The Other Side: Tower of Souls

The Other Side: Tower of Souls

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(425.21 MB)

If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A little sibling rivalry can be healthy - except when the fate of the world hangs in the balance!

Beatrice and Lily might look like any other pair of sisters, but they have a dark secret. Hidden from human eyes is a magic tower that contains a portal to the Other Side. One sister wants to open the gateway to gain knowledge and power, regardless of the consequences; the other sister wants to stop her. But which one is good and which one is evil?

Step into the shoes of a detective who must decide which sister will win in the end. Can you resolve a family squabble before the gates to the realm of the dead swing open and horrors beyond imagination pour into this world?

  • Captivating story of magic and suspense
  • Stunning artwork, story scenes, and music
  • Simple and fun puzzles and mini-games
  • Clever and original hidden object hunts
  • A learn-as-you-play tutorial

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 746 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Other Side: Tower of Souls

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(425.21 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
The Other Side: Tower of Souls is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 52.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So. Much. Fun. If you enjoy parody and satire (and a little bit of snark), you will love this game. It pokes fun at not only other games of the same genre, but also at itself. For instance, when you find an axe head stuck in a log, your helpful guide, Boris the cat, tells you that's just how things always go in these situations; you can't use the axe until you find a handle. Others have described the plot very well, so I won't go into that, but I really enjoyed the quirky mini games, the interactive HOG scenes and that things you need can be found and used fairly quickly; there isn't a lot of backtracking (and in some cases, you can't go back in any event). This game is just plain FUN. I love the many humorous touches throughout; such as the homage to Grumpy Cat (which made me laugh out loud) and the fact that Lily the ghost/witch looks exactly like Mila Kunis (who is known for playing a witch herself)! Those who gave up early because of the "hand-holding" cat should give this game another chance. He's only annoying for the first few minutes; after that, he only shows up if you keep clicking on an area or object you're not sure what to do with. Highly, highly recommend. This SE game is head and shoulders above most of the CE games I've played in the past few weeks and I look forward to more from these developers.
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game I found the HOGs a challenge, missed about twenty cat's paws. gonna go back again and get them all! Plus I'll choose the alternate end. Really liked this one, enough to play again.
Date published: 2014-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique This game was fun! Some out-of-box thinking was put into the making of this game. I found The Other Side refreshingly different because I get tired of the same old mechanics. There were ho's within ho's within portraits on the walls, there were creepy and twisted things to do and figure out. There were cat paw prints to find to purchase hint recharges. My only gripe was the ambiguity within the store. Can you re-use the upgrades you purchase? Use only one at a time? But, great game! Thank you!
Date published: 2014-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful!!! I feel bad for the person who quit after 10 minutes. This was hands down one of the best games I've played. It was so much fun, I liked the cat, everything was different and quirky, and I never knew what to expect next. No, it wasn't perfect, but considering all the +++++ we get, this was wonderful!
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good game! I really enjoy this game. Funny, ludic, original. A lot of HOG for those who like this and even if it is usely not my case, I really have fun all the way. Very good lenght and not easy.
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bizarre beyond imagination and fantastic fun! Our story begins a long time ago when two alchemists living in a magical tower decided to enrich the knowledge of the human race and opened a portal to another realm. Unfortunately, the portal was a gate to the world of the dead and once they sensed they could returned back to the human world, the monsters began swarming through the gate. The alchemists did their best to stop the invasion, but the power of the dead was too great. One of the two wise men sacrificed himself and created a seal that stopped the invasion. With time the power of the dead grew so the seal could no longer hold back their forces. Constant sacrifices need to be made in order to keep our world undefiled by these abominations. Players will take on the role of a supernatural detective, or to put it simple, a detective that deals with cases involving mysticism. One day, a letter from a girl by the name of Lily, made the detective arrive at the ruins of the old tower. Use your experience as a detective to solve mind-bending puzzles As in a magical world, the tower begins to materialize and you step inside. Here you meet Lily, who's actually a ghost. You learn that the tower must be destroyed so you begin your ascension to the top. You will require your keen eye and your puzzle solving skills as the tower is filled with riddles and hidden objects. Which of the two sister's is Evil? The game features only two difficulty levels, yet they are so different that beginners and pros will have their hands full. There is no way you can skip hidden object scenes, but the hint button will definitely help. Uncover a mystical world hidden deep inside ours Stopping evil from allowing more evil to enter our world can get pretty addictive and combined with the great graphics, it makes for an excellent hidden object game.
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a Delight I haven't enjoyed a game as much as this in a long time. The plot was engaging, the graphics were outstanding, and the level of creativity really makes this game stand out, even in view of the wonderful and improving quality of games these days. I was continuously captivated by the characters - the doctor, the artist, the gardener - and how the developers created the universes they inhabited. There was never the feeling of, "oh, how many times have I seen this before?" Even the HOS's were a delight and very unusual and challenging. I didn't really care about dressing the cat and getting the speedier hints, but it is a nice option. I care more about the original mini-games #some of which were very challenging, if not in concept, then in execution# and the humor of the dialog and the situations and the floating cheese and the clock which goes back and forth from the present to the past and the doctor's hands, and on and on -- so much to recommend! I will play it again soon and will go for the other ending.
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable, funny and different! BASED ON THE DEMO This one starts out like a lot of other HOPA game storylines, but just wait, it gets really different really quickly. I won't spoil, but just give it a chance to get going and you'll be hooked. The game doesn't take itself very seriously and is full of humour, from item descriptions to the dialogues. There is a Cheshire-cat style cat to help you, and he is very amusing and will actually be useful. The HO scenes are interactive lists, and the interactions are very innovative and fun to play. There are fewer puzzles than HO scenes, but they are also entertaining, if a bit easy. The only downsides I could find are the fact that you can only choose between two difficulty levels and that the gameplay is pretty easy (you will use items almost as soon as you find them). The great thing about this game is that it's an SE, but it has collectibles and the overall quality (the graphics, voice-overs and story) is on the CE level. I didn't think about a for a second, I bought it at once. You should certainly try the demo and decide for yourselves, because an innovative and entertaining game like this deserves your attention :).
Date published: 2014-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I do love games because of FUN. This is the one! Pretty graphics, humor, interactive HOG scenes - all about the game is a fun cup of tea from the beginning to the end! To those who don't like Boris the Cat - there is maybe too much of him at the beginning, but as game progresses - he appears accidentally, and does not present on every scene.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Suprising new twists This game surprised me. It had some new variations to finding the object in the HOGS. One of my favorites was finding keys to unlock drawers to find objects and more keys. There wasn't a lot of handholding and I had to figure some of the hidden areas within hidden areas myself.. Story flowed nicely and actually made sense. Has couple of endings so I need to go back and see what happens if I pick the other ending. Only downside was the length. It was short but still worth the time and money.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unusual, creepy game with humor. Very unusual game in good sense. Very colorful graphics and nice music, mystical atmosphere of the game and creepy, a sense of adventure. Boris the cat is very cute and funny, makes the game. Cat can dress in the shop on the collected coins, I liked it! Loved the HO's, a lot of them and all interactive and creepy humor. Game is great, and I liked it very much!
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gem of a game Excellent game. Very original HOs. Definitely a buy.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely LOVED this game! I don't remember seeing Tiki's Lab developer in any other game, but they certainly came out with a bang! I love being entertained and this game had entertainment in spades!! I certainly wouldn't let any of my kids play this game because as cartoonish as it was for me, I'm pretty sure it would give most children nightmares. I totally enjoyed the entire game, loved the creative HOS's and although the story line isn't really that different it kept me guessing who to believe....the little ghost girl or the adult wicked sister right to the end??? I really like anything in this genre of graphics, not big on real life characters, but that wouldn't stop me from buying a game. It is definitely more of a HOG but the puzzles and journey through the tower was fun and had a lot of well and thoroughly thought out scenes and dialogue. The cat was a bit too sarcastic for me but I know many people like that sort of thing. I didn't find out until the end of the game that the collected "paw coins" could have bought "power ups" for the hint, but no biggy, I will definitely being playing it again. I liked that it was done in a playful and light hearted manner as a cartoon horror. It's a great SE but then I'm REALLY partial to being entertained not challenged....life is challenging enough for me thank you very much!
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from JUST OUTSTANDING I fell in love with this game playing the demo, and went right in for the buy. I had so much fun playing this game that the visuals and challenge of the game were a big bonus. All the games lately have been so blah that I have not even finished one of them. But my hat is off to the Devs on this game it is well worth the price of a CE and we get it for a reg game. I highly highly recommend this game to all level of players.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Purrrfectly Towerful This game was so cool. The best HO's I have played yet. Love the scares and the funny things strewn about. This game should be up for an award. Must buy now. Only down side was a bit of reading from the long winded cat.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Voices, sense of humor, worthy of Collector status! I didn't expect this rare Diamond of a Game to come with a low price tag. Don't miss it! Player finds coins used to buy items in a store to reduce time for hints and mini games skips.The voices are well done. I actually enjoy and look forward to very interactive fun hidden object screens. The mini games are fun. The storyline is fun. There is a sense of humor when you least expect it. I bought Dead Reckoning Collectors edition and I bought this Game. I prefer playing Other Side to Dead reckoning because I didn't moan at boredom of hidden object screens or the Mini Games with the Other side. If I had to choose between Dead Reckoning Collectors Edition and The Other side tower of souls, I would save my money and choose the Other Side. The Developer makes it interesting when we click on objects we are surprised when either a witty remark is made or a voice speaks. Try it and be amazed at the sense of humor of the Game Developer. The sculptor in the tower is my favorite. Sculptor says different sentences as you watch him fall apart before your eyes. It is evident the Game Developer enjoyed making this Game with all the added extra voice comments and descriptions of objects. I look forward to seeing their next Game. I have a short list of my favorite Game Developers where I purchase the Games trusting and expecting the Best. I have just added a new Game Developer to my Trusted favorite list. I look forward to seeing what this Game Developer will do next. I Highly recommend the Game. This Game has more bells and whistles than some of the Top Game Developers in my opinion. The highest recommendation for necessary criteria for me is the Game must be FUN. I am nearly finished with the Game and I recommend it because it is FUN. Don't let the sale price fool you. I enjoy the achievements that are more than how fast we find hidden objects. The Achievements are connected to the Storyline progression. The voices I enjoy as it helps immerse ourselves into the Storyline. Thanks Bigfish for this low price I used a coupon but would have paid full price.
Date published: 2014-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game!!!!!! What a great game!!! And the fact that it was 3.49 is even better!! Wish there were more of them!!
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful and twisted I knew when I was playing the demo that I was going to get this one! I still don't know which sister is telling the truth, but I will as soon as the full version finishes loading! You have 2 sisters, 1 dead and 1 who looks like an evil witch. The dead one is using the innocence of a little girl to get you to help her stop her evil-looking sister from destroying the world by releasing the dead into our world through a portal. (whew!) The evil looking sister is telling you that the dead sister is lying to you and wants to destroy the seal on the portal, thus letting all the dead into our world. They are BOTH very convincing! I can't wait to play this further! I will let you know if it's as great as it seems in a few. GB~chris
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a great fun game wow, I don't often buy a game just after playing the first demo but I did on this one. the discount today combined with the fact that this was just fun although challenging at times made me want to buy it. once I figured out that sometimes you need to go back a scene that made it much easier. but overall great. I don't use sound so can't rate that but I do recommend this game. one of the best recently.
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderfully Unique "Out of the Box" Thinking ***REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME*** First, this is a review of the completed game as I feel reviewing a demo does the developers and other players a disservice! A game can dramatically change after 30 minutes or an hour into it. If you review a demo and say it is horrible you'll never know whether or not the game gets better. If you don't want to waste money on a bad game then wait until you have a free game code or until it is a Daily Deal or Catch of the Week. Now, on to the review! First, the *only* thing keeping this from being a Collector's Edition is the lack of a Strategy Guide. This game has collectibles in the way of journal pages, paw prints and coins that you find throughout the game and the HOS. The coins can be used in the Shop to dress up your travelling companion, Boris, who is a lifesaver throughout the game. These clothing and accessory items will either speed up your general hints/skips by 25%, your HOS hints by 25% or your minigame hints by 25% so you must pay attention to which one(s) you want to buy and have enough coins to cover it. You can stack them and buy multiples of one kind of hint so that it will charge very fast. Then you just click the item, click buy, and turn Boris into one dapper dude! One thing I did not care for is that there are only two levels of difficulty. Easy or Challenging. I believe we have all been spoiled by the newest games allowing us to customize our difficulty! At first I thought this one would let you customize the difficulty by the way the options were laid out. It showed easy on the left, and difficult on the right. Beneath that you see X’s in boxes saying what the difficulties included. I made the mistake by thinking you could select and deselect these boxes and clicked on one on the difficult side. To my surprise, the game immediately started and I questioned whether that was a mistake or not. **Storyline I won’t give too much away to not spoil it for anyone, but you are a male paranormal detective who receives a mission request from someone named Lucy who wants you to meet her in the tower in the cemetery. Okay, great! The only problem with that is there is no tower in the cemetery! It is all ruins! This is where you meet Boris, the Cheshire-like cat. He can disappear and reappear, climb like Spiderman, telepathically talk to you, help you reach things and offers guidance throughout the entire game whether you want it or not. His guidance always comes with a thick layer of sarcasm which really adds to the ambiance of the game. This little guy definitely has opposable thumbs and is ambidextrous ;) Once you get into this “tower that isn't there” you meet Lucy who turns out to be a ghost! She tells you of a witch named Beatrice living in the tower who wants to open the door to the other side where the dead reside and can return to roam the earth! Lucy flat out warns you not to trust a word Beatrice says! Lucy tells you that you need to reach the top of the tower to destroy the door and ultimately the tower to keep the living safe from the dead. She also tells you that you will find evidence of Beatrice’s insanity, so be on the lookout for journal pages! Almost immediately, Beatrice tries to stop you by collapsing the stairs. How rude of her, she didn't even say hello! About another floor up or so you meet Beatrice again and this time she apologizes and promises she was not trying to hurt you, only to save you from Lucy! Beatrice tells you that Lucy lured you to the tower to sacrifice you and she wants to help you escape. Beatrice also warns you to not trust a word Lucy says! Well, that’s a dilemma… who do you believe? Lucy or Beatrice? The choice is ultimately yours as you can choose who to believe and side with at the end. Will you help Lucy or will you help Beatrice? Since I already completed the game on difficult mode I may go back and do the easy mode and try the other ending! **Game Mechanics This is a HOPA with interactive HOS. The only thing about these iHOS are that, at least in difficult mode as I do not yet know about easy, the item list is all one color so you do not know which item might be hidden or needs something special done to it to collect it. What you won’t find in these iHOS are melons that need to be cut, instruments to play, etc… I think I may have had to fill one teacup and water two plants. Most of the time you had to open doors, caskets or drawers for the objects. In one of the early HOS we have a wooden bust of the Internet’s favorite sourpuss, Grumpy Cat! I literally giggled out loud when I saw Tardar Sauce’s little frowny face staring at me! The Puzzles are great and most are new or reimaged. You do play a game of reversi but there is no mahjong or anything like that. The game is very linear so once you get to about the 3rd floor you will not be backtracking and running back and forth very much. **Graphics, Voice Overs and Music The graphics are absolutely adorably macabre! Imagine the creators of the Addams Family and the Munster’s making a game. This would be it. The graphics and characters are creepy and kooky, mysterious and spooky, and altogether ooky! The voiceovers and music are completely on par with the visuals of the game. **Overall Overall this is an absolutely wonderful stand-alone game. The graphics, the storyline, the game mechanics and the challenge were all top notch and worth every penny spent. I actually had a free game credit but I would have gladly paid the Game Club Collector’s Edition price for this unique gem! **Do I recommend this game? Absolutely! It is very challenging but you will smile and laugh and enjoy every moment of it. I completed the game in approximately 4 ½ hours with only skipping very few games and I consider myself an "expert" player after playing at least 200 BigFish games.
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Mini Games and HOS! The story isn't bad either! Two Alchemists opened a portal to the other side, but the dead wanted desperately to join the living. The builder of the portal sacrificed his soul to seal the portal, but over time the dead have weakened the portal seal and it's only a matter of time before the dead join the living! (Zombies!!) Fast forward to the present and you are a Supernatural Detective, actually you are a Detective that deals with the Supernatural, and you have been hired by Lily to defeat her sister Beatrice who's a real witch. One of the sister's want the portal open the other wants the portal closed, but which one? One things for sure, you don't have much of a choice at this point, there's only one way out, up! There are 36 different achievements to earn, and 100 hidden cat paws that can be used in the Upgrade Room. You are teamed up with Boris the cat with a cheshire grin (hmm?) who is best at using sarcasm to point out the obvious. You can cash in your coins in the Upgrade room on outfits for Boris, which are actually 25% faster hint recharges for HOS and Quests and 25% faster recharge of the skip button. The Hidden Object Scenes are very well done, keep in mind that there are two modes of difficulty. The Easy mode has easier mini games and HOS, the Hard mode has more difficult mini games and well blended hidden object items. I played the Hard mode, which is challenging but not impossible. The HOS are very interactive, there are keys to find that only open a specific drawer, items that need put together and lot's of very well concealed items, but they are really fun. The mini games I fell in love with, they were all challenging but entertaining. There were two games in particular that I loved, one had a frog in the middle with cobwebs that rotated around the frog and you have to wait for small spaces to open between the rows of cob webs so that the frogs tongue could reach out and grab the spiders on the outside circle. The one I found most challenging was sliding different colored tokens around tracks to their matching colored slots, but, there were very few empty slots and most of the paths only had one intersection which got clogged easily, this puzzle took me a while but it felt so rewarding when I accomplished the goal. The graphics aren't bad, the characters could have been a little better and moved less stiffly but the story is interesting so I didn't mind. There are a few bell and whistles which makes this a good game for the price. Personally I enjoyed this game, see what you think, enjoy!
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Quirky, Creepy and Very Entertaining Game Well, what a surprise quirky, creepy game we have today. The Other Side Tower of Souls is such a great game. The only warning is that if you don’t like spiders, you might want to stay away from this one. If you like fun and fright, well then you are in for a treat. Tower of Souls has so much going for it that it is hard to know where to start but I guess the graphics quality is a good place. The graphics are excellent and some of the cutscenes are so very good, particularly the one early in the game where the tower is being rebuilt. The rendition of the ghosts and monsters is quite good. We have our beautiful big-eyed spirit, Lily, who has drawn us to the tower to help her with a task, and then we have Boris, who will become our guide in the game. The voiceovers are so good and I love the narration by our character as we continue through the game. Not only is the narration great, I found the written dialog to be quite humorous. This is one of the first newer games where I didn’t seem to notice, or even care about, lip-syncing. The rest of the sound package is excellent including the upbeat music that sort of reminds me of the Adams Family theme and adds to the overall ambience of the game The HOPs in Tower of Souls are so much fun. They are sort of creepy and require a lot of interaction with moving parts. It is so entertaining to have an interactive hidden object scene that is a bit different and a lot of fun. The early puzzles in the game are very easy but still they break the monotony of merely finding inventory items. Speaking of finding things, the inventory box is a bit different than we expect: it is more off to the left and is boxy rather than covering the bottom. Although The Other Side Tower of Souls comes to us as an SE, my suspicion is that it was originally intended as a CE but that the developer decided to go ahead and not include some of the extras such as the SG. That being said, we do have collectibles to find and achievements to earn – some of the most popular extras in a CE game. Overall, Tower of Souls is definitely one of the best SE games to come my way in recent weeks (this doesn’t include the SE releases of some CEs, since some of those games were definitely 5-star rated). Yes even though we do acquire a feline helper, he is so much fun, extremely humorous and at times so snarky that I thoroughly enjoy his presence. In fact, just because I find Boris so entertaining, I don’t mind one bit that I can spend my coins to add to his wardrobe or comfort. If you are looking for a game that is just a bit spooky but quite entertaining, Tower of Souls might just be the game for you. As always, I recommend that you at least try the demo to see if this is a game you will enjoy as much as I do.
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Satire....or a Scare? It's hard to classify this game. The story is interesting, the conflict of 2 sisters, each claiming her values/motives only will save the living from the evil dead trapped (for now# in the tower. You, the player must work with the one you decide is the truly noble and honorable sister and help her defeat her sibling who sides with the foul ones in the tower. That drew me in as did the good VO's and bright, colorful graphics. But other things began to emerge as I started play. Not negatives necessarily, but possible drawbacks for a player looking for a "normal" fantasy/horror theme. The graphics are colorful but almost cartoonish with lightening flashes, flying blasts of color and dazzles aplenty. The "helper" is a somewhat humorous/sarcastic cat who seems a cross between the Cheshire Cat and Garfield! #Yikes!#. The hints are excellent, there are items to collect and the puzzles are skippable #on the lower level). But as I played, it seemed almost as if the game is a parody of more serious "Ravenhurst" types. I recommend you try it to judge. You may find this "satire" detracts from the story and feel of the game, or not, or isn't even there. I'm recommending the game but urge you to try it first. Put another way, all the weirdness in the game isn't confined to the ghostly tower!
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME The game of the year hands down! I have not had this much fun in yonks. The graphics are out of this world. The game play is flawless. The atmosphere is intriguing and the quirkiness of the whole thing is a delight. Boris is a hoot - funny, sarcastic and adorable. Even the music is great. The iHOS are the best ever - everyone of them a pleasure to do and never once spotted one with a feeling of dread, just eager anticipation. The puzzles are lucid and completely doable and if one has patience, they can all be completed by everyone. The cut scenes are perfectly synchronized, short and able to be clicked through at any speed. Apparently, there is a map somewhere, probably in the journal, but I had no need of it. The navigation is such a perfect example of how games should flow from location to location, seamlessly, so backtracking and revisiting are a doddle. Wide screen. Achievements. Collectibles. A shop to spend coins in. Did it at an average speed and it took me 4.5 hrs. Not sure which of the 2 devs gets the credit for this excellent work, so just saying congrats to both, on an amazingly creative, original and innovative game. I would have been more than happy to have this as a CE. In my opinion, it is far and away better than CE quality. Not just because the CEs lately have been under par, but more because it's quality on all levels is so high. I did not even buy Thursday's CE, it was so bad, and I never pass them up. And all this ladies and gents for SE price, plus 65% off. Outstanding!!!
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THIS GAME! BASED ON DEMO FIRST IMPRESSIONS When I played the beta of this game, I liked it but felt it needed work. Well, the developers have clearly put in the work, because this game is sensational! The opening is delightful. Not dramatic, but interesting, great to look at, and informative. It sets the scene nicely for the action that follows. The story allows for a choice of endings. Two sisters, both apparently endowed with magic powers, are in conflict about opening a portal to the “Other Side”. Doing so will give great knowledge and power to humanity, but also much death. You are a supernatural detective, and you have been lured here by one of the sisters to help stop the other, who is trying to open the gate. The other sister says you were lured here as the next sacrifice needed to keep the door shut. You have to decide whom you should trust. This game is primarily HOPs, there are lots and lots of them, and they are far better fun than the usual word list. There are many portions of it that are progressive – “find this to find that”, and they are all quite different. The graphics are colourful and very well done, with some great surreal artwork, and the music is delightful though a bit repetitive. So far, there hasn’t been much of the gross stuff I saw in the beta, but I am sure it’s coming – they kept the ‘catching spiders with a frog’ mini-game, after all, and it was quite a bit icky creepy! So be prepared for disembodied hands conducting surgery on various non-human (thank goodness) body parts. The puzzles are not hard, and entertaining, although there was a reversi game. I am absolutely appalling at that sort of thing, and after many attempts had to skip. The frog game required a little dexterity and good timing. So, a bit of everything in the mini-games as well. There is a journal with info, and history as found (in books as you make your way through the tower), and objectives. There are two levels of difficulty, a hint (Boris the very cheeky cat) who is as likely to scoff at you as be helpful, but will do so eventually *grin*. The map is rudimentary to say the least, it consists of a sketch in the journal showing which floor you are on. BLING! Yup! A stand alone standard edition with bling! There are 100 collectible cat’s paws, which can be found in both the locations and the HOP scenes, or anywhere else for that matter. They are not always depicted as coins. Any image of paw prints will do, so keep your eyes peeled. Including places that you must unlock after finding clues or inventory items to get at them. There are no hints for these, so if you can’t find a code for example, you’ve missed out. They can be used to accessorise the cat. It might be worth doing, just to see his reaction. The accessories are power ups. You can use them to decrease hint refill time, for instance. There are also achievements, both story and performance ones. COMBINED IMPACT I really loved this new updated game. It is great to look at, entertaining to play, and I am in love with Boris the cat. I am looking forward to more dealings with Boris, and seeing what the other floors of the tower have to offer. Enough that I might even, for the first time in months, buy this game without waiting until Monday!
Date published: 2014-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Peculiar game :) What a quirky game - BUT a lot of fun! Its not your typical game so give it a try and have fun with this one!
Date published: 2015-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Enjoyable Game ... Good Graphics, Sounds, Animations, Effects, Voice & Video Bits ... A Little Bit Quirky, But A Very Enjoyable Game ... HOG's Pleasantly Different In Style ... Well Worth The Voucher ...
Date published: 2014-07-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from How nice to play a good SE At first I thought the game was going to be too easy as the cat seemed to be dictating the game play. As I got in to the game however this wasn't the case. Yes it was very linear, hardly any backtracking at all, but that was quite a nice change. There were loads and loads of HOs which I usually find quite annoying, but these were varied and fun to play, so I didn't mind. Some different puzzles too which was great. All in all a good few hours entertainment!
Date published: 2014-07-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I HATE the Cat! When I beta tested this game, I praised most of it but told them to shut the cat up! Sadly they have ignored this suggestion and so you are 'hand held' all the way through. If I am stuck, I will use the hint! Otherwise, I can manage to work out that, for example, an axe head needs a handle. I really thought this would be put out as a CE so am pleasantly surprised that I can use a coupon. I can put up with the cat as long as I am not paying for him. As others have said, puzzles are different, HOSs great and I am intrigued as to how the story will develop. Will purchase and play on hard I think. Pity there aren't more than 2 levels of challenge. Definitely worth a trial.
Date published: 2014-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Little Gem..... Occasionally BigFish has a "soft release" that turns out to be quite a hit, and this is one of those games. This game is absolutely fun and funny. While you get a cat "helper"; it isn't quite like other helpers we've seen in the past. Sometimes you might get a little too much help from him, but he really is a "hoot". Plus he can dance! Anyway, these developers have a great sense of humor; the HOS are very elaborate and quite entertaining. The puzzles are challenging (playing on hard mode). It all comes together to make one heck of a great game. Don't let this one get away!
Date published: 2014-07-18
  • y_2017, m_8, d_20, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_21422, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Other Side: Tower of Souls

Resolve a family squabble before the gates to the realm of the dead swing open and horrors beyond imagination pour into this world!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.