Surface: Lost Tales Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Surface: Lost Tales Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(275.01 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Elephant Games proudly presents the next thrilling installment of the Surface series! You’ve been seeing things that can’t possibly be real. What starts as a simple doctor’s visit turns into the chase of a lifetime! The Huntsman is after you and Fairyland’s in danger. With only fragments of your memory, can you save the kingdom before it’s too late? Find out in this breathtaking hidden-object puzzle adventure!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“Gorgeous artwork and music! Lives up to previous Surface games...high quality, great storyline and interesting minigames. It's a "keeper"!!!”  - Riley, beta tester

“I really liked everything about this game. The puzzles were intriguing, the collection of usable items was interesting and the story line was good. It was a nice take on using major fairy tale characters. I look forward to playing the entire game.”  - Alex, beta tester


  • Learn the truth about Hansel, Gretel, and the witch in the bonus chapter.
  • Find cool morphing collectible figures.
  • Discover hidden flowers in every scene.
  • Earn exciting achievements!
  • Treasure stunning wallpapers, soundtrack, and concept art.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1428 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Surface: Lost Tales Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(275.01 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Surface: Lost Tales Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 48.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Great Game In This Series .... Great Graphics, Sound, Effects, Animations, Story, Voice & Video Bits ... A Great Addition To This Series Of Games And Another Nice Twist On Some Old Classic Stories ... A Good All Rounder For All Ages ... Some Nice Touches To The HOG's With Plenty Of Variations In The Style ... Maybe A Little Short, But The Bonus Chapter Is A Nice Addition For Some Extra Playing Time ... In Saying That The Bonus Chapter Doesn't Have Many New Scenes ... Well Worth A Special Deal ...
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Fairyland Masterpiece Wow wow wow!!! You feel like a kid again !! From the characters to the graphics amazing. A must buy.
Date published: 2016-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved being the main character in a fairytale! I don't often leave a review before purchasing and playing the entire game nor is it very often that I buy the CE edition of a game, but if I had the extra cash I would buy this game right now! I was so enjoying this game when my time ran out. This is only the 3rd or 4th game this year that I truly enjoyed being totally immersed in a game. I just loved walking around looking at everything, being a part of their world as well as playing all the fun hidden object scenes and mini games. I didn't want to leave! The hidden object scenes are excellently crafted and varied, from regular list finds to silhouettes and even placing items back in the scene where they belong. Those who still love this part of the game will be delighted with the quality of the hidden object scenes. Visuals/graphics are fantastic, great animations and scenes, beautifully drawn characters and great attention is paid to detail, with the style working flawlessly with the fairytale genre. Colors are lovely without being garish or overdone. I truly hope the rest of the game is as good if not better then the demo because as soon as we have a really good CE sale or a buy one get one I'm purchasing this game! For now I'm off to play a surface game I purchased sometime ago but never played. That will have to keep me happy until some extra funds fall from the sky like manna from heaven! Yes I highly recommend this game!
Date published: 2016-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Welcome to Fairyland! When I saw the so-so reviews and read them, I knew I had to check this out and play. I own one Surface game though I've played demos to all of them (they're usually too weird for my tastes, and I'm not a big fan of modern day settings) but this one fit the bill for what I like - a sense of fantasy without being too bizarre - meaning not one grotesque scene in the demo. I also liked that the modern day setting is minimal - I will be purchasing. Thank you makers, for taking other players' tastes into account and not always going with what is often the norm (ultra creepy) The show mentioned in the review- pretty sure I know which one that is. I watch that show, but except for the queen looking like a certain queen named Regina, I saw no other similarities in demo. In show, there is no white rabbit, no Cheshire cat, etc., and the Huntsman wasn't pure evil. Perhaps the one similarity game has is that it has several fairy tales combined, all set in one kingdom... I thoroughly enjoyed the demo. Didn't want to quit. Gameplay was fun and a bit challenging at times (with what to do next). Puzzles were average challenge-wise, but fun. Storyline was engaging and imaginative. Didn't always care for the music, but that's just a preference thing - and can be turned down at any time. Spotting the signature Surface flowers and the morphing collectibles (each with their own bio) was a neat addition. TARGET AUDIENCE: Those who like fantasy/magical "enchanting" games, like the Dark Parables games or even the Awakening series - I think will really like this (I own the full sets of both). There are no FROGS (not in the demo anyway) but the HOS scenes were varied and interactive, I recommend you try before you buy to get your own taste of it... I'm glad I did and didn't just ignore this, thinking it was yet another dark, gloomy game.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SURFACE 9 TAKES YOU ON A QUEST CREATED BY BRILLIANT MINDS! This edition of Surface was a must-have purchase for me. Many of the classic fairy tales have been retold in a variety of ways over the years, especially classics like Red Riding Hood and Cinderella. However, one can still find methods to add something new to the formula, even if the only thing that changes is one little detail about a situation or a character. With enough imagination, that small change can lead to very different results. Your ultimate quest is to save a kingdom from utter destruction! In Surface: Lost Tales you play the role of a girl trying to figure out why she's suddenly in a fairy tale and nothing makes sense around her. The game features classic HOPA gameplay mechanics and progression, which means that most of your time is spent analyzing the environment in order to find useful objects. I love this format Elephant uses in the creation of their games. The story is pretty strange as well, since it’s a combination of Cinderella, Red Riding Hood and Alice in Wonderland. Thus, the main character finds herself in a different world after a doctor’s visit, which is why The Huntsman is after her and she becomes the kingdom’s only hope for survival. Granted, the plot is not too complex, but it’s interesting enough to keep you engaged for a while. There are also nice mini-games to diversify the gameplay. Every now and again you are put to the test with some kind of puzzle, and although they are not very complicated or anything like that, you may have a tough time arranging all the pieces in the correct order. Other puzzles put your reflexes to the test, such as the one that has you speeding through traffic and trying to avoid the other cars as quickly as you can. The graphics are pretty nice, if you do not mind the fact that they are hand-drawn and not very animated. I find that this allows for much more detail than in a fully three-dimensional rendering. The soundtrack is pretty nice as well, especially since it’s dynamic and it evolves depending on what’s happening on the screen. In the end, Surface: Lost Tales is quite the riveting experience, especially if you are a fan of the genre. Hence, if you need to relax for a little bit and you want to enjoy a nice story at the same time, this could certainly be your game. Thank you BigFish and Elephant for continuing this extraordinary Series!!! ? ?
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent What a bit of fresh air this game is, I didn't like the last two in this series, so didn't expect to like this one. But within 10 minutes of play I knew I had to have this game. Absolutely adore it. Graphics are topnotch!! HOS well done with some new twists, minigames not too difficult but very enjoyable. It's been a while since I was so thrilled about a game!! I recommend you try it yourself
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WHO AND WHERE AM I TODAY? Hallucinations - seeing people change before your eyes: are you crazy? You are definitely worried as you seek the help of a therapist. Well at least you think he is a therapist until he then turns into a maniac with an axe. This is definitely not a normal day! You soon realize that you may have stepped through a looking glass and have one foot in your world and one in another. You play the game as Cindy but why do people keep calling you Cinderella? Travel between two worlds – one real and one a fairy tale land as you try to stop the evil huntsman who is on a rampage. The graphics are terrific but sometimes cartoonish as they create a wonderful fairy tale world. I happen to love games from this developer and this new spin on the Surface series shows a new level of creativity. Your tools include an interactive map that is very helpful and shows where you have collectibles to find as well as where there are things to do. When you click on the map icon you will also find a journal that is a tool I love to have on hand. One of the best things about this game is that it is NOT loaded with video cut scenes that chew up a lot of space on the hard drive. The HOPS are excellent and very creative. The mammoth has finally stepped out of the box and is now providing some HOPS that are sure to entertain even the most seasoned HOPA game players who have seen it all – over and over again. The first HOP is one where you will match pairs/types of items to begin a very interactive silhouette scene that is so well-crafted that it becomes part of the storyline. Finally, a game with no searching through a suitcase to find a key! There is a good variety in the HOPS with some being more interactive than others but all of them are terrific. The puzzles are the WOW factor in Surface Lost Tales. If you read my reviews you know I love the puzzles or mini-games that are included in HOPA games and those I encountered during the demo were terrific. The first mini-game was very easy matching type where we move dolls to the correct position. The next one was not so easy for me although others will find it simple – a manual dexterity game where I had to drive my car while avoiding obstacles in the road. I know we have all seen this type of manual dexterity puzzle before but this one was a bit challenging because of speed changes. If this had been real life I would be in the hospital because I kept crashing – LOL. All of the puzzles are excellent and even though many were quite easy there were others that presented a lot of challenge. The CE version has lots of extras and does include finding flowers that are the signature of the Surface games. Other items include collectible statues, morphing objects, achievements, replay of HOPS and mini-games, music, wallpapers, concept art, bonus chapter and the strategy guide. Surface Lost Tales is an awesome game! No one does fairy tales better than the mammoth team and, IMHO, with Lost Tales they have revived the Surface series. At least for me, this is one of the best games in the series with a storyline that is different and entertaining. I love everything about this game and for me it is perfect even though it might not be for everyone. I have always loved fairy tales and some of my fondest memories from childhood were having them read to me as bedtime stories, so Lost Tales is a game that is perfect for me as I am sure it will be for many others. Even though I love this game, please try the demo to see if it awakens the child in you and that you will enjoy it as much as I do.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just a GREAT game to play I have played all of this series and love them all. This one is no exception. Beautifully drawn, sound is great and the games are fun. In the HO's you find something - then you use something to find the next thing. Not new to these games but makes it a little different. Really enjoy playing them when something is different from the run of the mill. Good strong story line and fun to figure out. There are much better reviews that really go into detail, they do such a terrific job. It makes it much easier for people to choose a game. So glad to have them. My reviews are just my opinions and a few observations. As always, do the play first and see if it is a game you want to buy. I hope you like them as much as I do.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surface has risen to the Top Very delightful characters, Good ambiance, morphing objects collect flowers, lots to do, A jump map which was hard on the eyes for some reason. This game was well done and has become a new favorite of the Surface games. Oh lots of critter action, and very well played out story line and the cut scenes too. Goes on my to buy list. Only things that bothered me was the map seemed a little harsh and the dark areas of the HO's were to dark, but other then that good selection of HO's and easy breezy puzzles.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game But It Seems More Like A Dark Parable Story The Book of Fairy Tales supports all life within Fairyland. Unfortunately, this important artifact was damaged and some of it's pages were scattered across Fairyland and the real world, the book itself is missing! The characters within those scattered pages were also scattered between the two worlds, including Cindy Allen who seems to have no idea that she's really a Fairytale Princess. She doesn't have much time to figure things out because the Huntsman from Snow White is hunting her down as he searches desperately for the ever so important book! No Fairytale would be complete without the Cheshire Cat, so naturally he joins the princess on this amazing adventure, and he sure can talk up a storm! Surface has had a few duds lately but The Lost Tale is certainly not one of 'em, however, this doesn't seem like a storyline that should be offered in a Surface game, it seems more like a Dark Parable storyline to me. As usual, there are Red and White Forget-me-Not hidden flowers to collect, some of which are very well blended into the scenery. This Collector's Edition offers the usual Achievements to earn as well as 12 Morphing Fairytale Characters that give a brief bio about the character as well as their alter ego. The Hidden Object Scenes are varied with Interactive List finds, Matching Pair finds, Progressive Silhouetted Shape finds and even scenes that have you placing items from the list into the scene correctly. Some of the HOP's are multi-layered and have two or three different types within the same scene. The Mini Games are fairly easy, none seem to be frustrating either. The following are brief descriptions of some of the games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Match the fairytale character to the logical diagnoses by swapping characters. 2) Select the arrows to steer the car towards home, avoiding obstacles in the road. 3) Get Cinderella to the ball by interacting with objects in the scene. 4) Find out when the clock stopped and set the hands to show the correct time. 5) Reconstruct Alice's memories by dragging the three clouds on the left to adjust the memory fragments to fit together. Moving some clouds may cause some fragments to disappear and others to appear. 6) Place the mythical creatures on their place of origin by swapping the creatures. 7) Repair the net by selecting the correct tasks. This Collectors Edition has replayable Puzzles and Hidden Object Scenes, Collectible Red and White hidden flowers, 12 Morphing Fairytale Characters, Achievements to earn, 10 Wallpapers, 1 Screensaver, 10 Concept Art pictures, 5 Music Soundtracks, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Chapter, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ENJOY A DISNEY ROLLER COASTER RIDE HOPPING BETWEEN FANTASY LAND AND REALITY 5 CHAPTER PLUS BONUS CHAPTER – REVIEW BASED ON THE DEMO Are you going insane? Things are not as they appear in this game. As Cindy Allen (in the real world) and Cinderella (in Fairyland), traverse both worlds to stop the Huntsman from disrupting both worlds. I LOVE this 5-star Disneyesque game where fairy tale characters have been propelled into the real world. The graphics are cartoonish. The script has the feel of Disney written into it. There are more puzzles than HOP scenes; however, they are very creative and the puzzles reflect the theme of the game. You collect flowers and figurines from Fairyland. There are some creative HOP scenes in this game and some slightly difficult puzzles as well. STORY: When a struggle develops in stealing the storybook controlling Fairyland, pages from the book are torn and end up in the two worlds of Fairyland and the real world. You, as Cinderella, have been propelled into the real world along with others from Fairyland. Your cat, who is the Cheshire Cat in disguise, indicates that you are needed to restore order to both kingdoms. It seems the “Huntsman” is responsible for this bedlam. As you play this game, you will feel you are in a Disneyesque world with an array of characters from Disney movies including the pretty princesses and princes coupled with the Cheshire Cat and your therapist, Charles Bunny (the White Rabbit). Who is controlling Fairyland? Return to this kingdom and try to restore order to the real world and Fairyland. HOP SCENES: The scenes are creatively designed and reflect the theme of the game. In the demo there is a multiple-step scene with matching pairs opening up to silhouette items which you locate and then use to interact with the HOP scenes. Others include another silhouette scene and a list of items to locate. My favorite HOP scene is a common one for this developer – alternating between locating items and replacing items back into the scenes. PUZZLES: The puzzles are EXCEPTIONAL! To me, this is the best part of the game. They vary in style and difficulty. They include a clever matching puzzle in which you match up fairy tale characters with their psychological disorders. There is also a manual dexterity puzzle, an assembly puzzle in which you interact with a fairy tale scene from Cinderella, and another assembly puzzle using symbols. FAVORITE PUZZLES: I have two favorite puzzles from the demo. In a maze puzzle, move a key through a long maze of glass piping. This maze is divided into three scenes. Awesome! The other puzzle which I thought very creative is an assembly/jigsaw puzzle. You must restore memories by maneuvering clouds within the scene which causes them to appear and disappear. LEVELS: Casual, Advanced, Hardcore, Custom Hints and Skips – 15 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is given to you at the start of the game Achievements Collect over 100 flowers Collect 12 morphing figurines Replay HOP scenes and puzzles Strategy guide - 50 pages Wallpaper, Concept Art, Music, Screensavers HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES HOP SCENES: A. Multiple-step. (1) Matching pairs. (2) Silhouette items. Locate and then use to interact with the scene. B. Alternate between replacing items back into the scene and searching for an item. C. Silhouette. D. List of items to locate PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Extremely easy (2) Easy (3) A little difficult or time consuming (4) Moderately difficult (5) Difficult A. Matching puzzle. Match up fairy tale characters with their psychological disorders. Rating: 1 B. Manual dexterity puzzle. Drive a car through town avoiding obstacles in your path. Rating: 1 C. Assembly puzzle. Interact with a fairy tale scene of Cinderella, locating items and replacing them back into the proper locations. Rating: 1 D. Investigation. Find out what time a clock stopped and set the clock hands to that time. Rating: 2 E. Assembly/Jigsaw puzzle. Restore memories by moving items within the scene until all the memories are restored. Moving the clouds affects the memories appearing and disappearing. 3X Very creative Increases in difficulty. Rating: 3 EXCELLENT PUZZLE F. Matching puzzle. Match up fairy tale tokens with the country from which they originated. Rating: 2 G. Assembly puzzle. Repair a net by matching up three pieces of various symbols which combined together match the symbol in the middle of the net. 4X Rating: 3 H. Maze puzzle. Move a key through a very long maze of glass piping (divided into three sections) using magnets. Rating: 3
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from in a far, far , far, place of fantasy as before really enjoyed playing the game : good graphics, art,story line good
Date published: 2016-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not Surface as I remember it, but a very good (nearly five star) game While this has virtually nothing in common with the others in the Surface series, it is still an extremely good game. I'll admit to a slight feeling of worry (I'm not a huge fan of cuteness) when I saw that it was fairy tale based, but I needn't have been concerned. Yes, fairy tales are the theme, but they're done well and while (mercifully!) not as dark as the originals, don't go overboard on the sweetness either. I liked the way the fairy tale characters behaved in the real world. Graphics and sound were both very good. I enjoyed the music - atmospheric, but not intrusive. It was not the most challenging of games, but it was very enjoyable with smooth movement and largely sensible solutions to problems. Nothing very new perhaps, but done well. The storyline made sense (given that we're talking about a HO game here and it's not going to be War and Peace) and it was easy to understand why everyone was doing what they were doing. Why not 5 stars? Well, it was a little short. Even taking the (good) bonus game into account, it was a little over 4 hours which is a bit slim for a CE at the price they are. I really enjoyed this one and would recommend.
Date published: 2016-06-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wow!! It was a fun game to play, loved the characters, the puzzles innovative and unique. Liked the music, also. It would get five stars but for one thing, it was too short, even with the bonus game. It would be a great feature if an estimated playing time would be included.
Date published: 2016-06-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Grab my paws & we're off to Fairytale Land... So, this is a pretty solid game, somewhat different than its previous stories. But I wish they could refine they artwork and the whole feeling that you get while playing it. It just lacks... something. You've got many things to explore, search for, combine and try, so for sure in this game you won't be bored! I particularly liked the venture machine puzzle, although there were others that had a difficulty or better a complexity in them, that was unnecessary.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A new kind of Surface, why ? It has nothing to do with the Surface Franchise which lately had been watered down quite a bit almost to nothing..... This is as one of the reviewer mentioned more like " dark parable " It is still contemporary, with trips to fantasy land, which is cute. Good characters over all. A very pleasant game. I miss the old original surface which was sureal and bizarre. This is more magic land. It is a good solid game, good HO's and puzzles.... My question is why not go on with the old Surface, it was great stuff and had a great following just as Ravenhearst ! Again a bit too much Disney style going on lately...
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice take on an old fairy tale... Hi all! Well, we have #9 in this series, and yes, I do have the first 8. This one is set up the same way all the others are done, with very nice colors and exceptional game play. I found no jumps or glitches during the demo and it fit my large screen quite well. Graphics are very clear and animation is well done. Music is soothing. Voice overs, so far, are character appropriate and have some emotion, not just someone reading a script. Sound FX are not over-powering, but well done. HOPs are a wonderful combination of finding pairs, silhouettes, place item in scene, find items and interactive lists. I got so engrossed in the HOPs that I forgot to look for an alternative. HOPs are clean and items are not difficult to find...very well done. Puzzles were nothing really new, but were a little different. Most took some time and thought to complete, but I didn't run into anything really difficult to figure out. Hint system is very helpful and it does transport you to longer locations. This is very nice, as you do a lot of back tracking to the same locations in this game. I seldom comment on the story, as others do a much better job of that, but this story was a nice combination of many, e.g. Alice in Wonderland (creepy cat and all), with Cinderella, Snow White and many others tossed in to the mix. The creepy cat sits in the corner and hasn't done anything yet, so not sure if he's any help later or if he's just there. Collectibles are the same flowers, which are found in all scenes, and can be multiple. These flowers are not as easy to spot as you may think. They can be anywhere, including in the corner of a note. We also have 12 character figurines that morph in and out fairly quickly, so be on the look out. Not a lot of collectibles, but enough. I've always liked this series for some reason, and this game is no exception. When I beta tested it, I wasn't kicked off my chair with excitement and gave it only a 2.0. Apparently the devs paid attention to suggestions, as this one has improved since the, so I upgraded to a 4.0. No, it is not challenging, but interesting and different. I think all levels of players will find this one fun for one reason or another. Yes, I am going to add it to my collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It's the Dark Parables Dd not feel like a Surface game. It was ok through
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for Kids! I played only the demo. The game is well done. The creativity of the story and characters should appeal to kids or the kid in you. However, I won't and yes crave an adult themed game that offers challenge.
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not bad - but could have been better This was the first of the BF games that I've finished, but it was on my iPad (I couldn't figure out how to do a review of the iPad version). The only other games I've completed were the Samantha Swift games, but I had them before I found BFG. The graphics in this game were excellent, the storyline was reasonably interesting and the puzzles were challenging. There were interesting twists on the HOPs, but my real problem was with some of the minigames. I had trouble with the sound on this one. I don't know whether the iPad was muted or whether there was much sound on this game or maybe it wasn't working. I suspect there was something simple I could have fixed, but I didn't bother. Sometimes sound distracts from completing some of the puzzles. In this case one of them required sound - a musical tune had to be repeated in order to open a box. I couldn't figure out how to do that so I had to skip it. Other puzzles were skipped (I usually don't do that) because the instructions gave me no clue how to solve them. Most of them were quite difficult, so I wondered if the age group for this game was a bit low. I don't mind a challenge and some of the games I was able to complete after thinking about them for some time. Clearer instructions would have made the others less frustrating. The story has the main character restoring a fairy tale book by returning a council of princesses and their book to fairyland. However, there were only three returned out of five (four if you count the main character), so I didn't quite understand why there were 5 and only 3 main puzzles. It also wasn't explained how the thief actually acquired the book. The surprise was who took it, so some more explanation was required there. All in all, an enjoyable game, if a little short and sometimes more frustrating than it should have been.
Date published: 2017-04-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I'm surprised at the 4 and 5 star ratings.... story and flow sometimes illogical... While playing, if I hear myself mumbling "Really?" or "Seriously?" in the first few minutes of the demo, then I know I won't be buying. But I do try to play at least until the end of the demo... Wow factor may still be just around the corner?? But no... not in this one. Here's where the devs lost me: 1. Very first scene in the office. I fight off an attacker with a 'long', 'tall' coat rack. In the same scene, I need a 'long' item to knock something from the top of a shelf. Coat rack is nowhere to be seen... after some back and forth hunting and collecting, I am rewarded with a cane to knock down the article. 2. I drive to my home (great mini game where I need to avoid obstacles in the road), only to arrive, and then immediately lose my keys in the scene outside my apartment. I don't remember a cut scene where I lost them. How did I drive home? I was very frustrated when I needed to get into my glove compartment, only to get a message that since I didn't have my keys, I would need to pick the lock. Yes... more hunting and collecting ... I know that most games do involve what I call the 'back and forth' aspect (I own over 80 BF games, and demo almost all of what is offered in HOGS), but when the logic is not there, I find it a bit insulting (IMHO). This game gets a rating of 3 from me, only for the collectibles, good map, and a couple of different, challenging games (which I assume continued throughout the full version. As always, play the demo to see if it's for you. Happy gaming!
Date published: 2016-10-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from disappointing I have most of the surface games but I was disappointed because it wasn't up to usual standard. I couldn't believe it finished so quick,it is a very short game and I regret buying it.Do your homework before buying this one
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wait, I'm already done? Way too short for a Collector's Edition. The plot was a little jumbled, and the fact that two different 'chapters' were set in the same area made part of the game quite repetitive visually. The concept itself was good, and had real potential, but the execution left something lacking. This is probably the first time I've purchased a Collector's Edition and was left feeling ripped off.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not engaging Very childish game that seems to be more and more boring as the story evolves.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Half finished game.. Let me preface this by saying that I am a huge fan of Elephant's "Surface" games..I love them. I look forward to them. Heck, I pay full price for them because I don't want to wait to get the newest ones... lol That being said, this is NOT a Surface game. This is NOT up to the standard of a Surface game. Not storyline wise, not visually... Its a puddle when you are expecting an ocean. The premise is good...had a ton of potential...the execution failed badly. Surface isn't a fairy tale game....but this is. My other big problem with this game is it feels half done. This game is ridiculously short. You are just getting settled in and expecting to get to the meat of the game....and poof...you're done. They went from point A to point B....to point F....and skipped everything in between. To say I was disappointed is an understatement. The characters are stilted and one dimensional...you aren't going to be invested in any character here...you simply aren't given the chance to be. This might be fun for kids or someone new to these games...its short...its pretty...its easy. But if you want a real fairy tale game, stick to the Dark Parables games....If you want a real Surface game...go back and play the series from the beginning.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very bland game The Surface games have been very much a hit or miss.....and unfortunately this was a big miss for me. I just found the game to be bland and boring. There was one interactive hidden object that i remember, with all the rest being straight forward. No morphing items. The puzzles were ridiculously easy, even on the hardest mode. There were 12 collectibles hidden in the game, and a heap of flowers that didnt seem to do anything other than be collected. The bonus chapter was more of the same. Maybe recommend the SE version, but only if you are really bored.
Date published: 2016-06-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good game but Too short I liked the game, very nicely drawn and the puzzles not impossible, but the game was over too quickly. I should have known when I completed the 90 minute demo in 20 minutes, but I was surprised how abruptly the game ended--I was finished in one day--maybe 90 minutes total playtime. Disappointing, but maybe good for people who are not that used to these games and would take longer.
Date published: 2016-06-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Somebody Has Been Watching Too Much TV The Book of Fairy Tales was almost stolen from the magical land and there was a tussle during which the book lost some pages. Your tale was one of the affected stories and you ended up in the real world. Luckily your memory started to come back and you will need to straighten out the mess made of both the real world and that of fairy tales and find out what started this crisis. Good stuff: Four levels of game play, beautiful art work, multilevel and varied HOPS, mini-games, good VOs, the surface flowers to collect, CE bling, and a very wicked looking Huntsman out to get you. Bad stuff: This is not the Surface we've come to expect from the series. Whether that is a good or bad thing depends on how much you like fairy tales and this story line. I felt as though I was watching an episode of a popular TV series, which I don't care for. And I just saved the world yesterday. This will definitely be a game for which you need to play the demo. Then you can decide for or against saving the fairy tale kingdom.
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from review of game plus bonus well, i was excited to see this game....the concept was outstanding....however,this was very short for a CE. and the cat helper was not my cup of tea. and they rushed to end this game. the bonus was more of the same. the puzzles were different, but still very easy. i have played this whole series..this one was just ok for me. graphics were wonderful, music was great........
Date published: 2016-06-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK Expected something waaay better from Elephant Games as their graphics have always been ++ against Eipix visuals games but not this title. The visual were a real eye-sore to look at; messy, not fully loaded and it felt like a 360pixelish moving picture. I can't believe it was so bad after the amazing visuals in the latest installment of Haunted Hotel and Jeronimo last week. Otherwise the storyline was superb. Really good, you don't see a lot of HOPA games actually based on fairy tales - like the Rabbit, Huntsman, Red Riding Hood - amazing! Nice challenge, I even needed to skip 1 puzzle so that's good as I don't have that a lot. Can't wait for the next installments or releases of Elephant Games. I'd recommend it for the story but if you - like me - need something quite good to look at q visuals than it's not something for you - other than that go ahead.
Date published: 2016-06-16
  • y_2019, m_3, d_21, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_48
  • loc_en_US, sid_24978, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Surface: Lost Tales Collector's Edition

Not all fairy tales are just stories…

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.