Amaranthine Voyage: The Shadow of Torment Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Amaranthine Voyage: The Shadow of Torment Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(398.85 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Eipix, the studio who brought you Hidden Expedition: Smithsonian Hope Diamond, presents another Amaranthine Voyage!

Long ago, Anther was a realm of beauty and magic, but the appearance of a being named Torment drained their magic and forced the survivors to flee to a world called Earth. Years later, one of their artifacts has been uncovered, reopening the way between both worlds. You must enter the portal and stop Torment before it turns its sights toward Earth. An ancient prophecy declares that you will be the one to save both worlds, but will it come true? Find out in this breathtaking Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

This is a special Collector's Edition release full of exclusive extras you won't find in the standard version. As a bonus, Collector's Edition purchases count toward three stamps on your Monthly Game Club Punch Card!

The Collector's Edition includes:

  • A thrilling bonus adventure with Professor Burns' protégé!
  • Unlock mini-games to extend the challenge
  • Music, wallpapers, concept art, and more!
  • An available Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1185 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Amaranthine Voyage: The Shadow of Torment Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(398.85 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Amaranthine Voyage: The Shadow of Torment Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good HOG Seeing the developer's name when this game started made me very happy. They really know how to pack extras into a game that make it worthy of the title "collector's edition". It's s good story, graphics are great, there is variation in the type of HO play, and the mini games aren't too impossibly difficult. What really brings the game up in the ranks is the number of extras - it's possible to see how many collectibles you're acquired and to back into each scene where you've missed one; similarly where you've missed extra hidden items in some scenes. Finding morhping objects in HO scenes unlock HO scenes from earlier Eipix games. There's a "making of" extra which opens with gameplay. One of those rare games you want to play again.
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from About Bonuses There are lots of praises for the game, so I'll just say that I, too, loved it. Of note, in the bonuses. After you finish the bonus chapter, be sure to check out the Souveneres (sp?). It's a whole 'nuther game. + if you go into the flowers you can go get the ones you missed. Neat additions! As for the morphing objects, you can probably go back into the Objects and re-do them all to find them, but I didn't do that one.
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My thoughts I could not leave the game alone. You begin to feel you are actually there with the people in the story. The ending was not what I thought it would be. Buy it..you will like it!
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's a winner for me even if it is fantasy... In Eipix Entertainment's hidden-object adventure Amaranthine Voyage: The Shadow of Torment, an archaeological dig goes awry when your students activate a strange artifact that looks like a Fabergé egg and a perfume bottle owned by a 1920s madame had a baby. Soon, you find yourself in a mysterious, fantastical world beset by a danger known only as The Torment. With a student who has about as much restraint as Dee Dee, you must stop the threat if you want to find a way back home by solving hidden-object scenes and puzzles, as any legendary hero would do. Hope you like pink and purple lens flares! I usually find it hard to get into the fluffier fantasy games. But, you guys, this game is so pretty. Eipix seems to have pulled out all the stops, and fluid animation and a veritable riot of colour in every conceivable hue (... but especially pink and purple... ) with environments packed to the gills in detail makes The Shadow of Torment a nonstop feast for the eyes. Though burdened by a lot of back and forth, the story is interesting and the characters are lively in a way that makes this the sort of "all ages" game that really doesn't need to have an asterisk with "... but mostly for the little'uns" attached. Admittedly, if you're not into cute fantasy creatures and nonstop visual effects it might be a bit much to take, but hey, that's what demos are for. There's actually very few times the game isn't just hurling minigames and puzzles at you, which keeps things interesting, though on the whole the difficulty level is still set fairly low. I recommend this for all gamers. Thank you Bigfish!!!
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a fun game! I've come to love Eipix fantasy games. Here's what I found great: -Colorful, bright graphics -Easy to see HOGS (now you do have work a bit on some) -Challenging but not impossible mini-games. Although I did have to use the strategy guide to get the point of a few. -Fun story -A really great break from all the dark, gloomy games around now -Even the credits are funny! You MUST read them if you want a good chuckle.
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Fun! I actually really like this one! :)
Date published: 2014-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Game I've played! I tried the demo and thought the game was so great that I bought it. It's a long game which is a plus, plus, plus. I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from If you don't like fantasy JUST DON'T BUY IT,DON'T TRASH IT! THIS IS A WONDERFUL MAGICAL GAME! I never give 5's but this deserves it. The extra Bling is awesome. 41 Flowers to collect. Access to 3 other HOPs as you collect paintings: Chinese Healer, AV Living Mountain and Sea of Lies: Mutiny... I played day early 74 minutes, entire demo. This is a must buy for me. Didn't see any morphs but I was so woo'ed by the visuals I might have missed any. Really FUN puzzles. Give it a go - it's worth your time.
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FABULOUS! JUST FABULOUS! based on demo ... i just KNOW this is going to be a GREAT GAME! ... i LOVE LOVE LOVE the mini games ... and thank you so much for a game that does NOT involve children ... been desperate for something less juvenile! ... the quality of EVERYTHING is wonderful ... GAMEPLAY is smooth ... INTERACTION is right on pace, and HOORAY! ... no technical difficulties ... EIPIX has come a LONG WAY from those problem games several months ago ... as a game fanatic, i am truly grateful! ... this one is a WINNER!
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh yes, gotta have it! Hi all. Well, here is the second in the Amaranthine series. The first was an excellent game and this one is even better. The graphics, animation and voice overs are extremely well done. Voices actually had some emotion and didn't sound like someone was just reading a script. Game play was excellent, no problems and filled my large screen completely. The colors were wonderful. Some were a bit muted, but it depends on where you are in the scenery and how the sunlight, or even just the light, would bounce off of something. Very well done and very realistic. Music was quite nice and moved with what was happening at the time. To be quite honest with you, I got so engrossed in the game, and found that it flowed so well, that I didn't even open the map or the SG. That is a major plus for me. The hint system was quite helpful and teleported you if you had a long distance to travel to the hint location, rather than just keep telling you to go back. Big time saver, so you have more time for the game. The hint recharged fairly quickly. HOPs were very clean and clear, no junk piles. Items were not difficult to find. Some were the standard word HOP and others were silhouettes. These were done a bit differently, in that you had "sections" to do and did not have everything listed at once, so you were searching different areas for items. You also have 17 morphing objects to find in the HOPs. They aren't really difficult to see, you just have to remember to look for them. Puzzles were not difficult, but some were different and a little challenging. The only collectibles I found were the 41 flowers of remembrance, which were not too difficult to find. Some are tucked away, so you have to look for them. You had to find jewel shards for a "tool" you use during the game, which give you another item to use within the game. You find other parts and pieces in the game that provide you with pieces of the story as you go along. There are numerous achievements as well. No, the story isn't new, but I found this game to be extremely well done, fun and interesting. I believe this one will appeal to all levels of players. I do not give 5 stars easily, but this one has it all, with enough challenge to keep you moving and wanting more. Yes, I am definitely going to purchase this game to add to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Lovely Game This developer knows how to create a lovely, entertaining, and cinematic game. Good visuals, nice puzzles, the ability to combine items in inventory, interesting HOP scenes. This game will provide me several hours of fun and relaxation, I feel sure. I also find that after a few months have elapsed, I can replay a game like this and it's almost like a new experience, so very good value for money. Happy gaming! :-)
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING! WHERE DO I START??? Just when I was bored with bf and more than ready to cancel this gem popped up.It's great has collectables and morph's in hos.And they stepped up the hos made them bigger and better and different.and only one clock to set.and only a few keys to find.overall just a fun and great game.only con was it's short.about 3 to 4 hrs.about to start the bonus.give it a try.you will not be sorry
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can You Help Save the World of Anther? Clearly, another Amaranthine blockbuster game. Storyline: You are acting as Professor Burns, who happened upon an archeological dig just as an "accident" occurs. An artifact has been found. Professor Burns hollers at the 2 girls (one an historian and one a student) not to touch it .. but, of course, they do. A flash! They are enveloped in a globe of power. He tries to throw another found artifact into it but it just gets stuck. You arrive in time to save the day. There is a prophecy that says YOU/Professor Burns will save the world of Anther. It turns out that Amelia (the historian) is actually from Anther. But, guess what? So is Professor Burns. Is anyone from Planet Earth anymore? Graphics and Sound: Amazing, amazing and amazing. Graphics are stunning. Most times I just wanted to stop and look around at everything. Music must not have been annoying as I didn't feel the need to turn it down. HOGs and Mini Games: The HOGs were mostly 3-part silhouettes or an itemized list with the final item being found by a riddle you need to solve. Cool. I did not find anything difficult to find. You could opt to play a bubble popper game. There is a morphing object in each HOG scene (17) The mini games were new, fresh, innovative and, while not terribly difficult, did require some thought. There are 4 modes of difficulty: Casual/Expert/Insane and Custom. You find a journal but don't use it as normal fare. There is a transportable map which shows where you are, where an objective is and where you can go look. It also has a tab with the most detailed task list I've ever seen. Your inventory also holds Plus Items. CE Bling: Customary fare such as .... Strategy Guide, Bonus Game, Pictures (12), Wallpaper (8), Achievements (18 x 3 each), Replay Puzzles, Making Of, Music (14 tracks), Movies (27) As well as: Collect 41 Flowers of Remembrance (1 in each area) 17 Morphing Objects - one in each HOG Lore Book, Souvenir Room HOP from Myths around the World HOP from Armaranthine Voyage: The Living Mountain HOP from Sea of Lies: Mutiny of the Heart So, all in all, LOTS of CE Bling. There hasn't been much worth purchasing lately (CE OR SE) which has been very disappointing. So, imagine my excitement when I was hooked within the first 15 minutes of game play. Not only is this game a definite CE purchase for me, but I encourage everyone to try the demo. It's free and an amazing 90 minutes long. You don't need to have played the 2 previous games in this series to enjoy this one. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fly Away in a Great New Amaranthine Voyage Dr. Burns is back and in this Amaranthine Voyage she is with an archaeological group that gets into trouble at an excavation site. You play the game as Dr. Burns who opens a portal to Anther, a world that has been plagued by a mysterious force called Torment. Anther is an idyllic world where everyone lived in harmony until Torment unleashed a devastating blight upon the world. You soon learn of the prophecy that the brave one and someone of pure heart will come to save Anther – perhaps the brave one is you! The opening cinematic for the game is wonderful and gives us a hint of what is to come. The graphics are excellent and colorful, although in some scenes they appear muted and not as vibrant as I like. The sound package for Amaranthine Voyage is probably one of the best I’ve heard in recent games, of course with this developer; most of their sound packages are top-notch. I found the voiceovers to be very realistic and they enhanced the visual characters which were extremely well depicted. Early in the game we will find a map that is set up a bit differently than those normally found. There is a pocket on the right side of the map with pull out cards that contain information on the current objective. The map itself is the interactive transporter type that I like since it is often one of my most helpful tools. Although there isn’t a journal, I don’t think one is necessary since the objective cards in the map’s pocket seem to provide most of the information needed. Another tool that we acquire early in the game is an orb that requires shards to activate it. As a shard is inserted into the orb there is a mini-puzzle to complete to activate it. The hint is helpful in that it will transport us to the area where something is to be done. The HOPs are interactive and multi-level, which is standard for EIPIX. For the most part the items are not too difficult to find but sometimes the riddle at the end made no sense and I admit to using the hint. If you would rather not complete the HO scenes, you have the option of switching to a bubble-shooter game but once the items are found you still must answer the riddle to progress. The puzzles are interesting and I even encountered one that was different from what we normally find. Although most of the puzzles were fairly easy which is becoming typical in most games now, I still enjoyed them and even a few were a bit challenging. During the game you will collect 41 Flowers of Remembrance to find. Of course there are achievements that can be earned that are mostly gameplay-based. Along with collectibles and achievements we have a bonus chapter, the SG and various other frills to entice us to purchase the CE. Amaranthine Voyage the Shadow of Torment is, IMHO, better that the others in the series and promises to be a bit more exciting in the long run. When the demo ended I was left wanting more and couldn’t wait to hit that buy button. As always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Save Anther from the Torment! Another lovely graphic feast from this developer. It seems to have nothing to do with the previous Amaranthine games, although you still play Professor Burns. Your team finds an artifact, which eventually allows you to uncover the Vault Seal and enter Anther, a gorgeous world of flowers except for the dark smoke circling around! The voice-overs are spot on. The HOPs are multi-faceted with silhouettes and lists and riddles, or byou can play a Bubble Popper instead. The CE bling is outstanding -- 17 morphing objects inside the HOPs, 41 flowers of remembrance to find, with a Bonus game, the Flower Collection, the Souvenir Room, the Making of video, plus 3 HOPs from previous games to win access to. A thoroughly enjoyable game!
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from at long last...a fine game I have the other Amaranthine entries and had high hopes for the Shadow of Torment when the demo was introduced. However there have been some new games recently that have been fair to middling or downright awful. In fact, Eipix who usually create really good offerings, has laid a couple of rotten eggs in the last 2 months. With the demo of this Amaranthine I can pronounce this game a winner. This series certainly provides the player with top notch fantasy without resorting to cute creatures and goblins, trolls, etc. The story line is far out but in a more believable type of atmosphere. The player finds him or herself tasked with saving an alternate world called Anther by facing and ultimately defeating the evil Torment. As with past entries, our hero (ine ) immediately meets someone who was perceived initially as an ally but turns out to be a henchman of the Torment. We enter the Anther world and this is where the fun starts. As with previous Amaranthines, the graphics are stellar. There are combinations of hidden object segments such as finding a named item or seeking somewhat silhouetted objects. I always enjoy having the variety. The puzzles in the demo are rather straightforward and posed no difficulty. I hope they get more challenging as the game continues. As I mentioned earlier, after a large amount of dud games ( IMO ) Amaranthine gives the player something to marvel at and set one's teeth into. For those uninitiated in the series, it is not necessary to have played the prior games as they all stand alone. It's a buy for me and I at least hope gamers give this solid entry a whirl.
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally Awesome I just started the game and I am enthralled. I played the previous Amaranthine Voyage games but this excels beyond anything I played before. Craft -man - ship of this game is unbelievable. One must congratulate Eirix - they have lived up to their name - and created another world. Love it!
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Professor Burns is back! Based on the completed demo 69/90 minutes. I thoroughly enjoyed Tree of Life and Living Mountain and here is #3! What a treat! Sadly the portals and black smoke are back, but that was always going to be the case in an Amaranthine Voyage and they are interwoven into the story well. As with episodes 1 and 2, the doughty professor is drawn into a world under threat and must save the day but this time needs an 'innocent' to help her; enter Victoria the rather dim but terribly enthusiastic student. Visual/sound quality was brilliant as ever from this (seemingly very busy at the moment) developer. The occasional purplish scene, which no doubt some will moan about but mainly bright and colourful. Music was appropriate to the scene. Challenge was a good mix with some very straightforward puzzles and others (including HOSs) really very challenging. I encountered 3 HOSs during the demo. All had morphing objects within (and an indicator to remind you). The first was a 3 stage silhouette puzzle and the other two were lists with a couple of interactive elements, one of them over three stages. All three finished with a riddle to find the desired object, which were quite tricky. There is a bubble popper alternative. Massive CE bling: * Bonus chapter * Flower collection (41 flowers of remembrance to find with a helpful indicator to remind you) * Souvenir Room * Lore Book * Find Objects (replay HOSs) * Puzzle (replay puzzles) * 3 HOSs from other games to play (you find them in the game to activate) * 18 achievements some with 3 levels * Making of *Movies/Music/Pictures * 4 gameplay levels; Casual/Expert/Insane/Custom All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable game and, as I cannot resist this developer, it will be a buy for me come the weekend. Oh, and BTW, no issues or glitches for me. Fast download and smooth play. Windows 7 Highly recommended for a trial!
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting Fun Game Have only played the demo and a then a few minutes of the purchased game, but it appears to be very interesting. The level of challenge may not be "excellent", but it's a good game. I'm still using the help files and will for another five or ten minutes, but it seems pretty interesting.
Date published: 2015-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A few bumps in the flow but overall an enjoyable game I've played all of the Amaranthine games and I've enjoyed the storylines. This game was in the same vein as the previous in the series. If there is one complaint is has to do with more than a couple of the puzzles; the instructions were vague. I play at the intermediate level and consider it cheating if I look at the player's guide offered in the CE's but there was a few puzzles I had to look at the guide to discern what was the objective.
Date published: 2014-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This could have been great I understand that there is a collaboration of talents when making these games. There were a few puzzles that were not adequately explained and seemed completely illogical. The Strategy Guide was generally worthless for this. If not for that frustration I would have given it a higher rating.
Date published: 2014-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful From the introduction, to the very end of the puzzle, this game gave to me, what i've been looking for in a game. Not only strategy, but bonus items, and morphing items. The music and scene brilliance made the game relaxing. Items were visible to see, unlike many other games, when you are looking for a book, you find something else. The game wasn't too hard, or too easy, I highly recommend this game. The extra content and bonus play after you've beaten the game is quite the bonus for this game. Thank you Eipix for such a beautiful game.
Date published: 2014-08-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Enjoyable Game ... Great Graphics, Sounds & So On ... An Enjoyable Game, And Good Value On Special ... As Is Often The Case I Wasn't Overly Thrilled By The Extra Chapter ...
Date published: 2014-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Amaranthine Amarathine Voyage me over to that Shadow thing. Great cut scenes and nice smooth flow for game play. Comes with a good jump map. I like collecting the little flowers. The HO's had the morphing objects along with shadow images to find and a continued HO once one screen was done and a riddle to solve at the end of each. Too much for you. No problem switch over to their marble shooter game instead. I tried the Marble shooter on one HO just because I could not find a mask and did not want to use the hint button. Good characters with beautiful scenes. This goes on the to buy list.
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everything I Loved About Amaranthine Voyage Is Gone! Remember those really unique Hidden Object Scenes that time warped you to the same scene in a different time? Gone! The gorgeous graphics with vibrant colors? Gone! With that being said, this is still a good game, but I can't help but to compare this game to the other two. Professor Burns is now one of the "chosen" fulfilling the prophecy of the world of Anther. The brave-hearted will bring forth the pure-hearted and save their world from destruction, but did the prophecy foresee the pearl being stolen by......... The Hidden Object Scenes are sketches of silhouetted shapes, several items must be found which will trigger the next scene which zooms in and then out quickly focusing on a new scene. There is a morphing object within the scene and you have the option of switching to a bubble shoot game. The mini games range from simple to complicated, repeating sequences etc. I loved the mini game that required you to use directional arrows to move the center jigsaw piece toward several other pieces which would lock onto the main piece when touched, but, you have to assemble the puzzle in a specific order or the puzzle will be to large to reach corner pieces. There are 41 Flowers of Remembrance to collect and they have done a very nice job concealing them. You will also find lost paintings that will allow you access to a HOP from another game, Myths of the World: Chinese Healer, Amaranthine Voyage: The Living Mountain, and Sea of Lies: Mutiny of the Heart! This Collector's Edition has all kinds of extras, a Bonus Game, Flower Collection, Pictures, Achievements, Lore Book, Making of, Puzzles, Music, Movies, Bubble Popper, Finding Objects and of course, a built in Strategy Guide, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Somthing To Think About. !!!! Still don't know if it's a buy for me. I did not go far into the game. Just in case. I'm enjoying the HO'S so far. Story just alright. Still waiting for that awesome game. Some of the story some what child like sorry for this.
Date published: 2014-07-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I have played the previous games in this series and beta tested this one, but despite really enjoying the others, this one just didn't grab me for some reason. The graphics are lovely and I love the fantasy genre, but will pass on this CE...sorry!
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a buy for me I played 20 minutes of the demo and just wasn't excited with this game. There are too many cut scenes, to many objectives popping up and a lot of dialog which you can skip. You had four levels of play including custom which is how I set mine up because I want as little help as possible. The graphics were okay, music was non-memorable. HOS scenes were shadow (outlines) items that you look for, very easy and the mini games I played were extremely easy. Overall, probably a very good game for adventure beginners but definitely not for expert players.
Date published: 2014-08-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great CE Extras, Boring Game BASED ON DEMO I bought the second Amaranthine Voyage and regret doing so immensely, so I did not have high hopes for this game. While this game is better than I expected, I will not be buying. However, I know that people who like this sort of game will enjoy it. The story did not appeal to me; it did have some impressive moments, but overall I found it a bit messy and unexplained. Let's take the beginning for example: Out of nowhere- BAM! Someone's threatening us with a gun. This was not explained during the demo and made the story confusing. The concept of this story is essentially the same as the last- there is a prophecy in another world and you are set to fulfill it- but the story itself could not be more different. However, this is not a good different. Unlike its predecessor, Shadow of Torment did not excite me very much at all. I found the plot very boring, and the supposed plot twists were just not that appealing. Some, I'd even go as far as to call stupid. Overall, a very weak story that I did not enjoy one bit. The demo is very short (I did not even reach 40 minutes), but for once, I am glad. I have no doubt that I would not have finished the demo had it been longer. What I really, really enjoyed about this game was the gameplay. I really liked the HOS: They were a mixture of new and old; a mixture of junkpile silhouette and word lists. I am glad that Eipix is catering for all HOS players here. In the HOS, there is also an alternative; bubbleshooter. I did try the bubbleshooter game, and I really enjoyed it. I used it for one entire scene, which is incredibly rare for me. As far as frequency goes, I think I ran in to 3 during the demo. This is a good number for me, as it means that there are equal parts of HOS, Puzzle and Adventure. The HOS are spaced out nicely too. The puzzles were a bit of a mixture for me: Some were hard and some were easy. Either way, they were nothing we haven't seen before. What I liked about the puzzles, though, was that some were split in to three parts. This meant that, even if they were a little hard, we could still solve one part and feel like a genius. Good job on this, Eipix! Eipix have added a couple of nice extra gameplay features. First, there are + objects, which are a nice addition to the game, although they are becoming standard now. These are items you must interact with to complete. The + does not change colour when the item is ready to be changed. Another feature was the magical orb thing. Although I thought it was nice, I also found it odd. I am confused as to its purpose in the game. From memory, I put a gem in the orb and came back with an item. What was the point of that? I don't know. If someone is going to put a new feature in, they have to make it useful! The final new feature here is the little flower game. Everytime you came up to one of those weird flower things, the screen would go purple and you'd have to click on some symbols. Again, this is pretty pointless, but it is really fun! I enjoyed it quite a lot. However, I was very disappointed to notice that the “bow and arrow” game from Amaranthine Voyage 2 is gone here. Instead, you just acquire a bow for your inventory and there is a cutscene every time you use it. A CUTSCENE??? Whoever got rid of the bow and arrow game really needs a lecture. That was one of the best parts about Amaranthine 2. The basic gameplay features are done pretty well, except for one thing. There is no Diary! Again! I don't know how many times I've had to say this lately, but a diary is one of the most important parts of the game! It helps me keep track of important parts of the story. I was so disappointed to find it missing. Developers must learn that a diary is important! However, other gameplay features were impressive. There was a map, 4 modes of difficulty, and a timer. I thought the timer was a great idea for those who like to see how long a game is. The graphics are decent, but definitely not up to standard of previous Eipix games. I recall the graphics in Amaranthine Voyage 2 being much better than this. I thought the colours were quite boring. I feel the developer could have done a much better job. That being said, the graphics were still quite clear. The voice-overs are standard. I have no issue. FEATURES 4 modes of difficulty: Casual, Advanced, Hard and Custom. Differences are standard. Custom lets you set the game your way. I played Casual. Hint/Skip- the hint recharged at a decent speed for Casual mode. Hint is helpful outside HOS. Map- I found the map to be quite helpful. It is interactive and lets you know where there are tasks to perform. Orb- This is something you acquire at the beginning of the game. I'm yet to discover its purpose. + objects- These are items you need to interact with to complete. There are quite a few of them in the game. CE EXCLUSIVES Bonus Chapter- doubt it will be needed Built in Strategy Guide. Achievements- there are quite a lot of them. I was surprised at how many there were. I think I counted in excess of 30. Collectible flowers (41)- one in each scene. There is an indicator to let you know if you have collected it or not. Morphing Objects (17)- HOS Only Replay HOS & Puzzles Re-watch cutscenes Bubbleshooter levels Souvenir room- one giant HOS basically. Lore Book Play HOS from other games- games include Sea of Lies: Mutiny of the Heart, Amaranthine 2 and Myths of the World: Chinese Healer. Unlocked when pictures corresponding to the game are found. Making of Wallpapers- (10) Concept Art Music WHICH IS THE BETTER BUY? I'm not going to buy this game, but I hands-down recommend the CE for anyone who does. The CE has so many extras in here. It's probably the most extras I've ever seen. I'm really impressed with all the effort Eipix has gone too to give us the ultimate gaming experience. If I was rating on CE Extras alone, there'd be no question of giving this a five. However, I'm not. I'm rating on the overall game, so three stars is the best I can do. I didn't like this one much at all, but those of you who like this sort of thing are sure to enjoy it. My only concern would be the length- as stated, I finished this game without even reaching 40 minutes on the demo. My advice? Be careful.
Date published: 2014-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's just okay! The graphics are grainy and pixy-like. The story line was boring ... still waiting for that great game. Not a buy for me.
Date published: 2014-08-01
  • y_2017, m_8, d_12, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_21381, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Amaranthine Voyage: The Shadow of Torment Collector's Edition

A mysterious artifact has been uncovered, opening a portal to another world!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.