Whispered Secrets: Everburning Candle Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Whispered Secrets: Everburning Candle Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(309.11 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

A fire at the local asylum takes on a supernatural life of its own in GrandMA Studios' next Whispered Secrets game! You're called in to investigate and find dark and shady dealings behind the scenes, with the lives of several patients at stake. Who are these so-called 'outcasts,' and why are they really here? Douse the flames on this mystery as you explore hidden-object puzzles and solve mini-games!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“I'm really blown away by this game, the artwork is amazing and the game play is really unique.”  - Bram, beta tester

“I own all the previous Whispered Secrets games & have enjoyed them. This offering is the best so far. OUTSTANDING! Objectives & tasks very clear but still offers challenge. Graphics top notch, effects phenomenal!”  - Emma, beta tester


  • Delve into the mysterious backstory in the bonus chapter.
  • Find hidden marbles in every location to unlock a hidden chapter.
  • Consult the comprehensive strategy guide.
  • Achievements, wallpapers, concept art, and more!
  • Hone your skills with replayable HOPs and mini-games.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 791 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Whispered Secrets: Everburning Candle Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(309.11 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Whispered Secrets: Everburning Candle Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 73.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite in the Series! Although I loved all of the games in this series, this one, I have to say this is the best. I have been anxiously waiting for this game every since I played the Beta version, some time back. Graphics and sound are excellent. Story line will grab you and not let you go! Not for the squeamish though lol. Best game I have played in a long time! Now I have to go buy the full version....
Date published: 2016-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wonderful....... this was a great game. best of this series. as reviewers, big fish states..do not go into minute detail of the game....so...i feel when you are viewing a game to buy, you will read the info there, anyway, this is a super game, marbles to find, and the puzzles are very fun and easy in any mode. colors and graphics are dead on. have fun gamers......
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW, WHAT IS THERE LEFT TO SAY? I HAVE NO SECRETS! REVIEW AFTER COMPLETING THE DEMO: I had to add my review to the other already 'glowing' reviews. This game simply has all of the WOW factors one hasn't seen in any game in quite a while. The creepy, scary, haunting-type games are really not my forte, but from time to time, I do like a good scare. I do have some games that fit the bill, so to speak, but this game goes beyond that and I truly enjoyed every minute, and can't wait to purchase the full version of the game. Here is what I found simply amazing about this game that rises above all other games that I've purchased: 1. At different times in the game, you have to choose the 'correct' answer. Your answer determines the outcome of the game (or maybe even 'your' game). 2. A HOS that you've never seen in any other game before, the rotating Rubik cube. You have silhouette items to find and then place them back in their proper scene. The cube is initially two-sided, with two different scenes facing you with items to find. You then rotate the cube downward to two more different two-sided scenes. Once you find a particular item, another item may appear in your inventory but you have to decide which scene it goes into. Then you have to place that item back. The cube rotates up and down between the scenes. The items are relatively small, but you could still find them. An amazing HOS that I hope to find in other games to come. 3. The graphics/sounds/colors/images were 100% spectacular. The 'scare' factor was definitely there for those of you who enjoy these types of games. 4. The mini game (mouse trying to get out of the maze): you get to choose which way the mouse exits the maze (two choices). You only get so many moves. I had to 'skip' this one because the poor mouse couldn't find the exit. All in all, everything that I can think of positive has been said. I couldn't really find anything negative. This game will surely stay #1 on BF's 'Top Ten' list and maybe 'Game of the Year'. I am not one to spend the extra $ for a CE because I don't care for all of the extras, but that aside, this game is worth the extra marbles (you have to search for marbles for an achievement).
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic and creepy This is a fantastic, very well made game. The graphics are beautiful and dark when needed. Story is captivating and creepy. I love that in some instances you have to choose between certain things to do and that will determine how it plays out. Puzzles are not too hard and I absolutely love the cube puzzle. What imagination from the devs. It is very creepy and yet you can't stop to go on because you, must, must find out....... All good things have already been mentioned by other fishies, but I had to add my 5 stars. This is a very well crafted game and well worth the money.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME GAME!!!! I love this latest game of Whispered Secrets! Great graphics and fun puzzles. The hidden object scenes are clear and fun as well. Loved the little psychology tests; :) I wonder what ever happened to the journals? Is it because they were uninteresting? Or too much work? I personally liked the journals, but looks they are fading out... Anyways lovely game very fun and intriguing. Has my attention the whole time playing. The graphics are amazing and scary, perfect for the setting. I definitely recommend this game you will not be disappointed!!!
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent game This is one of the greatest games I have played, and believe me I have played a lot of of big fish games and enjoyed a lot of them but this is one of my top favorite games. I haven't played to much of the game but what I've played of it, I really enjoyed it. I'm not going to tell you what happened but it is a very scary game. I have played the other games in this series but this is the best out of this certain series. Love the game. A definite buy. Well worth it.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of the series (so far)! I am a fan of this series & was blown away by this offering when I beta tested it back in early January. As a true HO lover , I would have appreciated more HOPs than puzzles (tolerate them), some morphs thrown in would have been nice but every aspect of this game was perfection for me. I rarely review as others do it so much better than I but I could not sit by and not give a shout out for this game. If you like this genre, give it a try. Hope you enjoy it as much as I know I will!
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Game!! The artwork is great! I like the storyline. There are more puzzles than HOP's which I like. It's just an all-round good game.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE IT I will leave the review to those that are better at it than I am, but it has been a long time since I have played such an awesome game. Just a bit of advice, don't start this game if you have other things to do, because they will be put off until you run out of the demo LOL just sayin
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent atmospheric thriller with choices, clean 5 star! Main question, is this game scary? Yes! Even icon on desktop gives me the creeps. Story is so good like Steven King himself wrote script.Another Asylum but this one is interesting. Young girl is closed in Asylum but she is completly healthy so why?(this is not spoiler) HOP scenes in this game.... just Bravo.Creepy and entertaining together. Im not big fan of puzzles but here is fine. Sound adds atmosphere and fits perfect, i love that sound effect when you taking things or collectibles. Not one but two Bonus Chapters added other content. At the end of the year this one will be certainly on my top 5 list.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AN OUTSTANDING GAME AND BEST IN THE SERIES As a detective you arrive at the scene of a huge fire and it is not long before you are in the middle of the action. The local asylum is burning and the firefighters are quickly losing the battle to save it as somehow the fire seems very unnatural. The firefighters are having extreme difficulty in controlling the blaze that could easily spread to the adjacent town so you jump in and help. As you gain entry to the asylum you are faced with the horror of what lies within its walls. Hopefully, you will be able to find survivors and maybe find out what is causing the devastation. There are four modes of gameplay to select and the custom mode is included as one of your choices. In custom mode the hints and skips can be set in the range of 10 – 500 seconds. The graphics are crisp with some very creepy hand drawn artwork that is reminiscent of those in some of the MCF games. Although some scenes might be quite gorgeous, others are very dingy. The sound effects add to the creepy nature of the game and more than a few of you might find them a bit disturbing; I sure know that I did! Even though I was a bit rattled, it doesn’t mean that I didn’t think they added to the game or that I didn’t like them because they were absolutely perfect and set the entire tone of the game. Very early in the game you will find an interactive, transporter type map that will show where you have tasks or objectives. The HOPS in The Everburning Candle are some of the best I have ever played. I love some of the innovation that the developer has used that definitely set this game apart from others. I am not going to spend a lot of time telling you about the HOPS or the mini-games but I loved all of them. Although some of the mini-games are familiar, they have a different spin to them and are quite excellent. Some might seem a bit difficult but they just take a bit of time to figure out so they are doable without a lot of stress factor. In the CE version of the game there are collectible marbles to be found and they are located in each scene. Of course we have those meaningless achievements (at least they don’t rock my world) but not much else aside from the standard fluff. Although I absolutely think that this latest Whispered Secrets game is by far the best in the series, I have to say that many gamers might find it a bit disturbing. That aside, I strongly urge you to try the demo before you purchase the game. I happen to be a fan of some of the more creepy games but this one had me a bit on edge at times. That doesn’t mean that I didn’t like it because I did. It is only my humble opinion but I believe that this is probably one of the finest games we have ever had from this developer and I would love to see more like it. There are so many of the innovative gameplay features in the game that I couldn’t wait to hit the buy button and continue with the full game. . The Everburning Candle is certainly not your run of the mill so-so HOPA game. Just when I have become bored with many of the games I have played this year, we have two excellent games in the same week and I am thrilled to say the least. As I mentioned above, please try the demo of The Everburning Candle to see if this is a game you will like.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Golden Death When the local Asylum catches fire, you have no time to lose, patients lives are at stake. But this is no ordinary fire,and this asylum has some extraordinary patients, patients that have been concealed from the outside world! Angelina is one of those patients, a young girl who had no business being locked up in as asylum, and now she's seeking revenge. Can you overcome the supernatural phenomenon and reverse years of abuse to mend Angelina's psyche before it's too late? Choose your next step carefully, the choices you make will change the course of the game. Will you choose to calm down the horse or start the firetruck, will you gently calm Bernard or use a more aggressive approach? Dr. Rorschach has a few ink blot tests waiting for you throughout the asylum, are you confident in your choices? You even get to choose which version of some Mini Games you want to play, but you only get to choose once! There are Achievements to earn and 36 Hidden Marbles as well, who lost their marbles I wonder? The Hidden Object Scenes are actually far and few between but they are extremely creative and entertaining, if not a tad bit creepy. There are smaller Zoom Zone lists as well as interactive list finds, and one of my favorite, was rotating a cube to search for silhouetted shapes while placing the items you find on one side into the other. You even get to choose if you want to play a Hidden Object Scene or a Match 3 game. The Mini Games are fresh, and creative. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Rotate the circles to restore the image, clicking on the center circle rotates others. 2) Follow the steps to resuscitate a drowning victim in the form of a few simple mini games. 3) Move the pills to set the clock to the reception time. 4) Swap the tiles on both sides of the machine to repair the pipes. 5) Choose the maze you want to play, a rotating maze or a static maze, using arrows in a limited amount of moves. This Collector's Edition has 15 Achievements, 36 Hidden Marbles, 10 Music soundtracks, Movies, 10 Wallpapers, 12 Workshop pictures, a built in Strategy Guide and two Bonus Chapters, Runaway & Brilliant Mind, enjoy your stay at the asylum!
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epic! Since the previous reviewer was so kind to provide the outline and all the extras and such, I'll say this: This is the only game I have had the chance to beta that I was absolutely foaming at the mouth to come out! I usually don't even post reviews,truth be told,but this game is phenomenal! Grandma is one of my fave devs and they've really outdone themselves with this one! Great job devs and thank you!!!
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONE OF THE BEST GAMES THIS YEAR! AWARD WINNING CREEPFEST 4 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER OVERVIEW: Bravo! What creativity! What innovation! It has been some time since we have seen a game of this caliber. This is a 5-star plus game! Our GrandMA has had a face lift, connected with her sinister side, and can now be considered as a major player in dark games. GrandMA! What big dark thoughts you have lurking in your gaming department! This game has a well-written script about an asylum, which could cause some phobias by just being there to investigate! The graphics are dark and the surrealistic settings give a creepy element to the game. You will investigate the sad tales of four (4) children and an evil presence who is manipulating these children. As you begin your investigation, you are accompanied throughout the asylum by shapeshifting ghostly Angelina who talks to you in a creepy monotone voice, warning you of your own peril. There are more puzzles than HOP scenes and the puzzles range from easy to difficult. This game demonstrates some of the best innovation in HOP scenes and puzzles to be seen on this site in quite some time. One of the HOP scenes is actually a cube in which you must switch from side-to-side to locate and replace items. The puzzles are masterful including an actual rat maze in which you must set arrows to create a path for the poor rat only to have it turn from side-to-side once you activate it. After the demo there is another “cube” puzzle which requires some logical reasoning. As you uncover the story about Angelina who has "lost her marbles," you will help her collect them (as a collectible) and place them back into a maze within her head. Once all are collected, you will use them to play a maze puzzle the end of the game. Chanting and talking to you in a creepy voice, she reminds you that you that “You are next!” Mystery surrounds these outcasts, who having nothing wrong with them but are placed within this asylum. Why are they there? Uncover the sad story of the outcasts. HOP SCENES: They are fewer than the puzzles; however, they are well-done. They include lists of items to locate with a modicum of interactivity. The best one is of course the Rubik Cube scene in which you must locate and replace items back within the scene – all while twisting and turning the cube. PUZZLES: A true puzzler’s delight! There are easy puzzles; however, there are some which are moderately difficult. There is also a fiendishly difficult rat maze puzzle which requires some time to figure out if you choose the more difficult mode. I LOVE the puzzles in this game. And again, it has been some time since those of us who love some challenging puzzles have had any in these games. LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hardcore, Custom Hints and Skips – 10 to 500 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game 16 Achievements (from what I could count) Collect 36 marbles Strategy guide 51 pages Usual wallpaper, music, movies, artwork HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES HOP SCENES: You have the option to play a Match 3 game in lieu of the HOP scenes. A. List of items to locate B. Very innovative and unique scene. (1) You are given pieces of masks from children standing in a circle (2) choose the correct answer to a cryptic clue. (3) List of items to locate. C. Silhouette on a Rubik’s cube. One of the best and unusual HOP scenes! Locate and then replace into the scene. You have an arrow to switch the scene itself to see the reverse side. AFTER THE DEMO: D. List of items to locate E. List of items to locate PUZZLES: You can reset the puzzles. A. Moving tiles puzzle. Rotate circles to restore a picture. Moving one affects the others. EASY B. Multiple Step puzzle. (1) Sequence puzzle. Help revive a drowning man. Open up all valves to help a man breath. Moving one affects the others. (2) Take his pulse. Matching. Match up fingerprints with those on the patient to eliminate them. (3) Chest compression. Matching puzzle. EASY but fun C. Switch puzzle. Set hands on a clock to set the time. Not that easy. Moving one hands affects the other one. SLIGHTLY DIFFICULT D. Moving Tiles/Pipe puzzle. Move tiles to create a path for water to flow through a pipe. You are only allotted a certain amount of moves. DIFFICULT E. STUCK IN A RAT MAZE. Maze/Logic puzzle. Choose one of two modes to get a mouse through a maze. In one, the maze is static and in the other it moves. Set the sequence in which the mouse must turn either right or left before setting it free to move. EASY AND DIFFICULT MODES. AFTER THE DEMO: F. Switch puzzle. Place globes in proper sequence. EASY G. Mathematical cube puzzle. Move markers with numbers on them so that all areas of the cube are covered. DIFFICULT
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Actual Rating: 3.5-4 Stars. This is a solid game imo, & I'm not sorry I got it, even though I did so in my blissfully ignorant "buying w/o doing the demo" days. The reason I give it 3.5-4 stars is because I think one would do just as well to get the SE as the CE in this case. The bonus chapter is fine, & you have the ability to go back & collect any marbles you may miss (kind of cute, looking for lost marbles in an asylum, eh?), & those are both good things...however, the main game is still the main attraction here. The HO scenes are quite creative, & there's a nice range of difficulty in the mini-games; the graphics are fine, as is game length, & the stories of the various characters are interesting (not sure what it says about me, but I always choose to slap some sense into the attendant, & smile a little inside while doing so O.O). One additional thing worth noting: Based on some comments I've read, there seems to have been some confusion about this game having two bonus chapters, which it does not; in addition to the actual bonus chapter, there's a bonus GAME which is just that, a fairly brief game that opens up once you've collected all the marbles. As I say, I don't regret getting the CE, but I do think for a lot of folk, the SE would do just as well...& if you're anything like me, you're always looking for SOMETHING to use your coupons on before they expire, so the more options in that regard, the merrier. ;)
Date published: 2016-11-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4½ stars...may this dev's creative candle be everburning! Whispered Secrets: Everburning Candle CE Review based on full game + bonus chapter + extras PROLOGUE... And we have a winner, fishies! Everburning Candle combines a well-thought-out storyline with appropriate backstory, ending, and denouement; interesting gameplay; and stunning production. ONCE UPON A TIME... A fire at the local asylum uncovers a dastardly plot involving a group of unusual patients dubbed “the Outcasts” with supernatural powers. Even though there was no medical need, the Outcasts were locked up in the asylum by those they trusted, in collusion with the asylum’s greedy Director. Betrayed by their loved ones and abused by the Director and Head Nurse, the Outcasts are filled with negative emotion which has fueled their powers. And they’re very, very angry. PLAY THE GAME... Explore the asylum and confront the Outcasts one by one. Find clues about their lives to convince them that revenge is unnecessary. Along the way, you’ll run into a variety of HO scenes, including: • Interactive list • Narrated backstory - find the words in all caps • Puzzle cube - find and replace, spinning the cube to see the other side • Several multi-panel find and replace - themes include x-rays, bulletin boards, story books, and tapestries The multi-panel ones were my favorite, and were actually challenging. Mini-games included both retreads and originals, ranging from fairly easy to medium difficulty, including: • Untangle the crossed spider webs, but be careful; red ones can break if you stretch them too far. • Restore the broken pieces to a decorative door while a monster is breaking it apart. • A 6x3 Sudoku with three-dimensional figurines. • Resuscitate a patient following the on-screen instructions, including unblocking his airways, taking his pulse, and performing CPR. • Move the token through the maze, turning the crossroads as needed, and crossing colored spots to open new pathways. There was a decent variety, and most weren’t throwaway. SIGHTSEEING... Eye candy, including the backgrounds, close-up details, and NPCs. Naturally, there was a lot of creepiness, but there were plenty of dream sequences that were brightly colored to break up the darker tones. Details were impeccable with beautifully crisp lines. And the NPCs were very realistic. SOUNDBOARD... With ten musical compositions, your ears will be happy. Most of them are ambient in nature, rather than overly melodic…soundscapes, if you will. “Angelina’s Song” is the one number that is sung. On the surface, it sounds like a child’s song…until you listen to the horrifying lyrics sung in a little girl’s voice. A couple of other descriptions: “Asylum’s Whispers” combines a backdrop of muted tubular bells with whispers both in the background and more loudly. “Darkest Hour” has a melodic theme played on both music box and piano against a backdrop of strings. Environmental sounds are done well, and voiceovers are really professional. I always have an issue with children’s parts being voiced by adults using falsettos, but the children in this game sounded like kids. TOOLBOX... Lockable inventory panel with plus items. Interactive jump map that notes current objectives. Journal that stores clues and other items. OH BOTHER! No technical difficulties on Mac OS 10.11.3. OOH! PIECE OF CANDY... In the lengthy bonus chapter, discover how Angelina was lured into Fiona’s plan for revenge. Collect all 36 marbles and play a concentric circles jigsaw to unlock a brief second bonus chapter in which you answer more riddles from the other children. (Yes, you can go back and collect any marbles you may have lost…er, I mean, missed!) Replay mini-games and HO scenes. Other extras include the SG, performance achievements, downloadable music, wallpapers, and concept art. This one’s definitely CE-worthy. EPILOGUE... Everburning Candle followed logically along a well-written storyline, unfolding naturally and reasonably. Gameplay was rational, but presented enough of a challenge to be fun. The production values were high both visually and aurally. And the long bonus chapter plus the plethora of other extras made this CE worth the extra money. I recommend it…enjoy!
Date published: 2016-04-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So Far So Good After trying this game out for an hour, I'm willing to purchase it. I find it very different from the norm, so far. It is a bit of a psychological thriller, but nothing really over the top. I normally don't like watching scary movies, but I will read an occasional thriller. This is tame enough that I'm not peeking through my fingers. I find the graphics and storyline pretty original and unique, the puzzles are solvable with a little thought, the HOGs are interesting and objects are visible enough. The artwork is pretty descent and the music and sound effects fitting. Hope the rest doesn't disappoint, but if it does, I will change my recommendation.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Enjoyable Game In This Series .... Nice Graphics, Sound, Effects, Animations, Voice & Video Bits ... Maybe A Bit Too Much Pink & Peach In Some Scenes ... I Saw The Initial Promo Video & Screen Shots And Was Tempted Not To Bother ... They Didn't Sell The Game Well At All ... But All Up A Very Enjoyable Game, And The Bonus Chapter Was Pretty Good Too ... Also A Third Bonus That Seemed A Bit Pointless ... Filled With More Traditional HOG's And Many Are Repeated ... Worth Getting On A Special Deal For The Bonus Chapter, But The SE Version Would Also Do ...
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For the 1st quarter of 2016...this game wins the MOST CREEPY AWARD I do not much recall the previous installments of the Whispered Secrets series. If that is the case then the prior games didn't do anything to become even a little bit lodged into my memory bank. A gender neutral investigator is summoned to an insane asylum a part of which is totally engulfed in flames. Upon arrival the sleuth is asked by the fire brigade to do their job. ( Glad I don't live in that town ) A small portion of the conflagration is watered down and the game moves to an adjacent connected section of the asylum when a man who turns out to be Barney, an employee of the sanitarium, is captured by a fog enshrouded being. This begs the question: Why would anyone in their right mind consider entering a building during a raging fire? Definitely not me!! The only other character of substance met during the demo is the ghost of Angelina. Is she a victim? Is she psychotic? Why is she so ostracized by the director and staff of the asylum? The story is one seen lots of times with a child being the center of attention in the decidedly macabre games. Grandma Games doesn't win an originality prize. What saves the game is the game play itself. Hidden object scenes are very well done. I particularly liked one where after locating a cube piece it it put into the cube held by the girl and then silhouetted items such as a clock face, a statue, a horse, a gate part etc. must be found and then placed where they belong in the cube. Using an arrow the player can rotate the cube. I also liked that in one puzzle the player gets to choose which way to tackle getting a mouse thru a maze. Overall these and other factors make the Everburning Candle a solid entry. Collectible circles are for the taking. Personally, I have spent more time recently replaying games than purchasing new offerings. I am on the fence about this one, mostly due to the fact the story does not light my FIRE.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Something different for a change The first two games in this series were, in my opinion, mediocre. This one seems to be much better and more interesting. Once you get past the silly initial premise (supernatural fire? Well, OK, I guess it's no worse than a lot of other games), the story becomes intriguing enough to make me want to keep playing. I like the fact that there are times when you have to choose between two options. Don't know at this point whether or not it matters which one you choose, but it's at least something you don't usually see in these games. I also like that an extra bonus scenario is offered if you successfully collect all the marbles and complete a related game. This might just make the collector's edition worth buying. I only played the demo, but this one will definitely go on my "to buy in the future" list. Kudos to the devs for trying to bring something fresh and different to the game play.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better than the usual fare but still Meh. There were a few innovative puzzles to add a wee bit of pizazz to the the same-old-same-old, but not enough innovation to compensate for the well-worn HO formula couched in a disturbing amount of cutesy pootsiness. Are all these games now targeted at 12-year-olds? Call me cynical, but I miss the days of highly interactive scenes and cryptic mysteries so intricately woven I would rather fall asleep playing than call it a night and miss another suspenseful minute of gameplay. Nowadays I guess I'm supposed to get excited when the games are a little less tedious than the status quo. Sorry, BF, not happening. For the love of casual gaming, let me be a detective again and play a game your average adult actually finds challenging, sans the mouth-puckering sweetness. Still too much to ask?
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another 3.5 star game for me this weekend! I will leave all of the details to the other reviewers. I just want to add my personal thoughts. This was a pretty good game, kind of stingy on the really easy collectables. The good: Graphics, interactive map, collectables that are also in the first bonus game. Pretty creepy, psychological thriller with super natural phenomenon. The second bonus chapter is more of a game than a chapter, but was a nice touch. It had some new games and HOS that kept my interest. The not so good: Really easy and sparse collectables, another evil asylum story that was really quite easy for me. Lots of running back and forth with black screen in between. The SE would probably work just fine for me. Play the demo and decide for yourself. Happy Gaming!
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not worth CE prices This is a reasonably good game, but as I finished the demo in 36 minutes, I suspect the game could be quite short (demo length is usually a good guide), so I don't think it's worth CE billing. The mini games were quite good, what ones were in the demo, and HOG's just that. Nothing different about them, and again, as the demo was so short, didn't really see many of them. Personally, I've just about given up on these type of games now. I keep downloading occasional ones, just in case I come across a gem with something fresh and new. Hasn't happened yet, and I suspect it could be quite a while before it does. All pretty much same old, same old. They've been like that for quite a while now, from pretty much all developers, and it doesn't look like changing any time soon. This game would be okay for someone fairly new to these type of games, but for seasoned players, I'm afraid not. Recommend you try before you buy. You may love it, but it's not for me.
Date published: 2016-04-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lame Secrets The pace was slow and the character interaction strained.
Date published: 2016-04-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing, not CE worthy... Hi all! Well, we have #5 in this series...yep, got the other 4 and really liked them. Graphics were well done and game play was quite good. I have no problem with scenes fitting my large screen. I was a bit disappointed in the color. Yes, it was quite bright, almost too bright, but still had that blue and pink hue. For those of you who don't care for really bright lights, be warned that they do happen when you are "time traveling." Voice overs are high pitched, but okay. Music moved with what was happening in the scene at the time, so it could put you on the edge of your seat if you really get into it. HOPs are nothing new, standard lists and find parts and put them in the scene. I only found two during the demo, which was quite short. Items were not difficult to find and the HOPs were fairly clean. These were disappointing. If you wish, you can switch to a Match 3 game. Puzzles weren't difficult, but one did take me a little time. Hint system is helpful and it does transport you to longer locations. Jump map is easy to follow and areas of interest are clearly marked, with only one area being opened at a time. Sound FX are not bad at all, but not much during the demo. Didn't care for the inventory bar being in a cloud. It made it difficult to see some of the items, depending on the color. The only collectibles I found are very large marbles. There are 36 to be found and they are quite easy to spot. Again, disappointing. I only looked at the SG to make sure I wasn't missing some other collectibles. Nope, there weren't any. This game made me think someone must have had some really bad dreams in order to come up with this story. I've played many with crazies running around and all, but for some reason, this one was somewhat creepy and disturbing in some scenes. Almost too much crazy. I did like that you could choose which direction you wanted the game to go, e.g., calm the horse or start the fire engine...I calmed the horse; gently calm or slap into reality...I slapped. Seemed like the right thing to do at the time. I'm not sure this game will appeal to all players, but it isn't really challenging and the collectibles left a lot to be desired. It just seemed to move too slowly for me. I seldom cannot find something good about a game, in order to recommend it for others, even if I don't care for it myself. However, the only thing I liked was the ability to choose your next move, but that alone did not make me want to buy this game. No, I will not purchase this one. As always, I recommend that you give it a try for yourself and see what you think. This is my personal take on the game and you may find that you liked it. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-03-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Creepy. Disappointing. Dark, Dank, Same old Asylum Theme. Overall: Was going to purchase this based on ratings, but said to myself, "Give it a test run." Good thing I did, I can't believe the high ratings. All I can say is test it yourself. I disliked it from the start and it was a struggle to make it through the hour trial. I won't purchase this one. Gritty graphics often bright, poor intro (which should be the best they can offer to entice the player, it was disappointing), repetitive music, macabre objects, creepy characters, another asylum theme, back and forth, and too many mini games. This game is bizarre and it was a downright unpleasant experience from the get go! Story isn’t anything new just another creepy version of of asylum theme. Sadly, I really disliked it from the start and this is rare. But, in all fairness, take the test trail to see if you like this type of game and/or theme. Graphics: Immediately disliked, grainy, dark, dull and sometimes too bright Music: Repetitious, turned down Sounds: Appropriate to scene/event Hint: Good, transports Hidden Object Games: Dark corners, hard to see object, interactive, two sided one was different and nice change Mini Games: Maze! Ugh! Too many Characters: Creepy, some well-designed, others oh well Voice overs: Good, mostly over the top
Date published: 2018-02-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So So The items to click on didn't make a lot of sense. Had to use the map a lot just to follow the story line and know where to go next. I have played a lot of these and this one just wasn't worth the time.
Date published: 2017-03-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tedious Plodding plodding plodding , tedious tedious tedious.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best Game to weird. I didn't like this game , I thought the story was just to weird. To far out there for me. I did like the visual quality and sound. When I played it at first I though it was good game but the more I played it the more I didn't like the story.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Whispered Secrets Everburning Candle Collectors Addition Only played about 10 minutes,. system extremely slow. Not up to par with other whispered secrets games!
Date published: 2016-04-02
  • y_2019, m_8, d_22, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_24525, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Whispered Secrets: Everburning Candle Collector's Edition

A fire at the local asylum takes on a supernatural life of its own!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.