Big City Adventure: Shanghai

Big City Adventure: Shanghai

PC

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(53.56 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A fascinating mix of East and West! Shanghai has the perfect blend of modern, traditional, western and oriental influences. Discover this renowned international metropolis on your next Big City Adventure.

The latest chapter in the hit hidden object series is here! Take in its many architectural wonders or just relax for a while in its tranquil gardens. Shanghai has it all. Search for thousands of cleverly hidden items around the historic sites and modern marvels, plus play a bunch of fun mini-games along the way. Start your trip of a lifetime today!

  • 120 rounds of hidden object and mini-game fun!
  • Collect postcards and mementos
  • Learn fun and obscure facts about Shanghai
  • Cute animations bring every location to life

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 600 Mhz
  • RAM: 256 MB
  • DirectX: 6.0
  • Hard Drive: 59 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Big City Adventure: Shanghai

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(53.56 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Big City Adventure: Shanghai is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 34.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big City Adventure, take me away!!! A 5-star game and well-deserved for its genre. Very interesting and educational facts about the ports, and the big cities, churches, museums, rivers, etc. Be prepared for a very long game but that's what makes it fun and you can play at your leisure, too. Granted, you'll frequent the same scenes now and then and some of the objects are so small you can easily miss them; but if you rack up your coins, you can use them to give you more time or to assist with a hint. I'm playing the timed mode which is not easy for me because i don't like tests to begin with much less being timed! But I've done exceedingly well so far. I've finished 48 rounds out of 60. The music is synonymous with the area and culture and quite beautiful, but again, repetitive. There are lulls of silence in between, and I love the background sounds, like birds chirping, people talking--tourists perhaps. The puzzles are varied and repetitive throughout, although getting the ball into the hole seems to get harder as the feature progresses. You have puzzles, fitting shapes into a puzzle, positioning the gears to turn simultaneously, object cryptograms, and then there are your lanterns that you need to get in order correctly. A very nice variety of puzzles to perform, which I love to do after completing each hidden object scene. No bells and whistles in this game but quite the education you'll receive. I like reading the information sheets about any given area. I only wish the devs could make this game in full-screen mode. The objects can be difficult to see and many of the scenes are used repeatedly, but what makes it challenging is the time-mode. I highly recommend this game and all games like it. Bravo, devs!
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yet another brilliant game I love hidden object games and the Big City Adventure series is by far and a way the best. This new one is just as brilliant as the others and I found it difficult to walk away from the game. PLEASE can you make another one? If they produced one every week I would still not get fed up with the game. The best series of games......ever !!!!
Date published: 2015-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GATHERING THE KIDS FOR ANOTHER BIG CITY ADVENTURE AND OFF WE GO TO SHANGHAI Big City Adventures is back and this time our family is visiting Shanghai. As is the case with the other games in the series (I think I have all of them) you will visit different touristy locales to find hidden objects. There really is no adventure or story aside from discovering different items hidden in the various locations but that can be great fun if you love HOGs. My favorite thing about these games is that there are lots of puzzles thrown into the mix - one after you complete finding the hidden objects in each location. There is a relaxed mode if you don’t like to play beat the clock. I always become very nervous when I run out of time so, trust me, the relaxed mode is just what the doctor ordered to cure that nervous tic. The graphics in the game are always excellent and give us a mini vacation without leaving home. Another special touch is the description of each location that we read on a postcard before playing the level. The music for the game is what would be expected and if I keep the volume set low it is tolerable. Although there is a slider in the options for voices, I never heard any voiceovers in the game. During gameplay you will find coins that can be collected that serve a special purpose such as adding time, or will allow you to skip puzzles. I usually need to find those hint coins because some objects can be very difficult to find. Even though you might choose to play the game in the relaxed mode you can still earn bonus points for each level. There are collectible Qilin Dragons to be found: one hidden in each scene. Once you know what they are, they are fairly easy to spot. Even though you might choose the relaxed mode of gameplay, you can still earn the achievements in the game. The Big City Adventures are great games that can be played at leisure – one or two levels per day without having to keep a storyline in mind. They are great time filler games that can be enjoyed when you only have a few minutes to spare in your busy day and if you enjoy being an armchair traveler, then the Big City games are a must have. We can be immersed in the various places we travel to without having to pack our bags and make sure that our passports are current. I happen to like Big City Shanghai more than some of the others mainly because of my fascination with Asian culture and this is a great way to explore at my leisure. Hopefully, you will enjoy Big City Adventure Shanghai, but as always I recommend that you try the demo. Happy travels!
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it i enjoy playing all of Big City Adventure games. great game you learn some interesting facts about the that city.
Date published: 2015-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Series! I was very happy to see the new BCA game: Shanghai. It is a great game. I love this series for the very interesting facts about the cities. The Mini Games are very good. The downloads are very small, which i also like. I always try out the games, but i really knew that i would purchase this "Shanghai" game. All the games are now half price, so I am doubly happy. Hopefully another Vacation Adventures Game will come out very soon, because i like them them as well.
Date published: 2015-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect HOG What I like about the BCA games is that the hidden objects are really clever hidden, but findable and that inbetween HO- scenes you can read interesting facts about the HO-location you are about to explore. Also the minigames are good and you can skip the games you dislike.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BCA - Shanghai, another great place to visit Love the BCA adventures. Actually used a lot of the information from the San Francisco adventure as references on a recent vacation. Thanks BFG!!
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY nice. I have a few of the big city adventures; & i like this one the best so far. Yes, it's got 47 zillion (slight exaggeration) objects in each scene but they are clear as a bell. Some HO games have fuzzy/unclear scenes. The side games are good too; some are challenging, other's are just fun. You'll enjoy it for sure.
Date published: 2015-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another good BCA If you like the Big City Adventure series (as I do), this is as good as any of them. Hidden objects, some well hidden, with a mini game between each level, just like all BCA games. Learn a bit about the city of Shanghai along the way. I hope there will be more Big City Adventures. I don't care for the interactive type hidden object games - find a key in a different room, go back to unlock a door to open a drawer to find a flashlight because all rooms are dark, locate this and that, etc. etc. And I don't need movies as part of the game. I just want to play, and the Big City Adventure series lets me do that. Thumbs up!
Date published: 2015-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These Games Been waiting for another one of these series to come out. Love these series. I have them all. They are relaxing and I can unwind playing these games. I like the fact that you learn about the city very interesting. the puzzles are not super hard just right. Thanks for a new series. Now waiting for the New Park Ranger series to come out. The music is good gives you a sense of the music that is played in these countries. Thanks now cant wait for the next one.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great in the Big City Adventure I love these games and have from the beginning. I have all that have been released. You get interesting history lessons before each scene, great mini games (they pretty much stay the same from each adventure but pieces etc. change so they are themed to the city and they are fun so no complaint on lack of change) and the scenes are straight HOS plus two hidden objects in an area that lights when you move your mouse across it. I wish the devs would do one somewhere in Italy, I keep waiting and hoping! Happy to have a new adventure.
Date published: 2015-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BCA #12 SHANGHAI IS ANOTHER HIT What's not to love about these games. Loads of fun and educational as well. Items are cleverly disguised, but not so small that you need a magnifying glass to find them. Mini games are fun and not ridiculously hard, but challenging. Just like the previous 11 Big City offerings, this game did not disappoint. Now I am anxiously awaiting the next installment.
Date published: 2015-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Gold Standard of H.O.G.s! The Big City Adventures are truly the Gold Standard of Hidden Object games! Game play is always smooth, options are appropriate, the objects are hidden fairly, the scenes are always well-lit, there are cultural and historical facts given for each scene, a whole lot of scenes to play in order to complete the whole game. These games are, by far, the best HOGs ever! I wish they could come out with a new one even more often. :-)
Date published: 2016-11-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fun For Everyone! As with all the Big City Adventure games this one takes you on a adventure to places you will never see for yourself. Love these games.
Date published: 2015-11-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this game This game has 60 levels, 10 different mini games/puzzles and 60 secret jade dragons to find in every hidden object scene, Like all Big City Adventure games there are limited hint and bonus coins to find in every HOS and limited skip coins in the puzzles. This one, like most of them, has a blue zoom in area in all HOS, where a couple of objects can be found. I loved this game! It has clear, clean and detailed graphics, nice music, very interesting scenes and facts. This is definately one of my favourites of the series.
Date published: 2019-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from get out your reading glasses this is like the others in this series. the HO items are small and hard to find but so are all the others games. i would have given it 5 stars for everything but for this reason. the game is fun and you learn about other places and landmarks. it is an informative game. if only the items were a little bigger. you get 2 different kinds of coins to help in the HO scenes and other coins worth money for your final score. sequel????? i would imagine. there are lots of places ion this world they could visit.
Date published: 2016-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is the latest, but sadly not the greatest! I love BCA and was disappointed with this one. At first I felt like I was playing an older version of the game - I couldn't even play it in full screen mode and they also didn't have voice overs. What is up with that?! I hope they do another one and I also HOPE sincerely that they consider doing a story version like they did with the London one - I love that!!!! I know there aren't as many players that like this sort of HO games, but there a lot that do too. Please take my suggestions to heart, as I miss these type of HO games from time to time!!! As always, I appreciate all the hard work the dev's put into this and I will be looking forward to some more!!!!
Date published: 2015-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sometimes you just wanna find stuff Been a while since I played a BCA game, but they haven't changed much over the years. Enjoyed the MGs between scenes, but wish there had been more scenes. Things got repetitive. My main gripe: You'd think a game based in CHINA would have "yin-yang" spelled correctly.
Date published: 2017-07-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Whats with the blurry paintings? Typical HOS game with variety in the puzzles which were doable. Items could be difficult to find due to size and coloring; black on black and green on green for example. Can't say I found it to be a real gripper especially since I was on the relax mode...maybe its better on timed mode. I didn't pay full price so I guess the game was OK. I found the game a bit blurry and especially those painting which I think were suppose to look like water colors(?) and that got tiring and annoying. Sixty levels and places are played twice and sometimes 3 times. If someone asked me if it was fun and should they buy it, I'd say no...don't waste your money there are better HOS out there, but if you have a credit or its a DD...maybe so to kill some time.
Date published: 2018-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The one in the series to skip I have all the Big City Adventure games, and they seem to have always made adjustments, or additions to make one game better than the one before. That has ended. Music here all sounds the same. There are 25 original scenes they use a total of 60 times. Many of the scenes are streets with lots of shopping. Where is the Chinese history and culture? You will get some of it here- the postcards are still very informative, but I was also hoping for some Chinese hidden objects, not baseballs and Statues of Liberties. It's time to do a few more U.S. cities like Washington and L.A. where there won't be national laws saying "stay out with cameras". Barcelona is the best game, maybe now they are trying to do too many too fast?
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Big City Misadventure Graphics go from almost realistic to blurry. Music is repetitious & soon becomes annoying. HOS items are itsy bitsy & require the eye of an eagle along with lots of patience. Mini-games seem quite easy. You have to earn hints to find the HOS objects & to use the skip button which I hate. There are no characters or VO but the geography/culture lessons are quite interesting. The hint button coins & the figurine are fairly easy to find in each scene. It seems that I've tried the other Big City Adventure game & found all of them lacking play ability & fun.. All in all not a game to go over the moon about. I'm only recommending the game because some folks might like this genre & actually find it interesting. But definitely try the demo first before buying.
Date published: 2015-11-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Alright game Make sure you get this game on sale. Graphics and HO's poor. Same old story line and same screens over and over...
Date published: 2018-05-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I quit playing BC Adventure Games because except for the London Story, they failed to hold my interest. However, I thought I might enjoy this Shanghai Adv one because I used to work in Shanghai. I thought the memories might make up for the lack of a story, so I decided to try the demo. Unfortunately, I was completely bored from the start. The game is the same old collection of one hidden object scene after another, the same as in all the previous ones except for London Story. I was hoping that after London story, which I thoroughly enjoyed, more story-oriented games would come, but no, I haven't seen any yet from this developer. It's not just the lack of a story. The real problem is that the game is a rehash of games I've played for years. There's no change. It uses the same old static HO list search. With so many cool ideas out there for spiffing up HO searches, I am amazed that these developers didn't update their own HOGs to keep our interest. Even the objects were not changed. They were taken from the same old generic stash so many of these HO games use, the same old gavels, bats, wishbones, corkscrews, etc. No logic to where they are hidden, no reason for finding them, no way to use anything later. Why couldn't this Shanghai game at least have objects that all directly relate to China, instead of just one or two here or there? I did like the mini games. They were incredibly easy, but that was ok for me, because I do them for enjoyment, not challenge. However, they were the same predictable kinds as in the other Big City Adv games. The game may be ok for those new to gaming or for die-hard BCA fans. To me the developers seem to be coasting on a brand presence, doing just enough to get by. I play for relaxed entertainment. I was not entertained by this game. I gritted my teeth and played out the demo only because it was Shanghai. The end of the demo came as a relief--really!
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wouldn't download Since it won't download I won't bother to get it to work. This happens way too often on Big Fish.
Date published: 2019-07-08
  • y_2019, m_11, d_13, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_34
  • loc_en_US, sid_23861, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Big City Adventure: Shanghai

The latest Big City Adventure is here! With the perfect blend of modern and traditional influences, the renowned metropolis of Shanghai awaits you!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.