Dark Parables: The Swan Princess and The Dire Tree Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Dark Parables: The Swan Princess and The Dire Tree Collector's Edition

PC

Also available on

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(488.83 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Eipix Entertainment proudly presents the next installment of the Dark Parables series! Strange cracks are covering Dire Island, home of the Swan Kingdom, but then an unknown thief steals the magical seed that holds the key to keeping all of nature in balance! Can you catch the culprit and save the kingdom before it crumbles? Find out in this breathtaking hidden-object puzzle adventure!

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“Beautiful graphics and really rich animation. This is a high quality game and a welcome addition to the Dark Parables game roster.”  - Dee, beta tester

“I've played all the Dark Parable games, and they get better with each installment. The story line pulls you in from the very beginning, and the graphics were stunning. Can't wait for the game to come out.”  - Kathrin, beta tester


  • Play as the Swan Princess in the bonus chapter!
  • Unlock secret myths and parables by finding souvenirs and earning achievements.
  • Replay your favorite puzzles and mini-games.
  • Remember your journey with original artwork, videos, and soundtrack.
  • Access the helpful strategy guide.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 993 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Dark Parables: The Swan Princess and The Dire Tree Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(488.83 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Dark Parables: The Swan Princess and The Dire Tree Collector's Edition is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 70.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from CAN YOU FIND THE MAGIC SEED AND SAVE THE DIRE TREE In this latest installment of the Dark Parables series you have been called in to investigate the theft of the magic seed that is the key to reviving the Goddess Flora who keeps the balance of nature. What is even worse and beyond imagination is that the suspected thief is a high-ranking member of the prestigious Swan Guard whose members are all pledged to protecting the Goddess. Travel on a journey through this magical land to meet with the princess and help her in her quest to find the missing Magic Seed. Although the original developer of the series retains the name rights, there is nothing left of them in the recent games that have transitioned to another top BFG game developer. The graphics lack the depth and beauty of the original artistic team and now have that misty washed out appearance that is typical in games from the big E team. In many ways the graphics are comical and lackluster by comparison. Unfortunately, where the difference in style is most noticeable is in the FROG scenes that now are flat and lack the gorgeous style of the originals. I hate to say it but I struggled through the first FROG scene because most of the fragments needed were so muted that they disappeared within the scene, which is where the artistic difference is most apparent. IMHO, I believe the game deserves low five-star rating even with the change in graphics style. With the Swan Princess and the Dire Tree being a Dark Parables game most of the HOS are the FROG type with a few traditional HOPA scenes thrown in for good measure. As I commented above the FROG scenes created by the new developer are not nearly as much fun as those in the original series. I hate to say it but the word tedious is most appropriate. For the most part the mini-games seem easy but there are a few that are more challenging. The CE version of the game includes collectibles and morphing parable pieces to find. The collectible signs are very difficult to find but the parable pieces are a bit easier to locate. The remaining extra content is fairly standard but, at least for me, it is a decent CE package that justifies the extra cost of the game. Yes, the Swan Princess and the Dire Tree might not be as glorious as the original Dark Parables games but it still is a very good HOPA/FROG game. The storyline held my interest and, apart from the first tedious FROG, the gameplay was entertaining. I am an avid fan of the Dark Parables games and, even though the series is not quite the same, it retains enough of the original premise that it is one I will add to my collection. Even though I like this game, please try the demo to see if it is one that you will enjoy.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional game! I have played all the games in this series and I have to say I loved them all but this one, wow, it surpassed the others in so many ways. In story, in graphics, scenery and the HOS's keep you intrigued along with challenging mini games. The chapters last longer, the story kept moving you constantly forward and then in the bonus chapter, it took you back to the frog prince and how Odette met him. All the parables intertwine in some way and I appreciate that theme. I can't wait to see what they come up with next since this game didn't give a sneak peek in the bonus chapter as the other games did. I hope this series never ends because it's always fun, entertaining and challenging, all the things we look for in a game. Thank you Blue Tea games for Dark Parables!
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game, but not without faults I really like this game. But to get to the point, it lacked something that the other games, prior to Eipix Entertainment, had. I think the animation of the people was okay. In video shots and in scenes were fine, but when we did close-ups, the people looked off. I loved the way the characters were animated in the first few games, my mind mostly on the Red Riding Hood Sisters. This game lacked their detail. I'm not sure if it's just me, but I felt that the parables were...eh. I feel they explain what we discover while playing the game. Yes, I know they are supposed to do that, but I feel the characters also did that. The Black Swan practically explained her story when we talked to her. Then we read it in a parable. I remember from the first game with parables, Rise of the Snow Queen, the parables explained in full what we read through small dialogue between characters and other object descriptions. I liked the mystery of just guessing the backstory of a character. The only backstory we got to guess was for the Swan Lake Princess Odette and the (Crazy) Swan Princess. Everything else was explained! Also, while I love the morphing objects, I liked it when they were separate from the parables. The parables were picture frames (Rise of the Snow Queen) or little picture parts (Red Riding Hood Sisters) or something else. I didn't like that they were morphing objects. And that the "morphing objects" were the acorn things. I didn't like that. What never fails is the story and the settings of these stories. I loved the overall story, but I wish the origins of the Swan Lake Princess was incorporated more. Don't get me wrong, the bonus story was great, but I feel that the tie-in to The Frog Prince was kinda weak. I needed more interaction between the two. And the tie-in to Ross Red from the Ballad of Rapunzel was okay. His animation look weird. As if it wasn't complete. The settings were gorgeous as always. Such detail! Last but not least: the teaser for the next game. I'm not a fan of the way they are teasing the next game. I'm happy that they tease a game, but giving us this end-game-mini-story-thing summary is starting to get on my nerves. I loved it when Blue Tea Games used a video to tease the next game. Why Eipix!? Why did you stop that?! To me, that go me more excited about the next game than a summary of what happened afterwards and a wallpaper that teased the next game. Seeing the video made me wonder what could be happening. Who is the villain in the next game? What about the fairytale? Which one is it? PLEASE BRING BACK THE VIDEO TEASER!!!! Note: I do realize that they did put a video teaser at the end, but it told us nothing!!! Nothing at all! I couldn't guess what the next game was at all! Actually, one more thing. While the next game is sure to be AMAZING! since we are going back to Snow White's kingdom, not doubt to see the wedding of either her son, Gwyn, to Gerda, or Kai's to Gerda, I wish the fairytale the game is based on was revealed a bit more in the teaser. I don't get what it is from based on the wallpaper or the little clip at the end. All I know is we are back in the Snowfall Kingdom in the Swiss Alps. I NEED TO KNOW!!!!! Also, I wish they'd tease when the next game would come out.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another excellent game in the Dark Parables series! A treat for the eyes, this game is visually gorgeous.... as are all the Dark Parables games. The storyline is intriguing and the characters engaging. The puzzles and games will keep you thinking... Honestly, I couldn't find a thing to put on a Con list.... This series gets better with each game. This game is well worth buying the CE....
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!! WOW!! Absolutely loved the game. They are getting it back to what it was! The fun and joy and beautiful settings... Loved the story, and totally enjoyed the FROGs! Although some were difficult to find, I still loved finding them. My favorite part of the game, btw :) Just wish they would bring back the Morphing objects! Those were fun to look for and find! My favorite all time one is Dark Parables: Red Riding Hood Sisters Collection Edition!, Rise of the Snow Queen was also very good! This game was so engrossing, it left me wanting more!! What happened to the part in the scroll letting us know which game will be next?? It gives you something to look forward to :) But if you like the Dark Parable games, you will absolutely love this one, morphing objects notwithstanding. Also liked the feature of being able to go back and find the rest of the Parables you missed, without having to play the whole game again! The characters are beautifully done, such a wonderful visual gem! These Devs are just wonderful Masters at creating such beautifully, engrossing visuals. The details in creating this masterpiece is simply sublime! I will definitely play this one over again just to enjoy the genius of these creations.. The imagination involved in creating these very detailed characters is such a pleasure to watch! The story flows at just the right pace; the FROGs are numerous which I love, and one of the reasons I've bought all of these games!! So happy it's being refined back to the glory that was/and is Dark Parables!! Please keep them coming as I cannot get enough of your genius and creations!! Congratulations on such a well done job and making this one such a joy to play over and over again!!
Date published: 2016-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect with gameplay imperfections Well, I give this version of Dark Parables an excellent rating, only because the team's atmospheric aesthetics and artwork is just superb, every time. But, in this particularly game, I found weaknesses and had a major disappointment in some factors: First of all, the rhythm of the gameplay was slow. Like a hiccup. I didn't flow as it should. Secondly, this serious introduced to me a completely different take on morphing objects. You had to really pay attention to the story to gather the morphing "shards", complete every chapter and enjoy the narration. Not in this version: I couldn't find nearly any of the morphing objects, it ruined all the relaxing and fun since I had to look around and really, stop the game, just staring at the screen, and at the end what I did found was, well, unidentified pieces, like UFOs... Oh and another thing: why the heck were the description of the artifacts in your inventory shown, not above its respected icon, but in the middle, i.e. instead of the word "Inventory"? So confusing and (bad) unorthodox. So, if you can overcome the fact than you'll be seeing much less different scenes and scenery than usual and that you probably won't find all or even half the morphing objects, then surely you'll love this, as per usual!
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Venus words cannot express. Has everything that one would expect with a Dark Parable Game." MAGNIFICENT"
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game well worth the price I loved this game, not overly challenging but enough to keep you thinking. The map is very handy and most of the time hints are pretty good at pointing out what to do. I love the collection of the signs and the morphing objects. Some are tough to find, but don't despair. After you complete the Bonus chapters you can review each area and find them. Nice to have an extra challenge built in to the game. I have been playing HOG for several years and am really happy to see how game development had progressed. Try a game that is 5 years or older and you'll see the change. Easier on the older eyes and the games fit nicely in a large monitor without distortion.
Date published: 2016-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not for Beginners! I love this series. It's different and challenging. No hammers and nails in your inventory with this game, you collect soul stones, spider gems and eternal lamps. It's fun to figure out what you can possibly do with them. This is not an easy game, the signs and parables can be quite difficult to find even using the guide! The graphics are outstanding as usual with this developer. Long game with a really nice bonus game. As always, try the Demo and judge for yourself!
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome game! I'm loving it!!! Characters are amazing!
Date published: 2016-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great story and graphics its a must...play it if you dare.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another huge dark parables game The graphics of the game is so amazing..this is the first time I feel the magic of the series I used to feel with blue tea games. I loved the design of the swan princess it's new and I didn't expect it. The Storyline is really good ! I loved it so much. the FROGs and the mini-games is excellent new. I'm very happy with this game All in all it's a huge success.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from more of a work out than most Actual rating, based on completed main game & bonus: 4.5 stars. As someone who doesn't really play DP, as I'm not a fan of FROGs, I was impressed by this game. One of my biggest issues w/ devs of late has been an overall "dumbing down" of the genre, exemplified by a lack of creativity & too little challenge in both HO scenes & mini-games. I still don't like FROGs, but I'll definitely replay this game (already have once) because I found the level of challenge to be a distinct improvement over a lot of what I've seen being produced of late. While I don't want every mini-game to be a brain-burner, I do want to have to think a bit, & this game accommodated me in that. Also, the collectible "signs", which often stick out like a sore thumb, are TINY & oftentimes difficult to spot, adding another layer of challenge if you like that sort of thing. I honestly didn't really get the story, but that's kind of neither here nor there for me, as most HO games are some variant of good vs. evil/save-the-whatever anyway...just fill in the blanks. :) Nice graphics, speedy hint to help me through all those FROGs, decent mini-games, & a goodish length bonus chapter w/ no appreciable drop in quality...granny is content. :)
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gamer I have loved every story in this collection
Date published: 2016-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from In love with all the dark Parables Amazingly Extraodinary.....in love with this
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Series I love the Dark Parable Series. I buy the game every time there is a new one.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from can't wait to finish the game. love the game and would recommend anyone try it.
Date published: 2018-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game I love games that let you go back and find items you missed the first time around. Also, great to get to replay HOP's. This game had me using the hint button more than I ever have. Keep up the great games.
Date published: 2017-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A masterpiece Wonderful graphics, nice plot, good challenge, interesting and not so difficult puzzles, customizable game mode and different kinds of collectables that you can complete in the Extras. Very good!
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Four stars across the board. I miss Blue Tea... I love the Dark Parables series so much that I usually immediately spring for the CE as soon as they become available. Thought, so far so good, a new DP and I have the weekend off to enjoy it! While it wasn't my favorite game of the series (Rise of the Snow Queen still holds my heart for that), it wasn't my least favorite either (looking at you, Queen of Sands). Definitely listen to reviewers before you decide if it's the right buy for you. Most of my problem was the ability to find the Parables hidden-in-scene objects. Other people have complained about the tiny little acorn in-scene collectables, and I agree, but at least you have a chance to go back and find those in the Extras section after you finish the game. Here is why my bigger problem is with the Parables: -It's floral imagery--and when I say 'floral', a freaking FERN (identical to the twenty million other ferns in the scene) was hiding one of the Parables tidbits. Nothing says 'swans' like 'flowers', am I right? -_- -Normally when DP does the parables, they're a little summary of what you already know playing the game. In this one it seemed like they were either critical to the story, or they were the same as before but the premise of the game just stank. ***SPOILER*** Why in the heck would the Swan Princess betray her patron goddess?? She's the most powerful in the land already?! I sure hope that was explained in the extra content because I felt no love from the main OR bonus game there. I also felt similarly to other reviewers as well that some of the puzzles were WAY too difficult--not intriguing difficulty, but multi-step difficulty. (The strategy guide had a full paragraph dedicated to the solution of a single puzzle.) Lots of other games have step-ups and step-downs in terms of puzzle difficulty--DP should take a hint from them. Cosmetically, this was a very pretty game, minus the few flaws. The voice acting was good and the return of two old friends (one in the main game and one in the bonus) was great. I just wasn't AS impressed as I've been in the past with the series.
Date published: 2016-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Getting better each time Each time Eipix puts out another Dark Parables game, they get a little closer to the magic that was Blue Tea Games (I wish there was some explanation for why Eipix took it over}, I'll not go into the storyline as others give a far better description than I can, but I'll just share my pros & cons of the game. Pros: *Beautiful music *Better artwork *Much better mini games. I really liked the variety as well as the different levels difficulty. *I thought the story line flowed a little better than past stories. Cons: *I prefer the jewel-toned colors that Blue Tea's last game was done in. I just think that everything just looked so much better than the more muted colors. *Some of the items in the FROGs were so hard to find because they blended in with other objects making it look like that piece you were looking for actually belonged with the piece it was "hidden" in (make sense?). I hate using the hint button, but I found I had to use it more than on normal games. *I'm not a fan of some of the "selection" noises as it sounds like a weird growl or something. It just doesn't fit into the "fairy tale" story. *If I need to open a roll-top desk, then lets use something more realistic than a grappling hook. That made no sense. *Also, if the hint says that I need to find the drawer pull, then call it a drawer pull. Having a "gold swan" (or whatever it was called) in my inventory doesn't tell me that it's the drawer pull I've been looking for. Call it a "gold swan drawer pull". *My last, and biggest, con is that don't make it where you have to put the item in the exact spot it should go. For instance, in Chapter 6 when you have to glue a tablet together, the area wouldn't accept the water, brush or glue unless it was placed in their correct spots. If it belongs in the scene, then accept it. The more times it tells me "I need to rethink my strategy" then I start to get frustrated & end up looking at the guide only to learn that I was trying to use the correct items, I just wasn't putting them in the exact spot they were supposed to be. All in all, this was their best game to date & I can see that they listen to everyone's comments, which is great because that shows me that they value our opinions & want to better themselves. Congratulations Eipix on a much improved game. Keep up the good work! Oh & when's the next one coming out?? :-)
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just not the same Blue Tea I have to agree that when Eipix took over for Blue Tea that somethings were lost. The graphics are still good but the characters looked like cartoons in this installment which was a great disappointment. There was something missing in this game that all the previous games had. Nothing has been able to compare to The Exiled Prince.
Date published: 2016-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not really up to Blue Tea standards Normally I would give the game in this series a 5 but this game I feel fell a bit short of that number. Fun factor was good for the most part. Going back and forth between two scenes or even three was not my idea of fun especially when you kept having to hit the pillar each time to get where you were going. And a few of the games such as the blocks where you figure out how many lines go where was a terror. (I don't do well with those. Never have.) The sound was just right and gave you a sense of what was to come. The visuals were outstanding as the different hues were rich and vibrant. Just wish the people in the game were more realistic and not so cartoony. I feel that to have them that way brings more of a depth to the game. Challenge was good except when it came to finding the acorns and other items needed to open the parables. Have trouble seeing them especially in a dark scene. Story line was weak as the story did not follow the story of The Swan Princess. I don't feel that it even came close to it. But all in all even with the little burbles this game has it is still a good game to play. Not sure what the clue was as to where the detective is to go next. But wherever it is I am sure it will be a great game.
Date published: 2016-07-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pleasant Surprise After passing on the last few Dark Parables games I found that I have found one to love. I can't quite define it but it seems a little different from some of the recent ones. The graphics are beautiful and fairly clean without so much clutter. So far the play is logical. My main complaint is the graphics on the HO scenes. Most of the items are clear and findable but there were a few that to me seemed to be so poorly rendered that even after using the hint I could not tell what they were. The story is ok and I agree that we can guess who will win-but maybe I will be wrong. People who like the DP games should enjoy this one and I recommend it highly.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Many Swans. Much Puzzles. Lotsa Fun. Eipix did very well on this one- the gameplay is fun, the graphics and music are nice, and the puzzles are challenging. The main story wraps up on its own, and the bonus is a trip to the past that helps elaborate on the main story, but isn't necessary to understand it. However, I was not a fan of the big theme puzzles that ran thoroughout this one. I didn't think they were well explained in the info box, and it took me a while to get the gist of them, and, admittedly, I did skip a few to move on with the story. The only other complaint I have is the movie graphics got choppy and slightly rushed there at the end. A shame since the colors and animations were so good in the beginning. Otherwise, this is a great addition to the Dark Parables games. You go Eipix and Blue Tea!
Date published: 2016-07-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from love the frog prince tie in overall it's a good game though alot of the mini games were much harder than they needed to be. thankfully you can skip after a short time in casual mode. Loved the visuals and the story was bittersweet but good. I loved how they tied in the Frog Prince storyline from a few games back but it was not all about that. If you like the rest of the series you will probably like this one.
Date published: 2016-07-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good wins always DP has done it again, a very nice game and although I fully enjoyed this game and the game play, I feel this game was a little bit of a let down. The story from previous games of this series was to me far better and held your interest. The graphics were gorgeous and the HO'S were so beautifully done and fun to seek. This is one game I probably will play again and do not get me wrong it is a good game, I guess I just miss some of the previous games and there beauty and wonderful story line. Hats off to this series but please continue to wow us always.
Date published: 2016-07-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The Long Swan Dive Little did I know that white could Deceive Me. Okay this game was a little slow. Some of the Dark Parables can be that way. I found the pieces in the HO's harder to see. Maybe getting old eye sight but it felt like the graphics intended were just slightly different the previous Dark Parable games. Thank goodness for jump maps or I would have been wandering Aimlessly trying to figure out what part to put where at times. Also found it annoying that the inventory list would not tell me what the item was until I clicked on it to pick it up. Otherwise hovering it would tell me inventory item. Like Dah...... Not their best game and I would buy this on sale. Characters were okay, Graphics fairly good, Lots to do. I like the HO with eye movement. Nice touch. Story line was great.
Date published: 2016-07-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A VISUAL DELIGHT HELLO FELLOW FISHIES I just thought I’d take a dip into the pond today to share my impressions of the Blue Tea, Eipix recent game “Dark Parables: The Swan Princess and the Dire Tree”. First of all, I found the graphics to be bright, beautiful, and clearly defined. As always, I appreciate the option of being able to set my own game play mode and set to “custom” as is my usual preference. I enjoy having a map that both transports, indicates available tasks, and objectives. I really enjoy the morphing objects, the collectibles found, and the achievements accomplished being available within the scenes. I enjoyed the sound effects and the background sounds. I also appreciate being able to skip the dialog. It was fun to find the hidden signs and souvenirs. While I did not find the HOPs unpleasant per se, I do wish there had been an alternative game to play. As these old eyes of mine continue to tire, I find HOPs more and more tedious to complete. I enjoyed this game and encourage you to at least try the demo to discover if you enjoy it too. HAPPY GAMING ~B
Date published: 2016-07-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SMOOTH SOME RUFFLED FEATHERS ON A FEATHERY FLIGHT OF FANCY TO A “KINGDOM UNDER THE TREE” REVIEW BASED ON THE DEMO: OVERVIEW Get ready to dance to the “dire” tune of some deceptive swans in this modified fable of Swan Lake. I rate this feathery offering 4 stars. For those who love fantasy games and/or FROGS, you will love this game! However, for me, the game falls flat lacking an engaging story, creative HOP scenes, and a decent pace. The whole “black swan/white swan” theme has been used so often in gaming and other entertainment venues, it has become trite. In this case, I found the game script very bizarre evidenced by using a tailor to “seam” together cracks on the surface of the kingdom. Sorry to disagree with our “editor;” however, I see nothing in this game which makes it anything but an average fantasy game. Perhaps, it may be I am just tired of fantasy games with pretty princesses and nonsensical stories. I felt the pace of the game is bogged down by the back-and-forth travel in the game searching for items. To me, this is more time consuming than the activities in the game. There appears to be an equal amount of HOP scenes and puzzles. The HOP scenes are all FROGS in the demo (with the exception of one), which fit nicely into the swamp-like atmosphere in the game. However, the lack of variety in the HOP scenes also adds to my lack of enthusiasm for this game. The puzzles are varied in both style and difficulty with a couple of difficult ones toward the end of the demo. However, the excellent puzzles are not enough to salvage this game for me. This game has the “flavour” of Blue Tea more than EIPIX. The graphics are all Blue Tea and are amazing as usual for this developer. The extras include the replaying of HOP scenes and puzzles. Back are the usual signs which you collect in EVERY EIPIX game! It would be nice if EIPIX would come up with some new ideas for collectibles. You also collect pieces to open up parables. If you love fantasy games, you may enjoy it. For me, this game is a disappointment for the EIPIX/Blue Tea venture. However, that being said, this game is a fairly decent fantasy game for those who like this genre. However, in my opinion, it certainly does not merit the any special recognition. STORY: You return as a detective investigating the Kingdom of Dire Island. The Black Swan has stolen a magic seed which holds the key to the regeneration of the goddess Flora, who keeps nature in balance. The theft has caused cracks to develop throughout the kingdom. Desmond McBride is a tailor who has been summoned by the kingdom’s princess to heal the cracks in the surface of the kingdom. However, he will also aid you in your quest. Venture into a swamp to search for the villain in this game. Just watch out for feathers flying between the swans as you trek through this game! HOP SCENES: Keeping with the swampy atmosphere of the game, all the scenes are predominantly FROGS. You will locate pieces of inventory items. PUZZLES: The puzzles in the demo vary in difficulty. They include a matching puzzle in which you use a looking glass to locate items which is somewhat unique and creative. There is also a switch puzzle in which you search for and replace items back into a scene in a storybook. I found this puzzle not only extremely easy but also extremely boring. There is a decent logic (mathematical) puzzle and a fiendish maze puzzle which is unique and very creative. LEVELS: Casual, Hard, Insane, Custom Hints 10 to 120 seconds Skips 10 to 400 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game 12 Achievements Collect 39 signs (the same as with every EIPIX game) Replay 22 puzzles and 12 HOP scenes Strategy guide 8 Wallpapers, Concept Art, Music, Souvenirs Collect pieces to unlock 7 parables. HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND PUZZLES IN SEQUENCE: HOP SCENES: A. FROG to create an inventory item B. FROG to produce an inventory item C. Given a set of symbols, locate them on a wall D. Mini-FROG scene. Locate items of armor to create an inventory item E. Another FROG. Locate pieces of Flora’s mosaic. PUZZLES: Puzzle Rating: (1) Extremely easy 2) Easy (3) A little difficult or time consuming (4) Moderately difficult (5) Difficult A. Matching puzzle. Match up landmarks with symbols along the side of a type of a looking glass. Must be done in sequence Rating: 2 B. Switch puzzle. Search for and replace of items back into the correct locations in a storybook. Rating: 1 C. Switch puzzle. Not listed as a puzzle; however, you must switch pieces of a picture to create a picture to open a door. Rating: 2 D. Logic/Mathematical puzzle. Connect squares using lines based on the amount of dots in each square. The number indicates how many connections that square should have with the other squares. 2X Rating: 2 to 3 depending if you have played this type of game before E. Maze puzzle. Create paths to get 3 balls to the bottom of a segmented maze so that each ball matches up by color and symbol with those on the bottom of the maze. Rating: 3 FINAL THOUGHTS: I, for one, am tired of the consistent diet of sugary sweet fantasy games. Hopefully BFG will provide something different such as sci-fi game in the coming weeks.
Date published: 2016-07-07
  • y_2020, m_1, d_18, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_25153, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Dark Parables: The Swan Princess and The Dire Tree Collector's Edition

It’s up to you to save the Swan Princess’s kingdom!

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.