New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls Collector's Edition
Exclusive

New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(370.59 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

It's 1950's New York! A rich lawyer's widow has been brutally murdered. What starts as a routine investigation quickly takes a dark turn. It's up to you to shed light on the secrets of the past. Are you brave enough to take on this chilling adventure? Find out in New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls Collector's Edition!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 775 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(370.59 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls Collector's Edition is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 44.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sweet Revenge Laura James is back, and just like the (censored) she's chasing, she hasn't aged a bit! Disguised as a journalist, she's so much more, an undercover agent for the secret society, The White Stone Order, and one tough lady! Professor Bishop has sent Laura to investigate the brutal murder of Carrie Martel, a widow who buried her famous lawyer husband just hours ago. Has Thomas returned to seek revenge, or is there a much more plausible theory? New York Mysteries is known for its collections and The Lantern of Souls is no exception. There are 9 hidden Apples, 9 hidden Shields, 9 Music Symbols, and 9 hidden Miners. There are also 20 Achievements to earn and 35 Morphing Objects to find throughout the adventure, and a new feature of 16 collectible Fact Cards that give you fun facts about points of interest in New York. The Hidden Object Scenes are scarce, with only 5 in the entire game, BUT, I promise you they will not disappoint you. These are extremely Interactive Progressive Silhouetted Shape Finds, with all kinds of gadgets to figure out and several smaller puzzles to solve within each HOP. The Mini Games are really creative, however, several of them are just too simple to solve, my only complaint of this entire game. Below are brief descriptions of some of the Mini games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Rotate the arrow to set the correct sequence. 2) Select two symbols to create the symbols shown in the center. 3) Find pairs of taps that rotate at the same rate of speed. 4) Use a code to unlock a door. 5) Use the control buttons to help the mouse move a square to the designated spot. 6) Connect wires from left to right by following tangled leads. This Collector's Edition has 9 Wallpapers, 16 Concept Art pictures, 26 Videos, 6 Music Soundtracks, 18 replayable Mini Games, 5 replayable Puzzles, 20 Achievements, 35 Hidden Collectibles, 16 collectible Fact Cards, 35 Morphing Objects, 20 Bonus Games, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FiveBN Hits A Home Run Based On Main & Bonus Games First thing to know, FiveBN makes awesome games that shows they take time, thought, creativity, and the sweat of their brow. They aren't a game dev that cranks out "copy & paste" games every six weeks. NYM games come out once a year, like MCF, and I'm hoping they get tapped to do MCF at least once. That said, this is an engaging story that people like me who don't follow stories closely, can pick up on easily. The adventure part is spot on! Be prepared to stop and think about where to go and how to use inventory. Sneaky FiveBN, putting things in your inventory, then you won't use it till two hours later. I don't care for super-linear games, and NYM satisfies, making you think about where can I use this? And using inventory in a novel way without excessive back-tracking or frustration. It has a real journal, which I liked a lot. Puzzles are plentiful, with no traditional HOs. Some get annoyed at that, but all HOs are interactive HO/puzzles to locate the desired object. Puzzles range from easy to moderate, with no head-scratchers. There are morphs and collectibles in main game only: 35 morphs in scenes plus sets of collectible symbols. I got them all, but I think you can go back and retrieve any missed ones in Extras menu.You also collect informational cards about the history of New York City. There's a bonus "untangle the strings" game with twenty levels in Extras, as well as 5 jigsaw puzzles to complete. The main game is very long, lasting 5+ hours, and the bonus game almost two. The bonus game does carry the main story a bit further. Other CE bling includes replayable puzzles and HOs, plus the usual. Is it worth a CE? Yes. I keep an eye out for FiveBN games because of the attention to detail, quality, scenery, bling, excellent adventure, and overall awesomeness. But to those of you who like traditional HOs, you may not be satisfied.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from NEW YORK MYSTERIES 3 IS A DIFFERENT EDITION TO THE SERIES!!! This is the 3rd installment of New York Mysteries and Laura James is back to solve another chilling murder mystery complete with Zombies and the Grim Reaper. It's worth noting that this game has many more hours of gameplay than most Eipix adventures. I thought the story was original and a wonderful departure from some of the titles recently launched in 2016. I think overall this edition does deserve a 4/5 star rating, but something is missing... Going back and playing the previous games, Secrets of the Mafia and High Voltage I noticed that the Eipix opener was missing from these editions because they were created by a different developer. I realize the purpose of reviewing games is to give your own objective perspective about the game title you are rating but this is a series. There are elements of this edition that don't measure up to the previous ones. I think the Artwork, the VO's, the Sound/SFX, and the Cut Scenes suffered as a result of the change. One major redeeming factor for me is that the series is always set in the 1950's and Lantern of Souls does make you feel you are in that era. I hope the saga continues and I hope the development team reaches the level of detail fans remember from playing the earlier editions. I do recommend this adult theme adventure for players of every level.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game In This Series .... Enjoyable Atmosphere Created By The Story, Graphics, Sound, Effect, Animations, Voice & Video Bits ... By Far One Of The Most Enjoyable Games Of This Type, Good In Game Length And Had Me Hanging In As Long As I Could ... Great Work On The HOG's ... All Interactive With A Basic Shadow List ... A Real Treat If You Prefer More Of An Adventure Game Feel ... Bonus Chapter Was A Nice Addition, And Again A Decent Length Of Game Play ... A Must Have Game, Well Worth A Special Deal ... This Is One Of Those Few Games Out There Worth It's Full Price ... Can't Wait For Another ...
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ANOTHER EXCITING NY MYSTERIES! YAY! Bummed out with the abundance of cookie cutter games-- even from my favorite developers-- when super game hero BFG swooped in with one of my favorite series! Yay! Beautiful, smart, inquisitive Laura Jones is on the case and not afraid to break a finger nail. Plenty of added extras--morphing objects, collections and fact cards abound along with superior visuals, computer graphics and artwork. The magnificent New York Mysteries musical score sweeps gamers into the unusual world of paranormal intrigue surrounded by a more realistic setting. THANK YOU! THANK YOU! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Winner for NY Mysteries Intelligent storylines coupled with excellent graphics. There are a few glitches with continuity, but not enough to detract from the game. Long game play, and not a pink and purple fairy to be found. Excellent!
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game (completed) I really loved the interactive HOS scenes which in this game replaced the old school endless lists and junk piles. Enjoyed the storyline, the cut scenes and the way the game kept me interested and involved in the story. I appreciated the labeling of items in the HOS inventory since that is often not done in other games. (most games don't label the found silhouettes and they can be so small you can't tell what they are or how they interact in the scene). On the plus side, HOS and minigames were replayable, and the missed collectibles could be located at the end of the game allowing a few extra jigsaw puzzles to be played. However (and this was a problem) there was no active hint button to help you locate them. I had to go to the strategy guide under collectibles and morphs to look at the scenes, then find them on the map, teleport and finally locate the pesky missing items. The only downside for me was getting lost frequently, not being able sometimes to remember where to go in the several locations. Items in the inventory were kept for a long time in some instances, but I much PREFER having a little challenge than having things handed to me to use in the very next scene. Besides the hint button was very helpful. Bonus game lasted about an hour or so and was decent. Minigames were on the easy side, and I wish more developers would use the megapuzzles more, but on the whole, a very good game, worth the "collector's" edition assignment, and I will probably play it again (rare for me)
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Oh my! Another New York Mysteries! I love this series, and this one follows the style of the previous games. Great story line, graphics have a HD comic feel, perfect for the setting. Music appropriate, voice overs well done, collectibles, morphing objects, and for me, the delicious bonus of being set in the real world with grown ups! Not a fairy or witch in sight! Bought after only 10 minutes of the trial!
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from He just won't die! The heroine of this series is Laura James, and you get to solve another mystery as this hard-boiled lady detective. I'm all about murder mystery HOA's, but Lantern of Souls takes the genre to another level. Thomas Martell's widow seems to be celebrating his death with champaigne, when - horrors! The corpse reappears in her house! Later the police call in Laura James to solve the mystery of the missing widow, and you're launched into a very tricky, absorbing adventure. The main part of the game is solving puzzles and putting pieces together to open drawers, doors, and toolboxes. There's a chemical compound you have to mix (always one of my favorites) as well as the usual hears, keys, and batteries. If you like a murder mystery with paranormal overtones, this is an excellent addition to your Game Manager.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Very Good Game First off, let me say that I'm only about 1/2 way through the purchased game (no demo). This series is consistently well done and this game is no exception. I'm very picky about graphics and VOs and I have no complaints here. The graphics are washed out a bit but that fits with the 50s retro game theme. (I usually review game appearance as far too many BFG developers are taking way too many shortcuts these days in my opinion.) The developer does a good job of making you think about what to do next, which keeps things more challenging. I won't speak to the plot as others do that better than me, but I definitely recommend the game....especially if you like 50s,noir, or retro themes.
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST GAME IN THE NEW YORK MYSTERIES SERIES Laura James, a journalist with the Daily News and a member of a very secret organization, is back in Lantern of Souls an incredible new game in the New York Mysteries series. The game begins with a funeral and is followed by a very strange murder. Professor Bishop, the head of the Order, has asked for Laura’s help with investigating the scene but he leaves her with a warning to return to headquarters the minute she sees anything out of the ordinary. Well, it isn’t too long before Laura is back at headquarters and picks up a partner who returns with her to see if they can figure out what is going on at the Martell estate. I don’t want to tell you too much about the story but will only say that this is without a doubt one of the best games I have played this year. This is certainly not the standard HOPA game and it just keeps getting more interesting at every turn. The game offers only three preset modes of gameplay with no custom mode – Easy, Normal, and Hard. The graphics are quite good but the characters do seem a bit flat and could be better and maybe a bit sharper. On the other hand, the voiceovers are excellent. This game is set in the late 1950s and poor Laura needs a new stylist and a bit of an update. The voiceovers are excellent and the sound effects are sometimes downright unnerving and creepy. Your tools include an interactive transporter type map that shows areas with available tasks. At least through the demo I haven’t found any other special tools or gimmicks and doubt that I will as the game progresses. The New York Mysteries games are basic mystery solving games where your most important tool is your brain power, which is one of the reasons I love this series. There are far more mini-games than there are HOPS but the HOPS that we do come across are extremely interactive and terrific. In some cases the HOPS require a lot of patience because it is not always obvious what item you need to locate from the silhouettes shown that will start the ball rolling. On the other hand, even though there are more mini-games they seem very easy. Some examples of the mini-games in the demo are as follows: rotate a dial according to present numbers to select the correct code to open the globe – easy; use symbols located on the spokes in a circle to create the symbol in the center – easy; rotate pairs of levers to match the angles – easy, create a rust remover following a diagram – easy, move a mouse through a maze to open a door – a bit tricky; and match segments of a lock – easy but fun. I am sure that there will be many more mini-games following the demo and I am sure that they will increase in difficulty as the game progresses. The Ce version of the game includes a good array of extra items to spot throughout the game. There are 16 fact cards, 35 morphing objects and 35 collectibles that will complete 4 sets. Yes there are achievements, and the other standard extras such as wallpapers, artwork, videos, music, strategy guide, and bonus chapter. Earlier I said that this is an awesome game and IT IS! The storyline grabbed me and given all of the things to do with the HOPS and mini-games I found the gameplay factor to be excellent. The other games in the New York Mysteries series are excellent and I have no doubt that Lantern of Souls will continue with that pattern of excellence and might even be better than the others. Since this is one of my favorite game series, I didn’t have to think twice when I saw that it was being released. Even though I think this is a great game, please try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So excited for this one!!!! I love this series, the devs are awesome at what they do! The graphics are crazy good and the storyline is interesting and fun. The cut scenes is like watching a good movie the graphics are that good. A couple different collectables to find including morphs. Love that they included a journal as I like to read it. I don't find it complicating to read a journal I find it helpful in my opinion. But i definitely recommend this for sure!!! So happy there is another one. I don't feel the need to list every single mini game and give spoiler alerts nor do I feel the need to nitpick. I can appreciate a solid good game that devs work hard on and this this one of them!!! Great detective game finding your way to solve a murder! Have fun!!
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from N.Y. Mysteries - The Lantern of Souls Loved this games within minutes of testing it. A lot of fun, great graphics and challenges.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Adventure Game! This game is outstanding. More of an adventure game, than a HOP game, although it does use HOPS is creative ways. Fantastic!
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOGICAL GAME AND A GREAT PERIOD PIECE I reviewed this as a Beta Tester and loved it. I'm glad it has now been released and it is an immediate buy for me. This one is a real winner. The story is set in 1920's New York. A special society has sent one of its members to investigate a recent-widow's murder where the body is missing. Evidence points to a supernatural event with the dead husband involved. Morphing objects, collectibles, achievements, bonus chapter, extra puzzles, this game has it all. A very solid storyline leads you logically through the game, picking up and using the items in a fairly linear fashion. Just a little thought is needed to figure out where to go next and what to do there. There is a wonderful interactive map that tells you not only where you are and where you need to be, but whether you have found all the morphing objects and collectibles in that particular scene. This is a real plus IMHO as there is nothing more frustrating for me than to realize I've missed one of these kinds of items after it is too late to go back and find them. I turned the music off but kept the other sounds on so I could hear the voiceovers. They were spot on and definitely added to the game. The characters were well drawn and moved pretty realistically. I loved the period hairstyles and clothes. A totally interactive HOS has you finding items that are need to be used to find other items. It plays more like a mini-puzzle than a HOS. Again, with a little thinking, logic dictates the steps. I've used the word "logic" several times in this review and that is what stands out most to me about this game. It makes sense.
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game! Wow, so the last few games I have given 5 stars to! I thoroughly enjoyed this game! Keep the good ones coming!
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Down we go I really liked the game. It's about time they gave HOG's a sound playing field no back and forth a time frame to go to and fun ways of solving thing's. Not easy but not hard , only think. Love it Just wish they had a reg play .
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LAURA JAMES RETURNS TO THE CRIME SCENE IN ANOTHER SUPERNATURAL THRILLER 7 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER OVERVIEW: Return to 1959 New York and help Laura James, journalist, investigate another strange murder case. What a fun, campy game! I LOVE this game and it was an automatic purchase. This game is more of an adventure game rather than a typical HOP game. The graphics are cartoon-like; it is a 1950’s comic book come-to-life. Prepare for a long demo! There are very few HOP scenes and those are interactive and puzzle-like. The puzzles are easy; and most are mechanical in nature. You are able to replay the puzzles at the end of the game. Be on the lookout for a myriad of collectibles - four different types of items plus morphing objects. All of the five collectibles unlock puzzles at the end of the game. Want to know more about New York? You also collect information cards giving you little gems of information concerning the Big Apple. STORY: Investigating the murder of Carrie Martell, the wife of the recently deceased Thomas Martell leads to more than you bargained for. Something seems strange in this case. With the help of your disheveled scientific genius of a partner, Will, investigate the Martell mansion and ferret out the culprit behind this crime. HOP SCENES: There are only three in the entire demo. After the demo, the others are all the same as well. I felt the HOP scenes were more difficult to maneuver than the mini-games. They are silhouette, require interaction within the scene, puzzle-like, and are mechanically based. PUZZLES: Although they fit in well with the story I felt that the puzzles were a little too easy for me. They include mathematical puzzles, assembly puzzles, matching puzzles, and sequence puzzles. They require very little time or effort. In other words, you will not need the Order’s scientific genius, Will, to help solve them. LEVELS: Easy, Normal, Hard, Custom (There are only 3 levels; however, you can still customize your game) Hints 15 to 90 seconds Skips 30 to 150 seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the start of the game Replay 18 mini-games 20 Achievements Collect 9 each of eagles, apples, violin keys and 8 masons which unlock puzzles at the end of the game Collect 35 morphing objects. Collect 16 cards which give information about New York. Locate all to open a cache. Strategy guide - 55 pages Usual wallpaper, concept art, videos, and music HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES HOP SCENES: All the HOP scenes are the same in the demo. After the demo, the ones I encountered were the same as well: They are silhouette scenes in which you must locate items and interact with them within the scene in order to proceed to the next item. PUZZLES: A. Mathematical Puzzle. Move an arrow either 3, 5 or 7 spaces to locate symbols given in a code to open a safe. EASY B. Assembly puzzle. Match up two parts of a symbol which, when combined, create the symbol. Multiple times. EASY C. Matching puzzle. Match up taps on a boiler which rotate at the exact angle. EASY D. Matching puzzle. Remembering a code, rearrange pictures on a statue to open a drawer. EASY E. Rat maze puzzle. Using directional arrows, move a rat through a maze to move a gold square into an indicated spot. EASY F. Sequence puzzle. Arrange lights in a row so that no color repeats itself in a column nor row. EASY G. Assembly puzzle. Follow a formula to create an anti-rust remover. EASY H. Assembly puzzle. Connect wires to the correct diodes in a truck engine according to a schematic. EASY I. Switch puzzle. Switch 13 metal pieces to mesh with cutouts beneath them to open a lock. EASY J. Maze puzzle. Using a map, find your way through a maze. EASY AFTER THE DEMO: K. Sequence puzzle: Find the correct combination for tumblers to open a lock to a tool chest. This is within a HOP scene. EASY and basically trial and error L. Matching puzzle. Enter the correct code to open a box. EASY
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from liked the hop's mini games excellent !!!! I really like this series hope they create more good story line, good graphics, good art , enjoyed playing it.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game. The only reason for the 4, is that I do not like to build. Too much machinery, too much building, putting together! Otherwise, good game! The rest of the game is good, story, map, tasks and info are all there! Puzzles could have been a little harder, but the HOs made up for that!! All in all, an interesting story!
Date published: 2017-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New York, New York! First, I appreciate a game closer to our time era. Retro to the 50's was a breath of fresh air. Am beyond weary with games going back hundreds of years. The card collectibles-a nice touch! Enjoyed the history factoids for NYC. Would have been nice to sneak in a fact card for Ellis Island. Visuals were pleasing; liked the limited break ins for dialogue. As a personal response, there was a lot of mechanical items to repair to advance, and wasn't wild about that. The HOG's were ok, but would have been nice to have a variety instead of the find this to make that work. Was nice and long. Took several hours of relaxed play to make it through the main story. Enjoyed the morphing objects and other collectibles, including the fact cards. Overall, believe this developer is maintaining a standard of excellence in their endeavors.
Date published: 2016-04-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SIMPLE GAME WITH VERY NICE COLLECTIBLES... Hi all! Well, we have #3 in this series...yes, got the other two. As always, I mostly review on the game play and not the story, as others do a much better job than I. Even though this game felt like an old school type game, it had very nice graphics and animation. Colors started out with a lot of blue and pinks..aaarrrgh, but cleared up for the most part as the game progressed. Game play was very good, no problems during the demo and the scenes fit my large screen quite well. Voice overs were pretty nice, when you had any. You could click through dialog if you read faster than they speak, but you could miss important information if you do. This game was quite quiet as far as dialog and sound FX. They just sort of faded in and out at will. The music also faded in and out and occasionally changed up to a suspenseful sound, indicating that something might happen..it didn't. Again, old school. HOPs were silhouettes, find this part and use it there to get that part to use somewhere else. Boring, but the scenes were fairly clean and items were not all that difficult to find once you got on a roll and figured out which one to find first. I did not see that you could switch to another game. These are few and far between as well. Puzzles were quite simple, nothing new or nothing that would tax your brain. I about started to scream when the "fit the pattern" parts game just kept going and going. I stopped counting at 6 patterns. The hint button took 15 seconds to recover and skip took 30...again, old school. Hint system is helpful but does not transport to longer locations, and you do a lot of back-tracking in this one. Jump map is helpful in this respect and it also indicates if you have missed a collectible or morphing item in a scene. There are a lot of collectibles in this game, which I do like. You need to find 9 shields; 9 apples; 9 treble clef; 8 statuettes; 16 collectible cards and 35 morphing objects. Some of these collectibles are quite easy to see, others are not. The morphing items pop in and out quite quickly, so be on the look out. Some scenes have more than one items to find. This is where the map is helpful. It shows you where you missed something. I beta tested this one a while back and gave it only a 2 because of problems. I see that the devs must have actually read the suggestions for this game, so I upgraded a bit. One thing I didn't see was a Strategy Guide. Did I miss it or isn't there one in the CE version? This game was a long way from challenging, the story is nothing new and there really wasn't anything that made me want to buy it. I'm not sure what makes this game CE worthy, I just don't see it. However, I did like all the collectibles. If a really hot sale comes along, I will get the CE version. This game will probably appeal to most players, especially those of use who just want a lazy day, no brainer game. This is it. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dead Soul Revival Morph right into this game which has a bit of everything. Slight creepyness, Morphing objects galore, critter action, Jump Map, collectables, Awards, good pace, Lots to do, and Good Characters. Love the little beetle in the secret passage that goes all the way across the floor, Also was 20 min or more before running into a shadow working HO's. I love that in some rooms items moved with touch Like plants and curtains, But wish it was in every room, I took the time to see what type of collectables and Morphing objects I was suppose to find. Not sure but I think one of the 4 is music notes which I never found morphing nor as a collectable. Shields were collectable as well as cards, but miners and apples were Morphing objects. Good game. Goes on the to buy a possible contender for game of the year though I know of 2 that are way more fantastic.
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The First one was far better, but I'll take it I really enjoy this series although I will admit that it is my least favorite thus far. I adore the graphics, the game-play, fantastic cut-scenes. What I have complaint with is the "dumbing-down" of finding collectibles (hardly fun when your cursor changes into a grabbing hand), the really simple puzzles, and a story line that kind of lost me (or lost itself along the way). Huzzah however for their great progressive HOS. I still highly recommend this game for its wonderful stylized production and flawless fluid game play, but unless you're a real fan of theirs (like me :$ ) you might want to wait for the SE. Try before you buy! Happy gaming All!
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 3.5 It should have been a 3.5 rating but I rounded it up because I'm feeling generous. I was so looking forward to this having really enjoyed the 5 star offerings which were the first two in the series. It just didn't feel right when I was playing it, there was no gob-smacking ride through the Underground (sorry, Subway), no weird mystery, no atmosphere. I was all set to give a two star review after the first hour or so but for once, this game got better the further into it you got. I won't bother with a detailed summary, other reviewers have done that job very well, I'll just suggest that you forget the title and play it as if it were a stand alone game and not a New York Mystery so your expectations are not disappointed. The bonus game is of a decent length and is quite enjoyable so it's not a complete write-off by any means but I wouldn't give it a top rating.
Date published: 2016-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best to stay out of the tunnels, in case of zombies This is a review of the trial. I have two other New York Mysteries, and this one is true to the series. The artistic style is very good - except that Laura's hair is still strange! I like the voices and her car! The story involves a supposed zombie, but the trial didn't get into that much. I don't mind easy puzzles, because I just play for my own amusement, not to beat any records. The one thing that does bother me though, is the fact that a box is locked with a padlock, but the hasp is fastened on the outside and is easily unscrewed! I see this in many games and it always aggravates me! Ignoring that and other inconsistencies, the game is still worth playing. It isn't difficult, so beginners might like it.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really Detectory! I'm half way through the demo and loving it - so I'm not doing a 5 points as I'm don't how it progresses plus I'm not listening to the music. (That's just because I have B movies on in the background and I'm not totally concentrating, nothing to do with the game.) What I'm loving and what's tipping me towards a sale day purchase today: *Real sharp visual clarity and beautiful imagery *Really feel like a detective - cohesive storyline where your character's actions and found objects make sense and you are mystery solving. *Lovely 1950 period design *Fun puzzles and HOGs *Love that you can put a variety of activities and collectable indicators on the map, don't waste your time but don't have hints take out all the fun. I'm surprised it's so nice as there as so many familiar elements, but it really has a fresh feel. If I do purchase, I'll adjust my ratings. I'd recommend the demo as a fun play itself.
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'll give it 3 and a 1/2 stars I'm not sure why all of the 5 star ratings. The game was OK, but not spectacular. This is one of my favorite developers and I was a little disappointed. The games were nothing new, there were no collectables in the bonus game (I really hate that) and the HOS were all the same interactive shadows that I got really bored with at the end. I like when they mix them up a bit. I does have a decent story, map and collectables, but if you've played any of their other games you've already played this one. I played on the normal setting and didn't need to use the guide, hint or skip options. This tells me it is really easy as I am usually not that good! The demo is at least worth a try to judge for yourself. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from polished this game looked good.. no doubt about it. The storyline was somewhat interesting and there were collectibles, morphing objects and a decent amount of achievements. I did though have the feeling of seeing it all before. The mini games were few and far between and extremely easy.. like really, really easy and the HO scenes were all find this to open that. It did have a good map and excellent graphics. The cut scenes were very well done. The VO's were good although everyone had a voice but me... well my character. Overall this was a well done game but it had nothing new. Lots of locks, missing pieces and empty rooms with super simplistic mini games and I played in hard mode. I am sure this one took plenty of work to make and I appreciate that. I just didn't find anything new or exciting.
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Another Great Series Hits The Skids! Others will give you a story synopsis. I am in deep mourning. I have loved the previous games in this series. They had the same artwork - not great but stylized to the series. They had intriguing stories that were unusual and off the wall. They had morphing objects, collectibles, and seemed well thought out with excellent puzzles and intricate details. And that's where this game becomes ordinary. The spoken dialogue and the written words on screen do not always match. Some of the phrasing is distinctly odd - did no one check for typos and logic? Then there are the oh-so-ordinary and been-there-done-that tasks that we've done in a thousand other games along with the oddities like breaking into locked places at our secret headquarters - why not ask the Professor for a key? Then there are the items you had, used, and had to find another of to proceed - why couldn't I just hang on to the rag, screwdriver, matches, whatever? At one point I run around making rust remover at headquarters to open a door my boss is stuck behind. Great, this will come in handy for the rust I came across in my investigation too! No such luck - I fixed the rust out in the field with an oil soaked rag. Why couldn't I do that back at headquarters too? There is a story in all of this strangeness - it just gets lost among the distractions in the details. How many great series have put out ordinary, if not feeble, games so far this year? I am deeply disappointed. Please try before you buy.
Date published: 2016-04-04
  • y_2019, m_12, d_15, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_44
  • loc_en_US, sid_24392, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

New York Mysteries: The Lantern of Souls Collector's Edition

Is this an ordinary murder case, or something more sinister?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.