Fear for Sale: The House on Black River Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Fear for Sale: The House on Black River Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(345.97 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

EleFun Games proudly presents the next installment of the Fear for Sale series!

While investigating the ranch of a recluse artist, your colleague disappeared! You've been called in to find him, but this isn't your average rodeo. Things take a dark turn when the past and the present collide. Can you discover what secrets the ranch holds before it's too late? Find hidden objects and complete puzzles to help along the way.

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“Another great game in a great series! The artwork is amazing and the hidden object scenes are fantastic because not only are they interactive but actually stump me a few times and I have been playing these games for years! I can't wait until this game comes out!”  - Terrance, beta tester

“I loved everything about this game. The story line grabs you right away, the visuals are very well done, the HO's are new and different. Lots of fun to be had with this game”  - Zoe, beta tester

  • Learn the truth about the Spencer family in the bonus chapter.
  • Collectibles items in every scene!
  • Spot morphing objects throughout the game as well.
  • Earn achievements to show off your skills.
  • Explore beautiful wallpapers, concept art, and the soundtrack.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 8.0
  • Hard Drive: 1576 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Fear for Sale: The House on Black River Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(345.97 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Fear for Sale: The House on Black River Collector's Edition is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 50.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the time The story is supernatural and kinda creepy at times. Broken kid toys or ones that are out of place or move on their own always weird me out.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Spooky House, a Super Game! Just when I thought I'd seen all possible variations on the "haunted house" theme, this game opens yet new twists and turns in the ghostly tales dept. The story is hauntingly sad, and the odd happenings at the old ranch house gave me the appropriate shivers and even a shock or two! The voices are well done, the HOGS are challenging, and the game's mechanics just right. So what's not to love? Well...The purple/pink/blue color scheme while eerie, sometimes makes small objects hard to see, and could've inspired even more chills if colors had been more "normal" .After all, you might expect odd goings-on in a weird looking place, but would be even more distressed and downright horrified were the house quite ordinary in appearance. The HOGS are very ingenious but when frustration levels rise, it's nice to have the puzzle to fall back on. Altogether a great game and certainly worth a try. If you've never played this series before or are an "old hand", you'll find lots to enjoy in this "spirited" offering from a great developer. Enjoy!
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Black River overflows ...... with fun! Only played the demo so far but as soon as I am ready to buy a new game this one will be it! I felt involved with the story and characters and I so want to find out where the tale goes after the demo. Excellent! Try it at least - I dont think you'll be disappointed!
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WE HAVE A WINNER!!!!!! what a wonderful game.......best for this series in a long time.graphics are beautiful. a great story that stays for the whole game. you have several collectables,the puzzles are easy, but very cool. i never go into great detail of any game, i think it spoils it for the gamer, that said, this one is a keeper for sure...have fun.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 'Oh Alex, I'm so afraid. Come save me'. Review after the demo only: WOW! I have all of the 'Fear for Sale' games (not that I've played them all yet). But this game grabs you initially from, of course, the handsome introductory picture of 'Alex'. But that aside, I won't go into the details about the story (because other reviewers will), other than to say that Alex lost his wife and his daughter was kidnapped. He lives in this big mansion alone, other than his maid, who has secrets of her own. He lives as a hermit, never leaving the house. Here's what I liked about the demo: The first HOS scene I came across was hilarious, IMO. You approach the porch, and sitting in a rocking chair is a rabid raccoon. Surrounding him are a lot of various items apparently he has been 'hoarding'. Whenever you click on an item, he bares his teeth, and growls at you. There's music playing in the background, but I'm not paying too much attention to it yet. Until I give the raccoon a cookie that's in my inventory. All of a sudden it's nirvana. 'I' hear the music now, only because the raccoon has drawn my attention to himself. He is now slowly rocking in his chair (and I mean slowly), munching ever so slowly on his cookie, and his eyes are closed. NOW you can get the items you need. The second HOS scene (bathroom) that I came across in the demo was unique.You first need to shut off the water before you can do anything. The scene seem cluttered to me, so I just started clicking around. When I clicked on the bathtub filled with water, a rubber duck popped out of the water, one of the faucets appeared, and the water stopped. In the area where you normally have a list of items to look for, you have a fogged-up, wet screen. Then once you figure out what to do with this, when you click on an item, a bright blue symbol glows. You click on it, and it goes towards the mirror. Just another unique aspect of this game. Almost everything you click on in this game gives you some type of action, whether it's a squirrel, or a bird. Also beware of the pictures or windows in the mansion, for they hold a surprise!! The graphics, music, colors, everything you can possibly think of are fantastic. ALL WRAPPED UP IN A DARK, GLOOMY, GHOSTLY, BOW! Things I didn't like in the demo: There was nothing that I didn't like. So if you haven't tried any of the 'Fear for Sale' games, your really missing out. They are one of my favorite series. Like everyone says, try the demo first. You won't be sorry. Enjoy! Personal note to Penmom36: I 'always' look for and read your reviews first before I purchase or download a trial/demo game. I also love your phrases that you add under your name with each review. They always make my laugh. Thanks.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YES . . . LET THERE BE GHOSTS! Emma Roberts is back and this time her boss has asked her to track down a co-worker who is missing. Not only is Jack a co-worker but Emma considers him a friend as well. When Emma arrives at the Black River Ranch it doesn’t take her long to figure out that things are terribly wrong. She cannot get a straight answer from the reclusive owner of the ranch and there is something very odd about the maid, Lisa. Sign on for another episode in the Fear for Sale franchise and discover what Emma will do to save the day in this latest game, The House on Black River. Even though there is a custom mode, IMHO, it is rather useless. The hint and skip buttons are sliders with the right end of the slider turning off the hint and skip times. The graphics are very good but there is a bit too much orange/blue tone for my liking. The graphics are a bit foggy in the opening scenes but improve considerably once Emma arrives in Eastwood to start her investigation. Your tools include an interactive map that you acquire early in the game. The thing I like about the maps in this devs games is that they show where we have found all of the collectibles or where some might be missing. The voiceovers are very good with the Emma/Carrie voice used by this developer being very familiar. The game comes to us from one of my very favorite devs who has created another series that I really love. One of the things that I enjoy most about their games is that their HOP scenes are excellent and they were the first to offer “the uncover so many of a certain item to open the HOP scene” style that has since been emulated by other devs. Of course if you have played other games by this developer, then you probably enjoy their HOPS as much as I do with this game offering a few new twists to the scenes. The HOPS are not overly interactive but some items can be tricky to figure out. For the most part, the scenes are list type but there is certainly some variety as well. The puzzles are not difficult, but eing very familiar with this dev’s games, I do know that the puzzles vary in difficulty and some will quite be challenging. I don’t think it is necessary to share the details of most HOPS or the puzzles because, IMHO, discovery is half the fun in playing a game. If you want the details there is another reviewer who pretty much lets you in on all the secrets and I recommend her excellent reviews. Extras in the CE version of the game include several sets of collectibles and morphing objects to find. Of course there are achievements to earn as well. The remaining extras are fairly standard and include the Strategy guide, Bonus Chapter or Game, Wallpapers, Concept Art, Screensavers, and Music, Movies, Games, Puzzles, Artwork. IMHO this is a great CE package and worth the extra cost. I love the Fear for Sale series and most of the games have been extremely good, although I must admit that I didn’t particularly care for the last one and maybe one other. That being said, this game is intriguing and the storyline captured my interest early in the game. What could be better, an eerie house, a reclusive artist, and a very strange maid. All of these elements add up to one great game. Of course with the Fear for Sale games being from one of my favorite game developers, it is perfect for me. Please try the demo to see if The House on Black River is a game you will enjoy.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game, awesome puzzles, awesome HOPs, awesome First time in a long time - a game I thoroughly enjoyed. Everything was great quality - the story line, the voices, the puzzles... I especially loved the HOPs - which were puzzles in themselves. Collectibles & morphing objects were not overly difficult, since you could see on the map if you were missing anything. I also like the little "extras" hidden throughout the game. Often I find that something irritates me in a game but not in this one. Thank you!
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Fun Game I just finished playing the whole game, including the bonus chapter. It is a very long game. It took me several days to finish it!! Of course, I had to stop and cook supper and other mundane chores along the way but it was still a longer game than most others I have played. Even with having to pick up the game after stopping it was easy to pick up the storyline quickly and remember what was going on--that's how interesting the storyline was! I have all of the Fear For Sale games and love all of them. I still remember playing the first one when it first came out and thinking how awesome it was. It's good to see that the series is being continued with the same caliber of greatness! The graphics are awesome! Voiceovers are fantastic! HOS are interesting, nice to look at while searching for objects, and there are not an over abundance of them. The mini-games were mostly doable. I had to skip a few. The level of challenge was perfect for me. Bottom line: I had fun playing the game and never got bored. Very happy I purchased this one.
Date published: 2016-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it from the beginning Bought the gane after four minutes of playing. Graphics are very good, story pulled me in from the beginning and I just love the Fear for sale games. This one seems to be one of the nest so far.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Jack's in trouble...we need to find him... This is one of my fave series where you on an investigation with the wonderful reporter Emma Roberts. The voices are awesome, the story is engaging, and I really got caught up with the game. You got collectibles and morphs to find. There isn't no animal helpers (which I do love), nor any special gadgets. The cutscenes are superb and the actor look live. I would recommend at least giving this game a try. Story: Emma's boss calls her in to send her to the house in Black River. Jack was originally sent there to found out what's going on with the house, but never returned. So he calls on Emma to find out what happened to Jack and also to see what's up with that house. Alex's wife died of grief due to the loss of their daughter Sonia, and Alex became a recluse in his own home because of the loss of both of them. When Emma gets there, she asks the maid if she could talk to Alex. She asks Alex if she could stay the night and Alex asks her if she could show her iD. He makes the comment "Only a day difference". She keeps seeing Jack but can't quite get to him. She finds a note by him that said "Alex said same day, what a coincidence". Emma finds another note saying "Dark Souls can only possess humans who share the same birthday'. Poor Jack. And onto finding him. Graphics: They';re gorgeous and every thing is lifelike. The people do look like live actors. Music: Nicely fitted with the game. Not overbearing in the least. H0GS: So far I found: Lists with extra step words and put the gems into the lens and then find the ghosts, then find the words on the list. Mini Games: Join the halves of the picture by sliding silver blocks out of the way so you can join the halves. Another was connect the tile to its mate by lines and you can't cross the lines. Another is restore the picture by putting all the objects back where they belong in the picture. Map: Has 3 sections to it. Look on the side of the and you'll see 3 tabs (I,II,&III). Be sure to look at those tabs cause if they have a red exclamation point on one of them, means you have something to do in that area. On the map itself, a green circle means your current location, and a red circle with a red exclamation point means you can do something there. Hint Button: I don't use it in H0GS because I like to go for the achievements. But outside the H0G it works great and tells you what you need to do. I am truly looking forward to the rest of this story. Kudos to the team. I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Excellent Fear for Sale! Excellent game, storyline and graphics. Never been disappointed with this series.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5/5 Stars I love love love Fear for Sale games. Crisp sound, great HOGs, mini puzzles aren't too easy or difficult. Loved it!
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So good i can't stop playing! I am thoroughly enjoying this game. It has everything that so many games fail to add. Creepy animations when clicking on objects, interaction with the surroundings. Lots of collectables and I never tire of the Fear for Sale background music. I love Emmas voiceover, it adds atmosphere and tension unlike text comments. I absolutely recommend this game.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very enjoyable The story was different enough that it kept me interested, the music's gorgeous and the main male character is very good looking... I wouldn't mind seeing him in future games. There were a few voice actors that were sort of meh, but overall, this was a visually beautiful, well made game that was very entertaining to play. I like it enough that I'm thinking of replaying the whole thing again today.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD AND CREEPY!!!!! ALL AROUND THIS IS THE BEST FEAR FOR SALE YET. I LOVE ALL THE GREAT HIDDEN OBJECT SCENES!!!!! FIVE STARS+
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AND 500 FISHIES ARENT BUYING THIS GAME OF THE YEAR WHY WHY!!!!!! SUPERB!!!!! I CA HARDLY BELIEVE THE SPECIAL EFFECTS IN THIS MASTERPIECE!!! YOU GUYS GET ONE MILLION STARS FOR EVERY ASPECT OF PLAY ESPECIALY ME TALKING THROUGHOUT SO MANY DEVS JUST LET US READ THE STUFF BAD AND TELL HER I LOVE MY VOICE AND THE GUY IN THE BEGINING IS GOOD LOOKING!!! I HAVE ALL YOUR GAMES IM STILL PLAYING CITY OFPAST AMAZING!!! BUT THIS IS A WHOLE NEW BALLGAME!!! I JUST ENTERED JACKS PIC AND IM SCARED!!!! BEST STORY AND SUPENSE IN A LONG TIME I CANTSAY ENOUGH LOV U LOV U
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Intriguing and Intricate! I love HO scenes with a purpose, and these abound in Emma Roberts' mystery. She's investigating an old house, as you do, and along the way she has to defrost freezers and fix zipper pulls. Nothing new there. However, the HO's were interactive, sometimes revealing a second puzzle. With gorgeous graphics and an interesting story, this is a fascinating - and dark - installment. I like the pop-up games (find 5 rocks for your catapult, etc) when you complete an item. And - did I mention morphing Objects? And interactive map? PLUS, the map also shows if you've found all the morphies in a scene, which is very useful. In my opinion the puzzles were fun and the HOS just challenging enough. This is a great game for mystery / HO players.
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game One of the better games out by BF in a while. Foregoing a lot of critical commentary, in short "I like it".
Date published: 2016-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fear for Sale: The House on Black River Collector's Edition Another great game in the series
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from POOR SONIA, SHE'S HAD IT ROUGH REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME AND BONUS This really is a good game and so worth playing. In the main game you play Emma Roberts to find your colleague Jack and to rescue Sonia. In the bonus game you once again help Sonia and to finally put the Spencers to rest. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual, Normal, Hard and Custom modes of play; * Interactive map; * Tasks bag; * 9 Achievements; * Find 34 morphing objects in game and bonus; * Find 25 Collections in game and bonus. The graphics are very bright and colourful but crisp and easy on the eye. Sound is very good and the music is orchestral, piano and violin. The hidden object games are interactive straightforward and silhouette which you will do twice. These are easy to do because items are clear to see. Alternatively, you can do puzzles instead of HOPs if you feel like a change. There are a great variety of mini-games. Most of these are pretty much straightforward and easy to do. A couple of them took me a bit longer to get in the right order. I didn't skip any due to boredom or frustration, so they can't have been too hard. There is one morphing object and one collection in each scene. A 'hand' comes over them so there is no chance of not being able to find them. I always do these first as I go through each scene so I don't forget about them, however the interactive map shows if you have still to find one or both of them. You get an achievement when you find them all. It is possible to get all of the Achievements. I did get them all this time, but this doesn't happen often for me (you know those achievements - find 5 items in 5 seconds or 10 items in 10 seconds - yep never gonna happen for me - my eyes and the mouse go off in different directions!). All up the game took me around 7 hours to do playing on the Hard mode. I'm not a fast player so you may do this a lot faster. Overall, a good adventure game and definitely worth playing. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2016-04-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Emma Roberts 'sproings' into action with this one! I think this is one of the better games from the series and I'm rating it a 4-star. I would have given it a 5 but the storyline is your usual ghostly, ritualistic theme--a little too ho-hum for me, but there were enough things to do to keep me interested. The story had a few endearing moments--human and/or spirit interest speaking. I completed the main and bonus games and the tasks are plentiful. Some of the puzzles and mini-games were rather challenging and unique. Of course, I skipped a couple. I managed to get all the beyond/morphing objects and most of the collectibles and there are quite of few.to obtain. This is not a short game, and one to be played at your leisure. The graphics were often too dark in some scenes. The HOS were interesting and there were many of those. What I liked was the cleverness and the flow of this game; so bravo, devs! Voiceovers were very good; music was good; some of the items in the HOS were small. In one of the hidden object scenes, I thought I picked up a tiara and it ended up being something else. But the cool thing is you can switch to a jigsaw puzzle mode, which I enjoyed from time to time. The jump-to map was fantastic and much needed. I enjoyed most of the mini-games--one that comes to mind is a shooting gallery of images of wild-life, and as you aim your gun and strike one image a rune may or may not appear but you have to get all of them to appear in order to decipher a code afterward. That took patience on my part but I got it! Very cool! Lots of good things to do in this game. I encourage you to try it out or buy it! You'll get your money's worth out of it!
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed it I did enjoy playing this one despite the rehashed theme. I suppose there are only so many stories that can be told as a backdrop to one of our games. The game played well, no glitches, the map worked, there were morphs and collectibles throughout the entire game and the bonus game was of a decent length and level of interest. However, there were negatives. I thought the HOs, though clear, were pretty basic; any interaction was really quite minimal. Apart from the bonus game itself, there were no extras to speak of - wallpapers, music etc - which is a pretty poor show in my opinion. The third negative was the woman's voice. I suggest her next job should be as a mime artist because the voice was just plain awful. I'm a bit torn whether to recommend you wait for the SE because of the lack of extras but the bonus game was a good one so I recommend you get the CE on a sale day.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Story not original, puzzles fun I liked the graphics and the puzzles, but the story was very predictable. It's worth the time I spent, and the money, but not in my top ten.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Much too much faffing about I liked this game to start with, but as it progressed I found myself getting increasingly irritated by all the running around I had to do. The mini games and hops were easy enough, with instructions, and an alternative puzzle game to play, morphing objects and the rest of the CE bling, but two thirds of the way through the game I just got bored of having to revisit a scene time after time after time. Don't get me wrong, many people will like this, and it is more than half way to being a very good game, but I simply was not engaged enough to finish it.
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Ghostly Gathering with Spooky Sound A new EleFun game is always music to my ears, and naturally I play the music first. FFS 8 provides 21 tracks: a total of 50 minutes! Ok, half of them we know from previous games, but thus excellent sound is certainly qualified to be listened more than once. A few tunes even have been newly recorded and got interesting accents. So we have kind of "The Best of Arkhipov", mixed with the custom-made new tracks. And, whoa ... what a thrilling, creepy sound if ever there was one! It creeps right under your skin, creeps up your spine and makes your hair stand on end. We hear piercing cries of seagulls - which are perhaps not seagulls at all, but hungry banshees, raging zombies or a tormented keyboard. There are whimpering musical saws, sombre ship horns, ghostly moan and sniffling, the drip-drip-drips of water torture in an eerie cave which crackles under static noises. Sounds just like a terrific game. We (as Emma Roberts) are sent again to investigate a supernatural case and to interview some ghosts if possible. And again one of the art director’s charming daughters plays the role of the little girl :) Alex Dean is introduced as an artist, but I have my doubts. Judging by his uninspired, bourgeois furnishing and his kitschy paintings (huh? windmill in the mountains?) I’d say that he is at best a hobby artist. But a good-looking one, albeit sullen. No wonder: his little daughter Sonia was kidnapped by ghosts, his wife perished. Though she still hovers as a helpful spirit through the house (and imho needs a new hair stylist). Four other ethereal entities inhabit the Black River Ranch: Martin Spencer, his wife Lisa, his sister Martha and Harry, probably an employee. They all have been murdered 100 years ago by a lynch mob. Now they try, like voodoo ghosts, to "ride" bodies of living humans. Martin Spencer, a pharmacist with witchcraft skills, is depicted as selfish and cruel. He forbade his sister to marry and acted even more detestable when he learned of her pregnancy. Just to keep her in the house as a cheap working force? It's icy winter, wind whistles constantly, crows caw and croak even in HOPs ... luckily there is a crackling fireplace. The sound effects are brilliant, from the uncanny background SFX to the hundreds of crackings, crunchings and creakings whenever we interact with anything. Like always in EleFun games we should click on everything, at least in the first scenes. Watch how the light reflection on the table changes when the candles ignite; open the fortune cookies and read your fate. To shoot the jacket from the tree in the backyard, we find a slingshot. Just for fun, we could at first aim at other things. Hark how the noise of the impact changes when we hit different materials. We can even smash the lanterns or, if we feel wicked enough, pelt the poor squirrel (it will never return after that). Be on the lookout in this game; many little surprises wait to be discovered. Amongst other things it is this loving attention to details which marks EleFun as one of BFs most outstanding developers. It is a HOP-heavy game - and it seems that EleFun raised the bar yet again. Funny and interactive. Multi-layered. Silhouettes. Chain reactions. A few reminded me of those mind-boggling Rube Goldberg sequences. However I had to wait for the seventh hidden object puzzle to hear the new music. Of 25 HOPs, only five have new tracks (two, used multiple times). Not all the tracks from previous games have the scary tone of the new ones; hence tension and the eerie atmosphere are again and again broken through HOPs with too cheerful tunes. Too bad. Puzzles are mainly accompanied by barely audible, spooky SFX; merely five are underlaid with new compositions. Such a pity. All except two puzzles are so quickly solved that we never get to hear a full tune. For example „Atlases“ or „Cold stone“, two long, ingeniously crafted tracks, are wasted for two easiest puzzles which take 15 or 30 seconds. I was flabbergasted. Why create such marvelous music and not use it in the game? Or rather, to use it so sparingly that it is hardly noticed. Extras: - Nine achievements, five of them game-related, thus, not really achievements. We end up as Legend again, nothing new in the journalist department. - Collectibles are the ever same five of these, five of those - but there is a slight upgrading: For the first time we can see the items in close up and recognize what things we collected :) 22 items are in the main game, three in the bonus to find. - 34 morphing objects, one in every scene; this continues through the bonus chapter. - Wallpapers, screen savers and concept art are all the same: pictures to download. With HOPs and puzzles still not replayable it's quite a meagre CE content. Actually it boils down to the bonus chapter and the music download. The latter could indeed be a reason to buy the CE; in the game you might miss the best tracks. The bonus chapter plays in 10 scenes, six of them new. It contains 8 HOPs, 8 puzzles and lasts around one hour. Sonia is again abducted by the Spencers, and we learn more of the past events which befell the unlucky family. SPOILER ----- Obviously it was a personal feud, kindled by envy and competition. The local apothecary couldn't bear the fact that his rival Spencer was successful and well liked. Together with the mayor he started a mobbing campaign which eventually led to the murderous arson which we witnessed in the opening scene. Somehow a sensible sequel, or actually a prequel, concerning the Spencers. Witch hunt or social exclusion exist nowadays more than ever. Replace “witch” through “terrorist”, and you have a current topic. Martin Spencer, the evil fellow who betrayed his own sister, is here portrayed as the opposite: a helpful healer who wouldn't even take money from poor customers. Interesting contradiction. Was he the public angel and the family bully? We'll never find out, since the game ends here. R.I.P. Martin, Lisa, Martha, Harry ... and Sarah. PS: Wouldn't it be nice if we had a proper cast list in the credits? At least for the voice actors. Emily Eldridge as Emma Roberts, Kendra Hoffman as Sarah Dean, and so forth ...
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Great Game In This Series .... Great Graphics, Sound, Effects, Animations, Voice & Video Bits ... A Great Addition To This Series Of Games ... Only Let Down Slightly By Repetition Of HOG's ... The Bonus Chapter Is A Nice Addition To The Main Story, But A Few More New Locations Would Have Been More Enjoyable ... Worth Getting On A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, Better, and Better, Plus Spooky Emma Roberts is back, this time looking for her fellow journalist, Jack. Jack was on assignment at the Black River ranch owned by famous artist, Alex Dean, who had experienced a tragedy in the house and does not leave it. Everything here is a little "off," leaving Emma searching for answers, while still trying to heed the ghostly warnings of the artist's dead wife. Everything is not as it seems as Emma finds pictures of missing persons, names and birth dates of a murdered family from the nineteenth century, paintings that alter even as she gazes at them, and Jack who seems just one step ahead of her. Good stuff: Good multi-layered HOPs, OK puzzles and mini-games, good artwork, fair VOs, and an engaging story-line. Bad stuff: The game is reasonably spooky, but not enough to carry warnings for heart patients. There is nothing of startling newness. The story could be a mishmash of save my child and stop the return of the wicked souls. But - and it's a big but - this is a Fear for Sale entry so every scene has to be carefully explored. There are morphing items, collectibles, and quirky bits of animation to be found. Is it the next big thing - no. Is it a really enjoyable game - yes. Will I be adding it to my collection - ASAP! Try this one and enjoy.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a bad game... Hi friends! Wow, I think this is the 9th in this series...will it never end? No, I don't have them all. As always, I review on the game play and not usually on the story. The graphics were very nice in this one. Animation is well done. Colors...well, again we have the blues and purples, which are very tiring on the eyes. They did seem to clear up a little as the game progressed. Game play was very good, no problems during the demo and the scenes fit my large screen very well. Voice overs were okay, but our heroine's voice did get a little grating at times. It was almost too high a pitch. Music was the same as all the others, but I turn it way down for background noise more than anything else. HOPs weren't too bad. They were fairly clean and items were not hard to find. There was some variation, but not a lot. Puzzles were quite simple and took no time to complete. I like the way they set up their maps, very easy to follow and each area is identified with name and a picture. There is no transport in this series, and you do a lot of back tracking. SG is the usual and standard, which I only use to make sure I get the collectibles. There are a lot of collectibles in this series, which I do like. We need to collect 6 each of items belonging to an artist, journalist, family heirlooms, little girl and ignorance and flames (not sure what that is, since I haven't found one yet). They don't jump off the page at you and can be anywhere. This is somewhat of a challenge. The other challenge is finding the morphing objects, a they morph fairly quickly. So far, I have found one collectible and one morphing object in each scene. I beta tested this one back in November. Took long enough for it to come out. It tested much better then, so I'm not sure after this much time, what they did to change it. I like this series and I like the collectibles, but I'm just not sure this one is CE worthy. Maybe a really good special will change my mind. I think most all levels of players will enjoy this one in any form. Yes, I will get it, but I'm not sure if it will be the CE version. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good game. OK, not creepy enough for me,and we played this game many times already. Now I expected more from a fear for sale. They did a good job but went completely wrong on the colors choices! The entire thing is violet and blue with a yellow glow.....Now if you want to do a creepy game, switch the palette to pale yellows and grays and kakis, brown! Go for a fall color palette. A little girl was kidnapped, the mom died, don't give me blues and purple, go for death colors, grays and pale yellows and black and kaki green....It would have turned the game on its head for me ! Anyway, puzzles are a bit easy, good HO's, they tried new ways...It's a good game, but it could have been a great game !
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Spooky Theme! Interesting Story line with very lovely Graphics. The Game went on a bit too long doing pointless tasks but that's all the negative things I have to say about it.
Date published: 2016-04-04
  • y_2020, m_1, d_22, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_en_US, sid_24417, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Fear for Sale: The House on Black River Collector's Edition

Is fear the price or the reward?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.