Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(361.68 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Mariaglorum proudly presents the next installment of the Mystery of the Ancients series!

Something strange is happening in the town of Mud Creek. You've been called in to help Bob Price and his fiancé discover what's terrorizing their home. What starts out as a routine investigation quickly turns into a chase through the marshes. Ghostly figures are around every turn. Do you have what it takes to help the town before it's too late? Find out in this haunting hidden object puzzle adventure!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

"Loved the story line, nothing like unrequited love beyond the grave to keep you interested. Graphics were rendered beautifully gave a spooky ambiance to the game. Would highly recommend it." - Sandra, Beta Tester

"This game is brilliant, and it took my attention from the start. It's really creepy but not too scary. I hope you plan to bring it out soon, because I can't wait to play it and see what happens." - Teresita, Beta Tester

  • Traverse the underworld and unravel its secrets in the bonus game!
  • Collect figurines and find hidden bats
  • Reference the comprehensive strategy guide
  • Unlock achievements and solve an exclusive jigsaw puzzle
  • Enjoy the soundtrack, videos, wallpaper, and concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 935 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(361.68 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Splendid, dreamy music & a content-rich gameplay A truly great game, that had so many scenes, one after the other, that I couldn't believe that its creators had such a blast and inspiration! A never-ending gameplay, and that's a good thing money- and commitment-wise. As for its music, really-really-really top! good job guyz
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful scenery and gameplay I confess: i do love all the games of Mariaglorum. They have this authentic look and feel of towns in former times. It is such a pleasure to just look at all the details of the scenery that i sometimes really just stop playing and stare instead. I love these developers!!! And the story is so interesting one really wants to rescue all this doomed souls. The HOPs have a lot of variation, some quite astonishing. Play it, people, in fact there is nothing better out there!!!
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best for a long time Have only played this game for awhile Found the mini games well thought out Sometimes if a game doesn't keep me interest I intend to leave it but this one has held my interest story line good sound and graphics are tops. looking forward to continue playing it.
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery of the Ancients 5 has a Brilliant story that deserves Editors Choice!!! I really loved this edition to Mystery of the Ancients. You are called in to test and investigate the house for some mysterious activity. A couple that is about to get married experience some ghostly presence in the house (who would want that added to all the pre-wedding chaos?). What you thought would be a simple check turns into a real challenge as you get deeper in the story. The ghost of an ex-girlfriend seems to be quite determined for revenge. As a supernatural specialist you are caught up in this love triangle. The graphics of the game and the voice overs are quite good. The colors and the light is just right - not too dark and with a lot of detail which I really appreciate. There is an AWESOME bonus game that turns into a trip in the underworld for you. The game is offered in four modes: Casual, Advanced, Expert, and Custom. The hints and skips are adjustable 1-90 seconds. A map and a strategy guide is provided to help you get about and get through some of the challenges if you need. You get a magic token that protects you from the evil power of the ex. There seems to be a well balence between the hidden object scenes and the game's puzzles. You need to solve a match-3 game throughout the game to defeat the power of the angry ghost. The hidden object scenes are presented with a great variety of searches. You get the multi-step ones, the story ones, the locate ones and other. Then you stumble upon different kinds of puzzles along the way. As for the collectibles, you are to find all the 9 statues and 25 bats. 18 achievements are another part of the extras, and they give you 21 jigsaw puzzle pieces to collect. And, of course, you get all the media extras to download and enjoy outside of the game (music, wallpaper, concept art, video). Long time fans of the series are in for a treat, if you aren't familiar with the series this is an excellent starting point. Here are more editions as I remember playing them. Enjoy! ? Mystery of the Ancients: Curse of the Black Water CE ? Mystery of the Ancients: Lockwood Manor CE ? Mystery of the Ancients: Deadly Cold CE ? Mystery of the Ancients: Three Guardians CE ? Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek CE
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MARRY ME MARIA G!!!!!!!!! SURPURB!! SENSACIONAL!! SUOERIOR!! SUBLIME!!! SO !! I CANT SPELL LOL THIS IS MY SECOND PICK FOR GAME OF THE YEAR!!! MY EYES ARE CLOSING BUT CANT STOP PLAYING!!! ME MYSELF AND I LOVE EVERY SECOND EVERY SCENE EVERY MUSIC SEQUENCE THE ELECTRIC COLOR THE STORY SO MANY PLACES TO GO I LOVE THE BUCTHER!!!!!! YOU ARE ALL SPECIAL PEOPLE TO CREATE THIS EXCITING WORLD FOR US TO ENTER I DONT THINK SOME REVIEWERS REALLY EVEN LIKE PLAYING THESE GAMES IF YOU DONT LOVE LOVE THIS ONE YOU GOT A PROBLEM DOEST GET MUCH BETTER!!!!! THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH!!!
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU TRY TO MOVE ON After your success solving several paranormal event cases you seem to have a great reputation so it comes as no surprise when you receive a letter from Bob Price asking for your help to find out why there are so many unusual things happening at his estate. It seems like Bob’s ex-love, Arlene, is not the least bit happy that he seems to have quickly forgotten about her and moved on to a new woman in his life. Things in Bob’s life are going from bad to worse as Arlene doesn’t understand why Bob has so quickly moved onto someone new and she is pitching a fit that would make a two-year old proud. Will you be able to step in and soothe this unhappy spirit and make things better for the inhabitants of Mud Water Creek. The game offers the custom mode of gameplay that I am happy to see more devs offering in their games. Although there are not too many settings to fiddle with, you can still set the hint and skip times as well as get rid of the dreaded tutorial. You have a map that you acquire early in the game as well as a special token that is provided by a mysterious benefactor. The token is what some call a gimmick as you must first play a mini-game each time you need to use it. The HOPS and the mini-games are very good and I found them to be quite enjoyable. Sometimes the HOPS were a bit different and fall into the category of a mini-HOP since you only need to find a certain number of a specific item to complete the scenes. The mini-games are not difficult but I had to fiddle a bit with the one to rebuild the bridge – a puzzle I loved. The extras seem to be minimal since you really don’t get to view the entire strategy guide until you purchase the game. We have no idea of the length of the game since only two chapters are shown in what information is available. Unfortunately when this happens, I won’t purchase the game. IMHO, if a developer wants to sell me a game, let me see what they are offering me before I part with the full price for a CE. After playing the demo for the game, I did find it enjoyable but I am still a bit on the fence about the complete game. I dislike the artistic rendering of the scorned woman who is out for revenge who at times she reminds me of the misunderstood muse in another game we had last year. Even though I do like the HOPS and the mini-games, I might wait for the SE release of the game. To all of you who loved the previous Mysteries of the Ancients games, I hope this one will be just as terrific. As always, please try the demo to see if Mud Water Creek is a game you will enjoy.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHAT ABOUT BOB? Poor Bob has his hands full. Arlene? Duh, she "dropped" him ten years ago as he says to new love Sarah. Well, something's not right and it's a whole lot of problems for everyone. Arlene is somehow back and spreading destruction. She's definitely angry with Bob! I'm sure he has a good reason for everything. Can't wait to hear this one! Creative puzzles, HOPS, and match puzzles to win battles over scary monsters. Well written with dashes of humor make for a pleasant gaming experience. Thank you MARIAGLORUM and BFG! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Based on intro Really enjoyed the story line and the plot. games not too hard, but challenging, I am looking forward to playing this in it entirety
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery of the Ancients It was so great that I would love to play more on this title.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arlene the Ghost is having none of it! Bob offers Sarah a family heirloom necklace, as you do, while they're boating on the lake. This awakens the spirit of his ex, Arlene, and wow does she cause a lot of damage. She must REALLY want that necklace - or maybe she just wants Bob? (Can't blame her there - he's one of those muscly lumberjack types, even if he isn't the sharpest tool in the locked box.) Now it's your job to save Sarah, help Bob, and even get together with Arlene's old magic teacher to defeat the spirit. The back story unfolds via Arlene's magical diary, and you discover there's a lot more to this ex than anyone thought. Along the way you do some puzzles, including a HOS with a (spoiler alert) running stream of objects you have to click on to put a doll back together. I loved that puzzle, as well as the fat raccoon you have to feed in order to get some fuses. I felt a lot better when I fed that raccoon, after (another spoiler alert) scaring him with freaky monkey toy. The cutscenes are beautiful, and if you like horror along with your feels, go for this game. It's really well done. Did I mention the map? Beautifully drawn! Kudos, game developers!
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden object game Excellent game!!!! Enjoyed it.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THOSE MUDDY WATERS RUN DEEP When you play with fire, chances are you're gonna get burned. When Bob Price proposed to his girlfriend Arlene, she consulted the spirits to give her guidance, and she got burned. Bob never heard from Arlene again, until the day came that he proposed to Sarah. Bob presented Sarah with a necklace that has been in his family for generations, but unbeknownst to him, a portal to the underworld has been opened and lost souls are pouring through, including a scorned ex-fiance! The storyline is a bit cheesy, and certainly isn't a new plot, but the graphics are fantastic and the game is entertaining enough to overlook the "been there, done that" factor. You will receive an Amulet that seems to annoy the spirits more than anything else, and each time it's used, you will play a click and drag Match 3 type game where you make matches of each icon shown with specific amounts for each token. There are 25 Hidden Bats, which are rather large in size, and there are 9 Hidden Character Figurines that are hidden much better than the Bats. There are the usual Achievements to earn including an Achievement for answering a few easy questions about the game itself as you progress. The Hidden Object Scenes aren't bad, but not very creative in my opinion. Most are Multiple Finds, or Fragment Finds, but I did enjoy the Interactive List Find where you had to click on items that matched the list as the item were floating down a stream at a fairly fast clip. The Mini Games are very doable, some were way too easy, but most offer a good variety. The following are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Pull all rings open by selecting them in the correct order. 2) Arrange boards on a grid so that all boards fit without overlapping. 3) Find Objects shown at the bottom of each page in a storybook. 4) Rearrange the parts so each doll is in front of the appropriate scene. 5) Swap the tokens so each one is hanging from its matching pattern. This Collector's Edition has 6 Music Soundtracks, 18 Wallpapers, 24 Concept Art pictures, Videos, 9 Character Figurines, 25 Hidden Bats, Jigsaw Puzzle to assemble, Achievements, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REViISITING THE “CHRISTMAS CAROL,” - WELCOME ARLENE, THE SPIRIT OF GIRLFRIENDS PAST. OVERVIEW: As a supernatural specialist, you are off to save Bob Price and his fiancée, Sarah, who are being haunted by Arlene, a ghost from the land of girlfriends past. Some “ghouls” can never take no for an answer, and Arlene is one of those girls. Out for revenge, she has kidnapped both of them. I LOVE this game. The game script is well-written, containing some humorous elements. Many will relate to the saga of eternal agony of ex-relationships which never seem to die. The graphics are well-done with an excellent portrayal of the screaming banshee, Arlene along with her "hunky" ex, Bob, and his sweeter than “gummy drops” fiancée, Sarah. The voiceovers are also well-done with one familiar sounding voice from games past. From the demo, there seems to be an equal amount of HOP scenes and mini-games. They both vary in style and the puzzles are all easy. There is a variation of a Match-3 puzzle you must solve throughout the game in order to defeat the evil energy from Arlene. This mini-game gets more difficult as the game proceeds. There are two items to collect and a jigsaw puzzle to solve at the end of the game. HOP SCENES: In the demo, they include a multiple step one which involves a cute chubby raccoon. They also include lists of specific items to locate to replace back within the scene, matching, a storybook sequence and a general list of items to locate. MINI-GAMES: Besides the variation of the Match-3 game there are also a sequence puzzle, a tangram puzzle, an assembly puzzle, and a switch puzzle. LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Expert, Custom Hints and Skips – 1 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game Magic token to keep you safe from evil energy from Arlene Collect 25 bats Collect 9 statues 6 Achievements with 3 sections for each one (18 in total) Collect 21 jigsaw puzzles pieces as you collect achievements Strategy guide 6 Music selections, 18 wallpapers, 24 Concept Art, Video HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES HOP SCENES: A. Collect 12 bell pieces and replace them within the scene to reassemble it B. Multiple step: (1) Collect 12 items of food to feed a chubby little raccoon. Some food items he will not eat. You will receive needed inventory items after he is fed properly. (2) Matching. Match up fuses to remove them from the scene C. Storybook sequence. Locate items within the pages of a storybook while learning a little of the history between Bob and Arlene. D. List of items to locate MINI-GAMES: A. Match-3 puzzle. Using your magic token, play a variation of a Match-3 puzzle in which you must connect and remove three or more tokens for three or more colors. Tokens can only be removed if they adjoin either vertically, horizontally or diagonally. The amount you need to collect for each color is listed. You only receive a certain amount of moves to accomplish this. INCREASES IN DIFFICULTY B. Sequence puzzle. Use door handles in sequence to open a gate. EASY C. Tangram puzzle. Move angled boards into position to create a bridge. EASY D. Assembly puzzle. Rearrange the clothing on five dolls so that each doll as the correct clothing. EASY E. Switch puzzle. Move tiles between three hanging ornaments so that the attached tiles match up for each part of the 3 ornaments. EASY
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have to say, I enjoyed it. Okay...I freely admit, I'm a sucker for charm, & this game, oddly enough (for one w/ dark themes), for me, at least, has it. As always, you'll need a blowtorch (seriously, what is it w/ MG & blowtorches?), but there are moments that are so lovely, such as the zoom-in on the wild roses. (That said: There definitely are dark themes, so maybe check-out a walk-through, particularly regarding chapter four, before you purchase.) I wouldn't call it challenging at all, except perhaps for a beginner...more like relaxed & enjoyable. And I personally enjoyed the recurring skipping-stones game, as I have no other games that employ that, except as an alt to HO scenes. The bonus play is equally enjoyable. This, & The Curse of Black Water were my first purchases in the Mystery of the Ancients series (got them together on the deal), & I've since purchased two others, I liked them that well...my only objection to MG games, in gen'l, is that (imo) they've taken to "dumbing-down" their mini-games. Actual rating, 3.5-4; get it on a deal, & relax & enjoy.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different HOP's which is nice This was a fun and interesting game. I really liked the different ways the HOP's were set up(much more interactive than others). The puzzles were ok. They were a bit tedious at times, but easy to solve. The butcher actually scared me! Usually these types of games don't get a reaction like that out of me. Made it fun though.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Arlene wails like a banshee!! Where are my earplugs? The storyline is redundant, the music was good, the graphics very good, cut scenes even better, the voiceovers were fine, could have used more emotion from some of the characters but again not bad. Arlene is a doozy! What saved this game for me are the tasks, pretty good puzzles/mini-games. Some were easy but tedious and sometimes challenging. I'm a little weary of the rituals and the use of runes or even the so-called match games to defeat my foes, but I must say that the variety of things to do in this game were phenomenal. There was so much to do and loads of fun. The flow was right on! Lots of back n' forth but you have a great map; you have your collectibles--figurines and bats--I found all of the figurines but only half of the bats during the game, and after completing the Bonus Game you have the option of collecting the rest if you missed them. I think when you're so engrossed in the game play that you can tend to forget about them like I often do, so having this option is great and they're easier to find because you don't have a hundred other things to look for. The only problem with this game is the delayed reaction from scene to scene that I experienced, and, too, I'd have to click my mouse a couple of times to retrieve an object, annoying as that may be for me, if it hadn't been for the clever hidden object scenes and numerous tasks, I would have given this a lower rating. Nothing is wrong with my laptop BTW. For the better part, the tasks had rhyme to its reason and the flow was fantastic. That's what I look for--plus graphics that are pleasing to the eye. The graphics were very good but not the greatest I've ever seen. But again, that depends upon where the story takes place--if it involves the underworld, how pleasing to the eye can that be? I just love beautiful scenery on the whole. But the artwork was a 5-star. I guess it's all in the eye of the beholder. The fun factor in this game is 5-stars to be sure! Great job, Devs! However, I'm giving this game a 4-1/2 star rating. I definitely recommend this game it's just that I'm tired of the same old subject matter--ghosts, underworld, rituals, etc. The tasks are very, very clever, and you'll get a lot of bang for the buck in this game, nonetheless.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A new and exciting way to banish evil spirits Here is a short synopsis of the game after purchasing and playing it half way through: PROS: MATCH 3 GAME: A unique and different Match 3 game is introduced. You have four colored tiles (red/green/purple/brown), 10 of each. You have to destroy these tiles in a specific number of moves in order to destroy the evil ghost. Sounds easy, right? It starts out easy, but as you progress in the game, it gets harder. STORY LINE: I thought the story and the banishment of the ghosts interesting. Although there are so many games out there with ghosts and evil spirits, it's the BANISHMENT of the ghosts in this game, that sets it apart from the other games. Arlene (the main ghost) had a hand in each of the ghosts death, and thus the more you banish/kill-off the ghosts, the madder she gets. SHE WANTS CONTROL OF THEM AND OF YOU. GRAPHICS: For the most part, the graphics were crisp and clear. (see cons for more detail). MINI-GAMES: I have to agree with most of the other reviewers when I say that most of the mini-games were on the easy side. CONS: At the beginning of the game, the graphics were grainy and dark. The caricature of Bob was almost comical, his movements resembling a puppet that practically 'floated' as he walked. The voice used definitely didn't match the image/drawing portrayed. Overall, I enjoyed the game, even though the macabre is not my 'cup of tea'.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Here's Mud In Your Eye Awaken a deep mystery and uncover the history of a family heirloom necklace. Fairly good game. Love some of the interaction with critters, has lots to do, Nice jump map, good enough Characters, Nice little surprises, Collect bats, and easy breezy puzzles. Not my favorite in this series but still worth a play.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from muddling along enjoyed the game great grafics. good game for all levels of players. well done
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Enjoyable Game In This Series .... Great Graphics, Sound, Effects, Animations, Story, Voice & Video Bits ... A Good Addition To The Series. The Preview Video Really Undersold The Game That Turned Out To Be Very Enjoyable. My Only Downer Would Be Repetition Of The Match Puzzle Throughout The Game That Had Me Reaching For The Skip Button After The First Two Appearances ... Worth A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from hope my ex doesn't find me good game liked everything about it !!!
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ok game but very short I like this game but there was nothing new or different about the game play or puzzles. The HOP were very easy to find. I enjoyed playing the game but it wasn't anything that really "WOWED" me... If you like an easy going game, this is the game for you.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the chapter setup Beautiful graphics, interesting story. an HOs were different and challenging. I really liked the fact that there were chapters so you can play a chapter, quit, an come back without being lost. I forget my place in a game an have to sit an play all the way through in most games, but not this one, so I never got bore or in a hurry to finish so I can go to bed or do chores, I really enjoyed this one,
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holding Back A Star This was a creepy, fun and interesting game. I hold back a star for every good game that includes too many of those annoying puzzles where, if you move one thing, another thing moves as well. Rather than subbing a match 3 for a HOP, I would love to sub the match 3 for the filler puzzles that just slow down the game for me. Other than that, bring on more like this one.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Full game and Bonus I really liked the game! I will let the other senior reviewers give the details. I will just add my thoughts. I liked the game play. I liked the HOPS and the games were fun. I gave it four stars because there were no collectables in the bonus game and I really hate that! It was quite easy as I did not need the guide, skip or hint to get all of the achievements the first time through. It also seemed a rather short game, especially the bonus game. That said, it was nice to be able to accomplish all achievements the first time through! A nice addition to the series which is one of my favorites. I can see myself playing again. Try it yourself and decide. Happy Gaming Fishies!
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from solid 4 star game, if you are graphic lover like me you will be satisfied This game have disturbing vibe whole time wich supports beautiful dark artworks and occultism theme. Characters are interesting, boatman have creepy stories about each locations, nicely done. Matching tokens is my favorite mini game. Graphics is really nice like i say very detailed. So why only 4 star?Cutscenes disturb pace and game is certainly very easy, gameplay nothing new of course. PS:collecting and using items is essence HO genre;)if you do not like this,dont play
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Far Cry from the Previous Games of the Series I played all the games of the Mystery of the Ancients CE's. These were my first games and I adored them: the plots, graphics, HOGs and mini games were great. I have just finished playing Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek CE. I was greatly disappointed to say the least: first of all, the game is short: I have finished it in few hours! It was weird to play without any background music as well. But when I got to the butcher's room I was on the point of deleting the game: gory items and corpses, What did annoy me most was having to play one and the same game each time I encountered a new ghost. I am not a fan of destroying skulls especially when there is a time limit. Nevertheless I finished it. I do hope MariaGlorum will come up with another game on a par with the former Mystery of the Ancients series.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from If you like murders and mayhem, you might like this game Played this last night, casually (as I first play new games). I think I would never be able to complete it on a more difficult level. I had to rely heavily on the hints and sometimes the guide, as I couldn't always follow the "logic" in the game. Creepy games don't usually bother me too much, but I have to say that the scenes with the Butcher really freaked me out! (And I still remember the movie, "Psycho" from my early teens, so I don't watch things like chainsaw murders or serious zombie movies!) I do have the other games in this series, so I will probably keep buying them! Try it for yourself, but be warned that the creepiest parts (in my opinion) don't come up in the trial.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It has its moments but it just isn't that great The Mud Water Creek edition of Mystery of the Ancients is a true mixed bag. This review is based on the 60 minute demo. It was not compelling enough to shell out for the game. Here's the good parts. The developers have created some relatively thoughtful HOG events. Usually there is a reason you have to find each of the items on the list during the HOG screens. Some of the other puzzles are things that are new or otherwise adding some variety to a genre that has become quite repetitive. The battle mechanic with the emblem, while not an original puzzle concept unto itself, shows an interesting integration of match-3 type puzzle action with a fight like a Puzzle Quest. Some of the graphics look solid. The animations show care. There is some real technical prowess here. Here's the bad part. The story is a HOG cliche. Stop me if you've heard this one before. Evil spirit comes back and captures people. You have to rescue hem. This storyline is so rote and unoriginal, a variation of it shows up nearly weekly on BFG. Plenty of HOG genre cliches too--pulling nails, using paint remover, fishing stuff out of the water, using oil to remove rust--they are all there. Hiding things in random places--why is the item I need stuck behind the panel of a lamp that has no relation to the item--it's there. And how would it occur to me to look there except for the magical sparkles to tell me? Picking up things you would never reasonably think to take well before you know you will need them? It's there. A character who is working with you but cannot do anything for themselves (YOU'RE in the guy's house but he's telling you to find things in the house when he doesn't know where there are AND HE LIVES THERE). The same old tropes are there. It's as if the developers have to meet the deadline and no one had time to come up with a new and compelling approach. Then there's the unintentionally hilarious voice talent with an evil spirit that sounds straight out of Army of Darkness. It takes the often good visuals and ruins them with bad acting. So you're left with a mixed bag. Some new puzzle ideas and interesting approaches to HOG with some good graphics on the one hand. A cookie-cutter HOG story with the usual tropes and silliness that have kept the genre stuck in neutral for almost 5 years voiced by terrible acting on the other. Bottom line: life is too short and money is too tight to pay for unevenness and mediocrity. Pass on this one.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from did not engage The storyline did not engage me atall. I felt bored very quickly and did not finish the demo. I think this sort of plot is very overdone. It all seems a little silly tho I am more than happy to play loads of games that have a fantasy line. Not for me this time.
Date published: 2016-04-15
  • y_2019, m_8, d_19, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_24571, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek Collector's Edition

It's up to you to stop the evil lurking in Mud Creek!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.