Cadenza: Havana Nights Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Cadenza: Havana Nights Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(309.81 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Mad Head Games proudly presents the newest addition to the Cadenza series! Welcome to Havana! Your brother needs your musical talent to make his club the hottest joint on the streets of Havana! But what starts as a joyous reunion quickly takes a deadly turn as a mysterious guitar player takes control of the helpless citizens. Can you save them before it’s too late, or will you become his next victim? Find out in this heart-pounding hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Another Havana adventure awaits you in the bonus chapter!
  • Test your skills and speed by replaying HOPs.
  • Consult the handy strategy guide.
  • Gather collectibles, earn achievements, view concept art, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 634 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Cadenza: Havana Nights Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(309.81 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Cadenza: Havana Nights Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 58.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A golden series I'm not going to re-cap the game because that's all over the place. I just want to say that this series is one that I now purchase before trying it out! Just something about the Cadenza games, something moody, mellow, atmospheric - something that charms, disarms, surprises and delights! If you have never played this series, go back to the first and become addicted! Love it! No smoke, no gargoyles, no ephemeral villains. Just pure fun. And, it is one of the very few I do NOT turn the music off. That alone says volumes.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm impressed This has to be my favorite Cadenza yet. I passed on the last one but now Mad Head has done it again. Beautiful graphics in the style of this dev, and voiceovers had matching dialects. Very good. HOPs are done in steps and are really imaginative. Nice map, collectables and morphs. The story is very interesting and I just need to find out who is behind the hat. Love the story, so far I did not get bored with it. I recommend this one for sure.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MAGNIFICENT!!! This game has everything I want for a game to be entertaining, difficult and makes me want to play. Great graphics with lots of surprises and a great storyline. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Hidden Object I have played in a long time I haven't finished the game yet (I've played about an hour) but this is definitely a hidden object game that keeps my interest. There are little twists to each HO puzzle which are fantastic, the characters are interesting, even the mini-games are well thought out and smart and enjoyable. It has been several years since I was compelled to buy a HO game after the hour trial expires but I will definitely be leaving this review page and purchasing it. I hope the rest of the game is as satisfying!
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really good game I own the other two games in this series and this is a really cleverly done game as were the others. These games make you think about the story and try to follow along with clues to get to where you need to be. The HO's are inter-active and you have to think about where things go and how to do them. The story line is clever and well thought out. The game is well drawn and very realistic. I turn the sound off after awhile as it gets to be an irritant, not just with this game but all games. That's just me. Please do the try me for yourself and I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
Date published: 2016-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cadenza:Havana Nights is great detective game even if very easy I dont know why Mad head choose beginner diffulty here. Story is decent with many interesting moments and lot of characters. Astonishing environment supports nice graphics and with great soundtrack i almost really felt Havana heat and Sea breeze. Hop scenes have great design, this style is why i love HO genre. I praise very professional voiceacting which is far ahead of others. For me is Cadenza best March game and highly recommend try.
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lets go to Havana !! These devs are just high above the rest.. the crisp graphics, superb music and storyline make these games a delight to play. Some have said the mini games are too simple but even if that is a little true it does not detract atall from the fun of the whole. The voices are pitch perfect and the music is so good.. The faces look so believable and I just cannot recommend enough.
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BLEW ME OUT OF THE WATER WITH THIS ONE!!! I must get all of the Cadenza series. I have one already, and now I have this one. This game totally blew me out of the water. I was totally into the game, and it felt like I was in a movie. The music is to die for, the graphics are beautiful, the language, and accents were totally fitting. I thought I would be playing the game for a little while and later, I would come back to play the game. Well, when I started the game, I was so engrossed in the game that I could not stop playing to the very end. The game held my attention throughout. The puzzles were awesome...The end blew me away when I found out who was behind playing the guitar. The only minute downer was the bonus chapter; it brought the game down a peg; it was not as interesting as the main game, but it was pleasing and a pleasure to play. Finding the diamonds was great in each scene, and the morphing objects were great, I did not find all of them but I found most. I will take some time and play this game AGAIN!!! I truly loved the game and will recommend this game to family and friends.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adore this series.... I absolutely love the Cadenza series, .I have been waiting for a new Cadenza seems like forever.....Havana Nights is a wonderful addition to this series....I could not believe how time flew when I was playing this....the mini games are not the same thing over and over.....they switch it up some....I hate it when people tell everything about the game, all I will say is, if you liked the previous ones, then you will love this one too....Just try the demo and I bet you want more and purchase it....Especially with the sale...you just can't beat it........I had a great time with this one......you will too...
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cuba! Tomorrow our president is making an historic trip to Cuba! What a perfect time to bring this game out. Some reviewers have found this game to be "boring"??? Really? While not on the level of some of the previous Cadenza releases, it's far from boring, and I'm finding it fascinating and fun. I love the sounds in these games, and the story is gripping. Police! Nightclubs! Beautiful women! Music! Suspense! Try it!
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A MURDER MYSTERY ‘POSSESSED” WITH “HAUNTING” GUITAR MUSIC 5 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER OVERVIEW: “¡Bienvenidos!” (Welcome) to 1952, pre-Castro Havana! Rumba the night away solving a murder mystery while listening to “haunting,” background music “possessing” a hypnotic melody. I LOVE the story and the musical score accompanying this game. This is one game you will want to keep the background music playing, especially if you like Latin music. There are more HOP scenes than puzzles in this game. Surprisingly I felt the HOP scenes were better crafted than the mini-puzzles, all of which I found extremely easy. The graphics reflect the flavor of Cuba of the 1950’s and the Cuban accents for the VO’s are fairly authentic. There are two collectibles, diamonds and morphing objects. You can also replay the HOP scenes. I rate this a decent low 5-star game. STORY: You play a trumpet player arriving in Havana to work for your brother, Ernesto at his nightclub, the Diamente. Upon arrival, a sailor, in a trance, shoots your brother in front of you. With the gun in your hand, you are blamed for the shooting. Your brother asks you to recover a red box from his safe which is somehow connected to all of the strange events going on. Escaping the police and trying to get to the bottom of your brother’s murder, you soon discover that he was in league with two other people - Raúl Sanchez, a guitarist killed in a fire and a boxer, Bronco. The “haunting” music from a guitarist is putting people into a zombie-like state leaving them temporarily possessed by the spirit of the guitarist. Who is this guitarist whose music “haunts” those who hear it? Could he be a ghost? HOP SCENES: My favorite HOP scene is the first one in the game. In this HOP scene you go back-and-forth between locating an item and replacing an item into the scene. After locating items, you receive leys to open a series of locks. There are also lists of items to locate (one of which includes a beautiful colorful painting reflecting the beauty and culture of Cuba). There is also a story sequence in which items as portrayed in BOLD letters. The HOP scenes are interactive to some degree. MINI-GAMES: I am not impressed with the mini-games. They lack any challenge at all! I did not find one puzzle in the demo which required any mental acumen or time to solve. They include two manual dexterity puzzles, a matching puzzle, and a moving tiles puzzle (which could have been better constructed with three scenes increasing in difficulty instead of the one scene). There is one multiple step puzzle involving recreating photos by using sliding tiles and moving tiles puzzles. I played one maze puzzle after the demo which was also very easy. FAVORITE PUZZLE: I really do not have a “favorite” puzzle. However, I somewhat liked playing a manual dexterity puzzle in which you must click on colored balls as they enter a colored circle by matching that ball or balls with the correct color. It does not require any thinking skills, rather, it just requires excellent reflexes. LEVELS: Novice, Artist, Virtuoso, Maestro, and Improviser (Custom) Hints and Skips – 15 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you upon arrival in Havana 10 Achievements (3 segments for each achievement) Collect 40 diamonds There are 16 Morphing objects (one for each HOP scene) Replay of 16 HOP scenes Strategy guide - 44 PAGES Gallery with 8 wallpapers, artwork, and a soundtrack HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES HOP SCENES: A. Alternate between locating an item and replacing an item back into the scene. As you play the scene, you collect keys to unlock a trunk. B. List of items to locate. There is some interactivity within the scene. With each item located you receive a piece of a paper clue. C. List of items to locate on a beautiful Cuban painting. Items are somewhat difficult to locate. D. Story sequence. Locate items in sentences listed in BOLD letters while hearing background information concerning the case. AFTER THE DEMO: E. Creative HOP scene I which you locate clothing items based on fabric patterns. PUZZLES: A. Manual dexterity puzzle. Center a moving green ball to fight off an attacker. EASY B. Matching puzzle. Match up keys on a piano with a coded sheet of music. EASY C. Moving tiles puzzle. Create a path by moving 4 tokens to their proper slots without crossing lines. EASY D. Matching puzzle. Match up notes on a sheet of paper with those on a saxophone case. EASY E. Multiple step puzzle. (1) Switching puzzle. Switch pieces of two photos until you recreate the two photos. EASY (2) Moving tiles puzzle. Slide tiles to complete another photo. EASY F. Manual dexterity puzzle. Press on the correct keys of a trumpet as colored balls cross onto colored circles at the bottom of the screen. You also have button for two balls which enter at the same time. These buttons are the colors of the combined colors of the two balls. 3X INCREASES IN DIFFICULTY WITH EACH LEVEL. AFTER THE DEMO: G. Maze puzzle. Escape the police by pressing on bushes along the way in which to hide. EASY
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fascinating and done with much love for music and detail What a great game this is. It is so exciting that you don't get a minute rest - you always want to know what is coming next and how this riddle anravels. And the music - of course! The room of the radio is done with so much love for detail, it almost feels as if it really was me, who picks out an LP and puts it on the grammophone. I admire also the Hidden Object Scenes. This developer doesn't need to "hide" the hint- or skipbutton in order to get you use your brain - they are just having a great setting which makes one WANT to solve the problem. It is a very well done game and i am glad i bought it.
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blow your horn, man, but stay away from the guitar man! Though this incredible game was not as challenging, as far as the mini-games and puzzles (if any) were concerned, I loved the ambiance--the graphics were superb. What stood out to me more than the game-play, which very much matters to me were the esthetics, the sound effects, the colors, and on a full screen. The cut scenes are nicely done and the voiceovers are great! A very delightful game thus far! Your brother owns a nightclub in Havana and would like you to be a part of his musical entourage as a horn man, which you agree to do. In any event your bro gets shot and now you're in the throes of catching the culprit who committed this atrocity and, of course, you, too, are a victim! I'm two-thirds in to the main game and I'm enjoying myself immensely. I love the storyline, the zombies--well, the zombies are another thing, not as bad looking as those flesh-eating ones we often see in movies and some TV series! Ugh! I'm sure I'll soon find out why they exist, (if you really want to call it that!) The flow of this game is not outstanding but very good actually. The tasks have rhyme to its reason, and that matters to me. So in that respect, I'm a happy camper! What really stood out for me were the sounds of the birds chirping, while the sound of cars were passing each other on a faraway highway; at least that's what it sounded like to me. Unobtrusive sounds. And all this amidst a background of palm trees, flourishing plant life, beautiful, exotic flowers. I felt as though I as right there in that one particular scene. Love the sound effects very much! Another thing I love about what the DEVS did in this game was you must collect 40 diamond-shape figures that happen to be hidden very strategically and where you least expect them to be. Some were easy to find and some were not. But what the DEVS did that I found interesting was for each scene every diamond-shape image you don't locate, on the lower, right-hand corner of your screen is sketched a dimaond in a pale gray or off-white color, and once you find the diamond, it turns blue. So in essence you don't have to wait until you play the Bonus Game to find what you missed. Way to go, DEVS! Very smart! I love the variety of HOP scenes. There are morphing objects to find and there are collectibles as well. And I often forget about these things but I'm making it a point to remember them. Mad Head DEVS, great game! You did good! I love this series! I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different and innovative This game was more in the "solve the mystery" genre, and from that perspective and with the location in Cuba, it was run to play.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Afternoon....... Yes, it's an easy, fairly lateral game and the storyline was reminiscent of the first Cadenza but I had a lot of fun today playing this game. Loved all the more creative and interactive hidden object scenes. I loved the music and only turned it down and not completely off like I do in other games. The bonus game was a very short sequel to the main game and not necessary if you want to wait for the SE. (after the second Cadenza and some games that followed I thought Mad Head had lost it's edge.. so kudos for a very fun adventure but hope to see a little more challenge and non-lateral gameplay in future games)
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cadenza:Havana Nights Collector's Edition Each installment of "Cadenza" just gets better and better. What makes the Cadenza collection unusual, is the use of ethnically and linguistically diverse characters. The music is absolutely FABULOUS! Because I speak Spanish and have travelled to so many Spanish language countries, It was wonderful to enjoy being immersed into the Hispanic culture even though the story was in the "time warp" of Cuba at the time of Castro's rise (not mentioned). The story is interesting and the puzzles are delightful. JUST WONDERFUL!
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I will avenge you my brother... This is based on the beta game. I would definitely give this game more than 5 stars. This one is awesome! The VO's in this game are superb. The game is just downright fun and keeps you really engrossed into it. The collectibles I ran into in the demo was diamonds and morphs in the hidden object scenes. With the diamonds, the team made them really easy to spot which I liked. As as rule though, I'm not one for collectibles. There wasn't no special gadget in the demo I played. Story: You play as a professional trumpet player (a male character). You haven't seen your brother in some number of years but after that your brother Ernesto calls and invites you to play at his club in Havana, Cuba. He says with your talent the club could make a mint. You arrive at the port and your brother is there. You tell your brother you just need to grab your trumpet and you're good to go. Then it cuts to a scene with a sailor sitting with his girlfriend and a mysterious man in the back starts to play his voodoo guitar. The guitar music makes the sailors eyes turn blue and it hypnotizes him. I'm not giving the next part away, but you find yourself in the police in the police cruiser trying to explain the events. The cops don't believe you until it happens to one of them. You will see the rest. Graphics: Absolutely gorgeous. The scenery and the people seem real. Awesome job on them. Music: They had some of the best music in a game I heard in a while. I especially loved the music in the H0GS. Very peppy. Mini Games: One was in a H0G scene where you had to play the right notes on a piano. One was you had to challenge the fruitstand man in trumpet playing. I won that mini game, but if your not sure what to do, on the last level it can get quite frustrating. You have 5 or 6 colored bubbles under the strings where the notes come down. And you have to press the right bubbles at the right time when the notes are over the holes at the end. Many a time you will have two notes over their holes at the same time. The colored bubbles operate different peddles of the trumpet. Another was you had to interchange puzzle pieces to come up with two pictures. The next was a small slider puzzle. Another was connect one shape with its partner on the grid. H0GS: First one was put an item back in the scene to get another object. The others were lists with extra step words. Map: Blue exclamation point-something to do here. Blue round circle-you are here. And it's a jump map. Hint button: This one works really well. Tells you where to go, or what spot you need to go to in the scene. It shows you which item to use with what. Very helpful. Again, kudos to this team for a superb game. I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from still love it Your brother needs your talent to make his club the hottest joint on the streets of Havana! But what starts as a joyous reunion quickly takes a deadly when someone shoots your bother, as a mysterious guitar player takes control of the people a round you is up to you to find out who and why.i really love the storyline it was fun all the way really nice job .
Date published: 2016-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cadenza: Havana Nights Collector's Edition Another great game in the series
Date published: 2016-03-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mad Head's quality still shines While this isn't the best that Mad Head has ever produced, that isn't such a huge negative. Mad Head remain one of my favourite developers and their graphics and story-telling remain second to none for me. Even their less than stellar work ranks high. As you'd expect the story-telling and visuals are magnificent and the main story is very atmospheric and involving. Nice to have a male protagonist for once as well. It is on the short side, which drops the ranking a little and the bonus game annoyed me. Without spoilering too much, the girl in question has been introduced as a tough cookie who has boxing training. To put it mildly, the bonus game does her character no favours. Mad Head don't usually make mistakes like this. Not their greatest, but still very good.
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Unfair to compare Once again I find people unfairly giving one or two stars to a game that deserves much more. The graphics, gameplay and storyline of Havana Nights is as good as any which alone should gain the game a minimum three star rating. As far as I know it is totally original that a game is set in Cuba which is refreshing. Like the Caribbean colors are bright and sunny throughout and it has a 1950 retro appeal. Granted, it has all been done before, but that could be said of pretty much every game out there. This is the third in a series the main theme of which appears to be someone using music to gain vengeance. The games were not too challenging which could be a plus or minus depending on your preference. I find that if you want more challenge, don't read the game instructions, (such as with the trumpet playing game which was new and took me a while to figure out). As this review is based on the demo, I did not see much to recommend the Collectors addition, only drawings of diamonds to find. Perhaps there is more at the end such as additional storyline. I gave this a four star based on its own merits and discounted for comments that state it is short (a serious flaw if true). I would have liked more life and variety in the music and it lacks something truly new, surprising or original in the story or graphics which is the only time I give 5 stars. Havana Nights is a good solid game for anyone who wants a beautifully illustrated, well though out game to play and needs a change of venue from the redundant European ghost and witch stories.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Game! This was a superb game as far as storyline, graphics and music. I love the Cadenza games. The only reason I gave it four stars is because of the length. This is the shortest collector's edition I have ever played. Other than that, hats off to Mad Head Games my favorite developer!
Date published: 2016-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent game, awesome story line... Hi all! Well, we have #3 in this series...yes, I have the other two. As always, I review mostly on the game play and not the story line, as others do a much better job on that than I. As with the others in this series, the graphics are exceptional, very clear, very well done. Colors have a little orange hue to them, but that just comes and goes, depending on where you are at the time. Not over-powering at all. Otherwise, they are clear and nice. Game play was excellent, no problems during the demo and the scene fit my large screen very nicely. The voice overs are extremely well done, with emotion for a change! I loved the animation, e.g., putting on the hat in the very first scene, well done. Facial features are also very well done and fit what is being said or done at the time. Sound FX are perfect for the setting and background sounds. Music also fit the setting and time period, and I didn't have to turn it down for a change. HOPs are a bit of a variation of lists, find this, place that there, etc. Scenes are clean and clear, no junk piles, and items are not difficult to find. Be on the lookout for the morphing items in the HOPs. I keep forgetting to look for them. They aren't that easy to spot. Either there isn't a transport feature, or I hadn't had to back track all that far yet in order to use it. However, the jump map is very useful and areas are well identified. Hint system is very helpful when needed, and actually gives you a hint and not just "move on." Puzzles, did we have puzzles? What I did run across was very simple to follow and figure out, and took no time at all to complete. This was an extremely short demo, so I didn't even look at the SG guide, but they all seem to be the same anyway. Collectibles are 40 diamond shapes. They aren't actual jewels, but the shape of a cut diamond. They are large and easy to see. I didn't see anything else during the demo. A little extra collectible would have been nice. I really like this series and when I beta tested it, I made a note to give it a 4.5. After playing it again, I think it deserves a 4.75. I down-graded because of the occasional "choose the dialog" that popped up. Don't care for those at all. Fortunately, it didn't happen often and seemed to lessen as the game progressed. I don't give 5 stars easily, a game has to be 100% exceptional to get them...this one was very close. This game is not really challenging, but everything else about it was exceptional and the story line drew me in quite quickly. I definitely have the need to play this one out and see what happens. I think all levels of players will find this one enjoyable. If you haven't done it yet, play the other two in this series. They are are quite good, with very nice story lines. Yes, definite buy for me. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game, but wait for the SE. Cadenza: Havana Nights CE Review based on full game + bonus chapter + extras PROLOGUE... The Cadenza series began on a high note, pun intended. The second installment fell a bit flat. Havana Nights, the third episode, hits somewhere in the middle, but closer to good than bad. ONCE UPON A TIME... While visiting your brother Ernesto in Cuba, he asks you to join him running his nightclub. Before you even get there, a hypnotized sailor with glowing eyes shoots Ernesto. The hypnosis unfortunately wears off just as the police arrive and you’ve wrestled the gun from the sailor. They assume you’re the culprit. On the way to the police station, the officer driving is hypnotized and speeds insanely through the streets of Havana, finally crashing into a building. This time, you notice a strange man playing a guitar just prior to the incident. Both officers are unconscious from the accident, so you escape and attempt to figure out the mystery, starting with the enigmatic box in Ernesto’s safe. But can you solve it all before you become a victim yourself? PLAY THE GAME... HO scenes are varied. Sadly, there’s only one of the type that was prevalent in the original Cadenza, the scene where you’re given only one object to use in the scene, which leads you to the next. But there are also interactive lists, silhouettes, multiples, matching pairs, and more. Puzzles and mini-games include a few that test your timing ability, where you must click when the moving ball crossing the target area, which becomes gradually more difficult as the target area also moves. There are several variations on the jigsaw, a couple where you must slide the tokens into their matching spaces, a small pipes puzzle, a connect the tokens so their lines don’t cross, etc. And a trumpet puzzle based on color theory. Notes of varying colors move toward you and you must press the button that’s most appropriate. For example, if blue and yellow approach simultaneous, you would press green. Meanwhile, you’re running around Havana looking for information, laying low, and doing the usual…unlocking locks, opening boxes, fixing broken things, assembling incomplete things, doing favors for people, all in the service of unlocking the box and solving the mystery. SIGHTSEEING... The graphics and animation are extremely colorful, but not garish. Shapes are dimensional, casting shadow and reflecting light. Textures are realistic. SOUNDBOARD... Unfortunately, I had the sound down, so I can’t comment on the soundtrack. TOOLBOX... The map shows available actions and transports, and there’s an unnecessary journal. Icons show whether you’ve gotten the collectible or morphing object. OH BOTHER! No technical difficulties on my iMac running OS 10.11.3. OOH! PIECE OF CANDY... In the bonus chapter, go on a traditional quest to get Cassandra’s father’s blessing for your marriage. There are collectible diamond icons in each scene, and morphing objects in each HO. After the bonus chapter, you can go back and get any you may have missed. If you get all the diamonds, you’re rewarded with a treasure hunt. Additionally, you can replay HO scenes (but not mini-games). The soundtrack is NOT downloadable. There are performance achievements and the SG. EPILOGUE... While I do recommend this game, I don’t recommend the CE. The bonus chapter is pretty short. Plus, you can’t download the soundtrack or replay mini-games. But I feel the SE is worth the price. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2016-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WHO IS BEHIND THAT "KILLER" GUITAR MUSIC After being apart for many years, you have received a message from your brother inviting you to play at his new top of the line nightclub in Havana. You are only briefly reunited with Jesse before he is killed by a crazed sailor and, even worse, his murder is pinned on you. Behind all of this is a sinister and dark story but you must prove your innocence before you can find out who killed your brother. The game offers four modes of gameplay with Improviser being the custom mode – Novice, Artist, Virtuoso, and Improviser. In custom mode you can set your hints and skips to recharge in a range of 15 to 90 seconds. The graphics are terrific and I love the sound package that whisks me back in time to 1950s Cuba. The best thing about this game is the HOP scenes that offer a large variety, while at the other end of the scale we have uninspired mini-games. While many game developers have increased the difficulty we find in the mini-games, this one has not followed and as a result the minis seem boring and nothing more than time fillers. It is sad because with all the other great things about the game here is the weak point and one that most of us will remember. I realize that there are many gamers out there who are not as passionate about having great and challenging mini-games so they might really enjoy Havana Nights. The CE includes collectibles, morphing objects, achievements and the other standard goodies but this is not a stellar CE package. I know many gamers would rather wait for the SE release and, IMHO, they would not be missing much aside from the in-game strategy guide. This Cadenza might just be my favorite in the series. I love the background music that is sometimes haunting and sometimes has that wonderful Cuban flair. I know that most games have changed over the years and seem to follow a formula but I still enjoy almost every HOPA game that comes along. The storyline captured my interest and that is always a big deal for me. Even though this is another must have game for me, please, try the demo to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Let's go to Cuba!! A bit different storyline with "me" going to Cuba to visit my brother. But someone else shoots him, and I get the blame. So the story happens as "I" am interrogated by the police. It's well made and (as pretty much always) has some form of spirits included to the story. The HOG types varies with the standard listing of objects, to placing some random things into a scene. The minigames are fairly easy, but then again, I only went trough the demo.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It coulda been a contenda... This was a good game, not great, but the potential was there; unfortunately for me it was a big disappointment. Firstly, the story wasn't complex enough, leaving the length startlingly short for a CE. I finished it in under 2 hours, including the charming bonus game. All the parts were there, but it was not enough to come up to an acceptable challenge. There is much to like: a peek in to the Havana of the 50's, the Cuban accent which is much more Hispanic than the Mexican/Spanish I'm used to. Scenery was good, the music was very nicely chosen. The HOS were well done, but not particularly difficult; the hardest thing was finding the morphing object before you finished the HOS! At the end after playing the bonus game you can go back and find the diamonds you missed. There weren't many for me, as they were really obvious. The only ones I missed are when I forgot to look at a scene and then couldn't go back and get it. The first Cadenza was so good and challenging and out of the norm, I'd hoped we could have a repeat. The final disappointment for me was the "treasure hunt" at the end where you go to different sites from the game to find a souvenir. They were almost insultingly obvious, literally most of them right out in front and large. Having said that I recommend this game; the CE if you are a completest and the bonus game is good. But get it on sale! Otherwise stick to the SE when you have a free coupon. So, I recommend the game, with grave caveats!
Date published: 2016-06-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, but not great To be fair, although I love Mad Head games, Cadenza is my least favorite series of theirs. This did nothing to change my opinion. I'm not saying this was a bad game. It wasn't bad, at all. The puzzles were excellent as always. The HO scenes were solid. But in everything else, it just wasn't up to par with Mad Head's previous offerings. There wasn't any of the fourth-wall-breaking playing around with the game structure seen in the Dark Realm and Beyond games. Although, to be honest, I don't remember seeing those in the previous Cadenza games, either, so maybe that's not a fair comparison. The music. Normally, I absolutely LOVE the music in Mad Head games, so much so that I usually break out the good noise-cancelling headphones when playing them. The music in this one was completely forgettable- except for the "three amigos" song (A.K.A. "Look how totally in Cuba we are, guys!"), which made me embarrassed for the singer, having to sing those hacky lyrics. The story? Eh. Basically the same as the first two. Someone's using music to avenge a past wrong, and the main character must find out who and why. But what irritated me is that there's a major plot point regarding a character's involvement in a serious crime, which everyone, including the police, decide to ignore, for no apparent reason. The bonus chapter was really disappointing, mainly because it neither made any sense nor connected with anything in the main story. It involves the hero wanting to marry his true love- a minor character in the main story, who we saw maybe twice. His opponent is the true love's childhood friend, who we did not see in the main story at all. After assaulting the hero and kidnapping the hero's intended at knifepoint, he just decides to give up and cry in the corner after nothing more than a stern talking-to from the hero. Huh? Seriously? Is it mean-spirited of me to hope that this was just a filler release, to tide their fans over until the next NeverTales or Dark Realm game?
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sadly, This Cadenza Falls Flat Normally I love this series, but for me, I found this game to be on the edge of boring. I'm sure many gamers will adore Havana Nights, but this game doesn't have the mojo of Cadenza's past. The storyline is decent, Ernesto Ceres has asked his brother to join him in expanding his night club Diamante, but his past is catching up with him when his friend Raul Sanchez returns from the dead to seek revenge. Somehow Raul is able to hypnotize anyone in ears range of his guitar, and the police are not only blaming you, they're trying to kill you! Could these strange events have anything to do with the "red box" Ernesto has kept under lock and key? This certainly is an easy game to play, there's no challenge to speak of, even the Collectible Diamonds are large and hard to miss! I felt that the graphics were subpar, the neon lights and bedazzle of New Orleans coming to life at night were so impressive you could almost smell the jambalaya, red beans and rice. Havana Nights doesn't do that, it's just another game, there's nothing to draw you in and make you feel as if you were there. There are a few newer features available, Conversation options, the ability to slide items or interact with items as you would do if it was real, Sliding, panning or even flipping zoom zone scenes, and an Awareness Mode designed to make you feel a sense of urgency. The Hidden Object Scenes are varied, but again, lacks the creativeness normally found in this series. There are 16 HOP's and each one has a single Morphing Object to find, not my favorite, I prefer Morphs to be in the main game, especially when they are nonlinear and require a particular action in another scene to activate them (I miss the good ol' days...) There are interactive list finds, progressive finds, items in bold print during a tape recording, and even one that switches back and forth between finding an item and placing the item into the scene, which is a feature this series created if I'm not mistaken. Most of them have fragments left behind after finding the items that form a code of some sort to solve a small puzzle. The Mini Games weren't bad, but they also lack creativity and most are very easy to solve. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Select the ball when it is inside the yellow area, the yellow area moves as well as the ball. 2) Select and move buttons to spaces with the same shape, creating highlighted lines that don't intersect. 3) Select and place horizontal picture tiles to form pictures, as well as a sliding puzzle using one empty space. 4) Press the corresponding trumpet buttons when the bubbles cross into the colored circles. As you progress, pressing the bottom buttons of the correct color mixture will allow you to "play" two notes. This Collector's Edition has 20 Wallpapers, 12 Concept Art pictures, 9 Music Soundtracks, Trumpet Lessons, Character Bios, 40 Collectible Diamonds, 10 Achievements, 16 Morphing Objects within the HOP's, 16 replayable HOP's, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter.
Date published: 2016-03-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from short and not up to par For me, this game was just not comparable to the previous ones. It had good graphics and use of color and a different storyline but it seemed all fluff and no substance. Mini games were few and far between and what was there was very easy. No challenge at all. Even a few of the game details I thought were off. Our brother is in ICU in the hospital but when we get to his room, he is in a bed with a shelf over it with books, a painting and a potted cactus. The room also has huge wooden shutters and a balcony. This is ICU? It looked more like a hotel room than a hospital. Also things like you find the first aid kit and it's locked. Right. The whole point of a first aid kit is so that everything is right at hand quickly when you need it. No one locks one. There were more but you get the picture. HO scenes were okay. They did have a morphing object to find and the game had collectible diamonds. But to me, this game felt either rushed or just pieced together from others before it. It's too bad because owning pretty much everything Mad Head has done so far, I was excited to see this one. As always try it for yourself. You may like it more than I did. It did have a lot of cut scenes and a different if not somewhat odd storyline.
Date published: 2016-04-03
  • y_2021, m_10, d_17, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_24441, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Cadenza: Havana Nights Collector's Edition

Can you escape the mysterious musician’s melody?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.