The Curio Society: New Order Collector's Edition
Exclusive

The Curio Society: New Order Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(499.64 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Domini Games proudly presents the next installment of The Curio Society series! Someone's stolen a powerful artifact from the Curio Society, and they want to use it to eliminate emotions from the world! It's up to you to stop them. Can you save the world from becoming emotionless, or will you lose yourself to the powerful potion? Find out in this gripping hidden-object puzzle adventure!

  • Save the town from a madman who steals memories!
  • Collect morphing objects and Rorschach cards
  • Earn achievements and get extra content
  • Take a Curio Society personality quiz
  • Try the Strategy Guide

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.4 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1684 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

The Curio Society: New Order Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(499.64 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
The Curio Society: New Order Collector's Edition is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Now, Don't Get TOO Excited The Curio Society is a collection of people who get together every other Tuesday to compare curio collections. Suddenly, one of the society members has gone rogue and stolen all the curios in a mad scheme to conquer the curio world (OK, I actually made that up). What's really happening: the Curio Society is tasked to Protect the World From Danger. But an artifact (or curio) has been stolen from them which can amplify the affects of anything. The "anything" in this case is a potion which suppresses all human emotion. The mastermind of this plan is Frederick who sees emotion as the cause of all evil. He's being aided by Suzanna, a former member of the Curio Society and now an outcast. You must retrieve the artifact! The look of the game is saturation, saturation, saturation. Reds, blues, greens, even browns all are heavily saturated and the scenes are rendered with high contrast. The cut scenes do have a bit of noticeable blurriness. I did not particularly like the look, but tastes differ. The music is repetitive but soothing, and the voices are reasonably well acted and appropriate to the characters. During the trial, the play consists of a lot of assembling, gathering and putting together. The hidden object scenes (there are 20) are quite interactive and varied. Unfortunately, in the first one you'll have to know something about the series, in particular about the gargoyle gun, to complete it (SPOILER ALERT: you'll have to know to put a lens in a gun). Alternatively, there is a match-3 option. Mini games (23) were fairly simple; assembling of images, pulling levers and the like. CE Extras are collectible Rorschach cards (10), morphing objects (15). There is an indicator for each of these above the inventory. Other extras are locked until the game is completed: Personality test, Medical profiles and Archive. There are also 32 achievements - you'd better get used to the achievement indicator popping out over and over even for ordinary tasks. Did I enjoy the trial? Yes. It reminded me of the movie Equilibrium. The story is different enough to be interesting, and the characters aren't bad either. I liked the varied game play as well. If my emotions get the best of me I may get the CE or, if I take the antidote, the SE may suffice. Either way, there is something exciting about the New Order.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from "I want to feel!" Hi all! Well, we have #2 in this series. As always, I mostly review on the game play and not the story line, as others do a much better job than I. Excellent graphics and animation in this game, very clear, right down to the wrinkles in the faces. The devs took a little more time with animation on this one, i.e., the constant repetitive sounds from the TV's and monitors can be turned off by clicking on their screen. Good thing, it got very annoying very quickly. Colors are very bright and true for a change. Voice overs are quite well done, with emotion and all, and are age and character appropriate. Music moves with what is happening in the scene at the time and is not over-powering at all. Sound FX are nice and throughout the game, making it more realistic. I really like the HOPs. You have a combination of interactive silhouettes, morphing objects, story where you find the highlighted object, and standard lists. If you don't care for the HOPs, you can play a match 3, as usual. Scenes are very clear and items are not difficult to find. Puzzles are not difficult either, but a couple did take a little time. The jump map is well done, with areas of interest clearly identified and it does show if you missed a collectible. It will not tell you which collectible, just that you still have one there to find. There is no transport feature, but the map automatically opens for longer locations for you to make the jump from there. Hint system is very helpful and actually gives you a hint when you ask for it. SG is the standard. I don't even comment on them anymore, since they are all the same anyway. Collectibles are 10 Rorschach cards, which are quite easy to see; 15 morphing objects, which are not quite as easy to spot. We also have a number of medical files to collect. Not sure why, except that they each "explain" an emotion, which is something our bad guy is trying to eliminate. Working in the medical field, I see that some are "kinda sorta" accurate, but not sure which medical journal they found them in. Pretty much a general description. If you are going to use it, be accurate. I have been waiting for this one to come out since I beta tested it. I like this story line, even though a bit far fetched, it is different. Anyone who reads my reviews knows that I do not give 5 stars easily. This one came close, but still didn't quite make it. Mostly because of the blurry picture you get for a few seconds when opening a close-up scene and because of the lag when you click on an item. I found myself being impatient and clicking multiple times before it finally picked up the item and closed the box. Even at that, I gave it a 4.75. That being said, this is not a really challenging game, but as I said, I really do like this story and the collectibles. I was drawn in from the beginning. The game flows quite well and I think all levels of players will find it enjoyable. Is it perfect? No, but perfect is boring. Yes, I am adding this one to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun game with Interactive Hops. Thankfully this game was one of the few with interactive hops and not too many. Puzzles were fairly creative, some tougher ones which took some time which I like. The main game was a good length with a decent length bonus game. Lots of places to go, so good adventure game. More chatter than I like but you can skip through most of it. Too many mini movie clips. Had collectables, morphing objects.. All these games always use smelling salts, paper clips for zipper heads, and need to oil everything, what's up with that? Game play wasn't that smooth, and slow talking parts which bothered me. Seemed dated as far as that goes. I would recommend the CE on a deal.
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Enjoyable Enough Addition To The Series ... Great Graphics, Sound, Effects, Animations, Voice & Video Bits ... A Nice Addition To This Series Of Games ... But Nothing Really New And Seemed To Be Over Very Quickly For Such A Big Download ... The Bonus Chapter Was OK, But Seemed To Be A Little Distant To The Main Story ... Worth Getting On A Special Deal, But The SE Version Would Probably Suffice ...
Date published: 2016-05-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from DON'T DRINK THE KOOL-AID Welcome to the city that never emotes, you'll never experience pain and suffering, there's no anger, no resentment, there's only euphoria and bliss, as long as you keep drinking the kool-aid that is! This is a town full of mind controlled citizens who blindly muddle their way through life as mere puppets, feeling absolutely no emotions whatsoever. Naturally, where there's puppets, there's bound to be a puppeteer. When this puppet master joins forces with Suzanne, a rogue agent from The Curio Society, there may be nothing that can stop their nefarious plans to control the world. I wasn't impressed with the first game in this series, and I'm certainly not impressed with this middle of the road game either. Both games offer nothing new or exciting, both games seem a bit lame in my opinion. I know plenty of gamers will disagree with me, but compared to most CE's offered lately, this one's a dud. There are a whopping 32 Achievements to earn making it nearly impossible to make a move without earning one, and there's the usual Plus Sign inventory items requiring minor interactions before using. There are two icons above the inventory bar that will indicate whether or not that scene has a Morphing Object and or a Collectible Rorschach Card, some scenes contain one of each, some scenes only have one or the other and some scenes have neither. You will also find Medical Profiles that describe different emotions such as Apathy or Euphoria. At the beginning of the game you will be given a journal with available Tasks, and throughout the game you'll find Journal Notes that are automatically added to your journal, none of these "extras" are actually hidden or difficult to find, they're just sitting in plain view within the scenes and present no challenge whatsoever. The Hidden Object Scenes are okay, again nothing new or remotely creative. There are the usual Progressive Interactive Silhouetted shape finds, Silhouetted Shape finds requiring several of the same items, Morphing Object Finds, and items that match the Key Words in each paragraph. The only one I thought was unusual had a switch that turned on a blacklight and panned to the rear of the scene, switching back to the front of the scene with a dimly lit regular light. The Mini Games are okay, but once again I feel they lack imagination and creativity, they all seem to be variations of choosing correctly because choosing one affects others. Below are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Restore the portrait by swapping pie shaped sections. 2) Click on typewriter keys with fingerprints in the correct sequence. 3) Use levers to rotate rows of test tubes to position the correct colored liquids above the tubes, rotating one row affects others. 4) Find matching pairs of symbols by flipping over two tokens at a time. If you fail to make a match, the tokens will swap. 5) Follow the recipe in the correct sequence. 6) Restore the image using arrows to adjust rows. 7) Flip switches to open the central cache, flipping one switch may affect others. This Collector's Edition has 32 Achievements to earn, 12 Wallpapers, 10 Concept Art pictures, 5 Music Soundtracks, 10 Collectible Rorschach Cards for a Personality Test, Collectible Medical Profiles and Journal Notes, 15 Morphing Objects, an Archive Room, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Anybody Want to Save the World Again? An old enemy of the Curio Society, Susanna, is helping Bad Guy, Fredrick, to steal an artifact that will enable him to erase the emotions of everyone and, presumably, thereby take over the world. I guess no one will care if he does at that point. There are all the usual elements of a HOP game here - HOPs, mini-games, lovely artwork, and a story-line. Unfortunately, all I could think the entire demo was, "Been there, done that." If you want to save the world again, go for it - but I'd urge you to try the demo first.
Date published: 2016-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can Frederick just shut up for a while?? For me it's not a good sign when I remember absolutely nothing about prior games in a series. When I saw the title Curio Society as tomorrow's game today I was pleased. When I learned this is the 3rd in a group the " uh-oh factor " set in. Before I started the demo I took a gander at reviews of the previous 2 games and was somewhat dismayed they were less than glowing. Nevertheless I jumped in as some series improve as they continue. Unfortunately New Order doesn't fulfill anything for me. The main character is tasked with overcoming the villainous Frederick and his minions. Fred is a scientist who has devised a potion which renders all who drink it totally emotionless. For some reason known only to Frederick this bland state of mind is a good thing, he figures he can control an entire nation by having folks be emotional zombies. We need to stop him. I did like the way the HO sections are varied, using traditional word lists, morphs, silhouettes etc. to garner needed items. The puzzles are ridiculously easy and offer zero challenge ( at least in the demo ) There are collectible morphs and Rorchach test emblems ( 15 ) to gather up. This is yet another case where these items add nothing to the game other than " making it a CE and jacking up the price". An extremely annoying aspect to this game is that in a couple of areas, we hear Frederick repeat the same mantra over and over again about how emotions are bad for us. My emotion here is anger and frustration: " Fred, can the chatter, will ya !!" Overall this is not a game I can sink my teeth into nor is it one I can recommend to my HOPA playing colleagues.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A Curio(us) Game There is nothing challenging about this game, the mini games are extremely easy and the HOS are nothing new; however, the game could appeal to beginners. Maybe I had been given the emotionless potion before I started to play the game because I found that I could not engage with the story line or the characters. Throughout the game there are Rorschach cards to collect and morphing items to find - except the morphs did not morph (at least not in my game!). I cannot, in all conscience recommend this game but, as always, try before you buy.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bit of a drag... I bought the game as trial hour showed an excellent game with some of the best HOPs I've seen in a while. Having bought it things started to go downhill, and I've played the bonus chapter too. The graphics were excellent, as was the music. The game was too linear for me. Played custom mode, but with no option to do away with black bar tips there was far too much handholding. I turned sparkles/glints off on active areas, but when you've completed a + item it sparkles like mad as though you're too dumb top know you've 'made' an item. The HOPs were in the main excellent (but boy were there a lot of them). A variety from morphing, to junk pile, to FROG. There were collectables and morphing objects to collect, and two blazing balls on top of the inventory bar told you which scenes they were in. Only 15 morphing objects in total. The VOs were cringe worthy! The slow drawn out so called "English' accent was so painful I skipped as fast as poss. This meant I couldn't really follow the storyline. You could take items from the characters in the cut scenes which was a nice touch. The puzzles were in general either very very easy, or as dull as ditch water. Luckily there was a very fast hint and skip button. The map didn't take you to scenes, you had to search for the red exclamation mark to find the scene with an interactive task. The bonus chapter was a fair length, but no collectables or morphing objects. As we pay double for the CEs, don't think it's acceptable that these extras in the main game aren't available in the bonus. It was an ok game, but had a dated feel about it.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from PLEASE GIVE ME THAT POTION SO THIS GAME WON'T SEEM SO BAD Yes once again you are in the role of an agent for the Curio Society and this time you are matching wits with Frederick, a scientist who has perfected a potion to rid people of their emotions – good and bad. Frederick has enlisted the aid of your nemesis Susanna, an ex-agent of the society, who was expelled for her traitorous acts. Susanna has a score to settle and Frederick offers her the perfect opportunity to wreak havoc for the society. The game offers a custom mode but, IMHO, it is rather useless. The graphics are good but the voice acting is really bad. Although the premise of the game depicts an emotionless society with rather robotic people, the voices could have been far better. Not only are the voices flat and unappealing in some cases the lip-sync is so far of the mark that it is almost laughable. The HOP scenes are very good and most of them are quite interactive. Most scenes rely on finding items by silhouette but the silhouettes are good so it is easy to determine what item should be found. For those of you who would rather not search for items there is a match 3 option included in each scene. Even though the HOPS are good the puzzles are almost too easy with very little challenge required to solve them, which makes the game seem rather ho-hum and boring. The CE version of the game includes quite a few extras and if you are a gamer who loves earning achievements you have hit the motherlode with 32 to be earned by playing the game. There are morphing objects, Rorschach cards, and medical profiles to be found but not every scene includes the differing types. Along with the standard fluff there is a Personality Test and an Archive. It is very difficult to determine what these extras involve since this developer hides most of the content including how many chapters can be found in the game until it is purchased. The Curio Society games have never been ones that thrill me and The New Order is just as mediocre as the others. I can’t say that I hated the game but I most assuredly did not like it. There was nothing entertaining or appealing enough to make me want to play past the demo point so it is going in the trash. Many gamers will love this game but The New Order is definitely not for me. Even though I don’t like the game, please try the demo because it might be one you will enjoy.
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Medium... A superior game in comparison to its previous titles, but it definitely needs work; especially when it comes to the artwork and its smoothness (not!). The actual mini games were just ok, the surely couldn't been better and more logical thought out.
Date published: 2016-05-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Boringt I buy a lot of games, but this will not be one of them. I gave it a chance and played the whole demo. Not fun..
Date published: 2016-05-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Interesting Story Concept-- boring gameplay I purchased the game on sale because I wanted to know how the story ended and the demo was fun. However the gameplay beyond the demo was not as good. There were too many mini-puzzles where touching one thing moved other pieces-- not very creative and quite tedious to play. On about half the video clips you could not continue the dialogue with a click and the characters speak very slowly so the only option was to listen (very slowly) or skip. I can't skip the story so that was frustrating. The tasks were fairly stupid, too-- [NOTE: some small spoilers below in examples] In one instance you had to find TWO pieces of paper in order to write down a three digit combination. Ridiculous. Quite often you had to find a special tool to remove debris when you could see the object you needed-- why not just shove stuff aside and grab it? Lots of clicking for each task, too (and the tap feature on my trackpad didn't work in this game so LOTS of clicking). There was even one where you had to pick up and then PLACE a bunch of matches(!). Fine-- make me click each match but then don't make me click again to place it in the box. That's just filler. It and several other tasks really lowered the sense of urgency. Especially when there is a high-pressure climax, it seems silly to run four scenes back to get a knife so you can rip some already torn canvas or open a zipper. (Several zippers, several potions to assemble, lots of rust to remove and animal snacks to provide-- sigh.) I play a lot of these games and most of them, especially in the last two years, work hard to make the mini-games entertaining and the tasks somewhat meaningful. There are even some that allow you to, for instance, keep a sharp object on hand so you can execute several tasks with it (as any sane adventurer would do). This feels like an older game. I wish I'd waited for the SE or skipped this one entirely.
Date published: 2016-05-25
  • y_2021, m_10, d_22, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_24730, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

The Curio Society: New Order Collector's Edition

Can you stop a heartless criminal before it's too late?

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.