Haunted Hotel: Ancient Bane Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Haunted Hotel: Ancient Bane Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(444.13 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Brought to you by Elephant Games, creators of Haunted Hotel: Eclipse and the best-selling Mystery Trackers series!

Abraham Shadowy bought an abandoned hotel, planning to turn it into a haunted attraction for his guests. But when his guests start actually disappearing, people begin to gossip. Is it all just a publicity stunt for the hotel, or is there something more sinister going on? Join your detective friend James as you search for the truth among Shadowy's mechanical contraptions. It's dark in there, so watch your step in Haunted Hotel: Ancient Bane, a chilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • Save James and help Anabel in the bonus game
  • Win awards for your achievements in the hotel
  • Collect 12 Egyptian objects
  • Music, screen savers, wallpapers, and concept art
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1508 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Hotel: Ancient Bane Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(444.13 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Haunted Hotel: Ancient Bane Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Based on COMPLETED GAME I've been waiting for this game since doing the beta test months ago! And it did not disappoint. At first the graphics seemed too dark, but then I remembered to use the gamma control in options, and it was just fine. I LOVE the fact that the skip button (on casual setting) is faster than it used to be. Since I'm not good at puzzles, and these puzzles are hard! I found the game challenging, even more so as the game went along, the same as the one before this, "Eclipse". The game seemed plenty long too me, although I take my time and try not to use the hint button unless I'm really stuck as to what to do next. VERY HAPPY!!!
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i loved it! well i just love the story and well it's a great story it's just the bonus was a kind of short but in all still good to me it was worth it.
Date published: 2014-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brill Game Played this for the full trial and was disappointed I could not carry on. This is a great game and would definitely buy it when it is released in full. well done to the designers and makers.Loved the storyline of the haunted house and trying to discover who is making the visitors disappear. cannot wait to find out.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from HAUNTED HOTEL REALLY GOOD GAME! THANKS ELEPHANT GAMES, FOR CREATING ANOTHER BEAUTIFUL GAME, I HAVE PURCHASED YOUR GAMES FOR A LONG TIME AND, WILL COUNTINUE TO DO SO. THEY CONTINUE TO AMAZE AND AMUSE ME. IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED THE DEMO YOU SHOULD!
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolute Perfection. !!!! Absolute perfection as usual. Thank you Elephant Game. Not much more I can say. How I love the HO'S. So beautiful in color but I still have to use hint button sometime great. Thanks again Love your games over and over. Bravo.!!!!
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who is haunting the hotel? Guests are disappearing from Abraham Shadowy's haunted hotel, so he summons your friend James to come detect. And of course, James brings you along because you do all the work! He does show up and give you an item every once in a while! Abraham is not so happy James brought you along, however. It seems Abraham has a "Master" who wants James. The Master appears as dark smoke, and he's already captured Henry Spinner, a historian who was an invited guest to help solve the "mystery." This is a nice long demo that gives you a good feel for the game, and ends at a logical place. Like all Elephant games, the graphics are excellent - the opening video shows Henry the historian being chased and dragged away. However, the lips don't move in the voice-overs. One nice option available, is to change the brightness of the screen via the gamma slider -- for those of us who don't like to squint at the dark settings! There are three modes of game play. The map is teleporting, and indicates where an activity exists -- absolutely necessary for me, as I can never remember what room requires what item! This makes the strategy guide rather unnecessary. The hint button either points to a room to teleport to, or to an object within a room that needs action. Because Abraham is an inventor, there are several mechanical objects to fix, including the light amulet, and a mechanical scarab that can fit into small places you cannot reach. The HOS are all lists - a bit too cluttered -- that follow an Egyptian theme. You also can collect 12 Egyptian canopic jars that describe who is buried inside them! The mini-games are unique, but not hard. My favorite was the room with the knives. You had to match up magnets to remove the knives so you could enter the room. Another one was to position mirrors that eventually blew up the skeleton blocking your access to another passage. There are 10 achievements you can win. There is a bonus game, plus the usual CE bling. What is missing is the "Secret Room" that has been showing up in Elephant games lately after the Bonus Game - one of my favorite parts of their CEs. This is a worthy contender, however.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Excellent would recommend it to my friends
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! What a Great Game!!!!! Storyline: Abraham Shadowy, a mechanical engineer, has purchased an old hotel. Little did the townspeople know it would turn into a huge success. Shadowy played upon the hotel's ancient history and promised guests that they would see "real ghosts". But, people started disappearing. And you were called in by your friend, James, to help investigate the cause. Is there something sinister afoot? Or is it all smoke and mirrors? Play the game to find out. Graphics: Although the colors were amazing, everything appropriate to the creepiness of each room, I was a bit disappointed. During the opening scene, we had major lip syncing with ... wait for it.... facial expressions. Always props to the devs when they add facial expressions to the lip syncing. However, during the game play, all lip syncing stopped. Then, you just had the characters standing, sitting, kneeling, whatever, and talking (through their nose? ears? fingers?). I absolutely dislike when a game starts with such promise and then regresses. By this dev and as many games as they've put out, it's greatly disappointing. Sound: Pretty good, I must say. Not great, but pretty good. The appropriate squeaks, crashes, booms, wails, etc. as appropriate for each situation. The music from the gramophone was non-existent as something came out of it. Hmmm. That could have been improved upon. If there was any background music, sorry, I had the volume turned down low (I just got two teeny puppies and they were asleep snuggled up next to me - so no extreme volume). Game Play: It was very interesting that you started out with a "light source" amulet looking thing but by the end of the demo (we had an amazing 90 minutes of demo and I finished with 20 minutes to spare) it was still not completely put together. There was a LOT of back and forthing but very worth it. In every room you c..ame to, you established if the spookiness and hauntedness of the Hotel was real or fake. Not gonna say - you have to play the demo at least. The hint button takes a bit to recharge. It is extremely helpful, however, in that it will also transport you to the room you need to go to next. There is a diary, but as far as I could tell, didn't retain clues, just the same notes, pieces of paper you found. Redundant. There is a map in the form of a compass which is transportable and tells you where an active area is and where there is not. I don't know if it indicates when an area is finished because you do go back and forth a lot. HOGs: Pretty standard stuff. List of items to find with some interaction but not a lot. No going back and revisiting the same ones. Very easy to find the items you need. Had no problems whatsoever. Mini Games: Scattered here and about. I did not have to skip any (which is new for me) and found them all relatively easy, although sometimes it did take a bit to figure out exactly what to do. CE Bling: Pretty standard fare Strategy Guide (I didn't use it) Bonus Game Wallpapers - 9 Concept Art - 9 Music - 4 themes Achievements - not sure how many, it appeared as if there were only 8, but that can't be right, can it? Collection Room: I think the game description said there were 13 collectibles and I think I may have found 1. Not really sure. If I did only find 1 in almost 90 minutes of game play, I'm hoping that signifies a fairly long game. Screensaver - 1 So, there you have it. This Glam-ma enjoyed the game. Didn't use the hint button to transport me about - I thought that was too much like cheating. Although the map made it a little too easy as well. I was intrigued by the game. What will we find out in the end? Is the hotel really haunted? Or is this some ploy with a more sinister end? This Glam-ma is definitely purchasing the game to find out - although I wish it offered more bling. The review of this game is this Glam-ma's unbiased opinion - and only mine. Therefore, if you found this review to be helpful, please click on the "yes" button below. There is also a "no" button. Seriously? You'd give your Glam-ma a "no"? Kidding. Happy Gaming.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Parlor Tricks Or Evil Entity? This is a really entertaining game, BUT, Haunted Hotel: Eclipse was much more sinister. Abraham Shadowy, a mechanical engineer has renovated an old house into a theatrical Haunted House full of mechanical parlor tricks. When guests begin to disappear you and your partner James are called in to investigate this strange case, but so far the only thing paranormal is the owners odd behavior. This is a well produced game with good cinematics and because the game is based upon mechanics, there are lot's of mechanical gadgets to repair and tinker with in every scene. In my opinion, this is a very easy game, everything is logical including the mini games. There are 12 Egyptian canopic jars to collect, which will also give you a brief bio about the person whose ashes they contain as well as the usual achievements to earn. There are plus indicators on some items requiring you to fix that item before it will be available such as an Amulet of Light and a mechanical scarab which will assist you in your investigation. The Hidden Object Scenes are well done, interactive list finds and there seems to be a decent amount of them. The mini games are very easy in my opinion, but they do seem to become more complex as you progress. They range anywhere from matching alike lock pics, memorizing a sequence of colored marbles and replicating them after the lid is closed, adjusting mirrors until a beam of light travels from one end to the other, and one of my favorites was swapping top and bottom colored gems so that those two colors would mix to make the colored gem in the middle. This game is fun, somewhat relaxing due to it's simplicity, but at least in the demo, not scary in the least bit. Every scene has several areas of interest and lot's of gadgets to fix with an abundance of doable puzzles and mini games. If you don't compare this game to it's predecessor, if you judge this game solely on it's own merits then you've got yourself a great game, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than the original game of Haunted Hotel When I downloaded the game, I was surprised to see that I had 90 mins to play instead of 60 mins. I really like the game. It is different from the original game. In the original game of Haunted Hotel, all you do is go to the same rooms and look for hidden objects. In this game, you play different games. There are some hidden object games. I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ahh the Elephant team did it once again :) O.k., who does this hotel owner think he is telling James he shouldn't of bought his assistant? Why, because he probably knows his assistant will get down to business and found out what is going on. Anyhoo, this is one truly awesome game by our friends at Elephant games. The VO's are done fantastically. The hotel had a Ravenhurst feel to it. I love the spooky atmosphere of these games. And no there isn't no cute little animals in this game, but we do have a mechanical scarab helping us out which is a new twist. There is 3 modes, Casual, Expert, and Hard. Story: This Abraham Shadowy (who I don't trust worth a hill or beans), wanted to open up this hotel and turn it into a spooky attraction for his guests when his hotel turned out to be the real deal. Shadowy, not liking what's going on, called on James (that one hunk of a detective) to find out what is actually going on and that the hotel is actually haunted. But for some reason, he didn't want James to bring along his female assistant. That guy is suspicious or possessed from the word 'go'. It's up to us to find out what is actually going on. Graphics: Top grade graphics. The art team did a splendid job. Yep it hit the spooky factor. These are the type of graphics where you are waiting for something to pop out at you. Music: Definitely adds to this game. The music was done superbly. Makes the creep factor go up more. Love it! H0GS: So far only ran into the word lists with the yellow words to do that extra step. Not sure if there will be different ones down the road. Map: Very well done with blue tacks telling you where to go next and the orange flag is the character. It is a jump map. Mini Games: The ones I ran into so far were nice, easy and enjoyable. Don't know what the game has to offer further along in the game. All in all this is a definite 10/10 game IMHO. I am truly enjoying it, and looking forward to the rest of it.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun I liked the Egyptian theme. Loved how many rooms are in the hotel. Hidden object scenes were a little too easy.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Based on Entire game played....HH #6- Ancient Bane To reiterate: THIS IS BASED ON FULL GAME PLAYED AND BONUS. And I've played all the other Haunted Hotels except for #5. SCREENSAVER in CE content: This ss deserves its own category because it is so way cool. If ONLY it would have stayed with the computer after the game was removed such as the Fear for Sale CE's! STORY: Abraham Shadowy buys a hotel to use as a haunted attraction but people that visit there have disappeared. (NOTE: You do not save these people in segmented chapter stories, which actually would have made this game a million times better.... but rather you save them all at once at the end as a finale#. Weirdly, there is an Egyptian Goolie that runs throughout and haunts this house. So you are at odds when the house has "haunted contraptions" A. Shadowy has built for entertainment....I just wish they'd chosen a theme and gone with it. This HH is mostly based inside the hotel itself, in its basement or surrounding gardens. I wish they'd taken us more into the hotel's surrounding outside areas. Graphics & voice overs well done. I actually liked HH Charles Dexter Ward better. -because Charles Dexter has a lot more outdoor gorgeous scenery-. This HH is mostly based inside the hotel itself, in its basement or surrounding gardens. CE specialties: 1 SCREENSAVER....that removes with the game, Wallpapers, --- who cares for, Concept art, music. but its there- Achiev. / collect 12 Egyptian obj. BONUS PLAY: I was bummed. The gameplay for bonus is mostly played off the area in the basement, I wasn't a huge fan, it could have used more newly drawn areas. Making this Haunted Hotel GOOD Not Great. SIMILAR GAMES: If you liked this game try these: I really liked all of them- 1. House on Haunted Hill - story almost exactly the same- 2. Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor 3. Shiver: Poltergeist 4. Lake house: Children of Silence DEVELOPERS: STICK TO HH 4 Charles Dexter Ward, with outside scenery to break the monotony, Add more Screensavers that stick with the computer after game removal. It will only remind Bigfishers they loved your game and buy the next one. And drop Concept art and savable music-most of us turn the music off, it isn't a LURE!- Its a detriment! Instead add content on WHO YOU ARE, AND HOW THE GAME WAS MADE, See how the game Fright CE did this to perfection. We are fascinated by YOU people behind the scenes, and love seeing who is making these awesome games for us!! Thanks! A SUPER, MAJOR, Big fish fan
Date published: 2014-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great game but seemed to drop off towards the end The story is very good, the graphics are good and the puzzles are fun and original. I enjoyed this game. I would have given it top ratings, however towards the end I found the story became incoherent and I was simply “map hopping” to finish the game.
Date published: 2014-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good but not the best I think this game was fun but quite ordinary. Love Elephant games, but realize that the games are different according to severity. Anyhow, I recommend this game.
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not the best of the 3 previous games... Hi all. I have the first 3 Haunted Hotel games and liked them all (Haunted Hotel: Believe the Lies; HH: Charles Dexter Ward and HH: Eclipse). The colors are very bright with very clear graphics. Game play was very good, no problems at all. Music was a little odd to me, in that it would build like something was about to happen, so you get ready for it, but then just drops off with nothing. Voice overs were well done. The "bad guy" had a very sinister voice. There really isn't much in the way of sound FX either. Other than the music and the occasional dialog, it is a pretty quiet game. The jump map areas are marked, so you don't have to guess which is what #thank you!#. Hint system fills very quickly and is quite helpful. Since the hint actually teleports you to the next location, you really don't need to use the SG or the map. There is a lot of back tracking on this one, so grab an extra pair of tennis shoes, you will need them. Usually the lead in scene is what will grab me and pique my interest. This one was lacking in excitement and didn't make much sense to me, with not much of anything leading into the actual story. There are a lot of Egyptian items that you pick up here and there, but the story is not in Egypt and didn't explain why these artifacts are collected. Maybe it does as the game progresses. The HOPs are the usual, fairly clean and items are easy to spot. Puzzles weren't difficult, but as the game progressed, the puzzles took a bit more thought to complete. The only collectibles that I could find were the Egyptian canopic jars. Each jar told you who was interred in the jar...a little history here. I don't really care about achievements and whether or not I get them, but the collectibles make a game more challenging and fun. The jars are either difficult to see, or I'm just missing them, as I only found 2 during the demo. I was surprised at the lack of challenge in this game, after playing the other 3. It seemed that the devs got a bit lazy with this one...again. I liked it well enough to want to add it to my every growing collection of games, but right now I'm not too sure I want to get the CE. I have been known to change my mind. A beginner will find this one challenging, but us old timers might not. I will put this in my puddle and think on it a bit. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Familiar gameplay. Gonna buy this game. It is not unique. It is just what it is, a continuation of the same type game from this dev. don't expect to be wowed.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Haunted Hotel Ancient Bane a bit disappointing... Elephant developers create wonderful games. The first reviewer of this game gives you enough information about this entire adventure. I liked Haunted Hotel Eclipse better. Play the demo and see if you like it.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nicely done Very nicely done with very good visual and sound. HOs were nothing new but excellently hidden objects and puzzle were not too taxing, and I do not care for puzzles, so good for me. Storyline is not new but is still interesting. My favorite thing was the map as it only sends you to where you can do something now. I didn't use the guide so will wait for the SE to come out, but will definitely get this one. Oh, and I love the Demos that have a segment of the game you can play and not timed so it cuts off right in the middle of something you're doing.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quite Ordinary This is based on the demo. I found the game to be nothing out of the ordinary. The game was very predictable even to the point of being "old hat." The puzzles were very easy and the graphics were very nice. The voice overs were done very well. The story line was the run of the mill kind with vanishing guests. It had a good map that worked well. I got bored with the game about half hour into it. But stuck with it. all in all not a bad game but not a five star. I will probably buy the SE version with free game credit. But to me it just not a CE priced game.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from James Is The Redeeming Feature BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS Based on the intro cut-scene alone, I probably wouldn’t buy this game. Yup, it really is that bad. I played the beta for this, and assumed that the appallingly poor quality of graphics was because it was the rough draft. I can’t believe Elephant of all people would allow so many errors and sloppy editing to go through! Add to that my general dislike for steam punk and mechanised puppets, this game really started off badly for me. It improves. But not as much as I’d have liked. The biggest redeeming feature is James, our intelligent and attractive (at some angles) detective friend – better looking than M. Dupin, he has a lovely speaking voice, he is more affectionate (he calls us dear, hope that won’t make the male players feel too uncomfortable!), and, unlike Dupin, he is not shy – there is a wallpaper featuring him! SIGHTS & SOUNDS After the shocking intro, the graphics settled down to be only truly amazing again *wink*. It doesn’t matter how many of these games I see, every time I see this level of visual quality I am floored again. It is magic! The images of James are inconsistent, and he looks completely different depending on the angle, but otherwise the art is superb. The music really, really annoyed me. It is dramatic and interesting, yes, but too much so, and I usually like interesting music. Ambience was nothing special, but the voice work was excellently done. WHAT’S HAPPENING? Inventor/mechanic Abraham Shadowy (yeah, I know) takes over a supposedly haunted hotel, to much controversy, but soon asks our detective friend James for help, because his guests start going missing. Yet, on arrival, he is not there to meet us, and when we find our own way in, he announces that James was invited, but his assistant (us) wasn’t! Huh! I suspect his motives. Could it be he hoped to lure James here under false pretences? Was that the allegedly missing scientist Shadowy just dragged through into the secret room? And why exactly are we NOT following? There are some great creepy moments in this one, and even this early there are scenes I just love to look at. Knives defying gravity in the dining room? THAT’S not my imagination! GAMEPLAY The gameplay is stock standard. HOPs with interactive word lists, beautifully done, but no variety there. The puzzles are also very cleverly and attractively woven into the story, but are not original in concept. There is a notebook, task list, interactive jump map, and teleporting hint. There are 3 levels of difficult but no custom options. You have a tiny mechanised scarab beetle to get into tricky places. None of this is going to jump out at you and say “Wow!” CE BLING! The bling! also doesn’t scream fantastic either, and is a little disappointing compared to Elephant’s usual. We have gallery items of course: wallpapers x 9, concept art x 9, music x 4, screensaver x 1. There are only about 9 achievements – performance based. And about the same number of collectible Egyptian canubic jars. Again, nothing much, unless I missed a set of morphing objects or something. COMBINED IMPACT This is still an above average game, so it gets its four stars, but it is not the game I expected it to be.
Date published: 2014-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not that great - Quite a disappointment Some of the puzzles were okay. But many had little or no instructions, and in some cases the instructions were just plain incorrect. Traveling hither and yon was also quite confusing. Without the map and teleporting, it would have been almost impossible. I'm sorry now that I wasted money on this game.
Date published: 2016-05-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lackluster James is as annoying as ever. He takes all the credit for being a great detective even though you do all the work and rescue him on a number of occasions. I wish they just killed him off or something. This series doesn't need him. The story was uninspired and unengaging. The bonus game had a cliche story.
Date published: 2015-07-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful eye candy, but no meat in the game You get your usual wonderful graphics here from Elephant games. Apart from that this game is not up to par with what I am accustomed to from this company. Many, many spelling errors, mislabeled objects in the hidden object scenes, grammar mistakes, it just seemed sloppy. I was not drawn into the story line, nor did I care if the heroine stopped the villain or not. I was just bored with it. You are playing the assistant but the detective can't seem to do anything and you end up saving him. Not much challenge but a few if the puzzles made me work the gray matter a bit. Some of the hidden objects scenes were actually quite alive and beautiful. The game ran fine on my PC, no glitches or problems. I do think the game is too short for a CE.
Date published: 2014-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from LOTS OF LOCATIONS lots of locations and i like that ... hos were ok though pretty easy; puzzles pretty good, but not spectacular ... not a problem for me, but several of the items you are looking for in the game, not the hos, are mis-named and confusing ... the artwork is great, but there is NO MUSIC ... so i found myself not having the FUN experience that i look for ... it seems like a long game, which i also like, but there's something about the continuity that makes it a bit tedious ... still its a decent game ... i bought it because i have everything else! ... still playing ... will keep this one for my "background" game ... always looking for the 5 star games, but today it's only 3 ... this game is ok, but it needed a bit more attention to GAMEPLAY, speed and connecting the story to the search ... and of course FUN ... i did laugh at the comments "this place is messing with my mind" ... i LOVE those snarky comments ... i want fun! ... give it to me! ... at least there are no technical difficulties ... yaaayhh!
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sloppy! I wanted to like this game, but the overall mediocrity and frankly, sloppy quality makes me think they should send this one back to development. Or at least fire the QC guy. From a developer of this caliber, I would expect them to at least identify the objects in the HO games correctly. They asked for a "pen" when the object they wanted me to find was piece of jewelry -- a pin or brooch, a "comb" that was actually a hairbrush, a "shackle" which turned out to be an earring, and an "angel" which I discovered was a representation of Ra or Horus! The graphics are nothing special and I know that several of the other developers out there are doing much higher quality animation, so it isn't as if it's not possible. Even the individual scenes felt rather shallow and one dimensional. There's no complexity here. I enjoyed the visual quality of Haunted Manor: Painted Beauties much more. I only played the demo, but the "haunts" at this haunted hotel were not even particularly interesting, much less scary. Maybe it gets better if you play the entire game, but I doubt it. Can't make any further judgment about the story, apart from the fact it didn't make me feel compelled to buy it. Sorry James, you're on your own on this one. I'm going back to Dupin.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not CE Worthy Even though I had tech problems playing the demo, I did play 60 minutes of the trial or thereabout. I love the original Haunted Hotel games, and the last one, Eclipse, was not bad at all. This one, however, looks like the team was on coffee break and the game was thrown together. The graphics are good. There are quite a few HOS and they are standard list. There are misspellings that make finding objects difficult. The mini games were difficult, not because of the nature of them, but because some of the directions were either wrong or impossible to follow. There are only about 10 or less achievements, all game related, and some artifacts to find. The game could have been so much more. There is absolutely no fright factor... such as eerie noises, a spooky ambiance, etc. I found myself slogging through the demo looking for anything at all to grab my attention. It lacked oomph and luster. With the tech issues, the lack of any CE bling, and the absolute dullness of the game, along with a large developer putting out a game with glaring translation errors, I don't recommend this game. Not as a CE, and probably not even as an SE.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A little Haunted on this one. Like the little eerie scares here and there. Nice touches. Ho's were fairly good. Characters and story were great as well as scenery and scenes. Puzzle not too challenging so makes for a easy breezy game. Like the bugs and such for atmosphere as well as the music. Jump map helped save time for some back and forth type stuff. Lots to do and great game for beginners. But like one not too long ago goes on my bottom of list to buy.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from One more okay game Haunted Hotel:Ancient Bane comes to us with three levels, mildly interactive HOPs, okay mini-games, well-done VO's, and an okay storyline. You are the assistant to a detective, who has been called in to investigate the disappearance of guests at a"Haunted" hotel. Is it a publicity stunt or a real haunting? The owner is acting suspiciously, there are strange machines and happenings around every corner and you start out investigating. I think there is potential here and, if the story had drawn me in more, I would have bought it. As it is, I'll wait for an SE. I'll recommend it as an okay game. Please try before you buy.
Date published: 2014-05-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not The Greatest This game is not up to Elephant's usual standard. There are several translation errors; I spent ages looking for a pen - it turned out to be a brooch (I presume they meant pin!) In another scene I was looking for a comb - they meant brush. This is not good enough, especially when there are achievements to aim for. It was nice to be given 90 minutes to trial the game, but after 40 minutes or so I was getting bored and had to take a break. I will wait for the SE - I don't think I could bear to play the full game and then have to wade through a bonus as well. But as always - try it for yourself.
Date published: 2014-05-29
  • y_2017, m_10, d_21, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_en_US, sid_21060, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Hotel: Ancient Bane Collector's Edition

Guests keep disappearing from a gimmicky haunted hotel. Is there someone pulling the strings, or are these ghosts actually real?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.