Rite of Passage: The Lost Tides Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Rite of Passage: The Lost Tides Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(417.82 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From the innovative minds of MadHead Games, the company who brought you Nevertales and Cadenza, comes a stunning new game in the Rite of Passage series!

Your mom and dad set sail on the Everlast twenty years ago… and were never seen again. But today, as you prepared to observe the anniversary of their disappearance, the Everlast suddenly sailed back into port! The ship’s arrival is suspicious at best, but you’re determined to find out what happened to your family all those years ago. And so you set out against a host of strange sea creatures on a journey by land, air, and sea. Will you learn the truth… or will you suffer the same fate as your parents? Find out in this exciting Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

  • Learn about the mermaid’s past in the bonus game!
  • Track your achievements
  • Get wallpapers, concept art, and more!
  • Try the integrated Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.8 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 900 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: The Lost Tides Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(417.82 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Rite of Passage: The Lost Tides Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I felt involved in the story as a real character Go for this one, fishies. You will find it enjoyable and intriguing. Lots of interesting ideas. A more complex story than usually seen on this site. Visually and musically stunning. This game must have been a labor of love for the brilliant developers. I am absolutely captivated and am only still in demo mode. A definite buy for me. The way the game was created, I felt involved in the story as a real character. Not an easy task to do, and many other devs in competing games have tried and failed trying to make the gamer feel wholly involved in the story. There is mystery to the feel of the game and a sense of discovery. Go ahead and discover the adventure, yourselves.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A "FUN"TASTIC FISH TALE ATTACHED TO A MERMAID WITH AN ATTITUDE - BASED ON THE FIRST THREE CHAPTERS OF THE ACTUAL GAME The Mad Hatter has given us a briny fish tale - a mermaid with an attitude - a beautiful siren who likes to do more than break a few hearts - she takes out whole ships as well! To me, this is a beautifully crafted puzzle-intense game with an innovative story about mermaids with a little "operatic?" libretto by a siren. The inventory is puzzle-like. The HOP scenes don't have the variation as in other games - most are locating items in theme-based HOP scenes which uncovers pieces to complete a jigsaw puzzle. There are more puzzles than HOP scenes The puzzles are creative, innovative and many are mechanically based. I love this game and purchased it immediately. This game "sang" to me with the first glimpse of the mermaid with the attitude! (Actually the featured song will probably never make the charts - but a creative touch and I liked the tune). Yeah! After the demo - the game becomes "creepier" and is even better with very creepy "muzac! " HERE ARE THE DETAILS (AKA SPOILERS) FROM THE FIRST 3 CHAPTERS OF THE ACTUAL GAME: DANGER! - SAIL CAREFULLY THROUGH THE DANGEROUS WATERS OF THIS REVIEW. THIS SIREN'S SONG IS SINGING KNOWLEDGE WHICH WILL BE MUSIC TO THE EARS OF SOME AND CAUSE OTHERS TO BECOME DASHED UPON THE ROCKS LEARNING FACTS ABOUT THIS GAME. While on a cruise, your mother and father were lost at sea in a ship- the Everlast - which disappeared into the clouds. However, you and your brother survived. As you cast away your sadness tied up in a toy boat along with your father's compass, you suddenly see the same ship reappear. Are your parents possibly alive and aboard the ship? Reaching the ship, you soon learn that you will need all your strength to battle the evil which has possessed you mother and father. Behind all of this mystery is the legend of vengeful mermaids looking for souls of lives they can ruin, leaving their victims lonely and dismayed in the Land of the Forgotten from which no one returns. Our Mad Hatter sings quite a siren's song in this seafaring journey of a game LEVELS: Calm Seas, Gale, Hurricane, Custom Hints and Skips range from 15 to 90 seconds. No penalty for misclicks in HOP scenes. GRAPHICS : Realistic, sharp imaging and nicely done. INVENTORY Interactive and puzzle-like HOP SCENES: Interactive theme-related junk piles As you locate pieces, you uncover pieces to complete a jigsaw puzzle which give you an inventory item. THE BEST HOP SCENE TO ME: Searching for and matching parts from a blueprint for a glider. Locate various items needed by several HOP scenes and puzzles. As an aside - this is an activity "sis" could probably do this herself without the help of her "big" brother. Girls can do more than become " singing sirens." LOL PUZZLES: The puzzles are varied in difficulty and content and I found TWO FAVORITES: A. Matching. Three from the first 3 chapters involved locating cards then placing them in correct sequence and matching symbols to open a door (a little more complex) as the symbols are similar to each other and later on a drawer B. Variation of a jigsaw puzzle grouping similar items together and then placing them into the correct slots C. Storybook sequence - variation of jigsaw/tile puzzles D. Maneuvering objects into correct locations and gauging bars to hit a target and collect items. Later in the game, maneuvering arrows to open a port window on the ship E. FIRST AWESOME PUZZLE: Variation of a mirror positioning puzzles to light up all mirrors to wake up a sleeper. Use mirrors to move furniture. Quite innovative devs! F SECOND AWESOME PUZZLE - FIGURING OUT WHAT ACTIONS TO TAKE IN A MULTI-TASK PUZZLE AND DECIDING WHAT IN WHAT ORDER TO PERFORM THEM. LOVIN' IT DEVS! G. Lock pick puzzle EXTRA GOODIES: NICE LENGTH GAME - 5 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER A. Map - Get map as you play the game B. Timer - You are timed in how long it takes to play the game C. Collect 37 Seashells to complete a jigsaw puzzle D. Collect 37 more items in the Bonus Chapter Treasure Hunt E. 13 Morphing objects in the HOP scenes F. Strategy Guide G. Keeps track of time played in the game H. Compass which is used to eliminate negative energy. A little gimmicky and to me the WORST PART OF THE GAME A BIG THANK YOU to Mad Hatter for adding to my ever growing list for duct tape - fixing a fishing rod. I am not certain if duct tape would exert enough strength to hold the rod together, but it is a good effort by the dev to "think outside the "tackle box."
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I liked the Adventure in this game! I love Adventure and in this game I felt like really playing that story. Puzzles are also o.k as long as there are not too many. HOPs are such a pain but in this game they where at least not overcrowded. I wish they also had at least a SKIP Button for them.
Date published: 2015-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good like it very much! very good game
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jan. 25, 2018 Bonus and Main Game Mini-Review :) I was pleasantly surprised with the "Bonus Section" game-play. The more I poked around in it the more I found. Was about to give up finding the "collectibles" game but when I clicked the 'porthole and then absent-mindlessly started clicking on the shells that are around the porthole frame , well that extended my EXTRAS fun and took the games score all the way up . This is an 'older' game and I really did not expect too much from it and I only have two of the others in this series. If you are interested in playing this game, give it a try and (just a hint), after completing the Bonus chapter treat finding all the extras almost like a search n find game :) I'm giving this one a 5 out of 5 on my personal enjoy-ability scale :)
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Brilliant, But Too Short I thoroughly enjoyed this game, the story line was fantastic, and I loved how your main character was able to properly interact with other characters in this game like you are actually having a conversation, the artwork is fantastic, as is the story line, it grips you right from the start The HOS are quite fun as they do vary throughout the game and the puzzles aren't too difficult but not too easy either and best of all there aren't too many in the game, a lot of developers will cram loads into the game when you are nearing the end and it is very off putting for me And I loved the Bonus chapter told from one of the villains, it was a refreshing change, and I liked the story line for that too The only niggles I have with the game that is stopping me from giving it 5 stars are the puzzles near the end to defeat the villain were too samey to other games and I don't enjoy that puzzle (floating bubbles where you have to match symbols) I find it detracts from the game with the villain just floating there while you are trying to click on matching symbols Also maybe slight spoiler? It annoyed me how there wasn't a cut scene including the brother in the end, as he really should have been included And the game for me is way to short, I couldn't believe how quickly I finished the main game, and I am not a fast player I am glad there was a sale on for CE as I would have felt slightly cheated if I had paid full price for the game despite me loving it, it was just way too short for my liking, but then I am quite fussy with the CE I buy Brilliant way to spend on a Saturday afternoon
Date published: 2015-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't Loose It! Your parents were lost at sea in a ship, the Everlast, that disappeared before your eyes. Now, twenty years later, you see the boat reappear in port. A strangely violent storm keeps you from going out there at first, but you persevere with the help of your brother, who also survived with you. Somehow this is all mixed up with mermaids, old legends, your Dad's old compass, and the strange storm. There are various HOPs, good mini-games, lovely music and artwork, a transporter map, and collectible shells, along with the other usual CE bling. You have your Dad's compass to remove "bad" energy from objects you encounter during the early part of the demo. The mermaid controlling the boat and storm is suitably vindictive and nasty. The other characters are not given enough content to tell you much about them. Your character seems remarkably calm for having seen a ship appear after being lost for twenty years, especially considering Mom and Dad might still be on board. (Hey, if the Everlast can reappear, so can they!) But the storyline is a bit different, the execution has a certain charm to it, and the game-play is good enough to make me want to sail along on this voyage. Try this one and see if you really appreciate this week's sale!
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where Is The "Tide"? This is my all-time favorite series and it is the fourth in this series. The game is enjoyable and it have 1 new gameplay , with siren’s elements / sea-themed story , and feature. However , I found some parts that I have seen in any games I played and here is my review. The Lost Tides have a feature, a Magic Compass , which removes weird electrify blueish-green energy that blocking your path or action. It was your dad’s compass so it have a sentimental values. I’ve seen this compass before , in Phenomenon : Outcome , which we have Golden Homunculus that act as a compass and remove cyan plasma. It seems it have same function. In this series , The Child of The Forest also have the same Amulet like it , but that one function as a light to scare the evil roots/trees. Besides that , I’m sure it will have more surprising magic in few chapters. I’m so sorry for comparing but I can’t , it just the same though. The gameplay is enjoyable and as I mentioned there is 1 new thing here and others remain the same. The HOS have a bit large amount than the Puzzles are , both are easy , but slightly challenging, slightly. The HOS is variety and now the item is well-cluttered around the scenes. The first HOS I encountered was the card-styled HOS , have to find the hidden cards , match the same number and elements , then use it on lower number cards to win -easy. The other HOS is list type with fragments underneath the item we found and then resemble it. I used hint once to find the “fish list” which is located at the top of cupboard and it is small size. Meanwhile , the puzzles is nothing new but enjoyable and variety. The puzzles mostly about matching (so far) , matching image at the museum door , and to find the same shape to repair the glider , the reflection & ray puzzles is easy with furniture that blocking the rays that you need to organize them and fix the octopus emblem’s tentacles . Both of them are easy but takes minutes or seconds to figure out ( some of you might take minutes to complete it , especially the puzzles). Well honestly I call myself a beginner but all these puzzles is just easy for me and I play them on Casual mode , because I want to experience it first. There are also a non-skip-able puzzle but most are sequence puzzle on the museum cupboard. Yet there are take & put , which we found items like emblems or painted brick to fit on the wall and surprisingly you found your old dolly , why did you hid your favorite thing outside of your house? I don’t know that a scroll with picture can read it self and rotate the picture but don’t damage it [I know it’s a game but please change this , I’m TIRED of playing the same thing] . Anyway we have interactive map , hint show direction and Teleportation-hint-system , inventory lock , objective that is like a journal & store clues , collectibles indicator , and an Add Sign on inventory objects that really need to be fix. Overall the gameplay , both Puzzles & HOS is enjoyable , 1 new but the rest is still the same format , and easy [ but maybe challenging for those who can’t see same shape on puzzle]. There are 4 modes included { Calm sea , Gale , Hurricane } plus Customs. One more thing , This game still have runes where you find or match it , it just feel not different {the design was different} and annoying. The story starts with your family cruising on Everlast , a cruise ship, then a siren cursed the ship and the whole crew, the storms , huge waves , and thunders strike the ship . Your mother is trapped on the second deck and your father ask you and your brother go to life boat while your father try to open stuck door for your mother ,but it’s all too late , the whole ship was gone and never comeback. Your brother and you are the only survivor. But after 20 years , the ship make a comeback. You decide to go to the ship but the first try ( by a boat) is being “disturb” by a mermaid that sing a curse song but the second chance , with the help of your brother , Bill , repairing the glider , it works and perfectly crashed on the ship. You meet your father but he said “The Lost must be Forgotten” then he trapped you. Looks like he have been hypnotized. Well the story is like Phenomenon series (about lost parents , curses/accident , paranormal/myths, the compass). I wonder why the mermaid curse the Everlast and the crew? That’s I want to know but the story of a ship that emerged to another realm just like Fear For Sale : Endless Voyage but that is ghost and this one is , they still alive but possessed by mermaid. Is this coincident ? 2 developer have the same idea but can be differentiate , I’m very sure it is different. Yes true double game about portal to another world for this week .Yes again , I already spoil the story , sorry. That’s my opinion for the whole story and gameplay. Weird where you find it CREEPY? I can’t find nothing , it just fill with MYSTERY only. The Collector’s Edition include a SG , Bonus Gameplay , 37 Shell Collectibles to unlock a Secret Puzzle [maybe], Morphing Objects in HOS , Music , Wallpapers , Concept Arts , Ship’s Crew or Character’s Bio , HO Gallery , Everlasting Voyage 2 ( I don’t know what it is). If you can’t find all the collectibles try Collectible Hunt and not enough ? Forgotten Hunt {Treasure Hunt} will quench your thirst. Yeah , Achievements , easy to earn too. If you like a game that take you to sea with a mermaid and travel to the Realm of Forgotten , easy gameplay that try to “stop” you ( but they can’t stop me , I never skip the puzzles) , and a singing mermaid, this is for you to play. I like the tragic story at the beginning , the graphic which is Mad Head’s standard , sirens-themed music, but the gameplay need more challenge , that’s all. I give 4 star as I enjoyed the game but the easy gameplay and same story BUT still playable causing me to drop one of the star. REMEMBER : TRY IT FIRST BEFORE YOU BUY , and please don’t just read high rating reviews , read the other reviews too ! Thank you. Have a Safe & Fun Weekend/Weekday.
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Minus one star for setting options this is a good game and i really have no complaints about the game itself. i have a problem with the options to play the game. most adventure/ hogs allow you to customize your game play without restrictions so you can set it up the way you want to play. I personally use my touch screen to get through the hogs as fast as i can because i don't enjoy them anymore, and unlike puzzle you can not skip them i realize the game will be shorter and that's fine. but when the creators of these games don't allow you to do this i have a problem especially now when so many others are giving us players what we are asking for and that is for the player ( BUYER OF THE GAME) to be able to set there own defaults . madhead is one of those who still does not listen to the consumer about this.. personally i think once i have paid for the game, i should be allowed to set it up anyway i want, i paid my money so why the restriction? at the lest offer an alternative to the hogs if your going to block the players options.
Date published: 2015-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beware The Tides of May Setting: Twenty years ago your parents were lost on a sea voyage when the ship Everlast disappeared. Just you and your brother escaped. All of a sudden your father's compass, which he gave you just before disappearing, is emitting a strange glow and the Everlast has reappeared in the harbor! Is it possible your parents are still there? And, is that a mermaid? The drawing is colorful with lots of blues, browns and grays. The style is typical of most games, rooted mostly in realism but with enough stylization to remind you that you are playing a game. Voices are well acted and the characters are believable - which is a nice change. The play is fun, but there is a certain seriousness about the story that I found to be refreshing. Music is presented on a grand scale, with large orchestral arrangements accompanied by chorale singers, but it does not overpower. There are 13 HOPs and an undetermined number of mini games. The HOPs are straightforward and well drawn, but not too exciting. Mini games are more numerous and also more interesting. While not necessarily new or difficult, they were well suited to the story and the overall settings. Also, there is a transportable map. Difficulty: I seem to always choose Custom because I like to turn off the sparkles but leave map indicators on and it is rare for a developer to include that as a standard setting. Hint and Skip refills can be set between 15-90 seconds. CE Extras: 37 collectible seashells (hidden well), 13 morphing objects, 37 "collectibles" (i.e. souvenirs) achievements, bonus level, strategy guide (2 chapters in demo) and the pseudo extras like wallpapers. I enjoyed playing the demo more than the recent Amaranthine Voyage game. While the quality of the the two are similar, and like AV game there is a "device" that is used over and over (here it's the compass), since this compass performs only one function it seems less contrived. This appealed to me more also because of the more serious tone and the impression that this game is aimed more towards adults . Finally, the story and game play also made more sense. So, what do you say we go for a swim and see if we can spot any mermaids?
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lost Tides A little slow and was getting bored, but it did pick up and hope that it gets more exciting after the demo period. The graphics are very nice and liked the characters but too much clicking to continue conversations. Challenge was pretty predictable but still not a bad challenge for a night of game play. HOs were a list and you collected fragments under the found items, but the very first HO I couldn't figure out the result needed and just clicked thru the cards to find the right combination. Puzzles were OK and I did complete them all, even the puzzle puzzle. You needed to collect shells in every scene and there is a morphing item in all the HOs, but prefer morphing in the scene and finding shells has been done too many times, need something new. I do have the other Right of Passage games and do intend to purchase this one also, but will wait for the SE.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 'TooOtally AwwweSome' Wish my key board could mimic music notes to use in my review title. This game get 4 and 1/2 stars. Wow what a game I was suck in and glued till the end of demo. Music is fantastic. I think this game might be by the same folks who make Maze? Has cool things to do, but nothing too hard. Jump map, awards, sea shell to collect, Charming graphics. Did not want to leave the brothers room. Love the HO's and cut scenes. I like it so much I can not think of anything not to like. Game runner up for game of the year. Must go on my to buy list.
Date published: 2015-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting and definately challenging! Great main game, great challenging mini games and HOS's. Colorful, the scenery was nice, however, I got to the bonus chapter and had trouble with several of the quests. I ended up deleting it and not finishing the chapter but the main game was great and I would recommend this game.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from no complaints I really have nothing bad to say about the game, I enjoyed playing
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from BETTER NOW THAN IN 2015! THANK YOU MAD HEAD! As good games get scarcer, I'm playing and replaying. The Lost Tides somehow got skipped over and am happy to have enjoyed finishing game plus bonus content, collectibles, puzzles, treasure hunt. One really good aspect is if collectibles are missed, can go back after main game and bonus game are completed to find those missed. Also gives gamers another chance to review all of the scenes played throughout to appreciate them more. Started out well and then the story line went into the twilight zone with as far fetched a story as one could concoct about three quarters of the way through. Thankfully, the amulet is only utilized a handful of times. Puzzles were easy to mediocre and hidden objects had some challenge to them when items are hidden and no hint as to where. Puzzles could be replayed for the three stars each and better times--very good for those of us who are obsessive compulsive. Also, a cute arcade game after all others completed. Only played up to about 50 tokens so I don't know if the speed increased at all to give some added challenge. A year ago, my review would have been less stars, however, as the better game offerings get progressively fewer, I find myself turning back the hands of time and appreciating the older games more. Thank you Mad Head Games for a job well done--as usual! The artwork is breath taking! Although I prefer pure adventure, these are rare as hen's teeth on BFG. Once in a while one squeaks through but not many that's for sure! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bonus chapter needs fixing I had enjoyed playing this game and would have given it a higher mark, but got stuck on the plane in the bonus chapter and there's no way to get out or move on. I went to the forums and discovered that this has been a problem for other gamers since 2015. Big Fish should have fixed this instead of selling the collectors edition knowing there was a fault. Stick to the standard edition!
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Game but Far Too Short This game had so much potential! The story started out fantastic, the audio and visual were good, and the puzzles started great... Then, as the story felt like it was starting to develop, the whole game was over. Seriously. I'm good at these types of games, but by no means a master and certainly not fast and it took me 2.5 hours to complete the main story, another hour to finish the bonus story, and then 45 minutes to finish off every achievement and all the bonus content. I would have felt SERIOUSLY gypped if I bought the standard edition, and even the collectors edition put a bit of a bad taste in my mouth for the number of hours I got for the price I paid. Still, I give it 3 stars because the story was good, and felt slightly more complete with the bonus story. The play through although not challenging (no puzzle took more than 3-4 minutes to complete) was enjoyable the whole way through, and as always with Mad Head the game itself was beautiful in both score and illustration. If you're looking for a good introductory game to test the waters in HOG that won't prove to be too hard, to give you an idea of what to expect, this is a great place to start, but people who have played many may want to skip this entry in the Rite of Passage series and spend their money on a longer, more challenging game.
Date published: 2016-05-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Have I played this before? this one was just okay for me. Right off the bat I had a problem with getting the second sea shell collectible. No matter how many times I clicked it, it would not work. The game kept making me "click to continue" and by the time that was done my brother pulled me away. I tried to go back down the stairs to get it but the game would not let me. I restarted the game three times but no go. So I resigned myself to collecting all but one. Not a good beginning. As far as production values this one was very good at that. The art work was lovely and they had good use of color. The cut scenes were well done as were the VO's. The storyline was okay.. your parents disappear along with the ship they are in, into some kind of weird storm while you and your brother sit in a lifeboat and watch. It reappears later and the adventure begins. Not the most original or exciting but it worked. My biggest disappointment with this one I must say. is the lack of achievements and the one collectible. That was the best part of the other games. IMHO. There were complex achievements to achieve and extras to collect. In this one they have really dwindled down to only the very most basic. Not that much fun. nothing much to strive for and therefore very little replay value. When you came to the scenes that told the story for example each scene used to have 4 missing pieces.. this game each scene had only one. So although this dev always offers a beautiful looking game this one just did not have the chops. It was a very basic game with very easy HO scenes #although they did contain a morphing object#, a sort of been there seen that storyline and not a lot of mini games. . I thought it was a tad on the short side and didn't offer much originality or challenge. I really missed the detailed achievements, some length and quite frankly, anything different. So an okay game for me with a few glitches. In the bonus chapter I had a click to continue icon that would not go away even when I exited the game and came back, that blocked some of the items on the HO scene list. So this one, for me at least was a decent game but just not as detailed and polished as we come to expect from the dev. maybe the honeymoon is over?
Date published: 2015-05-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from strangely unsatisfying at first glance, Rite of Passage: The Lost Tides CE looked like just the sort of game I enjoy: hidden objects, clever puzzles, different storyline. unfortunately, the story was disjointed and illogical, the puzzles were extremely simple (match bubble sizes of 4 pairs of bubbles??), the hidden objects were not really hidden, but placed behind larger objects in the scene, virtually every one. and the art and animations were very poorly done. collectibles and morphing objects were apparently there, but it wasn't until the end of the game that this was made apparent. the characters were completely unbelievable and easily disposed of - I'm still totally unclear on who the mermaid was or why she was even part of the story. all in all, a very disappointing game.
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Rinse and Repeat The graphics and audio are very nice, however there is nothing creative or new about Lost Tides. It's very linear with no side tasks. The puzzles are repetitive. Unfortunately, I purchased the CE. All you have to do is look at the guide to see how scant the content is. Each chapter is 5-7 pages. To top it all off, I encountered a glitch in the Bonus Chapter that doesn't allow me to move, even if I close and reopen the game.
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Boring Perhaps if this game had not been released right after Fear for Sale: Endless Voyage I would not have noticed the storyline similarities. The endless exposition of plot points and having to click three or four times to finish a task (removing a screw, mending a boat) is tedious. Granted, I am basing my opinion on the demo, perhaps the game picks up speed later on. I'll wait until the regular version comes out and use a game credit.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Boring demo I hope this game gets better because I thought the demo was boring. Making boats and planes, screwing things together, not my kind of fun. I didnt like the medallion or whatever it was, its just a gimmick and we didnt need it. The first two games in this series are very good but this one has sunk for me.
Date published: 2015-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too short I felt it did not have enough to do. Every scene was very detailed and well done except there was hardly any interaction with most of the scenes. Not enough explanation with the storyline.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Eh . . . Perhaps I'm simply getting too darn old for hidden object games. I get to the end and wind up, like the old Peggy Lee song, wondering if that's all there is. I have a LOT of hidden object games that I've purchased that I've played exactly once. They are, to me, like a book meant to be read only once; remembered, yes, but not reread every so often. Don't get me wrong. Hidden object games are a blast. I have two series that I'm currently, slowly, collecting that I -DO- play over and over again. This particular one, however, I would not. Yes, it's intriguing. Yes, it's designed well and geared to make one think. It's simply not my cup of tea.
Date published: 2015-05-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from We can't go anywhere without oars... I was excited to see another in this series but just played the demo and NOT buying: - We can't go anywhere without oars... OMG - If I saw that message pop up one more time when clicking on something I was going to scream. Apparently quality control took a pay cut. - Map only shows areas to be finished, not where tasks are waiting. Not helpful. - I'm not a fan of super-tough puzzles and HOPs, but even I found them pretty easy and boring. - Another ersatz-broadway-singing character with absolutely no tone quality. I thought mermaids and sirens were supposed to lure you in, not scare you away. - Annoying sound effects when clicking or finding items. ...and the lost shall be forgotten, just like this game.
Date published: 2015-05-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Bit Disappointed This review is based on having played the entire game..but not the bonus game as it did not seem to work. I really wanted to like this game, but found that I really do not. I don't hate it...but...neither do Iike it. If I could give it 2 1/2 stars, I would. It still has a variation of the original HOPA's that I so loved in the first two of this series. I skipped almost of of the puzzles because they were tedious and repetitive (which seems to be the norm for games these days.) I was not particularly engaged by the story line nor the rather washed out look of the graphics. I find that I much prefer the colorful, well-drawn cartoonlike graphics of the first game better than this. I do not play with the sound on, so cannot speak to that. Overall, I'd say play the demo and decide for yourself. That said I will be removing yet another BF game from my computer this morning.
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth two game credits in my opinion Based on the demo: I finished the demo with 27 minutes to spare. I liked the other two of this series that I played, but I think I'll pass on this one -- at least for the CE. I found having to click multiple times to get through a conversation irritating, the mini-games were anything but intuitive, and I just couldn't connect with the characters. Oh well, they can't all be gems.
Date published: 2015-05-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from First fail from Mad Head I usually love Mad Head Games, so I'm sorry to say this is the first one of theirs I didn't really like. The artwork is beautiful, as usual, but the storyline made no sense. It's obvious they didn't really think it through, because it's not believable in the slightest. Many questions went unanswered at the end of the game, and the puzzles were really easy. It was pretty boring. Just seemed to me they should have spent more time in development.
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not so fun for me Well, I know that this is a popular game, looking at all the great reviews. I supposed I just don't like all the help that is in this game. The zooming in and out, giving me hints, all the icons at the bottom of the screen for objective, achievements, hints, etc. I own many games with helps, but for some reason this one seemed to require more clicking that was confusing to me. I only got through 15 minutes of the trial, and I logged out. I won't buy this one.
Date published: 2015-05-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very buggy game. Wait for an update While this game was fun and I liked the story there are a LOT of bugs still left in this game. Whenever I clicked on something I needed to use an item on I got a "We need to get oars before we leave" which is a response from the very beginning of the game. It really broke immersion to see that every time you use an item incorrectly or tried to get info about something. Some things you get way to much hand holding on and some you are completely lost (EX. in one section you need to pull out a blueprint before you can do a HOA but nowhere in the game do you get any info that is necessary and you have to trial and error it while hearing about oars). Also like many other games the "game specific tutorial" isn't actually a tutorial but a skip button which caused me to miss a couple of morphing objects as I did not know that was a feature in the HOAs and didn't notice that the tiny icon in the corner was a different shape. I would wait a few weeks from release to demo this game to make sure they have corrected these errors before paying for it. Just wait for a weekend sale. Good Game with interesting story but buggy at release.
Date published: 2015-05-05
  • y_2021, m_12, d_5, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_22862, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: The Lost Tides Collector's Edition

Why has the Everlast returned after twenty years at sea?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.