Bathory: The Bloody Countess

Bathory: The Bloody Countess

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(192.69 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Your little sister Rose has always loved mysteries and adventures and that's why she became an archaeologist. After being summoned to an excavation in east Slovakia, Rose suffered terrible nightmares of a dark hooded figure. After receiving an anxious letter from her, you decide to go see her only to find out that she's vanished! Now, it's up to you to learn the truth behind the ancient legend of the Blood Countess before her castle claims another victim.

The history of almost every country has a controversial figure whose sins and virtues have been debated for centuries. While most of the world knows Elizabeth Bathory as the ruthless serial killer, many biographers still claim that she was slandered. Taking a twist on different theories and speculations, this hidden object adventure game offers a stunning entanglement of legends and evidence, history and magic.

  • Wonderfully hand-drawn artwork
  • Crafty puzzles and brain-twisters
  • Compelling storyline and blood-chilling effects

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 213 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Bathory: The Bloody Countess

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(192.69 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Bathory: The Bloody Countess is rated 2.5 out of 5 by 53.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a really good game I was not sure about this game, so I read the reviews first, viewed the screenshots and got it after all. The story is not spooky, if not for a fer ghost apparitions, hidden objects don't hurt your eyes, a lot of thinking is involved, and I mean a lot. There are hints which help when you just can't figure some thing out. If you are sitting on the fence about this one, just believe that it's more than you could expect.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice game This game is great. If you get stuck the help is built in. I play a lot of games, but, I still have trouble with getting where I need to go. I buy collectors editions so I will have the walkthrough. With this game, it is built in and only 6.99 Make more games like this so people like me can play games that cost less.
Date published: 2017-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes you think The cursor doesn't change to show you what to pick up or where to go although you do get a magnifying glass if there's a close-up so it makes the game rather challenging. I like the artwork, I think it's kind of evocative of old sepia tone photos and the music is pleasant and unobtrusive. I have no idea what the story is but I'm enjoying trying to figure out what to do next since this isn't a particularly easy game (for me anyway.) It's a real change of pace, and you should approach it with an open mind.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes you Think.... Ok, the graphics look a bit out dated, but there is a slightly earie look to it. I like the fact that you have to earn any tips you get by going back and completing a HOP as quickly as poss( and after the first time in any area, the HOP is practically the same every time).. all in all a really nice little game. The hardest part is remembering all the places to go back to, to earn extra cash
Date published: 2015-12-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Has Its Issues, But Beautiful The graphics and music, firstly, were beautiful. I thought the font and style choices were, overall, a good choice and gave the game a more prominent time period. The HOPs had well-fitting items, and not just a random mish-mash of things. Little details such as that which made this game outwardly enriching. However, the actual gameplay had its flaws. Sometimes connections between what to do next and where to go for items were not at all clear. The hint button oftentimes didn't work unless I clicked it over and over hoping it would register, especially during HOPs where I needed them the most. Moving through scenes also wasn't easily apparent, since sometimes it was an arrow and other times it was click and drag to move. The HOPs reset every time you played, whether it be for coins or for another item, so it was way too easy to find the items the next time. The story was also pretty basic, but the details about the Countess in the book at the store were intriguing and unique. I've always thought the story of the queen who killed young maidens and bathed in their blood was fascinating. Other story details, like the MC getting haunted by the ghost in her sister's house made it more interesting, though I didn't feel in danger based on how it was handled. Overall an okay game. Perhaps others would find it more interesting than me.
Date published: 2017-08-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Put on your thinking caps. Can't say this is a very fun game, but it is challenging! There is no hand holding....had to use some hints. Once you figure it out it draws you in. Not as bad as some of the other reviews.....you just have to stick with it!
Date published: 2017-01-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun to Play for Beginners! Thinking outside the box, this soft release is a good start for beginners. Not everyone is a BFG expert and some gamers would enjoy a more simplistic approach. Storyline is interesting and I'm especially fond of hand-drawn artwork. Hidden object scenes are repetitive, yet, again, beginners won't mind and I certainly didn't mind breezing through them to get on with the story line. Gamer starts with 15 coins and 2 hints. Most of the HOS add more coins to your purse as well as some needed objects, but, not always. Plays somewhat like an adventure game as well with little to no hand holding and makes for a challenge. Today's sale is a good day to make the purchase especially since hubby would like to try his hand at a hidden object game and wants easy or will quickly give up playing the game. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not so bad as some make it out to be. Only purchase if you have game credits that are near expiring. Game play is smooth and predictable.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Get Out Your Best Pair Of Sneakers - LOL - Completed Game GAME PLAY: Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure: VERY heavy on HOS. This will definitely be "too many HOS" for some people. Some puzzles of course. Adventure-lite - There is back and forth to this game and lots of it and going back as far as the beginning of the game once you are more into the game. As my title says: Get Out Your Best Pair of Sneakers - LOL. There are "arrows" on the screen showing you which direction(s) you can go. There are a couple of scenes where you have to manually "scroll" it to see it by doing a click and hold on the screen moving left/right vise versa. PLAY MODES: No choice here. There are some glints. Some "helpful" tips in the dialogue to give you a nudge in the right direction. . Hint/Skip didn't seem to take too long to charge back up. The hint is not directional outside of HOS. If you click on it, it will just tell you what you need to do. It won't point you in the direction you need to go. MAP: No Diary: This holds tasks and notes. When it glows green it is adding a new task. When it glows red it's adding a new note. Gold Coins: You get these by completing some of the HOS. The coins are used for 3 things: 1. If you used your one hint and need a hint. 2. To skip a puzzle if you don't want to wait for it to charge up. The cost is 10 coins. and 3. You use the coins to buy some of the objects from the merchant at the store to use in some scenes of the game. The cost varies here. I thought the game was very generous with the coins. I had over 400 end of the game. HOS: These are all found by standard word list. You will visit the same scenes many times and even finding the same objects and in the same place. As you move along in the game it will open up more/different HOS but like I said you will visit them many times. The scenes with sparkles which can't be turned off by the way but these scenes after completing them will give you an inventory item. The scenes with "gold coins" will give you coins and I've already explained the use of the coins. See above. PUZZLES: The usual run of the mill found in many games. Some had a different twist/take on them. VISUAL/SOUND QUALITY: I had no problem with the graphics. I quite liked them. Very fitting to the game especially due to subject matter. Not for the faint at heart. I really can't say too much about sound cause I didn't notice/pay attention to music and there are no voice overs to the game. LEVEL OF CHALLENGE: Though there were the arrows, sparkles, glints and some "helpful" comments in the dialogue which I wish wouldn't of been there but at times I didn't find this game to be so easy. I had to put on my thinking cap where to go and what to do next so "level of challenge" pretty good. STORY LINE: Well the story line itself I found intriguing however I thought there could of been a bit more story telling and I would of liked to have seen more character interaction. I also think some well done voices would of added so much more to this. This does have a conclusion and looks like there may be a sequel. FUN FACTOR: I've definitely played better games but I didn't think this game was all THAT bad. I thought it was OK for the most part but even I would have to say "too many HOS" though I like and don't mind doing HOS. If the developer does decide to do a sequel to this I hope they do cut back on the HOS especially visiting the same scenes and finding the same items over and over again. Also have a couple of play modes to chose from. One play mode without sparkles, glints, helpful messages. Oh but I do hope they keep the coin feature and going to the merchant to buy objects. I thought that was a great idea for the game. I think this feature can still be kept without having to visit the same HOS over and over again and many times and finding the same objects. I give this 3 stars. An OK time passer game. As always give it a whirl and decide for yourself.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's not THAT bad! It has some charm and fun times! I've played worse... That said, let's get on with the game. I found the graphics charming and lovely. The puzzles were fun, even if not challenging. They were a normal, progressive part of the story, not just thrown in to give us puzzles. There is one where we find fragments and put them together (along with more pieces when the puzzle opens), which is an object that many of us have in our homes! There are several "secret messages" where we have to find items, complete tasks, to "read." Correct ways of doing it too, nothing silly. Ways most of us played around with as children. There are two types of HOS. One is indicated by sparkles (alas, you can't turn them off), and you get an inventory item. The others are indicated by coins, and you earn coins. You can use these to purchase more hints. If your hint is empty, and filling, you click on it and it goes to the store. I did use the hint several times. There is a diary with our tasks and notes. The coin purse with our hint money is next to it. There is no map. An arrow at the right bottom is how you go back. We need to move the cursors on the sides of scenes though, as sometimes we can move right or left. The inventory bar will stay open if you click it. Items can be clicked to use, but sometimes they need to be dragged. There are no difficulty modes, or voices, but the game is still worth playing, I think. It's rather like an adventure lite, where you take your time to look around thoroughly. Slow down and enjoy yourself! You just might enjoy the game if you don't come into it with preconceived ideas and comparisons to the games released by the "big guy" developers.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from There is a charm here but... The fact is this puzzle just takes time. Visually it is lovely with a European flavor. And many of the mini quiz sections I found pleasant. In fact the whole game was pleasant it just requires a lot of patience. This game needs to be played like taking a leisurely walk. The problem is that some of the slowness is just technical like slow loading. The transitions between places are in awkward choppy steps rather than the visual traveling we are enjoying most of the time. It jars you out of the story and back to the awareness of playing. Go back and forth enough and you will probably just not immerse yourself in the game again. I might even pick this up as a free game. But unless you carefully play the demo and know the kinks and don't mind them, I cannot recommend it.
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Great game but one Major flaw that messes it all up I would love to give this game more stars. I played the entire 1 hour trial. I found the story engaging, the artwork cartoon-ish but attractive and aesthetically pleasing, and I've played more than a few BF games that only had subtitles. It was a little difficult to figure somethings out, but that was part of the challenge. The idea of collecting and using coins to buy more hints was a unique idea, but it was necessary because you're bound to need more hints to figure things out. Still, all of the flaws could be tolerated because it was an interesting game and somewhat challenging - except for one MAJOR flaw: the pages load WAY TO SLOWLY! It takes forever for each scene to load. By the time the scene loads you've almost forgotten why you went to that area in the first place. And this is one of those games where you have to go back to different scenes to look for certain items which became tedious because the scenes loaded so extraordinarily slow! I wanted to by the game, to finish the story, but I just couldn't bring myself to purchase a game that worked SO badly.
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Sure Who The Targeted Audience Is Supposed To Be Legends surround the tiny town in Slovakia about the Cachtice Castle whose mistress, Elizabeth Bathory was said to have murdered hundreds of young women in her never ending quest for youth and vitality. You are playing the part of a gemologist whose sister Rose Woods invited you to Slovakia to study a gem that Rose found on an archaeological dig. This game really confuses me, the graphics are hand drawn, not my favorite and not all that great. The Hidden Object Scenes are plentiful, in fact everytime you return to an area, there is another HOP in the same place with the same items to find. The listed items are in huge print, and you have to click on doors and drawers that aren't indicated to click on in the first place, confusing to say the least. Sometimes the HOP's give you an inventory item, other times it rewards you with coins that can be used to skip the puzzles. It took me a while to figure out that some of the scenes could be zoomed in and out by clicking and dragging or scrolling, which would have been helpful when I was trying to complete the Mini Game where you had to swap letters on a mirror so that the sentence makes sense, however, the last word wasn't in view and I had to skip the puzzle, a few minutes later I discovered you had to click and drag the scene to be able to visit the merchant. This game seems like it's designed for kids because it's such a simple game with cartoonish features. On the other hand, I wouldn't want my kids to play a game with this type of storyline! The extremely large print makes me believe that the game was meant for people who have difficulty reading smaller print and for beginners of this genre, but the tutorial is horrible, and the game mechanics are clunky, so I'm not sure if beginners would appreciate this game either????
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not user friendly This game was very tedious to play. The inventory screen had to be selected so it would pop up (no lock or auto hide feature), the "back" key wasn't conveniently located, you had to BUY hints, which weren't particularly helpful, there was no indication of where or what to pick up. Sorry guys
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It Seemed Like Such a Good Idea.... The blurb for this game hinted that it was going to approach the Bathory story from a different angle, probing the idea that the Countess might've been "framed" and unjustly punished. I was anxious to see how this might work out. But from the outset, the game was a huge disappointment. The cartoonish flat and dull colored graphics might not have stopped my playing but combined with poor writing, unclear and often totally misnamed and miscolored items to find in the very plentiful HO scenes, a hint which had to be "bought" with coins earned by solving some of the HO's, and a mostly useless "tutorial" there just wasn't enough to make playing worthwhile. Twenty-five minutes was enough to convince me that this was not the eerie, mysterious and well crafted game it could've been but far, far less. My suggestion is to try out some of the truly excellent offerings out here and hope these devs will do better in future.
Date published: 2015-09-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not for me I started playing the game, went to skip one part, and I got told I had to buy coins, which isn't on, you buy the game, but to buy the chance to skip some thing, I think is disgusting. Plus it's not good graphics either, it's more like pictures from a children's magazine So it's a definite NO from me
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Er...uh...mmmmmmmmmmm Well, that demo is certainly a new challenge for my copywriting skills...mmmm....er....uh It is frankly all I can say about the game as the navigation was dire and spoilt any enjoyment straight away. The clicking was galore and frankly unless you would have had invested in an expensive mouse you would develop ergonomic issues... Not for me
Date published: 2015-09-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from boring Playing the same hop over and over, .looking for the same items over and over. could not finish the game, too cartoon like.
Date published: 2015-09-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not For Me ... Graphics Are Basic By Today's Standards, Sound OK And Very Little Wow Factor ... I Played The Full 1 Hour Demo ... I Could Not Part With A Voucher For It ...
Date published: 2015-09-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT THAT GOOD Not interesting, or fun, not good.
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from An Exercise In Frustration Based On Demo The graphics didn't bother me. Although the colors were "dull", they were in keeping with the subject matter. There wasn't a lot of detail, or "effects", but everything was easy to see. There were many other issues that make this a "no buy" for me. There is a "Help" section that was no help. Nothing it said about game mechanics was true, because nothing worked. There is only one level of difficulty. The hint button is basically a sound effect, because it never worked the way the Help pages said it should. It didn't take long to fill, I clicked on it EVERY time it filled, I got an actual hint ONCE. In addition, 90% of the time, it took several clicks for it to respond, even though it was "ready". "Help" said there would be glints or sparkles to indicate active areas. Never saw ANY. The cursor would turn into a magnifying glass once in awhile. The rest of the time was spent clicking on everything to see if something would respond. Got many responses. Picked up quite a few inventory items. Found many places with something to do. I was able to use four inventory items...two screws for a diary lock that needed three, a wind-up key, and a tap for a faucet. The faucet provided water, but I found no way to use it. I tried a bowl and a towel. The bowl was a "no go". The towel was a "no go", but would not return to the inventory and "floated" on top of it until it just vanished. I needed to make a fire. Had matches and found the "twigs", but had no way to collect the twigs. USING the inventory items was another guessing game. Sometimes I had to "drag and drop". Sometimes I could click on something and have it "follow" the cursor. This game is all about the HOs, and most were played to collect coins. No hint whatsoever about WHY we needed coins. They were revisited several times for more coins or an inventory item that was of no use. I found two mini-games. I was able to play one that was puzzle-like. The other was missing something that I never found in my exploration. The lack of sparkles would not have been an issue for me, but according to the "Help", they should have been there. The diary/journal was supposed to "glow" when something was added but I never saw that happen either. In the end, I had a long list of tasks that I couldn't complete, seven scenes scoured for every possible clues, a hint button that was useless, over 40 coins for...whatever, AND a feeling of frustration that NOTHING about this game was worth the trouble. I suggest you play the demo if, after reading all of the above, you think this game might still have an ounce of fun factor. Hope YOU find some fun today. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It was a disappointing choice The graphics are cartoony and bland, which I won't say is a mark against it, but stylistically not what I prefer. I chose this game hoping for an interesting storyline, but became frustrated before I'd made it far enough to find any real story. It is nowhere near as intuitive as I've found other hidden object games to be. The tutorial is weak and the hint system not terribly helpful. There was nothing to indicate that scrolling was an option or necessary in the starting plaza. The ability to buy hints with coins is nice, but an aggravation, since earning the coins means replaying overly simplistic HO scenes. The simplistic puzzles and scenes might be nice for a casual game, they fit well with the simplistic graphics, but I'll take harder puzzles and HO scenes if they come with a more intuitive interface. I ended up uninstalling this game shortly after installing it. There was no fun factor for me, even the allure of a story involving Countess Bathory is not enough to keep me interested at this point.
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A WASTE OF TIME It is not too often that a hidden object game comes along that I truly find horrible but this might be one of the first. Bathory the Bloody Countess is not a well-constructed game and it comes to us probably from someone who was sitting at home with nothing better to do so they figured they would create a hidden object game. The blurb for the game says there are beautiful hand-drawn graphics. Well they are hand-drawn but they are flat and cartoonish. There are no voiceovers only written dialogue that obviously never met an editor. I lasted about five minutes into the game before I had enough and uninstalled the game. BFG must be scraping the bottom of the barrel if this is all they could come up with. Obviously, I don’t like – no hated is more appropriate – this game and found it a huge waste of my time to even download the demo. If you have extra time to spare, maybe you might want to try the demo to see if this is a game you would like.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Truly Awful & Awfully Slow Played the demo for 15 minutes-much of that time waiting for the endlessly slow opening scene to play out-finally skipped it & played the actually game for about 5 minutes before uninstalling it. Very "old school" look & feel-very slow transitions between scenes-minimal tutorial... Usually I suggest trying the demo & deciding for yourself-but with this game I say-don't waste your time.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Old game revamped? I only played this for about 10 minutes before I gave up. Sorry. It looks and plays like and plays like a game from 2009. It's cartoonish and very brown. The 3 pictures on the BFG website don't look anything like what I saw, but the mini-movie is a good representation. The screen kept getting really shadowed. I had to use hints on the first screen of the town and when I zoomed in on the street sign because I could not see well enough to figure out what to do. It didn't give bubble help to identify what the objects in the inventory were, which, considering the lack of detail in the art, it should have. I accidentally clicked on something that went to my inventory and was unidentifiable there. It turned out it was a piece of turtle shell and I needed 5 of them. I suddenly was looking at a hole in a tree. Abrupt transitions. Disconcerting. I just wasn't having any fun.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't spend your money This game was short and not challenging at all. The hidden object scenes were constantly repeated. It kept taking me back to the same HO scenes and look for the same items so i knew where they already and it was boring.
Date published: 2015-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Total Waste of Time Flat, cartoonish, lifeless, no interaction. And that was just the first seven minutes. That's all I could take. No voices, just writing. What happened to the good, interesting, animated, colourful, lively games? This had absolutely no interaction whatsoever. All it is - point and click. If you're lucky you might happen on something you need somewhere. If you're even luckier it might actually tell you what you need and maybe where you need it. If you want to fall asleep early then this might be the game for you. If you want something to keep you interested and awake - not this game.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too cartoonish for me. Probably didn't give this a good try but it was so old school, I bailed after 10 minutes. Do try before you buy, not my cup of tea.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yawn I agree with biscuitsmama. This is a waste of time. Horrible hidden object scenes, bad graphics and no voice overs! I wouldn't even waste a free game coupon on this one.
Date published: 2015-09-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from WORST. GAME. EVER. This is quite possibly the worst game I have ever experienced. It's so hard to believe that the developers put this game out there when it is clearly horrible.
Date published: 2015-09-02
  • y_2021, m_6, d_11, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.17
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_53
  • loc_en_US, sid_23567, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Bathory: The Bloody Countess

Explore the ruined castle once owned by the infamous Countess Dracula in this spine-chilling hidden object adventure!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.