Dark Sisterhood: The Initiation
Exclusive

Dark Sisterhood: The Initiation

PC

Adventure

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(334.69 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

After receiving a letter from an old friend, you start a journey to the remote island of Cold Peak, a place with its own traditions where people observe a forgotten way of life. In this village ruled by fear and arcane traditions, you are drawn into a web of ancient cults and murderous deceit, where villagers are bound together by the law of silence. In order to save a little girl's life, you will have to unveil the mystery surrounding a cruel witch-hunt and the events that triggered it. Gain the confidence of the secretive people of Cold Peak in order to get closer to the truth and save the innocent.

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 842 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Sisterhood: The Initiation

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(334.69 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Dark Sisterhood: The Initiation is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 56.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game Even after the bad reviews, I decided to get this game. I'm glad I did because I thoroughly enjoyed it. The voices were clear and good. The scenery was great and the HOs were good. I enjoyed finding the parts of hidden objects, too, although some of them were a little difficult to find. The story was okay, and I just thought it was a good little game for the weekend. Recommend!
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I gave it a chance Used a free game credit and am glad I did. Yes, it might seem "primitive" in comparison to other recent games but I welcomed the change from the usual lately. I was fine with graphics & sound, didn't experience any glitches, story was good, most puzzles pretty easy. I had fun playing this game and recommend it.
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I enjoyed this game. Can we have more like this please
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sigh...... I know I am in the minority here of liking the game, maybe, but I definitely want to give it a chance. I usually read some reviews before I submit mine but stopped after 3 because I didn't think this game was going to get a fair shake - at all. It is different if not slightly weird and somewhat disjointed until you play and finally get into that "zone". I believe it's meant to be during the time of the Salem Witch Trials as indicated by clothing, etc. The storyline is that you are racing to an island to rescue the daughter of your executed best friend and, in fact, in time see her whisked off by a whirlwind of roses - but to where and why? That is the crux of the game. You have to complete at least 3 quests in order to move on. After completing the quests you are given an object to help you get started in the next area. During the quests there are HOGs which I didn't find too difficult and DIYs (what I refer to as "do it yourself" items you need to get the pieces to complete). I hate those and in this game it can be difficult to tell when they've been completed - the color doesn't seem to change. The mini-games were not too difficult and I liked that the quest area was kept to a minimum without a lot of back and forth. That being said there is a jumpable map - very cool and a bush/hint button that is helpful but does take a moment or two to recharge. You will meet and chat with characters in the village who may or may not be helpful. So, saying all this, as I was playing the game I really couldn't decide whether I liked it enough to buy - did it give me that "wow" factor I look for. Not necessarily. But it did give me something else. A new and different type of game that is definitely not like the boilerplate games we've been getting lately and when the free trial ended (with 5 minutes to spare) I had hit that "zone" and wanted MORE. So, yes, I will purchase it with one of the many free codes I have because I have to know what happened to Lily, where she is and why the town is harboring ghosties and things that go bump in the night. Great for beginners. Experts probably not so much. This Glam-ma says play the free trial - you have nothing to lose but an hour of your time. I'm definitely getting it. It's just too different to pass up.
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Look Again At This One With so many new CE games coming out on a regular basis it is sometimes hard to pay attention to the little SE that sneaks in on "tomorrow's game today." What one says is great, someone else will say is awful, it's all individual and based on individual preferences. This game is not a blockbuster, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. I read a lot of negative reviews prior to the trial and almost passed it by, but I'm glad I didn't. Never discount any game because it will hold something for someone. That is what this game did for me...look beyond, find an essence to the story, interpret it your way, sit back and just enjoy.
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game with good storyline I don't usually post reviews here but I though I would for this game because I've read so many bad reviews. I really enjoyed this game. I've seen many SE games (w/out CE version) often received "bad" reviews but actually good, and I believe this is the same case. I thought this game is a little gem. I mean, I've been tired of too many collections and achievements, but this game has different types of HOG with good variation of puzzles although puzzles are a bit too easy, but trying to entertain users with storyline and game itself. You may not feel you "accomplish" something but you can relax and enjoy while playing this.
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Witches and tricks Normally, I can rely on the reviews of certain people here. However, this time I think some of the reviews are not relevant for me. Sure, this game is not as slick and shiny, with all the bells and whistles of other games, but it isn't a bad game at all. (Aside from being on the creepy side!) I thought the artwork was pretty good, and it wasn't at all grainy on my monitor. The voice work was very good. The trial game ended for me after only thirty-nine minutes, so the whole game probably is a short one, but I do get bored with some of the longer games, which I find tedious. I'm an impatient player and I always want to charge ahead in a game, not sit and mull over a puzzle for a long time. At least this game made more sense than some of the others I have played lately. I haven't played the full game yet, but I recommend you try it for yourself.
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much better than expected. A buy for me. After reading the many not so good reviews I was not sure that I would even finish the demo but to my surprise I liked the game very much. I will admit it is a clunky game and could use some polishing to run a bit smoother however it is not so bad that I would not purchase the game. I really like the artwork and story line. It is dark and creepy just like I like my games. I know many are complaining about some bells and whistles not being there but I did not mind it at all. There are many games with these things like morphing objects, maps, interactive HOGs that I do not like as much as this one. This is a buy for me as I really want to see how the story ends.
Date published: 2013-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not that bad Of course everyone is entitled to his or her option, I happened to like this game, it was not the best game they have pot out but it is far from the worse. I was looking for a game to pass the time that did not tax my mind too much but was still a challenge, this game certainly fulfilled this requirement. It took a couple of pages to grab my interest but I was very satisfied.
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Good Story I really got involved in the story line and remained so throughout. Many games seemed to get too interested in puzzles, HOs, etc., at some point during the game and the story becomes forgotten, but this one does not. I had no problem with the graphics, and the voiceovers were good. You mostly complete the action in one area of the town before moving on to another, so items don't stay in your inventory for long. I completed the whole game because I wanted to see the resolution. It looks as though there are two endings to choose from--an interesting idea. I like it very much.
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This Game Deserves Better Reviews! The story opens with you going to help an old friend on an unfriendly island beset with 'witchcraft'. As explained by previous reviewers you have to 'help' the villagers along the way in order to progress in the game. For me, this is part of the FUN! The characters are so amusing, albeit old style hand drawn. They do talk to you. I had no trouble finding articles needed on my laptop and when I clicked on 'wide screen' it did fill my whole screen. The game has no little 'extras' that we've come to expect but the story seems like a good one with a good flow and I for one will buy it. There is a certain suspense attached to the game and I want to see how it turns out. Sometimes, less is more.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and Fun I liked this game. I really liked the graphics although they were a little jumpy at times. The plot was good, and the games were easy. This had different types of hidden object games and the whole game was a bit different from the norm. Sometimes it's just nice to play an easy game that flows. There is a bit too much dialogue but you can get the drift and just move on. Find Lily! I'll buy it and find her. I got full screen, but I had to play with it.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've seen better and I've seen worse This is based on the demo. I found this game to be somewhat fun. There is an interactive map, hints are helpful. The HOS are varied, although somewhat dark (in casual mode, there is no click penalty which helps). There is quite a bit of dialog, but pressing the spacebar lets you get through it quickly. Know I am in the minority, but enjoyed playing, although not sure if I'll buy it.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Feels Kind of Clunky, But Not a Bad Game When I saw the so-so reviews on this game, I just had to try it. Based on the Demo: The graphics in this game are a mix of painted images and what looks like photographed textures. The animations are awkward and the characters don't look entirely natural, but they are consistently unnatural, so they add to the ambiance. At first I thought the story would be a standard witch hunt style plot, but the makers added a little twist (an ominous outside force) that kept me curious - and kept me playing. Though there are an awful lot of hidden object scenes, they won my vote on two points: I couldn't find everything in 30 seconds, and there were mixes of whole objects and fragmented objects. I really love fragmented hidden object scenes. (Just a note: I was disappointed that I had to find a kettle in the very first hidden object scene. Have you ever played a game where you didn't have to find an iron, a kettle, an umbrella and a butterfly?) Instead of a general course of finding and using objects, this game divides it neatly into quests. You know what your supposed to be doing, so everything you find will probably be related to a given quest. If real life hadn't demanded my attention, I would have played the full hour. I think this is a pretty good game.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keep an open mind... I try not to often review demos, and generally when I do it's because something is so wrong or unappealing that I know I won't be buying it and just want to let like minded people know why. In this case I'm reviewing Dark Sisterhood:The Initiation just after finishing the demo because I'm not sure it's getting a fair shake, so before too many pass it up due to bad reviews, I'd just like to point out some things you might like about it. If you've gotten used to and appreciate all the bells and whistles of the series we've all come to enjoy here, then you might overlook a game that isn't quite as slick,from a dev you haven't heard of, but could just still possibly be a good time if you let go of the expectations of some of the recent games. I own hundreds of games here at BF and am sometimes surprised at finding some little gem many seem to have passed over. This may be one... maybe not, but it's a chance I'm taking because the story line is interesting. You've been summoned to assist a recently executed friend in protecting her daughter from the same fate. The charge is witchcraft. There seems to be more going on in the town than just accusations as the residents are all affected by a mysterious dark force and requesting assistance with their own personal problems in exchange for information to help you on your quest. Another reviewer cited how ridiculous that was, but come now, it's no more ridiculous than the insane fantasy lands that appear here every day where tiny animals talk and there are no real world physics to deal with. It's a tad slow in spots, admittedly, and the environment isn't all fuzzy and cute. The dirge like atmosphere does rather fit the plot and the HOs are varied from putting objects together to finding items, even if not interactive or horribly clever. They are at least appropriate items for the period (unlike a Bic lighter in Lincoln's office I saw this last week) and it does create a mood and maintain a good pace and sense of suspense. If you're like me and for you it's all about being lost in a game and a plot worthy of pursuit, I think you'll find some sympathy for your late friend and want to help her out in rescuing her daughter. Try to keep an open mind and at least give the demo a try. I'm using a freebie on it. I honestly don't expect every game to be a Blue Tea or Elephant and think new developers should be encouraged. This one just may surprise us. If I'm allowed to edit, I'll return to let you know how I feel at the end of the game. It's worth a shot for me on a rainy day while I'm a little limited in other things. I'm really fairly critical of clunky games when there are so many out there to choose from, but I also believe in being fair and not expecting (or even wanting) all of them to be alike, and currently the best rated all seem to be created from the same engine, all have morphing objects and collectibles and jump maps. Give me a good story and I can do without all of that. I want to be entertained, but I don't think there is only one way to do that. I hope you don't either.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dark Sisterhood: The Initiation based on the free trial, i would not buy. It's to bad it could have been a good game. Way to many glitches. Kept trying to use the inventory items and they would'nt work. Took to long going back and forth. The game it's self was not a bad story. Graphics was'nt all that great. Because of the glitch I would not recommend. Otherwise it's work playing the free trial if you want to kill some time.
Date published: 2015-09-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from wanted to like it I thought this was going to be a good game. One reviewer had me thinking this was CE quality but it is not. Not ...because there was a glitch the first time I played it and had to start again to get what I needed to get into the church. Not...because the H Obj scenes are dark and difficult to see and I despise clicking instead of seeing what pops up that is right to click. Not...because the hint was at times not at all helpful. Not...because the puzzles were too simple...and then even more Nots but why go on...the game needs some help but it could have been a good one and there were redeeming aspects to the story and there was even a bit of odd confusion that I think could be improved to make the H Obj games better since one could not tell when one had assembled all the pieces...also when done the difference between what was done and what remained to be finished was not different enough...just a lot of details that do not click and yet...it could have been a good game but as is not a buy for me.
Date published: 2014-09-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Game The storyline in this game is interesting but the illustrations in the HO sections are difficult to make out and some sections are quite dark so it's difficult to know what to look for. The map could have given more clues as to whether or not there was something to search for in a given location. The hints were particularly frustrating as they weren't clear enough to be of much help. When completing a puzzle the game didn't always close that window automatically so I wasn't sure I was done. Not much fun to play when I felt frustrated alot.
Date published: 2014-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decide for Yourself Confusion and uncertainty were my feelings when I saw a bunch on negative reviews here. Out of curiosity I played the demo and it was not as awful, dreadful or whatever as some reviewers pictured it. I do not think it is objective to set the same criteria for CE and SE because these are 2 completely different categories. And Dark Sisterhood contained everything I would expect from a SE. With a creepy storyline, good sound and voice overs and quality graphics it deserves to be at least tried. My only complaint is weak technical execution. I suppose this is the main reason why many advise to pass on the game.
Date published: 2013-10-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dark Sisterhood Review This game had a lot of potential. The graphics weren't the best but I can definitely look past that for a good story line and engaging game play. It was very structured which really helped keep things straight when you have so many open actions going simultaneously. It wasn't super challenging but the story had my attention. I was very anxious to see where it was headed. I loved that there was a map that you could use to transport your self. I did NOT love that using a hint which rendered the answer "there's nothing you can do here" spent that hint just like it would one that actually pointed you in any direction. Normally hints that tell you there's nothing to do will recharge more quickly. Not so with this game. My biggest gripe, however, was that about half way through the game I accidentally backed out of a HOS and was unable to reenter to finish it. It got to a point that I was unable to continue the game because the items I needed to locate in that scene could no longer be acquired. I tried everything, even exiting the game and starting it again. It had a lot of good things going for it until it hit that point. I was really disappointed.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could Have Been More ... Good Graphics, Sound & Voice Bits ... But Nothing Special ... It's A Short Demo, Followed By A Short Game ... However, It Is Nicely Done ... The Game Seemed To End Abruptly, And It Seemed Like The Developer Ran Out Of Ideas ... Worth A Voucher Or Deal ...
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from SOME BUGS THAT NEED TO BE FIXED AT THE CABIN YOU SHOULD GET A LADDER, MAGIC BUCKET WATER,SHAWL ONLY LADDER GOES IN INVENTORY GAME CAN'T CONTINUE . AT THE CHURCH SIGN GOES IN INVENTORY BUT DOOR HANDLE AND INCENSE BURNER DO NOT .THAT'S AS FAR AS I HAVE GONE ON THIS GAME.
Date published: 2013-10-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just OK This game had the potential to be good. However, it fell flat. The demo took only 21 minutes to complete and that was with starting over because it had a couple of glitches. I wanted to like it, but....
Date published: 2013-10-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Witches and a cemetery and a lost little girl I actually was enjoying this game when the demo ended rather quickly. While not as sophisticated as some of the games presented as CEs, it is fun to work on something a bit easy yet with some nice features. Particularly if you have a coupon! You receive a letter from your friend Bloom Witmer, who is jailed as a witch in the town of Cold Peak. She is worried about her daughter, Lily. When you arrive (nice ocean graphics), you find Bloom has been executed, the town has turned on Lily and Lily has disappeared into the cemetery by some unknown force. Along the way, you meet a few characters - the Reverend, and a Cemetery worker, who assign you three quests each, after which they give you an object you need on your journey to find Lily. There are only two modes of play - regular and advanced. There is a diary, a lockable inventory, an interactive map (no sparkles however), and a hint button that tells you what you need to do next. The HOS are a bit dark, but they are either a list or a FROG. The quests require you to find three specific items for each character. The mini-puzzles are easy. The graphics are good, but it doesn't play on a full wide screen monitor -- you have the black bands. All in all, if you are looking for a fairly easy game with an interesting story and a different way of finding objects via quests, this game is for you.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from An OK Dark Side Game This COULD have been a great game, but alas, it falls short of the great games BF puts out...Graphics are fairly flat--"sparkle" areas of interest are there but you have to look closely...Mini games are easy---HO's #not many as far as demo goes# have small items, but take your time as the demo is very,very short...Interactive HO's where you find "pieces" are equally small in nature, but again, take your time..Map is ok, but really don't need it...VERY slow to react once you've found items or have completed a task..Like the idea that you have to perform favors for the wierd townsfolks #series of 3#...Not too hard to do...Ok to play, just not to buy for me..
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Full screen on wide monitors When the game first loaded it was not full screen on my wide monitor. I toggled the full screen option off, game went to a window as it should, toggled it back on and viola! it was true full screen on the monitor.
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay, This Is Officially Creepy BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS Nice to see a stand-alone standard edition with a walkthrough and strategy guide, so first impressions are positive before it’s even downloaded. The intro is dramatically done, with okay cut scenes and very good voiceover. The main menu page shows some good graphics, but unfortunately the visuals don’t follow through. This game feels like an adventure game. There is a lot of dialogue, lots of characters and we are presented with quests by them. But it is not an adventurer’s game. The bulk of the gameplay is HOPs with some easy other puzzles every now and then. SIGHTS & SOUNDS The graphics are, unfortunately, not much good. Very dark, grainy, and the later cut scenes are quite pixelated . The characters are weird, ugly, just plain strange, and I wonder if the graphics are a deliberate part of that atmosphere. The graphics are not so bad that you can’t see what’s going on, or have any problems finding objects, but I didn’t adjust to them. They still irritated me at the end of the (30 min) demo. Sounds are great. The voiceovers are very well done and the background noises suitably icky. WHAT’S HAPPENING Okay, now admittedly witch hunts always creep me out, but this is one game where the atmosphere really suits the mood of the tale. You are too late to save your friend, Bloom, when she is executed for witchcraft, but you are set upon saving her daughter, Lily. There is definitely something evil going on, and no doubt you’ll have to face it before the game concludes, but first you have to survive the villagers. Some characters you come across, just like in an adventure game, are not at all interested or involved in your story. Others give you quests to perform in order to get their help. All of them are scared silly. That’s all you really know at the end of the demo. MAKING PROGRESS This is really, ultimately, a HOG. There are two types of HOPs. A straight list (no interaction) and fragmented objects. At this stage, you haven’t returned to any of them. The puzzles are very easy, and there are not many of them. In terms of the adventure gameplay, each character gives you a set of 3 quests. Items needed for completing it are all used up at the end and you receive an item from the character that lets you progress. There is a map, for which there is little need, but it is a jump map (no interactivity). There’s also a journal and a hint that gives you hints. This game is not much really, poor graphics, simplistic gameplay, and yet I find myself oddly compelled by the story - witch hunts, evil lurking invisible nearby, corrupted ignorant villagers. While I can only give it 3 stars, I know I’ll be buying it. I’m just not sure why. *cheeky grin*
Date published: 2013-09-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Count Me Among The Uninitiated I'm not sure which is worse, a promising game that turns out to be bad or a plain terrible one. I'd put this squarely in the category of the latter, a jumbled mess with a patched-together theme resembling twenty other games you've played that is effective only if you enjoy clicking your mouse frequently. You are a character whose friend calls you to the aid of herself and her daughter in a strange town that's meant to call forth Salem and the witch trials. The only way for you to rescue the girl is to meet several of the odd townsfolk and secure their trust by carrying out basic errands. Some evil spirit keeps stealing their stuff and misplacing it. Not the level of evil you might expect. You will gather those objects the usual way, completing hidden object scenes (some standard and some piecing the objects together) and minigames. Everything is basic and straightforward, causing you to play several scenes in a particular area and move on. It's easy to follow but very boring, particularly in a game which purports to have such dire consequences on the line. The game looks okay, with bleak backgrounds and decently animated characters and cutscenes. The voice acting is okay, but the motion video of them gesturing randomly is jarring and works against the "old" feel of the game. The rest of the sound is heavy on the repetitive effects, so if you like thunderclaps you're in for a treat. The main issue I have with this game are the controls. You must click precisely on the areas, and I found myself accidentally clicking skip on a marble shooting game just attempting to play it. I wish I'd clicked skip altogether.
Date published: 2014-12-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nope, Not for Me! I didn't even get to play the whole 60 minute demo. Game stopped me. Didn't like the jumpy way that game is set up. The hidden pictures were poorly done. Couldn't tell, half the time, what you were looking for. Game made you X out of something before it would show your next step. Game gave me a headache in less than 60 minutes. So, Nope, Not for me!
Date published: 2013-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from horrible graphics herkety jerkety graphics made me queasy. Lame game.
Date published: 2013-10-07
  • y_2017, m_7, d_26, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_19569, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Sisterhood: The Initiation

A peaceful island town erupts into a violent witch hunt and your friend’s daughter is the target! Can you protect her from the townspeople?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.