Grim Facade: Hidden Sins Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Grim Facade: Hidden Sins Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(420.58 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

From ERS games comes the HOPA classic Grim Façade with another exciting case to solve! A masked vigilante calling himself the Avenger has the town of Coldstone in a death grip of fear, and you’re called in by the mayor to investigate. His wife’s been kidnapped, and there’s a blacklist of potential targets for the Avenger’s wrath. Can you stop him before he strikes again, or will you be crossing another name off the list? Special Achievements, a humorous alley cat, and hidden masks you can collect throughout the game make this one a winner!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“ERS did it again....Graphics were not only done well also interactive. The storyline did not disappoint, I love this series and will be purchasing this one as well.”  - Samantha, Beta Tester

“I love this series and this developer. Once again they have made an amazing game.”  - Rodger, Beta Tester

  • Play the bonus game to learn about the Avenger's past!
  • Collect masks hidden throughout the game!
  • Earn special Achievements!
  • Access the helpful Strategy Guide.
  • Enjoy soundtracks, wallpapers, concept art, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1018 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Grim Facade: Hidden Sins Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(420.58 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Grim Facade: Hidden Sins Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 56.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great game has kept me up way past my bedtime. A detective is tracking down a vigilante who is terrorizing a town for past injustices. People on a “blacklist” are dying. The detective must catch vigilante before the mayor of the town, who hired him and who is on the list, is killed. Others have described this game thoroughly, so I won’t list every feature. I will only discuss the things I noticed as I played through the first two chapters. There’s a really interesting cat. The art is beautiful and the colors are nice. Even the little tokens that you pick up are cute. The music fits the story well (I particularly like “Track 1,” which is the first one you hear when you start the game). The black and white movies disbursed throughout added to the ambience. In other words, five stars for sound and graphics. The HOS’s were good and the mini-games were very, very good. Play is seamless and natural. You can figure out what to do without having to hit the hint button all the time. SPOILER IN THIS PARAGRAPH, but it explains the way I figured out how to do something. The whole concept for collecting thoughts was unique and interesting, but the act of actually catching them was kind of boring because I did have a bit of trouble finding them (they are invisible and floating in the air). At first I kept sliding the thought catcher thingy up and down and back and forth, covering the whole screen in a methodical fashion. I caught a couple that way. But I don’t think that’s the best way. What I ended up doing for the rest was, I put the thought catcher thingy in the middle of the screen and slid the mouse straight up and down slowly. This caught the thoughts as they cruised through the middle of the screen. There were riddles. How fun! The achievements were “eh” and the masks which you collect were ok. At least the masks had some interesting facts accompanying them. But I don’t think either of these things helped the gaming experience, and I did not like the ends of the two banners for achievements and collectables that were always sticking out into the far left of the screen. They showed all the time. Unnecessary. The only jarring note in my whole playing experience so far was in the mayor’s introduction. OK, I can see why people on a vigilante's blacklist may be important people, a "who’s who" of the town. The people in charge are those in the position to perpetrate injustices that a vigilante would want to avenge. But to say that the mayor lives in “the nobility district?” Silly. Besides, since when is a mayor “nobility?” If this is the only thing I can find wrong with a game after playing it for two hours, I agree with other reviewers that it is one of the best games of the year. You gotta try it.
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CREEPY GOOD! definitely not for young children ... the artwork is fantastic ... the gameplay SMOOTH ... love the mini games ... and so happy for a more adult STORYLINE ... one gets tired of childish fairy tales after a while ... the back and forth dialog is a little bit time consuming, but it's part of what makes this game what it is ... finally the quality that i've been missing! ...thank you!
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful graphics & clarity... Excellent game, clean and artistic. No fuzzy, dark or gritty graphics. Puzzles were too easy in general, but I loved all the puzzles anyway, some were creative and fun. I loved the interactive hops, thanks for that. Overall definitely a great game and recommend.
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ERS YOU HAVE NOT FAILED THE GRIM FASCADE GAME EPISODES FOR ALL WHO READ THIS ONE SIMPLE WORD ABOVE ALL ELSE " BEAUTIFUL " rarely due I give a game that type of rating only once or twice but even then they had to surpass previous game episodes and all and in all this game exceeds even my staunch /tight expectations .For big fishies in the big pond out there give this game a try you like from its test point then play on or you can be a little more patient and wait for the standard edition ( but you miss out on all the extras the collectors edition has I was not going to miss out ) was part of the beta testing forgot to hold on to my beta test play time on the game on my big fish game app so had to start from the very beginning all over again but for all you fishies out there who have done beta testing should know by now you can hold on to your game play from your beta test game play and have it uploaded to your game this applies only to collectors editions but I am very glad I did not save it this game most definitely is worth starting from the very beginning .so go ahead and like me enjoy the game for all its worth this one game to me is definitely worth it.
Date published: 2015-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great game for the weekend! So far so good. ERS games typically have pleased me and this so far doesn't disappoint! Can't wait to hunker down and play this game.
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great game from ERS! A rather intense, dark game and well thought out, that's a refreshing and delightful change to the normally placid nature of the past several games. Loved the cat in the game, slightly disappointed that his mouth didn't move when speaking as all the other characters were en pointe with voice overs and animation.....which is ALWAYS a huge plus for me as it makes the game more realistic. Absolutely adore ERS graphics and animation. The film clips were quite graphic and was annoyed at having to review the past clips with each additional extension of the story. A long playing interesting, challenging, entertaining and fun game! Some puzzles were more difficult than others, shooting puzzles just annoy me, generally I skip them, but most were quite easy if you start at the right point, however there was no reset button which if you didn't start in the right spot it became a lost cause. A few of the inventory items which seemed to require further investigation just suddenly disappeared, didn't seem to affect the game play however. The bonus chapter was delightfully extended more than the usual and also well thought out and not just an add on afterthought. I did not use the strategy guide and the map just seemed to tell me what I already knew although there were some puzzles like the gem ring where next time I will go to the strategy guide to review as I couldn't figure it out for the life of me. I was rather hesitant at paying the full price as I usually regret that choice....but, after playing the free trial I felt it was worth the price and was not disappointed! Although the story line is not new there were some very interesting and totally unexpected twists... love that!! Excellent, well thought out game! thank you ERS!
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game! This is 6th game in the Grim Facade series and it's great. Wonderful story line, Hops and puzzles ERS has a winner on their hands!
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "REVENGE IS A DISH BEST SERVED COLD" BY A CAPED "AVENGER." AN AWESOME GAME - ONE OF THE BEST BY THE "GAMERS." 5 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER - REVIEW BASED ON THE FIRST HALF OF THE GAME "Revenge" comes to gaming! A masked avenger is seeking some much needed justice in this rather DARK - adult "whodunit." The graphics are realistic with sharp imaging. There is a variety of HOP puzzles - lists, replacing items back into the scenes, silhouette. Some puzzles have a choice between hard and easy modes - sliding tiles, switch puzzle, memory puzzle, marble puzzles (variation of sliding puzzle), Simon Says, timed puzzle and choosing the correct response to questions. All excellent! There are more puzzles than HOP scenes. The inventory is interactive Collect memory fragments to use with a Memory Device which unlocks a video about the story. You also purchase items you need for the game at a local vendor for inventory items. I found the game is well paced and fun to play. WOW! What an awesome game and a real turnaround (really) for the GamERS. I LOVE THIS GAME! I am speechless because it is like this dev reinvented themselves. BE WARNED - THIS IS A DARK ADULT GAME. Good! I LOVE THE CAT. "Mr. Meanie" is at least nice enough to give you some of his 9 lives. You still have a few animals from the GamERS' menagerie, but they are not used as helpers. There is also some nice eye candy in this game - Jim! CHAPTER 3: HOP scenes COMPLETELY CHANGE TO JUST LISTS OF ITEMS! I found four HOP scenes with lists - not that interactive. No variations in the HOP scenes. I found five puzzles - a book puzzle, using a telescope, a matching, transfer rings puzzle and a "shooting" sequence. I got a "charge" out of the awesome Tesla plasma spheres - obviously designed to further "generate" some interest in this game! LOL LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hard, Custom HOP - Hints and Skips - 5 to 200 seconds There is an penalty option for random clicking for HOP scenes if you wish GRAPHICS : Realistic, sharp imaging and nicely done. Very beautiful EXTRAS: Map is provided at the beginning of the game Memory Device - look for blobs then receive a memory stone to get a story video SO COOL - THINKING OUTSIDE THE BOX DEV! Collect 16 gruesome masks 24 Achievements Collect coins to purchase inventory items Strategy guide Wallpaper, music, artwork, movies, screensavers, extra HOP puzzles NO MORPHING OBJECTS HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFO ON THE HOP scenes and puzzles: HOP SCENES: A. Search for one particular type of item B. Replace items back into HOP scene C. Switching between replacing items back into the HOP scene and locating item through silhouettes D. List of items followed by searching for coins PUZZLES: More puzzles than HOP scenes. Choice between Hard and Easy modes A. Sliding tiles to open a gate B. Sliding tiles to open postal box C. Variation of a switch puzzle - Swap the positions of the knights with thieves D. Asked cryptic questions which you must answer correctly to regain a life E. Variation of moving tiles into proper slots F. Card game - look at cards for few seconds turned over and then guess where it is located G. Moving gears (variation of moving tiles) to the correct slots H. Marble game. Move marbles into correct location I. Simon says - press buttons in correct order to release a man J. Move a diver to a treasure chest stopping for air through air bubbles You are only given a certain amount of moves K. Book puzzle - move books into correct positions L. Use a telescope of locate landscapes M. Using manual dexterity try to "shoot" the bad guys with a gun. N. Transfer rings from one post to another
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from better ERS this is a review of the whole game......this one is a great improvement over the last few in this series. great graphics,and a real story line..............
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sin always catches up to you I think this is an excellent game. Mystery, murder, "who done it"
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Game This game keeps you going and going never a dull moment!!
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grim Facade: Hidden Sins Collector's Edition Another great game in the series
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game ! This game played for hours. Interesting storyline, graphics were good ( colors a bit dark ), mini games were not the usual ones. No morphing objects, but you got to look for a collection of masks. The CC edition was worth the money as it was also surprisingly long and all new scenes and storyline.
Date published: 2016-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hidden Sins, Secrets, Surprises & Ending Choice Awesome addition to the series, best yet. The characters, questions, graphics, storyline & choices were a great surprise & the best was the cat!!!! I loved the cat & his sharing lives & sense of humor, purrrfectly executed (puns intended) I wish I had gotten the CE version & I wanna replay to choose the different ending & some different choices but that will wait for now. The HOS were good, challenging but not overly so & the mini games were very challenging for the most part. I hate skipping mini games but I had to skip 2 of them (the chase & the bone puzzle) cuz it wasn't working out for me this time to get it right, BUT that's a good thing to have the games challenging instead of the same old easy cheesy stuff, so thank you!!! This is a great addition to the series & you won't guess who the masked avenger really is, very nice surprise
Date published: 2016-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MAGNIFICENT! BY FAR THE BEST OF ERS! Have not given ERS rave reviews in the past although I do purchase all of their Collector's Edition releases. Eh, if you're going to purchase a game, purchase the entire game--which I would like to see ALL games in the CE version but not the CE price and usually wait for a sale--for that reason. Agree with other reviewers who stated the clarity and overall art work is simply magnificent as well as the layout of the game is done with pure genius. Where have you been? Game had none of the silliness that sometimes made it's way into their format. Appreciated the Achievement Banners--well done, BRAVO! Quite a bit of trekking although the Map was somewhat helpful--as well as the Strategy Guide--at times when I get turned around. Bonus Chapter was well presented and didn't cheat gamers out of a continued part of the main game but rather went back into time--which was very well done. So, now I'm off the play the game a second time to answer the final question differently and see where the game goes. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2015-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deep in the Facade and saved from Grim by a Cat This could be a contender for game of the year. I have always found Grim a bit hard to play even on easy mode. This one was smooth sailing. Absolutely love the grim cat. Boy the critter action all the way down to movement of bugs was a real treat and back ground noise like you would really hear in the neighborhood from critters. Very excellent touches. I had so much fun that I could not tell you if it had a jump map but it switch around in different types of HO's and the work in those HO's were nice touches. Puzzles were great. Liked the crystal contraption I use to clear a room. Characters with their voice overs were very fitting. I just did not want the fun to end. Must buy for me and so far my favorite Grim Facade.
Date published: 2015-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game ERS Love the game, ERS makes games fun and graphic's are good.
Date published: 2015-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ER is BacK! Game of the Year Wow! I have to agree with all the great reviews on this game. I don't want to repeat again what has been already said in all the wonderful reviews. I agree. I am just so glad that ER is back. New storyline. Lots of mini-games with a choice of hard or casual. Some mini-games I excel at and others after I work them for a while then I realize I need casual. Hidden Objects are a variety so not to be boring. That has helped my boredom with Hidden Objects. I am not a Hidden Objects fan. Thanks ER and Big Fish. This is definitely the “Game of the Year”!
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sounds The game was greath..but a very big flaw is the sound, all through the game, the sound didnt follow with the pictures/visual..
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A tricky game.. I loved the graphics and story line. This is a dark story with graphics to match. I also enjoyed the HO and mini puzzles. A few had a twist to increase the challenge. Beware of going into them thinking these are the same old type of games with the story different. You will be shocked and get stuck with such an attitude. I enjoyed this game immensely. I have not played any of the Grim Facade series before this one. I am glad that I did.
Date published: 2015-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more Hello Kitty games !! The developer of this game has always been one of my favorites, but when I read the game was not rated for 10 and under, I had to try it. Excellent game - a must buy for me. I won't rehash what the other reviewers have written, but urge you to give it a try - it is a very good game. Looking forward to some entertainment this weekend! Thanks BFG!
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definately fits the name . . . I have played this whole series of Grim Façade Games and all have delivered including this one. I liked the length, the colorful scenery and the mystery of course. The HOS's were ok, not great, the mini games were good about the same as all the other games. All in all it was a good game to play. Enjoy!
Date published: 2015-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Liked it a lot! Pretty creepy to begin with. A good mix of HOs but some of the puzzles were so samey that I skipped them. The game was far more exciting at the beginning. It seemed to tail off and the ending was a little disappointing, as was the bonus chapter. All in all a very enjoyable game to play though.
Date published: 2015-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Death Grip in Coldstone Town This is my first review ever, I just finished playing the CE Demo. Its about time!! I love the fact that the game is darker, more interesting. It caught my attention from the "get go". Even the cat like a real alley cat. It had my cats looking for it, once I clicked on him. I ve been buying games galore and got bored with them real fast, but this one..got me under its spell. I enjoyed the voiceover, from our hooded terror, send shivers down my spine. I enjoyed every scene, it was exciting to be in this game. anyways, my game is ready to play. Gamers, you will not be disappointed. This game is for adults, TG!! no pinks, purples no silliness. Its dark, sinister and just right. Carmella
Date published: 2015-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Judge Thee Lest Ye Be Judged They condemned the innocent, and now they are paying for those sins with their lives. Judge thee lest ye be judged certainly applies in the small corrupt town of Coldstone. Mayor Isaac Merel has requested your services detective, the who's who of Coldstone have been dropping off like flies, fear is swirling in the streets and people are afraid of their own shadows! A strange energy source has been discovered in nearby caves that could revolutionize this tiny town forever, but there are skeletons in the closets of the city officials. Is this a case of judgement, vigilante style, if so, what have these people done, and why? I Beta tested this game a while back, it's a good game, not a great game. The graphics are hand drawn and nicely done, which is impressive when you think about all the talent involved, but honestly I prefer computer generated graphics with sharp lines, crisp resolutions and vivid colors that pop. Some reviewers have negatively commented on the subject matter of explicit scenes involving assassinations, and that's okay, personally it doesn't bother me, I didn't think any of the scenes depicted any more violence than other games with this type of storyline. With the hand drawn graphics and overabundance of pastel colors, it isn't even realistic. You will eventually come across a device that can read the memories of an area, things that have happened recently, with the help of the energy crystals and a quick Mini Game where you catch the memory fragments. You will also collect random coins that you find throughout the game, which comes in handy at the local street vendor. Some of the inventory items are complex items that require some type of interaction before using it such as combining that item with another inventory item. There are 24 Achievements to earn and several Collectible Masks of different origins, you can read a brief description about each mask collected in the Collectibles icon. The Hidden Object Scenes were just okay, and I was really disappointed in the fact that the HO scenes are repeated in the same exact area. At least the second time around, the type of HOS is different, sometimes they are interactive list finds, sometimes you have to place items from the inventory bar into the scene, and there are also multiple finds such as finding 12 bats. The Mini Games are way too easy for my taste, I was able to complete each puzzle usually within less than a minute and on the first try. Swap figurines from left to right and right to left, sliding tiles along several paths until each color coded section forms a complete motif, Rotating tiles so that the 4 doves are all in the center of the board, nothing new and all are very quick games. This Collector's Edition has 16 Collectible Masks, 24 Achievements, Movies, Music, Wallpapers, Screensavers, Concept Art, replayable Mini Games and Hidden Object Games, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very good game I'm about half way through so I think I've got a pretty good idea of the whole thing. As others have said, this is not a pretty tale; there are several gory scenes and efforts to shock. Good! It makes a welcome change from fairies and cutesie stuff. Collectables are some well-hidden masks but I don't know if there is any reward for collecting them all. If there are any morphing items, I haven't found them yet. Good variety of HOs and puzzles. My only criticism is the use of dialogue boxes where you have to click on the question/response you wish to make; I've never seen the point of those. So It's 4.5 stars from me and a strong recommendation.
Date published: 2015-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Sinful Delight My process for reviewing this is a little convoluted. Let me explain what I did and what I'm doing and why: 1. Before tonight I'd neither purchased nor played any version of this game. 2. Tonight I downloaded and played the CE first for an hour next I downloaded and played the SE for an hour, speeding through what I already knew from the CE I'd just played. 3. The value of doing this is that I can fairly judge the features of the CE versus the SE and determine if, in my mind, the CE is worth the extra coinage. YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES YES By any means, purchase or use game credits toward the CE if that's an option. If not, then get the SE. Whatever you decide, you need to know this before you purchase: 1. From the ratings you can tell something is strange about this review: Fun Factor rates 5 out of 5 while every other measurement is 2 or 3 out of 5. The total is 4 stars (which doesn't add up) and that's because the sum is greater than its parts. 2. There's nothing grim about this game in my opinion. There's nothing scary. Yes, there are some murders and they're well-depicted, but this is not photography, moving or still. Though the methods for killing could be considered gruesome, what you see is not...at all. I'll not give anything away, but I don't think you'll be scared awake after playing this game. It's no scarier than Sweeney Todd, the Demon Barber of Fleet Street with Angela Lansbury and Len Cariou. 3 . From the Fat Cat who cracks wise, to the jaunty Mr. Jinx, no ordinary rat, this Hidden Sins is a character-driven adventure much more than a hardcore puzzle/HOS game. No matter which version you get, if you're the type of player who turns off the soundtrack and lives for the very difficult HOS and Mini-games/puzzles, then this is not for you. Stop here and now. If you buy this game you'll feel as though you've wasted your time and money. Because... 4. ...The puzzles couldn't be easier. The HOS, ,while not difficult, do, at least, present some interesting divergences from the norm. Replacing items in an HOS is not new...but I think in this version, placing items takes a little more concentration to get it right. And it's entertaining. 5. Finally, the last little quirk about this game: it's first person. You are the detective. So as not to force a "personality" or gender on you, your words are shown in dialog boxes while those with whom you interact actually speak. Thus, you are reading a lot. Side note: what you won't read is lips. The lip synching is an epic fail. What is there to like? I think you'll enjoy the very dry humor. Hidden Sins is part Game of Thrones (think the White Walkers), part Alice in Wonderland (think Rabbit Hole) and 100% amusing and entertaining. Imagine (if you will) the smart-alecky cat. You're having a conversation with him. Or, rather he with you. After you read your line to the cat, "you're under arrest," Fat Cat says to you: "Detective, you slay me. Or rather you'll be the one slain." To me that's hilarious...but I've been accused of having a very strange sense of humor often in the past. Read the description and you'll see what the story is about. Nothing earth shattering. Again, nothing challenging. Just a fun adventure. There is a minimum of HOS (12) and games (18)...so even if you like them on the easy side, there's not a lot of either to keep you busy for long. You collect coins along the way and can spend them on a few items which will help you navigate through the game. You have a transporting map which is helpful but not really needed. Finally, there is a Memory Device which, after filling it with the necessary memory bytes (in the form of silver balls) you can use to get information about the killings that have occurred. Again, I remind you, this is very much an adventure. To that end, there are many cutscenes. A few of them are laboriously slow but these are the nexceptions. The cutscenes are very entertaining. With the CE you'll get a bonus chapter where you'll learn the beginnings of the murderer (the Avenger); you'll also collect 16 "dark arts" themed items; you get 24 "achievements." They are uniquely identified and sometimes hilariously meaningless (which I'm sure is done tongue-in-cheek). Examples: a. Complete one HOG. b. Complete one puzzle without skipping. Finally, you also get the standard assortment of CE Bling...that can't possibly be your reason for spending the extra money... So, after all is said and done, I've probably convinced you NOT to buy this game. If that's the case...and you're not in it strictly for difficult HOG and puzzles...then please do yourself a favor: play the hour long trials of both the CE and the SE. I really believe you will be highly entertained. Even if not moved to purchase either version, you'll be well-entertained by a little sin...Show Less I recommend this game!
Date published: 2015-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ERS goes dark, and I like it! The developers have (again) tried something new, they've gone toward the dark and gritty rather than the bright and silly and I really like it. This almost looks like a completely different group of artists were involved, there are still touches of recognizable ERS embellishments but the story and artwork is much more realistic and rather grim. I've always appreciated how responsive these developers have been to their customers and I admire how much they've ventured into a different story telling genre than we're used to. This is definitely worth a look if you enjoy more suspenseful story telling.
Date published: 2015-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This Game Has Some Not So Hidden Sins In this latest game in the Grim Façade series – Hidden Sins, fear is on the loose and his name is “The Avenger.” In what looks to be a more gritty twist on the Grim Façade series the game begins with a monologue by Fear and a series of slasher murders – ick!. I guess it will come as no surprise that once again we are a detective in BFG game land. Oh, and, BTW, I am seriously thinking of changing my resume – lol. After the initial cutscene we are in a carriage reading a note from the mayor of Coldstone, whose wife has been kidnapped by The Avenger. The mayor has found a blacklist of people who are being targeted and he needs our help. This is all very hush, hush so he sets up a secret meeting in a designated alley. Well I don’t know about you but I don’t think that I want to go meeting anyone in a dark alley with a slasher on the loose. Technical Aspects of the game include four modes of play: Casual, Advanced, Hard, and Custom. I am not sure why the game devs don’t just go with the custom mode of gameplay so that everyone can set up options in the manner of their own choosing, but that is JMHO. If you select the custom mode and want to set your hint and skip times they vary from 5 to 200 seconds. The graphics on my computer are excellent and clear containing the wonderful hand-drawn artwork that sets this developer apart from many others. The sound package is great with exceptional lip-synced voice overs, except for the voice of the guard who I wanted to poke with a stick so he would speed up the pace. Getting back to the artwork, I love the “rough-around-the-edges cat” that the artists have created to perfection – personality and all. Although he technically isn’t my helper he definitely serves a purpose and I would sure love to keep him. Your tools include an interactive, transporter type map that is present at the beginning of the game. You will briefly acquire an animal helper or two but they are not toted around in inventory, nor do we need to dress them. There is another tool that you will acquire that is used to put certain information together and I guess I will jump on the band wagon and call it a gimmick because that is exactly what it is. IMHO, it adds nothing to the game and, quite frankly, I would have preferred having that attitudinal cat as my only helper. The HOPs include matching type, replace objects into the scene, and list type among the variety offered. Some of the HOPs require minimal interaction. The puzzles are fun with some a bit more difficult than others. None of the puzzles are overly frustrating and can be completed with a bit of thought and patience. Included in the extras are the basics we generally find in the CE version of games. It is only my opinion that this distributor generally offers less in the way of collectibles but their games have a lot of content in general so the extras don’t matter that much unless you happen to like finding collectibles and earning achievements. As much as there are some things I really like about this game there are others that bother me so much that I am not sure I will purchase the game. I have never been what I consider a “purist” when I find items that are out of sync with a game’s specific time setting and generally overlook them, but in Hidden Sins the faults are so glaring that it became annoying. I can ignore a few items being out of place in a game but in Hidden Sins the errors stood out so much that they detracted from the gameplay. Perhaps I am a bit idealistic but I believe that games should contain some informational accuracy. One of the most glaring pieces of misinformation in Hidden Sins is in identifying scurvy as a contagious disease requiring quarantine. I doubt that scientific opinion has changed in recent decades and I am sure that scurvy is still considered a disease caused by a dietary deficiency. Hidden Sins is so full of glaring “sins” that it is very unlikely I will purchase the game. It is time to go back to the drawing board and design games for intelligent gamers, who actually understand history and have working brains. As much as I love this developer, I have to say no thanks to this game. Because the above opinions are ONLY MY opinions, I don’t want to give the game a lower rating as there are many who will enjoy it for its gameplay merits. If one can put aside the sense of reality and the inconsistencies of the game, then it deserves the higher rating I will give it. As always, I suggest that you try the demo because this might be a game that you will enjoy.
Date published: 2015-06-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It could have been great but it does have flaws Lots of the Grim Facade games are very well done and this edition certainly does not suffer the tiredness that has become apparent in recent installments of other serial games. The story line is nothing new. Isaac Merel has asked the detective ( that's us ) to investigate the taking of his wife by a very sinister character. As well as the abduction there is a " blacklist " naming 5 others destined for execution by the evil being. On the plus side, ERS has once again drawn the game nicely. Most ERS games are set in bygone days as is the case here. I'd venture the era to be no later than the mid 19th century. The hidden object sections are nicely planned out and feature a variety of elements including silhouettes, arranging items in certain places, etc. The puzzles are not ground breaking but some of them require a greater degree of thought than is generally needed. I skipped a couple during the demo in order to complete the demo. The demo time for me suggests decent length to the game. There are collectible masks and coins picked up here and there in order to purchase necessary items from a street vendor. We also get another assistant in the form of a rather cool alley cat. I usually detest the helpers in games, but this kitty has a certain panache about him and he is not constantly affecting the progress of the game. As to the flaws, there are a couple minor ones and 2 more egregious elements. Given the era in which the game is set, I doubt the term blacklist has been coined and using nicknames such as Tom and Lou probably weren't used. Like I said these are minor goofs. The biggest no-no's for me are the graphic violence even though I am not at all squeamish. Since some folks are though, seeing a hanging death and having the mayor graphically shot in the head by an arrow is too much. Some players surely will be put off by such scenes. I also hated the use of the boxed questions and answers used by the detective when engaging in conversation with characters met during the game. Some recent games actually give voice to the detective or whoever the main character is. More games need to adopt this method. Overall the good outweighs the bad in Hidden Sins so I'll probably acquire this Grim Facade ( emphasis on the Grim ) which this game surely is.
Date published: 2015-06-18
  • y_2020, m_1, d_26, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_23011, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Facade: Hidden Sins Collector's Edition

A masked vigilante has the town of Coldstone in a death grip!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.