Mysteries of the Past: Shadow of the Daemon

Mysteries of the Past: Shadow of the Daemon

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(470.32 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

A father and son holiday trip has turned into a missing persons' case after they visit a remote mountain chalet and aren't heard from again. Strange forces seem to have brought you to this dark and secretive place to uncover the truth. As you delve deeper, you start to uncover an intriguing trail that seems to link the disappearances with an ancient and shadowy presence that curses the nearby forest.

  • Be a paranormal detective and solve the case
  • Complete challenges, puzzles, and mini-games
  • Compelling soundtrack and a bonus chapter
  • Explore beautiful, hand drawn locations

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 749 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mysteries of the Past: Shadow of the Daemon

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(470.32 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Mysteries of the Past: Shadow of the Daemon is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 44.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Supernatural Mystery and Missing Person Case in One !!! Many cultures from around the world believe that there are evil spirits out there doing bad things, and they sometimes interact with people as well. In some cases, they can even take possession of their victim’s body and force them to do their bidding. Naturally, there are always ways to stop these demons from getting too close, as well as rituals to banish them. Mysteries of the Past: Shadow of the Daemon is a hidden object adventure game in which you have to investigate a missing persons case and figure out what happened before it’s too late to rescue the victims. The gameplay is more or less standard for the genre, which means that you have to pick up useful objects, try to solve puzzles and generally enjoy the ride and the story. Speaking of which, it all starts when a father and his son go missing on their holiday trip somewhere around a remote mountain chalet. Your role is that of a detective trying to figure out what happened to them, by retracing their last known steps. As it turns out, paranormal forces are at play, which means that you’ll have to deal with ghosts and various other vicious spirits. The adventure has Good graphics and simple gameplay mechanics. In case you are already familiar with the HOG genre, you shouldn’t have any trouble figuring out what to do here. Each scene contains a few active regions that can be examined closer, and each region may contain either a puzzle or a useful object that may come in handy later on. Some of these objects can be combined to obtain something else, while others are just there to help you open doors or containers. As usual, the graphics are hand drawn in most parts, which means that you do not need a very powerful computer in order to run the game smoothly. Each scene is very detailed and full of interesting objects you can examine, and the paranormal elements are quite well designed as well. In addition, there’s a creepy soundtrack playing in the background to keep you on edge at all times. Demo this one for yourself, you may end up purchasing and playing the game in its entirety. I recommend this for players of all levels. Enjoy!
Date published: 2016-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AN OUTSTANDING SE GAME FROM A NEW TEAM When I saw Mysteries of the Past Shadow of the Daemon I had to do some searching because I was sure I had seen this game previously since the graphic of the young boy looked eerily similar to “Darren” the character in a game released about a month ago. Just to make sure I downloaded the game and, yes, it is new but I certainly experienced one of those déjà vu moments. The game is from a new game developer; at least its name is one I don’t recall seeing in the past. The graphics are actually very good and there are sort of “iffy” lip-synced voiceovers. The game offers three modes of gameplay offered but no custom mode. The settings are minimal so there are not many things we can fiddle with to customize the game other than the volume sliders and screen size. We receive a map early in the game but that is our only tool – aside from our wits and putting that gray matter to work. The storyline is familiar but it is done well in Shadow of the Daemon. As a detective who deals with paranormal events you have been contacted by a Mr. Clarkson who is the owner of the Big Pine Lodge. The Millers, a father and son duo staying at the lodge, disappeared when it was seemingly invaded by an evil entity that whisked them away one evening when they returned from their daily trek. Since that event, Mr. Clarkson has been too afraid to enter the lodge so you agree to meet him outside the lodge. When you meet him at the entrance he explains how the appearance of the lodge has changed in just a matter of days and now looks as if it has been abandoned for several years. Out of control plants cover the lodge so your first task will be to gain entry. After you enter the lodge, your fun begins. The HOPS are interesting, interactive and multi-level. Although there is nothing new I really like the way this developer has set up each HOP scene. The mini-games will seem quite easy for many seasoned gamers but they are still quite entertaining. All in all, if this is a first attempt at a HOPA game by this team, I have to congratulate them on their efforts. I enjoy the game and it became an immediate purchase for me. I hope to see more games from this team in the future. Even though I really like the game, please try it to see if it is one you will enjoy.
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I REALLY LIKE THIS GAME!! I just finished the demo on this game and really enjoyed myself. I liked the story, graphics, old man's character (manager), atmosphere, and game play. The HOS aren't hard, but relaxing and enjoyable. Plus are completed in 2-3 formats, which added to the fun of them without straining your eyes or frustration. I'm anxious to find out how it continues. So, with the great sale by BFG I'm off to buy the game and find out. Happy Gaming Everyone!
Date published: 2016-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant I loved playing this game, you don't have a walk through, but don't let that put you off, you do have a interactive map, which is great. The story is brilliant, and the HOS are not usual, you have to find objects, but then you have to put them back in place again. And you have to find a boy and his father who have been imprisoned by a demon, and each time you have completed every thing for that part of the game, it loads up another section. The graphics are brilliant as well
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Great Game by Blue Brain What a fun game! I love discovering a new developer and Blue Brains is it. There is just enough suspense to make me jump every once in a while. Most of the HO scenes are 2 stage play and a couple 3 stage thrown in for a pleasurable experience. The graphics and sound add to the great story line. You've got to play this one!
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game Not your usual HOG. Very well done, thoroughly enjoyed it.
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mysteries of the Past: Shadow of the Daemon Another great hidden object game to play
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Sleeper That's Fun To Play Blue Brain is one dev I haven't played before, but will be looking out for. I loved the adventure part, and traditional HO fans will be pleased too. (None are re-used). The storyline is easy to follow and has mystery to it. The jump map indicates areas of interest even in hard mode. Puzzles run from familiar to new & clever. I used a credit but this one is worth the money. It's nice & long too. Try it!
Date published: 2017-02-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyable I played this game in segments, but found it to be a smooth flowing game with an excellent transporter map. Story was really nothing new and the characters a bit "stiff" but the voice-overs were good, although you could tell they were reading from a script. HOS and puzzles were good and not too hard. You could customize the game so the hint and skip would refresh quickly. The ending game/puzzle was a bit of a challenge. Some areas were dark, but playable. Enjoyed playing it.
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from . Game played for a little over five hours. Started out slow but got better the longer I played. Some of the HOS were hard to find to stuff. 2016
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad at all... I decided to try this game based on the reviews. And I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. I played the game on Expert mode, which was completely different than the usual expert or hard modes you see these days. In this game, you had absolutely no help at all. And there were times where I wished I had activated the hint system. But, I persevered and finished the entire game. The one thing that helped me out a great deal was the jump map that always showed where actions needed to be done. What I didn't really like, though, were the sparkles on the HO scenes. The game itself was pretty challenging, but not overtly difficult. It is mostly linear. There are times where you may come across an action to be done, but you won't have the necessary tools to perform that action until much later in the game. The story isn't all too unique, but it's still a decent story. The characters look almost real, and there are voiceovers. However, I didn't think that the acting was the greatest, but it was decent enough. What was unique was how the HO scenes are accessed. For example, you may enter a room, and it starts off as a hidden object scene. Then after you find the objects, you then replace some of them back where they belong. After that's done, and you receive whatever item you need, you are then able to explore the room. In one room, it started off as an HO scene, then it became a room to explore with a second HO scene in a corner. All in all, I did enjoy this game and finished it within 2 days. It was, in my opinion, a fairly long game. I believe that if I sat through it, it would take me an entire day, not just a few hours, to complete. I recommend this game for those who like a decent challenge.
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really enjoyed this This, to me, was a really good, solid adventure/HO game by a developer that I don't think I have come across before. There were some inconsistencies and a handful of other game-play issues which I categorize as pretty minor and I don't think detract from over-all game play. I do wish I could have removed the sparkles, but a girl can't have everything I suppose! :-) And that was one SCARY demon!!!
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Archaic Spelling of Demon Shouldn't Turn You Off Boy and his father go missing from a woodsy hotel. Manager writes you for help. Intrigued by details in his letter you come on the run, arriving safely in front of the hotel, now overgrown by some seriously nasty vines. Can you find and save them? Or is it too late? You go right to work. Good stuff: Some good multi-level HOPs, nice puzzles and mini-games, decent artwork, fair story-line. Bad stuff: No custom game-play level; a couple of confusing elements as well as frustration at having one inventory tool that could do what you need, only to have the game want you to find a different one; music that had to be silenced. Is this the game of the year? No! Is this a reasonably amusing SE, a way to pass the hours? Yes - especially if you have a coupon that will expire soon! Give the demo a try. You may find a hidden nugget.
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't Tase Me, Bro! As a Paranormal Activity Detective, you receive an impassioned letter from Mr. Clarkson, the owner and operator of the Big Pine Lodge in the mountains. He wants you to investigate the disappearance of Mr. Miller and his son who were guests at the lodge. He also reports seeing a mysterious shadowy presence in the lodge that has literally frightened him out. The artwork is hand drawn, beautiful and very colorful. The season is fall, and the color palette dovetails with that. The opening cut scene is visually captivating, but it is marred somewhat by a muddled voice over. Fortunately once the actual game play begins, the cut scenes, voices and sounds are quite good. The first item you'll find is a taser, the use of which is unusual to say the least. There is a fair amount of unlocking doors, drawers, etc. in the beginning and some of the play is strange. In one case, you can clearly see an item inside a vase, but its not clear why you cannot simply reach inside to get it. I also noted one mislabeled item in a HOs (a pawn), but did not see any obvious misspellings or errors in grammar. There are more hidden object scenes than mini-games during the trial. They generally have more than one stage to them, i.e., first you find several objects or fragments, and then you place them. Difficulty was moderate, one or two objects were well hidden with the others fairly easy to find. The two mini games I recall were a rotating three ring puzzle to arrange tokens, and a puzzle with four concentric rotating rings to complete a design. There is a transportable map, journal (notes) and Objectives. Oddly, the map, journal and objectives can all be accessed from the map icon on the right, while the journal and objectives can also be accessed from the icon on the left. There are three modes of play. I chose the Expert (hardest) mode which stated there are no sparkles or hints. However, that was not the case. I did see sparkles indicating areas of interest and hidden object scenes, so - note to developer - this is an area that needs work. As you might expect, the story has a element of creepiness to it. It does progress as you learn more about the missing guests and the lodge. There is no forced end to the trial other than the sixty minute limit so how far you get may vary. I found the demo enjoyable and fun. If the sparkles are not a deal-breaker for you, this is a shadow that seems worth tasing after. 3-1/2 stars
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from second good HOPA this week and this one an SE version On the 14th the excellent CE Tales of Terror was introduced by a relatively unknown developer. 3 days later this Mysteries of the Past saga is announced by yet another new game crafter. Although not quite as good as that offered Sunday, Shadow of the Daemon is a very fine tale. The story is nothing new, a father & son ( the Millers ) have disappeared mysteriously from a rustic lodge. The detective is summoned to find them and is greeted by the lodge manager, Mr. Cranston. He seems innocent enough but I get the feeling this man is part of the sinister goings on even if his participation is unwitting. There are obvious paranormal events occurring at the lodge, mostly in the form of a purplish shadow that infiltrates various rooms in the building. As to game play, absolutely no new ground is broken yet this does not detract from the enjoyment. I am pleased that some of the items sought are nicely hidden and there is interaction with some of them. Puzzles are not highly evident in the demo with those that do appear being rather run of the mill. Had this game been initially offered 4-5 years ago, I would have given a 5 star rating. Things have become so much more sophisticated in the now that this more simple game garners a well deserved 4 stars. There are no collectibles or morphs which I found refreshing. Mysteries of the Past is somewhat old school, nothing wrong with that. It is certainly worthy of SE pricing, I'll probably acquire it via a free game code since only SE's can be had with freebies. I have asked BFG to consider allowing the use of 2 free game codes to pick up a wanted CE. So far, no luck with that inquiry. Shadow of the Daemon is worthy regardless of the skill level of the player.
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A GREAT GAME AT A GREAT PRICE! This game was great. I didn't play with sound so I can't speak to that but the rest was excellent. It's about time a good game came out as an SE. It was challenging enough for me and although some of the graphics weren't fabulous I loved the game, finished it last night. Any hidden object fans out there would be pleasantly surprised!
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bad. My rating is based on completion of SE and fulfillment of most of my individual requirements. I was not sure, what to award: 3 or 4 stars? On the one hand, it has a ring to it, on the other hand, there were some issues – I can’t put the finger on it - which I did not like. All in all not bad, may be but sometimes a little bit naïve, sometimes a little bit exaggerated, but clearly not bad. According to a good quality, I decided to rate with 4 stars. - Story: You’re a detective and investigating paranormal activities. You have to look into some missing people. During your investigation, you’re discovering what’s behind all this. A treacherous hotel-manager as well as an evil daemon. Good luck, you have support by a shaman and a raven. - Graphics: The sceneries are detailed and prospectively drawn. - Animation: quite good - Music: at the beginning a little bit thriller like according to sceneries. Appointed situationally. - Fitting background noises. It is very stormy out there, isn’t it? - Voice-overs: good spoken, matching the characters. For my liking, ghost and daemon were overblown. - Tools: you have an interactive map – rarely necessary, you have to investigate about 5 – 8 locations. Later on, you’ll get a magic amulet. - HO’s: lots of. Quite realistic items. Different types e.g. looking for parts to complete something, descriptions slightly interactive, completing objects, finding pairs… - Mini games: well-crafted, but pretty easy - Challenge: the “adventure-part” was challenging, HO’S and mini games mostly easy. The tasks were mostly logical and the whereabouts of needed items not too far-fetched. - Length: I needed nearly 4 hours for completing, that’s ok. Dislikes: - Difficulty can’t be customized. Three levels of difficulty are preset. - Lots of back and forth.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good game, but still confusing My review is solely based on finishing the demo: Finding the Millers is 'initially' the least of your worries. Navigating and wondering what exactly you are suppose to do is. Without the 'strange' map that is provided, you would be totally lost, IMHO. Going back and forth, up and down, without any rhyme or reason, makes the game not as enjoyable as it could be. I really enjoyed the HOS in the demo, as they were a little different in the way that they were played out. There were not a lot of puzzles in the demo, unless I was totally concentrating in figuring out where to go to next :)) The graphics weren't all that great. Colors were dull and lacked vibrancy. I did, however, think the little old man was cute. All in all, I'm going to buy the full version of the game for the simple 'pleasure' of finding out what really happens to the Miller's, even if I have to go back and forth, up and down, without rhyme nor reason. Maybe you might have more luck!
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Very Enjoyable Game ... Good Graphics, Sound & Story ... Effects & Animations a Little Average But Nicely Done ... A Very Enjoyable Game From A New Developer ... Hope To See More From Them ... Great Value & Well Worth A Voucher ...
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good game not hard enjoyable to play. liked it very much
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a Bad Game! If morphing objects and collectibles were added to this game, I would give it 5 stars.
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Help! Where's the board for the ladder? I have bopped around for a long time. Went in under another name, stuck at same place. Looks like it will be fun but I'm frustrated.
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Be patient...game gets better towards the end This game was a disappointment. The 1st half of the game is really lonely as you wander around a deserted hotel without encountering a single soul. Then when you encounter people, they talk quite a bit. Even the letters you uncover in your quest are long winded. The graphics are good, but the HOS are standard issue. Mini games are mostly easy. And there is no pizazz or special effects to make it snazzy and make you go, "Cool!" The plot seems contrived, completely unoriginal, and just is not very engaging in making you want to see what happens next. I found it hard work to get to the end, but it did get a little bit better as you got to the end. You will have to try yourself to see if it's your cup of tea.
Date published: 2017-03-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cast a Shadow This game had some potential, but cast a shadow in functionality. Their method of how to do a HOP was really good but then I had to fix the ladder in the HO and I could not figure it out. So I hit the hint button and it showed me to fix the ladder and nothing else. It took some doing to realize I needed to open a safe to find the missing board so I could fix the ladder. Other parts of the game I found frustrating also. I did like the story line and the Characters and there was plenty to do but the flow of game was a tad off kelter for me and a bit of a yawn. It did have a jump map for a SE game which was nice and a good hint button. All and all just not hitting it for me. Sorry.
Date published: 2016-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre This is based on the trial only. I think it had the potential to be greater, the story was decent. But I found myself having to use the hint button a lot because some of the items that interacted with others weren't as logical. Not the worst, but not the best. Not worth buying, in my opinion, though I did finish the 60 minute trial.
Date published: 2016-02-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from i rushed through this Another female detective, another demon SIGH.... To their credit effort was made in this game but I am really sad of demons and secret amulets. Please can we have something else...??
Date published: 2016-03-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's a Mystery Okay This is posted after playing the demo. I was really disappointed in this game. I've not heard of this developer before, so perhaps this is one of their first attempts at a game. It simply was not fun. I was rather relieved when the demo was over. The graphics were okay. They were clear and kind of realistic, but the sound was not very good. The voice overs, what there was of them made me laugh. There was a dialog box that appeared, but no lip movement. On the character in the background, the lips moved. I thought that funny. For some reason everything was very small on my computer. It could be my computer that was the problem, but the other games I played worked just fine. It didn't even fill my screen. Music wasn't all that bad. Effects were fine and went along with the scene. Hidden objects were varied and interesting to do, when I could see the scene. Again, everything was so small. I would get things without knowing by clicking and something would clear on my list. I didn't play too many of the mini games. It seemed like most were do this and it will effect that, which is my most hated mini. So far as tools, the map was helpful. It allowed me to transport and it did show where there was something to be done. There are three degrees of difficulty of which I chose casual. The hint and skip recharged quickly, which was good, because I used that hint button on a regular basis. There just didn't seem to be any rhyme or reason for what needed to be done next. Nothing new in the story. Paranormal monster did something and the manager was involved somehow. The demo ended before it really got into the story. It didn't grab me and make me want to find out how it ends. This was a very weak game. I thought about getting it because there is a big sale today, but I'll keep looking. Just not much to write home about with this one.
Date published: 2016-02-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from boring for me I played the demo this game wasn't for me, all I can say is it is good for some but not for me, Wasn't my taste of the hidden object games I play.
Date published: 2016-02-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't like it I played 20 minutes of the demo and was bored. Lots of very straightforward HOs and no puzzles. Game play very simplistic IMO, so didn't hold my interest at all. I need more of a challenge.
Date published: 2016-02-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Only Good Things Aout This Game Are The HOPA ANOTHER rehashed storyline about spirits kidnapping people. Excuse me while I yawn & try not to doze off! Colors were brighter while the graphics still need a lot of fine tuning. Same wooden characters without realism or lip movement. HOPA were fun/interactive BUT the hint button was a disaster. I had to go into the "forum" to see how others solved the ladder quandary. Puzzles were simple enough. Didn't try the map as the hint button did transport you to the next location. Just not a fun or entertaining game. Try the demo before you go all the way into this shadow.
Date published: 2016-02-18
  • y_2021, m_1, d_24, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_24409, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mysteries of the Past: Shadow of the Daemon

Explore a cursed forest in search of missing persons! Be wary of the ancient and shadowy presence that has dominion there.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.