Grim Legends 3: The Dark City Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Grim Legends 3: The Dark City Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(521.17 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Sylvia, a young acolyte of the monster hunting Order, follows the trail of the Order’s ex-member Gabriel, who stole the artifact containing an evil creature called Koshmaar. The unleashed monster absorbs the entire city into its nightmare realm and now its fate lies in Sylvia’s hands. Accompanied by her trusted mentor Solomon, the young heroine will need to face her ultimate trial and discover a link between the villain Gabriel and her own heritage. As it turns out, there are nightmares buried in the past even darker than demons roaming the vast gothic city.

  • Next installment of the Grim Legends Series
  • Gothic atmosphere
  • Thick plot with multiple twists
  • Rotatable items you can see from different angles
  • Beautiful hand drawn graphic

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1051 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Grim Legends 3: The Dark City Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(521.17 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Grim Legends 3: The Dark City Collector's Edition is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Who Is that woman in the picture with Gabriel? That's for me to know, and for you to find out! I just completed the demo and I must report that this is THE game for me, finally!! When I read some of the negative comments by some of the reviewers, I honestly have to agree with them in many ways, though, but that won't change my rating. The dialogue goes on and on at times. Lots of cuts scenes, and crossing over one dangerous hurdle, which required a lot of doing on Sylvia's part while other seemingly difficult tasks turned out to be too easy to accomplish. Seemed contradictory in a way. Honestly, very rarely have I played a perfect game--probably five in my time. What I love about this game is the eye-candy, the voices, the music, the artwork, story, you name it. It all clicks for me and it's been a while since I have felt this way. Yes, I agree with all of those wonderful reviewers, but somehow, someway this game just does it for me. The gameplay is exceptionally clever. There was a couple of puzzles that seemed ridiculously easy, you know, some hand-holding, but as the demo progressed, the puzzles greatly improved. The artwork is stunning, stunning, stunning! This game will be a buy for me without any doubt! The map is great; the hint button likewise; 30 collectibles. Yep, this is the game for me! I don't need to elaborate on the storyline. Other have done that so well! I just love the feel of this game and I can't wait to purchase it. Ironically, though, the female voiceovers, so far, except for the little girl, had British accents, which I absolutely love! The males, however, had an American accent. How wonderful it would have been had they all had British accents. But don't get me wrong they are all wonderful actors. The lip-syncing, thus far, is top shelf! The little girl's voice, in my opinion, was not a 'real' child's voice but was very well done by a grown-up, I'm 99.9% sure of this. I love the variety of puzzles and hops and tasks that was just in that demo. Can you imagine playing the real deal in its entirety? Just wonderful for a change. The flow is smooth sailing. I highly recommend this game! Normally even with some of the minor negatives if you want to call it that, I'd give this a high 4 or even a low 5, but I'm giving this game a high 5 star rating! Devs, you are wonderful! I applaud you!
Date published: 2016-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!! What a wonderful 3rd Grim Legend... :) Again a feast for fantasy fans that is!! Artifex Mundi absolutely succeeded with this third part of Grim Legends! Each part is complete in itself, therefore no prior knowledge is necessary - but it is very worth to play also the predecessors... We are Sylvia - a Monster Hunter in a gloomy world and must defeat a runaway, called Koshmaar which transforms sinful people in mask spirits... Here, the graphics are quite terrific – the cut scenes are cinematic! The locations, characters and also the cut scenes have completely knocked me out! The story is exciting and has some surprising twist in stock... FACTS: The main game with its 6 chapters has a good length, and ends seemingly conclusively ... But the story continues in the bonus chapter - which you should not miss! At the end of the bonus chapter, you have also the choice from 2 different endings... There are the usual 4 different difficulty modes and the hint is directional, there is a task list and the transport map shows reliable, where to act next (if wanted) - but the map is actually superfluous, because the inventory items are logically and timely used. Also it is just so nice to take a look around once more! A lot of wonderfully designed Hidden Object Scenes – sometimes played twice with new objectives – want to be resolved: in addition to word search lists there are fragment searches and we find a certain number of similar items. The MINI-games offers all levels of difficulty and provides great fun: wrong placed items should inserted correctly. A mosaic should be colored, without same colors may lie side by side. A kind of Sudoku with different eyes shall be solved. Liquids are gauged by pouring back and forth in different sized beakers. Also a few 3-dimensional puzzles, which you can rotate using arrows, are very beautiful! And we have to defend us several times against dark forces with a "find runes" - game. And after we have defeated one of the mask-spirits, we learn its history by different variants of "move or swap tiles". EXTRAS: 30 little skeleton dolls are hidden in the close views! Awards can be earned. Also replayable WB and mini-games, the very nice soundtrack, videos, wallpapers, concept art and the strategy-guide. A truly amazing adventure with incredible settings - and wonderful tasks! I have played the bonus chapter 2 times, to figure out how the alternate ending is... Try yourself to find out!! :)
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Hidden object Game Best game I have played in a long time. Well worth the money.
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from abolutely brilliant This game is brilliant.!! 5 star PLUS.. Great story, graphics beautiful and crisp, puzzles are great and different. Above all, the voices are superb with gravitas and feeling and appropriate for the story. The music is fantastic and frankly I do not want it to end so I am limiting my time playing. The first Grim Tales was totally great but the second one was a little too simplistic for my liking but WOW this one takes the biscuit !! Do not hesitate with this one. Well done to devs.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grim Legends 3 One of the best HO games I've played in a long time. Great story line, mini-games and just overall the best.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Completely Thrilling! What fun! This game is the whole package--great graphics, super storyline, wonderful mini-games, and neat surprises! I bought it as soon as the demo ended, and spent the evening playing. You get hours of game time, and get to find 30 creepy collectibles and puzzles that seem just the right skill level! I love this game!
Date published: 2016-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not the most challenging, but an excellent game I thoroughly enjoyed this one from start to finish. Lots of atmosphere, interesting characters and lavish environment. Good voiceovers too, which I don't normally mention. I usually play with sound off after the first five minutes as most soundtracks and character voices drive me crazy. Now there are some downsides (perhaps, they're not things that worried me unduly). It's not the longest game out there. It is a decent length, just not super-long. Six good chapters. The bonus game is short, but solid. I enjoyed the storyline personally, but it won't be unfamiliar to any experienced casual gamer. The ending is reasonably conclusive in the main game but leads to the the bonus game fairly obviously, which may disappoint some. Not so sure about the ending to the bonus game. It seemed a touch ambiguous (which is probably the point). Puzzles abound and I enjoyed them. HOPs were a mixture and included some FRoGs - I quite enjoy those and didn't find this burdensome. Some might. Mostly clear enough with occasional patches of dark which were often worth clicking on. Despite the (to me, minor) flaws, it just suited me and may well suit you as well. Try and see.
Date published: 2016-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW. Never given a game a perfect score before. This is a first for me!!! Game of the year for sure. AM has made some amazing games--they take their time and make sure they get some amazing quality. Felt like playing a $40 video game. My singular knock is that there were a few typos in the written dialogue...but the voiceovers were so good that it really didn't matter. The CE was worth every penny too. WOW!!!!
Date published: 2016-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ~~~BEST ACTION ADVENTURE GAME OF 2016~~~ Sylvia is a member of the Order, a secret organization dedicated to guarding the powerful Incarceri Stone. One year ago, she lost her memory during a dangerous mission. Now that the stone is stolen and Koshmaar, an evil monster, is on the loose - Sylvia and her mentor Solomon need to travel to the city of Lichtenheim and get back the stone before it's too late! Artifex Mundi have gone above and beyond with this edition of Grim Legends. If they keep on delivering top-shelf games like Grim Legends 3: The Dark City for the rest of this year, then the Best Developer of 2016 title should not be too far from their reach. The Dark City is the third installment in the wonderful Grim Legends series, and it is so far the darkest one yet. Grim Legends 3: The Dark City touches upon a relatively adult theme, considering the past two installments were fairytale-based. Artifex Mundi continues to wow me with an amazingly-written plot in this sequel. I love the way that the story is delivered in this game. The game does not only rely on dialogs and cutscenes, but also interactions with other characters, puzzles and the environment as well. In addition, The Dark City is as eventful as a HOPA can be - it is action-paced with an appropriate amount of surprises and twists. The art style in Grim Legends 3: The Dark City is slightly gothic, which is not something I see very often in the HOPA world. The visuals are spectacular - featuring high-budget cinematics, flawless animations and creative artwork. The soundtracks are equally epic. Everything about the gameplay is extremely polished, the game mechanics flow smoothly together and every single aspect of the gameplay is tuned to perfection. The only draw back I can think of is that sometimes a well-put-together gameplay does not translate to challenge. Advanced players would find Grim Legends 3: The Dark City to be quite straightforward; from the fairly standard hidden object scenes to the simple puzzles. Despite that, the four-hour main game was a total blast to play. As a Collector's Edition, the game also comes with a couple of extra features; a bonus chapter, a strategy guide, wallpapers, soundtracks, concept art, cut scenes, achievements, collectibles, re-playable hidden object scenes and re-playable puzzles. I thought this high octane adventure presents an enthralling tale in a stunning package. For me this edition hits all the right marks - although I think a more difficult version of this would be very welcomed. Players of all levels should have a blast with this installment of Grim Legends. I really loved this one!!!
Date published: 2016-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS ONE!!!! GREAT STORYLINE! based on the demo ... been waiting forever for similar storyline ... love the "order" and the magickal aspects of the world ... artwork is great ... hos selecting pieces of items ... i like that but list of items is fine too; don't have to search for teeny tiny out of proportion items ... haven't seen a strong mini game presence, but will enjoy this one for the content ... woohoo!
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FIND THE MISSING INCARCERI STONES In this latest offering in the Grim Legends series, “The Dark City”, you play the game as Silvia, a member of the Order who lost her memory in an accident a year ago. As an apprentice to Master Solomon you hunt monsters that don’t belong in this world, and when the game begins you are off to meet with him at an abandoned theater where a monster, most likely a Maskwraith, has recently been seen. You soon learn that the sighting is a trick to draw Master Solomon away from headquarters where the Incarceri stones that imprison the dreaded Koshmaars (monsters who feed off the negative emotions of people who then are turned into their servants) are locked away in its vaults. With the Incarceri stones missing you and Master Solomon begin an adventure to return the stones and the Koshmaars to its vaults before disaster is unleashed upon the world. The graphics are excellent as is the sound package including the voiceovers that are some of the best I have heard in recent games. Although there is a custom mode, unfortunately it does not allow you to turn of the dreaded misclick penalty in the HOPS. Really? I, as others, hate that penalty and one would think that would be obvious to the developer. Your tools include an interactive transporter type map that is present at the beginning of the game. The Dark City has more mini-games than HOPS so those of you who love puzzles will be very happy. As is typical there are varying levels of challenge in the puzzles with some being very easy while others are quite challenging. Even though there are more mini-games than HOPS, the HOPS that I found seemed to include some variety. There were a couple of the storybook HOPS as well as the traditional list type scenes that were included in the demo but hopefully there will be some other types as I continue with the full game. Although there was nothing really new or different in either the HOPS or the mini-games those that are included in the demo are still entertaining. The CE version of the game is fairly light on extras but does have collectibles that are raven type skeletons (ala those in Ravenhearst), there are achievements and the standard extras such as the Bonus Chapter, Strategy Guide, Replay HO Puzzles, Replay Mini-games, Cutscenes, Music, Wallpapers, and Concept Art. Grim Legends the Dark City is an excellent game with an exciting storyline and wonderful characters. I have been eagerly awaiting the games release since playing the beta many months ago. I loved the beta and knew the final release of the game would be even better. The Dark City is probably one of the best games I have played this year, and even though I love this game, please try the demo to see if it is a game you will enjoy.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "DON'T PASS UP ON THIS WINNER" I'm loving this game! This is the kind of game...I really enjoy. I highly recommend trying it. It's worth your time. It's a buy for me! I think it has some of the best voice overs and animations! It looks so real...and the characters...are so real looking. I rate this game: "FINE SWINE" “These are my acronyms & rating system…for Hogs, I Hogs, frogs & Adventure games: “DIVINE FINE SWINE” The absolute best of the best! It has everything you want in a game and things you didn’t know you wanted in a game. It is a rare beauty and a must have! Beyond expectations! I really love it! “FINE SWINE” Great game! Best graphics and story line. All the bells and whistles! The best and greatest of games! I love it! “PIGLET” Good game. I like these little gems! This game is for true lovers of these types of games. “PORK BELLY” May be a likable game for some, but not for everyone. “TROTTERS” Don't run away with this pig’s foot. “PIG DOWN” Rolling in the mud! Don’t go near it or you'll get soiled. ‘ ‘ (o)
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Raising The Dead Always Has Grave Consequences Members of the Order dedicate their lives to fight creatures from beyond our world. They are humanity's defenders against the darkness, brave Acolyte's that rely on wisdom and cunning over strength. Sylvia is one of the Order's newest proteges working as an apprentice under the wings of Simon, the organization's senior agents. A year ago Sylvia lost her memory in an accident. Her life as a Monster Hunter is all she remembers, as if her memories have been erased. The Order must stop Gabriel, a rogue agent who has stolen a powerful artifact from the Order, the Incarceri Stone, capable of breathing life into death. Gabriel was unaware that the Stone created a riff which unleashed a very powerful monster known as the Koshmaar. The Koshmaar possesses humans and turns them into evil minions. Can the Order undo the damage that's been done and save the world as we know it? This is by far the best Grim Legends yet. I played the Beta version several months ago and was sent an updated version just a few weeks ago. My comments for the game included the fact that this game would be an instant purchase for me, and I can't wait to get back to the game to finish this awesome story and discover who Sylvia was, before the accident. The graphics are incredible and the storyline gets better with each new chapter, it does a fantastic job of holding your attention and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Many of the zoom zones offer a very interactive feature where you can fiddle with objects using a rotation button to flip the object as you push buttons, slide gears and find and install missing components. In this Collector's Edition there are 28 Achievements to earn and 30 Hidden Skull Imps to find as well as the usual CE bling. The Mini Games aren't very creative so far, but I'm hoping it's just the tip of the iceberg. There are Interactive List finds, Multiples of a single item finds, Finding Symbols in groups of two and some smaller Zoom Zone puzzles where you are tasked with finding a handful of items. The Mini Games are fairly decent and I didn't find any of them so far to be too frustrating or so boring I skipped it. The following are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Use lockpicks to open a lock. 2) Click on four Masks until the correct color sequence matches the clue shown. 3) Find hidden runes in a picture that match the symbol inside the crystal ball. 4) Shoot a pistol when the target is green. 5) Click on balls to darken the correct pattern as shown in a negative photo. (keep in mind how a negative works) 6) Drag stained glass pieces to the correct places on the pane. 7) Follow the picture directions of a recipe. 8) Place elements hidden in the pictures in their proper slots. 9) Each time Sylvia uses her "powers" to fight the enemy you must click on the token that doesn't have any of the symbols inside the enemies tokens. This Collector's Edition has 12 replayable Hidden Object Scenes, 18 replayable Mini Games, 6 Wallpapers, 12 Concept Art pictures, 28 Achievements to earn, 5 Music Soundtracks, 6 replayable Cutscenes, a built in Strategy Guide, and a Bonus Chapter, (The Ancient Stone) enjoy!
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow, Just Wow! A fantastic game. The title is Dark City so most scenes are dark but as the graphics are excellent my poor old eyes don't get strained. The voices are very good too. I felt the game was a bit slow at the beginning but it picks up the pace quite quickly. I was so absorbed by this game the time just flew by. The HOS are few and far between and the mini games are quite fun and not too complicated so far. The Extras include a replay of the HOS and Mini Games, 28 Achievements and 30 Skeleton Collectibles. Off to play again.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ONE OF THE BEST GAMES THIS YEAR! A FIVE-STAR PLUS ADVENTURE INTO CREATIVITY REVIEW BASED ON THE ENTIRE GAME - 6 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER OVERVIEW: First, I want to give a BIG THANK YOU to Artifex Mundi for giving me the opportunity to play this FIVE STAR PLUS OUTSTANDING game gratis. This is my favorite developer and this game, as their others, does not disappoint! This is another topnotch game from an outstanding developer! This is an amalgamation of an adventure game combined with a HOP gaming format. It is creative, innovative and illustrates excellence in gaming! The pace is excellent with a variety of activities within each scene, including some puzzle-like activities to figure what action you need to perform to move to the next scene. STORY: The Order is back, with an acolyte of Master Solomon, Sylvia, leading the fight against a new monster, the Koshmaar. For centuries this dark force has been imprisoned within a crystal called the Incarceri Stone hidden deep within the vaults of the Order headquarters. However, someone, wishing to access the great power of this crystal, has stolen it, risking the release of this evil entity. It will be up to you, as Sylvia, along with your mentor, to retrieve this stolen artifact. When a magical rift appears over the town of Lichenteim, you are able to discover its location. Traveling to Lichenteim, you will be in for the fight of your life to stop the Koshmaar, a parasite which feeds off the negative emotions of its hosts, turning them into zombie-like creatures called Maskwraiths. Further investigation reveals that the evil is preying on an overly ambitious mother, her daughter, Camilla, a disgraced member of the Order - Gabriel, Camilla’s maid and a wealthy suitor vying for Camila. GRAPHICS: The graphics emphasize the game’s theme of “dark” powers fighting those of the “light.” The graphics use realistic imaging with dark tones throughout to provide a sinister environment. I felt the addition of the stained glass window puzzles was a nice contrast providing some “light” to the otherwise dark ambiance of this game. This contrast is evident with the characters themselves. Our heroine is portrayed as a strong warrior demon hunter. Her presence is contrasted with that of Camilla, the “pretty princess” in this game. The voice overs are excellent as well. LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Expert, Custom General hints and skips: 10 to 120 seconds. Hints for HOP scenes: 2 to 240 seconds. There is a penalty for random clicking. MINI-GAMES: There are 27 puzzles in the game, which almost twice the amount of HOP scenes. They are very creative and innovative. This game is more of an adventure game than a standard HOP game. Much of the game requires some strategy skills in figuring out what actions you need to perform in order to proceed. One of the best examples of this is a “booby trap” sequence in which you need to formulate the steps to take and what inventory you will need to get through the series of booby traps in a cathedral. As for the standard mini-games found in most standard HOP games, I found the puzzles varied in difficulty and variety. They include matching puzzles, assembly puzzles, sequence puzzles, sliding tiles puzzles, lock pick puzzle, and mathematical puzzles. INTERACTIVE 3-DIMENSIONAL PUZZLES WITH OBJECT MANIPULATION: This is a NEW CONCEPT for HOP games. As in many of today’s adventure games, there are interactive puzzles with objects in this game. This is not found in most standard HOP games. There are three instances of this within the game. One of these involves a camera in which you must locate and remove a negative within the camera. You must interact with the camera rotating it in a 3-dimensional format by locating and pushing buttons on the camera to open up various parts of the camera. You must then locate items from the camera, placing them back onto the camera in the proper location. You will interact until you finish getting the photographic negative. This same 3-dimensional activity is performed throughout the game with a skull with phrenology symbols and a phonograph, which requires twisting and turning and manipulating items in order to get it to work. (Actually, the phonograph puzzle is similar to one I just played in another adventure game, “The Alphabet Murders”). REPETITIVE MINI-GAME TO FIGHT EVIL: Throughout the game, each time you encounter an instance in which you must remove the parasitic Maskwraith from a victim, you must play two puzzles. The first puzzle is a “spot the difference” puzzle in which you must locate the token in a set of red tokens which differs symbolically from the symbols in a set of blue tokens. The second puzzle is a storybook one using stained glass windows to tell the story of the victim reflected in their memories. So creative and innovative! There is a variety of puzzles used in the storybook sequences. They include jigsaw puzzles, sliding tiles puzzles, and moving panes of glass into the proper location. HOP SCENES: There 14 HOP scenes in the game. These are probably the weakest part of the game. Most of the HOP scenes are lists of items (usually a number of one particular item to be located). There are also a few FROG scenes as well to create inventory items. I felt the Bonus Game had more creative HOP scenes. The format for the HOP scenes in the bonus games is different from the rest of the game. EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the start of the game 28 Achievements Collect 30 Skeleton-like dolls Replay of 12 HOP scenes and 18 mini-games Strategy guide – 52 pages 6 Wallpapers, 12 Concept Art, Soundtrack, and Cut scenes. BONUS CHAPTER: Play Gabriel, Sylvia’s brother, trying to escape the prison of the Incarceri Crystal. You must once again fight the Koshmaar which again has been let loose. You will locate the source of the Koshmarr’s power plus face a difficult heart wrenching decision. There are four puzzles with a storybook sequence and five HOP scenes. I feel that the HOP scenes are better constructed than those in the main game with more variety including silhouette and a little more variety on the lists of items to locate. The puzzles are excellent as well. I particularly enjoyed a mathematical puzzle and a puzzle using mirrors to direct beams to destroy enemies. You will face a difficult choice in this final chapter.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grim Legends 3 - Good game, needed more HO's One of the reasons I play HO games is because I like the Hidden Object puzzles. Seems like a lot of the games lately are opting for fewer HO's. The really enjoyable games for me have lots of HO's, puzzles, morphs and collectibles. I like a lot going on in the games I play. This one could definitely had more HO's. It was however very enjoyable. Visuals were really great.
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slick programming The games visual and sound qualities are great. Storyline is OK. What really impressed with this game is smoothness of screen transitions and overall responsiveness. Lags are non existent. Hats off to the code writers.
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Poor Gabe Cursed his own love Maybe if I fall I will regain my memory's. Great game, Easy Breezy HO's, and Puzzles, Lots to do, Good Characters and good voice overs. Cut scenes are nice, Game play runs smoothly, Like the falling leaves as I go about getting things done, Like making the potions too, also like their version of a fairly repeated story line. This one kept it interesting. Love the little Gothic dead birds.
Date published: 2016-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from scare crows are good really enjoyed the game I like the little helper
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from yak yak yak yak yak yak yak!!! It's beautiful, game play is okay, and all the CE bells and whistles are there. But I have never seen a game where the characters talk so much! Even the games talk at you. It's much more immersive to SHOW instead of TELL! Sheesh!!
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Collect Fabulously Weird Little Skeleton Dolls GREETINGS FELLOW FISHIES I am just taking a quick dip in the pond today to share my impressions with you regarding Grim Legends 3: The Dark City Collector’s Edition. First of all let me say that I found the artwork to be truly beautiful. The graphics were bright, lush, richly saturated and very well drawn. I thought that the voice-over acting was quite good in this game and appreciated that it was well synchronized with character lip movements. I also appreciated the background noises, environmental sounds, and the soundtrack. All of these elements allowed a nicely immersive game playing experience. I enjoy being able to earn achievements as well as locate and collect the entertainingly strange little skeleton dolls. The game plays smoothly, with no glitches in scene transition, inventory item usage or general scene interaction. While this game is a bit lacking in challenge for my particular tastes, it was nonetheless a pleasant surprise to have a game that was closer to an actual adventure game, than the all-to-frequent and market saturated HOGs with which we’ve been inundated lately. If you’d like a relatively straightforward and relaxing game to play, with an interesting story line and gorgeous graphics, then I think you’ll enjoy Grim Legends 3: The Dark City Collector’s Edition. HAPPY GAMING! ~B
Date published: 2016-07-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hunt Down Rogue Agent Gabriel and Stop the Koshmaar! Pretty much the title is the story synopsis - You play as Sylvia, an apprentice Hunter under Senior Hunter Simon. You are both chasing a rogue agent who has stolen a powerful artifact in an effort to resurrect his deceased love. Unfortunately his failed resurrection attempt released the Koshmaar, a monster that enters a host and enslaves other humans. Good stuff: The story is engaging as you follow Sylvia, who lost her memory in an accident a year before this story opens. The VO's and characterizations are very good. HOPs and mini-games are just so-so, while the artwork is well done as are the other game elements. There are collectible little goblin/demon figures and CE bling along with four levels of game play. Bad stuff: There is nothing egregiously bad, just nothing brilliantly new or innovative. Overall the game is better than average, but not great enough for five stars. Try the Demo and enjoy.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definite 4 1/2 Stars I really enjoyed this one, could have been longer and knocked off 1/2 star because their attempt to do fragment HOs like Dark Parables, just didn't quite match up. The graphics are beautiful, the story was very interesting, and it was quite a bit of fun. Overall, this was an excellent game with a few minor issues, but I highly recommend. I also love that it has chapters so if you need to quit, you can come back at a new task.
Date published: 2016-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I wish the gameplay was better I wish the gameplay was better. The graphics are gorgeous. The puzzles are boring. I love games, but these are simply annoying. The runes clashing with each other are tiresome. Chasing around for the hidden objects became repetitive. I couldn't wait for this to be over.
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I want to give this game a 5 I just can't! I really really wanted to be blown away by this game since it's been so long since we've gotten a game from one of my favorites Artifex Mundi, but alas I can not! The other Grim Legends were so brilliant. This one feels ... I don't know, unfinished. No technical problems, and not even any super strong complaints. I didn't care about the story, though, or the characters. There wasn't anything visually stunning, nothing awful either. I think it may have been the very dark setting that stayed throughout that got to me. I can't complain about the art, the design or the soundtrack -- these have always been Artifex Mundi's highlights, IMO. However, the puzzles and minigames are not as challenging nor as intuitive as the first and second games, respectively; the first two Grim Legends were absolutely brilliant and fun to play, challenging and exciting, beautiful and with a really nice atmosphere. I also didn't like the child-like ruins thing you had to play to beat your opponent, it's like they think we are in kindergarten, it was so infantile! I wish I could say this game is as good as many of Artifex Mundi's previous games but alas it is not. They have done other games that are so much better! I do recommend it because all and all it was pretty good just not their best work.
Date published: 2016-07-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad, but not great I liked the game just fine until I got to the bonus chapter where there is no map or collectables I'm trying to find something called a Cerberus in a HOP? I do like this developer, kind of seems like this game got rushed through production, as the last part of the game was pretty lame. 3.5 for me. As always play the demo and judge for yourself.
Date published: 2016-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Solid 3 rating. Map doesn't always indicate active site. Not a bad game. Certainly not worth CE status. No Morphing objects and only 30 skull type things to collect which are really easy to find. I Beta'd this and labelled it AWFUL so the dev's must have made some improvements. I'm 70 so I always play casual, finished the demo, just not impressed. Don't think I'd even get the SE. Try before you buy!
Date published: 2016-07-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nyeh The game play in this is a little disjointed. You get slugged by someone; wake up and are transported to somewhere...who knows... Some things are really high or far away, but you can still reach them, some things look about the same distance but you cannot get them without some thing to help you. Some places you can jump off a three story building with ease, but sometimes you can't get down one story. Also, what is with the fighting with runes thing?? A lot of things in this game just seem like extra fluff that makes no sense. Sometimes, people talk to you and other times lips come up and you have to click on them...sometimes you have to choose dialogues although you must choose all options, so why bother with the screen for that?? The mini games a totally simple. Go find a clue as to how to arrange balls, then just click on them...sheesh! Put puzzles together...yawn. And the most annoying part is the little notice that comes up each time you find a hidden skeleton doll...aargh...it lasted for a full 8 seconds. I know, because after awhile, I started to count. All in all, I found this game annoying and silly. Pass.
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I could not make it through the demo I see I am very much in the minority here. The other reviewers really like this game. It is unusual for me to delete a game before the end of the demo. But I could not go further. I wanted to like this game. I do like the devs. games usually. It may be that I am just tired of the monsters and evil themes where we spend all of our time running around claiming a stone or a relic or a magic book or some other item that gets into the hands of the bad guys. So we run about trying to get the thing back that never should have been lost in the first place. Oh yes and the whole world is at stake here, so why was it so easy to steal in the first place. Anyway I was really bored so I deleted it. I am glad so many of you like this game but it is not for me.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2½ stars...I'm half asleep after playing the demo. Grim Legends: 3, the Dark City CE Review based on full demo PROLOGUE... What had the potential to be a five-star game was decimated by far too many cutscenes that moved at a snail’s pace and elementary gameplay complete with hand-holding. I loved the storyline, especially the idea of the Koshmaar. (If you didn’t know, cauchemar is French for nightmare. Clever, huh?) ONCE UPON A TIME... Sylvia is an acolyte of the Order, a group that hunts supernatural monsters. After an accident, she lost most of her memory. One person she doesn’t remember is Gabriel, who was exiled from the Order. Now, Gabriel has stolen a dangerous artifact, inadvertently releasing a Koshmaar, a nightmarish creature that unleashes horrors onto normal humans, turning them into its minions. Sylvia and her mentor, Solomon, will have to recapture the Koshmaar, free its captives, and return the artifact to safety. PLAY THE GAME... From the headquarters of the Order, you travel to a city experiencing the obvious symptoms of a Koshmaar on the loose. Fortunately, the Order has stashed a cache of helpful items there. Unfortunately, everything is locked up, needing a key, a pattern password, or a shaped medallion. HO scenes include interactive list, find and replace, FROG, matching pairs, and items that you zoom in on and can rotate and interact with. That last was the best type, in my opinion. I hope to see more of them in a more challenging, more immersive game from this dev. Puzzles were all extremely simple. A sample: • A repeating puzzle in which you “defend yourself” by countering the attacker by selecting a pair of runes that doesn’t appear in his/her attack. • Several puzzles that are merely copying the given clue. • Following very easy recipes. • Opening a lock using lockpicks which, really, just meant rotating two rings until the openings matched up. A throwaway puzzle. • Paint a stained glass window so that like colors aren’t adjacent to each other. • A puzzle I assume will repeat since it involved rescuing a Koshmaar minion: a stained glass jigsaw with 4-6 pieces. SIGHTSEEING... Lovely graphics and animation with majestic backgrounds and detailed close-ups. SOUNDBOARD... The music was unobtrusive. Environmental sounds were excellent. Voiceovers were superb. Solomon reminded me of Sean Connery. TOOLBOX... Locking inventory with plus items. Jump map that indicates available actions. (It’s not really necessary, though, as each area is rather limited.) A task list. OH BOTHER! No technical difficulties or lagging on my iMac running OS 10.11.3. OOH! PIECE OF CANDY... Bonus chapter, replayable HO scenes and puzzles, performance achievements, collectible figurines, the SG, and the developer’s portfolio of sights and sounds. EPILOGUE... Honestly, I was bored. The demo really dragged on, and it seemed like the cutscenes were infinite and endless in length. Gameplay was so simplistic that it was an annoyance. I can’t recommend this one, and I can’t imagine why it’s getting five-star reviews. Better games by this dev include Abyss: The Wraiths of Eden (which I just replayed a week ago), Enigmatis: The Ghosts of Maple Creek, and the Time Mysteries series, especially the last two. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2016-07-18
  • y_2019, m_5, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_24937, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Grim Legends 3: The Dark City Collector's Edition

A young woman joins the Order of monster hunters and discovers its dark secrets.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.