Shadowplay: Darkness Incarnate Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Shadowplay: Darkness Incarnate Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(272.07 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

From the innovative minds at Mad Head Games comes a unique new tale of psychological terror!

You’ve infiltrated Iron Gate Asylum on a daring mission to rescue your sister, who has been accused of murder. But as you wander the darkened halls, you quickly realize that you are not alone… Something sinister is lurking in the shadows, and now it’s on the loose! Can you rescue your sister and escape the darkness? Find out in this chilling hidden-object puzzle adventure game!

  • Fight the darkness to save your sister from the shadows destroying her!
  • Uncover the origins of the strange lantern that is your only hope.
  • Find collectibles and morphing objects with challenging puzzles and mini-games to unlock a treasure hunt!
  • Unlock more bonus features like an original soundtrack and artwork.
  • Access the helpful strategy guide.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.0 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 654 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Shadowplay: Darkness Incarnate Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(272.07 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Shadowplay: Darkness Incarnate Collector's Edition is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 64.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A.Maz.Ing I have had very few game developers I get excited about these days and every fewer do I rush out there and buy the game right away but MadHeadGames are truly amazing! They have come up with many new puzzles. More puzzles and more combinations than other devs. The storyline, itself, wasn't the best I've seen but it did keep me wondering what was next and that's really something. Sadly, I tend to guess the outcome of most mystery games early on and lose interest. The graphics are phenomenal! Some cut scenes are so realistic! The music and the camera shakes really do make you nervous. There was only one time near the end that I laughed and said "c'mon sister, do I have to do EVERYTHING?" but it was more in jest than seriousness. I do NOT regret getting the collector's edition. A whole bonus section of the game depicting the lantern use in 1912. Also finding all the eyes gives you a puzzle at the end. (I was concerned I'd not be able to complete it as I did miss one and it was in an area I could not return to. My fingers weren't fast enough when I saw it. I was able to return once it was complete.) Puzzles I can go back and play were amazing as well. Once again I can't say enough good things about his developer, the puzzles, the graphics...just amazing.
Date published: 2016-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from UNBELIEVABLE GAME! I really cant understand the low ratings for this game, it is one of THE best games ive played and ive been on Big Fish for years. Playing the demo was good but it gets REALLY good after it. If u like weird, scary games, then u will love this. The mini games were so much fun to do as well. Its such a well thought out game, I thoroughly enjoyed it.
Date published: 2016-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this game!!! I thought this game looked a bit different so I took a chance. What a great decision! The storyline was so interesting and different. I really loved how there were twists and turns throughout. I got into the characters and the action kept the story moving even while I was busy looking for the hidden collections. This collector's edition also has so many extras! I loved the treasure hunt! Don't pass this one up! It's creepy without being too dark and dreary!
Date published: 2016-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! ON THE EDGE OF MY SEAT THROUGH THE DEMO! This is a GREAT game. The heart palpitations start immediately. The storyline is unique and held my interest the whole time. You have to prove your sister is innocent, but how? You enter an insane asylum as a patient, undercover, to get the facts and instead discover a creepy, shadowy figure that seems to have control of her. The reason behind strange experimentation is yet revealed, making me want to know more. The music and sounds are aligned perfectly, and the puzzles are cool, and the game designers let you figure it out for yourself. The demo was just enough to scare me and excited to know the truth. I highly recommend this game to all.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A GAMING ASYLUM FOR THOSE CRIMINALLY ADDICTED TO HOP GAMES 5 CHAPTERS PLUS A BONUS CHAPTER - REVIEW BASED ON DEMO PLUS CHAPTER 3 Is your sister criminally insane? Welcome to the Iron Gate Prison Asylum, home to a 5-star plus insanely great game – so good it is criminal! I LOVE this game and have been waiting anxiously for it to appear! You, as Sarah, are on an undercover assignment to prove your sister Layla, innocent of the murder. She has been diagnosed as a paranoid schizophrenic and is considered dangerous. You are given only one shot at proving her innocence. Uncover a vast spider’s web of undercurrents in this game as you try to save your sister. Encounter shadows which are attacking people within the asylum as well as evidence of secret experiments. You will up to your “eyeballs” in this den of horrors. Which reminds me – you will also be collecting BIG EYES throughout the game and morphing objects in the HOP scenes as well. You can also replay those HOP scenes, but disappointingly, NOT the puzzles, which I found a little strange. Feeling paranoid that everyone is watching you? All eyes will be on you as you try to save your sister! Better hurry (you can keep track of your time in this game) or your sister may become another member of the “black-eyed” children. This is such a great game and a nice change-of-pace from the sugar fest of fantasy games we have had lately. The story is excellent and will definitely keep you engaged. The graphics are well-done and provide a dark ambiance to this game. The pace is excellent with a multitude of activities. In the demo there are an equal amount of HOP scenes and puzzles. HOP SCENES: There are five HOP scenes in the demo. Two of these are mini-HOP scenes locating a small amount of one item. There is an interactive list of items, a story sequence with items listed in BOLD letters within sentences. There is a NEW TYPE OF HOP SCENE. You are given a list of items to locate. Using two arrows (one on the top and the other at the side) align two displays so they match up to release the item. Awesome and creative PUZZLES: I found two of the puzzles easy and two somewhat difficult in the demo. The puzzles include a moving tiles puzzle in which you must move tiles to connect wires to open a cell door. There is a slightly difficult switch puzzle which requires you to switch slats between 4 columns to restore a design on each of the columns. There is an easy sequence puzzle in which you must place pictures in correct sequence. There is a slightly difficult moving tiles puzzle in which you must slide slats up, down and sideways to move 9 tokens so that each row has tokens of the same color and symbol AFTER THE DEMO: Of course you will discover the mystery behind this asylum. In Chapter 3, I discovered that the puzzles are better than in the demo. I encountered a rather easy sequence puzzle using the magic lamp, an awesome maze puzzle which has you completing the maze in the dark with the aid of only a small circle of light, and a fiendish mathematical puzzle to open a lock. I also played another mini-HOP scene involving nails and a silhouette scene with multiple items to be located. LEVELS: Dusk, Nightfall, Midnight, and Eclipse (Custom) Hints and Skips – 15 to 90 seconds EXTRAS: Map is provided as you play the game You receive a mystical lantern to fight the ghost. 11 Achievements: Some have 3 sections Collect 38 big eyes Morphing objects: In the HOP scenes Replay 18 HOP scenes Strategy guide – 55 Pages Usual wallpaper, artwork, screensavers, 20 Wallpapers, 16 Concept Art, A Labyrinth, A Puppet Theater HERE ARE THE DETAILS (SPOILERS) FOR THOSE WANT MORE INFORMATION ON THE HOP SCENES AND MINI-PUZZLES HOP SCENES: A. List of items to locate. Somewhat interactive B. Multiple step. Mini-HOP scene. (1) Locate six pieces of a note and then complete a jigsaw puzzle to put it together. (2) Locate countries on a globe using the reconstructed note. C. Story sequence. Items are listed in BOLD letter while relating relevant information pertaining to the game. D. List of items in which you must use two arrows (one on the top and the other on the side) of a chart to align two displays of the items - a new type of HOP puzzle. Very Cool! AFTER THE DEMO: E. Mini-HOP scene. Locate 6 nails. F. Silhouette scene. Locate a multiple of items for each silhouette. PUZZLES: A. Moving tiles puzzle. Rotate tiles to make a connection between wires to open a cell door. Rating: 2 B. Switch puzzle. Move slats into their correct position by color on four columns as room allows. You will then need to restore the design for each column. Rating: 3 C. Sequence puzzle. Put the pictures of the “Evolution of Man” in correct order D. Sliding Tiles puzzle. Using arrows, slide 3 slats to move 9 tokens into correct position so that each row has three tokens of the same color and symbol. AFTER THE DEMO: E. Simon Says puzzle. Repeat a sequence to defeat the Shadows. 2X Rating: 1 F. Maze puzzle. Complete a maze in the dark with only a small circle of light. Rating: 3 G. Mathematical puzzle. Fiendish. Solve a mathematical puzzle to open a lock. Rating: 4
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best game I've played this year! This game is really fun and unique. It does start of creepy and then gets less creepy, but I didn't mind. I also didn't mind the ease of the mini games because they were so unique. I liked that you also keep tools. For example, if you need a knife, you don't have to find another knife after you use it one time. That is always annoying to me. I also appreciated that the HOS have stuff that you would find in that area, so no gramophones in the leaf pile. I have played hundreds of HOGs and I usually become bored, but I sat and played through this game in one sitting. I highly recommend this game.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from brilliant and excellent scary thriller MadHead are truly the best in taking us to another level and making everything so different. Their storyline, graphics, characters, voices and especially music are fantastic !! Personally I could do without monsters but everything seems so believable and you feel truly in the story. There is a sense of urgency about it all which is thrilling. Wierdly, altho some of the puzzles we have seen before ( you cant have new stuff all the time!) the way they are done here makes them seem completely different. I must urge you all to try and buy this one.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shadowplay:Darkness Incarnate C/E WOW! didn't think I was going to like this, BOY was I WRONG!! So glad I tried it! Ok, you're in the nut house nothing really new in that, but this game takes you away and draws you in right from the start. New and imaginative HOPs! Fast moving story line that even though you kinda get the feeling that you have"been here before", it moves along so quickly you want to know where you'll be next. This is a definite buy. As for your second purchase, well you're on your own. DON'T MISS THIS ONE!!!
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something different! I loved this game - the concept isn't anything really different.... again monsters (although invisible ones) to defeat etc, but the HOGs and the mini games were something new! Watch out for the morphing objects in the HOGs! I played this game in one sitting - it isn't a long game, but it's interesting.... I found some of the mini games a little easy, but they were fun. I'm hoping there might be a sequel!
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lights Out Please This was a wonderful game. Not too scary and spectacular cut scenes. I like the twist on the working HO's. The HO's were more fun then the puzzles. In this game has a jump map, HO's, Collect eye's, Good Characters, Lots to do, and nice inventory list. Oh and some critter action. lol Poor squashed cockroach.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DON’T LET THE SHADOWS GET YOU Recently I have become very weary of games that all have the same theme of some evil entity bent on control or dominion and although Shadowplay Darkness Incarnate on the surface seems to be another of those games, I must say that this developer had done an incredible job of making this a game I simply loved. There are so many things about Darkness Incarnate that are exceptionally well done that it becomes a step above all of the other games with this type of theme. The graphics, the voice acting, the HOPS and the mini-games are all excellent and show what can be done when a developer is willing to go to the next level. You can select from several modes of gameplay with Eclipse being the one where you can customize how you play the game. The storyline is very well laid out and interesting. Your tools include an interactive map and there is also a lamp that does prove helpful in some situations. You play the game as Sarah Summers whose sister, Layla, is an inmate at the Iron Gate Asylum, accused of murdering three of her classmates while on a camping trip. You find it difficult to believe that your sister is capable of such a heinous crime and with help from the inside you set off on a journey to prove her innocence. Be warned though that this is a difficult task and you might just find out more than you are willing to know. As I mentioned above there is a HOP scene early in the game that is one of the most unique I have ever seen during the years I have been a fan of HOPA games. It took me a few minutes to figure out exactly what I needed to do to locate the listed items. What a novel and different approach to a HOP that is sure to be emulated by other developers in the future. The weak point in the game just might be the mini-games that are familiar and have been seen many times before. In spite of the fact that during the demo I didn’t find any different or new type mini-games they are still very good even though only one of them was a bit more difficult. As is generally the case, I am sure the mini-games will increase in difficulty or challenge as the game progresses. The CE version of the game includes collectible eye graphics to be found, morphing objects, achievements to be earned, a strategy guide, bonus game, concept artwork, wallpapers, replay of HOPS, a Labyrinth Puzzle and a Shadow Puppet Theater Shadowplay Darkness Incarnate is an incredible game with a dark twist that is just so well done that I didn’t mind that it might be another game with a dark entity. I loved the psychological, dark thriller aspect that had me almost afraid to move to the next scene. This game just proves that with thought and determination developers can present a game that is different, challenging and creative even though the basic theme might appear to be the same old thing. This development team has historically presented games that have been unique and a cut above since they made their debut with the Rite of Passage series years ago. Although there were a few missteps along the way, Shadowplay is evidence that this team has got what it takes to create a game that is sure to rise to the top of the charts. I couldn’t wait to buy it the minute it was released and now I am going back to finish this game the lets me know there is still some life to be found in the HOPA genre.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from scary This game has a twisted story to it. And the puzzles are very hard they are for the pro's I say. there are extra's in the game you can earn
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Game! Very good game amazing visuals and good story.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game but very short preview Out of a 90 min sample game I got 40 mins but still a good game. I will wait until the SE comes out
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shadowplay:Darkness Incarnate Collector's Edition Wow! Bought it right after playing the demo- That's all I needed...It's an exciting mystery, movie like, action packed game...I love it so far! Couldn't put it down... Time to get back to playing! YES!!!
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from greattttttt gem THIS WAS A TWISTER AND WONDERFUL DIFFERENT KIND OF HOS TERRIFIC AND WELL WRITTEN. IT WAS EXCITING YOU JUST HAVE TO LOVE THIS GAME
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mad head do it again Another exceptional game from Mad head, great game, lots to do, many and varied puzzles, great game from start to finished. Loved it !!!
Date published: 2016-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from "Are You Kidding, No One's Getting Out Of Here!" GREETINGS FELLOW FISHIES! I am taking a quick dip into the pond today to share my thoughts and feelings about Mad Head Games’ newest offering, “Shadow Play: Darkness Incarnate”. Even though he is supposedly on your side, when the warden crushes a huge nasty cockroach with his bare hand, you know you are in trouble, long before the declaration, “Are you kidding, no one’s getting out of here.” Frankly, I always knew those shadow puppets on the wall were trouble, no wonder I could never master those cute “Bunny ears” as a child. With its creepy ghost wall shadows and maniacal inmates, our adventures within the Iron Gate Prison Asylum are entertainment par excellence. For me, it is the adventure aspects and mini-games and puzzles that either make or break a particular game’s entertainment value and in this game there is a delightful array of both. The graphics are very well done and realistically detailed. The drawings within scenes were well developed and nicely detailed, as are the HOPs. I liked having achievements to earn and items to collect. In this game we collect crying eye symbols within the scenes and morphing objects within the HOPs. I enjoyed this game more than many that have come along lately. I recommend it enthusiastically. HAPPY GAMING! ~B
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For grown ups Not a fairy and elf pink and purple portals to another land kind of game. Dark and dreary, and downright scary at times.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing and familiar Always have liked Mad Head games for the smooth game play and the extras are actually re-playable! (NeverTales) I especially liked the collectibles - treasure hunt - ultimate HOP (gives you a sense of actually getting something for all that searching :) I have always been a fan of 'scary' if only for the funny factor - most 'scary' is really silly - and this game has that. I highly recommend this game if you are a fan of actually achieving something when you get an achievement :) This game has total re-play-ability
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mad Head Games does it again!!! It is definitely worth the wait for Mad Head Games to put a game out!! The stories are wonderful and imaginative and the graphics are smooth and beautiful! I love these dark games that they make. An Eipix game and a MadHead game in one week, I'm in heaven!!
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from only the shadow knows really enjoyed playin liked everything about it
Date published: 2016-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shadowplay: Darkness Incarnate Collector's Edition Another great hidden object game to play
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from OMG this is an awesome but scary game OMG this is an awesome but scary game i LOVE this game...hate the sequel but this the original is awesome...keeps you on the edge of your seat and wanting more LOVE LOVE LOVE this game
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FOUND it way too SHORT!! :( I liked it a lot... most of the puzzles and hops were challenging enough without being too difficult..... did find I was done with the game way too fast though.....
Date published: 2017-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really like it! Fun game! I've been waiting for another game like Maze 360,and here it is! I don't think it's quite as good, but after the week at work I had, it is what I am in the mood for today. The story was a little muddled, some of the puzzles were a little too complicated for me and it as difficult to tell were I was on the map at times but overall a really decent game with some extras that were fun! A really nice job overall. Thank you all! As usual, try and see for yourself! Happy gaming!
Date published: 2016-08-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent....BUT I thoroughly enjoyed this game and would definitely recommend it. The only thing I can say against it is this: the dev's didn't tell us WHO these 'shadows' are, HOW they came to be or WHAT they want....which to me, has really left a big hole in the storyline. I do recommend it BUT try the demo first.
Date published: 2016-08-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Conundrum: How Scared is Too Scared? You have gone under cover at an isolated Prison asylum to try to save your younger sister, Layla, from murder charges. Only you and Warden Michael know your true reason for being in the prison. Trust me, all is NOT well. Good stuff: HOPs and mini-games are well done, characterizations are great, artwork impressive, story line is immersive, and there is plenty of CE bling. Bad Stuff: This is one scary game! Try the demo and see what I mean. This is much like being on a roller coaster - I know I am safe and yet the game is quite scary - so I'll pass on buying but you may be more of a thrill seeker than I am. Give this one a try!
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Asylum at it's best Review Based on Demo and a bit more Game opens in Full Screen Voiceover are good with lip sync Dialogue can be skipped Lockable Inventory (+ Items, o attachment turns into a + when an object can be completed) Modes of Play - 4 Dusk, Nightfall, Midnight and Eclipse.. all tell what you get and don't get. ...Eclipse (Custom Mode) Hint/Skip adjustable button from 15 - 90 secs. Choice of tutorial etc.... modes can be changed via the Menu tab during play. Options : Choice of Cursors Music/Voice/Ambient/Effects Volume Adjustments Aspect Ratio Extras : Gallery - 16 Concept Art, 6 Music tracks, 20 Wallpapers, Replayable Hidden Object Games Shadow Puppet Theatre (locked until you finish the main game) 11 Achievements (Complete all mini games without skipping, find a way through the maze etc.... always worth a look before beginning the game if you're an Achievements fan) Labyrinth (has a puzzle piece icon but it's locked) Collectibles (locked until bonus game is completed) 18 Hidden Object Games - (Interactive lists. Word/Symbol association story. Slide one image over another to match...each puzzle contain a morphing object ...swirling spiral icon denotes morphing object has been found) 10 Mini Games - Mini paper puzzle, Slider, Maze by torchlight, Sequence etc. Collectibles: 38 eye images Morphing Objects 18 various objects in the Hidden Object Puzzles. Icons: Menu - Change Modes or go to Game Page. Journal - Notes, Clues. ! - Objectives. Compass - Jump Map. Guide - Strategy Guide shows 5 Chapters plus the Bonus Chapter and Collectible and Morphing Locations... Stays open to where you last left it. Mosaic Tile - Hint. Trophy - Achievements Eye Symbol - Shows scene of Collectible Eyes and if they've been found or not in each location. Lantern - Repels Evil Forces. Story : Your sister Layla has been put into the Iron Gate Prison asylum charged with killing 3 classmates on a camping holiday. You know she's innocent but you have to enter the asylum under cover to prove it. You have an ally in the warden, Michael Hall, but he is the only one who knows that prisoner 76 is Sarah Sommers who is undercover to prove her sister's innocence. You soon find all is not as it seems...Michael is proving more of a hinderance than help and there is an evil paranormal energy in the asylum that seems to inhabit your sister... can you defeat it, free your sister and prove her innocence and manage to get out of the asylum unscathed. Opinion : Game flowed smoothly from scene to scene, no tech difficulties. Wasn't too keen on the bluish colour but it wasn't too bad once the game got going. Really liked the mix up of Hidden Object Puzzles and the different ways the mini puzzles were presented...the only popups I noticed were the 'new objective, completed objective' notification. The main thing that annoyed me was the silly Lantern jumping around when you had to use it to fight the 'Evil Energy' but the rest of the game more than made up for that so it's a buy for me. A little bit of mystery with the 'Labyrinth' and 'Collectibles' rooms which are locked until the game is completed. Overall a good game.
Date published: 2016-08-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent game...while it lasted Excellent game. Great graphics. Creepy. Good story. Only negative is that it was incredibly short. I noticed how small the download was compared to other recent games, and was amazed at how quickly I was able to complete it. If you don't mind poor value for your money (ie, way too short), definitely worth the purchase.
Date published: 2016-08-20
  • y_2020, m_1, d_26, h_12
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_64
  • loc_en_US, sid_25352, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Shadowplay: Darkness Incarnate Collector's Edition

Something terrible lurks in the halls of Iron Gate Asylum…

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.