Epistory: Typing Chronicles

Epistory: Typing Chronicles

PC

Also available on

Word

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(371.04 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Epistory immerses you in an atmospheric action/adventure game where you play a girl riding a giant fox who fights an insectile corruption from an origami world. As you progress and explore this world, the story literally unfolds and the mysteries revealed.

Epistory is a typing game that tells the story of a writer lacking inspiration. You play the muse, tasked with helping her finish her book

Epistory won several awards for its innovative mechanics, gorgeous 3D art style and soundtrack. It also got an honorable mention for its visual art at the prestigious IGF 2016.

To get the most out of Epistory, play with the graphics on "fantastic" mode.

  • The best typing game you will ever play!
  • A beautiful paper craft world to explore
  • Solve puzzles and unlock magic powers
  • High quality voice narration
  • Collect inspiration to unfold the story!

New customers get your first game for $2.99!*

70% OFF!

Use Coupon: NEW299

* Collector's Editions and free to play games not included.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 3072 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 969 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Epistory: Typing Chronicles

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free 1 hour trial

(371.04 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version70% OFF!

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 9.99 USD

Only $2.99 - use coupon NEW299

Customer Reviews
Epistory: Typing Chronicles is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 58.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING! Absolutely beautiful game! Teaches typing skills.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mysterious, Beautiful, Compelling I normally loathe games in which you control a character who explores a world in an open-ended fashion, but this game is so different. You don't interact with anyone (except some terrifying insect type creatures), you don't have to buy things or build up energy or build houses, etc. In the form of a blonde woman riding a three-tailed fox, you explore the land and reveal a story that's being written even as you play it out. Phrases from the story appear on the ground and are narrated by a very talented actor with a pleasant, soothing voice. When new areas open up, they appear like book pages, unfolding and settling into place. Soon you discover you can harness elemental powers: fire, electricity, wind and ice, which you accumulate as you go. These powers are useful for destroying barriers, killing the insect enemies and revealing new areas. A map comes in very handy for finding out where treasures await and new areas to explore are revealed. A recurring theme of the story is the loneliness and isolation of the character, and you find yourself anxious to find out what has happened and who you are. It took me several days, playing 2-3 hours at a stretch, to finish this game. The reveal does not disappoint. There's even a lovely original song at the end, and you'll want to watch all the credits. One downside, which may eliminate some from playing: You must be a competent touch-typist to enjoy this game, as most of what you do involves typing words. As the game progresses, you must do this more and more quickly in order not to be killed by the bugs. I type at around 85 wpm and still got killed a few times! No worries, though, you get to come right back. :) I hope this dev makes dozens more games of this ilk! I found myself waking up each day having dreamed about this mysterious, bookish world and couldn't wait to get back to it.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from loved this game make more of these games they are perfect for people like me who know the keyboard and love the challenge. i had a blast playing this really wish there was more like it.
Date published: 2016-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love everything about it! I gotta say...I'm kinda in love with this game! I didn't want it to end. The visuals, the sounds, the typing, the quirkiness! Wow! Best game I've played in awhile. Please Fishing Cactus...make another one! I would buy it without even trying it!!!!!
Date published: 2016-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely game! What a beautiful, interesting, and refreshing change from the sea of Hidden Object games! This little gem provides both casual exploration and some typing challenge that increases over the course of the game. The narrative is a bit melodramatic and not terribly useful, but the voice is nice and it doesn't detract. SO thankful Big Fish still leaves a bit of room for these sorts of ventures. Really nifty offering. Thank you!
Date published: 2016-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An enjoyable new type of game As a writer I am always typing. This game played that regular hobby into a fun twist. The story is written into the game scenery which I liked and gave me a good idea of where I'd been and where I needed to go. Took a little thought because it doesn't hand you an instruction manual but not all games need to hold your hand. This one was easy enough to figure out while still needing to play it out to catch on. Plus it is always nice to have a game not about death with a female hero.
Date published: 2016-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Typing Story? Much much more! What a beautiful game! Great story, great narration, great graphics. I am stuck and can't find my way out, but that isn't the games fault. It's mine. The game is so amazing! I have never experienced anything remotely like it. I thought, typing game? They have to be kidding. I passed it over several times thinking it wasn't worth a look. Then after reading a couple of reviews about it, I tried it. WOW! Just WOW! You should really try it. If any of you took typing in the 70's you'll remember typing "the quick red fox...." as a typing exercise. It reminded me of that seeing the red fox. It is a wonderful, beautiful game and is worth a try at least. I love it.
Date published: 2016-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i got stuck in the wind world Such a cool game. I didn't think I would like it but I love it... Very challenging but I got stuck and need help. Any walkthroughs yet? Stick with it guys this one is a real winner. I can't wait for another!
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a gem! This is only my second review since I have been a member but this was so different I had to write a review. What started out as a simple typing game drew me in hook, line and sinker and I immediately had to buy it! I'm still playing the game and it keeps getting more difficult and improving my typing skills. The instructions tell you to use the EFJI keys but you can also use arrow keys and the mouse, especially when you find your horse sliding on ice. I tried to play in the 'Arena' but the amount and speed of typing definitely had my adrenalin running. There is so much more to this game than I realised as it keeps unfolding (literally)! This game is definitely worth it's while. Nice change from the usual Hidden Objects
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Puzzle Game This game is unique, thought provoking and fun. The music, graphics and storyline are all first class as the world of imagination and story telling come to life in this puzzle/typing game. How can you beat riding on a giant fox through a beautifully rendered fantasy world which requires typing words correctly to beat monsters? You can't! The narrators voice is warm and soothing and the music adds to the ambiance of calm and relaxing. This is a beautiful, unique game that offers up more than the usual dark, evil themed HOG that has grown so tiresome over the years. I highly recommend giving it a try.
Date published: 2016-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible I never write reviews, but this game is excellent and praise worthy. It sucks you in. The graphics are beautiful, and I love that it is so different from any game out there. While it doesn't really teach typing, it will make you faster. Love it!
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun typing game This game is great for typing practice and it has some challenges within the game that make it even better. I am in the middle of the game and I still do not quite understand the story. Hopefully by the end I will.
Date published: 2016-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Charming and Whimsical! I'd say, if you'd made it far enough to look at reviews you probably have enough interest in this game to enjoy it. I absolutely loved this game. I have never played anything like it before and thought it was incredibly well done. I hate to try to describe it because I can't seem to do it justice and inevitably make it sound uninteresting. It is an adventure game in which you battle monsters by typing words. You also solve puzzles to progress. The art is in the style of paper - since you are a writer searching for inspiration.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this game! I have looked for a good typing game for years, and now its here!
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and fun From the moment the game started I knew it was going to be beautiful. But it's also fun and a good way to work on your typing.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game I've played in years After I burned through the trial and wanted way more, it was a no brainer, this game simply had to be played out. I bought it and spent the next two days finishing it. Am now on the 2nd playthrough, and am just as impressed. As another reviewer said, this is one of those rare games that makes you remember why you started playing computer games in the first place, and it is totally unlike anything you've played recently on here. The graphics are perfect, and the game doesn't hold your hand, you have to figure things out as you go. There are four very epic chapters to get through, and your four eventual powers are ice, fire, spark, and wind. All of these you can switch between as needed as you progress. You need to at least demo this one. It's a beautiful, mesmerizing game. The ending surprised me, but felt right at the same time. If I had a couple dozen hands, it'd get a couple dozen thumbs up from me. I thoroughly enjoyed this game.
Date published: 2016-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very entertaining game I love this game. It is so different and really gave me a wonderful time. It is so beautiful and really made me think. I am so happy to have found a different kind of game. I hardly play any game over and over but I will this one. Bravo!
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not the usual HOG This game is so different from what we usually see on Big Fish portal, it is fresh, inventive and visually stunning. I played with the fantastic graphics settings and I can understand where these awards come from. I recommend this game to anyone here looking for something new.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the word fanatic The best word game in a long time.... and perfect puzzle (the usage of the map is very important for success) The imagination at it most interesting. In any language, I did it in french. The game became an obsession. Great graphics and effects. The music and the voice are to the point.
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A-Mazing Such a different approach, the storyline was pleasantly unique, the visual presentation was captivating. I just couldn't stop playing!! If you don't enjoy typing, this is not the game for you.
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beautiful and original game The graphics and sound are stunning and the gameplay are original. It's easy to catch on without having to go through a tutorial. Some of the puzzles can be difficult enough that you wish you had a skip button. But this is an intelligent, creative game that will make you wonder what's next. I didn't want to quit.
Date published: 2016-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Different and Fun Loved this game. You play as a young girl riding a mythical fox. Explore different realms and watch as the world unfolds around you. Harness different elemental powers to reveal the forests' secrets. There are puzzles that are challenging but not so difficult to get in the way of enjoyment. This game is very different than the others usually featured on Big Fish. This game helped me break the habit of using my ring finger to type the letter P. Now I use my pinky as one is supposed to do. Try the demo and see if it's for you. :)
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most different game I've seen in a long time I absolutely loved this game. I haven't seen anything like it. Nice change from the usual HOS game. The animations were fantastic.
Date published: 2016-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A different kind of word game Lovely story, with beautiful art. As a professional typist, I found the need to type actual words quickly to be a refreshing challenge. My only complaint would be the back-and-forth, and that newly-opened zones were not easily seen on the map. Likewise, I would have liked to be able to drag the map around, to see what might have become opened. Overall, I really enjoyed this game, and would love to see more like this!
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little gem When I saw the screen shots and description of this game I wasn't too impressed but decided to play the demo anyway. I'm so glad I did. The graphics are incredible and the game play addictive. Before I knew it the demo was over and I clicked buy because I had to know what happened next. The puzzles are not so easy but not frustrating either and you don't have to be a speed typist to defeat the enemies. I love that this is a one of a kind game. A refreshing change to the daily yawn fest, mundane HO games.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful story and graphics, smooth controls I love this game! It's so unusual, and it's nice to not be tied just to the mouse as with so many other games. However, it's also nice to have those options. In this game, you can just use the keyboard, but it also allows you to use the arrow keys (which I do) and mouse and save the typing for the words. The storyline is addictive and immersive as well. I just finished the demo and didn't even realize an hour had gone by. Looking forward to more exploration.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very different! Cool game. Music is good, have to spell words of longer lengths and at increasing speeds to save the heroine. It gets harder pretty early on. Not likely to buy the full game tho. I thought it got a bit tiring to keep up with the spelling.
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Interesting and Fun This is such an unusual game -- I'm not usually an "adventure game" type of person, but the combination of adventure and typing oddly makes this an addictive little game. I personally prefer using the mouse to navigate and the typing for all other action (which is required). The further in you get, the more challenging the typing part gets. I wasn't sold in the first five minutes or so, but the more I played it, the more I couldn't stop!
Date published: 2016-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Epistory? I think you mean "Epic Story." (And gameplay. And graphics. And music.) REVIEW BASED ON full demo I CURRENTLY OWN 506 computer games (or will, as soon as I buy this one). PROLOGUE While we sometimes are lucky enough to see games that are innovative and unique in one area—either game design, gameplay mechanics, graphics, storyline, or sound design—it is a rarity to encounter a game that is innovative and unique in every single one of those areas. This one’s a classic. ONCE UPON A TIME ????? You’re a child of the forest, and you’ve spent your life nurturing the plants and animals, accompanied by your steed, an awesome triple-tailed red fox. One day, a fiery meteor falls from the sky, bringing with it a hostile insectile force that seeks to destroy the peace of the forest. It’s up to you to use your creativity and inspiration to defeat the enemies and save the denizens of the forest. PLAY THE GAME ????? The controls take some getting used to. While you can use the arrow keys to move, the game suggests you use the E, F, J, and I keys to better facilitate the typing you’ll need to do. And I second the suggestion, having tried it both ways. The world will unfold bit by bit around you. A voice narrates, and pertinent portions of the story are actually imprinted on the landscape. This isn’t merely an artistic affectation; it actually helps you navigate. Actions are taken by typing. You’ll need to regrow plants, eradicate obstacles, and defeat enemies. The words you must type appear above the areas that need attention, and they become gradually more complex as the game progresses. Additionally, there are puzzles to figure out to gain access to some areas of each level. For example, one requires that you navigate over a series of symbols in a particular order, but the clue you require is obscured. So you have to determine how to reveal the clue by interacting with the environment. Overall, the level of challenge ranges from medium to high, and the fun factor is phenomenal. SIGHTSEEING ????? The graphics completely blew me away. The world is displayed isometrically in a series of squares, and it develops before your eyes from pieces of newspaper that fold, twist, and crumple into the forms of the landscape, then gain color. At the beginning, you can choose the monitor resolution and graphics level. I choose the highest resolution and “fantastic” graphics, and the detail was truly amazing. The animation was consistently smooth with a high frame rate. Everything was beautifully dimensional, as if you were using Google Maps in the “bird’s eye view” format. Shadows, light, and textures were all stunning. SOUNDBOARD ????? The music is exactly the kind of ambient soundscape that I believe is the perfect backdrop for gaming. It’s alternately haunting, comforting, eerie, serene…and always zen. The only voiceover is the narrator, and her voice is beautifully warm and smooth, as well as appropriately emotive. Environmental sounds were awesome, and game sounds were arcade-like. Pew pew! TOOLBOX ????? The tab keys functions as your “pause the game” button, as well as allowing you to access the map for the level you’re on, and showing you which upgrades you’re eligible for (and have already purchased with the in-game earned points system). Some of the upgrades include: • an upgrade that moves the enemy you hit away from you • an upgrade that allows you to type all words associated with a multiple-word enemy without having to wait for the first word to activate • an upgrade that reveals things on the map • an upgrade that speeds up the pace of your fox …and much more. BUGS & BOTHERS No technical difficulties, lags, or annoyances with Mac OS 10.11.6. OOH! PIECE OF CANDY ????? Surprisingly, there are collectibles! I discovered two treasure chests that were really well-hidden and, when opened, revealed collectible fragments. Maybe there’s more candy? EPILOGUE - Overall Rating: (36 total ?) ÷ 6 = ????? In general, I’m not a fan of platform games for the computer (although I love them for game consoles). I also usually don’t care for the isometric design, because it’s difficult to get used to the controls since “up” is no longer “up.” However, Epistory is so original in all its elements, such a treat for the senses, and so much fun that I do highly recommend it. RECOMMENDED BY THIS DEV (???? or above, based on my rating at game’s release) Since this is a new dev, I have no other recommendations. I hope to see many more innovative, beautiful, and unique games from them in the future! Happy gaming, fishies!
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant, different, FUN! Every so often a game comes along that completely breaks the mold and reminds us why we started playing computer games in the first place. Usually descriptions and screenshots of games like this don't really appeal, or make the game sound goofy or just weird, but then you play and suddenly an hour is gone like magic because you've been totally immersed in this amazing new world. These rare game gems find a way to challenge without frustrating, keep you thinking without making your brain hurt, and just make you happy. Oh my gosh, I LOVE it when developers take a chance and create something like this! Sure, this game probably won't be for everyone, but that's okay, because it will fit a niche for many that is lacking in the cookie-cutter hidden-object games we see cranked out every day. Honestly, don't read the description or the reviews, just download Epistory and give it a chance. You might be bored or frustrated, or you might find something wonderful, joy-filled, and completely fun.
Date published: 2016-10-03
  • y_2019, m_6, d_23, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_25647, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Epistory: Typing Chronicles

Epistory immerses you in an atmospheric action/adventure game where you play a girl riding a giant fox who fights an insectile corruption from an origami world.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.