Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(361.68 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Mariaglorum proudly presents the next installment of the Mystery of the Ancients series!

Something strange is happening in the town of Mud Creek. You've been called in to help Bob Price and his fiancé discover what's terrorizing their home. What starts out as a routine investigation quickly turns into a chase through the marshes. Ghostly figures are around every turn. Do you have what it takes to help the town before it's too late? Find out in this haunting hidden object puzzle adventure!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

"Loved the story line, nothing like unrequited love beyond the grave to keep you interested. Graphics were rendered beautifully gave a spooky ambiance to the game. Would highly recommend it." - Sandra, Beta Tester

"This game is brilliant, and it took my attention from the start. It's really creepy but not too scary. I hope you plan to bring it out soon, because I can't wait to play it and see what happens." - Teresita, Beta Tester

  • Traverse the underworld and unravel its secrets in the bonus game!
  • Collect figurines and find hidden bats
  • Reference the comprehensive strategy guide
  • Unlock achievements and solve an exclusive jigsaw puzzle
  • Enjoy the soundtrack, videos, wallpaper, and concept art

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 935 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(361.68 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 46.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Arlene the Ghost is having none of it! Bob offers Sarah a family heirloom necklace, as you do, while they're boating on the lake. This awakens the spirit of his ex, Arlene, and wow does she cause a lot of damage. She must REALLY want that necklace - or maybe she just wants Bob? (Can't blame her there - he's one of those muscly lumberjack types, even if he isn't the sharpest tool in the locked box.) Now it's your job to save Sarah, help Bob, and even get together with Arlene's old magic teacher to defeat the spirit. The back story unfolds via Arlene's magical diary, and you discover there's a lot more to this ex than anyone thought. Along the way you do some puzzles, including a HOS with a (spoiler alert) running stream of objects you have to click on to put a doll back together. I loved that puzzle, as well as the fat raccoon you have to feed in order to get some fuses. I felt a lot better when I fed that raccoon, after (another spoiler alert) scaring him with freaky monkey toy. The cutscenes are beautiful, and if you like horror along with your feels, go for this game. It's really well done. Did I mention the map? Beautifully drawn! Kudos, game developers!
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent graphics and absorbing story! The graphics are not cartoon-like, they’re natural looking and sharp. Lots of real looking items and lots of detail. I love the garden in the woods and the real water and stream that features a few times!! I like to play a mix of games, and this is exactly what I needed to play. It’s FUN, and NOT created with realism in mind as far as the story goes. The story moves swiftly, the characters have charm. Good HOPS and puzzles, and I really liked the “connecting shapes” game that occurs throughout. The game is definitely is on the lighter side of occult.
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An exceptional game Absolutely superb game. I'd give it six stars if I could ! The graphics are just amazing, the storyline excellent, it's extremely creepy in parts (the Mad Butcher!), the storyline grips you from the start and it's a joy to play. One of the best games I've played in three years. Buy it - you won't be disappointed.
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I recommend this game gears spin when you're trying to place an inventory item. Easy to keep track of where you are because there aren't 10 places to remember where you saw things. Only a few places are open at a time. Good hint system. Great story line and good voice overs. All in all its not perfect but its a great game.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game in a long time! Very enjoyable game. Good level of difficulty, great graphics and voice acting, but most of all it had a GREAT LENGTH! Most of these games are way too short. THIS WAS PERFECT.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it. Loved this game. This is the most fun game I've played in a while. The game itself is challenging but not too hard and the mini games were different and interesting.
Date published: 2016-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from REViISITING THE “CHRISTMAS CAROL,” - WELCOME ARLENE, THE SPIRIT OF GIRLFRIENDS PAST. OVERVIEW: As a supernatural specialist, you are off to save Bob Price and his fiancée, Sarah, who are being haunted by Arlene, a ghost from the land of girlfriends past. Some “ghouls” can never take no for an answer, and Arlene is one of those girls. Out for revenge, she has kidnapped both of them. I LOVE this game. The game script is well-written, containing some humorous elements. Many will relate to the saga of eternal agony of ex-relationships which never seem to die. The graphics are well-done with an excellent portrayal of the screaming banshee, Arlene along with her "hunky" ex, Bob, and his sweeter than “gummy drops” fiancée, Sarah. The voiceovers are also well-done with one familiar sounding voice from games past. From the demo, there seems to be an equal amount of HOP scenes and mini-games. They both vary in style and the puzzles are all easy. There is a variation of a Match-3 puzzle you must solve throughout the game in order to defeat the evil energy from Arlene. This mini-game gets more difficult as the game proceeds. There are two items to collect and a jigsaw puzzle to solve at the end of the game. HOP SCENES: In the demo, they include a multiple step one which involves a cute chubby raccoon. They also include lists of specific items to locate to replace back within the scene, matching, a storybook sequence and a general list of items to locate. MINI-GAMES: Besides the variation of the Match-3 game there are also a sequence puzzle, a tangram puzzle, an assembly puzzle, and a switch puzzle. LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Expert, Custom Hints and Skips – 1 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game Magic token to keep you safe from evil energy from Arlene Collect 25 bats Collect 9 statues 6 Achievements with 3 sections for each one (18 in total) Collect 21 jigsaw puzzles pieces as you collect achievements Strategy guide 6 Music selections, 18 wallpapers, 24 Concept Art, Video HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES HOP SCENES: A. Collect 12 bell pieces and replace them within the scene to reassemble it B. Multiple step: (1) Collect 12 items of food to feed a chubby little raccoon. Some food items he will not eat. You will receive needed inventory items after he is fed properly. (2) Matching. Match up fuses to remove them from the scene C. Storybook sequence. Locate items within the pages of a storybook while learning a little of the history between Bob and Arlene. D. List of items to locate MINI-GAMES: A. Match-3 puzzle. Using your magic token, play a variation of a Match-3 puzzle in which you must connect and remove three or more tokens for three or more colors. Tokens can only be removed if they adjoin either vertically, horizontally or diagonally. The amount you need to collect for each color is listed. You only receive a certain amount of moves to accomplish this. INCREASES IN DIFFICULTY B. Sequence puzzle. Use door handles in sequence to open a gate. EASY C. Tangram puzzle. Move angled boards into position to create a bridge. EASY D. Assembly puzzle. Rearrange the clothing on five dolls so that each doll as the correct clothing. EASY E. Switch puzzle. Move tiles between three hanging ornaments so that the attached tiles match up for each part of the 3 ornaments. EASY
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Based on intro Really enjoyed the story line and the plot. games not too hard, but challenging, I am looking forward to playing this in it entirety
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Out standing game !!!! The graphics, story line, the puzzles were different, all were out standing. The creativity with the story was different, never boring, Worth it. loved it. It can really crepe you out, explosive at times, a real hatchet job could be you if you are not careful.
Date published: 2016-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great story. Great game. Intriguing story line that keeps you interested from start to finish. The mini games are not very difficult but have some interesting tasks to perform as compared to other HOGs. The game keeps you guessing as to who is a bad guy and who isn't to some extent. You find yourself pulling for both the good guys and the bad at times. I really enjoyed playing this game. The length was just right and the visuals and soundtrack were perfect.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MARRY ME MARIA G!!!!!!!!! SURPURB!! SENSACIONAL!! SUOERIOR!! SUBLIME!!! SO !! I CANT SPELL LOL THIS IS MY SECOND PICK FOR GAME OF THE YEAR!!! MY EYES ARE CLOSING BUT CANT STOP PLAYING!!! ME MYSELF AND I LOVE EVERY SECOND EVERY SCENE EVERY MUSIC SEQUENCE THE ELECTRIC COLOR THE STORY SO MANY PLACES TO GO I LOVE THE BUCTHER!!!!!! YOU ARE ALL SPECIAL PEOPLE TO CREATE THIS EXCITING WORLD FOR US TO ENTER I DONT THINK SOME REVIEWERS REALLY EVEN LIKE PLAYING THESE GAMES IF YOU DONT LOVE LOVE THIS ONE YOU GOT A PROBLEM DOEST GET MUCH BETTER!!!!! THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH!!!
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Hidden object game Excellent game!!!! Enjoyed it.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mystery of the Ancients It was so great that I would love to play more on this title.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the chapter setup Beautiful graphics, interesting story. an HOs were different and challenging. I really liked the fact that there were chapters so you can play a chapter, quit, an come back without being lost. I forget my place in a game an have to sit an play all the way through in most games, but not this one, so I never got bore or in a hurry to finish so I can go to bed or do chores, I really enjoyed this one,
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Arlene wails like a banshee!! Where are my earplugs? The storyline is redundant, the music was good, the graphics very good, cut scenes even better, the voiceovers were fine, could have used more emotion from some of the characters but again not bad. Arlene is a doozy! What saved this game for me are the tasks, pretty good puzzles/mini-games. Some were easy but tedious and sometimes challenging. I'm a little weary of the rituals and the use of runes or even the so-called match games to defeat my foes, but I must say that the variety of things to do in this game were phenomenal. There was so much to do and loads of fun. The flow was right on! Lots of back n' forth but you have a great map; you have your collectibles--figurines and bats--I found all of the figurines but only half of the bats during the game, and after completing the Bonus Game you have the option of collecting the rest if you missed them. I think when you're so engrossed in the game play that you can tend to forget about them like I often do, so having this option is great and they're easier to find because you don't have a hundred other things to look for. The only problem with this game is the delayed reaction from scene to scene that I experienced, and, too, I'd have to click my mouse a couple of times to retrieve an object, annoying as that may be for me, if it hadn't been for the clever hidden object scenes and numerous tasks, I would have given this a lower rating. Nothing is wrong with my laptop BTW. For the better part, the tasks had rhyme to its reason and the flow was fantastic. That's what I look for--plus graphics that are pleasing to the eye. The graphics were very good but not the greatest I've ever seen. But again, that depends upon where the story takes place--if it involves the underworld, how pleasing to the eye can that be? I just love beautiful scenery on the whole. But the artwork was a 5-star. I guess it's all in the eye of the beholder. The fun factor in this game is 5-stars to be sure! Great job, Devs! However, I'm giving this game a 4-1/2 star rating. I definitely recommend this game it's just that I'm tired of the same old subject matter--ghosts, underworld, rituals, etc. The tasks are very, very clever, and you'll get a lot of bang for the buck in this game, nonetheless.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from solid 4 star game, if you are graphic lover like me you will be satisfied This game have disturbing vibe whole time wich supports beautiful dark artworks and occultism theme. Characters are interesting, boatman have creepy stories about each locations, nicely done. Matching tokens is my favorite mini game. Graphics is really nice like i say very detailed. So why only 4 star?Cutscenes disturb pace and game is certainly very easy, gameplay nothing new of course. PS:collecting and using items is essence HO genre;)if you do not like this,dont play
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Have to say, I enjoyed it. Okay...I freely admit, I'm a sucker for charm, & this game, oddly enough (for one w/ dark themes), for me, at least, has it. As always, you'll need a blowtorch (seriously, what is it w/ MG & blowtorches?), but there are moments that are so lovely, such as the zoom-in on the wild roses. (That said: There definitely are dark themes, so maybe check-out a walk-through, particularly regarding chapter four, before you purchase.) I wouldn't call it challenging at all, except perhaps for a beginner...more like relaxed & enjoyable. And I personally enjoyed the recurring skipping-stones game, as I have no other games that employ that, except as an alt to HO scenes. The bonus play is equally enjoyable. This, & The Curse of Black Water were my first purchases in the Mystery of the Ancients series (got them together on the deal), & I've since purchased two others, I liked them that well...my only objection to MG games, in gen'l, is that (imo) they've taken to "dumbing-down" their mini-games. Actual rating, 3.5-4; get it on a deal, & relax & enjoy.
Date published: 2016-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from muddling along enjoyed the game great grafics. good game for all levels of players. well done
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Enjoyable Game In This Series .... Great Graphics, Sound, Effects, Animations, Story, Voice & Video Bits ... A Good Addition To The Series. The Preview Video Really Undersold The Game That Turned Out To Be Very Enjoyable. My Only Downer Would Be Repetition Of The Match Puzzle Throughout The Game That Had Me Reaching For The Skip Button After The First Two Appearances ... Worth A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Different HOP's which is nice This was a fun and interesting game. I really liked the different ways the HOP's were set up(much more interactive than others). The puzzles were ok. They were a bit tedious at times, but easy to solve. The butcher actually scared me! Usually these types of games don't get a reaction like that out of me. Made it fun though.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Here's Mud In Your Eye Awaken a deep mystery and uncover the history of a family heirloom necklace. Fairly good game. Love some of the interaction with critters, has lots to do, Nice jump map, good enough Characters, Nice little surprises, Collect bats, and easy breezy puzzles. Not my favorite in this series but still worth a play.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from hope my ex doesn't find me good game liked everything about it !!!
Date published: 2016-04-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ok game but very short I like this game but there was nothing new or different about the game play or puzzles. The HOP were very easy to find. I enjoyed playing the game but it wasn't anything that really "WOWED" me... If you like an easy going game, this is the game for you.
Date published: 2016-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Full game and Bonus I really liked the game! I will let the other senior reviewers give the details. I will just add my thoughts. I liked the game play. I liked the HOPS and the games were fun. I gave it four stars because there were no collectables in the bonus game and I really hate that! It was quite easy as I did not need the guide, skip or hint to get all of the achievements the first time through. It also seemed a rather short game, especially the bonus game. That said, it was nice to be able to accomplish all achievements the first time through! A nice addition to the series which is one of my favorites. I can see myself playing again. Try it yourself and decide. Happy Gaming Fishies!
Date published: 2016-04-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Holding Back A Star This was a creepy, fun and interesting game. I hold back a star for every good game that includes too many of those annoying puzzles where, if you move one thing, another thing moves as well. Rather than subbing a match 3 for a HOP, I would love to sub the match 3 for the filler puzzles that just slow down the game for me. Other than that, bring on more like this one.
Date published: 2016-04-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A new and exciting way to banish evil spirits Here is a short synopsis of the game after purchasing and playing it half way through: PROS: MATCH 3 GAME: A unique and different Match 3 game is introduced. You have four colored tiles (red/green/purple/brown), 10 of each. You have to destroy these tiles in a specific number of moves in order to destroy the evil ghost. Sounds easy, right? It starts out easy, but as you progress in the game, it gets harder. STORY LINE: I thought the story and the banishment of the ghosts interesting. Although there are so many games out there with ghosts and evil spirits, it's the BANISHMENT of the ghosts in this game, that sets it apart from the other games. Arlene (the main ghost) had a hand in each of the ghosts death, and thus the more you banish/kill-off the ghosts, the madder she gets. SHE WANTS CONTROL OF THEM AND OF YOU. GRAPHICS: For the most part, the graphics were crisp and clear. (see cons for more detail). MINI-GAMES: I have to agree with most of the other reviewers when I say that most of the mini-games were on the easy side. CONS: At the beginning of the game, the graphics were grainy and dark. The caricature of Bob was almost comical, his movements resembling a puppet that practically 'floated' as he walked. The voice used definitely didn't match the image/drawing portrayed. Overall, I enjoyed the game, even though the macabre is not my 'cup of tea'.
Date published: 2016-05-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Far Cry from the Previous Games of the Series I played all the games of the Mystery of the Ancients CE's. These were my first games and I adored them: the plots, graphics, HOGs and mini games were great. I have just finished playing Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek CE. I was greatly disappointed to say the least: first of all, the game is short: I have finished it in few hours! It was weird to play without any background music as well. But when I got to the butcher's room I was on the point of deleting the game: gory items and corpses, What did annoy me most was having to play one and the same game each time I encountered a new ghost. I am not a fan of destroying skulls especially when there is a time limit. Nevertheless I finished it. I do hope MariaGlorum will come up with another game on a par with the former Mystery of the Ancients series.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be worse Not a bad game but just a tad too easy. Finished the demo in 39 minutes so suspect the game might not be too long. I didn't like the twitchy movement of the inventory. HOG's a bit different to the usual, so that's in it's favour, but not enough different to make it worth buying. Not a buy for me, but as usual, try before you buy. You may like it.
Date published: 2016-04-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beware the "Price" of this Boat Ride A continuation of the series, previous titles were: Lockwood Manor, Deadly Cold, Three Guardians and Curse of the Black Water. This time, you've been asked by Bob Price to come to the Price Estate and investigate strange goings on. Bob lives there with wife Sarah, located on a large waterway known as Mud Creek. Once you arrive, a mysterious boatman navigates the waters to take you from place to place. The artwork and cut scenes are excellent, the look is slightly hazy and washed out. The palette includes lots of blues and grays. Some scenes are almost entirely of these colors, while others are more varied. The voice acting was mostly good. The voices seemed appropriate to the characters appearance. I did not really notice the music, but the sounds were well done, especially when various items fell to the ground with a nice clangy-clang. They attempted to make this a creepy, somewhat scary game. I was not impressed. After one event occurs Bob says, "I can't believe this!" My immediate response was, "neither can I." The story came across as something that might be scary to very young players, or a parody of a scary story for more mature ones. The screeching of the main protagonist was not a welcome addition either. The game play is pretty easy. The most difficult puzzle in the trial was assembling broken boards to fit inside a grid. You also have a magic charm used repeatedly against spirits. Each time it is used you play a puzzle which is a variation of match 3 with a limited number of moves. I stink at match 3, but had no problem completing these with moves to spare. The HO scenes were a little better. One has a tiny stream flowing down the center. Make sure you observe everything. There were logical issues, because bronze bells cannot be welded back together with a blowtorch, and there are no fuses inside grandfather clocks. But we come across so many of these issues that I wonder if I should mention them anymore since the developers apparently don't listen. The CE has collectibles - 25 morphing bats, nine figurines, and 21 fresco pieces - a strategy guide, bonus game and the usual other stuff. There is a transportable map, objectives, and four difficulty settings including Custom. Since this game fell short on the story telling and play, I would only consider purchasing it as a SE. The extras aren't much and the play went so fast I felt I would finish in 2 hours. Nevertheless, there will probably be many fishes that will enjoy this. You may be one of them. If you do get in the boat, be sure to keep your hands and feet inside at all times.
Date published: 2016-04-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It has its moments but it just isn't that great The Mud Water Creek edition of Mystery of the Ancients is a true mixed bag. This review is based on the 60 minute demo. It was not compelling enough to shell out for the game. Here's the good parts. The developers have created some relatively thoughtful HOG events. Usually there is a reason you have to find each of the items on the list during the HOG screens. Some of the other puzzles are things that are new or otherwise adding some variety to a genre that has become quite repetitive. The battle mechanic with the emblem, while not an original puzzle concept unto itself, shows an interesting integration of match-3 type puzzle action with a fight like a Puzzle Quest. Some of the graphics look solid. The animations show care. There is some real technical prowess here. Here's the bad part. The story is a HOG cliche. Stop me if you've heard this one before. Evil spirit comes back and captures people. You have to rescue hem. This storyline is so rote and unoriginal, a variation of it shows up nearly weekly on BFG. Plenty of HOG genre cliches too--pulling nails, using paint remover, fishing stuff out of the water, using oil to remove rust--they are all there. Hiding things in random places--why is the item I need stuck behind the panel of a lamp that has no relation to the item--it's there. And how would it occur to me to look there except for the magical sparkles to tell me? Picking up things you would never reasonably think to take well before you know you will need them? It's there. A character who is working with you but cannot do anything for themselves (YOU'RE in the guy's house but he's telling you to find things in the house when he doesn't know where there are AND HE LIVES THERE). The same old tropes are there. It's as if the developers have to meet the deadline and no one had time to come up with a new and compelling approach. Then there's the unintentionally hilarious voice talent with an evil spirit that sounds straight out of Army of Darkness. It takes the often good visuals and ruins them with bad acting. So you're left with a mixed bag. Some new puzzle ideas and interesting approaches to HOG with some good graphics on the one hand. A cookie-cutter HOG story with the usual tropes and silliness that have kept the genre stuck in neutral for almost 5 years voiced by terrible acting on the other. Bottom line: life is too short and money is too tight to pay for unevenness and mediocrity. Pass on this one.
Date published: 2016-04-16
  • y_2019, m_12, d_13, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_24571, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Mystery of the Ancients: Mud Water Creek Collector's Edition

It's up to you to stop the evil lurking in Mud Creek!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.