Haunted Hotel: The X
Exclusive

Haunted Hotel: The X

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(370.67 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Your sister, Samantha, has always been tenacious, but she might have just gotten herself in over her head! She’s gone missing while investigating the Lexington Hotel, where a brutal crime happened decades ago. When you arrive to find her, you quickly realize that the spirits of the past are still restless… and angry. To find your sister and escape with your own life, you’ll need to uncover the truth about what happened there all those years ago. Are you brave enough to face what’s hiding in the darkened halls of the Lexington Hotel? Find out in this spine-chilling Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure game!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 890 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Hotel: The X

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(370.67 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Haunted Hotel: The X is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW. Scarier than what I usually go for but I'm in love! Holy buckets, this game was INCREDIBLY good. I'm a little bummed now that I didn't decide to go for the CE, but it was one of those "pick it up with your free coupon" games and since it's not my normal genre I didn't splurge. First of all--I like to know the scare factor before I'm going into a game like this, and if you're leery of trying it I'll say that I don't think it was that bad, especially (ironically) towards the second half of the game. There are some KILLER (haha) visuals at the start--reflections in mirrors, creepy shadows, bouncing balls that aren't really there, the whole nine yards. But as soon as you make and help your first ally (a little over midway through the game), I think the entire game becomes less scary/suspenseful--there are still some good visuals, but they're mostly static (still a couple moving spider scares, but tbh they looked so fake that I wasn't afraid at all). I think some more hardcore 'scare factor' gamers might find that disappointing, but I thought it was well-paced and fit in with the storyline as a whole. Other than that, I'm quite honestly speechless. Puzzles didn't feel too hard or too easy and were worth playing for the most part. The story wasn't crazy-new or inventive, but it was executed tremendously. If you like the Mystery Trackers series, I think you'll like this game a lot. The video-cassette addition was very reminiscent of MT style, and the plot and pacing felt very MT but without the magicky-sciencey plot devices that MT hinges upon. Apparently this is a game in a series, and I'm definitely going to keep an open mind about the next one if the developers put as much love and care into crafting it as they did this one.
Date published: 2016-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great Haunted Hotel Totally enjoyed this version of Haunted Hotel. The animations, sounds and graphics were simply amazing in this one. Enough to keep you on the edge of your seat. Smooth gameplay with challenging puzzles and HOS for those who love those parts of the game. Interesting "angry ghost" story but may be uncomfortable for those who are sensitive to the occult and/or spiders in some cases. I certainly give this a 5 out of 5 and highly recommend. Custom setting lets you set the hint and skip to refresh quickly so the game moves along well. Transporter map is excellent. Highly recommend and you certainly get your money's worth. Not sure if I would recommend playing this while alone in a dark house on a stormy night though. :)
Date published: 2016-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Beware to those that dislike rituals though. For me, this is one of the best spooky, jump out of my skin kind of fun games since "Fright". It's also a big improvement over the two previous "Haunted Hotel" games so thanks for listening developers! If you want a longer preview, go to YouTube and search for Haunted Hotel: X gameplay. I like Brain Games best because they don't talk.
Date published: 2016-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from XXXXXX No O's In This Game Freddie Toppan and his wife revamped what was once a nursery, into the Lexington Hotel. Well, that's always a bad idea, and sure enough, Freddie was brutally murdered after his wife died mysteriously, and the Hotel was shut down and abandoned. Well, not entirely abandoned, because there are things that go bump in the night, a creepy little girl who doesn't seem to know she's dead, and then there's the Nanny, whom everyone fears. Naturally your sister Samantha, couldn't resist filming a documentary about the ghosts that haunt the Lexington Hotel, but these aren't your average ghosts, these ghosts are angry and quite deadly too. When Samantha fails to return home, you must enter the Hotel of Horrors and save sis before she becomes a permanent resident of the Lexington Hotel! I love the creepy vibe the graphics instill upon you, every scene has something going on in the background, hands that burst through glass, ghosts that shouldn't be in reflections, and spiders that spew out of crevices, not to mention all the moaning, groaning, creaking and pleas for help, it's really cool. It's a good thing Samantha left a backup camera that allows you to playback footage she was filming for a timeline of events. As you find cassettes throughout the Hotel, you place them in the camera, press play to watch the footage, and then press the print button to receive a photo that will be used in the same area to find hidden niches, clues and instructions, when matched with the correct scene. The Collector's Edition has several Achievements to earn, 34 Collectible Flower Petals, 21 Morphing Objects and several Morphing Orphan Photographs, and in my opinion is the much better version. The Hidden Object Scenes are mostly Silhouetted Shape finds, but some are interactive list finds and even scenes that task you with uncovering 6 identical items. There are also several Zoom Zone's with small HOP's where you find fragments or multiples of the same item. The Mini Games are around every nook and cranny, the only complaint I have is that they are all super simple and can be done within seconds. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you will come across during the game: 1) Set 3 different knobs to the correct positions using diagrams. 2) Push down all buttons in the correct order by trial and error. 3) Paint a canvas using a color coded symbol method. 4) Swap puzzle pieces to create an image. 5) Lift four levers to the upright position, some levers affect others. 6) Enter the code shown in diagram. 7) Recreate an image from torn photo pieces. 8) Place all weights onto the scales so that they are all even. The Collector's Edition has 10 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art pictures, 4 Music Soundtracks, Achievements, Morphing Orphan Photographs, 24 Collectible Flower Petals, 21 Morphing Objects, 12 replayable Mini Games, 15 replayable HOP's, a Secret Room, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What is the Legend of the Lexington Hotel???? Based on the Beta, SE and CE Demos. Once again, a great storyline. Your friend has gone missing in the Lexington Hotel while investigating the Hotel's Legend. wooooooooo. Graphics were absolutely amazing! Ghosts popping out at you, pictures that aren't just pictures. LOVED it! Voice overs, music and sound fx were great as well. Casual, Advanced, Hardcore and Custom difficulties. HOGs were mainly list type with a silhouette thrown in for good measure - lol. Not tremendously interactive and no alternate game. Mini Games were quite fun. Interactive map and a camera that plays back cassettes for you. This is a great standalone game (don't have to own/played the previous 9 games), great for beginners through experts, great storyline that flowed very well. Perfect if it would have come out for Halloween instead of the Holidays. Just sayin'. If for whatever reason you don't opt for the CE, the SE won't disappoint. Join me in finding out about the Legend of the Lexington Hotel. Enjoy!
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CAN YOU SAVE SAMANTHA FROM THE ANGER THAT DWELLS IN THIS HAUNTED HOTEL Haunted Hotel The X is the eighth game in the series and a truly creepy mystery. Your sister, Samantha, has apparently gone missing after letting you know that she is on assignment writing a story about a local haunted hotel. Terrific brother that you are, you set off to investigate what has happened to sis. Once you arrive at the old hotel, you begin to realize that things are not what they seem and that Samantha has apparently become mired in a whole lot of ectoplasm. The game offers four modes of gameplay: Casual, Advanced, Hardcore and Custom. If you select the custom mode you can click various settings on or off depending on how you like to play. Most important for me is the setting for hint and skip times. In this case the time range for both settings is between 15 and 90 seconds. Another option this developer includes in its games is the option to either continue or reset the game when starting to play after exiting a previous gameplay session. The graphics are excellent with some awesome special effects that enhance the ghostly creepiness of the storyline. The sound package is wonderful including the lip-synced voiceovers. Your tools include a journal and an interactive transporter type map that are present at the beginning of the game. You have a video camera where you can view footage after you find a cassette. I don’t want to explain the significance of the camera because if you play the demo you will discover how to use it. As they say, discovery is half the fun. The first HOP is a silhouette type, followed by the standard list type. I didn’t find any HOPS that were the strictly interactive type although some did require minor interaction to find items. The puzzles seem typical with the first one being a very simple dial puzzle and the next a slider type. I am sure the puzzles will increase in difficulty as the game moves forward. The extras in the CE release of the game include collectibles, morphing objects, and achievements. The other extras include wallpapers, concept art, music, replay of mini-games and HOPS, the secret room, bonus gameplay, and the strategy guide. Overall, I loved this game. Foremost, the game had a storyline that sucked me in and held my interest. The pace was excellent and the game didn’t seem to drag along without capturing my interest. I love a good ghost story and with Haunted Hotel the X we certainly have one. It looks like the devs have gone back to the roots of the first Haunted Hotel games and come up with a wonderful ghostly mystery. If the game has any shortcoming it is that the puzzles are just not as challenging as I would like. That being said, we all have different tastes in games and the puzzles might not be your thing. Even though I loved the game you might not agree. Please try the demo and see if Haunted Hotel The X is a game that you will enjoy.
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Haunted Hotel The X is my Favorite of this Series!!! In Elephant Games' creepy hidden-object adventure Haunted Hotel: The X, your sister Samantha has gone missing while looking into the legends surrounding the derelict old Lexington Hotel, whose amenities include shuddering ghostly terrors and an isolated forest where nobody can hear you scream. Look, I'm just saying when a hotel's history contains a "brutal butchering", maybe stay elsewhere? But if you want to find your sister, you'll have to brave the mysteries within, and hopefully survive long enough to get out of the 1970s. A tape player? VHS? Now that's scary! Haunted Hotel: The X has all your now-standard casual game mechanics... fully customiseable difficulty, a fast travel map, and collectibles like morphing objects and puzzle pieces for the achievement trackers. You'll click your way through areas, finding items to use and solving puzzles, while occasionally getting menaced by jump scares and demonic squirrels. As you might expect, there's a lot of backtracking... find your way forward blocked, go back to look for item to proceed, look for tools to attain said item, and repeat as necessary. It's formulaic, sure, but Elephant Games has that formula FINELY distilled. Nothing ever drags on too long, puzzles and hidden-object scenes are carefully spaced out so that you run into them at an even pace, and the spirits of vengeful lovers always know when to sob mournfully just out of sight. There are an awful lot of objects stuck in cracks that need to be jimmied out one way or another, but you're kept on edge throughout by some stellar sound design and creepy visual effects... some subtle, some startling. Hey, I'll put up with an unholy wail or three for any hidden-object game that lets me use an item more than once instead of tracking down something different for the same sort of task. You may find yourself reaching for the hint button occasionally, or simply referring to your map to see which area has active tasks for you, less because the game is difficult, and more because sometimes enough time elapses between discovering an obstacle or locked object and finding the item you need for it that you can forget it existed at all. Please, you expect me to remember I needed to saw through some bushes waaaaay back at the entrance? You know I'm a gamer. You know what that attention span is like. MORE ACHIEVEMENTS FOR THE ACHIEVEMENT GOD. The story, apart from the rescue of your Darwin Award-winning sister, ultimately revolves around the spirit haunting the hotel, and you'll quickly start putting the pieces together as you find eerie scrawls, notes, and letters. Most of the plot initially feels like a fairly standard setup of an affair gone wrong, and, well, it kind of is, but there are enough twists to the way it's presented to keep you engrossed. It doesn't hurt either that the game is gorgeous, with rich colours and detailed environments. It's gory and freaky, sure, with bloody handprints and child's scribbles of people with their eyes scratched out, but the artwork is just so gorgeous and full of subtle animation like branches swaying in the wind, or faint faces swirling in fog, that it's easy to get smitten. I usually play games I'm reviewing in windowed mode, so I can take screenshots and write down notes "Don't forget to mention the morphing objects." "Is garlic bread an acceptable business expense?", but Haunted Hotel: The X might be the first casual game in a long time to make me switch to fullscreen at every opportunity to admire it... and, yeah, okay, to laugh at a few unintentionally hilarious scenes where people get thrown around like paper dolls by angry ghosts. I'm a terrible person, what do you want from me? LOL. But hey, I'm also a member who's reviewed a lot of hidden-object adventures over the years, and with its stellar presentation and solid gameplay, I also think Haunted Hotel: The X is well worth your time, and it's certainly the best entry into the series to date. It's scary and strange enough to appeal to horror fans without completely alienating everyone else {Grandmas like articulated spider skeleton dolls, right?}, and with a flair for drama and the unexpected, this is one ghoulish good game to be played in the dead of night. Enjoy!
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very very nice game! I wanted to give 41/2 stars but I'm only playing the CE so I don't know about the SE but this is a fun game and good buy. Lots of little details, beautiful scenery and good storyline! You go Elephant Games!
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Average HO Game After playing Haunted Hotel: Silent Water, I believe is the one, I ended up purchasing two more of these games on a whim. The games are average. The game itself was relaxing. I played it at the medium LEVEL of difficulty. At this level, it did seem easier than most. Overall, Okay.
Date published: 2017-04-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from CE or SE? Which to buy? I write this review solely to suggest whether to buy the CE or the SE, that being what I want to know if both versions of a game are out and I have bought neither. Though I did buy the CE when I needed a game on a 2-for-1 sale, I have played little more than the demo because it simply did not suck me in to its world. Getting immersed in a game to the point where I forget what time it is--that's the mark of a great game. So I cannot give this one top marks. And yes, this test is going to be different for everyone. The game has: All the CE bells and whistles. Very well drawn art, fun to look at OK musical themes, (but oh! SO dramatic I found it distracting) Pretty easy puzzles and HOPs A good jump map that gives you a gateway to where there is something to do So, if you really like the game, you might want to buy the CE because the extra features are good. Otherwise, try the SE. This game is worth playing.
Date published: 2015-12-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Meh. Well, I've definitely played more challenging games. There was another Haunted Hotel game I loved, but this one? Goodness. It was all "hey look, go find this shape to fit in this hole". Pretty much, that was it. The mini-games were barely challenging (the only one I really liked was the one with the green buttons you can see in the screenshots), like they were made for children. It was tedious. Find the cross/star/heart/etc. to fit into this hole so the door can open! Then you open it, and there's another little door with ANOTHER shape for you to find. The storyline was a little boring as well. So many I've played have been better. And the very last mini-game to win the game....the WORST part about it that you can't skip the parts, you end up skipping the ENTIRE thing. What's up with that?! I worked a lot on this and then I couldn't do the "untangle one" and pressed skip and BAM it was over.....arrggh. Oh well, I am sure I will find a better game to make up for this waste of money.
Date published: 2016-01-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SECOND THOUGHTS! Had left rave review for the CE and that based on demo and mistakenly thinking this was the Elephant Games developer. Pros - great computer graphics Cons - poor story line, zero challenge and most of all, NO JAMES! May sound silly, however, he and you--meaning we the gamers are a great detective team. Where once was a well thought out and well written story has turned into what another reviewer pointed out to be running after objects to put here and there. Last but not least--the ending is rather distasteful i.e. a blood ritual inclusive of a pentagram. Game should have warnings posted of this type of demonic content. Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Haunted Hotel: The x Unfortunately all the newer games are what I call (hint button games) There is no logic, even in the HO's. So the entire game has to be played thru the hint button. For me the fun has been taken out of these games.
Date published: 2015-12-16
  • y_2019, m_5, d_23, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_24041, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Hotel: The X

Decades ago, a brutal crime occurred at the Lexington Hotel. Are you brave enough to uncover the truth about what happened there?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.