Christmas Stories: The Gift of the Magi Collector's Edition
Exclusive

Christmas Stories: The Gift of the Magi Collector's Edition

Hidden Object

Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(437.39 MB)

By clicking "Play Now", I accept the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have received the Privacy Policy. If this is your first time downloading a game from Big Fish, our handy Game Manager app will install on your computer to help manage your games.
Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Big Fish Editor's Choice! This title was chosen for its high standard of quality and amazingly positive reviews from our Game Club beta testers.

Elephant Games proudly presents the newest addition to the Christmas Stories Series!

Everybody knows that Santa gives presents to nice children, but who visits the naughty ones? After your sister does something bad, Berta the evil Christmas spirit and her mean elves take her away. The only way to save her is by performing good deeds and helping make the holiday season more cheerful for others. With the help of Jack Frost, can you save the holidays before it’s too late?

See what our Beta testers had to say:

“I love love love these games! So charming and beautifully done! Puzzles are great and the storyline is one of my all time favorite. The artwork and scenery is beautiful and the characters are way cool!”  - Kelly, beta tester

“Love the game so far! Interesting story line and gorgeous setting. The music is lovely and the game flows easily.”  - Barbara, beta tester


  • Perform three good deeds to save Christmas for three families!
  • While the mice are away, the cats play at the Cat Ball in the bonus chapter!
  • Replay mini-games, HOPs, and check out the collectibles!
  • Never get stuck with the included strategy guide.

Game System Requirements:

  • OS: Windows XP/Windows Vista/Windows 7/Windows 8/Windows 10
  • CPU: 2.5 GHz
  • RAM: 1024 MB
  • DirectX: 9.0
  • Hard Drive: 1259 MB

Big Fish Games App System Requirements:

  • Browser: Internet Explorer 7 or later
Reviews at a Glance

Christmas Stories: The Gift of the Magi Collector's Edition

0 out of 5 (0 ReviewsReview)
Average Rating:
Play Now Download the free trial

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to download this game?

Free sample version

(437.39 MB)

Buy Now Get the full version

This game will not work on your operating system.

Are you sure you want to purchase it?

Full version game

$ 19.99 USD

$ 13.99 USD or 2 credits

Customer Reviews
Christmas Stories: The Gift of the Magi Collector's Edition is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 84.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thoroughly Enjoyable & Festive I always enjoy the art in these games. The story is quite good, and not what first comes to mind with the word "Magi". I enjoy the consistency of the cats (so, yes, I'm a cat person) throughout these games. Little hints of past games make these very fun if you haven't tried one of the series. Good puzzles and lovely art make for a difficult to stop game. I stayed up way too late the night I bought this. I encourage you to try it if you like charming seasonal games. I give this company much credit. They do fine work.
Date published: 2016-12-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love Love this Game! I can not say enough about this beautiful game. I love everything about it. This series is high ranking in my opinion and this is the best of the last three games. Certainly has lots of Christmas spirit!
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Wonderful Story On Good Will For All One of my favorite holiday games from Elephant. Always look forward to this gift in my stocking each year. The Gift of the Magi was stunning. What a delightful story on learning the meaning of giving to those who need the gift of love and kindness. I wondered if I might see our little cat friends and was happy to see them in the bonus chapter. Thank you Elephant and Big Fish for The Gift of the Magi. Happy Holidays,
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it Really cute addition to the series. I will let all of the other excellent reviewers give the details. I thought t was at really fun game.
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I liked it Personally, I liked this one. While I agree with some other reviewers that this isn't my favorite of the Christmas Stories games, I still found it an enjoyable way to pass the time. None of the mini-games were overly challenging, and they definitely may be geared more to the younger set, but again, I found them to be fun. As always, the visuals were excellent. Bright and colorful, they certainly added to the holiday mood. The evil Christmas spirit wasn't too spooky; actually, she reminded me an awful lot of Cruella De Vil. And she wasn't enough to take away from the rest of the pleasant little world. The storyline was interesting and it incorporates the story of The Gift of the Magi by O. Henry, as well as a few other stories that have pretty happy Christmas endings. Overall, this was a fun little game that I could see myself playing again next Christmas.
Date published: 2017-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Disappointment in the bonus The game was awesome and i enjoyed it a lot, and here comes the but. I am not a member anymore so i paid 20.00 for the game. The bonus chapter is enough to swear me off of it for ever.. Is has no related story to the first game. The fairy cat turning constantly was very annoying and the game froze up on me and the mirror puzzle piece would not fit. I struggled with it and finally it went in. As i said the game it self was great and you should just have left it at that for the bonus game sucks.. You do have some nice screen savers and the music was enjoyable to listen to. I recommend the that you buy the single game and not the collectors.
Date published: 2016-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wanted to love this game, but It wasn't quite what I expected. I own all the other Christmas Stories games but I wasn't as impressed by this year's version. The graphics are beautiful as always, but there seemed to be too much focus on them, or I should say the animations, which took away from game playing time. In other words, the game was much shorter than I expected, especially compared to the other CS versions. There also didn't seem to be as many HO puzzles within the game as there have been in the other versions. Everything else about the game was similar to the others, except this time it was divided into three parts as your character has to perform three specific good deeds. If you're a fan of the Christmas Stories games as I am, it's a nice addition to the collection. But in retrospect I would have waited for it to go on sale before buying.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very sweet Christmas story This game has a wonderful (if repetitive) Christmas feel good story. There are three distinct good deeds that the hero must perform in order to rescue his sister from the evil troll woman. Each of the stories is sweet and the ending is REALLY SWEET. The HOS are generally easy, but nice to look at. The puzzles are OK - I had to skip some. There are more than one of the fill up the boxes puzzles that I just can't do, but I seem to be in the minority. A good length game and enjoyable to play. NOT, however, the Bonus Game. What a drag. A take on the Cinderella tale in the cat kingdom. What could be bad about that? Just about everything. One of the most annoying helper creatures ever, a fluttering fairy godmother cat who NEVER stops moving around. Same old, same old games and settings as the main game. Topped off with an endless unsolvable marble popper game. So, wait for the standard edition and buy the game for that. Skip the ugly bonus game and enjoy the warm fuzzy feeling you get from a good Christmas story.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from christmas stories : gift of magi fun, bright game. I didn't feel it was much about Christmas, and it was really short for a ce. I bought without testing because of the others in the stories line. the regular version that will be coming will be a better buy
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice game While, in my opinion, not quite as stellar as other EG Christmas releases, this is still a good game. The story line is poignant and cohesive, game play is smooth, graphics are gorgeous and the music is nice. Not terribly challenging but none of the prior games of this particular series have been either. Rather, it's more of a pleasant, relaxing game that won't hammer your brain cells. I would have given it a 5 star rating, but as I said, in my opinion, the game doesn't quite live up to the others in terms of "bells and whistles", but it's worth buying (or at least trying) if you liked the others.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Breaking the mould! I have never found a game before that celebrates a holiday the I have liked, they always seem to me to be cobbled together in a hurry with little thought given to their presentation, but this one gave me a pleasant surprise! Yes the story is bit twee but hey, what do you expect, its Christmas after all!!! The puzzles and HOS are reasonably challenging without being what I call "Adult hard" which is ok by me as it's presumably mainly aimed at the younger ones amongst us. Visuals and sound are good and the whole package is just good family fun! For an old cynic like me to give this game 4 stars it's got to have something going for it so come on - yes even you "bah humbug" folks - at least give the demo a shot!
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Frozen Delight Wonderful game. Nice pace, cuteness galore, good characters. Nice inventory, jump map, critter action, Decent HO's, Collect puzzle piece's, and Christmas items.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A solid 4. I LOVED the 1st one - The Nutcracker, still play it at Christmas. I have purchased all of these Christmas Stories. I hated the one last year (Puss and Boots). The map was totally inaccurate which I will not tolerate and it was not fun. This one is better map wise; just played the Demo. Collect 36 jigsaw pieces, mostly found in the zoom. Collect 14 morphing dwarfs, which since there are so few it's easy to forget about them. I recommend that you try this. As usual it's pretty.
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Christmas game... Hello friends! Well, we have #5 in this Holiday series. As always, I review mostly on the game play and leave the story to others who do a much better job than I. Yes, I have the other 4 in this series and I have loved them all, some more than others, but still all nice games. As usual, the graphics are exceptional, very clear and clean. Game play was excellent, no problems at all during the demo and the scenes fit my large screen quite well. Colors for the most part are well done. There are a couple of areas that had a bit more blue than was necessary, but otherwise the colors are very nice and true. Voices are age and character appropriate, although there isn't much in the way of character interaction, except in spurts. You can click through dialog if you read faster than they speak, without missing any of the story line. Sound FX are very nice. Music, even though it is a Christmas scene, is not really Christmas. There is some, but not constant. This works for me, as I think I would get very tired of hearing if very quickly. Mostly, it is very soothing. I thought the custom cursor was fun...it is a mitten. There is a creepy trouble making elf and then there is Goody, our friend and helper elf. He's pretty quiet when not being used and occasionally eats a candy cane. HOPs are a combination of interactive lists, straight lists and finding pairs of objects and there are a couple of little new things tossed in for fun, e.g. throwing snowballs at the creepy elf. They are fairly clean and items are not difficult to find. I did not see that you could switch to another game if you do not care for the HOPs. Puzzles are simple and nothing new, but they were actually fun. Maybe it's the Christmas theme. Help system is very helpful and we do have the transport feature, which saves a lot of travel time. You do a lot of back tracking in this one as well. Collectibles are not bad at all. We need to find 36 puzzle pieces to complete 3 jigsaw puzzles. These pieces are fairly large, but easy to miss. We also have 14 morphing items, which seem to all be gnomes. They morph in and out quickly and morph into an item that can easily be overlooked. Watch for them. It looks like we have 3 sections to complete, being 3 good deeds, to make someone's Christmas a happy one. Made me curious to see what happens when we have accomplished this. There are others in this series that had a much better story line, but I think this one gets better as you go along and I find the need to play it out and see what happens. The bonus chapter in this series has yet to disappoint, so looking forward to that as well. I think all levels of players will find this one enjoyable. Yep, adding this one to my CE collection. As always, try it for yourself and see what you think. We all have different tastes in games and you may not care for this one at all. Thanks for the reviews.
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs a bang at the end I like games like this. I enjoy all of the extras like finding morphing objects and the like. I enjoy working toward collecting all of the achievements. Once you do that though I feel like you should get a reward of some kind. Once I got the final achievement there was just nothing. I need a little fanfare! Otherwise it was a fun game for the holidays and is quite beautiful!
Date published: 2017-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slow start, but gets good If I had stopped early on as I thought about doing-due to the darker feeling the game had-I would have missed a pretty good game and a cute bonus! The elf helper annoyed me a bit, his big eyes made me think of Gollum from LOTR, a bit creepy. The final challenge in the bonus was hard, which is good. I am also not a fan of mice, even white ones, so I had to ignore that, LOL. Overall, worth it, especially at the sale price.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from merry christmas and happy new year to all very good series I like these games cause it gets you in the Christmas spirit . it's not their best butt I did like the story and the hops/mini games where not super hard.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good game This is well done. I recommend.
Date published: 2016-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm a grinch and I liked it... Just finished the demo. It reminds me of the Nutcracker game that I played a few years ago. Great graphics. Puzzles are fun and not too hard. I thought the story was good. I would recommend it!
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Christmas stories Disappointingly short gaming for a collectors edition/price
Date published: 2016-12-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beta Quality Game - Very rushed and very short Might as well face it, the glory days of HO Gaming are long since over. This is definitely not worth the price of a CE, I clocked it in just under Two Hours. The Story is not related to the O Henry Story of the same name, but rather some weird hybrid of the usual "Doom and Gloom" that BF churn out like there's no tomorrow with Christmas Scenery thrown in. Nope, I don't understand it either. Speaking of Scenery the Graphics are at best Patchy and decidedly bland. Same with the sound and music. Clearly this is a game designed for children only (something they should have told us) and as such there is inappropriate content here. Rather than being Christmassy there has been a very clear attempt at a more sinister feeling which is noticeably uncomfortable for an exclusively Children's title. However what is Inexcusable is including a Completely irresponsible puzzle whereby the little boy uses a pair of Metal Pliers to cut through a Live Electrical String of Christmas Lights - Congratulations Guys at BF Way to go with that one,!! Do you even check these any more for appropriate content?! That aside this is an unfinished project that was released while in the Beta Stage, It feels very empty and very soulless. My Thumbs Down vote is due to it being a Children's game with the inappropriate and even dangerous content. As an older Player one may find that there is some enjoyment here but not much. Wait for the SE or a Half Price Voucher is my advice.
Date published: 2016-12-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Blend Dissappointed this year! EG can do so much better. The game is a bit short. All the scenes blend together, and they are pink! There's not much of a story, and it all seems to have been developed in the leftover time between all the other games. It's cute, but that's it. Christmas only comes once a year, something these games should reflect. I'm gonna play the first two games in the series now.
Date published: 2016-12-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I expected so much more from this series! I've played the other four in the series and this is actually no different from those. I've got 28 minutes left in the demo but I thought I'd give my review now since it seems to me that this game has the very same game play, same strategy, just different storyline. Beautiful, beautiful scenes, for sure, but some that seem familiar to me. Loved the music at the intro. Glad the devs added that! Great job with the eye-candy! Much of the tasks, mini-games are elementary as usual. You have your cute sidekick who's quite animated, and judging from the demo isn't as helpful just yet! The HOPS are the usual--not that innovative. I love Elephant Games' artwork and charming scenes, no doubt. But for once I'd like the storyline to hold true to the book, so to speak. Get rid of the elf and the silly characters and give us the story as it was really written. I don't mean to be a humbug, but take A Christmas Carol, for instance, the game was nothing like Dickens wrote it. What with Elephant Games' stunning artwork, I can only imagine how that could have been played out if they did write a game that was verbatim to the storyline. I would have paid for that without any discount, too. On the whole, though, it is a cute game thus far. And the point of it all is to have fun. Challenging--not so sure about that! This is a delightful game, in my opinion, to be played at your leisure. I do love the Christmas scenes, the music. There's lots of back n' forth business, once again, but if I were to buy this game it would be the standard version only. The artwork is very pleasing to the eye and can draw you in to the spirit of Christmas. I'm rating this game 3.25 stars. I'm very glad, however, that I played most of the demo. I do recommend this game. To each his/her own!
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wanted to Love it BUT..... I have been waiting for Elephant's Annual Christmas Gift to us for a few weeks. Wanted to love it as much as I have loved the previous years but it did not have the excitement, storyline or "I gotta have this game now!!! feeling." The graphics were awesome, music was okay, storyline was okay but there was no magic for me. Will I add this to my collection, sorry to say but no. Thank you and have a Merry Christmas.
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is a children's game, and should be advertised as such. REVIEW BASED ON full demo (Mac OS 10.11.6) HOW I RATE GAMES Based on having bought 518 computer games dating from Zork to the present (and having demo’d hundreds more), I believe that a well-developed and entertaining storyline, and logical and challenging gameplay are most important, so I give those categories double the weight in my rating. Secondary are intuitive game mechanics, a variety of music an appropriate ambient sounds, professional graphics (regardless of style), and, if the game is a CE, sufficient offerings to warrant the doubled price. STORYLINE (6/10?) Wendy and Oliver sneak out of the orphanage to cause a bit of mischief, which is really Wendy’s idea. When they break into a wealthy man’s house to steal something valuable, the evil Berta appears with her two minion elves to punish them. But Jack Frost materializes and saves Oliver, offering him the chance to save his sister from whatever fate Berta has planned. All Oliver has to do is perform three good deeds. While the idea behind the storyline—“Who visits the naughty children?”—was good, I thought the execution could have been better. Since mythology already provides the answer to that question, why substitute the watered down Berta for the real anti-Santa, Krampus? Not much point in a good versus evil storyline when the evil is only mildly wicked. GAMEPLAY (2/10?) All the standard illogical pachyderm devices were used: • the locked mailbox (How does the mail carrier open it?) • tools which could have been used multiple times were used once, then dropped (I used a knife; two minutes later I needed to cut something. I used a lighter; two minutes later I needed fire.) • something was rusted shut (although there was actually solvent this time) • an animal needed to be bribed with food to give up its stash • I had a helper for small places (it wasn’t Elf, but it was an elf) HO scenes were easy. One basic interactive list, one open gifts to find matching pairs, one silhouette. Puzzles were for children. • Swap berries among three gingerbread men to give each the correct berries. • Simple five-piece jigsaw to put together a photograph. • Move the children and Santas around until they’re lined up like the given clue. • Simple untangle the ropes with Christmas lights. • Dress each elf in the correct clothing by using the arrows to move the rows and columns. GAME MECHANICS (3/5?) Inventory locked open, but the arrows moved one item at a time…and slowly. Since the inventory was generally full of the pachyderm’s shaped keys, this was annoying. Map indicated available actions, collectibles, and morphing objects, and acted as transporter. Navigation was intuitive, but the back button hotspot was persnickety. GRAPHICS & ANIMATION (3/5?) The NPCs are drawn and animation well, although Berta’s minion bears an uncanny resemblance to St. Germain in appearance and behavior. Scenery was rather neon; indoor lighting was a searing orange while moonlight was an electric blue. Had the lighting been depicted more naturally, the graphics would have been beautiful. Cutscene animation is proof of this, as none of it was neon. MUSIC & SOUND (4/5?) Lovely seasonal music accented the game theme perfectly. I tend to be picky about how carols are performed…these were spot on. Voiceovers were ok; as usual, the children were voiced by adults, which never works. Ambient sounds could have been better. COLLECTOR’S EDITION EXTRAS (5/5?) Bonus chapter involving cats. Collectible puzzle pieces for jigsaws (woo hoo) which become screensavers. Collectible morphing objects. Performance achievements and the SG. Replayable HO scenes, puzzles, and a secret room. The dev’s portfolio includes wallpapers, screensavers, concept art, and soundtracks. CONCLUSION (Overall Rating = 23? ÷ 8 = 2.875? rounded to (???) If you’re ok with a saccharine storyline and easy gameplay, give the demo a try. Personally, I don’t recommend this since I didn’t enjoy the storyline, found the gameplay much too easy, and thought the graphics were eye-searing. RECOMMENDED BY THIS DEV These are games I rated at least ???? at the time of their release. Some may be older, so please compare your system specs with the game requirements before downloading. Happy gaming! • from this series: The Nutcracker • Chimeras: Tune of Revenge CE • Grim Tales: The Wishes, Bloody Mary CE, The Vengeance CE • Mystery Trackers: The Void, Raincliff, Black Isle, Four Aces CE, Silent Hollow, Raincliff’s Phantoms CE • Royal Detective: The Lord of Statues, Queen of Shadows • Surface: Mystery of Another World CEThe Noise She Couldn’t Make CE, The Soaring City CE, The Pantheon CE • Unfinished Tales: Illicit Love CE
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hidden object game This game was very short even with the bonus game. Could not belive that it was over so fast. Left hanging.
Date published: 2016-12-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from CHRISTMAS STORIES: THE GIFT OF MAGI BORING AND TO MUCH MOVING OF USELESS MOVING AROUND. THIS IS SUPPOSE TO BE HIDDEN OBJECT BUT IT IS VERY LITTLE OF IT. TO MANY QUIZZES AND PUZZLES.
Date published: 2016-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Where do the Magi come in?? Why is it called "The Gift of the Magi'?? There is nothing whatsoever remotely connected to that name - very misleading. As a game it is fine, the usual Christmas fare, and pleasant enough to play, but it was not what I expected.
Date published: 2016-12-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looking elsewhere for Christmas I loved the nutcracker and the tin soldier, the last for what seemed to me the wonderful use of the character of hans christian anderson, and I played the others and plodded through with mixed pleasure but--enough! Not going to go on with this one, paid for it, played about half. maybe I am spoiled by a very innovative game I played recently for one thing, but within this series even, this seems "dead as a doornail" to use an expression from Christmas Carol. Christmas Carol... Carols...thats an idea! I do believe Ill find Christmas in some seasonal gathering, in a place set aside, of song and shared bread and wine.
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not a Gift for Me! Help! What were they thinking? Oliver and Wendy ran away from the orphanage to break into a house to steal. Berta is the evil being who has taken Wendy and Jack Frost has stopped time so Oliver can do some good deeds and save his sister from Berta. This story is so mixed up that I don't know where to begin. Wendy looked to be in her early teens and old enough to know what she was doing, so no sympathy here. Berta is a malevolent spirit who stops Wendy in mid-heist and burns money to get a young couple Oliver is practicing his good deeds on into deep trouble. She is helped by a nasty little imp who is given to mean little tricks like ripping up photos. Don't worry though - Oliver is helped by Goody, a small elf who wants to turn over a new leaf. Good stuff: You don't have to play this game. Bad stuff: Artwork is cartoon like and strongly colored - one scene very blue, another very gray, then very blue. The mini-games are basic and ill-conceived. The game pulls you along with a constant barrage of things to find to put things together, to open doors, cabinets, boxes, cases and anything else they could put something inside or hide something behind. There is no rhyme or reason here to what Oliver is doing as he is performing his "good deed" by taking apart or destroying parts of someone's home and Christmas decorations. I'm going to run with the idea that someone, somewhere, meant well. They just did not think this through all the way. If they had, I'm sure Oliver would not be the little thief breaking into Jim's home and trashing his briefcase while trying to get his sister a "Get Out of Jail Free" card for her attempt at burglary, while Berta would not alternately stop thieves and ruin people's lives arbitrarily. Try the Demo for yourself and go back to wrapping presents.
Date published: 2016-12-02
  • y_2021, m_1, d_21, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_84
  • loc_en_US, sid_25365, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RATING, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=HELPFULNESS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bigfishgames

The Big Fish Guarantee:

Quality tested and virus free. No ads, no adware, no spyware.

Your Security and Privacy are important to us! Privacy Policy

, share your thoughts about this game!

Christmas Stories: The Gift of the Magi Collector's Edition

Help your little sister get a second chance this Christmas after she gets on the naughty list.

Heres what your review will look like once it’s posted.

Click Submit if you’re happy. Your review should appear soon. To make changes, use the Edit or Cancel buttons.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this game!

You’ve already shared your thoughts about this game.

Thanks for submitting the review below.