The Others

The Others

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(230.98 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A local toymaker and all his factory workers mysteriously vanished on the same night. It's up to you, ace reporter Mary Bingham, to delve into the town's hidden mysteries to discover the truth. But first you'll need to understand the strange inhabitants to solve the riddle of the shuttered toy factory. Is the ominous figure in black trying to help you, or is he leading you into certain peril? What lies beyond the elaborate labyrinth? Uncover a new world of shocking secrets as you hunt for clues in this heart-stopping mystery-adventure!

  • Truly unique and challenging mini-games
  • An exciting out-of-this-world adventure
  • Novel inventory system enriches gameplay

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 525 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Others

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(230.98 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Others is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 71.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from for an SE definitely a 5 star Yes there is backtracking....and I like having to remember where I need to go...but the hint will help if you are impatient. I liked the games...whack a mole and the pick up the toy and others. I like those the most...like being at an amusement park without the annoying noise, smells, push and shove of people...there were a few H obj games but they were fun though I was not as turned on by the choices in blue that made you look for what was there among those selections that were not. They did that over and over and it was ok as a puzzle aspect, but for my taste overdone. I liked the sense of mystery and the tunnel of horrors with things jumping out...I would have liked more interaction in the H obj scenes. I will buy this because it is fun and easy on the eyes. O I really liked the puzzle in a maze where one had to avoid other balls while getting to the finish...that was a lot of fun.
Date published: 2014-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Others are watching us. This was a very intense, challenging game with awesome visual effects. Voice overs were spot on and dialogue was interesting! I was most impressed with the storyline of this game. Very nice! I found the mini challenges very challenging; not your typical mini challenges. Great Job!
Date published: 2014-09-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun & a little different HOG. I really liked this game. You play Mary, an investigative reporter, sent to this small, abandoned town because the previous reporter has fled in fear, saying he could see someone watching him from every window in the town, something not of this world. You discover the toy maker's shop is closed, the owner and the employees gone, most everyone in the town have run away. Why? The graphics are really good, very clear & sharp & fun. The HOG's are not too difficult (but not too easy, either). A fun element is that a few of the words describing the objects to be found are in blue. Clicking on the blue word gives you a choice of three words, only one of which is the object that is hidden. For example, you see the word "gun" in blue, but there is no gun in the HO scene. Click on the word "gun" and it will change, for example, to "rabbit". But there is no rabbit in the scene. Click on the word "rabbit" and it will change, for example, to "skull" - and there IS a skull! Different - keeps things interesting. I like the mini-games, too. You get to play a "Whack-a-mole" type game, and a game like the "claw" game you find in arcades. You take a boat through a haunted ride with things jumping out at you, and you even have to use the ATM machine to get money out as they don't take credit cards! LOL! I found this game to be fun, different from the "horror", "demonic" or "fear" games that are so prevalent lately. Great game.
Date published: 2014-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not like the other games..... I was a bit unsure at the beginning of this game, but it definitely got better as it went along. Whilst the graphics weren't the 'wow factor' of the CE games, they were still well done. What i liked most about it was that it wasn't the easy-breezy games you see a lot of. You did have to think on occasion. The storyline was a bit slow near the beginning, but then started to pick up pace. And was slightly different to the usual 'plots'. Only complaint i have is that just as it totally captured my interest, it was suddenly over. I really hope there will be a sequel. I would give this 3 1/2 stars if it were a CE, but as a SE it is definitely worth all 5.
Date published: 2014-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Game,, This review is based on completed game. It is an excellent game for everyone. Graphics were great and voices were awesome to the characters, no map nor diary but really didn't need it. No collectables and all that jazz which is a nice change for once. This game was just good old fashion fun. Loved the ending. So if you just want something fun to play this is it,
Date published: 2014-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS GAME ACTUALLY HAD A MESSAGE The Devs gave a nod to all the arts and sciences as well as presenting an almost childlike science-fiction. And there was a courageous message at the end. I felt the graphics fit the story somehow. They invite us into the game and keep us moving and curious. Very little handholding and no technical difficulties. A fun ride. Keep them coming. Keep them unique.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from beam me up soo nice to see our ancestors portrayed in a game. it wasn't a wow game ,but I got involved in it and boom it was over. though others are saying it's old school looking ,i guess I needed that to play.i thought it could have used a bit of work but the characters made up for it. it was a nice challenge not having all that hand holding that a lot of games do lately. refreshing to have to figure things out on my own a bit..old school lol. will play again..
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this game is something NEW and OUT OF THE BOX! LOVE IT!! I am completly blown away by this game!! If you are looking for something new and out of the box, this is it!! I just finished it and I'm really overwhelmed. The storyline only SEEMS to be something we already know in the beginning. But as you go along in the game, the story changes into something completly new and very, very unexpected! The ending is really SPECTACULAR!! Sci-fi fans will also love this game, although it doesn't really look like it. The graphics are cristalclear and very well done. The music is good and fits the story, although gets a bit repetitive after a while. But the voiceovers are GREAT! And you meet a lot of different characters you have short conversations with. A nice change from all the games where you wander around alone. In the beginning of the game you might think you're alone, but you'll see.... The HOS are very, very clear with a cool new feature. Words written in blue you can click, and you get 3 different descriptions, one of them is in the scene, the others aren't. Really nicely done. The puzzles vary from easy to medium hard, I had to skip 2 where I really couldn't find the solution. And there is so much more to this game, you get a few really good scares that I asolutely did not see coming and made me jump out of my chair. A game in a maze that was really cool, and.... can't tell you more, I don't want to spoil the game for you! This is a GREAT SE! The game is fast paced and submerges you in the storyline. There is no map, but for me that was no problem at all, no diary either, but I didn't miss it for a second. The game is splitted up in different divisions, and once you finished one, it closes of and you don't need to go back there, which makes the to and fro bearable. I loved the 'oldfashioned' feel of a straight HOG + adventure game, no distractions of fluffy things and other frills to look for, but pure, concentrated gameplay that is really fascinating. I had the time of my life playing this game #about 4 hours for me# and HIGLY recommend this game! Have fun!
Date published: 2014-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deja-vu The voice of the alien leader is that of the narrator for FATE Love that touch! This game is a 10 for sure , keep em coming Big Fish
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun but puzzles are too short I think this is a fun game and has different puzzles than usual but they are so short. if they would have more rounds they would be much better, you look for the object to start the puzzle for a long time and then is over in just a few seconds.
Date published: 2014-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Good Graphics, Sounds, Voice & Video Bits ... Nice To See An Alien, Space Or Similar Style Sci-Fi Game Occasionally ... It Adds To The Variety ... Made A Nice Change, Both In Game Play And Visual Art ...
Date published: 2014-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gotta Love This One! You are reporter Mary Bingham and you get to tear up the entire town looking for answers with lots of cool dialogue and sound effects. A mini-vacation for gamers between the seemingly endless cutesy and gory games! I just wish reviewers would STOP giving away surprises that gamers would like to discover on their own during gameplay! Should put a **SPOILER ALERT** alert on those types of reviews or discontinue giving away details! So disappointing! Definitely will have a good laugh. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent!! Another great game by Big Fish. Great graphics. Hint button directs where to go next. Good story line. Loved it.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Wait... This game was enjoyable, easy to follow, kept you wanting to play until the end without stopping and generally, one of the best I have played in a LONG time. Well worth the $$$ and this is one that I WILL play again. Did not miss collecting items, animal helpers, blood and guts, vampires, etc. There are several moments that will startle you a bit (won't tell where in the game). Great game.
Date published: 2014-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Backtrack to the Future... This was a great game! I didn't see the ending coming, and those images were as real as it can get. I won't repeat the points (good or bad) to this game as other reviewers have done an excellent job of that. This is a definite buy. :o)
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Refreshing Change! I wasn't sure when I started this game but the more I got into it the more intrigued I became. Without all the frills, bells and whistles there is something that compels you to keep going. Everything about the presentation is crisp, clear and straight forward. Mary is assigned to find out why the toy factory closed and where is the toymaker? Nothing fancy here and maybe that's what the appeal is, simple basic game play with no hidden surprises, well, except for the creepies that jump out and surprise you every now and then!! Graphics are super clear, HOS fun with a different aspect (change the items in blue to something you can find in the scene) which was a nice change. Mini games not too difficult but stress free making them fun. Hey, let's face it this game is nothing super exciting but in light of all the newer games that are riddled with collectibles, back & forth map, journals, same old same old story lines with only enough changes to hopefully fool the audience this is a refreshing change. Mary does a super job and is not boring with her dialogue, I did not miss the journal or the map (even tho' it meant lots of back and forth). Sometimes simple is good, try this one and see what you think...I loved it!
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Aliens Stole The Town Toymaker! Something in this small town isn't right, the first journalist became so paranoid, he fled the assignment and the town! The local Toy factory closed their doors, employees fled and the owner hasn't been seen since, the town is eerily quiet! Mary Bingham has taken over the investigative reporting after George abandoned his assignment full of fear because someone was staring at him through every window in the entire town, something "other" worldly! One of my favorite aspects of this game is something I haven't seen done before in a hidden object game. Some of the list items are in blue and can be clicked on to reveal other words and you have to figure out which word is the correct word of the item that is hidden. In OTHER words (couldn't resist the pun) the word in blue is fish for example, and there is no fish hidden in the scene. You click on the word fish and it changes to the word grater, again, no grater hidden so you click on the word a third time to the word footstool and viola there is indeed a footstool, kind of a cool feature in my opinion. Unfortunately, there aren't a lot of mini games but you get to visit the amusement park and play whack-a-mole and a game of claw and ride a scary boat where vampires, and skeletons jump out at you. There are a lot of HOS and the graphics are very clear and realistic. You even have to visit the ATM several times to get some cash so don't forget to retrieve your credit card after each use. I know that some people will hate this game but "others" will really love the alien theme and the hidden object scenes that make you put on your thinking cap. The fact that this is a standard edition will give you the opportunity to use a credit as well, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Winner! There is absolutely nothing i dislike about this game...did not even wait to finish the demo before buying. the graphics are sensational. played it on mute after a while, but the music i heard was good. the storyline, although a bit of a rehash of other games, was still engaging. The puzzles were varied from easy (whacking gophers took a bit of time) to more challenging. the HOGS had a bit of a different twist enhancing my gameplay as someone who does not like HOGS :) not stressful to play and very enjoyable. for once, a standard game of quality. thank you BFG!
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I too am loving this game. I bought it because this one I want to see the end to. Like others said there is no journal or collectibles which I am glad of. I stopped with the collectibles because it just got irritating to look for them. And having no journal is awesome too as on some games they can really get annoying as the ones that write down every little detail and flashes. I don't mind in the least that Mary talks instead of reading the black bars. Her voice tickles me. The game is spooky which is a big plus in my book. Story: Pretty much everyone knows that Mary has to find out the reason why the toy factory closed. Of course you have your characters trying to stop you from your investigation. Graphics: Although I just bought a couple of days ago a brand new monitor, the graphics are clear as a bell even in H0G scenes even on my Acer which I had for over a year. I love the 3D affect. H0G Scenes: I loved the fact that on the blue words you click on them to find which one matches with the object in the scene. That's a first I seen of this. To me it's not H0G heavy in the least. Music: Fits perfectly with the game. Not obtrusive in the least. Mini Games: I only played two and they weren't hard at all just fun. All in all I give this game a ten for the story, fun factor and spookiness. The way they did that rat scene, yes my sitting down place left the seat a few inches. I had no lagging or cursor problems either. The game ran smooth as silk. Also it fit my widescreen just fine no problems. Had my widescreen for 4 days now and it's 22" HD. Have fun.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Aliens or just a good impression of them! The intro gave no impact and did not leave you with any wow feeling. Don't worry, it gets better once into the game. The visuals were okay if somewhat a bit ordinary, no real wow about them and a bit dark in places. The sounds were good and the voice although not one of my favourites, she has the voice that did the Margrave and a few others, I always found she grated on my senses, however this time she has gone a lot softer and doesn't forever keep saying "I wonder what I should do here!!" etc., so was pleasant to hear The storyline is good, she is a detective, looking for the towns folk that worked at the local toy factory but when it closed they simply vanished. She has an annoying boss that leaves messages for her on her mobile, she is working alone although a work associate had been before her but left, is there something in this? another mystery! I loved it that she actually pulls out money from an ATM so isn't forever looking for some cash, really? how original. I found the first part to be easy which I don't mind when trying to find my feet and feel like I'm chasing my own tail. I played expert so don't know if the casual will do the same as it did for me in HOGS, which there are I think, a few too many. The shaded items where very difficult to find and I have to hold up my hand and say I ended up using the hint button for them, they then changed to something totally different which were easy to find. I think I must have clicked on nearly every item so have no idea where they were and there was no looking in a pot or moving an item to look for them. Once reaching another area in the game, another factor comes into being and I'm not sure but I think they were aliens, if not they were not of the present day or this world. She is still not sure what she is looking for to help her find the missing people! Warning! if you have a weak heart be prepared to get a twinge in one of the scenes, I nearly jumped out of my skin! This may not be one for the hard gamers but I found the fun factor darn good and this will be a buy #voucher# for me. I did not reach the end but then I can be somewhat slow.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too short This is a fun game. Some of the mini games and puzzles are a little too easy. It looks like this is game one of a series. I hope the sequels aren't too long in the making. This is an excellent game for beginners to consider.
Date published: 2016-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from enjoyable i really enjoyed this game,it had a really interesting storyline ,the graphics were really good,puzzles just about right only fault that i could find was it didnt have a map,so you had to remember were everything was.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clunky but a lot of fun The Others is definitely old school. You're lost in a town where aliens have taken over the local toymakers - how cool is that plot - and you have to investigate. On the way you negotiate some very old-fashioned HOS, with the interactive part being the highlighted clues that change when you click them. For example, if ELEPHANT is the clue, click on it and it changes to TIGER or CAR. You have to figure out which is in the picture. Like I said, these are old school. There's even a honey dipper! Made me want to play Vanilla Ice and do my best running man. I would have given up on this game - no interactive map, no custom mode - if the games weren't so awesome. There's Wack-A-Mole! There's a Tunnel of Horror you have to negotiate several times! There's a working ATM! Plus I loved the maze of tunnels and the cool concept. If you're looking for a HOA and don't demand cutting edge graphics and morphing objects, The Others is a great choice.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WHAT A GEM - PLEASANTLY SURPRISED Yes, its a Si-Fi, which I didn't expect. There are voiceovers (with dialogue) and you have the option of playing Casual, Expert or Hardcore modes of play. The graphics are very good - clear and sharp. I really enjoyed roaming around and having a good look. Sound is good. The music is mainly guitar, piano and some sort of chanting. It wasn't irritating, so I kept it on the whole time. The hidden object games are straightforward. There are three items included coloured blue. It you cannot find the item, just click on it and it changes to another item, and if you can't find that item, then click again and it changes to another item. I thought that was interesting. The mini-games are fun. There are lots of clicking tiles, etc to get them to open or fill up the board. You know the ones, press one tile and other tiles flip over until you get them all the same colour, etc. There are a couple of maths questions as well (yikes!). There are a good selection of games to play and I enjoyed them all. All up I played about 5 hours during the course of the week. I did try the help and it worked fine. The game ended a bit abruptly and I think there may be another instalment coming at some stage. So, definitely worth putting in your collection. Its a quirky game, however I liked playing Mary Bingham, the reporter. I really hope there is another instalment cause I'm hooked. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2015-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Your Typical HOG After completing the game. This game is different and I got it for free so I'm happy. There are voice overs and a hint button that shows directions. There isn't a map, and one is needed. There isn't a walk through so I relied on the forum when I got stuck. (It took me 12 tries to make the coffee correctly which was a total of 10 back and forth each try!) I like different types of game. I classify this as weird.
Date published: 2015-03-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4½ stars...excellent story, beautiful graphics, immersive gameplay The Others Review based on completed game PREFACE… It's rare to play a game with a story that engages like this one does. The hints you are given make you think you know what's going on, but the end still comes as a surprise. I enjoyed the straightforward gameplay, and didn't miss the bells and whistles, frills and frippery, razzle dazzle that comes with most games. ONCE UPON A TIME... Take on the role of Mary Bingham, ace reporter, sent in to uncover the enigma behind an almost abandoned company town where a toy factory recently closed down. The few inhabitants aren't too helpful, so you'll need all your investigative skills to reveal the life-changing secret hidden behind the labyrinth. PLAY THE GAME... HO scenes are fairly simple, although each list has several highlighted items you must click. The words will change and it's up to you to determine which is hidden in the scene. Puzzles are mostly retreads, but graphically beautiful. Adventure mode is not difficult; it's the story that drives you forward. SIGHTSEEING… The graphics are beautiful, colorful without being garish, dimensional and moody. Animation is done well, including the characters. SOUND WAVES… The music fits the mood of the game and is ambient in nature. Sound effects and environmental sounds are appropriate. Voiceovers are professional. TOOLBOX… There's no map, so there's a bit of back and forth, but it's not onerous. No journal either, but it's unnecessary. When you need clues, you'll find them and they'll be stored in your inventory. THE LAST WORD… I found The Others to be a thoroughly enjoyable stand-alone game with an excellent story. Gameplay was rather simple, and it wasn't a long game, but I recommend it because it veers from the formulaic "missing relative" stories that are so prevalent.
Date published: 2014-12-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but Ending Disappointing This was a fun game. Puzzles were challenging, HO scenes were difficult but not impossible. Graphics were good. Voice overs were sometimes out of sync. The story was intriguing, but I felt the ending needed some work. I was like, wait what?! Still, it kept my interest to the end and I did enjoy playing.
Date published: 2014-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game I really liked this game. It was very different in its graphics and story line. Very few mini games.
Date published: 2014-05-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Who was that guy in the argyle snuggie? Game seemed rather short, but graphics were good. The ending was a bit of, well, abrupt. Certain elements made little or no sense, such as the dinosaurs. The HOS were nice because of the ability to change certain items. That was a plus. I did get stuck at one point and had to resort to the tips on the forum.
Date published: 2014-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally a Good Ending This was a very solid game. No extras, maps (which would have been nice because at times there is too much back and forth), collectibles, etc. However a very solid and interesting story, a little sci fi action. A nice change of pace from the normal romance, fairy tale, detectives, period pieces, and so on. Other reviewers have provided the game details. I just wanted to say Bravo to the developers for finally providing an ending worth playing for. Much more than the typical "the end" after your final task.
Date published: 2014-03-22
  • y_2017, m_3, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_20744, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Others

You're a top reporter in search of a missing toymaker – but this isn't child's play. Is something otherworldly responsible?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.