Haunted Hotel: The Axiom Butcher Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Haunted Hotel: The Axiom Butcher Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(469.89 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Elephant Games proudly presents the next installment of the Haunted Hotel series! Welcome to the Axiom Hotel. If you're lucky, you may just get out alive. Eleven years after the Axiom Butcher's reign of terror in the hotel, the murders have resumed. It's up to you to uncover the mystery behind this madman and help the hotel guests. Will you figure it out in time, or will you be next? Find out in this haunting hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Dig deeper into the Axiom's past in the Bonus Chapter!
  • Peruse the helpful Strategy Guide
  • Test your skills with achievements and replayable HOPs & mini-games
  • Explore the Secret Room, wallpapers, and concept art
  • Discover collectible Tarot Cards, Crystal Balls, and more!

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1403 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Haunted Hotel: The Axiom Butcher Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(469.89 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Haunted Hotel: The Axiom Butcher Collector's Edition is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 51.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE GHOST OF A SERIAL KILLER IS EVEN SCARIER! Recently I dusted off the first few Haunted Hotel games because I love this series and wanted to refresh my memory of it's beginnings. What I refreshed was the discovery that this series started out horribly! Haunted Hotel I & II aren't even remotely scary, and aren't really about hauntings at all, just weird things happening inside the rooms of a hotel. Luckily for us, things got more hauntingly creepy and The Axiom Butcher has returned from the dead to add a few more bodies to his long bucket list of things he apparently didn't finish before dying! The graphics just keep getting better and better, the crisp computer generated graphics are far superior than it's predecessors, the details are so realistic, which helps to make the gamer one with the surroundings of this creepy Hotel where you check in anytime, but you may not want to check out! This Collector's Edition has 25 Morphing Objects to find and 20 Hidden, but rather large Crystal Balls which contain some rather unusual items within, and also gives brief descriptions in the secret room. There are the usual Achievements to earn and many of the inventory items have plus signs indicating some type of interaction is required before the item can be used. The Hidden Object Scenes are in a variety of styles, Interactive List, Progressive Silhouetted Shapes, Multiples and even finding items that match the Keywords shown in yellow text during a short story. The Mini Games are doable, and fairly decent, nothing groundbreaking but they are fun and entertaining such as selecting and placing dominoes on the empty spaces, each domino should only fit when two matching symbols are placed side by side. This Collector's Edition has 10 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art pictures, 4 Music Soundtracks, 18 Achievements, 20 collectible Crystal Balls, 25 Morphing Objects Tarot Cards, 13 re-playable Mini Games, 15 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, a Secret Room, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb.!!!!! They did have a few minor disappointments for me. Out of tons no problem did not buy. This one oh! yes.! So now I am happy again. Blood was a little much but I did not mind that much. Boy to do this amazes me totally. Don't ever stop price a little much for me as a person never the less. Bravo Girl's and Boys.
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SKEERED TO PEEK THROUGH THE KEYHOLE! Purchased/played all the Haunted Hotel games and The Axiom Butcher has not only maintained but also vastly improved HH originality and excitement. The superior talent and quality Elephant Games exhibits throughout is extraordinary. An interesting storyline develops which to me is very important if not the most important aspect in any given HOPA. Pure adventure games inherently are based upon a specific plot that sadly HOPAS have lost focus and replace instead with eye candy and running about. Lately, however, games have been vastly improving just when I was about to throw in the BFG towel. Gamers will investigate various rooms and interactions in the hotel, however, travel is minimal and kept within a do-able space that maintains interest. Thanks to Elephant Games--one of my favorite developers for years! I always look forward to seeing JAMES in your Haunted Hotel series! Enjoy! -Mama Mia-
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from who do you trust? booohahahaha loved it. morphing objects easy to find for these old eyes, crystal balls are really beautiful and go read them when you're done. good plot great graphics..no dark squinting scenes. i had to use the jump map after awhile got tired running up and down but this game to me was worth it which i haven't seen in awhile .play the demo if you will and i don't know why the concern of the blood i didn't see there was too much. whatcha expect when people are getting hacked.lol. enjoy fishies..
Date published: 2016-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YEAH, I REALLY LIKED IT - WELL WORTH GETTING I enjoyed playing this game. The story line is easy to follow, there is plenty to do and lots of collectibles to find. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Casual, Advanced, Hardcore and Custom modes of play; * Interactive map; * Diary; * 16 Achievements; * Find 6 Tarot Cards, 20 Crystal Balls and 25 Morphing Objects in game and bonus. I played on Custom mode and turned everything off which is my ultimate favourite. So no help whatsoever. It makes it just that more challenging if you are inclined to play that way. If not, you can pick what you like and get rid of the others. The graphics are very good - colourful yet crisp and well defined. Finding items you need are easy to see. Sound is good and the music is loud and fast orchestral. The hidden objects game are interactive straightforward, silhouette and finding pairs. These are easy to do because items are clear to see and you don't need to spend too much time on them. There are a good variety of mini-games. Some are harder to do than others. There are a few where you have to get things in the right order and/colour which always take a while to do. It is possible if get most, if not all, of the achievements. All up the game and bonus took me about 7 hours or so to play. The Secret Room took me 11 minutes to do. You have to find certain items like 4 hats, 12 globes, 20 dolls, etc and you are timed to find them all. You can replay it to better your time if you wish. Its a good solid game and you won't be bored because there is a lot to do. One thing that made me laugh was I have never played a game where there are so many locked cabinets, doors - well, EVERYTHING. So you are going to be roaming around finding a lot of keys and/or finding items to smash or grind through others to move on. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent entry in the series Game has everything I look for in a game. Cold, snowy landscape, creepy old hotel, lots and lots of atmosphere. It's not the most challenging (many of the puzzles are very straight forward), but not a distraction to me. If you liked the other entries, no reason you won't love this one.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellant! It has been awhile since I have posted a review. The game play along with a who done it story and a bonus chapter that was interesting I felt moved to say "job well done". I would like to encourage more of these types of games. I am all full up with the fairy tale type.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHO/WHAT IS THE CULPRIT THIS TIME??? Stunning and pin-sharp GRAPHICS, like the snow storm at the beginning! Neutral colors and a lot of real looking stuff. The SOUND was spot-on, and I was happy that I could separate out all of them: the music, the ambient, voice and sound-effects. The story line kept up the tempo and it really must have, because I played it all in one go! Great Saturday release for BFG members. A good mix of characters. The BONUS GAME was good too, and concerns a new story in the same hotel. HOPS enjoyable to look at and play and PUZZLES were excellent, varied and fun. The TRAVEL MAP indicates were to go to next, the HINT will lead you and guide you. I didn’t use the diary because it was notes on the characters. Rather bloody, (although not too much of it on the walls this time), but you don’t see the physical act of violence occur, thank goodness. TO COLLECT: 11 TAROT cards which carry info on the different characters, 25 MORPHING OBJECTS, and 20 CRYSTAL BALLS. Loved collecting them all!!
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whats not to like? I hate it when people play a game called something like this one, the butcher and then complain about violence or gore. What do you expect? This is a great game and very engaging great story line and easy to follow not out of control with 10 different areas open at once and making it difficult to remember where things were. Whats not to like this game has it all.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Ole Clementine Atmosphere, Gruesome, Intrigue and Oh Wow the mysterious man with a quiet finger to the lips at the top of the stairs. Will he really help me or will I save him or will he save me. Great game. Music and little things to make you jump in the seat. Critter action if you slow down and watch the background. Nice game flow, Morphing objects, Not very many HO's though. Good Jump map and good music to go with the ambiance of it all. Oh loved all the characters. Anyone notice the mans shirt in a dark room with a faint black/blueish light. Hmmmm. Runner up for game of the year award. Just gotta buy it now.
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent game! Just based on the demo - this game has a lot to do and look for. The story line is very interesting. Definitely a buy!
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best One Yet! I Beta tested this game back in February, and could not wait for it to be released. Loved the murder mystery story line, the morphs, collectibles etc... Although I am a fan of this series, I was getting bored, and I felt that the developers had been "phoning it in". Not so with this one, it was an immediate buy, and I am downloading as I type. It may not be for everyone, but for me it's a win!
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm gonna catch me a grammar murderer! Well I'm just pausing between the demo and purchasing to throw up a quick review, what a gem of a game! After the swoon worthy Whispered Secrets Everburning Candle, expected a HOG drought for a while. This new game is a wonderful way to be oh so wrong. What ticks the boxes for me: Beautiful visuals with the art work and animation blended with photographically real images - it's a joy and a pleasure to experience the scenes. I've sat just looking without playing, it's a thing of beauty. Good challenge level on games - I played just one up from the casual on the demo (so I don't forget it's a demo and use up the whole time on a puzzle!) The electrical 'dominos' had the spot on mix of 'doability' but tricky enough to keep me it at a while, that was satisfying avoiding both boring/frustrating. I'm a murder mystery geek - TV, films, books, I am obsessed with the genre. I'm really impressed at the the level of finding actual clues and story related actions and getting to work with a cop buddy. The murder scenes could probably use a trigger warning for being gory, as they're more photo realistic than most games and could be a jolt if it's not expected and it's something people find upsetting. I'm happy to go for the collector edition on half price day - I'm finding morphing objects due to enjoying looking at the scenes but replayability will be a draw for me. I'm enjoying the spooky stuff and shuddering at glimpsing eyeballs through the keyholes! It gets you puzzling from the get go in the car, but be warned, it's another snowy one - it's actually snowing here in England at the moment, so snuggling up with a spooky game and a cup of tea is just the ticket! A big thumbs up from me.
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Elephant's Excellent Execution of Haunted Hotel Based on Main & Bonus Games Pun not intended. Disclaimer: Haunted House thrillers are one of my favorite genres. I just did a game that had only HOs, nothing else, ostensibly to relax me, but after the 30th one it made me go "Rawr!" So Elephant Games rescued me with a wonderfully atmospheric, puzzle heavy, adventure heavy game that you should try. Now, the whole environment is great, with mournful, suspenseful music and occasionally chilling. (No spoilers, I don't do that). The devs create a great sense of being stranded and isolated. Low lighting effects are used to enhance creepiness, but yes, you can see. Adventure level is very good, and keeps your mind busy, because Elephant always has you hauling things around for two hours before you use it. There was more back-tracking than I cared for, but it didn't keep me from enjoying the game. Next steps aren't always obvious, so keep an open mind. Puzzles outnumber HOs and some you've seen. Some are new, challenging and one was aggro to me. All beautifully done. HOs are interactive or varied in some way to keep interest. And even locked boxes are multistep at times. Very Nice. There are 25 scene morphs, 20 crystal balls, and 15(?) tarot card morphs to find. That means only 25 scenes total, but trust me, Elephant puts you to work so you barely notice. Other bling includes the Secret Room (a mini morph hunt), achievements, replayable HOs & puzzles, plus the usual. The main game lasted 5 hrs in Hard mode, and bonus about 1.5+hr. The bonus game was a different story, new scenes, and kept me engrossed. Is it worth a CE? I say yes. I like creepy games, good challenge, & puzzles galore, but this is also excellent quality work on the total package:scenery, music, sound, graphics, gaming on both games, and I was sorry when it was over.
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game for ages... Loved everything about this game, ticked all the right boxes for me. Spooky, lots of gore, haunted hotel... Ran smoothly on my Mac. Sound effects were terrific, graphics amazing, storyline interesting and easily followed. Not too many cut scenes, and the ones that did appear were not too long. HOPs looked basic, but were actually very nicely done and a good variety of them. Puzzles not too complex, nor repetitive and fairly straightforward. Four game play modes; I chose custom so fast hint and skip buttons. Didn't need to use map or SG as hint system was excellent. A lot of tooing and froing, so hint system was very useful. Various collectables and morphing objects in most scenes. Game lasted a good 3 hours with some skips, and bonus game lasted about an hour. All in all my kind of a game. Just wish there were more like this for quality, interest and fun. These devs know how to make great games.
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Based on Demo!!! Now i usually do not leave reviews but I love the Haunted Hotel series, Up until the last two that came out i purchased them all. The last two that came out were disappointing to say the least. THIS ONE IS NOT AT ALL DISAPPOINTING.. Based on the 90 min demo, the story is excellent, the graphics are clean and sharp, the mini games are fun pretty easy but not child's play.. The hop's are fun and there is a variety. I really enjoyed the demo so this is a definite buy for me. I really hope you guys give this one a try, it is very much worth it.
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from THE AXIOM BUTCHER TOPS ALL HAUNTED HOTELS! WOW! MY NEW FAVORITE GAME #1 IN STORY, ART, SOUND! IS THE BUTCHER REALLY A GHOST ?? CAN'T WAIT TO FIND OUT! NOW BACK TO THE GAME I GO.
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game. Well done. Excellent attention to detail (except the butane in a Zippo). A male protagonist finally. The good rating for v/s quality was only because I experienced screen flicker with xfire enabled (disabling fixed this).
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SPEND A NIGHT IN A REDECORATED HOTEL WITH WALLS FRESHLY PAINTED IN BLOOD 7 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER OVERVIEW: The Haunted Hotel series has engaged in some redecorating. Going for a “realistic” look to their hotel, they have “painted” their walls blood red and added some blood splattered scenes as well. I LOVE this 5 star plus game! Get ready for a chilling tale with realistically portrayed crime scenes. You are off as an investigative reporter to check into the Axiom Hotel to search for clues about the serial killer, the Axiom Butcher. Has the ghost of the serial killer returned to continue his reign of madness? Or, perhaps, is there a copycat killer behind all the sudden outbreak of murder? The game script is very well written. The pace is excellent and keeps you in constant suspense. The graphics are realistic providing a blood dripping eerie chill throughout this game. There are more mini-games than HOP scenes; however both are thematic and well-done. The extras include three collectibles which include crystal balls, tarot cards and morphing objects. The crystal balls are huge and very easy to locate. The morphing objects and tarot cards are a little more difficult to find. You also have the ability to replay the HOP scenes and puzzles. STORY: A ritualistic killer is loose within the hotel. Could it be a copycat killer or the ghost of a serial killer? Working with an undercover detective, James, meet an assortment of potential victims or suspects including Madam Cassandra Creighton, a seer who has the ability to see the future. Is she contacting with the spirit of the mass murderer in more ways than one? Meet Maid Molly, a college student working her way through school who may wish she had gotten a “full ride” out of this hotel. Meet Ben, the owner of the hotel, whose wife May, is the first victim. What secrets could he be hiding behind those wandering eyes? And why does Christian Donovan, a pianist, keep playing the same song “Darling Clementine” throughout the game? Ray Turner is the local officer assigned to this case; however, can he be trusted? An ancient evil has been awakened. As corpses pile up, learn more about the history of the residents of the hotel. MINI-GAMES: There are more puzzles than HOP scenes. The puzzles range in difficulty from easy to moderately difficult. I did not find any which were brain crushing and most of the puzzles are easy. In the demo, they are principally matching puzzles along with a switch puzzle, a moving tiles puzzle, and a sequence puzzle. After the demo, in the next chapter there is an assembly puzzle, a sequence puzzle and another matching puzzle. FAVORITE PUZZLE: My favorite puzzle is from the demo and is a variation of a domino puzzle in which each end contains symbols which must match up. It is not a terribly difficult puzzle; however, it does require some time and strategy to get the correct sequence for the dominos. HOP SCENES: Although they are few, they are fairly well-created. They include items to locate, sentences detailing the murder scenes in which items to be located are listed in BOLD letter, and a matching scene. After the demo, in the next chapter, there is a silhouette scene and another list of items to locate LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hardcore, Custom Hints and Skips – 15 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the start of the game 18 Achievements Collect 20 crystal balls with sayings attached. Collect 10 Tarot cards 25 Morphing objects: Replay 15 HOP scenes and 13 mini-games Strategy guide - 65 pages Uncover a secret room at the end of the game Usual wallpaper, artwork, music HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES HOP SCENES: A. List of items to locate. Somewhat interactive B. Sentences giving a description of a murder scene with items listed in BOLD letters. C. List of items to locate. As you uncover items, you receive pieces of a picture on a book D. Match up pairs of items AFTER THE DEMO: E. Silhouette items F. List of items PUZZLES: A. Domino puzzle. As in the game of dominoes, connect dominoes so that the symbols on each end match up. MODERATELY DIFFICULT B. Matching puzzle. Move knobs on an oven to match those on a diagram. Moving one affects the others. EASY C. Sequence puzzle. Brew tea following directions in sequence. EASY D. Moving tiles puzzle. Rotate rings to create a picture to open a lock on a bag. EASY E. Matching puzzle. Match up tarot cards laid face down with those which are face up according to given clues. EASY F. Matching puzzle. Rotate three knobs until they match the pictures given on a given code EASY G. Jigsaw puzzle. Match up pieces to create a picture and hear the story of the hotel. 5X EASY H. Moving tiles puzzle. Rotate rings to recreate a picture. EASY I. Matching puzzle. Match up two pieces to create 3 flowers on a pin. EASY J. Matching puzzle. Using a numbered and color code play a piano with colored keys EASY K. Switch puzzle. Rotate fan blades to create a picture. Rotating one affects the others. MODERATELY DIFFICULT AFTER THE DEMO: L. Assembly puzzle. Create an anti-rust solution following a formula. EASY M. Sequence puzzle. Press colored buttons in sequence according to a code to open a door. EASY N. Matching puzzle: Match up pairs of items. EASY
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IS THERE A COPYCAT ON THE LOOSE OR HAS THE AXIOM’S BUTCHER RETURNED Wow, what an amazing game that has now raised the bar for any future games in the Haunted Hotel series. I loved the beta for this game and have been eagerly awaiting its release and now it is finally here! Everything about this game is almost perfect with excellent graphics, top-notch voiceovers, and a great storyline that grabbed me from the beginning. There are interesting and varied HOPS, and fairly challenging puzzles as well to keep things interesting. Just when I was beginning to burn out on HOPA games there is now an exciting game that is geared to the adults who are interested in more than cutesy fairies and princesses. Here is a gritty game with a mature theme and some ghostly scares. It is a dark and snowy night as you are traveling a road in the state of Washington on your way to visit the Axiom Hotel. You are stopped along the way by a patrolman whose car has spun out on the road so you give him a lift to the hotel since that is his destination as well. No sooner do you arrive than things begin to happen that will test your investigative skill. The game has a cast of interesting characters one of which might be a copycat serial killer. Pull out all the stops as you solve interesting mini-games, search for clues in varied HOPS and hopefully find out whom or what is killing the guests at the Axiom Hotel. The mini-games are quite good with some even challenging. I am not going to give you all the spoilers and details since it really is more fun to find out what they entail by playing the game for yourself. The CE includes all of the wonderful extras that this development team includes in their CE games. There are collectibles, morphing objects, achievements, the bonus chapter, strategy guide and more. IMHO Haunted Hotel the Axiom Butcher is an excellent CE value. There was no way I was going to be able to wait another month for the SE release of this game so I purchased it before even bothering to download the demo. I loved every minute of the beta and couldn’t wait to get my hands on this game. There are some creepy and downright scary moments that come together to create what I consider one of the best games this year. The game might not be for everyone so please try the demo to make sure this is a game you will enjoy.
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not bowled over, but definitely a decent game to play. Its a lengthy game which also made me impatient to unfold till the last; puzzles are new but some are as easy as nothing while others will make u sit for 20 mins or more (some direction buttons confusing to follow). Little details are amazing and the plot starts off strong. I played on expert mode and really liked that there were no additional hinting dialogues/subs for some objects and finds which made it even more challenging. I did not understand the use of supernatural figures in the game apart from a spook factor, because it is completely unrelated to the story line. But in all, a good game, though i want stronger stories and challenges. Dont think its worth having the collectors edition though.
Date published: 2017-06-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from They should make a Clue type game I liked guessing who the killer was, if they made a comical version of Clue that would be fun to play. Game was a good length and the bonus game was a decent length, there is also a secret room which is ok. Main gripe is that I couldn't go back to get the missed tarot cards, instead I have to play the game again? I hate that. I'd say play the demo and see if you like and make your own decision but it's better than a lot of games that come out.
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from James equals Daphney from Scooby Doo ~CE on casual~ I got this because I enjoy the series. Though I admit it was done pretty quick (even with the bonus chapter) it was still fairly enjoyable. I do have a bit to nitpick about though... Mostly plot things that bugged me. In a couple others of the series, we get to play as a female "sidekick" to the ever-endangered James. But this one we don't. Oh well. My Biggest peeve though was how quickly and easily everything could be wrapped up. While I Know it was on casual, still I would have liked a bit more challenge and more substance to sink my teeth into. I play on casual first to Decide if it's worth it to hit it on a harder setting. Sadly, this one doesn't seem to draw me the way the old ones of the series did. If I do decide to play it again, it'll be to try getting all the collectibles and that's about it. Don't get me wrong, the graphics, sounds and music were still top shelf material. The art was great as usual. The voice acting was great, well synced up with the animation. The environmental background sounds were really stellar as per usual. The art was lush and rich, if a bit dark. But the puzzles were a bit elementary, though somewhat varied, and most of it was just a little too easy for a more experienced player. There was also a lot of running back and forth... Pick up item A, run over here to use it, unlock the next puzzle and run Back over to spot B with whatever you fetched by using item A. And back again. There weren't a lot of scenes or areas to really explore. Just the same few used over and over again. All in all, if you're a collector of this series and/or dev (or if you love James, like I do... even if he Does seem to end up kidnapped/unconscious a Lot), then by all means pick it up when it's on sale. But if you're looking for something to last more than a couple hours With the bonus material... I would skip this one. ~Sorry, James, old friend.~
Date published: 2016-05-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really Enjoyed it A solid, really good and well-designed game. The storyline itself, might not be the most unique one, but everything else is beautiful.
Date published: 2016-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good but they should have done a little more work. There are many things to love about this game. It is nice and creepy. There are nice extra touches in scenes, like a ball bouncing down the stairs, that the devs didn't have to add. There actually could have been more HOS, but the ones they have are really good. Interesting collectibles and not too easy to find. Minigames are decent. The game is a good length. The reasons for a 4 star rating (instead of 5). There is annoying music in the cut scenes even though I turned music off. Many of the background sounds are repetitive and really annoying too. The plot is really poorly developed: there are gaps in the progression, we are just supposed to go with it I guess and assume we know what they are talking about. My old friend James is thrown into the game for some reason not explained and really adds nothing. The bonus game is just okay and doesn't really tie in with the main game, with a even more disjointed plot.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'M GOING TO CHOP YOU TO LITTLE PIECES BOO!! I JUST DON'T GET CARRIED AWAY WITH BIG REVIEWS I REALLY ENJOYED EVERVTHING ABOUT THE GAME.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice addition to this series! Hi all! Wow, we have #11 in this series and probably one of the better ones lately. Graphics are excellent. Colors are a bit muted, but you are in a haunted house, so you need the "creepy" feel. Game play was excellent, no problems during the demo and the scene fit my large screen perfectly. I really liked the sound FX, but wish they continued throughout the game. They just seem to be hit and miss and at times, the game is very quiet. Music moves with what is happening at the time and can put you on the edge of your seat, if you really get into the game. Voice overs are well done, character and age appropriate. In the beginning, the VO didn't match up with the mouth movements, but that quickly cleared up as the game progressed. HOPs are the same as usual and are fairly clear, so items are not difficult to find. You have interactive lists, match items and straight lists. Puzzles weren't difficult for the most part. The only one I found that took me a while to complete is the rotating fans. Got a little frustrated with that one. You put together jigsaw puzzles to gain more insight into what is happening and why...almost too many puzzles. You do a heck of a lot of running back and forth for one item or another in this game, so put on your tennis shoes. Fortunately, you have a jump map and the hint system does transport you to longer locations...huge time saver. Hint system is very helpful and actually gives you a hint when you ask for it, rather than saying "nothing more here." You have a lot of collectibles in this one, which I do like. You need to find 20 crystal balls, which are very easy to spot, you just have to remember to pick them up; 25 morphing objects which can be a bit tricky; and tarot cards. Not many cards, so easily overlooked. I like this series and found this one to be more fun and interesting than the last couple. You don't have a creepy, run down hotel to investigate this time, it's actually quite nice. You still have spider webs, but not many. Why is it the devs make us find so many different things to complete one action, e.g. found a tongs to pull things out of the crack in the floor, but then had to find a hair clip to pull a paperclip out of a keyhole. Why can't we just keep the tongs? This game is not especially challenging or difficult, but I think all levels of players will find this one interesting. Yes, I am going to add it to my ever growing collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Another Great Game In This Series .... Good Graphics, Sound, Animations, Effects, Story, Voice & Video Bits ... Yet Another Great Addition To This Series Of Games With Plenty Of Spooky Enjoyable Fun ... I Had A Gut Feeling The Moment The Detective Got In The Car That He Was Not Quite The Full Ticket ... The Bonus Chapter Was A Nice Addition & Conclusion To The Main Game ... Well Worth Getting On A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2016-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark Detective Game As the detective, you pick up a policeman in a snowstorm and get sucked into a string of murder mysteries at the Axiom Hotel. It was the scene of another series of murders, done by the Axiom butcher who, supposedly, killed himself when he was caught. First, the art (especially the cutscenes) is breathtaking. They are done like a well-directed movie, all serving to advance the story and increase the dark atmosphere. All the bells and whistles are available: custom mode and interactive map. The CE has several collections available, including crystal balls and morphing objects (always a plus!) I'll be the first to admit to my fellow fishies I'm a bit of a wuss when it comes to horror, and this game hit just the right note - eerie without being an asylum filled with unnecessary gore. However, the murder scenes are very realistic, with a lot of blood. Still, I had no problem with them. When did make a bit impatient were ALL the locks I had to open. I lost count of how many keys, in all shapes and sizes, I had to collect and use in order to get simple tools or - MORE keys! I know it's a way to direct the gameplay, but I've seen other games do this without locks, locks, and more locks. I think there were 5 on the teacart alone. Still, this is just a personal note. If you don't mind searching for loads of keys in order to play the puzzles (really well done) and interactive HO's, then this could be the game for you.
Date published: 2016-04-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Another Interesting Chapter in the Haunted Hotel Series I liked the artwork and graphics of this game and playing with familiar characters. The storyline was good, but a little hard to follow. Beware of bugs however, I recommend trying before buying to make sure it works well with your computer. I hope that although this is now an older title that Big Fish patches this game; I had to start over one time because there is a glitch if you don't pick up an item in a certain sequence it's impossible to advance.
Date published: 2017-03-18
  • y_2019, m_4, d_22, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_24642, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Haunted Hotel: The Axiom Butcher Collector's Edition

Is the notorious Axiom Butcher back from the grave?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.