Rite of Passage: Heart of the Storm Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Rite of Passage: Heart of the Storm Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(314.91 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From Mad Head, the studio that brought you Subject 360 and the Nevertales series, comes another exciting story in the Rite of Passage saga.

Your mentor calls you, in need of urgent help. On your way to meet him, the sky turns supernaturally frightening! You’ll soon discover that your beloved professor is dealing with a dangerous storm unlike anything he’s ever witnessed. Can you uncover the dark secret swirling at the heart of this storm, or will lightning strike you down? Find out in this innovative hidden-object puzzle adventure game with tons of clever puzzles!

  • Return to Ashen Rise in the bonus game for a new adventure!
  • Test your skills with timed hidden-object puzzles!
  • Earn achievements and find collectibles.
  • Get help from the strategy guide.
  • Unlock concept art and more bonus goodies!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 729 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Rite of Passage: Heart of the Storm Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(314.91 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Rite of Passage: Heart of the Storm Collector's Edition is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 62.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Mad Head Game! Thank you Developers for another great Rite of Passage! Quick purchase for me! Try the Demo to see for yourself.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Okay, so perhaps there is some copycatting and yes some questionable realities, but hey aren't we into these games to have fun? And that is just what this game did for me. I loved all of it, the imagination, the realism and the execution of a story that may not be original but for a computer game, hey, kudos to the developers. I was on the edge of my seat during the storm feeling that every move I had to make needed to be done now!!! Talk about anxiousness! To me it was real, more real than any other game I have played! I do not feel the need to critique the mini games or HOS (although they too were great), the game itself just entertained. There were times however when I hated the interruption of a mini game or HOS, I just wanted to stay with the excitement of the plot! Why get analytical over something that just grabs you and takes you in, please give this one a try, it's gonna get ya!
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THIS ADVENTURE ISN'T ANYTHING LIKE THE GAME BEYOND!!! Mad Head delivers another installment of Rite of Passage 5. In Rite of Passage: Heart of the Storm Collector’s Edition Professor Mann sends an e-mail to Chelsea (You), asking her to come and bring his suitcase to the small town he lives ASAP. Chelsea hoped into her plane and rushed there, but when she gets close to her destination "Murdered” carving showed onto the glass of her cockpit and then a ghost destroyed the plane, trying to get the relic from Mann’s suitcase! Chelsea saved the relic and jumped off the plane. She managed to get to the Professor despite the most aggressive storm she had ever seen. The Professor needed the relic for his storm catcher, the only thing able to stop the unnatural weather disaster. Someone was murdered here, burned alive, and his suffering caused the storm to appear, a storm with the vengeful ghosts in its heart! Now you must help Professor Mann set the things right in this epic Hidden Object Puzzle Adventure! I was left amazed and dazed. The gorgeous graphics and flawless voice overs only compliment this original and unique story of changing a negative unfortunate circumstance into an enlightened and positive conclusion. This is a compelling story that will keep you engaged from start to finish because its a captivating and astounding game with loads of intricate obstacles, bonuses and additional tasks. This adventure was relaxing to play and effortless to navigate, which can sometimes be refreshing, when similar games in the genre whose puzzles are so difficult and frustrating you just end up hitting the SKIP button. The creative team deserves recognition for their skills and devotion in developing the latest installment. One example of their brilliance was creating an inter-active hidden object scene where you must use a top and side "slide bar" to focus in on each item before you can click on it. The usual CE bling is all included and the Bonus game IS related to the main story. Demo the experience for yourself. I'm surprised how critical some players are of this edition when all previous Rite of Passage games received 4/5 stars. Enjoy!
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Almost the only thing i can complain about is that it starts with an airplanecrash, this happened too often in the games i played up to now. But everything else is very entertaining and interesting! The music equals the dramatic atmosphere, the graphics are of course gorgeous and it feels that this game has much more depth and truthfulness - hard to explain, it just feels solidly built and well done - than many others. The story is very surprising - at least, i was surprised and it made one wanting to go on with playing after the demo. For me this is one of the better games of the last time and i am glad, i bought it.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from On point. First thing I need to say is that the graphics and sound quality are on point. I just love it when the character you play actually has a voice! I enjoyed this game greatly, loved that difficult was actually difficult! I don't get why this game is rated so low because this is one of the best games since Eipix released their last installment of Ravenhearst and Phantasmat.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I'm in the bonus area now, but, the main ride has been nothing but awesome, from visual to music, some new puzzles, different hogs, and the storm factor, holy cow, wow, wow and wow. It's not often that I stick with a game, and I've got a ton of them over here, but, this grabbed me and wouldn't let go. Would give double the rating if I could.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Game I am surprised at the lower ratings of this game-I for one love it. What makes it for me is that it is totally logical, the HOS & mini games make sense in their placement & don't interrupt the flow of the game, and while not easy, are doable without using hints or skips. I would suggest doing the demo & deciding for yourself.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Game...and This Developer! My review is based on SE...I just didn't feel CE was enough bang for my buck...and I'm usually a CE girl. I have no regrets purchasing the SE, though...definitely a fun game, and the graphics were great!! Nothing too challenging, in a good way...in fact, fairly easy puzzles, etc. If you're looking for a good, relaxing game, try the demo...hope you like it as much as I did!
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from another excellent game The quality of these devs is still brilliant. Voices are excellent, the music great, graphics great too and the story good. The puzzle games are always a delight - if not too challenging but the collectibles are a little too easy to spot. However, half way through and really enjoying it.
Date published: 2016-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another excellent Mad Head Game Another excellent Mad Head Game. My favorite studio recently. Excellent story, excellent HOP's and puzzles, great graphics.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hey! This is a very good game After a few minutes of the trial, I knew this game was for me. Atmosphere! Rain, wind, lightening! Innovative cut screens and morphing objects. Collectibles. I have no idea why some find this game ho-hum. Not I, said the lady from California. My cup of tea and an instant buy. Thank you to the developers. And the science fiction aspect is intriguing for sure.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Story That Stays True to the Characters The story is very engrossing from start to finish. The ending chapter of the main story was just super, and the bonus game stayed honest to the lessons of the main story.. Graphics and audio were very good as well.
Date published: 2016-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than 99.9% of the new games coming out lately. I really really enjoyed playing this game. The graphics and voice overs were perfect. Mini games and hidden object scenes were fun. My favorite part though is that there was an actually, wonderful storyline. Love, loss and the 5 stages of grief! I purchased the CE which I normally never do but I didn't want to wait a month to play this game. I'm so glad I got the CE as it ties everything up nicely. I have to say for me so far this is my favorite game of 2016!
Date published: 2016-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Relaxing This is one of those games you can sink into without fearing you are going to fail. The characters are excellent, despite the one and only baddie. The scenes are attractive, and the story is well told. The challenges along the way are what I'd call pleasantly challenging, not leaving you feeling you are an idiot. Instead, they leave you feeling you aren't too bad at the game after all. I'm not sure I could have got through it without using hints along the way - which is one of the challenges - but I imagine if I'd had the patience I could have Worth buying and it is enjoyable.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty, Clever Game Lovely graphics, interesting and innovative HOS and mini-games - and a psychological/spiritual ending! Also of decent length - I didn't feel ripped off. Very good job, guys!
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A path to peace Can you help the Professor to control a mysterious and violent thunderstorm? Escaping with your life won't be easy - as well as plane crashes and lightning, there's a murderer on the loose, with a gun and a bad case of insanity. And if that wasn't enough for one day, you need to help a restless soul find peace. This is the most original game I have played for ages and I loved it. I played it on the hardest mode and was very glad I did - the puzzles are much more varied and interesting than most games of this type, and it was worth spending time thinking about things without being tempted to hit the the hint button! A couple of types of puzzles were new to me, and I've played a few HOGs in my time... It got easier after the demo, and for a while I thought it would be disappointingly short, but the finale took some time and played out so nicely that I didn't mind things being relatively straightforward. It was worth buying the game to be able to complete the story, for sure. The music got a little repetitive at times but the sound effects were definitely worth having the speakers on for. The storyline is lovely, and the artwork was beautiful. Highly recommended
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I found this game to be electrifying! Zap-on! Beautiful and intriguing storyline. Graphics/artwork were resplendent! The flow was right on; multitude of tasks to complete and then some. Collectibles, clouds with thunderbolts to collect and if you don't collect them all once you complete the Bonus Game you will be able to retrieve what you missed. Wow! What a game! I just finished the entire CE, and the Bonus Game was just as intriguing as the main game. Omni, Ashley, Rob, and Professor Mann to name just a few are some of the characters. Loved this beautifully, well-crafted, well-organized game by Mad Head Games. Bravo devs! Bravo! You put a lot of thought into this game. Much of the tasks were logical and I think I accomplished them so well due to that fact. Four modes of play. I like to customize my play; the map was great, hint button was great if you needed it. No diary but a scroll of the tasks you need to complete. The artwork alone with the intricate, ornate, Asian items were outstanding. Love, envy, anger, hatred, well, the storyline just drew me in. The voiceovers/actors were superb! There was one typo where the word 'is' was used instead of 'in', and why do I notice these things, I just do! The game-play was wonderful and I didn't get bored once! The HOPS were varied and unusual. Some mini-games were hard and some were very easy. A couple of puzzles I skipped but I didn't want this game to end. By the time I got to the Bonus Game, that too flowed like a charm; some of the characters are so endearing! After you complete the Bonus Game, you can find items in the gallery which I was able to accomplish; and there are more hidden object scenes whereby you will be rated at the end. I just loved it. I was able to obtain all but three achievements. A truly fun game and visually quite beautiful! I didn't expect this game to be that great but for me it was just that! I would highly recommend it.
Date published: 2016-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soo Good, Sooo Fun!!!! This is a gem!! Storyline is great, so different from others. It was an actual story and a good one! Everything is great and different. I loved it!! GREAT JOB!! I don't see a sequel, but I hope there is one on the way. Thoroughly enjoyable!! Couldn't stop until I finished. P.S. BONUS IS GREAT, AS WELL!
Date published: 2016-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game I have loved all the games in this series
Date published: 2016-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good game.!!! It's a great game. Just go for it.
Date published: 2016-01-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice game I got this game for free thanks to the quarantine promotion and I've really enjoyed it. The storyline is nice, even though it wouldn't normally be my genre, and the sound effects are good, too. The game play is enjoyable, nothing special, but surely well thought and made. I reccomend it!
Date published: 2020-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this game Played it all the way thru I couldn't stop. Loved the music the graphic's & the story line. Loved this game
Date published: 2020-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tear jerker ?? Different game but very good game . One of the few games I give all five's. Story line was a breath of fresh air and a little sad. Didn't use the hints much since it made sense to me. There was a plot twist for the better so if you try it first one might miss out on a good game. HAd my favorite voice actress so pleasing to the ears. Music was nice maybe didn't match up with the game. Best 'heart' or 'love' story. One looks for items but not to many compare to others . These items were used quickly.
Date published: 2020-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story, fun puzzles! I really loved this game! I can't believe you gave it away for free this week. Thank you so much. I will definitely replay this one in the future. The story was excellent. The soundtrack and graphics were beautiful. The puzzles were extremely fun to solve. The extra features included the chance to complete your symbol collection, go on a fun treasure hunt and appreciate the gorgeous artwork again, and there is an ultimate hidden-object puzzle that is really fun. The bonus chapter was great. I am really happy that I can replay all the hidden object puzzles in the game because they were really fun and I enjoyed the music. This game was beautifully done! Thank you!
Date published: 2020-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Game Was Great & the Bonus Chapter Fantastic : ) All I can say is that I really liked the main game BUT the Bonus Chapter was unique in story-line style and I thought it was fantastic ! I like the way this Developer lets us go back and find missed collectibles as well as they show found or not found near the inventory. I am giving this one ***** 5 out of ***** 5 on my personal enjoy-ability scale :)
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A PHOENIX RISES FROM THE ASHES OR ANCIENT ALIEN Completed game plus bonus content, collectibles, hidden objects, and the treasure hunt (44) that allows players to re-visit each and every extraordinary scene. Presented by the illustrious Mad Hat Games, there's everything good especially the programming which brings a smooth and fluid gameplay. Awesome, outstanding and phenomenal artwork, gamers will be wowed with bold, beautiful as well as a challenging, very lengthy game. Possibly one of the best lessons to be learned is in dealing with grief one must experience those levels of emotion shown herein and in that order--denial, anger, bargaining and, finally sadness. Anyone who has felt a deep loss will certainly empathize. Very well done. Nothing shallow here! Did I say outstanding? Thank you Mad Head Games and BFG! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2016-11-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gameplay, but please get cultural consultation I would have given top marks in every category to this story except for the problematic tropes in the story, which took away from the fun. I love the story in adventure games, and this one was certainly compelling--I was excited to unlock bonus content!--but it was painful to watch tropes play out in the story, including White Saviors and minorities/brown people sacrificing themselves for white people to live. I really like the gameplay itself--I like collectables and morphing objects, and I favor adventure games with inventory-based problem solving that's organic to the plot, and this game has that! I liked the Japanese cultural elements in the game, which included narrative, setting/visual design, and voice acting featuring accented English. I am part Japanese, and really enjoy combining my heritage with playtime! But where it fell down was in what happened to the monk character (those racist tropes) and the names that should've been as Japanese as the visual design and accent, but weren't. Mad Head, please hire cultural consultants who can tell you when your cultural coding verges on the appropriation. If Japanese culture is good enough to base a game's visual design on, it's good enough to get right without cultural or narrative erasure. There are lots of people you can hire out there to ensure games are fun and respectful for everyone. Authenticity makes good games great. This one is so close! I really wanted to love it. I'm looking forward to trying more games, and I truly hope to see more (and better) representation in your games. Cheers!
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Enjoyable Game In This Series .... Good Graphics, Sound, Effects, Animation, Voice & Video Bits ... An Enjoyable Addition To The Series With Some Interesting Concepts In The HOG's ... Bonus Game Was A Nice Finishing Touch To The Main Story ... Worth A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2016-03-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Adaptation Of The Game " BEYOND" They Didn't Even Bother To Change The Barn And Water Tower, Not To Mention This Barn Caught On Fire As Well! I loved the game Beyond which was an instant buy for me when it first debuted, and I'm a fan of most MH games and I applaud their success with Beyond, a game that wasn't expected to appeal to so many gamers. Okay....but that game was unique, a refreshing sci-fi change of pace. Just because you use the same exact music, the same exact barn, the same exact water tower, the same exact alien catches the barn on fire scenario, the same map style and the same features in this game, it doesn't mean that Heart of the Storm will be as successful. In my opinion, they made the entrance to the town scene almost to the tee of the town in Enigmatis: The Ghosts of Maple Creek. It makes it seem like a knockoff, like they scrambled to put together a game using patchwork pieces of other games. Seems lazy when you think about it. I also have to question how long this game would actually be, because the demo is very short. The graphics are confusing to me, some buildings are very detailed, others blurry, the characters are spot on but everything else is large and cartoonish, some items don't make sense such as the two boulders (shown in two different scenes) with faces. The storyline is interesting enough, but judging by the demo, there's nothing new here, a malevolent spirit from a nearby Ancient Temple is causing an environmental phenomena, AKA, the storm of the century. The only prop you get is a smartphone, which in my opinion makes a game more realistic, which will be used as a journal to store clues found, a camera to take important pictures, a flashlight, and of course you will be able to make and receive phone calls. Many of the inventory items are complex which require some type of interaction before they can be used, and there are 14 Achievements to earn throughout the game. Every scene has a Collectible Hunt symbol to search for, and has an Icon to keep track of which scenes still have a Collectible to find. The Hidden Object Scenes also seem cartoonish, with large bulky items to search for within Interactive List Finds, finding Multiples of several silhouetted shape items, or finding items that match their identical pictures as shown on the inventory bar which releases the final item by carving a tree with each item found. Each Hidden Object Puzzle has a Morphing Object, and there is an Icon for this feature as well. The Mini Games are far and few between, and are very easy puzzles to solve, but that's okay in my opinion as long as they are somewhat entertaining. The following are brief descriptions of the games you will encounter during the demo: 1) Type in the correct password to access the computer, then arrange folders by swapping them to their correct places turning all folders green. 2) Lead the power from the source to the target by rotating tiles to connect the wires. 3) Clear all chalk blots from the board by dragging an uninterrupted line of two or more blots of the same color using cardinal directions. This Collector's Edition has 44 Collectible Hunt symbols, 14 Achievements, 17 replayable Hidden Object Puzzles, 17 Morphing Objects within the HOP's, 16 Concept Art pictures, 20 Wallpapers, 9 Music Soundtracks, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from GET READY FOR AN “ELECTRI-FRY-ING” EXPERIENCE OVERVIEW OF THE GAME. Grab your protective gear and running shoes to play this game. You are in store for an “electri-fry-ing” experience battling a Storm God who will be throwing a few lightning bolts your way. You better grab some of those bolts of lightning for your shoes as you run back-and-forth between scenes in playing the game. Does lightning strike twice in one week? Well, not for me. After a recent masterpiece, this game DID NOT generate any “sparks” of excitement for me. Why? A. Lack of creative and innovative HOP scenes and puzzles. The blurb introducing the game states that it has lots of innovative puzzles and HOP scenes. It must be after the demo because I did not encounter any in the demo. My “spark” of interest waned as I played the very short demo which includes only 3 HOP scenes and 4 mini-games. With such a short demo, it is difficult to assess this game. However, I found the HOP scenes nondescript and the puzzles extremely easy in the demo. The story is excellent and so are the graphics; however, the actual “mechanics” of the game are not well designed. Being sensitive to sound, I found the shrill moaning in the game irritating as well. B. Repetitive scene hopping. I became annoyed with the amount of scene hopping to perform activities. In one particular instance in the demo, you must go back-and-forth five times to open a cellar door. To me, hopping from one scene and back again is a “time filler” to make up for the lack of puzzles and games. This game will appeal to many subscribers on this site. The best thing is to demo it yourself. This game is one of those games which some will love and yet others, like me, will find not to their liking. STORY: Responding to a message from your mentor, Professor Mann, you, as Chelsea, parachute into a weather anomaly in which you must battle a malevolent spirit who is generating a storm of trouble for you and the professor. Helping your professor and his assistant Rob fix a “stormcatcher, you will soon find yourself in danger in a game which includes a maleficent spirit behind the storm, a love triangle, and an experiment gone haywire. HOP SCENES: Like tinkering with machines or spend your time working on inventions? Then you might like this game. In the demo, the limited HOP scenes and puzzles from the demo are mechanically based. The HOP scenes I played include a multiple step on in which you locate item and the reuse them in the scene. The HOP scenes include lists of items, silhouette items to locate, and replacement of items back into the scene. I did not encounter any which were extremely creative or innovative. MINI-GAMES: Do you enjoy simplistic puzzles? Then you will love this game. I don’t think any of the mini-games will “fry” your brain. For those who like easy puzzles or don’t care for puzzles, you will probably like this game. There are not many puzzles and they are all relatively easy – a tad too easy for my taste. Their theme is mechanical in the demo. The puzzles include a sequencing puzzle, a switching puzzle, a pipe puzzle in which you connect circuitry, and a removal puzzle which contains three screens in which to connect dots to remove them. EXTRAS: There are 14 achievements and the collectibles are 44 storm clouds and morphing objects. You can replay 17 HOP scenes but I did not see the opportunity to replay any of the puzzles. Your “helper” is your phone which provides a flashlight, camera and clues and objectives. There are the usual wallpaper, artwork and music. LEVELS: Drizzle, Downpour, Thunderstorm, Custom Hints and Skips 15 to 90 seconds. HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE FEW HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES IN THE DEMO: HOP SCENES: A. Multiple step puzzle. (1) Silhouette items. Locate a specific number of items according to a silhouette (2) Replace the items back into the scene to reactivate the machine B. List of items to locate. There are morphing objects within this scene C. Silhouette items. Actually they are pictures of the items which must be found within the scene and some are replaced back into the scene PUZZLES: You can reset the puzzles A. Sequencing puzzle. By logic, turn on all lights using four knobs. Turning one knobs affects the other lights. EASY B. Switching puzzle. Switch five folders so that they create a connecting pattern. Lights turn green when they are located in the correct position 2X EASY C. Pipe puzzle. Rotate tiles containing wires to create a path to complete a circuit. EASY D. Removal puzzle. Connect colored dots in a continuous line connecting them for removal. 3X INCREASING IN DIFFICULTY WITH EACH LEVEL
Date published: 2016-01-16
  • y_2020, m_11, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_62
  • loc_en_US, sid_24056, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Rite of Passage: Heart of the Storm Collector's Edition

The past isn’t set in stone. Now’s your chance to change it!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.