of the ring and the bitterness of his deceased love, he is planning to make our captain's life a living heck. Graphics: Superb. I love that 3D effect it's so cool. In the H0GS no problem what so ever finding the objects. Mini Games: On the challenging side and completely made for this game. I haven't had no problems with them. The only one that really gave me a challenge was the skeleton teeth one. Keep clicking teeth and pray. Music: Totally befitting for this game. Very nicely done. H0GS: Yellow word interactive H0GS. If your not sure what goes with what in those, just click on one half of it and the Capt. usually tells you what you need. I have seen this done in other games. Map: Tells you there is something to be done at a place by a green exclamation point. I love that as it really helps not to get stuck. It also is a jump map. Hint System: Works in and out of H0G scenes. Very helpful hint button. All in all Kudos to the team for making this game. I am truly going to enjoy it. It doesn't matter that I will lose the punch because this game to me is totally worth. I have to see what happens.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peaceful, wooded island, bird-song, water-features, caves & PUZZLES 'Ha Har, me Hearties' and 'Shiver me Timbers!', I gotta PUZZLES game ‘ere! The outstanding features of this game are its never-ending supply of DIFFERENT SCENES and PUZZLES, and the SOUND EFFECTS. GRAPHICS The graphics are more on the basic side, in that the finer details in many places are missing. HOWEVER, the scenes are structurally awesome, and have to be based on actual photos: the rocks, the paths and steps through cliffs. You get the SERENITY of multiple and varied water scenes and caves, moss and fern-covered trees and rocks, all under a clear, full-moon evening. I liked the NATURAL COLORS. You may need to set your computer brightness to max. HOPS: A good number, but not as many as the puzzles. Straight forward word-lists with minimal interaction. PUZZLES: LOTS and of different types, and different levels. You can skip. SOUNDS: SOOTHING. Waterfalls, rain, waves, rivers, echoing birdsong and crackling fires. Top marks for sound. Separate control to music which is great! HINT: Will lead you and show you what to use. Casual takes about 15 seconds to renew. 3 levels of difficulty and a customizable option, which can be changed from the MENU during the game. MAP: TRAVEL map, and will indicate areas where you can do stuff next. Very helpful in this game. INVENTORY: Can lock. JOURNAL: YES. CHARACTERS: Minimal interaction. Somehow the characters are very well done; maybe it’s the voice-overs. OTHER: Collect Dubloon coins throughout the game, to repair the ship.
Date published: 2016-03-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well-crafted game This game is done well, though not as ambitious as some. Not a lot of bells and whistles, and most of the mini-games are of the 'align this with that' type. But it was interesting, adventurous, and a lot of fun. I recommend it. :)
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mediocre, but nice game Good graphics, bright colors. Repairing the ship was a nice touch. HOS were too easy, minigames were really rather old-feeling, but map was great. This is a good game for beginners.
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun to play. This game was fun to play albeit it short. I played in the easy mode (always do) and I finished the game. This game moves very fast and because of that I was able to keep up with the storyline which was nice for a change. This game would be excellent for a beginner but I believe even an expert would enjoy it if you truly like HOS and puzzles. The graphics weren't flashy but everything was fairly clear both during the game and in the HOS. Even though this is a SE (standard edition# it has an excellent map which shows where there is something to do as well as transports you to the location. This is my favorite thing to have in any game but is usually found only in CE #collector editions# but not always. The hint button gives free directions during gameplay and works standard for everything else, i.e., points where things are. There are lots of puzzles. Some easy others not so much, but there is a skip button which recharges quickly. There is also a mini game where you pick up coins along the way to fix a pirate's ship. This won't win any awards but I wasn't disappointed that I had purchased the game. Play the demo and read some of the reviews #I hope you read this one) before making up your mind to purchase. Big Fish is a great gaming venue and offers hours and hours of fun. Hope you enjoy playing as much as I do. Thank you for reading my review.
Date published: 2014-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Nice Graphics, Sounds, Voice Bits And So On ... A No Frills Game With Plenty To Do And Very Enjoyable To Play ... Perhaps A Little Short, But Would Love To See Another Game Like This As A Follow On ...
Date published: 2014-02-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Characters The one fellow seems to have a nervous tick with one hand but is he trying to shoo me on? Made me smile but something tells me maybe not to trust him and his mute friend. A good pirate story. HO's with a switch over to Mahjong and a map that jumps you to where you want to be. Love the movement of the ocean on the beach along with the rain coming down. I Like the fixing of the ship with coins found here and there. Another great game to add to the must have list.
Date published: 2014-02-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Little Game But Yo Ho Ho How About More Pure Adventure Games? I'm still here, BFG reviewing this lovely game for those who are beginners or just want a good, relaxing game. The sound was awesome as well as the artwork. Creative puzzles and hidden objects were very easy which is nice if you don't want to boggle the brain. However, my brain hasn't been boggled too much of late. Have to really search for something creative and with a compelling plot. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great fun to play Throw a somewhat simplistic view graphics primitive but we are in the jungle. Also the story quickly takes over and my curiosity drives me to push myself in this jungle. Very few hidden object scenes but many puzzle out of the ordinary that have given me a real pleasure to play until the end of the curious outcome. The future looks bright studios Seven Sails, a more elaborate graphics, the same principle many puzzles to advance and not of HO, a compelling story and the next game could claim to be a Collector's Edition game
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from curse of the ring I enjoyed the 3 or so hours it took to complete this game. glad I didn't pay full price for it. as I like games to last at least twice as long. but as I said I enjoyed it, don't know yet if I will play it again for a while.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yo, Ho, Ho and a Cursed Ring. Our story begins as your ship was caught in a fierce storm and run aground on an island and it appears that you are the only survivor. Although your crew is gone you do find survivors on the island. Who are they and where did they come from? Even more questions arise as you see the “pirate” with the glowing green eyes. Through gathering bits of information you find the story of a pirate, Roger Langley and his lost love Claire. There is not a lot to say about the technical aspects of the game but I did find that even using the custom settings option, and selecting the “fast” setting for the hint refill button it still takes at least two minutes, which is way too long IMHO. The graphics are basic but very good since they appear to be very crisp and colorful. The only thing that seemed apparent with the graphics, and this is what makes them seem very basic, is that they lack depth or a 3D factor that we see in some of the more sophisticated games. The sound package is good but some of the voiceovers are a bit odd although they are lip-synced – something I think adds a lot to the quality of a game. You will find the basic tools available as you navigate through the game - you have a diary that contains your objectives as well as your notes that will help you as you progress on your adventure. There is also an interactive transporter map that indicates where you have tasks to accomplish. After you get into the game you will acquire a macaw that will help you when needed as you progress on your adventure. The gameplay flows smoothly and is clearly a lot of fun with the addition of the standard, interactive HOS. The HOS are easy to complete since they are very basic with the listed items being clearly visible and not too obscure; although, if you don’t want to hunt for items you do have the option to switch to a mahjong type game as an alternative. There are also lots of mini-puzzles to be found during your adventure and none of them are difficult. Since there are only so many types of puzzles that developers can come up with, most of them will be familiar but they are nevertheless still fun and add a lot to the gameplay. I had the opportunity to do the beta test for this game last year and because there were doubloons scattered around the island to be used to repair my damaged ship, I had thought that this game would be released as a CE. I am guessing, however, that the developer chose not to take the game a step further with the addition of a strategy guide and other CE content and instead released the game as a SE. Overall the game is a solid four-star game with a great story and one that I knew I wanted to add to my collection. The gameplay was fun and seemed to flow easily with the story, so at the end of the demo I found myself really wanting to hit the buy button so I could continue. As I mentioned above I was surprised that this game was released as a standard edition since with a little work it could easily have been a CE; however, I am thankful for the SE release as it gives me a chance to use one of my PCCs. It is not often that we get a SE first release with a great story so I consider this a very nice gift from BFG. As always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Obscure Legends: Curse of the Ring Got this game for a free one, I am glad to say I had fun. I enjoyed the game even though it was short. I've almost no luck with the 6.99 games lately because they were either stupid or the last 2 games didn't work at all.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Great But Not Too Bad Based on Demo: Your ship has crashed on a deserted island & you meet up with the captain from a previous ship wreck. He unfortunately found an evil green possessed ring that makes him a powerful tyrant. You, of course, have to get the ring away from him as it is growing more evil over time. The storyline is nothing new but it moves along as you gather the resources to combat the evil ring. The music is nonintrusive, the graphics crisp/clear, voiceovers better than some others, HOG's are the usual messy junk pile with some interaction & the mini games are not the usual join electric wires or move string/rope out of the way. There is a diary & a very helpful map. The hint button could be a litter faster. Note to Devs: It's a make-up brush & NOT a tassel. I always play on the easy/casual mode as I like to play a game for fun without the frustrations/challenges some games can get into. So try the demo for yourself & see if it's up to your standards of game play.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Simple Fun I found this game to be quite easy. I did play it in normal mode (one of three options). I also skipped some mini-games so I could play longer. The hidden objects are clear and light enough to find items easily (many latest games I find them too dark). I will probably wait until next week to purchase for the bonus but if it were the 1st of the month I would be making a purchase today. It is "simple fun" and sometimes I am in the mood for simple.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's a Buy Definite buy for this weekend. Beta tested this one and have been waiting for the release. Fun game.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much More Blessing than Curse I've been playing this game for more than 2.5 hours. I was confident enough, after the one hour trial period, to money up (or in this case, coupon up). It was good enough to deserve a full dose of play. What you've read about the story will suffice for story line. Nearly three hours into the I don't think the story line drives the game. It provides a loose weave connecting the HOG and mini-games and offers a context for the ambience of the game: nautical with a deserted Island and a pirate or three. The game is very basic. It's not visually-flashy nor aurally-flashy. What was it then? Why get it? Because it's just flat out fun. Level of Challenge: I don't know what the final number of mini-games and HOGs will be but I think it will be a generous amount. Both seem to be of pretty high quality as well. Mini games: I haven't experienced anything brand new, but there are some interesting takes on Maze games, synchronized eradication games (getting different items to activate/eradicate by clicking on it, but clicking on one item will affect the behavior of another or several others). Some of the games are very complex...at least to me: items placed along a quasar need to be put in a particular order but, again, moving one affects positioning of others. HOGS: Along with the regular HOG find-em list, there is also what I can best refer to as a mini-HOG. It's not based on a list, but just a gathering of several items which require you to use inventory objects to bring together. There's also a build-it HOG where you need to find a few items which,when combined, make yet another item. It might have been a little more challenging if I had to create the item but the game does it for you automatically. The HOG items are well-drawn and well-placed. They aren't crowded but they are disguised nicely and take more than a little effort to find. As an alternative, you can play Mah Jongh. Added attraction: Although this is an SE, there are features which, to my mind, make this an SE PLUS. It's not quite a CE: no integrated Strategy Guide, No "who cares" assortment of Wall papers, Art, re-playable music, etc. BUT there are extras: a. A version of a collectible: Money, Doubloons, which are banked for you when you find them. You spend them on fixing your ship. b. A side-kick (like the elves, dogs and clowns in other games) Mr. Gibbons, a colorful bird who can retrieve items in high places...and maybe more... c. An exceptionally good map which indicates where to go and where you have things to accomplish. While not a strategy guide, it, along with a slowish, recharging hint button, together perform basically the same function. There are some funny anachronisms. Early on in the game (not like I'm that far along anyway) a "pirate" uses a pair of binoculars that look to have been purchased at a 21st century sporting goods store. Later on, there's an actual elevator...a little Gilligan's Island flavor to it...but I didn't think there was electricity yet to power this dumbwaiter. Finally, I had one omen that could not be ignored. As I'm playing with my headphones on for sound, and in the middle of a mini-game with a surgical-dental theme, my iTunes kicks in and starts playing the theme from ER over the regular sound of the game. I don't know how it happened but it was meant to be and any doubts I had about getting the game disappeared along with Jolly Roger's Gold Tooth. I don't think you'll be unhappy with this game. Chase me down if you are. Play the free trial. I did and I was convinced.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not too enthusiastic about this game Hmmm. I wonder why this game received so many happy reviews. Actually, I found the graphics - that is, especially the people in it - rather... simple. The scenes look better, sometimes quite realistic, but they're still a bit... simple. Yes, the game takes some time and there are quite some scenes to discover, and the extra feature of finding dubloons with which you can repair your ship is... well, simple, and maybe funny for some. I did finish it and not just leave the game. But after all, I would not have bought it, had I known all this.
Date published: 2014-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from RRRRRRRRRR read the reviews..wasn't sure about this one. finally got to play the demo. very easy game. looking to play something waiting for se of some games to come out stopped buying ce's don't need wallpaper etc. love the story but it really is boring and I'm spoiled I guess .i recommend for a beginner but if you've played awhile like the surface games you will be sadly disappointed. try the demo. I must admit I'm a sucker for pirate stories so it is hard for me to say...naw thanks matey.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It was just O.K. What can you ask for when you are using a free game coupon? If they seem like good games I'll buy they CE and then I have Free Game Coupons, that I can only use on games like this.
Date published: 2014-02-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Short and Repetitive So many of the puzzles were the same, that it got a bit boring. Mazes and ring puzzles, HoG, more mazes and ring puzzles, another HoG. It killed about 3 hours for me on the 2nd level, which in my view is a very short game. Far from the best game I've played, but far from the worst too. Just okay.
Date published: 2014-01-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from great game for lazy day. not to challenging puzzles are fun, hos are easy not too hard on the eyes. I do not know of this dev. First time I have played one of their games. Graphics are not the best i have seen but stilll not to bad. Hos are alittle grainy but still not to hard to spot the items. You get ship wrecked on an island. However, you find out your not the only surviver on the island. The is a naughty captain on the island that found a ring and turned him into someone not too nice. He also was ship wrecked and the love of his life perished. You really need to try this game and see for yourself. To me it is worth a SE credit or perhaps even better a free game coupon.
Date published: 2014-01-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Should have listened to the other reviews... Well, I did actually read a lot of the other reviews for this, but it sounded like it might be worth it on sale (e.g. for three bucks as part of the recent bundle sale)...but, it really wasn't even worth that. True, it was short, but I was glad to see it finish and had been impatient for it to finish for awhile. I hate saying this because I do want to support new and lesser-known developers, but it's just the truth. I actually DID play the whole demo and thought it was worth getting on sale - but - for me - it just got really boring and repetative, and much less challenging, after the point where the demo ended. The reason I didn't like it? Primarily, as others have warned, it is very very simplistic. I thought - hey, simple is nice and relaxing sometimes, right? And I LOVE pirate-themed stuff, so I can't go wrong, right? Wrong...sadly, wrong. There was some potential here, but it ended up falling really flat and was just uninspired. There was no depth to the gameplay, even though the story premise was pretty good. I'm all about a good story, but even with the good premise, it just wasn't enough to make the game good because it still wasn't a big part of the gameplay - specifically, the story was ok but not delved into with enough depth to be really good, even though it could have been. Yeah, most of the graphics were a turn-off, too. Was this made in the '90's or something?? Anyway, sorry, I feel mean leaving this review, but I'm just being honest. This was a waste of money and I even considered not finishing it, but I've never not finished a game I purchased, at least eventually. I'll bet that a lot of us bought this game as an excuse to purchase the latest big hit from a different developer as part of the bundle sale...and I feel a bit taken advantage of since these bundle sales usually include games by the same developer (from what I've seen, that's actually always the case, but I don't know that for certain). That was not the case for this game, and I don't really agree with including non-related games in "bundle" sales when they usually are by the same developer. Or at least, make it clear in the description that it's a different developer!
Date published: 2014-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So Boring! I love HOG games. This one was so boring and dull. I skipped several puzzles just to finish the game.
Date published: 2014-02-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth paying for the full version I kind of enjoyed the free trial version, but found some games to be too easy. I decided to pay to get the full version, and it only took me maybe 30 minutes to finish the game- so $4.99 for 30 minutes. Not worth it. Very disappointing...
Date published: 2014-02-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waste of time, too old, poor tech.... Why did I buy the game, I don't know, bored I guess...This is an old game, where did they find it,was it made 10years ago ? Poor graphics, HO too easy and poor, the list is long why I stopped playing it and tossed it in the trash...
Date published: 2014-01-29
  • y_2017, m_6, d_25, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_20464, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Obscure Legends: Curse of the Ring

You're the sole survivor of a shipwreck, but you can't leave the island until the captain's cursed ring is destroyed.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.