Darkness and Flame: Born of Fire Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Darkness and Flame: Born of Fire Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(429.41 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Alice was just an ordinary girl, until she found an egg in a strange chest. With just one touch, a firebird hatches from it, changing her life forever. Now she's forced to leave her home, faced with a dangerous adventure full of wonders beyond her imagination. Can Alice summon the courage to overcome all that Fate has in store for her?

  • Bonus chapter featuring a different central character.
  • Collections, achievements, morphing objects, bonus puzzles.
  • Wallpapers, concept art, soundtracks and more.
  • Strategy Guide included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 1.6 GHz
  • RAM: 2048 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 953 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Darkness and Flame: Born of Fire Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(429.41 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Darkness and Flame: Born of Fire Collector's Edition is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is about as good as it gets... in the hidden object puzzle adventure game genre. Graphics are pleasing, voiceovers are reasonable and not jarring. But what makes this game a shining example of all that is good in the HOPA genre is due to the execution, which makes all the difference. A lot of time and effort has been put into this game, and I appreciate the fact that it includes a diary. I am actually interested in the story this time rather than losing track half the way through as to what it's about (something I find myself doing with these games at times). The HOP scenes are excellent and very interactive. The puzzles are fun: not dead easy, but not impossible to complete. I have been playing this game for several hours now, have not used the hint or the skip button, and am finding that it provides a good challenge in terms of figuring out what to do next. And not using the map for clues as to how to proceed makes this game very close to a true adventure game, which I like. I have played several games from this developer (including the Lost Lands series and the New York Mysteries series), and they have yet to release a clunker and a game that feels like they just phoned it in. I am now at the point where if a new game has this developer's name on it, it's an instant buy. I hope you enjoy the game as much as I am. :-)
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love, Love, Love It. Outstanding! Played the demo and was hooked. I have played it three times so far. This is one of those games that you want to keep around and play over and over again. It is fun, except for when her father is killed. Action every step of the way from sneaking pass the guards to finding her uncle and the adventure Alice goes on. Sound is perfect and the visuals so bright and colorful. It is just challenging enough to keep you wanting to keep playing until the end. The storyline flows and is not choppy like some others are. Like the hints that you might have missed something and I like that in a game. Love the map as it makes it easier to get from place to place without the guards seeing you. There are a few others that have this feature and I think it is great. Was sorry to see it end as I would like to know what Alice and her uncle did after they got to the Forbidden City (looks like New York) and it looks as if the darkness isn't quite through with trying to take over. Keep them coming Devs. Games like this are a joy to play. Now if you will excuse me, I've got a game to play.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This girl is on fire! Most of the top reviewers have already covered the nooks and crannies of this game. My two comments: 1) The storyline was very, very different, with a surprising twist at the end. I can't wait for the sequel!! 2) The graphics were good but the voice actor of the main girl had an incredibly grating voice. She was trying to sound childlike and I think she missed the mark there. Other than that everything was fabulous!!
Date published: 2016-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEAUTIFUL AND EYECATCHING!!!!!! I have been playing the hidden object games for a while now, but rarely have I seen such an amazing and beautifully presented game as this one. The FIVE-BN team that created this, in what I can only hope, will the first in a long line of games of this caliber, outdid themselves. Like another beta-tester, I bought this game unseen and I am very happy that I did. I have only played about fifteen minutes of the game so far and I couldn't wait until I finished it to put in my review. Alice is a young woman who found a Phoenix egg. Once hatched the bird's spirit became one with Alice's spirit. She is in dire need of help from her uncle, whom she has never met. She witnessed the death of her father, but managed to escape into the bush (the woods) before the soldiers captured her. I look forward to continuing the journey with Alice as she ventures forward in the hope of finding answers and salvation. Along the way there will be morphing objects, a vast array of collectibles to be found, make sure you look for them all. A map to help transport you from one scene to another, achievements to earn, strategy guide to help you when needed, mini-games and HOS aplenty. I am so very impressed with this game. I bought it as I liked some of the comments of other beta-testers and boy!!! were they right. To be able to look upon the most amazing graphics I have yet seen in any game and to listen to the astounding audio effects and music, I feel like I am part of the story. There is so much to look at in each scene and I took my time to look at everything as the colours, art work and realism draws you in to every scene. It has made me want to take my time and savour every single second of this game. Thank you FIVE-BN. I can't wait to go back to the game and continue enjoying playing Darkness and Flame: Born Of Fire. There is not much more that I can say, except buy the game and enjoy playing, even if it is to travel through the most beautiful graphically presented game I have played so far. I know I will, over and over again.
Date published: 2016-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved it the graphics, narration and animation are superior. i loved this game because it put you into the story and continued the interactions throughout the game. the graphics were incredible, beautifully drawn with a depth of field i haven't seen before. some have said that they were blurry or not sharp, but i didn't find that at all. the animation and narration were also wonderful. the cut scene were more like little videos, the lip sync was almost perfect....the hidden object scenes were mostly puzzles, ie, find one object to unlock another. tasks are clearly laid out and follow the story. this is a very unique game and very much worth playing. i bought it after the demo because i wanted to know how the story ended. this is unusual for me since i'm not a really huge hoa fan and generally only play the demos, . this game is an exception and i think you will enjoy it.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Had to buy! This review is based on the demo, but just had to buy this game. I try to avoid buying collectors editions - am trying to be a little restrained in my spending - but have fallen for the storyline and the absolutely charming scenery. I became so immersed in the story that it was a surprise when the demo ended. Enjoy! :)
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from gentle story and very enjoyable This is a great game. It has a lovely story and the gameplay is entertaining. The voices are a bit feeble but who cares? when the rest is so good. It is, I suppose a little slow in parts, definitely not an action game and thankfully no wicked monsters, helpers or 19th century action. Loads to collect and the puzzles are great too. Several interactive puzzles and so far not that many HOPs. So all in all a thoroughly good entertaining game.
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fire Blew From Her Fingertips....... POOF! Young Alice was clearing the riverbed of debris underneath the water wheel, just an ordinary chore on an ordinary day, or so she thought. Today will turn out to be the most extraordinary day she has ever known, because today, Alice discovered a box lodged in the sand. When she opened the box, a beautiful bird with wings of flame flew out of the box and into her hand! Not onto her hand, the phoenix flew inside of Alice's arm, leaving no trace except for a glowing tattoo of this magical magnificent avian species. Unbeknownst to her, this bird has a price on it's head and these people will do anything to anyone to take possession of this bird. Alice is now on the run, and her only chance for survival lies within an Uncle she never knew existed until this fateful day! Wow! This is one of those games that could easily slide under the radar, but don't pass this one by, it's solid entertainment with a really fresh storyline. Each scene has a Morphing Object and one Collectible out of several categories starting with hidden eggs as well as fish, skulls and a long list of other interesting objects. Until recently, I thought Achievements were a given in all Collector's Editions, but no worries, this game does indeed have Achievements to earn and a ton of Plus Sign inventory items to tinker with. The Hidden Object Scenes are far and few between, but this game has such an incredible storyline and so many thing to do in each scene that you really won't notice or be disappointed about. The HOP's are however, just as entertaining as the game itself, mostly Interactive, Progressive Silhouetted Shape where you find the first item that matches the silhouetted shape and use that item back in the scene interactively to expose the next item. Most of the scenes have at least one puzzle such as placing the moving parts of a deer to mirror the same position as the other deer shown. The Mini Games are plentiful and more than makes up for the lack of HOP's. Below are brief descriptions of some of the mini games you'll encounter during the demo: 1) Pull down all the ropes with knots in a particular order. 2) Select the items on the bottom that are used to obtain the items shown above. 3) Run past the guards without being seen. 4) Select flowers in the order shown on the board. 5) Switch the wolves and rabbits, a predator cannot be placed next to prey. 6) Click on the figurines in the order shown in a clue found earlier. 7) Follow step by step instructions of a recipe. 8) Arrange the mosaic tile pieces to create an image. This Collector's Edition has 10 Wallpapers, 16 Concept Art pictures, 15 Videos, 8 Music Soundtracks, 24 replayable Mini Games, 7 replayable Puzzles, 20 Achievements, 35 Morphing Objects, several categories of Hidden Collectibles, a built in Strategy Guide and a Bonus Adventure, enjoy!
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Adventure Game! Graphics were pretty good with nice color, story line very good, lovely music -- quite relaxing for me, as is this game. Logical in that I could figure out what to do in order to move along in the game. Mini games are fun and some were new to me so they took some strategic thinking. HO's were few, at least in the demo. Strategy Guide was helpful. I did not use the hint. The diary provides conversations, what has happened, and your goals/tasks. Down in the left corner is where you click to view your collections, etc, and the Strategy Guide. A bird spreads it's wings and there you make your selection. There are three different collections (I think) and morphs which are not too difficult to find. I played on casual for the demo and had no technical difficulties on my PC Windows 8, 64 bit. This is a definite buy for me.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from call 911 my arms on fire outstanding game good graphics/art liked all the characters mini games hop's where not hard !!!
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from so exciting!!! What an interesting story this is. I always want to go on playing in order to get further with the story. Besides this the graphics are so great that "gorgeous" does not describe them. Very intelligent buit HO-scenes, collectibles, beautiful scenery and a story with tension. All i could wish for. Thanks!!!
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from FIND OUT THE MYSTERY BEHIND THE MARK OF THE FIREBIRD You play the game as Alice, a young girl living an idyllic life with her father. All that changes quickly after you find a chest with a special egg that hatches into a firebird as soon as you touch it leaving you branded with a special mark on your arm. Not long after, your father is killed and you must find your only living relative, your uncle Colin. Together you and Colin set out on an adventure that will save you from dark forces. IMHO, the graphics are excellent and include wonderful hand drawn scenes but some of them do seem a bit misty. I am guessing that this was done intentionally but the game’s dev to create a certain feel to the game and storyline. Your tools include an interactive, transporter type map. I happen to love games from this dev who also brought us the wonderful New York Mysteries and Lost Lands series. The game has more puzzles than HOPS however; the HOPs are very puzzle like as well. The HOPS are interactive and items are found by silhouette during the demo. The HOPS are very well-crafted and integrate seamlessly into the gameplay so that one doesn’t get the feeling of stopping to find an item in a HOP and then continue on with the story. The puzzles or mini-games are quite good and even though none are really new I happen to like them and found them excellent. Some of the mini-games are a step up in challenge from those we generally see but none are over-the-top so difficult that they are frustrating. This excellent Tuesday surprise CE game includes a plethora of collectibles that include 6 different sets of items to be collected – eggs, feathers, fish, bees, hour glasses, and skulls. If that isn’t enough, we will also find capsules throughout the game that provide information about the fertile lands. Top it all off with morphing objects and this game is a veritable treasure chest of extras to keep us occupied. The remaining CE contents is fairly standard with achievements, bonus game, strategy guide, wallpapers, concept art, videos, music, bonus puzzles, replay of mini-games and HOPs. I love the storyline and the gameplay so I am giving the game 5 stars even though the graphics have a bit of mistiness. Given the HOPS and mini-games, and based on my previous experience with games from this dev, I have no doubt that Darkness and Flame Born of Fire will provide hours of entertainment and challenge. Even though I love this game, please try the demo to see if it is a game you will enjoy.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Superb, I Love This Game. A short review as I want to get back to the game. I thought the graphics were good and the voices, except for the Uncle's as I thought he sounded a bit wooden, not that it bothered me much. HOS are few and far between and a bit different, I liked them. Puzzles and mini games were good too. Morphing Objects - in every scene I have played so far. Achievements - quite a lot of them. Collectibles - there are so many I would advise you to check them out so that you can see what you are looking for. Sometimes there are 2 in a scene. Map - very good and clear. It also indicates if you have missed a morph or a collectible, I like this feature and wished more devs would do this. If you can't find the Strategy Guide click on the Phoenix to the left of the inventory which also includes Achievements, Collections and Tasks. That's it, I am off to play.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different but real good!!!! I love this game, the story line is good and I cant wait to buy it. I think everyone should try this game out and see what is all about. You really start feeling for this young girl,and really get caught up in the story
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love!! I'm half way through, and normally don't post until I finish everything. I had to stop to say that this game has everything I like about games. I'll let other go into details about the specific games. I just wanted to say that I love the graphics, story, collectables and the map is awesome! I love this developer and can't wait to see what they come up with next! Thank you all! Happy Gaming Fishies!
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I purchased without playing trial I purchased this game without playing the trial version. Normally I don't do this because of the risk. It is a great game, new take on puzzle challenges and HOPS. Wanted it to last longer. Worth the cost, I played from start to finish without stopping. Visuals are fun, story interesting, plenty of turns.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally - A Game To Love Alice discovers a strange box in the water near her home. She opens it and picks up a unique egg inside the box. She instantly acquires a strange tattoo on her arm from the flaming phoenix that hatches out of the egg and her hair turns grey! Her father insists she hide in the attic of their home while he goes for a doctor. Alice hears his return from her hiding place - he is accompanied by soldiers who are looking for Alice. **Spoiler Alert: There is gratuitous violence at this point as Alice's father is killed.** Alice will need, not only to escape the soldiers and find help to survive, but to discover what has happened to her and why. Good stuff: Some of the best artwork I've seen this year with gorgeous nature scenes, great characterizations with excellent VOs, interactive HOPs that are not just junk piles, lots of minigames and puzzles, and good FX, as well as a comprehensive diary and map. Along with the expected CE bling are morphing objects and two types of collectibles. Bad stuff: Only three levels of game play and no custom level. I have been repeatedly disappointed as game after game, series after series has fallen short this year. There have been few games to get excited about, much less to recommend. This game plays well, the story is a bit different, and there isn't a cutesy element in site. Please try this one and see if you want to join my cheering team!
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wowsa! I just love this game from the fabulous graphics down to the story line. I almost don't want to go into detail as it might be a spoiler. Love you BN games!!!
Date published: 2016-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An absolute great game. I played this game 7 (SEVEN) times in 6 years. Does not this say it all.
Date published: 2021-01-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Game. Good game with an interesting story line. Puzzles are very good and HOs will make you work somewhat! Good graphics, voice overs and interactive map. There is a good journal and tasks listed to do. There are zillions of collectibles and achievements! The game length seems long, which I think is due to the many collectibles to find. The bonus seems long, as well. FUN GAME!! ENJOY!
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4½ stars for this beautiful & immersive game! Darkness and Flame: Born of Fire CE Review based on completed game + bonus chapter + extras PROLOGUE... I’m going with 4½ stars on this one for two reasons. First, I think the puzzles could have been stepped up. Second, HO scenes should have been replayable. Other than that, this is nearly perfect and definitely CE-worthy. ONCE UPON A TIME... Alice’s mother, Melanie, disappeared years ago, and she’s been raised by her farmer father ever since. In the midst of her ordinary life, Alice finds the egg of a phoenix. When it hatches, the firebird flies into her body, leaving a distinctive tattoo on her arm. When she shows her father, he’s alarmed and tells her to hide. Just in time, too, as rough men in armor come looking for her and slay her father. Now she’s on the run with her Uncle Colin and, with the help of the mysterious firebird, Alice might be able to end the oppression of her people once and for all. PLAY THE GAME... Travel through a number of amazing domains on your journey to set things right. There’s a lot of work to be done, and many people to help. In a land where the people are oppressed, much is broken and in disrepair. HO scenes are all silhouette find-and-replace…and difficult! I found them challenging and fun, not to mention more realistic since they resembled what you might do IRL. Puzzles were mostly easy, but there were a few of medium difficulty and a couple original ones. Here’s a sample: • Escape by clicking to run past the guards while they’re distracted. Increasing difficulty. • When shown an object, choose the correct item from each of three rows necessary to create it. (For example, if the object was a cup of tea, you would select tea leaves, kettle of hot water, and cup.) • Correctly fill in the shape using Tetris pieces, and you cannot rotate the pieces. • With three circles, each containing four animal tokens, rotate the circles and switch the tokens to move the animals to their correct spots. • With an assembly of two rotating circles, rotate and switch pieces between the inner and outer circles until all animals’ heads and tails match up. SIGHTSEEING... The graphics are stunning! Cutscene animation pulls you right in to the scene, it’s so realistic. The posers are rendered extremely well, right down to the lip synching. Background are panoramic and majestic, and items in close up are incredibly detailed. Use of color is superb. SOUNDBOARD... The music is quite professional and provides a wonderful variety. The orchestral instruments sound genuine, not synthesized. The tracks aren’t named, but one has a haunting horn melody with a mixed strings background, along with some harp. Another is dramatically orchestral, complete with timpani. And a third is acoustic guitar in both its melody and its background. The voiceovers are a bit staid and wooden. For example, Colin has never met his niece before, but doesn’t show much of an emotional reaction in his voice. Whoever voiced Alice did a good job. TOOLBOX... Inventory panel locks open and includes plus items. Jump map is divided into sections representing the separate domains of the land. Areas with available actions are indicated, as are collectibles and morphing objects. The journal is actually necessary, as it notes passwords and visual clues you’ll need. OH BOTHER! No technical difficulties, lagging, or other bothers on my iMac running OS 10.11.3. OOH! PIECE OF CANDY... Ready for the deluge of extras? • 8 categories of collectibles, including 35 morphing objects and 12 capsules containing historical information. Each category completed unlocks more puzzles in the extras section. • 10 wallpapers, 16 concept art, 15 videos • 8 downloadable soundtracks • replay mini-games (but not HO scenes, unfortunately) • 20 bonus puzzles • The bonus chapter, which tells the story of the people of the Floating Island. • performance achievements and the SG EPILOGUE... More like this, please! Intriguing storyline that relates to our world—just wait until you get to the Forbidden City!—stunning graphics, movie-worthy music, immersive gameplay, tons of extras. I recommend it, and happy gaming!
Date published: 2016-07-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DESTROY THE CASTLE OF DARKNESS REVIEW OF COMPLETED GAME and BONUS In the main game Alice and Colin are out to destroy the Castle of Darkness and in the Bonus its all about helping the Valley of Twilight. There is: * Voiceovers (with dialogue); * Easy, Normal and Hard modes of play; * 20 Achievements; * Interactive map; * Diary; * Find 12 capsules; * Find 35 morphing objects. * Find 7 eggs, 7 fish, 7 circle thingies; 7 skulls; 7 bees and 15 feathers in game and bonus. The graphics are gorgeous - colourful, yet crisp and very easy on the eye. I loved roaming around and having a good look. Sound is good and the music is orchestral and lovely. The hidden object games are highly interactive silhouette - find one item to use to find another, etc. These are very easy to do and you can get get back to the game quickly. The mini-games are all fairly simple to do and I didn't see any that I hadn't played before previously. There are lots of sliding tiles and getting pictures and objects in their right place - all standard stuff. With the morphing objects and all the other collectibles, a hand comes over them, so there is no chance of missing them. That is why I didn't give 5 stars. I just wish in the Hard mode I could have turned that function off and found them myself which would have made the game more challenging. I don't see the point of having them in there if a hand comes over them and gets them for you - WHY? Keep an eye out in your diary because it will give you the answers to some of the mini-games. The interactive map works well if you need it. There are a lot of locations to go to, so you may want to use it. Also, in Easy and Normal modes it also shows where morphing objects and collectibles are just in case you miss any (unlikely). I turned everything off in Hard mode, so I didn't have that function, but its there if you want it. I managed to get all of the achievements (I'm doing a single mexican wave here) but I didn't feel like I had to work hard to get them. All up the game and bonus took me about 6 hours, which is good value for money. Overall, a nice easy game to play for all members of the family. Happy playing fishies.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quite liked this one A nice surprise of a game. I am all about the story line in a game and this one was very good. It held my attention the whole way. I found the voice acting good in the beginning but her voice took a turn for the worse from the middle on. I think she lost her focus on how old the character was supposed to be. Normal HOP game mechanics, granted I too get annoyed that they use a screwdriver or knife/hammer once and drop the thing, only to need one again down the road. Though it is an earmark of this game genre, I wish it would change. In all due respect though, I would buy this game again. Check out the demo, you may like it too.
Date published: 2016-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Interesting and Different This game has a different storyline which I enjoyed and the games and HOGs were of medium difficulty. It's nice not to be playing a detective. Playing a young girl who is assisted by her uncle when she finds herself in danger is a nice change. The graphics were nice, a few longish explanations by characters but they were useful in scene setting. A bit of moving between scenes but in the CE the map was very useful. I don't often provide reviews but this one is better than most of the recent new releases and I spent an enjoyable afternoon with it - about a five and a half hour game for me.
Date published: 2016-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent game which looks as though it may become a series This was mightily entertaining. A really solid piece of storytelling that moves along nicely and offers a decent ending with potential to go quite a bit further. Graphics were quite gorgeous, really evoking the world and with a lot of detail, just begging you to click around. Since there are a ton of collectibles (some quite well hidden), clicking around isn't just an indulgence. Not that keen on the voices, but it's not a huge issue and probably more a matter of taste. Good mixture of puzzles and well spaced HoG scenes as well. Bonus game is shortish, but fun and the main game is a decent length with good pacing. There is a lot of jumping around and the map was extremely useful in places as you often end up returning to some quite distant locations. That is, in fact, one of my quibbles. There isn't a huge amount of logic at times. Leaping in and out of supposedly hard-to-reach areas in order to complete a quest did break the immersion a little. Other reasons for not giving the great offering 5 stars? I found the interface a bit clunky at times, and had to resort to the hint (I hate doing that) when my cursor simply would not pick up a hot spot. Overall a very good one, which I thoroughly enjoyed and recommend.
Date published: 2016-06-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A nice and beautifully made game Graphics are beautiful, Voices are not always fitting but okay, Puzzles are fun and quite a lot of them. I really like it but I will wait for a special offer to get it.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Firebird Possession Really good game. Very easy, critter action, morphing objects, collectables, pretty good characters, Good story line, and easy breezy game with a jump map.
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from WARNING: A “FIERY” PASSION TO PLAY THIS GAME MAY CAUSE YOUR HAIR TO TURN GRAY CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER – REVIEW BASED ON DEMO OVERVIEW: Welcome to Beoglinn Valley where darkness is threating to overtake the kingdom. As Alice, with the help of your uncle, you will venture through many parts of the kingdom to vanquish evil and fight brutish conquerors. This is a decent 4-star games. I do not feel it rates five stars due to its old-school design, blurry graphics, and poorly written game script. I also found the pace to be a little slow in the game. However, the puzzles, HOP scenes, and extras are decent. This is definitely a puzzler’s delight! There are only two HOP scenes in the demo and they are silhouette; however they are interactive and puzzle-like. The puzzles are ones we have seen before and they are not terribly difficult. At the end of the game you have the ability to replay both the puzzles and the HOP scenes. There are quite a few collectibles (62 in number) in this game. The morphing objects are also numerous and a little difficult to locate. STORY: As Alice, you are forced to go into hiding when your farm is attacked by marauding invaders. Being overtaken by a firebird, you attain its powers which is symbolized by a tattoo on your arm. You will use the power of the firebird throughout the game. You watch as your father is murdered. Before he dies, he tells you to seek out your Uncle Colin, your mother’s brother, to help you escape and defeat these marauders. Amazingly, although you live within the same hamlet in this kingdom, you have never met your Uncle Colin. Really? So comical! HOP SCENES: There are only two in the demo. Both contain silhouette items, which, when collected, are replaced back into the scene to interact with items within the scene. They both contain mini-puzzles as well. PUZZLES: This is a puzzle-rich game. I gave all the puzzles within the demo a “2” rating. They are fairly easy and are ones we have seen before. There is quite a variety as well. They include sequence puzzles, matching puzzles, switch puzzles, sliding tiles puzzles, a manual dexterity puzzle, and a moving tiles puzzle. I feel that the puzzles are the best part of the game! LEVELS: Easy, Normal, Hard – You can customize the game; however there is no “custom” designation Hints 15 to 90 seconds Skips 30 to 150 seconds EXTRAS: THE STRATEGY GUIDE AND COLLECTIBLES ARE FOUND IN THE FIGURE OF THE FIREBIRD AT THE LEFT OF THE SCREEN “ADDITIONAL” Map is given to you at the start of the game. You receive another map of the Fertile Lands as you play the game 20 Achievements Collect 12 capsules Collect 50 items – 7 fire bird eggs, 15 feathers, 7 red fish, 7 gold bugs, 7 hour glasses, 7 skulls 35 Morphing objects: Strategy Guide – 50 pages 10 Wallpapers, 16 Concept art, Music, Replay 24 mini-games and 7 puzzles HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE: HOP SCENES: A. Silhouette items. Interactive. Once found, use the items to interact with the scene. Opens up into a puzzle. B. Silhouette items. Interactive. Once found, use the items to interact with the scene. There is a sliding tiles puzzle within the scene. PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Extremely easy (2) Easy (3) A little difficult or time consuming (4) Moderately difficult (5) Difficult A. Sequence puzzle. Pull down ropes in sequential order. You must start again if you have the incorrect order. Rating: 2 B. Matching puzzle. Locate two items to correspond with pictures on a chest. 4 X Rating: 2 C. Manual Dexterity puzzle. Escape a guard by running past him so you are not seen. Rating: 2 D. Sequence puzzle. Match up pictures of flowers on a planter with the actual flowers in sequence. Rating: 2 E. Switch puzzle. On a gate, switch the positions of rabbits and wolves through paths in which the rabbits and wolves cannot be placed next to each other in the moves. Rating: 2 F. Matching puzzle. Position parts of a deer to match that of another deer. Rating: 2 G. Sequence puzzle. Create a potion by following the directions given on a formula adding items in correct sequence. Rating: 2 H. Switch puzzle. Switch tiles within a frame to create a picture. Rating: 2 I. Matching puzzle. Move the position of fish so they match up with those portrayed in a diagram. Rating: 2 J. Sliding tiles puzzle. Slide tiles within a maze to create a path so a block can move from the right to the left side of the maze. Rating: 2 K. Moving tiles puzzle. Move weather and nature symbols into proper location by pressing on 4 buttons to move and rotate the figures. Rating: 2
Date published: 2016-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love the game but I love the game, as well as the Hop--but the story...i thought the game endet to quickly..
Date published: 2016-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this game I loved the story line of this game. The Hoa's were very challenging.
Date published: 2017-06-18
  • y_2021, m_9, d_22, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_25002, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Darkness and Flame: Born of Fire Collector's Edition

A magical egg is about to turn one girl's world upside-down.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.