Spirits of Mystery: Family Lies Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Spirits of Mystery: Family Lies Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(410.59 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

ERS Game Studios proudly presents the next installment of the Spirits of Mystery series. The kingdom's being invaded by an unknown foe and his pernicious plants. As the princess, it's up to you to discover the truth and save your family. Do you have what it takes to win this blossom-filled battle? Find out in this intoxicating hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Untangle the web of passion and jealousy destroying your royal family!
  • Earn achievements and uncover hidden pearls.
  • Enjoy an original soundtrack, videos, and wallpapers.
  • Replay your favorite mini-games and HOPs.
  • Access the helpful strategy guide.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 986 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Spirits of Mystery: Family Lies Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(410.59 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Spirits of Mystery: Family Lies Collector's Edition is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 28.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Enjoyable Game In This Series .... Good Graphics, Sound, Effects, Animations, Voice & Video Bits ... A Nice Addition To This Series Of Games ... Consistent In The Look & Feel With A Nice Mix Of HOG Styles & Puzzles ... Bonus Game Was Also A Nice To Have To Conclude This Installment ... Worth Getting On A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfectly Acceptable HOA Family Lies was fine in the demo, except I wasn't enthralled enough to finish it. I got bored after the third "Got to get out of the castle, now I have to get out of the prison, now I need to climb back INTO the castle..." But I'm getting ahead of myself. Here are what I did and didn't like: Liked - The storyline. The idea that mom (spoiler alert) had a fling with the villain years before was interesting. I'm a sucker for a good villain myself. Liked - the special 'amulet' view when you wave a crystal around to find hidden objects, except the designers only used it for a mean plant called Blossom as far as I could see. Liked - the graphics - gorgeous. Liked - the interactive HOS. Liked - custom set-up. I'm always all about the custom thingie. Didn't like - The level of ongoing adventure clues and puzzles, since they were way too easy. Didn't like - all the cut scenes. I spotted at least three that could have been 'cut.' (See what I did there?) Didn't like - No map, or did I miss something? Other reviewers suggested this would be a good fit for kids, and I could see it as long as they're okay with dungeon violence (and the suggestion of torture) skeletons, and the thought that once upon a time (spoiler alert again ) Mom had a fling. So, this was a bit off the mark for me, but if you like dark fantasy and don't insist on really challenging gameplay, this might float your boat.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hidden Object game It was a good story line and kept my interest. I did enjoy looking for things and playing it.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Secrets Never Remain Secret Queen Theresa has been keeping a secret for 25 years, which just so happens to be when you were born. Nanny is somehow privy to this family secret, and now that the evil magician Isa has returned to seek revenge, she urges you to search for the truth to this mysterious dark family secret. The lies you've been told all these years could very well break this royal family apart. Is there any hope or chance for redemption, will you be able to save your mother from certain death? The first thing I noticed with this newest edition of Spirits of Mystery, was how much the graphics have improved, they really are quite impressive. The only props you have for this adventure is a family heirloom, an Amulet that will allow you to remove the thorny branches that Isa has used to keep you from leaving. Each time you use the Amulet, you will have to search the scene to find all of the thorny flowers with the amulets lens. There are the usual Achievements to earn as well as Collectible Pearls which are used to purchase royal items. The Hidden Object Scenes are just okay in my book. There are Interactive List finds that leave behind symbol fragments that will be used for clues, and HOP's that require you to find two key items within a story, one of which requires an interaction. The Mini Games range from super simple to frustrating, some of them have two different modes of difficulty available, Casual and Hard. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you"ll encounter during the demo: 1) Open the lock by selecting the correct number by multiplying two numbers. 2) Memorize the picture positions on two rows of cards and then match the cards dealt with the cards on the board once they have been flipped over, repeat two more times. 3) Remove thorny branches and complete three different puzzles, selecting sections on two castles that match the symbol shown when combined, click on same jewelry worn on two figures, and place picture fragments correctly. 4) Follow the directions on a recipe step by step. This Collector's Edition has 10 Movies, 12 Wallpapers, 11 Concept Art pictures, 15 removable items using Collect Pearls, 5 Screensavers, 4 Music Soundtracks, 14 replayable Mini Games, 20 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Adventure, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FAMILY SECRETS AND LIES ARE LYING IN WAIT IN A THORNY SITUATION OVERVIEW: Playing a 25-year old princess (with the help of your nanny), you are off to save your mother, all while uncovering some hidden family secrets in the process. To me, this is a decent low four-star game designed for those who love fairy tale games. I find nothing spectacular nor innovative in this game which would entice me to purchase it. It lacks elements we have no come to expect in a five-star game such as morphing objects and a game to play in lieu of the HOP scenes. There is only one collectible. As usual for ERS, the game is beautifully illustrated with pastel colored fairy tale scenes and attractive characters. There are more HOP scenes than puzzles. The HOP scenes are decent and vary in design. Throughout the game you play a mini-HOP scene in which you use an amulet to locate thorns which practically jump out at you. I found all the puzzles easy – boringly easy. You collect pearls which you use to purchase items as part of a collection. You also have the ability to replay the HOP scenes and puzzles. I would recommend this game for children, as they could play this game with little or no adult assistance. Although this game will be a pass for me, you should probably play the demo yourself. The demo is very short so the game could get better after the demo. However, there is nothing to entice me to continue in the game. I found the demo tedious. HOP SCENES: The HOP scenes are varied but I found none which were outstanding in the demo. They include a list of items to locate plus a storybook sequence in which the items are highlighted in bold letter. They are slightly interactive. In one of the scenes, after locating an item, you receive a part of an inventory item MINI-GAMES: In the demo the puzzles are varied. It appears that some of the puzzles allow you to choose between Casual and Difficult levels; however in the one puzzle offering this option in the demo, I found the difficult level to be easy as well. The puzzles include a moving tiles puzzle, a mathematical puzzle requiring basic math skills, a memory puzzle in which you must remember where cards are located. There is also a multiple-step puzzle involving a storybook. The multiple-step puzzle requires you to spot the difference between two items and is combined with a mini jigsaw puzzle. There is an assembly puzzle to create a potion which has a matching puzzle within it. LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hard, Custom Hints and Skips: 5 to 200 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game Receive an amulet from your mother to get rid of thorns 15 Achievements Collect pearls to purchase items Strategy guide Replay of 14 mini-games and 20 HOP scenes Usual movies, 12 wallpapers, 11 concept art pieces, and 5 screensavers HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES IN THE DEMO: HOP SCENES: A. Throughout the game you will use an amulet which will allow you to see and remove thorns. B. List of items to locate. Locating an item exposes pieces of symbols which you must collect to receive a code. C. Storybook. Locate items listed in BOLD letters. PUZZLES: A. Moving tiles puzzle. Slide 3 flowers until they are located in the correct position on a jewelry box. Moving one flower affects the others. EASY B. Mathematical puzzle. Figure out the logic behind a number which you must set to open a lock. EASY if you possess rudimentary math skills C. Memory card game. Observe the position of cards which are then turned over. Match them up with another card dealt to you. 3X INCREASING IN DIFFICULTY. Choose between Casual and Hard. However, the “hard” option is fairly easy as well. D. Multi-step puzzle. Storybook sequence. From sentences in a storybook, figure out what actions to take to climb up a wall while removing thorns. (1) Find two parts of a symbol from two images (2) Spot the differences on two pictures (3) Two Mini jigsaw puzzles EASY E. Assembly puzzle. Create a potion by following directions. Included is a matching puzzle – locating like petals on a flower 3X EASY
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I Was Disapppointed I don't understand the great reviews on this game. I have the previous games from the series and found this one lacking. The graphics were pretty good as in the other games, however, it seemed and was very short for a CE. I finished in a couple hours. The first part (main story) ended so abruptly, I am still unsure (don't want to spoil for anyone) on exactly what happened to the king. I'm sorry I spent the money for a CE on this one. The bonus game wasn't worth the time either in my opinion. Should have bought the SE version. Definitely not worth buying as a CE. I am saying No to recommending this game as A CE. I would buy as a SE.
Date published: 2016-04-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not as good as the first five! I love this series and was super excited to see another addition. Lovely graphics, good storyline if a little same old, same old. What really irked me is the translation of the words in the black bar tips, really REALLY bad grammar. Nanny's voice was a little forced and irritating. I would recommend for younger players.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Needs some work I'm about 1/3 done with the main game. I guess I'm spoiled, because there is no "hint" button. The only reason I use that is to find out where to go next. The game play seems haphazard to me. I guess right now I'd like to just "play and enjoy" and not have to keep going back and forth to the SG. Not the worst game I've played, but not near the best either.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Oh Daddy-0, Oh Daddy-O knows the truth and out I Go Fast paced game with lots to do. Could not find the jump map for some reason. Collect different color diamonds while gathering items and doing HO's. Nice Ho's that are easy on the eyes. Good lead to the end of demo making you want to know more. But I can not put my finger on it. It is not as good as the other games in this series. Also does a short demo mean a shorter game? At least we had some critter action and some sort of other thing to collect which when I went in to see what I had just collected it was what am I collecting. Stuff for the princess or castle or the family. Left me pondering. played it twice to see if I could catch anything I missed and still do not know where the jump map is. Must be having a off day.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a bad game, not CE worthy Hi all! As always, I usually do not review on the story line, as others do a much better job of that than I. Well, we have #6 in this series. Yes, I have them all. The graphics are very nice in this game, better than the first few in the series. Game play was very good, no problems during the demo and the scene fit my large screen quite nicely. Colors seemed a little washed out to me, more pastel, which made them looked a bit fuzzy. Animation was pretty nice. Voice overs were okay, but at first sounded a little over the top and forced, like someone trying to act but couldn't. They did get a little better as the game progressed. I was disappointed in how short the demo was. I beta tested this one back in December and it seemed the game play was longer. Music was fairly monotone and boring, so I usually turn it down for a little background noise. Sound FX aren't bad, but then, you are in a castle, so what noise can you hear? HOPs were okay, nothing new, just interactive lists and storybook type riddles where you find a couple of highlighted words. Items were not difficult to find. Puzzles were extra simple and took no real brain power to complete. Very disappointing. Hint system is helpful, but I did not see that it transported to longer locations. Okay, during the demo, we didn't do all that much traveling except within 4 or 5 rooms of the castle. SG is the usual and is easy to follow. The only collectibles are jewels, which when collected turn into money to purchase items. For what reason, I am not sure. There definitely needed to be something extra in this department. These jewels can be single or multiple in each scene and are not all that easy to spot. I believe I also found a couple in the HOPs. It's not a collectible, but you use an amulet to hunt for and destroy thorny flowers in a scene, which will then allow you to travel into another scene/room in the game. I believe the thorny plant is the magic the bad guy uses to try to keep you away from him. As I said, I usually do not review on the story. However, I will this time, as this story is nothing new. You have a brother who wants it all and does whatever he can to take over everything and destroy his brother and his family. I found this to be a little boring for me, and geared more toward the beginner rather than a seasoned gamer. There wasn't really any challenge anywhere, except to remember to look for the jewels. I did not feel that this game was CE worthy. I will give it another try when the SE comes out and see if I like it better. Unless there is a very good sale, I won't get this one as a CE. I will recommend it for beginners, or for those of use who just want to skate through a game to kill time. I do that sometimes too. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may find this one to be exactly what you are looking for. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Barely Approaching Good, Definitely Not Better, No Best If you have played any of the Spirit of Mystery Games, you know there will be a princess(You), parents, Nanny, and the presumed wicked magician, Isla. This time you have an amulet from your mother to help you discover evil magic flowers, the signs of Isla's spells to keep you where he wants you. Other than minimal advice from Nanny, you are going to have to discover dark family secrets and save your mother from being burned at the stake. Good luck, Princess. Good stuff: The artwork is beautifully drawn with a well balanced palette. There are HOPs with an occasional variation, easy mini-games, low key music, good VOs, and some mystery in the story. You collect jewels scattered around. There is some CE bling. There are four levels of difficulty. Bad stuff: The gimmick with the amulet is a real time waster - which the game needs as the demo took me only 30 minutes to complete and I didn't skip any thing. The other time waster is making a potion for the panther. The story seems to promise much, but there is not much to pull you in. I usually like fairy tale games to play with the grandchildren, but this one is too easy and having Mom tied to the stake waiting to be saved is a bit much for child's play. Try the demo for yourself. I just wish they had worked this game out better before launch.
Date published: 2016-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Spirits of boredom The game is all bells and whistles as far as the visual and audio are concerned but then nothing. In fact at the beginning I was watching and listening to the characters etc. and although I know it's essential for the layout etc. I did begin to wonder when I was actually going to play something other than clicking the mouse to continue. As has already been mentioned the game is brilliant for children or someone who hasn't ever played this type of game before. If you have then just reload an old game because there's nothing at all new in this one.
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't even finish. I love the Spirits of Mystery series, so my disappointment with this installment is tremendous. The visuals and sound quality were superb, the voice acting was fine... but the story just killed it. Absolutely too much suspension of disbelief is required. Why were you supposed to lock yourself in for safety if the person telling you to lock yourself in wanted to kill you? Why did he wait 25 years before doing so? None of it adds up at all. The puzzles were variable. The HOS were fine, most of the other puzzles were at least mildly interesting, but the business with the mother's amulet to uncover the hidden symbols in the air was both difficult and boring. After the big reveal about a third of the way through the game, I realized that I just didn't have enough interest to continue. There are very few BF games that I couldn't at least persuade myself to finish, but this is on that short list.
Date published: 2018-09-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The Villain is now the Hero What is the point of having a villain and his trusty companion the panther in all the games like this if you are going to turn it all around in this game and make him the hero! The storyline is totally upside down and that was disconcerting. Now the king is the villian and his cheating wife and lover are the heros. What's more, the daughter that the king and his wife raised which Isa and her mother had while still married to the king, suddenly hates her stepfather the king, whom she thought was her biological father.
Date published: 2017-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very Average There was a tree of flowers in just about every room that needed to be eliminated; that became tedious. There was not a lot of logic so what came next could be very confusing. The characters were dismal, especially the women who kept fainting all over the place and were next to useless - come to think of it, the men were no better. No, not a good game
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I think they are trying to be as confusing as possible! I kindly gave it 2 stars because I liked the HOS. The cannon in particula was fun. They were a bit different and well thought out. Not easy! Some didn't make all that much sense either. The puzzles were a bunch of endless random movements of 15 pieces 100 times. I especially loathed the family tree. The game started out OK, but after the demo got really vague and what you used with each other didn't make a whole lot of sense. Good thing the map shows you when you are done with an area because it doesn't show when you still have something to do where you are at. The collectable pearls are confusing, I was able to get them all, but I couldn't fathom how I ended up with the number I did. What you do to complete them is mediocre at best. Lots of inventory items at once. Luckily it is locking. I think I had over 20 a couple of times. I don't normally mind this, it just seemed to make this game more confusing. I can't remember when was the last time I had to use so many hints and skips because things didn't make sense. I really just couldn't wait for the game to be over. Sorry, I just don't like this game. I have played others in the series, and liked them. This one is just confusing to me. Did I tell you that a lot of things just really didn't make sense? This is the first game EVER I am not recommending you judge for yourself. I like these developers, but I have never seen such a hot mess for a new CE.
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Way too easy For beginners only. I couldn't even finish the demo, as I really hate gimmicky tools like the scanner in this game to find the symbols. Puzzles are just fillers to take up time, as they require not a lot of thinking, so this is a no buy for me.
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dissappointingly Improbable Completed Game and Bonus Chapter I love the Spirits of Mystery series. Song of the Phoenix is the first game I ever bought on BigFish and I've purchased them all. The artwork is gorgeous, so stunning that I screenshot random areas that I like and use them for my desktop. The puzzles are interesting and fun. The story line is ongoing and engaging. So imagine my excitement when I read the preview for this edition and saw that evil Isa is actually going to get a backstory and have a chance to be a hero! I bought it right away and dove right in! ... only to find that this game is terrible. I'm a story/plot enthusiast. I can forgive a lot and suspend disbelief to an outrageous level if the story is good. In this case it bordered on ridiculous. I don't want to spoil the story for you but the big reveal is actually pretty obvious from the beginning of the story. What bothers me is the reaction to the big reveal. It's handled in a way that is soooo unrealistic that it's impossible to believe that the society at large would accept it. The main character and the castle folks (in the bonus chapter) just go along with it like it's OK, and in a monarchical society it would not be at all. Plus, there are huge holes in the logic of the plot and the timeline. The huge plot holes would actually have been bearable if the execution had been handled better. Most of the major reveals of Isa's story come out during HOs in which you have to find objects from sentences. This is really where the fault lies as it's the very poor English translations in the black bar tips, puzzles, and HOs that ruin the story. There are too many errors and the language is too simplistic. It makes the characters' inner voices and the story sound childish and improbable. I was rolling my eyes through the entire game. There are other issues like ridiculous things you have to do in the course of the game play that make no sense and the fact that it looked like the king only had one servant and one greedy guard in the whole castle. But IMO these are minor things in comparison to the language issue and the plot holes. As usual it's visually gorgeous but this edition of Spirits of Mystery is, to me, the worst in the series. Too bad as I was looking forward to it.
Date published: 2016-04-04
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_24419, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Spirits of Mystery: Family Lies Collector's Edition

Will yours be your downfall?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.